The Company

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 6 out of 21

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MikaelP.
    Jan 5, 2004
    3
    This movie appeared as the closing film for the High Falls Film Festival in Rochester, New York, where many great small and foreign films were revealed, especially In America. This film, on the other hand, sucked us in and then spit us out, completely disappointed. Great talent does show itself in this film, but the entire experience is utterly banal, as the film has NO plot. None. It can This movie appeared as the closing film for the High Falls Film Festival in Rochester, New York, where many great small and foreign films were revealed, especially In America. This film, on the other hand, sucked us in and then spit us out, completely disappointed. Great talent does show itself in this film, but the entire experience is utterly banal, as the film has NO plot. None. It can be said that it is a documentary about a dance studio in Chicago, and some of the things that occured in the course of that studio's existence are revealed. You know what? Nobody cares about the story, because there is no plot, and the character traits and development are lost and pointless. The only draw of the film was the dancing talent that was shown, which, as I feel that anyone else in that theater can support me on, would be better seen at a REAL dance studio today. The whole experience is lost onscreen. After the film ended and we realized how pointless it was, one of the "writers" went onstage and was interviewed about the experience of writing the screenplay. She admitted that Altman had requested that no story should exist, so that is exactly what he got. Prior film interviews at the festival had brought out many questions from the audience, but very few people wanted to ask her any questions, seeing as how there was really nothing to ask about. Nothing. So folks, take it from someone who has lasted perienced its pointlessness. Ignore the critics' praise of Altmanism. This is possible the least consecquential movie of the year. Expand
  2. HelenS.
    Apr 10, 2006
    2
    Can I say BORING? I just rented this and fell asleep 20 minutes into it. There is no story line, no character development and some of the choreography looks like it's making fun of ballet. Neve Campbell is non-existent and has barely any lines. What is the point of this movie?
  3. JoshC
    Nov 19, 2006
    0
    Robert Altman has been plugging away on movie sets, manufacturing adroit classics, odious train wrecks, and
  4. MikaelP.
    Jan 5, 2004
    3
    This movie appeared as the closing film for the High Falls Film Festival in Rochester, New York, where many great small and foreign films were revealed, especially In America. This film, on the other hand, sucked us in and then spit us out, completely disappointed. Great talent does show itself in this film, but the entire experience is utterly banal, as the film has NO plot. None. It can This movie appeared as the closing film for the High Falls Film Festival in Rochester, New York, where many great small and foreign films were revealed, especially In America. This film, on the other hand, sucked us in and then spit us out, completely disappointed. Great talent does show itself in this film, but the entire experience is utterly banal, as the film has NO plot. None. It can be said that it is a documentary about a dance studio in Chicago, and some of the things that occured in the course of that studio's existence are revealed. You know what? Nobody cares about the story, because there is no plot, and the character traits and development are lost and pointless. The only draw of the film was the dancing talent that was shown, which, as I feel that anyone else in that theater can support me on, would be better seen at a REAL dance studio today. The whole experience is lost onscreen. After the film ended and we realized how pointless it was, one of the "writers" went onstage and was interviewed about the experience of writing the screenplay. She admitted that Altman had requested that no story should exist, so that is exactly what he got. Prior film interviews at the festival had brought out many questions from the audience, but very few people wanted to ask her any questions, seeing as how there was really nothing to ask about. Nothing. So folks, take it from someone who has lasted perienced its pointlessness. Ignore the critics' praise of Altmanism. This is possible the least consecquential movie of the year. Expand
  5. BirKaurK.
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    Simply exquisite!
  6. ItaloD.
    May 8, 2005
    9
    Great piece. Nice to see pretty faces (Campbell and Franco) doing great performances. Altman knows how filme real life. Of course, most of the goodness on this movie is due to the cut.
  7. JusticeT.
    Jan 15, 2004
    8
    I like Altman. I don't dance. I like to be visually entertained. I don't appreciate special effects. I like to be challenged by alternative film. I don't like to be taken advantage of as an audience member. I liked this movie more than I ever thought I would even though it went to the top of my must-see list. Impressive, interesting, and thoroughly satisfying. Sure I wanted I like Altman. I don't dance. I like to be visually entertained. I don't appreciate special effects. I like to be challenged by alternative film. I don't like to be taken advantage of as an audience member. I liked this movie more than I ever thought I would even though it went to the top of my must-see list. Impressive, interesting, and thoroughly satisfying. Sure I wanted more, but that is because I got it. Whatever you do, dismiss the negative reviews. Accept the notion that there is no plot, remember the title of the film, the director involved and what you will see on screen will entrance you. As something that is forming within the film will make you laugh, when it all comes together, you will see the art. That is this movie. Expand
  8. Elliott
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    An unbelievably beautiful film, easily the best thing Altman has done in over a decade... Certainly better than Gosford Park, which, sadly, was better received by the critics. Neve Campbell is truly astonishing.
  9. CannonF.
    Feb 7, 2004
    7
    Beautiful but a bit too long and the ending is very poor.
  10. JoeStuff
    Feb 12, 2004
    3
    First off, the dancing looks great in this film. Instead of just showing the production numbers from standard angles, Altman really let's us weave in and out of the dancers...it makes you feel very close to the action and very real. Too bad that the rest of the movie is left to be so 'real' as well. Aside from the dance, the whole movie is so QUIET! The scenes between the First off, the dancing looks great in this film. Instead of just showing the production numbers from standard angles, Altman really let's us weave in and out of the dancers...it makes you feel very close to the action and very real. Too bad that the rest of the movie is left to be so 'real' as well. Aside from the dance, the whole movie is so QUIET! The scenes between the dances seem badly improved by non-actors (they are). The whole movie was just awkward. 80 minutes in I'm thinking that I just want to leave (which I never do) and how I wish the movie would just end. Suddenly, the film started to rattle and it MELTED right in front of my eyes. True story. So yes, I've never seen the ending with the whole Blue Snake dance but the 80 minutes I saw had some good dance and horrible filler in-between. There's something to be said for movies with no plot...the same can't be said for movies with no point. Expand
  11. Marcus
    Mar 21, 2004
    8
    Altman's status as an auteur is solidified here. Whether accomplishing that without a real storyline makes the movie a greater or lesser work of art is up for debate. The Company remains an excellent film and anyone half-willing to see a documentary will appreciate it.
  12. Marg
    Nov 28, 2005
    0
    Worst movie I've ever seen actually. NOTHING happens. Nothing. At all.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. A wonderfully vivid and engaging theatrical experience.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Robert Altman takes an elegant, appealingly unemphatic look at the world of ballet.
  3. A funny valentine by an old master, woos us into the dance.