User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    6
    You know a film is weird when the actors can't act for but deliver a good performance anyway? That's the case it seems in The Canyons, a film about deluded young adults who don't know what they want, and won't tell you even by the end of the film. What mostly brings attention to this small indie film is that it brings the official no-joke-I'm-actually-attempting-to-act return of Lindsey Lohan! A brave comeback into the film, alongside porn actor James Deen... Is that a sentence that should ever be spoken? Yes, the film co-stars a well known porn industry actor who takes the name from legendary actor James DEAN. This movie is already harder to review now that it's origins are explained, so let's go forth with the story.

    Lohan plays Tara, a woman who relies on rich douches to take care of her, a lifestyle suddenly becoming boring with her sociopathic trust-fund leech boyfriend Christian, played by Deen. Christian is a so called producer who only uses the title to show his father he's doing something with his life, and is in a open sexual relationship with Tara; allowing other men or women to join in. The main plot comes into focus when Tara reunites with an old boyfriend named Ryan, who is an actor in Christian's upcoming produced film. What happens when this is revealed is nothing more than a cruel game in which Christian suspects the worst and with both Tara and Ryan's mind. But it isn't all that engaging if any it sounded that way.

    The Canyons is more of a film. Nothing really happens in the sense of action or thrills! The Canyons relies on suspense and style, of which for style it get's an Grade A+! Much of the cinematography in the film is excellently done and stylized to a tone that almost resembles the seediness and loneliness of it's own characters. Suspense on the other hand is what barely keeps you going throughout most of the film, but for me it seems just enough that I don't really hate it or love it that much either.

    Lohan has a long and I mean LONG way to go if she wants opinions of her acting career to improve, but for now this role seems to suit her perfectly. Trust me, she's no Marlo Brando (who the hell even made that reference?). The real steal for the film is James Deen's performance as the twisted Christian, who's sexual style and deviance blurs your vision of him much through the story. In conclusion: Style is something only a few films can master perfectly, and this film doesn't master anything, but with mixed performances and characters that warp your view of the world, The Canyons is a must see for people who want to see the absolute darkness that comes from simple people.
    Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2013
    6
    The whole fricken problem here is that Lohan can't act but delivers a solid performance in The Canyons. The plot is okay but the film is too violent and dark. At least not all focused on Lindsay. Anyway, not too great as Entertainment Weekly is praising it but no too bad either. Good popcorn thrills with jackass stuff.
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    This movie is not the best film i ever seen, but is goog and the Lindsay performance was excellent, i think that the actors did a great job in this film.
  4. Apr 13, 2014
    5
    I know the reviews were terrible. Out of curiosity I watched in anyway. Also I was interested in what's become of Lindsey Lohan.

    The movie maintains suspense; I kept watching because I wasn't sure where it was all headed. Also, it portrays a layer of the movie business and neighborhoods of Los Angeles differently than other main stream movies typically do.

    Bottom line, "The
    Canyons" is terrible, I'd call it solidly mediocre. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2014
    4
    While it suffers from low-budget syndrome and a poor direction from Mr. Schrader, Lindsay Lohan still shines--she sure does have a talent in acting after all these years.
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    1
    Oh man! The worst film I've seen in years! And the worst acting I've ever seen in my life, including the tapes of my mother's wedding. Beaker's puppet without the puppeteer delivers more than "James Deen" and Lindsay Lohan combined. When I started watching this, and there was that scene in the beginning, I was laughing my teeth out. But enough with jokes.

    I know it's low budget. It's
    supposed to be looking the way it is. But that's not where the problems are. When I read that it was Bret Easton Ellis who wrote the script, I thought "Oh, he's a good writer, it's going to be a good film." Then I realised B.E.E. has written the same story for almost thirty years now, in a dozen of different books. So no. The story is bad, the dialogue is not good, the acting is awful, the music is annoying, the visuals are amateur: all the ingredients sum up to a meager 1 out of 10.

    Girls might want to watch this because they rarely get to see full frontal male in cinemas.
    Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    This film fails because the story in pointless and the acting is awful. Basically what we get is a meandering story with a bunch of sex scenes mixed in. For soft core porn this acting might be good, but in the world of mainstream film making this acting is cringe worthy. F
  8. Oct 9, 2013
    4
    Film that tries to be independent, cult movie and almost it succeeds. "The Canyons" reminds me of "The Other Woman" or the Spanish film "Allegre ma non troppo". Lindsay Lohan recovers some of its former essence. The biggest problem with the film is not the script or the director, not, the problem is the partner of Lohan, James Deen. What does a porn actor starring in a movie? His performance is like a homemade short films actor. Expand
  9. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    The movie was getting bashed by critics even before it started production last Summer once Lindsay Lohan joined the film. Lindsay's performance is actually quite good. This is a very dark and edgy film and it really allows that side of her persona to flesh out throughout the twisted plot.

    I felt that the movie was well written and directed for a low-budget film. I loved the whole
    montage of closed cinemas throughout the movie and the way that young spoiled people in Hollywood behave. Lohan plays the role of damaged Tara flawlessly with seemingly little to no effort.

    I feel that nobody should take what the critics say seriously because most of them don't appear to have any taste in films these days. Whatever films they praise, turn out to be mundane dramas with no substance and they curse rare gems like this. Please watch the movie and ignore the negative publicity.
    Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 14 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Adam Lowes
    May 21, 2014
    40
    Despite a liberal dose of full frontal nudity, The Canyons fails to fully revel in its sleaze, struggling to even work as a deadpan satire on the kind of vacuous and deadened Hollywood types Easton Ellis brought to life in the pages of his debut novel, Less Than Zero.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Aug 22, 2013
    42
    The Canyons comes across as a desperate gambit for relevance by a group of artists who want to reinvent themselves but don't know how. Fittingly, that's the theme of the film itself.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 15, 2013
    12
    The best acting in The Canyons is done by the porn star. That might be all you need to know about this film, which is the kind of vapid, self-consciously artsy, waste-of-time movie that might never have seen the light of day (or the dark of theater) and would have gone straight to VOD were it not for the triple-threat name-recognition trio of the actress Lindsay Lohan, the director Paul Schrader and the writer Bret Easton Ellis.