Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Growing up together, Mitch and Dave were inseparable best friends, but as the years have passed they've slowly drifted apart. While Dave is an overworked lawyer, husband and father of three, Mitch has remained a single, quasi-employed man-child who has never met a responsibility he liked. To Mitch, Dave has it all: beautiful wife Jamie, kids who adore him and a high-paying job at a prestigious law firm. To Dave, living Mitch's stress free life without obligation or consequence would be a dream come true. Following a drunken night out together, Mitch and Dave's worlds are turned upside down when they wake up in each other's bodies and proceed to freak the &*#@ out. (Universal Pictures)




    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 2, 2011
    80
    Despite all the boobs, The Change-Up is very fair to its female characters-well, at least to Mann and Wilde, who both ring true, even if Wilde is almost too good to be true...It sounds like a trifling detail, but those details are sorely missing from most "date movies," in which even the women laughing in the audience exit feeling like they're the butt of the joke.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 3, 2011
    63
    Distilled to its basics, it's little more than a sit-com that has been tarted up with scenes of projectile poop, odd sexual fetishes, and knife wielding babies. It all seems a little tired and, more importantly, not as funny as it should be.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 3, 2011
    50
    Soon enough it's back to stale jokes about spousal date nights.
  4. 50
    While there's some decent fun to be had in this fantasy world, The Change-Up drags on so long you may need to "visit the fountain" before Dave and Mitch become themselves again.
  5. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Aug 2, 2011
    40
    The Change-Up bravely attempts to revive the dormant subgenre but it's a lame effort that grows increasingly frantic and foul-mouthed as the realization sets in that the gimmick isn't working.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 6, 2011
    40
    It's occasionally funny and a lot painful.
  7. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 4, 2011
    0
    The Change-Up is the "Human Centipede" of gag-me comedies.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 42
  2. Negative: 8 out of 42
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    This would have been a very good movie if they would have left out all the cursing, even though a lot of adults would not take their kids to see an R rated movie, this movie had the characters using very vulgar language in front of children. It seems like directors, writers, and producers think they their movie won't make any money if they don't have vulgarity and sexual all the way through, but all of this takes away from the movie... Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    I saw this movie, Bridesmaids, and Horrible Bosses all in the past weekend. Of the three, this is the best. I hadn't laughed this much and been grossed out so much since the Hangover and the Harold & Kumar movies. I went in with REALLY low expectations, and it didn't just surpass them, it was downright great with all of the shocks and surprises. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    Very funny movie that has solid acting and some incredibly hilarious scenes. I liked the second half more than the first half because while the first half had some of the funnier elements, it was also a bit ridiculous at times. Ryan Reynolds and Jason Bateman are great as usual, Leslie Mann shines in one of her more expanded roles, and Olivia Wilde is absolutely stunning. I was a little disappointed she wasn't featured a bit more to be honest. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    A pretty gross out comedy that has a weak script and may not be worth your time unless your just extremely easily amused. Luckily I am, and I did get a few laughs, and the characters all do a fantastic job. But there are tons of better comedies out there. But it's at least worth a rental for comedy fans, just remember it's passable at best. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    The first fifteen minutes or so had me extremely skeptical about this film, but ramped up with some huge laughs, and a few genuinely touching moments. Yes, it's WAY over the top in its attempts to gross you out, offend you, and make you squirm - and it earns its R rating with plenty to spare (see the "Lorno" scene). But how some critics can give it their lowest rating is beyond me. (Then again, how a movie like "BioDome" gets a "1" Metascore is also a head-scratcher....) So no, it's low-brow as hell, but I was entertained, laughed hard, and "got" the life lessons. If this is your kind of movie, you'll enjoy it. If the trailer turned you off in the least, stay far, far away. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2011
    4
    Good actors , good acting worst script , unfunny story makes The Changed Up kinda boring . Many film uses this kind of plot and this is clearly the worst .When In Rome (2010 film with kinda same plot) was far more good and funny then this one . The only thing enjoy in this film is Olivia's smile and cute face .They could make it a simple funny movie without Those language and Fake Scenes . Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was so nasty that it didn't bring to my intention to laugh. Let me explain for what this movie is trying to put some bad parts that the R-Rated got failed. I know that I love R-Rated comedies that work to be entertaining of funny people and some wild stuff that every movies done, but it has to be a reason for it. Here's my problem for this mean spirited movie: 1. Why this guy is so idiot that he's acts like a fool to his best friend and the entire family? 2. Why there's CGI baby hitting his head too many times and the baby pumps out in his butt? I'm liking, what??? 3. There's a porn scene where this guy is doing a nasty stuff for letting this woman to suck inside her butt? WHY??? That's not FUNNY!!! 4. Why this guy is calling his switcha best friend to help him to fix those two babies, while one of those babies are making hazard things into a threat dangerous stuff? If you're doing to make babies to come themselves, and why were you doing talking on the phone while those babies make them dangerous stuff! I mean WHAT IS THIS??? I have no idea what this movie is trying to be funny or not. For me, I don't think this movie will bring more intentions to be nasty and too much stupidity of every two best friends are the worst written guys ever! I really hate this movie to be so raunchy, too wild, and too idiot at the same time, and it fails that I would rather smack my head that drops down on my giggling sense. So I written down on my spoiler, so you know what I just told on my review. Bottom line, The Chane-Up is stupid and more STUPID!!! Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers