Miramax Films | Release Date: November 7, 2008
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 118 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
89
Mixed:
19
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
EpicLadySpongeApr 11, 2016
Just remember if there's anything related to World War II, we would all know that we were all expecting this to be great, but generic flops and misfires there and here ruined it, causing this to just be an average flick for average peopleJust remember if there's anything related to World War II, we would all know that we were all expecting this to be great, but generic flops and misfires there and here ruined it, causing this to just be an average flick for average people (not moviegoers). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMay 29, 2016
Mediocre and awkward acting is what keeps me from giving this movie a good score. Even the camera work was a bit wonky and in some scenes the camera randomly cuts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Beautiful and scary, at the same time. Actually, only for the fact of making films about fictional events in 2nd War became something cult. Even up to quite tiring. But what to say about this production in particular, among many others of theBeautiful and scary, at the same time. Actually, only for the fact of making films about fictional events in 2nd War became something cult. Even up to quite tiring. But what to say about this production in particular, among many others of the genre? First, it's curious that a film based on a book has only 90 minutes long. But this is not something that points the lack of content or material. On the contrary. There are movies that can perfectly flush this out and just The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas achieves that success. The film primarily deals with the innocence of a child, and this can be modeled as negatively in the wrong hands. And the narrative axis has support precisely in fraternal relationship between the boys, both in extremely opposite but at the same time demonstrating profound ignorance of everything that is happening. And of course, not unworthy of the supporting cast, which is a rather considerable, as can be seen with the judel Pavel, showing fear and constant insecurity. We have one final daring by today's standards, but that is precisely what generates all the impact on the viewer (yes, all), so that a passing sensation of pain, both physical and mental. Even though it is fictional, it does point out all the humiliation and brutality that millions of Jews suffered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelDMay 13, 2011
The movie was ok. It didn't exactly grab my full attention and I read the book before watching the movie and I prefer the book rather than the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nascentFeb 1, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find the ending disgustingly manipulative, and soils the rest of the film, which otherwise is a decent yet unmemorable experience. Are we meant to be sad that a non-Jew kid has accidentally been taken to extermination with the Jews? The idea that THAT is the reason people love/cry at this movie sickens me. It's ok that the thousands of Jews at that camp were incinerated? but one little non-jew kid gets killed too and suddenly we have a tragedy? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
RyanLopezApr 15, 2011
This movie made me cry, it was just so damn sad, how bad those **** Nazis treated those poor, innocent Jews. I know that's what it was like in World War II, this movie made me cry over and over again
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
hoffesthApr 21, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Until the last 5 minutes, this was definitely a movie that completely oversimplified the horror of the Holocaust. However, the performances by the 2 lead young actors were incredible. Also the oversimplification and relatively lighter nature of this film relative to the subject matter (compared to Schindler's list, etc.) make it a important lesson that children to watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews