Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: July 16, 1999
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 255 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
170
Mixed:
40
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RirenJan 28, 2007
I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the Blair Witch Project has it. Every financially cheap aspect helps it. It's shot in a real environment, not a sterile set or against a CGI backdrop; its actors improvise their dialogue rather than read from scripts; the lighting is completely natural, and all the sounds are ambient. Instead of a soundtrack, this movie has whatever the microphones picked up in the woods - much scarier than a bunch of licensed music or orchestral tones. By shooting this movie over six straight days and camping in the woods, these college-level actors access real fatigue and real emotion that blows away Hollywood performances because even though their premise is every bit as fictional as a blockbuster, their feelings are real. Minimalism is the name of the game, hiding or only showing a little of any scene - only what was caught on the characters' cameras. Outside of those people who can't stand student film to begin with or can't appreciate something filmed with shaky cameras (something most people get used to in a matter of minutes, and something that is a huge part of modern news reporting), nothing can draw an audience in quite like this movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
3
CursedKnight187Apr 29, 2011
I've got to be honest, I didn't find it scary... at all. The tent shaking?! I suppose the way the marketed it to start with - as if it were a true event - was a good strategy, but beside that it just isn't scary. I wasn't on the edge of myI've got to be honest, I didn't find it scary... at all. The tent shaking?! I suppose the way the marketed it to start with - as if it were a true event - was a good strategy, but beside that it just isn't scary. I wasn't on the edge of my seat, I was lying down on it snoring. The only reason it gets a 3 is for originality, but that's about it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
PseudoScopicMay 5, 2013
THE GOOD: I will keep this review fairly short.

THE BAD: I will never get back the 81min run time that this film has. OVERALL: As you can tell, I'm not a fan of the film and could hack away at it all night penalising it's tacky use of
THE GOOD: I will keep this review fairly short.

THE BAD: I will never get back the 81min run time that this film has.

OVERALL: As you can tell, I'm not a fan of the film and could hack away at it all night penalising it's tacky use of camera, story, 'actors' and so on but I do have to say as a film buff myself that this film is extremely dated as of 2013 and will only become more so, obviously, from now on. This film was made on an extremely low budget as reflected and credibility has to go towards the marketing scheme of making people believe there is some truth to it, allowing the film to skyrocket in profit. All of which can be completely reciprocated for Paranormal Activity (Although I won't insult that QUITE as much in another film's review).
I would advise this film for people more linked with cult followings in the film market and can admire the lowest of budgeting reflected in the film itself. But no matter of my opinion, remember as film goers to always keep an open mind either way!
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
leopem17Apr 10, 2013
One knows that a film Is genuinely 'scary' when there is a constant amount of suspense. Not once did I see the witches nor was I scared, u don't leave the film to the end for action to arrive.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
RobertOBrienJul 11, 2015
The only good thing about this movie is the acting. It's really just three annoying cardboard cut outs walking around in the woods for 90 minutes. The story is almost non-existent and the characters are flat.

I'm all for
The only good thing about this movie is the acting. It's really just three annoying cardboard cut outs walking around in the woods for 90 minutes. The story is almost non-existent and the characters are flat.

I'm all for "what-you-don't-see" type of horror. 'The Others' and 'The Haunting' from 1963 are some of my favorite films. But this film is just woefully boring, and when something is happening, it's just a shaky cam vomiting mess.

The only reason it was successful was because people were dumb enough to think it was real.

If you want to see a much better found-footage film, with a similar concept, but made first, and better, check out 'The Last Broadcast' from 1998. Skip this disjointed, over praised, shaky cam, boring and uninteresting trite.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AndieV.Jul 2, 2007
This movie scared me, even though it doesn't have all that "girl in white dress with long black hair standing in middle of road" effects. I'm a horror freak, i know a scary movie when i see one, and this movie is the one. now,my This movie scared me, even though it doesn't have all that "girl in white dress with long black hair standing in middle of road" effects. I'm a horror freak, i know a scary movie when i see one, and this movie is the one. now,my movie rental money didn't get wasted this time!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattMar 4, 2008
This is, by far, the scariest movie ever made. Its like going to a strip club and seeing completely naked women vs. going to the beach and seeing women in bikinis. You get more turned on by the bikinis because you want to know what is This is, by far, the scariest movie ever made. Its like going to a strip club and seeing completely naked women vs. going to the beach and seeing women in bikinis. You get more turned on by the bikinis because you want to know what is underneath and you can form in your mind what you think they would look like naked. That is an analogy my friends. No, I'm not saying I would rather see the Blair Witch in a bikini rather than completely naked, I'm saying the movie does not blatantly show the boogy man, you can only imagine what the witch looks like, you can only imagine how it actually attacks its victims.. and that makes it great raw, unknown fear. Those who hated this movie would rather have things spelled out for them and lack imagination. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SDOct 10, 2009
The Blair Witch Project is the only movie that I can say has genuinely scared me in my adult years. There
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleTOct 15, 2009
Scariest movie of all time because of its reality. Look the movie is not real but the story is. This is what producers did, They took 3 film makers though them in the forest and then made noises and scared the hell out of them! They pretty Scariest movie of all time because of its reality. Look the movie is not real but the story is. This is what producers did, They took 3 film makers though them in the forest and then made noises and scared the hell out of them! They pretty much said here is a camera go make a documentary. They took eah person 1 by one and told them about, (the guy who acted like he died.) Not true but still if you don't know that, it is brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SimG.Oct 28, 2005
Really creative, really scary, really fun.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BeakBNov 28, 2007
Great movie. Those who gave this a bad rating are probably too used to simple movies like Transformers. Know a real movie when you see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DavidSOct 27, 2008
A well made horror film with a very original concept. Although I wasn't freaked out by this movie, it certainly has an atmosphere to it, and when you really examine it, it has some very well-executed moments. Especially the last 10 A well made horror film with a very original concept. Although I wasn't freaked out by this movie, it certainly has an atmosphere to it, and when you really examine it, it has some very well-executed moments. Especially the last 10 minutes. The dialogue was too over-the-top at some points, but was almost always convincing, even if the characterization of Josh adn Mike seemed to switch midway through. If you want to watch a movie alone some night, this si a good pick. If you want to watch a movie with firneds, it probably isn't such a good pick. But then again, what true horror buff watches horror movies with other people? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NormanDJul 27, 2008
Such a minimalist and overwhelming scare-the-crap-out-of-you thriller! I was sleepless for two nights just imagining what that odd sound in the water pipes might be.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mitchellKNov 13, 2009
This is one of only two movies I've been truly scared by, the other being "Ringu" (original Japanese "The Ring"). Despite everything you've heard and the amount you already know about the plot, still utterly terrifying. It serves This is one of only two movies I've been truly scared by, the other being "Ringu" (original Japanese "The Ring"). Despite everything you've heard and the amount you already know about the plot, still utterly terrifying. It serves as a reminder of the fact that we really do enjoy being scared by film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SnowDayJan 23, 2015
While the movie may not provide many jump scared as craved by audiences, it proves that the strength of imagination can be even more frightening than any film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SachiNov 17, 2011
There is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really theThere is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really the best, all I saw it as was some college kids get lost in the woods and they are being hunted by some entity but I didn't feel scared once, well there were some scary moments but not really that scary. I got to give credit to the acting though, it was good but the dialogue was just cursing and cursing and cursing, not good. Overall The Blair Witch Project is an alright movie, maybe you will understand it better than me but I just didn't get any scares and walked off dissapointed. Breakdown for "The Blair Witch Project": Presentation: 6.5, Plot: 7, Acting: 7.5, Dialogue: 4.8, Lasting Appeal: 5. Score: 5.5 out of 10 "Average" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
johnblack1979Jul 30, 2015
Maybe the worst and most boring movie i've ever seen. Detestably unrealistic, the girl keeps filming against all sense of logic.. 80 min. of absolute nothingness.. Please do yourself a favor and DON'T ever watch it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
gamefriekFeb 26, 2011
Now this movie, what a load of crap this was. It had no scare factor at all, I don't get why people are giving this good reviews overall. This movie has about the same scare factor as me getting out of bed. The whole movie was just fourNow this movie, what a load of crap this was. It had no scare factor at all, I don't get why people are giving this good reviews overall. This movie has about the same scare factor as me getting out of bed. The whole movie was just four people walking through the woods pretending to be scared. Also, despite the way it looks, its not actually based off true events, its just based loosely off a legend but thats it. The actors got paid, so their obviously not dead. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
Although the movie smells old and cheap, "The Blair Witch Project" is one of the standing point movies of the 'psychological horror'. It will scare the **** out of you.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
1
ashley_Jan 15, 2012
I saw this movie a few months ago for the first time, and do not understand at all the hype over this movie. The Blair Witch project was undoubtedly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was absolutely horrendous, and it wasI saw this movie a few months ago for the first time, and do not understand at all the hype over this movie. The Blair Witch project was undoubtedly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was absolutely horrendous, and it was impossible to sympathize with the characters. Heather, annoying brat that she was, insisted on filming EVERYTHING. Even as the other two guys were screaming at her to turn it off, she had to film every moment of their downfall. Her annoying voice was enough to make me hate this movie from the start, not to mention the series of ridiculously moronic things that these kids did from start to finish, from throwing their map into the river, to going into the woods without listening or paying attention to the people they interviewed about it. Pretty much nothing happened the whole movie except watching them argue with each other. The vague things that were supposed to scare us did nothing but make the story line more paper thin than it already was. The ending was stupid, and barely made sense even when you knew what was supposed to be happening. Even as Heather is walking up the stairs expecting to find her friend dead, she is STILL filming. It was completely unrealistic. The only terrifying thing about this movie is the fact that it is so popular. I think Family Guy did a perfect summary of the movie when Brian was explaining the movie while watching it with a blind guy. He said "They're in the woods. The camera keeps moving around. I guess they're looking for some witch, I don't know, I wasn't listening. Nothings happening................nothings happening.................something about a map..nothings happening.... Its over. A lot of people in the audience looked pissed." Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 11, 2012
At a time when digital techniques can show us almost anything, The Blair Witch Project is a reminder that what really scares us is the stuff we can't see.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
MEGA_CRITICJun 1, 2014
please dont bother watching this film, if you want a scare because it honestly isnt scary or creepy (well maybe a bit, but not enough)

if you want a scare watch sinister, i highly recommend it, and it is genuinely scary
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
RyanLopezApr 15, 2011
I **** hated this movie, it was darn stupid. I would have been ashamed to be part in this box office piece of **** I have nothing against the director but I just hated the movie.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
When me and my friends watched this last Halloween, we were expecting a horrifying movie that would give us nightmares and a lot of stories to tell at school after. Instead what we got was an hour and a half of shaky cameras, mediocre actingWhen me and my friends watched this last Halloween, we were expecting a horrifying movie that would give us nightmares and a lot of stories to tell at school after. Instead what we got was an hour and a half of shaky cameras, mediocre acting and an ending that is more laughable than scary. A letdown for people who are looking for a good movie to watch on the aforementioned holiday. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
KivaJun 9, 2013
seriously this film is the worst. I can't even imagine that it was successful. Why people liked this movie? Was it scary? No Did it have a good plot? No. As a horror movie it's awful as a documentary it's ok. I watched it untill the end justseriously this film is the worst. I can't even imagine that it was successful. Why people liked this movie? Was it scary? No Did it have a good plot? No. As a horror movie it's awful as a documentary it's ok. I watched it untill the end just to see what happens because i read it was scary. You give to this film 81/100 and in Saw 46/100. Bad movie is still a bad movie, critics can't change the quality of a film. Thumbs down! Don't waste your time Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Completely horrifying, maybe the scariest film ever made. I pray to the movie gods that somehow this thing gets back into theaters so we can enjoy being terrified by this masterpiece with a room full of crowded anxious strangers. Don't beCompletely horrifying, maybe the scariest film ever made. I pray to the movie gods that somehow this thing gets back into theaters so we can enjoy being terrified by this masterpiece with a room full of crowded anxious strangers. Don't be surprised if this film doesn't make you jump very much (especially if you're just sitting at home watching it by yourself), but it will haunt your dreams and keep you up at night with its intense creepiness. Do not see this if you are remotely afraid of the woods or the dark. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
AlexAug 16, 2010
This is a very good film. films tend not to scare me, but i can definitely see why this would scare others. it is definitely a film not to watch alone. the acting is good and the general storyline is amazing. The producers did a great job ofThis is a very good film. films tend not to scare me, but i can definitely see why this would scare others. it is definitely a film not to watch alone. the acting is good and the general storyline is amazing. The producers did a great job of making everyone think that it was real, and nothing seems to disappoint.
this is a very good film. ALMOST scared me, which means it may well scare you!!
this is a must see, i realise that it gained mixed reviews. thus, you should watch it just in case you are like me; someone who very much considers this film a classic.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Oct 26, 2010
This film is most definitely the most horrifying movie I have ever seen, as well as my favorite horror film to date. Everyone who says there are no scary elements in this film are used to the current habit of American film to a.) makeThis film is most definitely the most horrifying movie I have ever seen, as well as my favorite horror film to date. Everyone who says there are no scary elements in this film are used to the current habit of American film to a.) make everything as gory, violent, testosterone-filled, and nonsensical as possible, and b.) rip off other countries' movies (and do so poorly - THE GRUDGE!!!). The Blair Witch Project is the embodiment of the human race's greatest fear: to be in a situation out of your control, to have your actions forced like a hamster in a maze. Also, I find the idea of not actually showing what is chasing them through the forest fascinating; your mind is left to wander upon the most terrible image you can muster, and it grows on you like a virus. The most exceptionally terrifying movie ever made; love it forever! :D Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
iamtrent424Dec 6, 2010
I love tis movie. I know a lot of people say this movie isn't scary. this movie is scary in its own way. I think they did a good job with the idea of this movie. This movie is kind of scary at some parts. This was a good idea for a movie. OneI love tis movie. I know a lot of people say this movie isn't scary. this movie is scary in its own way. I think they did a good job with the idea of this movie. This movie is kind of scary at some parts. This was a good idea for a movie. One of the best horror movies ever made. This is on my list for best horror movie. I love this movie its really good. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
tvbuffJan 12, 2011
Think the critics have this pegged better than the users for a change. If anything this movie is under-rated because it totally broke from the scary movie, bloody horror norm. Unless it's really happening to you it's hard to capture trulyThink the critics have this pegged better than the users for a change. If anything this movie is under-rated because it totally broke from the scary movie, bloody horror norm. Unless it's really happening to you it's hard to capture truly being scared but this movie comes close. Certainly not the budget of The Ring or Sixth Sense but still pretty good. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediDec 8, 2011
An urban legend getting an American production above the average, even with amateurish technical about. However, this is the great charm of the film, to bring a touch of reality to something that frightens people, while not real. With anAn urban legend getting an American production above the average, even with amateurish technical about. However, this is the great charm of the film, to bring a touch of reality to something that frightens people, while not real. With an unstable nature documentary footage, the two rookies directors, Daniel Myrick and Eduardo Sanchez, lead an unusual thriller that explores witchcraft in a peculiar way and extremely evil. What is most interesting in this production, is the fact that directors can create fear in the viewer, without the least show directly the source responsible for it. Imagine what you can not see. How can you not be afraid of it?

The power of an urban legend is something that can be measured against the influence which it carries in the middle. In some cases, above the power is so vast that people around the world are interested in such stories. Based on this concept of influence, the plot of this production is a journey of three film students, to explore the long- cherished legend of the Blair Witch, however, what is shown on the screen, are just the roll of film found by police, after the mysterious disappearance of young people. Starting from a premise that the suspense has good things to come, the two directors work in the background that is extremely favorable for the development of the script.

The amateur footage further contributes to the enhancement of the heavy atmosphere, which is already present in the photography involved. The naturalness of it is the factor that close ties to production reality. The sound system works like a soundtrack orchestrated by a great professional who knows very well to put it in the context of the film. Adding these two questions film, photography and soundtrack, we get a product that pleases and amazes the viewer, while every sudden movement of the camera. It is clear in this production, the film does not require cutting-edge technological improvement, to satisfy your audience.

The script is working well and can, from the start, accumulating records that direct the viewer to understand the outcome. The development of the argument is a gradation of psychological conflicts of each character, which tracks the tempo until the final minute. Playing with the psyche of each character , the filmmakers create claustrophobic situations that reflect the viewer, keeping it stuck in that atmosphere without answers and with every move closer and with a look at the picture provided by amateur camera in the darkness of night, where the script comes to apex of the gloom .

Combining certain techniques is a superlative effort to create something new, taking the proper proportions of gender addressed. Working from the premise peculiar form, the script can do justice to what is stipulated in your synopsis so enjoyable and interesting for the audience. The technique is not mainly attributed to technology, but on good ideas, falling in the right hands. Exercising a right direction and leading the film gradually, the two rookies prove that gender is not lost, but it takes a few bumps to get it moving again.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Apr 3, 2012
It was no big deal at all. I guess it would be a lot scarier if anything actually happened. It give it credit for going ahead and filming it differently than all other movies, but it was just bad. No interest in ever seeing it again.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Jul 31, 2012
A genuinely frightening film. With some good improvised acting and great filming techniques for a found footage film. A must watch in the middle of the night
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
charliew1820Jul 5, 2012
One of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyones fear, the dark, the unknown, the feeling of being trapped, and death. The film is played out through handheld camera, but this adds to fear, giving the film a sense of realism, making youOne of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyones fear, the dark, the unknown, the feeling of being trapped, and death. The film is played out through handheld camera, but this adds to fear, giving the film a sense of realism, making you think the film actually happened. The acting is very naturalistic, and in a rare case, the improvised script makes the film feel again more real, as if they would react in this way. The film is clear proof that in most cases not seeing the monster is scarier, for we imagine what is going on out there, or how we would be in that situation. The final sequence will easily go down as one of the best endings in history, and easily the scariest, playing on our minds after we leave the cinema, leaving a lot to the imagination. As a whole the movie is more terrifying after you leave than while watching even though you will undoubtedly gasp at certain scenes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
charlieW24Jul 8, 2012
One of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyone
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
PolisKaninFeb 7, 2014
This film is painfully slow, and has definitely not aged well, but any horror film fan should watch this, as it is a classic. The whole film is improvised, but it is a good film for an improvised one. However, it is still not great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
DilHowellterNov 21, 2015
I did enjoy this movie although it really wasn't that scary and the ending was kind of anticlimactic. I watched this for the first time at a horror movie marathon at a friends house and the scariest part was when the tv turned off and weI did enjoy this movie although it really wasn't that scary and the ending was kind of anticlimactic. I watched this for the first time at a horror movie marathon at a friends house and the scariest part was when the tv turned off and we thought it was going to be a jumpscare so we sat waiting for it for five minutes Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
AndrewTJul 4, 2008
This movie was one of the dumbest most boring not scary movie i've ever seen in my life. The ending was one of the worst endings that a movie could have and you do not even see the creature monster whatever it is attacking and This movie was one of the dumbest most boring not scary movie i've ever seen in my life. The ending was one of the worst endings that a movie could have and you do not even see the creature monster whatever it is attacking and terrorizing the group of people. I hate horror movies in general this i could and would not even come close to putting this movie in that genera I was not scared at all during this movie and for the people who gave this movie a good review you can not base a score on the movies originality. Sure it was original but still the acting was horrid, story was so incredibly stupid, and the ending was so retarded. Now I hated cloverfield I thought it was awful but it was 100 times better that the Blair Witch Project, For anyone who thought this was good well go watch a really movie without that stupid camcorder effect! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
lilkillpappyApr 8, 2015
One of my all time favorite scary films. The amount of effort that went into making this look authentic is vastly under appreciated. Look up the making of this film and you will see how unique it really is.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
what a horrable film now i know they where trying to make this look like it was a actaul film that really happend and trying to make it seem scary but it was a epic fail. first off i found nothing about this film sacry period . i saw it morewhat a horrable film now i know they where trying to make this look like it was a actaul film that really happend and trying to make it seem scary but it was a epic fail. first off i found nothing about this film sacry period . i saw it more as 3 dumb ugly teenagers acting like abunch of morons running around the woods with there heads cut off . with the worst camera shots possable . just because some thing sounds like a original idea doesnt mean its a good one . Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
csw12Apr 3, 2012
One of the dumbest, boring, and non scary films ever made. I have never seen a movie that lacks so much in what it takes to make a scary movie. No music, no suspense, and the worst of all offers nothing at all but one of the worst endings toOne of the dumbest, boring, and non scary films ever made. I have never seen a movie that lacks so much in what it takes to make a scary movie. No music, no suspense, and the worst of all offers nothing at all but one of the worst endings to a movie ever created. Total garbage. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
4
SamGAug 7, 2009
One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the film makers lacked imagination when shooting the final 20 mins of the movie. The film would have been great if they focused more on the mystery element as the ending is really disappointing. A good film for young teenagers or anyone who scares easily. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ShawnD.Feb 23, 2008
Ok, I came to check out the rating of this movie after finding out that Bio-Dome was the absolute worst rated movie. My jaw hit the floor when i saw the MC score for this. i really expected this movie to have under a "10". The only points i Ok, I came to check out the rating of this movie after finding out that Bio-Dome was the absolute worst rated movie. My jaw hit the floor when i saw the MC score for this. i really expected this movie to have under a "10". The only points i could give to this movie was for originality. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SlasherVoorheesAug 18, 2011
I Thought that The Blair Witch Project Wasnt that good at all. Sure it was made to look like a Home Video Type of thing but it isnt realistic and there is basically No Plot This is a Over Hyped Movie that really is bad because i Dont BelieveI Thought that The Blair Witch Project Wasnt that good at all. Sure it was made to look like a Home Video Type of thing but it isnt realistic and there is basically No Plot This is a Over Hyped Movie that really is bad because i Dont Believe that Some Witch Did something to make campers not be able to find thier way back in real life that kind of thing doesnt happen and i think if this was recorded like a normal movie everyone would hate it and people just like it because its filmed like a home movie to make it seem like something out of the ordinary could actully happen Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
SpangleOct 31, 2014
The Blair Witch Project is a case study that focuses in on the riveting question: Does a fantastic ending save an otherwise terrible film? The researchers in this study ultimately concluded that the answer is no. While the ending may beThe Blair Witch Project is a case study that focuses in on the riveting question: Does a fantastic ending save an otherwise terrible film? The researchers in this study ultimately concluded that the answer is no. While the ending may be terrifying and completely effective, the hour and ten minutes prior, which amounts to nothing but terrible camera work (purposeful, but terrible all the same), terrible acting, aimless walking, yelling, and things that are supposed to be scary but are not, ultimately serve as the film's downfall. Coming in, I expected something very scary and, as somebody who does not watch many horror films, I figured I would be entirely freaked out. Yet, I came away thinking that the entire thing had to have been done as some terrible parody of an equally horrible horror film. They attempted to make it seem real because of the documentary style, but very little (hint: none) of it was believable, which was a bummer. I was all willing to buy in, but the film failed to convince me. All that freaked me out was the ending, but even then, it was painfully predictable once I saw where they wound up and could have been done better, certainly. But, the way it tied the story together was nice and entirely spooky, which worked out well in the film's favor and saved it from being rated later by me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
UtopianStuffJul 3, 2013
This is why there are so many found footage movies out there now! Because The Blair Witch Project is awesome! Its brilliantly presented, wonderfully executed, well acted, groundbreaking, chilling, thrilling, creepy and suspenseful! Watch theThis is why there are so many found footage movies out there now! Because The Blair Witch Project is awesome! Its brilliantly presented, wonderfully executed, well acted, groundbreaking, chilling, thrilling, creepy and suspenseful! Watch the movie that invented the found footage genre, see where it all began. Because, found footage movies had a GREAT start! If you don't like scary movies, don't watch this, you will be scared, the movie still holds up today as a creepy ass film! It just goes to show that even with a low budget, you can still do some great things. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Nov 8, 2013
While there is now technology that is terrifying, what we don't see is what we fear most, and "The Blair Witch Project" proves it. It might seem to generations that it is an old movie and a cheap one too, "The Blair Witch Project" stands outWhile there is now technology that is terrifying, what we don't see is what we fear most, and "The Blair Witch Project" proves it. It might seem to generations that it is an old movie and a cheap one too, "The Blair Witch Project" stands out as one of the most impressive work in the horror industry, absolutely and highly recommended. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
jrod777089Jul 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great! It had many astonishing and adrenaline rushing moments. It will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. This movie is based on a true story. This fact makes the movie even scarier to think what actually happened to these people. I highly recommend that you watch this movie! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysApr 1, 2014
The Blair Witch Project is one chillingly suspenseful movie. It uses what isn't there instead of what is to create thrills, and the "found-footage" aspect makes it seems more realistic, which makes it more scary. If you can get past the shakyThe Blair Witch Project is one chillingly suspenseful movie. It uses what isn't there instead of what is to create thrills, and the "found-footage" aspect makes it seems more realistic, which makes it more scary. If you can get past the shaky cam and low quality of the film, this is a great "mockumentary" to watch on a Friday night. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
"The Blair Witch Project" is one of the most innovative films in the history of cinema. It is absolutely essential to watch this film if you're a horror movie fan. It's a very slow film, and not much is going on, but the sense of"The Blair Witch Project" is one of the most innovative films in the history of cinema. It is absolutely essential to watch this film if you're a horror movie fan. It's a very slow film, and not much is going on, but the sense of disorientation is extremely disturbing and creepy. Another great thing about this film is that the Blair Witch is never once shown. The film leaves it up to the viewer's imagination to think of what the demon /ghost/whatever may look like, and I believe that people's imagination is far scarier than anything that can be put on film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
josakJan 2, 2006
Scariest movie I've ever seen, period. This is one of those love-it-or-hate-it things; your either going to get the piss scared out of you while watching this, or your gonna laugh thru it with your friends, and rant about how stupid the Scariest movie I've ever seen, period. This is one of those love-it-or-hate-it things; your either going to get the piss scared out of you while watching this, or your gonna laugh thru it with your friends, and rant about how stupid the movie was afterwards. But if you actually let yourself go and allow the movie to suck you in, your in for one crazy ride. As Ebert said, this movie is a testament to the fact that what really scares us is the stuff we don't see. It's the suspense that does it, and the extreme realism and believable characters only make it that much more frightening. This is a horror masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.NonymousJan 2, 2008
Utter genius. Pure utter genius. The most original move in the horror genre. It's only flaw is that it leaves too much to the imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBJul 10, 2009
I remember seeing this as a 6th grader in my friends house at night in the dark with some candles lit for ambiance. Granted that that was nine years ago (ugh I feel so old) I still think this movie has merit even in its VHS incarnation which I remember seeing this as a 6th grader in my friends house at night in the dark with some candles lit for ambiance. Granted that that was nine years ago (ugh I feel so old) I still think this movie has merit even in its VHS incarnation which is still on my shelf to this day. I think the most offensive part of the film is the amount of swearing and profanity that the characters use, but the result is a haunting masterpiece that feels as honestly scary as it is realistic. I really tapped into the home video B&W and color variations and the camping trip gone wrong vibe. Though I can understand why some people are turned off to the whole affair. Expectations of a scary movie often include more violence, monsters, and special effects than this film can muster. This video does however, deliver grade "A" psychological horror, and stands as a testament as to why I love the survival horror genre. I feel particularly married to this film because after my best friend and I watched it for a second time in 9th grade he couldn't sleep at for a week. I felt guilty, but this reassured me that the Blair Witch Project wasn't to be taken lightly. This month is its tenth year anniversary. Do yourself a favor and give it a play. In the dark. With candles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
mike7882Nov 14, 2012
Many people say it's old-fashion to see this movie now because there are a lot of scary movie better than this one. But I don't agree with that, I think TBWP can still scary out **** of me. It's raw and everything in the movie is likeMany people say it's old-fashion to see this movie now because there are a lot of scary movie better than this one. But I don't agree with that, I think TBWP can still scary out **** of me. It's raw and everything in the movie is like reality. Also the performance of the actor is awesome. I can feel their desperation and scare from the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMay 27, 2017
It's the kind of movie you go into expecting one thing and ending up with another. This is really the story of three people being lost in the woods. You really feel the frustration of the characters as they get more and more confused aboutIt's the kind of movie you go into expecting one thing and ending up with another. This is really the story of three people being lost in the woods. You really feel the frustration of the characters as they get more and more confused about where they're going and as they start to turn on each other. The supernatural elements of the witch are just there to sort of give the survival situation a little more bite. Some really weird stuff starts happening once the sun goes down. One thing that's really admirable is the movie's faithfulness to the amateur documentary style of presentation. It really makes you realize how much traditional horror movies rely on things like music to build up tension, and how effective those techniques actually are. In the case of The Blair Witch Project all you get are the strange sounds coming from the very dark woods. It's an original way of presenting things. The movie relies a lot on the imagination of the viewer to freak themselves out. Now, I complain about jump scares a lot in horror movies these days, but part of me wonders if this movie could have used some. There are so many moments where the characters will hear something and go investigate, and nothing happens. The movie does a good job of building itself up to a scare, but ultimately never delivers one. Like all foreplay and no release.

But again, the real horror comes from how much it sucks to be lost in unfamiliar territory. The things going bump in the night are only there to amplify how undesirable the character's situation is. Admittedly, it's their own fault. Cocky college students doing the stupid and suffering the consequences. That's something else the movie kind of suffers from. The characters spend too much time doing stupid things like arguing when they should be moving. When they are constantly getting in their own way you almost don't want to feel sorry for them. Yet, you do. They're tired, frustrated, and of course scared. It's only natural for a person to loose their cool and make bad decisions in that sort of scenario. It's believable if no less exasperating at times to watch. The performances of the cast also help you want to see these people make it out alive. They're anger, fear, sadness, and hysterics feel real and make you sympathize.

Don't go into this movie expecting a traditional horror film. The stuff with the witch isn't the scary part. The movie's strength comes from it's ability to pull the audience into the circumstances the characters have found themselves in. Along the way they'll find some weird stuff, but the movies unique approach where subtle horror is key is sadly unsatisfying. It's strengths just lie elsewhere. It's offerings as a horror movie aren't what you would expect given it's title and what the genre usually brings into focus. It falls short as a result, but the film is not without value.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dakydakySep 23, 2015
Great acting, tense, no jumpscare but still manages to scare the viewer for good. Great horror curve with defined beginning, middle and end of the movie. Recommender for a rewatch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBayazeedJun 11, 2013
The most scariest part of anything, is never seeing whats coming along your way, when you hear creaky sounds at home or in anywhere without seeing any ghost or demon or spirit, it is chilling and really terrifying, because you keep wonderingThe most scariest part of anything, is never seeing whats coming along your way, when you hear creaky sounds at home or in anywhere without seeing any ghost or demon or spirit, it is chilling and really terrifying, because you keep wondering and saying "what if" that what The Blair Witch Project Holds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithOct 5, 2013
It's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shakyIt's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shaky and blurry that half the time you can't tell what's going on. I've seen worse horror movies before, but I think the critics must have all been in a really good mood when they went to see this. That or they were high, cause this was definitely not an 81 in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tenmuterJul 24, 2013
Alright, this movie isn't too scary on it's own. I'll admit that. But you know what made this movie especially terrifying for me? I went into the woods a week after watching this movie. If you and your buddies are going to go camping any timeAlright, this movie isn't too scary on it's own. I'll admit that. But you know what made this movie especially terrifying for me? I went into the woods a week after watching this movie. If you and your buddies are going to go camping any time soon, I highly advise making them watch this movie ahead of time so that their brains will be when you're all doing a night trek through a forest.

This movie did some things exceptionally well:
1) the first person story telling was very captivating and really put you inside the character's shoes
2) this movie doesn't have background music in it (except the beginning when they're in the car) which really makes the audience guess and interpret different scenes in this movie
3) it really creeps the crap out of you.

If you're looking for an "in the moment pop up scary" type of movie, you will be disappointed with Blair witch project. BUT if you are looking for a truly terrifying experience, watch this entire movie with the mentality that everything in it is based off of a true story, then go camping with a bunch of friends. and make sure you do a night trek through the woods (stoned if at all possible). You will your pants.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iGamerDaxAug 5, 2013
Although many people didn't find it scary, I though it was really scary. Just because you can't see the 'creature' you don't know if it's really there or not, that's what makes this movie so original and realistic. I've seen many more horrorAlthough many people didn't find it scary, I though it was really scary. Just because you can't see the 'creature' you don't know if it's really there or not, that's what makes this movie so original and realistic. I've seen many more horror movies like Evil Dead (all of them), Paranormal Activity, 28 Days Later, The Descent, 1408, The Exorcist,... in all of these movies the 'creatures' are shown though I didn't find it scary at all.

The Blair Witch Project has the 'camcorder' effect which I really like in movies, makes it more scary, in my opinion. I've seen many other 'camcorder' effect movies like Cloverfield but The Blair Witch Project was for me the best one.

This movie is one of my favorite horror movies, and I see it every year at Halloween. Very good movie, although I can agree with people why they don't really like it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MuddsjrMar 26, 2014
The Blair Witch is at no point overdone, nor a tad bit boring in any single second of any minute. The Blair Witch is a gripping, mysterious film that uses barely the location and the stories told by characters further to the beginning of theThe Blair Witch is at no point overdone, nor a tad bit boring in any single second of any minute. The Blair Witch is a gripping, mysterious film that uses barely the location and the stories told by characters further to the beginning of the film to keep you suspended and immensely spooked out for the duration of the film, but mostly afterwards. Boring? Most definitely not, The Blair Witch is a stroke of genius. End of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
The Blair Witch Project es una de las mejores películas de Falso Documental que he visto. La película, en sí, trata sobre 3 adolescentes que buscan recopilar información de lo que es la leyenda urbana conocida como La Bruja de Blair., éstaThe Blair Witch Project es una de las mejores películas de Falso Documental que he visto. La película, en sí, trata sobre 3 adolescentes que buscan recopilar información de lo que es la leyenda urbana conocida como La Bruja de Blair., ésta interesante y entretenida trama logra ser efectiva y acierta hacia una buena perspectiva., en donde mientras que avanza el film el público siente nervios y escalofríos mientras avanza la película, con un buen razonamiento de sensaciones terroríficas y dosis de sorpresas que ocurren en el film, además de una forma eficaz en hacer que los personajes que habitan la historia se quiebren psicológicamente más y más a medida que avanza el largometraje. En general, The Blair Witch Project logra ser una buena película de terror que te llama la atención y que da una cálida sensación de angustia y miedo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Jun 9, 2015
The Blair Witch Project is a film that deals with the horrors of what could possibly happen in real life. After watching this film you have a bit of a fear of being in the woods by yourself. The film has such a low budget that in my opinionThe Blair Witch Project is a film that deals with the horrors of what could possibly happen in real life. After watching this film you have a bit of a fear of being in the woods by yourself. The film has such a low budget that in my opinion it just stays a little too basic and cheap if just a bit more cash would have been forked over I probably could've enjoyed the film more. The acting is pretty good considering these people were basically completely unknown until the films release. Another thing I have to applaud is the marketing of this movie. One of the first films to be heavily promoted by the internet and lots debates were sparked on whether or not the film was real or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
johnem95Oct 1, 2015
Points for being original for its time (and kickstarting the "found footage" genre), but this movie is a waste of time in my book. Nothing happens! I get that your imagination is what can make this film a terrifying watch, but my imaginationPoints for being original for its time (and kickstarting the "found footage" genre), but this movie is a waste of time in my book. Nothing happens! I get that your imagination is what can make this film a terrifying watch, but my imagination didn't buy this film for a second, therefore, I found this film utterly pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Blairwitchm8Jun 14, 2015
A stonkingly good ride. Very suspenseful, with some great music and a sensual actress. Most of all I really like the witch. All in all, i r8 8/8 m8A stonkingly good ride. Very suspenseful, with some great music and a sensual actress. Most of all I really like the witch. All in all, i r8 8/8 m8

sddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and theI watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the Blair Witch Project has it. Every financially cheap aspect helps it. It's shot in a real environment, not a sterile set or against a CGI backdrop; its actors improvise their dialogue rather than read from scripts; the lighting is completely natural, and all the sounds are ambient. Instead of a soundtrack, this movie has whatever the microphones picked up in the woods - much scarier than a bunch of licensed music or orchestral tones. By shooting this movie over six straight days and camping in the woods, these college-level actors access real fatigue and real emotion that blows away Hollywood performances because even though their premise is every bit as fictional as a blockbuster, their feelings are real. Minimalism is the name of the game, hiding or only showing a little of any scene - only what was caught on the characters' cameras. Outside of those people who can't stand student film to begin with or can't appreciate something filmed with shaky cameras (something most people get used to in a matter of minutes, and something that is a huge part of modern news reporting), nothing can draw an audience in quite like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
geo2209Feb 22, 2016
Captivating movie and scary because of our imaginations. If you didn't think this was scary, then your IQ is low. People with high IQs have been shown to have high creativity and good imaginations and can suspend disbelief while summoningCaptivating movie and scary because of our imaginations. If you didn't think this was scary, then your IQ is low. People with high IQs have been shown to have high creativity and good imaginations and can suspend disbelief while summoning verisimilitude to put themselves "in" the film. This movie exudes authentic emotion, fear, and insane imaginative creep factor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieMasterEddyApr 7, 2016
Simple Yet Effective 'Witch' Hunt.

The big question hanging over "The Blair Witch Project" is simple but devastatingly effective. What happened to the three friends, Heather Donahue, Joshua Leonard and Michael Williams, who dove deep into
Simple Yet Effective 'Witch' Hunt.

The big question hanging over "The Blair Witch Project" is simple but devastatingly effective.
What happened to the three friends, Heather Donahue, Joshua Leonard and Michael Williams, who dove deep into the Maryland woods in search of witches and never returned?

The date was Oct. 21, 1994, according to the opening titles. It's always creepier with a date, isn't it? You can almost hear Robert Stack's voice in the narration, as the titles also inform us: "One year later, their footage was found."

The trio in the movie – led by Donahue (and portraying themselves) – was trying to make a documentary about the Blair Witch, a spirit believed to be haunting this sparsely inhabited corner of Maryland's Black Hills Forest.

But all that remains of their five-day trek into the heart of darkness is the footage in Leonard's 16mm camera and Donahue's High-8 video. Which we get to watch.

Well, what happened?

You won't find out by reading this. But I will say "Blair" was a good college try of a flick – as good an effort as one could expect of a film with no budget, one pretty good idea and a few creative minds trying to come up with an MTV-age campfire movie. Imagine a collaboration between George "Night of the Living Dead" Romero and the makers of "The Real World."

Donahue is the director of this witch-finding documentary, a young, idealistic person with a fairly good idea of the history behind the Blair Witch. Too bad she's not too hot with scouting skills.

Before embarking into the woods, Donahue and crew interview the locals, who have heard a story or two about that Witch Up There. That's another essential ingredient in a horror flick – the creepy past that preceded all this. Good stuff!

With these veiled, anecdotal warnings, the film crew – young, ambitious and dude-like – heads straight for the heart of darkness.

Or Maryland, anyway. Although they have a map and compass, they become hopelessly lost. As they realize how unmoored they are, their initial good humor becomes fraught with anxiety, tears, disbelief, boredom, depression and occasional yelling.

Was that the same log bridge across the creek they saw hours earlier? Do they go south or east now? What are those noises outside their tents at night? What happened to the smokes? As they become increasingly frayed and freaked, we start preparing for the worst. And that's where I'm leaving it.

"The Blair Witch Project" is certainly assured and savvy enough for the government work that we romantically refer to as "American Independent Moviemaking." I was hooked on its creepy possibilities right through to the end. What's good about this film is the way its actual creators – Ed Sanchez, Dan Myrick and Gregg Hale – use ellipses and suggestion to make our minds do most of the work. Most of the time, it's what the three witch-searchers don't see – but fear – that gets our petrified juices flowing or curdling. This is low-tech inventiveness at its best. And that, surely, is what campfire storytelling is all about.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
reviewerd1Apr 18, 2016
This is actually a really good watch. The first time I watched this I jumped out of my seat a few times. The good thing about this film is it actually feels real when you watch it, the amateur film it yourself vibe really makes this movieThis is actually a really good watch. The first time I watched this I jumped out of my seat a few times. The good thing about this film is it actually feels real when you watch it, the amateur film it yourself vibe really makes this movie unique (at the time it was made). If your in to horror films I would recommend you watch this.

(NO SPOILERS)Basically three people set of in the woods and end up getting lost and strange things start happening to them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
kerrflannAug 18, 2016
Definitely the worst/most boring film I've ever watched 1hr and 20 mins of 3 teens walking through a forest and camping out for a night not scary at all whoever reviews this and says 'scary as hell' honestly i think you've been paid to sayDefinitely the worst/most boring film I've ever watched 1hr and 20 mins of 3 teens walking through a forest and camping out for a night not scary at all whoever reviews this and says 'scary as hell' honestly i think you've been paid to say that DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews