The Break-Up

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 178
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JenieS.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    instant american comedy classic..absolutley terrific by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classic..go vaughn.
  2. SisterA.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    all of it and more...its all you need and more. how beautiful is jennifer aniston, how funny is vince vaughn and how perfect is the funny at times and sad at times script by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classic
  3. JayS.
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    NOT romantic but a funny and realistic movie, highly entertaining and extremely believable story of a breakup. Everything Vaughn says is clever, entertaining funny and believable. The movie is fairly sophisticated and many complicated scenes work well. The producers of the trailer should never be hired again for misrepresenting this well done movie as a romantic comedy. Its a very funny NOT romantic but a funny and realistic movie, highly entertaining and extremely believable story of a breakup. Everything Vaughn says is clever, entertaining funny and believable. The movie is fairly sophisticated and many complicated scenes work well. The producers of the trailer should never be hired again for misrepresenting this well done movie as a romantic comedy. Its a very funny and entertaining unromantic comedy. Expand
  4. Aaron
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    The movie was a great comical approach to the problems we all face in our own relationships. I think Vince Vaugn and Jennifer Aniston had great chemistry and the movie had a lot of laughs and emotion. I don't understand why "professional" critics hated the movie so much because it really is worth seeing.
  5. GeorgeB.
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Critics completely miss the boat.
  6. JohnD.
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    Great Film...love the chemistry between aniston and vaughn.
  7. FreedS.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classicby far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classic.
  8. Erica
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    I would definitely give this movie a solid 8. Not the best, but definitely not among the worst. Vince Vaughan is absolutely hilarious, as always. And Jennifer Aniston is perfect. The jokes were good, but not over the top, and the plot was solid. Excellent script and lines, and Jon Favreau was a fabulous addition as a supporting character. The laughs were all genuine throughout the I would definitely give this movie a solid 8. Not the best, but definitely not among the worst. Vince Vaughan is absolutely hilarious, as always. And Jennifer Aniston is perfect. The jokes were good, but not over the top, and the plot was solid. Excellent script and lines, and Jon Favreau was a fabulous addition as a supporting character. The laughs were all genuine throughout the theater, and I can't wait for the sequel. Assuming Jen and Vince don't break up for real in the meantime and refuse to work together... Expand
  9. JohnsonT.
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    There's some great Vince Vaughn moments in the film...where you find yourself laughing along with the scenes...there's some tough moments too - but that's what makes the film worth seeing...
  10. VioletP.
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    Ubsolutely the best movie in a longest time. Must see for men of all ages. Very true and sad. Great ending - real life.
  11. Mase
    Jun 19, 2006
    7
    Not bad at all, actually very funny dark alterna romance movie. Vaughn is aces as usual and the movie really rests on his shoulders as Aniston really is as vacant as usual. Vaughn fans won't be disappointed guaranteed. Also Judy Davis and Justin Long are great as Aniston's boss and coworker who help with her scenes when Vaughn is gone. Also a side note Favereau and Vaughn look Not bad at all, actually very funny dark alterna romance movie. Vaughn is aces as usual and the movie really rests on his shoulders as Aniston really is as vacant as usual. Vaughn fans won't be disappointed guaranteed. Also Judy Davis and Justin Long are great as Aniston's boss and coworker who help with her scenes when Vaughn is gone. Also a side note Favereau and Vaughn look HORRIBLE, wow. I couldn't decide who was harder on the eyes them or Anistons strange overly tanned skeleton look. Expand
  12. KellyP.
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    We saw this movie despite the critics' reviews (and because Poseidon Adventure would truly be an act of desperation) only to find the movie pretty entertaining. Certainly better than what was promised.
  13. LalaM.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Excellent film I love it.
  14. ShawnM.
    Jun 3, 2006
    8
    A solid movie. Very funny, with lots of great characters including Vincent D'onofrio, Justin Long, and especially Judy Davis. There were no moments that I felt annoyed by the characters or their so-called lack of chemistry - I felt it was very well executed. And like some of the other reviewers, I did not feel that the ending was the set up for a sequel, more of a "you believe what A solid movie. Very funny, with lots of great characters including Vincent D'onofrio, Justin Long, and especially Judy Davis. There were no moments that I felt annoyed by the characters or their so-called lack of chemistry - I felt it was very well executed. And like some of the other reviewers, I did not feel that the ending was the set up for a sequel, more of a "you believe what you want" kind of ending like The Graduate. I would recommend to anyone, especially anyone who has ever found Vince Vaughn funny. Expand
  15. RebeccaN.
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    Loved it! Lauged the whole time. It was definitely better than I expected.
  16. Alessandra
    Jun 6, 2006
    8
    Wow, did the critics ever get this one wrong. It was a wonderful movie filled with laughs, tender moments and raw emotion. The end brought the whole story together. This movie is cathargic in a way, because it reminds us that everyone goes through break ups. Must see.
  17. BillC.
    Jun 7, 2006
    8
    Critic's have ego's and they are really showing their faults when they review this film.
    [***SPOILERS***] So what if the couple don't ride off together in your typical hollywood ending! I'm sick of critics saying the ending was re-shot and don't work.
  18. JillR.
    Jul 3, 2006
    8
    I thought this was a very interesting movie with moments of truth about relationships. It was funny at times, but it wasn't a comedy. I really liked it.
  19. MarcD
    Aug 21, 2006
    8
    Aniston is a very good actress.... better than I expected.
  20. DaveS.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classic.
  21. Rachael
    Jun 14, 2006
    9
    I've recently seen hillarious recut trailers for "movies" such as "Brokeback to the Future" and The Shining Redux, called simply, "Shining". (If you haven't seen these yet, check them out). They're makers prove a point, which is that movie footage can be manipulated to create trailers that seems to belong to completely different movies. I think The Break-Up suffered from a I've recently seen hillarious recut trailers for "movies" such as "Brokeback to the Future" and The Shining Redux, called simply, "Shining". (If you haven't seen these yet, check them out). They're makers prove a point, which is that movie footage can be manipulated to create trailers that seems to belong to completely different movies. I think The Break-Up suffered from a little bit of this. After viewing the trailer, most people who went to see it were likely expecting a light, breezy romantic comedy (ugh) and I'm sure were greatly disappointed. This movie is much more About Last Night (minus the almost pornographic elements) than it is How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days. As such, it is a wonderfully realistic portrayal of a relationship gone sour. If you like to see real life reflected on the big screen, go see this. If you're looking for escape, look elsewhere. Expand
  22. JeffS.
    Jun 15, 2006
    8
    Sure, it's not going to win any Oscars, and it doesn't make you think "wow, that's the funniest movie I've ever seen". However, it's a fun movie. As with most actors and actresses, some views may like them while others do not. For me, I'm a fan of both Aniston and Vaugn, and I enjoyed them both in this movie. Admittently, some of the fight scenes go a little Sure, it's not going to win any Oscars, and it doesn't make you think "wow, that's the funniest movie I've ever seen". However, it's a fun movie. As with most actors and actresses, some views may like them while others do not. For me, I'm a fan of both Aniston and Vaugn, and I enjoyed them both in this movie. Admittently, some of the fight scenes go a little long (you can only sit still during a relationship fight scene for so long before getting uncomfortable), but there are enough funny bits to make it effective. As others have said, this movie is about a breakup, and the actors were convincing enough to make me believe their emotional investment and hardship. In the end, I left the movie threater feeling entertained. At least it's a break from the typical romantic comedy genre... Expand
  23. BillyS.
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    When Vince Vaughn is being his usual fast-talking sardonic self, The Break Up looks promising, unfortunately, that's only about the first 15 minutes and then it becomes a Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? spin-off except by this time we're already unsympathetic for both of them and just want it to end, it doesn't matter how, just end already. The supporting cast, When Vince Vaughn is being his usual fast-talking sardonic self, The Break Up looks promising, unfortunately, that's only about the first 15 minutes and then it becomes a Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? spin-off except by this time we're already unsympathetic for both of them and just want it to end, it doesn't matter how, just end already. The supporting cast, especially Judy Davis and Vincent D'Onofrio, shine in their all to brief roles. Vince Vaughn's "Idea" for the story must have been a Great Indie script but the anti-romantic dramedy has been turned into a big Hollywood anti-entertaining film, and would somebody please tell Jennifer Anniston that there are roles out there that are not "A cute Rachel type woman." Expand
  24. AaronF.
    Jun 4, 2006
    7
    Overall it was a really interesting movie, which of course had it's lows, but overall was worth seeing. Vince Vaughn and Jennifer Aniston deliver amazingingly well done acting that was so perfect...unfortunatley the directing does tend to drag out the wrong parts too long. If it had moved a little more seamlessly it would have been a great hit, but it's still really good and has Overall it was a really interesting movie, which of course had it's lows, but overall was worth seeing. Vince Vaughn and Jennifer Aniston deliver amazingingly well done acting that was so perfect...unfortunatley the directing does tend to drag out the wrong parts too long. If it had moved a little more seamlessly it would have been a great hit, but it's still really good and has it's value none-the-less. It's a little weird to see Vince Vaughn as the obvious antagonist, even though he's usually good at showing those moments we love to laugh at but don't want to be like in many movies. They really played on the strengths of the actors in that, and like I said, the timing is the only thing throwing it off. It would have come together more if they could have had just a slightly more satisfying ending too, as compared to the "there's hope" ending. I guess that once again comes up to timing on the director's part. Expand
  25. MelissaM.
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    I thought this movie was actually really good. I'm not gonna lie before I actually sat down to watch it I thought maybe this movie wasn't going to be all that good, I thought it would only be funny for the first 20 minutes and then go downhill from there, but I was wrong. It was actually really really funny. Then again what movie isn't funny when Vince Vaughn is in it? I I thought this movie was actually really good. I'm not gonna lie before I actually sat down to watch it I thought maybe this movie wasn't going to be all that good, I thought it would only be funny for the first 20 minutes and then go downhill from there, but I was wrong. It was actually really really funny. Then again what movie isn't funny when Vince Vaughn is in it? I thought he did a really good job in this movie, especially with the serious parts, cause that's usually a side you don't see in him in movies. Jennifer Aniston was also good! I don't think she can ever do bad in a movie. She's defiantly one of my favorite actresses. I recommend this movie to anyone who wants to see a good romantic comedy that also has its serious parts that might be a tear jerker. Expand
  26. B.Rizza
    Jun 5, 2006
    7
    Definitely better than I expected. Johnny O AKA Jon Favreau was hilarious as his best bud/confidant. Jason Bateman as his bud/real estate agent/therapist had a small but very funny part. The ending however is what through me off & lowered the overall rating.
  27. Marilyn
    Jul 22, 2006
    7
    Funny, cute, engaging, but I didn't like the ending.
  28. ShanS.
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    I thought that the ending was totally appropriate. Some really funny lines that I missed the first time but caught the second. Great!
  29. JMG
    Feb 16, 2007
    7
    I think what backfired with this movie is that everyone going to see it expected a light, airly romantic comedy. Parts of it are funny but some of the scenes in it are a bit more blunt and realistic to what happens when couples break up. The games, the arguements....everything. They do a good job of showing the loneliness and various issues of these two people and how it effects their I think what backfired with this movie is that everyone going to see it expected a light, airly romantic comedy. Parts of it are funny but some of the scenes in it are a bit more blunt and realistic to what happens when couples break up. The games, the arguements....everything. They do a good job of showing the loneliness and various issues of these two people and how it effects their relationship. It's hard to watch not because it's bad (only mediocre) but because some of the situations are very real. Unnecessarily panned....not a great movie but still pretty good. Expand
  30. MichelleC.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Say what you will about this movie but I was truly entertained. I love Jennifer Aniston in everything she does, so it is no surprise that I think she is awesome as Brooke a sometimes crazy, always loveable heartbroken women. (Did I mention she looks amazing-worth the price of admission alone.) Vince Vaughn is classic Vince Vaughn-sarcastic and hilarious. I laughed, I cried. I think we Say what you will about this movie but I was truly entertained. I love Jennifer Aniston in everything she does, so it is no surprise that I think she is awesome as Brooke a sometimes crazy, always loveable heartbroken women. (Did I mention she looks amazing-worth the price of admission alone.) Vince Vaughn is classic Vince Vaughn-sarcastic and hilarious. I laughed, I cried. I think we will all see a side of how childish and vindictive we can be when going through a break-up. The ending rocks by the way!!! Expand
  31. Rev.Rikard
    Jun 19, 2006
    8
    I probably viewed this movie with a different eye than most. With a Masters in Marriage and Family therapy I carry quite a load of marital counseling. The movie contained all the depressing emotions and childish arguments I see repetively. I felt like I was in my office and listening to another couple that failed to ask the right questions before entering into a committed relationship. If I probably viewed this movie with a different eye than most. With a Masters in Marriage and Family therapy I carry quite a load of marital counseling. The movie contained all the depressing emotions and childish arguments I see repetively. I felt like I was in my office and listening to another couple that failed to ask the right questions before entering into a committed relationship. If the viewer wanted to be entertained this was a miserable experience. If they wanted to see the hell that a couple can experience without a happy ending, this was a good movie. Expand
  32. Dec 16, 2010
    7
    Hard to hate anything Vince Vaughn is in .. for me at least. Good humor there :) Jennifer Aniston is ok but barely. Great flick if you want some VV sarcasm and laughs!
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37
  1. Audiences expecting a good time will instead be rewarded with wildly unsympathetic lead characters and uncomfortably long stretches without a laugh in sight.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    50
    Sporadic rays of sunshine emanate from the broad and gifted supporting cast, but the core story is almost relentlessly unpleasant, like sitting through a dinner party where the host couple does nothing but bicker.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    50
    A routine, stereotype-stuffed sitcom with pretensions.