Gramercy Pictures (I) | Release Date: March 6, 1998
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 516 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
469
Mixed:
29
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
Meth-dudeSep 24, 2016
It's not particularly funny, it's not particularly entertaining and the story was pretty stupid. In fact, That's the problem with the movie, it's just average. The acting was good and the soundtrack was great but it wasn't enough to make theIt's not particularly funny, it's not particularly entertaining and the story was pretty stupid. In fact, That's the problem with the movie, it's just average. The acting was good and the soundtrack was great but it wasn't enough to make the movie good.The Big Lebowski definitely is an underwhelming movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FlickLoverMay 30, 2015
Unfortunately, The Big Lebowski failed to "bowl" me over. I wanted it to "strike" me the way it struck others. However, it was more like staring down the "lane" at a "7-10 split."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrDavidBenSep 12, 2014
I often find that Coen Brothers movies can be rather hit and miss, sadly The Big Lebowski was a miss for me. It was one of those films where I really wished I could get the hours back that I had lost watching a film that I feel just doesn'tI often find that Coen Brothers movies can be rather hit and miss, sadly The Big Lebowski was a miss for me. It was one of those films where I really wished I could get the hours back that I had lost watching a film that I feel just doesn't measure up to some of the other Coen entries.

The film had moments that made me chuckle but never really had me in stitches with laughter, perhaps it just wasn't my humour (which is fairly broad I might add). I'll give it credit that there were some good performances during the film from the likes of Bridges and Buscemi but on the whole I wasn't hugely impressed. I must be missing why this film has such a cult status... then again some of the most terrible movies have cult status for some reason or another.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleJul 10, 2013
The main downfall of the movie is that it's just not funny at all. There were certainly some funny scenes, but certainly not enough for a comedy. The plot was interesting and the acting was good, which saved it from being a total trainwreck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanDec 8, 2011
I'll admit it, I'm not the biggest fan of The Big Lebowski. I think the Coen Brothers have done many much more impressive films in their career (Fargo, The Hudsucker Proxy, No Country for Old Men, A Serious Man), but I'm not blind to itsI'll admit it, I'm not the biggest fan of The Big Lebowski. I think the Coen Brothers have done many much more impressive films in their career (Fargo, The Hudsucker Proxy, No Country for Old Men, A Serious Man), but I'm not blind to its appeal. For one thing it's very funny. For another it's got a great soundtrack. It also features some of the finest performances of John Goodman, John Turturro, Steve Buscemi, Julianne Moore and not forgetting The Dude himself, Jeff Bridges. The plot itself is straight out of film noir, and is complex and multi-layered even by the standards of the genre - in fact, I'm convinced that the only way to make complete sense of the film is to be in a similar state of inebriation and/or being stoned as The Dude. That's one of my main problems with the film (though some might argue that it's part of the charm) - compared to most of the Coen's other work, The Big Lebowski completely lacks focus, and I find that a little irritating. After an hour or so you really couldn't care less what's going to happen, and it just becomes a steady stream of bizarre set-pieces. The film is never dull, but it never really has anything to say either. It may just be a weird series of events stemming from some stoned bum trying to get his rug replaced, which is fine, but a profound comment on everything from modern society to philosophy and religion it is not. But I guess as a cult film it's meant to divide you. I do like the Big Lebowski as a piece of entertainment, but just can't fall passionately in love with it as so many others do - it just doesn't speak to me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
mafiousoApr 26, 2011
entertaining film the whole way threw, 10 years ago funny but still a good watch. acting was good, story was decent. not a movie you take seriously at any point.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
5
CrabBDec 28, 2009
What a terribly overrated film. A hardly funny stoner flick, it goes for to long and is quite simply a bore. Cult classics are supposed to be good not haphazard mediocrity. On a more positive note the directing was at times brilliant with What a terribly overrated film. A hardly funny stoner flick, it goes for to long and is quite simply a bore. Cult classics are supposed to be good not haphazard mediocrity. On a more positive note the directing was at times brilliant with many memorable shots and some of the jokes amusing. The worst Coen film I have seen. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
5
PaulM.Jan 12, 2008
Some funny stuff scattered about but overall I thought it was pretty flat, misfiring more than it hit. Occasionally clever and inspired moments were often undone by heavy-handedness and a tendency to overindulge in them. I kept feeling a Some funny stuff scattered about but overall I thought it was pretty flat, misfiring more than it hit. Occasionally clever and inspired moments were often undone by heavy-handedness and a tendency to overindulge in them. I kept feeling a real good movie could've broken out with a little more subtlety and nuance. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
4
BrunoP.Sep 4, 2005
Overrated average comedy with weak character motivation and dull jokes.
1 of 7 users found this helpful