The Change-Up

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 118
  2. Negative: 21 out of 118
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    6
    You wouldn't think an R rated comedy starring Ryan Reynalds and Jason Batemen would be full of boobs,bums, sexual content and even batemen being shat upon by his eighteen month old son. Reynalds and Bateman have great chemestry and props to both Leslie Mann and Olivia Wilde for getting your gear off and doing it graciously. The movie falls flat with the script, it's half funny,halfYou wouldn't think an R rated comedy starring Ryan Reynalds and Jason Batemen would be full of boobs,bums, sexual content and even batemen being shat upon by his eighteen month old son. Reynalds and Bateman have great chemestry and props to both Leslie Mann and Olivia Wilde for getting your gear off and doing it graciously. The movie falls flat with the script, it's half funny,half grating. Though every character is charming and great, the execution of the script however was meh. I thought it was a pretty decent comedy but not as great as other movies are. worth a rental Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    The first fifteen minutes or so had me extremely skeptical about this film, but ramped up with some huge laughs, and a few genuinely touching moments. Yes, it's WAY over the top in its attempts to gross you out, offend you, and make you squirm - and it earns its R rating with plenty to spare (see the "Lorno" scene). But how some critics can give it their lowest rating is beyond me. (ThenThe first fifteen minutes or so had me extremely skeptical about this film, but ramped up with some huge laughs, and a few genuinely touching moments. Yes, it's WAY over the top in its attempts to gross you out, offend you, and make you squirm - and it earns its R rating with plenty to spare (see the "Lorno" scene). But how some critics can give it their lowest rating is beyond me. (Then again, how a movie like "BioDome" gets a "1" Metascore is also a head-scratcher....) So no, it's low-brow as hell, but I was entertained, laughed hard, and "got" the life lessons. If this is your kind of movie, you'll enjoy it. If the trailer turned you off in the least, stay far, far away. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    6
    This movie is full of Boobs and sexual comments as well as being very inappropriate front of children. It was fun at points but nothing that made me really laugh it was all in all a well portrayed film
  4. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "The Change-Up", more so than prior body-swapping movies(three of them in 1987 alone), makes it perfectly clear that this comedy subgenre overlaps into horror territory, an encompassing that works as a reimagining of "Invasion of the Body Snatchers", but played for laughs. While alien dopplegangers exhibit the same contrastive behavior as people caught in the throes of demonic possession, the latter malady discomfits the notion of genre fluidity, because the tell-tale signs of somebody afflicted by the devil would be overtly self-evident(running the gamut from an altered voice to vomiting), thereby making easy ingratiation within the subtext too difficult. On the other hand, if the person is being replaced by a pod replicant, it normally takes the skeptic a longer time to accept this absence of the self, as reported by loved ones who know that their mother, uncle, and love interest(from the 1956 original) are impostors. In 1978, Phillip Kaufman remade the sci-fi classic, and picked up where Kevin McCarthy and Dana Wynter left off(in that cave of Dr. Bennett's discontent), by focusing, again, on a man and woman, but this time remaking the couple as husband and wife, because who better than a spouse to recognize the perceptible change in what has now become a quasi-sentinent being. Soon after Elizabeth shares with Geoffrey her news about the strange plant she discovered in the Bay Area terra firma, the husband stops acting like his usual self. Now he's cold and secretive, Elizabeth confides to her friend Matthew, and most startling of all, Geoffrey, a basketball fan, had given away their tickets to a Warriors game. That's definitely not her husband. She feels it in her bones. Although "The Body Snatcher" movies have a secure place in two film canons, perhaps sci-fi is the movie series' alpha genre, since in horror flicks, the characters, especially the female ones, are monumentally stupid. Elizabeth is smart. She knows right away that "Geoffrey isn't Geoffrey anymore," whereas Jamie takes forever to detect the "po[t] person" inhabiting her typically dependable husband. The mediated content belonging to horror and sci-fi productions are often amalgamable because within the diegesis of both simulacra worlds, the physical laws which govern their corporeal duplicate are broken in the same fantastical manner. Whereas Elizabeth diagnoses the change in Geoffrey after a single post-transformation encounter, Jamie, even after being told about the "change-up", and having witnessed Dave's brusque way with Cara over dinner, Mann plays a variation of the dumb blond by not catching on to the switch. Her surprising nudity, albeit common to the modern sex comedy, also has a longstanding alliance with the slasher flick . Despite being sexually active, Jamie survives, undermining a time-honored trope that only virgins are spared the wrath of patriarchy, but perhaps connubial sex is allowed to go unpunished. While it's a fallacy to purport that Jaime could die in a comedy as broad as "The Change-Up", theoretically, her amulet(a wedding band), which makes sexual intercourse filmically permissible without any violent repercussions, could have potentially lost its special powers, if not for her exotic gastronomic predilections, which as luck would have it, works as a preventive measure against sex with Mitch, therefore averting the retributional hazards that comes with the territory of being "the bad girl", or in this case, the adulterer. To the lothario, Jamie's loose bowel movements signifies the devil's work, since the film itself establishes fecal matter as owning a connotative value, when during a diaper change, Dave is on the receiving end of some projectile defecating, which recalls the green bile that ends up on the young priest's face in "The Exorcist". The filmmaker thinks like Mitch: women and babies are devils. The anomalous conduct of the baby, albeit mounted as slapstick comedy, nevertheless encompasses a comportment that hews close to horror, especially in a later scene, where another baby throws a cleaver in Mitch's direction, as if with the intent to kill like one of those mutant infants in "It's Alive". This womanizer is worse than Alfie, the mod playboy of swinging London in the 1966 film starring Michael Caine. He's like the dog-man(a human head affixed to a boxer's body) who makes Elizabeth scream in the Kaufman film. Unlike Alfie, who eventually befriends the dog that brackets the movie(therefore separating himself from the canine metaphor of his dastardly way with women), Mitch appears to be the end-result of a merger between man and animal. The paternal agony, upon seeing his son with another father redeems Alfie, who breaks the fourth wall with silence instead of his usual glib remarks. Mitch, on the other hand, doesn't respect Dave's family or job, and has no such redeemable moment. His horror is a human one; he loves nobody, not even himself. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    Yes, of course a body switching movie is going to be a bit dumb. But, that being said, they actually do a really good job of making you care and getting a lot of laughs out of the situations. Bateman is amazing, as always, and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Ryan Reynolds. Don't believe the haters, this is actually good for a lot of laughs.
  6. Aug 15, 2011
    6
    The movie is way to vulgar for no reason. Yes, I did laugh, but most of the jokes are corny, disgusting and has lots of sexual content. It's like if you're watching free porn. Why most of comedies today have to be so stupid ? Anyway, Jason Bateman (Dave Lockwood) and Ryan Reynolds (Mitch Planko) are best friends, which seems weird for so many reason. In the movie, it says that thereThe movie is way to vulgar for no reason. Yes, I did laugh, but most of the jokes are corny, disgusting and has lots of sexual content. It's like if you're watching free porn. Why most of comedies today have to be so stupid ? Anyway, Jason Bateman (Dave Lockwood) and Ryan Reynolds (Mitch Planko) are best friends, which seems weird for so many reason. In the movie, it says that there friends since third grade, but they really don't look the same age. Each of them have different personalities (almost opposite), but somehow their together. I'm not sure in real life these kind of people would be friends. Has you already know, they switch bodies, which we saw a hundred times before. I was impressed that you could really '' see '' that these characters have changed lives. Jason and Ryan did a good job changing the roles. Their acting was believable. It's not a terrible movie. Sure it has it's flaws, such as the cliche '' learning from each others lives '', but in general, it was okay, it had enjoyable moments and was surprisingly funny. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    A pretty gross out comedy that has a weak script and may not be worth your time unless your just extremely easily amused. Luckily I am, and I did get a few laughs, and the characters all do a fantastic job. But there are tons of better comedies out there. But it's at least worth a rental for comedy fans, just remember it's passable at best.
  8. Feb 25, 2012
    5
    Rather predictable. Some amusing moments and some rather disconcerning moments where actors perform rather dangerous scenes with infants. You surely don't want kids watching this one.
  9. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    I really didnt think i would ever see this film because i work at a theatre and i was getting sick of the preview for this film but it was a free movie so i decided to see it for the heck of it, it was alright. The comedy was there, but the story was just stupid. It was almost painful to watch at times when jason bateman tried to be ryan reynolds character, but you know i saw this movieI really didnt think i would ever see this film because i work at a theatre and i was getting sick of the preview for this film but it was a free movie so i decided to see it for the heck of it, it was alright. The comedy was there, but the story was just stupid. It was almost painful to watch at times when jason bateman tried to be ryan reynolds character, but you know i saw this movie for a laugh and i got a few of them, 5.5/10 but ill round it up to a 6 because jason bateman and ryan reynolds are 2 of my fav actors. Expand
  10. Aug 18, 2011
    4
    Let me make this as clear as possible, this movie was about as good as...it wasn't I can't even say it was good. It was horrible and on my list this is the worst comedy I have seen this year. Still I will give it four points because we do get to see Leslie Mann's **** Seriously even if I was a women this would be the best part of the film. It was that bad. Why? Lets just say the actorsLet me make this as clear as possible, this movie was about as good as...it wasn't I can't even say it was good. It was horrible and on my list this is the worst comedy I have seen this year. Still I will give it four points because we do get to see Leslie Mann's **** Seriously even if I was a women this would be the best part of the film. It was that bad. Why? Lets just say the actors forgot that they were suppose to switch bodies. Oops!!! Expand
  11. Nov 24, 2011
    4
    Good actors , good acting worst script , unfunny story makes The Changed Up kinda boring . Many film uses this kind of plot and this is clearly the worst .When In Rome (2010 film with kinda same plot) was far more good and funny then this one . The only thing enjoy in this film is Olivia's smile and cute face .They could make it a simple funny movie without Those language and Fake Scenes .
  12. Oct 30, 2011
    5
    I have to admit that some parts of the movie where very entertaining, but when you see the movie in general, like the story has no grip, nothing, it's just a stupid "fantasy" with no sense at all. Pissing in a fountain, and than wishing they had each other life, and blackout, puff, all done, please be original! It's like When In Rome all over again but a bit better. Although I have to sayI have to admit that some parts of the movie where very entertaining, but when you see the movie in general, like the story has no grip, nothing, it's just a stupid "fantasy" with no sense at all. Pissing in a fountain, and than wishing they had each other life, and blackout, puff, all done, please be original! It's like When In Rome all over again but a bit better. Although I have to say Olivia Wilde looked damn sexy in the film, and the last song it's stuck in my head, but for the rest, don't try again please. Expand
  13. Oct 31, 2011
    6
    Even though the acting seems kind of awkward at certain points, and the concept of the story is lame, the movie wasn't that bad. They could of course have used their imagination a little bit more when it came to the actual body change. Nonetheless, the movie was enjoyable. Some jokes were really funny and some situations became to awkward that I felt like the main characters. I do want toEven though the acting seems kind of awkward at certain points, and the concept of the story is lame, the movie wasn't that bad. They could of course have used their imagination a little bit more when it came to the actual body change. Nonetheless, the movie was enjoyable. Some jokes were really funny and some situations became to awkward that I felt like the main characters. I do want to emphasize that the story was bad. Also the story telling was way below how it should have been. You must have had a very sober mind to look at the movie this way though, because while watching it those things didn't bother me at all, I had good fun. Summarized: the movie is not of high quality, but it is sure fun watching! Expand
  14. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    You can't listen to the critics on this one. Yes it's raunchy but beneath all that this movie has some serious heart. The guys learn to appreciate each other's lives while finding out more about themselves. Thought it was definitely worth a watch.
  15. Dec 27, 2011
    5
    The male version of Freaky Friday. While there were undoubtedly some funny parts in the film, the humor was overly reliant on sex and vulgarity. Also, I had high expectations for Jason Bateman and Ryan Reynolds, as they almost always bring a good laugh. However, I wasn't overly impressed by either in the film, although I think this is largely due to the nature of the film/script ratherThe male version of Freaky Friday. While there were undoubtedly some funny parts in the film, the humor was overly reliant on sex and vulgarity. Also, I had high expectations for Jason Bateman and Ryan Reynolds, as they almost always bring a good laugh. However, I wasn't overly impressed by either in the film, although I think this is largely due to the nature of the film/script rather than their performances. While it may be a film that is worth Redboxing for a night, it is not a film that I plan on seeing again. Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    I was pleasantly surprised by how crude this film was. Normally I am not a fan of crude humour but for some reason I think it worked in this film. In hind sight, they obviously needed to do something as this film seems to have been done a million times but the film works fine. Reynolds, Mann, Bateman and Wilde work brilliantly together. However the script wasn't too good in the first placeI was pleasantly surprised by how crude this film was. Normally I am not a fan of crude humour but for some reason I think it worked in this film. In hind sight, they obviously needed to do something as this film seems to have been done a million times but the film works fine. Reynolds, Mann, Bateman and Wilde work brilliantly together. However the script wasn't too good in the first place so this film is by no means a classic. Expand
  17. Dec 28, 2014
    4
    The film has a very silly and formulaic plot and the humor is very crude. Bateman's against type performance was good but it didn't save the film. if you're a fan of this kind of humor well this is a movie that you should watch
  18. Apr 23, 2014
    4
    I did not find this movie funny at all. |It was boring jokes were bad and I never really got into this movie the whole time I was watching it. They just wanted to add nudity and tones of course language into the movie to make it R rated but it was all un needed and didn't make the movie any funnier.
  19. May 24, 2015
    5
    When I started this movie I thought it was going to be literally the worst film I have ever seen. The movie has gross out crude humour at first that almost reminds me of the Scary Movie franchise. I think that the best performances in this film were the women played by Olivia Wilde and Leslie Mann. This movie is certainly not perfect. The whole switching bodies thing has been done severalWhen I started this movie I thought it was going to be literally the worst film I have ever seen. The movie has gross out crude humour at first that almost reminds me of the Scary Movie franchise. I think that the best performances in this film were the women played by Olivia Wilde and Leslie Mann. This movie is certainly not perfect. The whole switching bodies thing has been done several times before and its full of clich├ęs. However the film does get better as it goes along and I'm sure that it can be enjoyed by more mature viewers. There's also a lot of nudity that is kind of unnecessary. Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Sep 12, 2011
    40
    Despite the promise of the title, this a fairly stale offering, plodding through the beats of a well-worn subgenre but failing to add much more than a foul mouth.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Aug 6, 2011
    20
    To call The Change-Up misogynistic would be to shortchange the equal-opportunity disgust this anal-regressive film demonstrates toward men, babies, old people, and corporeal existence in general.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 6, 2011
    40
    It's occasionally funny and a lot painful.