User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 104
  2. Negative: 19 out of 104

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    6
    You wouldn't think an R rated comedy starring Ryan Reynalds and Jason Batemen would be full of boobs,bums, sexual content and even batemen being shat upon by his eighteen month old son. Reynalds and Bateman have great chemestry and props to both Leslie Mann and Olivia Wilde for getting your gear off and doing it graciously. The movie falls flat with the script, it's half funny,half grating. Though every character is charming and great, the execution of the script however was meh. I thought it was a pretty decent comedy but not as great as other movies are. worth a rental Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    6
    This movie is full of Boobs and sexual comments as well as being very inappropriate front of children. It was fun at points but nothing that made me really laugh it was all in all a well portrayed film
  3. Aug 13, 2011
    2
    Not a good year for Ryan Reynolds and that's why "The Change-Up" was a big flop. I think this is one of the worst raunchy R-rated comedy of 2011. Sorry Ryan, if you want to make a mere good ol' comedy, try hooking up with Sandra Bullock or Milla Kunis.
  4. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    The first fifteen minutes or so had me extremely skeptical about this film, but ramped up with some huge laughs, and a few genuinely touching moments. Yes, it's WAY over the top in its attempts to gross you out, offend you, and make you squirm - and it earns its R rating with plenty to spare (see the "Lorno" scene). But how some critics can give it their lowest rating is beyond me. (Then again, how a movie like "BioDome" gets a "1" Metascore is also a head-scratcher....) So no, it's low-brow as hell, but I was entertained, laughed hard, and "got" the life lessons. If this is your kind of movie, you'll enjoy it. If the trailer turned you off in the least, stay far, far away. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2011
    0
    I was looking forward to seeing The Change Up. I am now boycotting it because of the use of the words Retarded and Downsy to refer to the twin boys in it.. A great comedy does not have to rely on hurtful and degrading comments about personâs with Intellectual DIsabilities to be funny.
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    3
    Boobs and bathroom humor occupy most of the so called "plot" in this bomb. I would have given it a zero, or a one, except for a few VERY funny gags that my inner pubescent side couldn't resist. Bateman had a decent year in 2011, but The Change-up knocked him down a few pegs. This film suffered from the same syndrome that Bridesmaids did, with writers and directors trying to FORCE something to be funny by being as raunchy, gross, and disgusting as possible. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    There were some moments that were like, "Really?". Some parts I felt like the writer and director went too far because they wanted to be all dramatic. However, the movie itself wasn't that bad and sexy Ryan Reynolds made up for it...
  8. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "The Change-Up", more so than prior body-swapping movies(three of them in 1987 alone), makes it perfectly clear that this comedy subgenre overlaps into horror territory, an encompassing that works as a reimagining of "Invasion of the Body Snatchers", but played for laughs. While alien dopplegangers exhibit the same contrastive behavior as people caught in the throes of demonic possession, the latter malady discomfits the notion of genre fluidity, because the tell-tale signs of somebody afflicted by the devil would be overtly self-evident(running the gamut from an altered voice to vomiting), thereby making easy ingratiation within the subtext too difficult. On the other hand, if the person is being replaced by a pod replicant, it normally takes the skeptic a longer time to accept this absence of the self, as reported by loved ones who know that their mother, uncle, and love interest(from the 1956 original) are impostors. In 1978, Phillip Kaufman remade the sci-fi classic, and picked up where Kevin McCarthy and Dana Wynter left off(in that cave of Dr. Bennett's discontent), by focusing, again, on a man and woman, but this time remaking the couple as husband and wife, because who better than a spouse to recognize the perceptible change in what has now become a quasi-sentinent being. Soon after Elizabeth shares with Geoffrey her news about the strange plant she discovered in the Bay Area terra firma, the husband stops acting like his usual self. Now he's cold and secretive, Elizabeth confides to her friend Matthew, and most startling of all, Geoffrey, a basketball fan, had given away their tickets to a Warriors game. That's definitely not her husband. She feels it in her bones. Although "The Body Snatcher" movies have a secure place in two film canons, perhaps sci-fi is the movie series' alpha genre, since in horror flicks, the characters, especially the female ones, are monumentally stupid. Elizabeth is smart. She knows right away that "Geoffrey isn't Geoffrey anymore," whereas Jamie takes forever to detect the "po[t] person" inhabiting her typically dependable husband. The mediated content belonging to horror and sci-fi productions are often amalgamable because within the diegesis of both simulacra worlds, the physical laws which govern their corporeal duplicate are broken in the same fantastical manner. Whereas Elizabeth diagnoses the change in Geoffrey after a single post-transformation encounter, Jamie, even after being told about the "change-up", and having witnessed Dave's brusque way with Cara over dinner, Mann plays a variation of the dumb blond by not catching on to the switch. Her surprising nudity, albeit common to the modern sex comedy, also has a longstanding alliance with the slasher flick . Despite being sexually active, Jamie survives, undermining a time-honored trope that only virgins are spared the wrath of patriarchy, but perhaps connubial sex is allowed to go unpunished. While it's a fallacy to purport that Jaime could die in a comedy as broad as "The Change-Up", theoretically, her amulet(a wedding band), which makes sexual intercourse filmically permissible without any violent repercussions, could have potentially lost its special powers, if not for her exotic gastronomic predilections, which as luck would have it, works as a preventive measure against sex with Mitch, therefore averting the retributional hazards that comes with the territory of being "the bad girl", or in this case, the adulterer. To the lothario, Jamie's loose bowel movements signifies the devil's work, since the film itself establishes fecal matter as owning a connotative value, when during a diaper change, Dave is on the receiving end of some projectile defecating, which recalls the green bile that ends up on the young priest's face in "The Exorcist". The filmmaker thinks like Mitch: women and babies are devils. The anomalous conduct of the baby, albeit mounted as slapstick comedy, nevertheless encompasses a comportment that hews close to horror, especially in a later scene, where another baby throws a cleaver in Mitch's direction, as if with the intent to kill like one of those mutant infants in "It's Alive". This womanizer is worse than Alfie, the mod playboy of swinging London in the 1966 film starring Michael Caine. He's like the dog-man(a human head affixed to a boxer's body) who makes Elizabeth scream in the Kaufman film. Unlike Alfie, who eventually befriends the dog that brackets the movie(therefore separating himself from the canine metaphor of his dastardly way with women), Mitch appears to be the end-result of a merger between man and animal. The paternal agony, upon seeing his son with another father redeems Alfie, who breaks the fourth wall with silence instead of his usual glib remarks. Mitch, on the other hand, doesn't respect Dave's family or job, and has no such redeemable moment. His horror is a human one; he loves nobody, not even himself. Expand
  9. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was so nasty that it didn't bring to my intention to laugh. Let me explain for what this movie is trying to put some bad parts that the R-Rated got failed. I know that I love R-Rated comedies that work to be entertaining of funny people and some wild stuff that every movies done, but it has to be a reason for it. Here's my problem for this mean spirited movie: 1. Why this guy is so idiot that he's acts like a fool to his best friend and the entire family? 2. Why there's CGI baby hitting his head too many times and the baby pumps out in his butt? I'm liking, what??? 3. There's a porn scene where this guy is doing a nasty stuff for letting this woman to suck inside her butt? WHY??? That's not FUNNY!!! 4. Why this guy is calling his switcha best friend to help him to fix those two babies, while one of those babies are making hazard things into a threat dangerous stuff? If you're doing to make babies to come themselves, and why were you doing talking on the phone while those babies make them dangerous stuff! I mean WHAT IS THIS??? I have no idea what this movie is trying to be funny or not. For me, I don't think this movie will bring more intentions to be nasty and too much stupidity of every two best friends are the worst written guys ever! I really hate this movie to be so raunchy, too wild, and too idiot at the same time, and it fails that I would rather smack my head that drops down on my giggling sense. So I written down on my spoiler, so you know what I just told on my review. Bottom line, The Chane-Up is stupid and more STUPID!!! Expand
  10. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    All in all, a very funny movie. I honestly didn't know Jason Bateman could pull off such a **** character, but he did is perfectly! Ryan Reynolds was awesome as always. The best scene of the film? Mitch crying while filming the "lorno". If you're looking for some laughs, go watch The Change-Up. But DO NOT bring children... it's a very vulgar film.
  11. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    Well, I officially disagree with apparently every critic on the planet. While the premise for this movie is tired, overdone and the green-lighting of this movie could have been considered a very questionable move, the fact is, the hard R The Change-Up has earned has also given a very adult and empathetic undertone. The movie has much more of a message than its vulgarity implies and it is flawlessly delivered by two of the most underrated comedic actors in Jason Bateman and Ryan Reynolds. I absolutely adored this movie, squirmed often, but eventually smiled a very pleasant smile at the pure sweetness of its message. I highly recommend it! Expand
  12. Aug 11, 2011
    7
    Nothing about this story is fresh, but the comic ability of the two leads makes it funny. Jason Bateman plays a hard-working father of three and Ryan Reynolds is a carefree stud. Once their bodies switch, the mayhem beginsâ
  13. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    The Change up gives us a fresh take on the body-switch comedy genre. Most of the time, they are too light hearted and unreal. The Change-Up gives us a look at what REAL people probably would do if there was a situation like this (although, i get it, it will never happen). There was consistent funny and vulgar parts to this movie which had me laughing most of the way through the film. There was a little too much emotion in the movie though for a comedy, but it fits together alright. Worth Checking out for sure. 7/10 Expand
  14. Aug 15, 2011
    6
    The movie is way to vulgar for no reason. Yes, I did laugh, but most of the jokes are corny, disgusting and has lots of sexual content. It's like if you're watching free porn. Why most of comedies today have to be so stupid ? Anyway, Jason Bateman (Dave Lockwood) and Ryan Reynolds (Mitch Planko) are best friends, which seems weird for so many reason. In the movie, it says that there friends since third grade, but they really don't look the same age. Each of them have different personalities (almost opposite), but somehow their together. I'm not sure in real life these kind of people would be friends. Has you already know, they switch bodies, which we saw a hundred times before. I was impressed that you could really '' see '' that these characters have changed lives. Jason and Ryan did a good job changing the roles. Their acting was believable. It's not a terrible movie. Sure it has it's flaws, such as the cliche '' learning from each others lives '', but in general, it was okay, it had enjoyable moments and was surprisingly funny. Expand
  15. Sep 24, 2011
    3
    Sub par. The movie has some funny moments, and although Bateman is as type-cast as ever, he does get a chance to play the non-straight guy after the 'change-up'. That said, this movie is formulaic and derivative. The first half sees the comedy and gags aimed at those around the 12-15 year old age category, pandering to the teenage humor of feces and breasts. Don't get me wrong, I love a good cack joke as much as the next guy, and this isn't too low brow for me, it's just that it feels forced. Oddly the second half of the movie tries to get a little deeper after the story reaches its arc.

    All in all there are a few laughs here, but probably not worth the price of admission, and ultimately a big let down.
    Expand
  16. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    A pretty gross out comedy that has a weak script and may not be worth your time unless your just extremely easily amused. Luckily I am, and I did get a few laughs, and the characters all do a fantastic job. But there are tons of better comedies out there. But it's at least worth a rental for comedy fans, just remember it's passable at best.
  17. Feb 25, 2012
    5
    Rather predictable. Some amusing moments and some rather disconcerning moments where actors perform rather dangerous scenes with infants. You surely don't want kids watching this one.
  18. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    I saw this movie, Bridesmaids, and Horrible Bosses all in the past weekend. Of the three, this is the best. I hadn't laughed this much and been grossed out so much since the Hangover and the Harold & Kumar movies. I went in with REALLY low expectations, and it didn't just surpass them, it was downright great with all of the shocks and surprises.
  19. Dec 12, 2011
    7
    Come on! It was funny and that's that. It's not an Oscar winner of course, though Bateman's performance is hysterical and convincing! This film surprised me. I wasn't expecting much, but this one turned out to be quite funny and with a little dab of heart in there. Am I glad I didn't see it in the theatres and instead resorted to a $1 rental? Absolutely, only so as to save myself $8.50.
  20. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    I really didnt think i would ever see this film because i work at a theatre and i was getting sick of the preview for this film but it was a free movie so i decided to see it for the heck of it, it was alright. The comedy was there, but the story was just stupid. It was almost painful to watch at times when jason bateman tried to be ryan reynolds character, but you know i saw this movie for a laugh and i got a few of them, 5.5/10 but ill round it up to a 6 because jason bateman and ryan reynolds are 2 of my fav actors. Expand
  21. Aug 18, 2011
    4
    Let me make this as clear as possible, this movie was about as good as...it wasn't I can't even say it was good. It was horrible and on my list this is the worst comedy I have seen this year. Still I will give it four points because we do get to see Leslie Mann's **** Seriously even if I was a women this would be the best part of the film. It was that bad. Why? Lets just say the actors forgot that they were suppose to switch bodies. Oops!!! Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    This would have been a very good movie if they would have left out all the cursing, even though a lot of adults would not take their kids to see an R rated movie, this movie had the characters using very vulgar language in front of children. It seems like directors, writers, and producers think they their movie won't make any money if they don't have vulgarity and sexual all the way through, but all of this takes away from the movie... Expand
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    4
    Good actors , good acting worst script , unfunny story makes The Changed Up kinda boring . Many film uses this kind of plot and this is clearly the worst .When In Rome (2010 film with kinda same plot) was far more good and funny then this one . The only thing enjoy in this film is Olivia's smile and cute face .They could make it a simple funny movie without Those language and Fake Scenes .
  24. Oct 30, 2011
    5
    I have to admit that some parts of the movie where very entertaining, but when you see the movie in general, like the story has no grip, nothing, it's just a stupid "fantasy" with no sense at all. Pissing in a fountain, and than wishing they had each other life, and blackout, puff, all done, please be original! It's like When In Rome all over again but a bit better. Although I have to say Olivia Wilde looked damn sexy in the film, and the last song it's stuck in my head, but for the rest, don't try again please. Expand
  25. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    Yes, of course a body switching movie is going to be a bit dumb. But, that being said, they actually do a really good job of making you care and getting a lot of laughs out of the situations. Bateman is amazing, as always, and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Ryan Reynolds. Don't believe the haters, this is actually good for a lot of laughs.
  26. Nov 3, 2011
    7
    This movie is really funny...

    I laugh a lot watching it, the jokes aren't smart at all but at the end of it you realise that you are laughing really hard.

    As a serious movie, it's not good.. but that is not the point of it, anyway.

    If you are looking for some casual fun with some dumb girl or even if you are too lazy to think too much and just wanna laugh, this movie can be a very nice coice.
  27. Oct 31, 2011
    6
    Even though the acting seems kind of awkward at certain points, and the concept of the story is lame, the movie wasn't that bad. They could of course have used their imagination a little bit more when it came to the actual body change. Nonetheless, the movie was enjoyable. Some jokes were really funny and some situations became to awkward that I felt like the main characters. I do want to emphasize that the story was bad. Also the story telling was way below how it should have been. You must have had a very sober mind to look at the movie this way though, because while watching it those things didn't bother me at all, I had good fun. Summarized: the movie is not of high quality, but it is sure fun watching! Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Terrible movie.....I watched about 5 minutes of it and found it so disgusting......so surprised that such good actors would chose such a movie to appear in!
  29. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    Very funny movie that has solid acting and some incredibly hilarious scenes. I liked the second half more than the first half because while the first half had some of the funnier elements, it was also a bit ridiculous at times. Ryan Reynolds and Jason Bateman are great as usual, Leslie Mann shines in one of her more expanded roles, and Olivia Wilde is absolutely stunning. I was a little disappointed she wasn't featured a bit more to be honest. Expand
  30. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    You can't listen to the critics on this one. Yes it's raunchy but beneath all that this movie has some serious heart. The guys learn to appreciate each other's lives while finding out more about themselves. Thought it was definitely worth a watch.
  31. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    This poor taste movie deserves BELOW a 0 but there isn't one. Awful movie, poor taste and actors should have never done this down-right horrible and filthy movie. We rented for a dollar and we want our dollar back! Couldn't even finish the horrible thing! If this is want Hollywood thinks about society, then we are in real trouble! This movie IS a porno and should have been rates as such!
  32. Dec 27, 2011
    5
    The male version of Freaky Friday. While there were undoubtedly some funny parts in the film, the humor was overly reliant on sex and vulgarity. Also, I had high expectations for Jason Bateman and Ryan Reynolds, as they almost always bring a good laugh. However, I wasn't overly impressed by either in the film, although I think this is largely due to the nature of the film/script rather than their performances. While it may be a film that is worth Redboxing for a night, it is not a film that I plan on seeing again. Expand
  33. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    A very solid movie. An after-hours body switching movie. The Parent Trap for adults if you will. I thought Ryan Reynolds and Jason Bateman were hilarious, and Leslie Mann was brilliant again. Not much to say, but the movie does a nice job of trying to squeeze a nice story in between all the poop. Really. Poop.
  34. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    The film at once ... A good, naive, sometimes funny. Deserves evaluation 6, but for actors add 1 more point. Olivia Wilde and Leslie Mann as beautiful as ever.
  35. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    A new bro-mance standard.

    I can't believe how poorly this movie reviewed. The lot of us sat there laughing our asses off ALL though. It shouldn't need to be said but if you know one of the characters get's a mouth full of baby poop in the opening scenes, you know as a movie buff and a person, it's time to really lower your standards.

    As soon as you commit to watching a movie as
    implausible as two characters switching bodies because they both peed in public fountain while they were drunk, then you have to put your guard down; you cannot rate it like you would an art film. It's a comedy and a good one. Watch it with your friends though; movies like this are designed for a) people with a penis and b) external laughter. Schindler's List is for watching alone.

    And yes, @RowenaB, dude movies rely heavily derision; it's a staple of male-on-male comedy. If you remove that then all you have left is chick flicks and what explosion-loving male wants to live in a world like that?

    I'm rating this an 8 - as a comedy - not as a film.
    Expand
  36. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    I was pleasantly surprised by how crude this film was. Normally I am not a fan of crude humour but for some reason I think it worked in this film. In hind sight, they obviously needed to do something as this film seems to have been done a million times but the film works fine. Reynolds, Mann, Bateman and Wilde work brilliantly together. However the script wasn't too good in the first place so this film is by no means a classic. Expand
  37. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    Many will be offended by the film and claim it has no respect for women, but I think The Change-Up does a great job developing the characters of both Mann and Wilde. It's also the funniest movie since The Hangover, and the best body-swap flick since Tom Hanks did Big back in the 80's.
  38. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    The Change-Up is a great best friends movie. While those who don't have a specific best friend who they've known since childhood might not enjoy this, all best friends should find it hilarious and heartwarming, if you can believe it. Bateman and Reynalds are phenomenal together, and their female counterparts do a bang-up job too. Though some may find it offensive and disgusting (especially a scene where Bateman's infant son craps in his mouth), this movie is well done and definitely worth your time. Expand
  39. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    A mi me parecio buena la pelicula, es una pelicula divertida y graciosa, aunque tiene lenguaje atrevido y escenas con mujeres desnudas.NO ES UNA PELICULA PARA VER EN FAMILIA, pero si con amigos.
  40. Jul 27, 2013
    3
    The Change-Up is basically Freaky Friday only all of the humor has been replaced by raunchy sex and poop jokes. The female characters are weak and the male characters are complete and utter jackasses, but even more upsetting is the fact that none of the characters attempt to better their lives through positive action. The plot would lie stagnant if both male characters were smart enough to actually attempt to do the right thing. I expected great things from this movie, but the premise was not done in a way that made it likable. Leslie Mann saves this film, and without her the entire movie completely plummets into the ground. If you like raunchy comedy you'll probably enjoy The Change-Up, but it is not a movie for the girlfriend, wife, or kids. Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Sep 12, 2011
    40
    Despite the promise of the title, this a fairly stale offering, plodding through the beats of a well-worn subgenre but failing to add much more than a foul mouth.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Aug 6, 2011
    20
    To call The Change-Up misogynistic would be to shortchange the equal-opportunity disgust this anal-regressive film demonstrates toward men, babies, old people, and corporeal existence in general.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 6, 2011
    40
    It's occasionally funny and a lot painful.