The Call

The Call Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 14, 2013
    90
    An effectively creepy thriller about a 911 operator and a young miss in peril, The Call is a model of low-budget filmmaking.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 14, 2013
    75
    The Call might not be a classic for the ages, but for a Friday night? For a movie to take people out of themselves? And to make them marvel at the viewing experience that just happened to them? This one is hard to beat.
  3. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Mar 20, 2013
    67
    A pastiche of classic plot devices scrounged from "The Taking of Pelham One Two Three," "The Conversation," "Blue Velvet," and dozens of other movies, the story often feels familiar, but director Anderson (The Machinist) has a such a flair for suspense that even the most jaded viewers will find themselves in a sweat.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Mar 12, 2013
    50
    There’s little to differentiate this high-pitched screamer from a particularly feverish “Law and Order” rerun.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    All that unsavory business aside, the biggest problem with the third act is how the film discards the novelty of its own premise in order to bring its star into the action. When Berry trades her headset for a rock, it’s the bluntest metaphor imaginable for a film that’s completely lost its mind.
  6. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Sep 18, 2013
    40
    Yet just when the movie has us in its grasp, the script falls to pieces and turns into a crass female-in-peril button-pusher whose shameless psycho-killer clichés insult the intelligence.
  7. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Mar 14, 2013
    33
    An active affront to logic, placing us in a world we firmly know doesn’t exist.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    i never saw a movie that Halle berry saves abgail breslin from a kidnap . i love the thrills and the watching halle berry save someone .i never saw a movie that Halle berry saves abgail breslin from a kidnap . i love the thrills and the watching halle berry save someone . great movie wonderful Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    An impressive thriller. It's tense, brutal, features a original idea, and, up until the very end, has believable moments and characters whoAn impressive thriller. It's tense, brutal, features a original idea, and, up until the very end, has believable moments and characters who act and make decisions like real people would. I have to give special praise to Halle Berry who gives a fantastic performance rather than just relying on her looks. This is also do to the fantastic writing. The only real complaint I have is that near the films conclusion it takes the predictable turn of the main character going in to save the girl by herself. It's predictable and cliche, but doesn't hinder the overall movie. All in all I was highly impressed with "The Call" and recommend a watch. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    The Call definitely had its plot holes and moments of stupidity. However, it was a very exciting movie and kept me on the edge of my seat. TheThe Call definitely had its plot holes and moments of stupidity. However, it was a very exciting movie and kept me on the edge of my seat. The weak part of the film is character development. I know a little bit about the characters but only just enough to get by. However, this is not really a character driven story. This movie was made to be a thrill ride. That is where the beauty lies. They want Speed and they somewhat get there. I thought the acting was pretty good. The villain of the film was very believable and did a great job. Overall, I wouldn't say its the best thriller I have ever seen but its pretty darn good. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    Really good interpritatin of being kidnapped. I think Abigail does a really good job of portraying the emotion. only down fall is the endingReally good interpritatin of being kidnapped. I think Abigail does a really good job of portraying the emotion. only down fall is the ending it seems like they cut it short as if they ran out of budget. I feel it should have lasted 5-10 min. longer. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    6
    Generally a somewhat thriller film "The Call" never dies down on It's plot and acting but It does on the actual story as well as violence. YouGenerally a somewhat thriller film "The Call" never dies down on It's plot and acting but It does on the actual story as well as violence. You may fine it as a stripped down version of "Maniac" comparing It's similar content. Nevertheless this film kept me watching, and I'm sure you will too. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    5
    Once you get past the unattractive Harpo Marx hairdo sported by Halle Berry in “The Call” the first 80 minutes of this 98 film presents anOnce you get past the unattractive Harpo Marx hairdo sported by Halle Berry in “The Call” the first 80 minutes of this 98 film presents an interesting thriller before it becomes a cliche of previous thrillers. At that point it falls apart leaving more questions than answers but you really don’t want to waste time trying to figure out what just happened.

    The screenplay by Richard D’Ovidio sets up the story of 911 star operator Jordan (Halle Berry) who makes a mistake and feels she is responsible for the death of a young kidnapped victim. Instead of continuing as an operator she now trains newcomers to the 911 center, known as ‘The Hive’ due to all the buzzing continuously going on of dispatchers answering phones with “911, what is your emergency?” and then following through to help solve them all from attempted suicides to a bat flying around in someone’s house. Jordan has a handsome police officer boyfriend, Paul Phillips, (Morris Chestnut) and with the help of some pills seems to have recovered from her previous experience only to once again be put in the same position. One of things she keeps telling the trainees is to never make promises to people on the other end of the line.

    Casey Wilson (Abigail Breslin) has been kidnapped in a mall garage by Michael Foster (Michael Eklund) who carries on in the Norman Bates, Hannibal Lecter and/or “Buffalo Bill” disturbed mode of killer. He puts her in the trunk of his car and using a cell phone, (What did thrillers use before cell phones?), she calls 911 and when the operator seems to be fumbling Jordan takes over. In most thrillers logic has to be parked at the door before the movie starts and this is no different but the various ways in which Jordan advises Casey and the sadistic actions of Michael as he travels Los Angeles highways and byways makes for gripping times in the film before it takes a wrong turn and makes the women action heroines.

    Berry does her usual efficient job while Breslin takes a huge step into being ready for adult roles Eklund goes from a serious, sadistic killer to, at times, the script making him an object of ridicule. Michael Imperioli as an innocent victim brings an element of surprise as does Jose Zuniga. The direction by Brad Anderson is more or less pedestrian while the music by John Debney plays with the emotions.

    “The Call” is rated R with gratuitous violence, sex and language but being a good thriller the first 80 minutes before going off the tracks and falling into the mundane.
    Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    How dare this movie have a 6.6 from the users and 50's from the critics. This piece of dog crud should be laughed about. The ending wasHow dare this movie have a 6.6 from the users and 50's from the critics. This piece of dog crud should be laughed about. The ending was stupid, the fact no one checked the cabin, she drops her phone, and doesn't finish him real good before he helps her. Too many retarded things happened. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Trailers