New Line Cinema | Release Date: July 19, 2013
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 946 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
815
Mixed:
85
Negative:
46
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BramsterdamJul 20, 2013
My girlfriend loves horror movies and has dragged me to a lot of stinkers, but this movie was not one of them. Possibly the best horror movie I have seen to date! Here are the top reasons why I enjoyed this movie so much

1. crapped my
My girlfriend loves horror movies and has dragged me to a lot of stinkers, but this movie was not one of them. Possibly the best horror movie I have seen to date! Here are the top reasons why I enjoyed this movie so much

1. crapped my pants
2. surprised my girlfriend didn't leave hand prints because she was gripping my arm so tightly
3. the "brave" guys beside me made lame jokes to lighten the mood (I assume they didn't like being so scared)
4. the plot was very good for a horror movie and did I mention I crapped my pants?

if you like horror go see this movie! wear a diaper...
Expand
27 of 38 users found this helpful2711
All this user's reviews
8
Karma_policeSep 2, 2013
People in my cinema were laughing just to feel comfortable, this movie will scare you for good, probably one of the best horror movies in the last decade, a must watch for every horror fan out there.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Nov 2, 2013
For the first time in a long time The Conjuring gives horror movies a chance to be good again. Everything from the score, to the cinematography, to a well though out story came together brilliantly to provide for a truly horrifying film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
FedelcaJan 5, 2014
Estamos ante, lo que parece, la mejor película de terror del año. En verdad, en mucho tiempo yo no veía una película de terror de esta magnitud, sustos bien logrados por todas partes, escenas perturbadoras, un verdadero argumento basado enEstamos ante, lo que parece, la mejor película de terror del año. En verdad, en mucho tiempo yo no veía una película de terror de esta magnitud, sustos bien logrados por todas partes, escenas perturbadoras, un verdadero argumento basado en hechos reales, y lo más importante, sin caer en lo absurdo. La verdad esta y otras películas como la saga de "Saw", "Insidious", la película "Dead Silence" y muchas más por venir, convierten a James Wan en uno de los pioneros del horror moderno entre Rob Zombie y Sam Raimi. Lástima que se este interesando en otro tipo de películas (Fast & Furious 7), pero ya esperaremos a otra más de sus brillantes películas de terror. Me inclino hacia este proyecto; un sólido 8. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingDec 13, 2013
The Conjuring thrills with its countless scares and tense atmosphere. Solid acting and great cinematography only excels this as a thoroughly enjoyable (and old-school) horror flick.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GerfyGerberMay 26, 2014
Why did people like this, how? This movie was cliche after cliche, everything in this movie was ripped from other (better) movies, and everything major that happened was so easy to see coming that it was PAINFUL.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MrBonesSTLJul 20, 2013
I don't have to write a long review on this. I can sum it up in a few words: the most terrifying film I've ever seen since the Exorcist (1973). I love horror movies, been watching them by myself since I was 4 and I have to say, do not seeI don't have to write a long review on this. I can sum it up in a few words: the most terrifying film I've ever seen since the Exorcist (1973). I love horror movies, been watching them by myself since I was 4 and I have to say, do not see this alone like I did. The acting is good, the special effects (when necessary) were good, the storyline was fantastic, & the movie came together well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiSep 10, 2013
I haven't liked a horror movie in a long time and I'm pleased to say that that period is over. The scares were calculated and chilling. The mood was consistent and did not let up. The acting was OK. It felt like I was watching a historicalI haven't liked a horror movie in a long time and I'm pleased to say that that period is over. The scares were calculated and chilling. The mood was consistent and did not let up. The acting was OK. It felt like I was watching a historical movie. It was cleverly shot. But I have a problem with the ending. It could have been more pessimistic. But given that the director wanted to make something more than just a horror flick, that is understandable. Do not miss this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithDec 26, 2013
Finally a horror movie that's actually decent! No, it's not anywhere near perfect. There are still some lines and scenes that are laughable at best. But there are some other ones that actually manage to creep you out. I wouldn't call theFinally a horror movie that's actually decent! No, it's not anywhere near perfect. There are still some lines and scenes that are laughable at best. But there are some other ones that actually manage to creep you out. I wouldn't call the movie terrifying, but a couple of the characters actually have some personality and depth to them, and the direction is also pretty competent most of the time. This helped me to become mildly, but not drastically, engaged with the story. It really isn't original at all, but you can tell that some thought went into its creation, and that gives it a noticeable advantage on its genre peers. I still wouldn't expect anything come Oscar season though. It's efficiently entertaining, but it's nothing masterful. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JmsbppOct 14, 2013
el conjuro, Expediente Warren y entre otros nombres es lo que revoluciona el terror hacia algo mejor, esta pelicula esta bien realizada con unos 20 millones bien aprovechados y con un toque de tipico y unico terror
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AlexanderLuthorNov 2, 2013
One of the rare films I found truly scary and truly captivating. Well worth the watch for horror lovers. Not sure why reviews have to be fifty characters long...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
abhinabAug 28, 2013
The conjuring has a positive opening catching attention of the viewers. The Sound mixing and Sound track is amazing although it is a bit exaggerated. Overall the movie is good and gives viewers a good scare.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
theseparatorSep 22, 2013
Before Christianity and Latin existed how did exorcists exorcise? A lingering question after watching The Conjuring, a film by James Wan.

The age of Scary Movie-esque franchises has turned seeing dead people and being haunted by and evil
Before Christianity and Latin existed how did exorcists exorcise? A lingering question after watching The Conjuring, a film by James Wan.

The age of Scary Movie-esque franchises has turned seeing dead people and being haunted by and evil spirits into mundanely comic events. Sexy vampires, farcical zombies, and ridiculous inside jokes about the world’s end begone! The Conjuring is a big horror film that is actually good and scary. Finally!

Still, Director Wan uses all the old horror tricks to build up the suspense: creeping suggestive crescendos in the score, brief uncertain glimpses of unknown beings, and of course, lots of loud and unexpected jolts.

The film opens as the Perron family arrives at their new home, a large fixer-upper in the Rhode Island countryside. As the family starts their life in the new house the haunting becomes apparent. Clocks stop, doors slam, people scream. Terror drives the family to huddle up in the living room where they spend their nights sleeping together. It makes the spirits calmer, they say.

A little too conveniently, famous demonologists Ed and Lorraine Warren just so happen to be speaking nearby. Mrs. Perron persuades the Warrens to come inspect the house. Lorrain Warren, a kind of clairvoyant, senses real trouble in the Perron house immediately. Using cameras, Holy magic, and Latin scriptures, the fight begins to save not only the house from destruction, but the people inside it as well.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MynameispinguAug 31, 2013
If you despise dolls but love horror films, watch this one.
A lot of the time I wasn't on the edge of my seat, but sometimes it just gets you.
Fairly good in terms of most horrors, falls a bit short on occasion and the constant jump scares
If you despise dolls but love horror films, watch this one.
A lot of the time I wasn't on the edge of my seat, but sometimes it just gets you.
Fairly good in terms of most horrors, falls a bit short on occasion and the constant jump scares is a bit repetitive, but a good watch
I recommend
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MitchellHaalandSep 15, 2013
The Conjuring is quite possibly the best horror movie of the past 5 or so years. I've been watching horror movies for 15+ years now, and nothing scared me quite as bad as this one. Too scary to move to the edge of your seat, but too intenseThe Conjuring is quite possibly the best horror movie of the past 5 or so years. I've been watching horror movies for 15+ years now, and nothing scared me quite as bad as this one. Too scary to move to the edge of your seat, but too intense to sit back. The only other option was to curl up in my seat while being bombarded with a fantastic story and scare tactics beyond the average possession tale. It's too unique of a horror movie to miss. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheOrienceOct 18, 2013
Its true that The Conjuring plays on the same tried story of the haunted house, but it, unlike its predecessors plays it right. The films director, Wan, manages to take an overly developed storyline and streamline it into a frightfullyIts true that The Conjuring plays on the same tried story of the haunted house, but it, unlike its predecessors plays it right. The films director, Wan, manages to take an overly developed storyline and streamline it into a frightfully believable tale that is shot in a way that removes the predicable scare tactics that plague the horror genre and replace it with well thought schemes and unpredictably eerie scenarios. A film worth watching, even for those averse to the genre. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Metacritic101Nov 5, 2013
I'm an avid horror fan. Lately I've been thinking there isn't much that can scare me (though Sinister got under my skin). I appreciate James Wan's films, I love the first Saw, Insidious was a damn good modern ghost story, but like all reviewsI'm an avid horror fan. Lately I've been thinking there isn't much that can scare me (though Sinister got under my skin). I appreciate James Wan's films, I love the first Saw, Insidious was a damn good modern ghost story, but like all reviews have stated for it, the movie kinda loses it's momentum in the final act.

The Conjuring is better, scarier, and more tense than Insidious. I'm gonna go out on a limb and say it's one of the best horror movies of the last 5 or 10 years. It goes back to the classic rule of horror film making, never show the bad guy fully to your audience. Plus this movie knows suspense, I tell you, I almost threw a water bottle at the screen from sheer terror once the scare finally happened. There are no fake jump scares, the movie earned an R rating without any blood, sex, or profanity, it's all from the terror that this movie builds upon.

Not only is the movie scary, but as a film itself, it's almost a masterpiece. The script, acting, direction, style, tone, etc were all simply top notch. Wan's camera-work here is by far his best out of any of his movies. The choice to set the movie in the 70s was a stroke of genius as it feels so authentic and all the more real. If this story were set in the present, it simply wouldn't be as a effective or scary. The 70s style film making, costuming, and hair styling are a great throwback to likes of The Exorcist & The Amityville Horror.

Though there are a few (extremely minor) flaws, such are length, repetitiveness, and a resolution that happens way too fast. I don't care, every horror movie (or movie in general) has it's flaws. There will never be a perfect horror movie, if there is one, I haven't seen it yet. But all I know is James Wan's The Conjuring is one of the best horror movies I've seen in a long time, and it's been a really long time that a movie has scared me this badly.

10/10 Don't miss this one, it's an amazing theater viewing experience.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviematthewNov 7, 2013
This movie is definitely one of the best horror movies I have seen so far. I was a bit skeptical at first of this movie, but once it started, I could not keep my eyes off the screen. It was definitely a better movie to see than "My LittleThis movie is definitely one of the best horror movies I have seen so far. I was a bit skeptical at first of this movie, but once it started, I could not keep my eyes off the screen. It was definitely a better movie to see than "My Little Pony: Equestria Girls". I can't wait for James Wan's next installment in the Warren paranormal investigators saga. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JohnAbruzziFeb 14, 2014
This movie is my best horror movie. The story is based on true events wich makes the movie even more scary especially if it's well played. It has a lot of moments where you think there will be jump scare but in the end it's nothing and thatsThis movie is my best horror movie. The story is based on true events wich makes the movie even more scary especially if it's well played. It has a lot of moments where you think there will be jump scare but in the end it's nothing and thats what makes it so scary, there are a few jump scares yes but not always. Just in the right moments. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
scythe8808Apr 28, 2014
The same old generic story of a family moving into a house that is apparently haunted by a demon wasn't anything new. But it was pretty effective in scares. I was surprisingly satisfied with this film. The characters were fairly developed andThe same old generic story of a family moving into a house that is apparently haunted by a demon wasn't anything new. But it was pretty effective in scares. I was surprisingly satisfied with this film. The characters were fairly developed and the acting was great especially the kids. This movie offered scares and unsettling. I definitely recommend this film for those looking for horrifying thrill. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
iheartmoviessJul 6, 2014
When it comes to the horror genre and even the drama genre for that matter, "The Conjuring" gets a lot right. Physically, this film is shot so beautifully with constantly changing angles and dramatic zooms in and out of frame. The set designWhen it comes to the horror genre and even the drama genre for that matter, "The Conjuring" gets a lot right. Physically, this film is shot so beautifully with constantly changing angles and dramatic zooms in and out of frame. The set design and costumes were also integral to the look and chilling atmosphere of the film.
This is probably the most thrilling, beautifully shot, and most traumatizing horror films in recent memory.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
"The Conjuring" is one of the better supernatural films to come out in the last few years. It's scary, intriguing, and highly enjoyable. The movie has a very 70's feel to it, especially the cinematography, and the story is pretty simple, yet"The Conjuring" is one of the better supernatural films to come out in the last few years. It's scary, intriguing, and highly enjoyable. The movie has a very 70's feel to it, especially the cinematography, and the story is pretty simple, yet it flows very well. Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga are great together as the Warrens. Really, the entire cast was great. This is a great movie to watch and get scared with your friends. I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IGaJul 26, 2016
This movie is awesome! Simple and well done. The camera work is impressive and the dialogue gives us the necessary familiarity with the characters. The tension scenes are very authentic even in the old-school scares. About the story, even ifThis movie is awesome! Simple and well done. The camera work is impressive and the dialogue gives us the necessary familiarity with the characters. The tension scenes are very authentic even in the old-school scares. About the story, even if it has already worked in other films, it's well presented in many different ways. You'll like and will jump from your chair. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DiseasedFaceJul 20, 2013
"The Conjuring" with its based on a real story premise, attempts to revive the often over-saturated demonic horror genre market and inspire new frights. The film establishes its tale in a very classical horror formula, slow, tantalizing build"The Conjuring" with its based on a real story premise, attempts to revive the often over-saturated demonic horror genre market and inspire new frights. The film establishes its tale in a very classical horror formula, slow, tantalizing build up with loud (sometimes annoying) string music that teases one's nerves as the audience watch a family being terrorized by demonic presence(s). The story is also decidedly classic and certainly has been done before but rather than wasting time on the 'what' (ie: what is haunting them), the film does a good job where the majority of the story-line is focused on the 'how' (how to solve the problem). It is here where the slow/sluggish build up gives way to a torrent of thrills. Although most of the cinematic shots were impressive and the overall production design and atmosphere does its job splendidly, the film did not generate the frights that I was expecting. Too often, the frights came in the standard horror formula where people are already expecting something to appear. I also watched the film in a full theatre with my fellow cinema-goers ooing and ahhing at every corner which totally dis-immersed my experience and definitely altered my experience for the worse. This is definitely one film where I would advise dodging the crowded opening weekend and instead watching it with a group of friends in a empty theater for a far more immerse experience.

Otherwise, expect a formula-driven fright film enveloped in classic horror sequence of the past.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
xandoJul 21, 2013
What a great film. I'm giving it a 10 because of what it accomplishes. It is a straight-up old school haunted house flick, pulling no new tricks. And the plot is a very simple uphill ramp of gradually building suspense until all heck breaksWhat a great film. I'm giving it a 10 because of what it accomplishes. It is a straight-up old school haunted house flick, pulling no new tricks. And the plot is a very simple uphill ramp of gradually building suspense until all heck breaks loose. Yet it does everything well and somehow pulls it off, and manages to feel fresh and compelling. What a surprise!

It's simply an honest attempt at telling a scary story within conventional and very familiar bounds. It does so wonderfully, beautifully, and quite artfully. What's not to like? The acting is superb, and each scene is thoughtfully prepared and executed expertly. Good acting, good directing, good scripting, good cinematography, good score.

Horror movies rarely get better than this.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
JPG127Jul 23, 2013
For a movie with no body count, it was genuinely creepy. Best possession film since the Exorcist. Still deserved its R rating, good pacing and good progression. Only real problem is it felt like a Christian horror movie at times. But not toFor a movie with no body count, it was genuinely creepy. Best possession film since the Exorcist. Still deserved its R rating, good pacing and good progression. Only real problem is it felt like a Christian horror movie at times. But not to an extent where it was un watchable. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
Nesbitt10Jul 19, 2013
"The Conjuring" is an enjoyable, spine-chilling paranormal saga directed by James Wan ("Saw", "Insidious"), and it has already been given the green light by New Line Cinema for a sequel before the first installment has even hit theaters on"The Conjuring" is an enjoyable, spine-chilling paranormal saga directed by James Wan ("Saw", "Insidious"), and it has already been given the green light by New Line Cinema for a sequel before the first installment has even hit theaters on July 19. A welcome throwback to classic 1970s chillers, with spectacular production design work, a well-constructed script, impressive atmospheric set pieces, and rounded out with terrific performances from Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga. The film primarily utilizes the old bag of tricks for scares very effectively, creating a terrifying atmosphere of bloodless scaremongering.

Set in the 1970s, "The Conjuring" tells the story of husband-and-wife demonologists Ed Warren (Patrick Wilson), and Lorraine Warren (Vera Farmiga), who are best known for their case involving the Amityville Horror, and are now investigating the secluded Harrisville, Rhode Island home of Carolyn and Roger Perron (Lili Taylor and Ron Livingston.) The family has recently moved into the house with their five daughters (Shanley Caswell, Hayley McFarland, Joey King, Mackenzie Foy and Kyla Deaver), and have begun experiencing a series of unexplained occurrences. Lorraine immediately detects that something isn't right in the house, and the pair conclude that the Perron's home is possessed by multiple demons, with their initial investigation revealing that the trouble may have begun as far back as the Salem Witch trials. Meanwhile, the Warren's presence enrages whatever is within the house, and the supernatural activity escalates to terrifying levels.

James Wan and his group of frequent collaborators are clearly well in sync for "The Conjuring." The film nods its head to everything from "The Exorcist" (1973) to "The Amityville Horror" (1979), while developing an atmosphere of trepidation, with well-timed scares that will keep viewers on the edge. All the ingredients of a standard paranormal story are present: a haunted and secluded house, a peaceful family being terrorized, strange noises in the night and its all-familiar territory. However, the film is so finely tuned, it comes across as a respectable homage to the genre. It's reassuring to see a genre film that contains a compelling story and has interesting characters, rather than serving up a number of teenagers ready to be tortured.

"The Conjuring" is primarily intended as a haunted-house attraction, a ride through a hall of nerve-racking horrors. Wan's direction is perfectly paced, pulling off some properly scary set pieces (a game of 'hide and clap'; some business involving a mirror and a music box), and slowly ratcheting up the tension. The frightening escalation of events gives a permanent tension in a feature film that is certainly predictable, but smoothly conducted to satisfaction.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
FrozenStar90Jul 19, 2013
Like the old-school horror flicks that inspired it, The Conjuring is more of an exercise in palpable tension and mounting dread than outright terror. It is a slow, quiet movie that definitely earns every scare it throws at you. ThoseLike the old-school horror flicks that inspired it, The Conjuring is more of an exercise in palpable tension and mounting dread than outright terror. It is a slow, quiet movie that definitely earns every scare it throws at you. Those suffering heart conditions might want to avoid this one. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
JaredJul 27, 2013
It's a classic. From start to finish, this was true beautiful filmmaking. Two months ago I saw a tv spot of this and I thought this could be really good. I was beyond right. This movie is the Inception of horror movies. It was wonderfully putIt's a classic. From start to finish, this was true beautiful filmmaking. Two months ago I saw a tv spot of this and I thought this could be really good. I was beyond right. This movie is the Inception of horror movies. It was wonderfully put together and everything seemed to just simply work. You're right in there. Many a movies just present a visual that's symbolic through the writing, directing and acting for it's lack of care or passion or vision and just presenting an obviously gimmick picture that's only trying to make cash to give the producers a bigger ego. Now the rare films that actually have passion, care and a vision aren't entirely made to sell tickets. More of, to entertain and satisfy audiences to make the producers feel good to give them a raw feeling, other than the fake feeling of ego boosts, which is utter joy for their inspiring love for film. That's what The Conjuring is all about. It has all the passion, all the care, and all the vision to truly become a great piece of work. It draws you in, and presents a very classic and truly inspiring horror vision that easily got me going with the main titles, which is a small thing but in film the small things are the most important things and become big things in delivering a full, complete impact of a visual. From there on forward, we get phenomenal writing and acting and directing that I would say should be Oscar-worthy. Characters that are relatable and likeable and face empathetic conflicts. It draws you in and makes you believe wants happening on the screen is legit actually happening in front of you. I felt it was real.

The directing of this film was passionate, the writing was unnerving, and the acting was high-caliber and every element aspect of filmmaking fed off each other to make an enthralling harmony of film magic. I wish every film had this. I mean I want to give this a 10/10, I'm not overly-critical, but giving this a 10 would mean comparing it to Citizen Kane or The Godfather. However this is so damn good, I'm giving it a deserving 9/10. In dire specifics, it'd be a 9.2 which is real high. But this is a horror masterpiece.

It ends brilliantly. People misinterpret and misunderstand the fact that horror movies don't necessarily have to contain depressing themes. Isn't that kinda what film-noir is? But this stinger believes in delivering a movie, with a horror genre, with an original theme. I mean there's emotion in this. There's a flashback sequence towards the climax that brings a forgotten light in the visual that sustained darkness for the primary portion of the final act that gave me hope, care, and true feeling for these characters, and ultimately belief and inspiration for horror movies and in movies once again. I love it when movies have that and do that, and whenever they do, I'm inspired and obsessed. In this case, possessed.

The movie felt so genuine, so real, and so authentic that (since it's based on a true story) when they showed the actual people who experienced this, I was truly haunted than I already was. They had to put the stinger in there to make it even more real than it was. Oh, man I couldn't sleep.

This is a true horror movie and as a summer movie, it's the most inspiring and well put together since Inception. I mean it. The ending was a signature of pure artistry. Like Inception. I don't care if you hate horror movies and/or the stereotype has brainwashed your opinion, GO SEE THIS NOW!!!!!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
TubeyAug 4, 2013
The Conjuring has genuinely terrifying set piece moments, is decently shot and can by no means be described as a bad film. However, it falls into the trap that oh so many horrors before it has done by relying on excessive loud noise andThe Conjuring has genuinely terrifying set piece moments, is decently shot and can by no means be described as a bad film. However, it falls into the trap that oh so many horrors before it has done by relying on excessive loud noise and hackneyed clichés to maintain attention throughout.

For these reasons, it cannot be placed in the upper echelons of horror movie classics, but it does deserve a solid place in the second tier.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Aug 10, 2013
Now this is a scary movie. It may not be an original movie, but it succeeds at scary the living crap out of people! Overall, The horror genre is back! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
KivaSep 28, 2013
James Wan is a master. I haven't watched many films that he has made but the conjuring is just epic. The first hour it just builds the whole thing and in the second hour true horror comes in the screen. From the first scene, I knew that thisJames Wan is a master. I haven't watched many films that he has made but the conjuring is just epic. The first hour it just builds the whole thing and in the second hour true horror comes in the screen. From the first scene, I knew that this movie is going to make me bricks. And of course I was correct. Something really impressive was the actors and the cinematography of the film. Lili Taylor and Vera Farmiga were stunning. As for the cinematography I doubt that there is going to be a better film with that cinematography. Though it has no originality it gives to a horror fan what really wanted for many years. I don't think that there is going to be such a good horror movie in years. Thumbs up! 9,5/10 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGoer14Aug 3, 2013
Before saying that The Conjuring is terrifying as hell, it is extremely disturbing and manipulative. With its own twist and story it delivers a thrilling ride through hell, this is one of the best movies of 2013, more off, it is scariest thanBefore saying that The Conjuring is terrifying as hell, it is extremely disturbing and manipulative. With its own twist and story it delivers a thrilling ride through hell, this is one of the best movies of 2013, more off, it is scariest than The Evil Dead remake. On the other hand, I felt like there is no haunted house horror movie those days, that can work without the usual, predictable and kind of annoying cliches! For Example: birds are breaking their nicks by hitting the house! Didn't we see it in The Last Exorcism Part II and before it Dark Skies? Doors slamming, like always, and thanks for the franchise that is known for doors slamming, and it worked and terrified us every time "Paranormal Activity" Can't James wan makes the door break after slamming, or just doesn't slam the door at all? I think he can do just way to more better, I actually blame him much because it was based on true story but not EVENTS, even though it isn't right if you have the accurate events. It is sometimes predictable and references much past horror movies ex: Poltergeist, Insidious, Paranormal Activity, Sinister, Drag me to hell and much more. But does make The Conjuring even close of being bad? Absolutely not! The cast is terrific, Vera Farmiga is hot and the plot is a through back to the '70s, it is not a bad movie, but not great one either but awfully close of being my favourite movie of 2013, if it wasn't for the cliches, it would have gotten a ten, but unfortunately, those cliches exist and I hate them, although some of them work, but not all of them. The Conjuring is the best horror movie 2013 and one of my favorite horror movies. I would highly recommend seeing it in theaters, IF YOU DARE! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
xBobbyJul 20, 2013
With minimal CGI, minimal jump scares, and awesome acting, James Wan's "The Conjuring" stands out as an awesome, original film. It's the kind of scary that gets under your skin and makes you feel very uncomfortable. Such a fun time in theWith minimal CGI, minimal jump scares, and awesome acting, James Wan's "The Conjuring" stands out as an awesome, original film. It's the kind of scary that gets under your skin and makes you feel very uncomfortable. Such a fun time in the movie theatre! Go watch this movie and have as much fun as I did! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ScarySnowmanJul 27, 2013
I watched The Conjuring Movie and saw that it was based on a true story that happened in Harrisville Rhode Island, so I decided to go check out the old farm house. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okCr61sYpsI
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
RevRonJul 29, 2013
Wow! This was scary. I normally don't dig horror films because I'm hard to scare but James Wan (director of "Saw") crafted a horror film about ghosts that felt real and authentic--and this is coming from a guy who doesn't even believe inWow! This was scary. I normally don't dig horror films because I'm hard to scare but James Wan (director of "Saw") crafted a horror film about ghosts that felt real and authentic--and this is coming from a guy who doesn't even believe in the supernatural! He perfectly used light, shadow and sound to make chilling sequences and the pace Wan brought to the film made scares that got better and more frightening as the film progressed. Not to mention, terrific performances all around from the entire cast. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonJul 19, 2013
Despite having a fairly standard haunted house horror plot, James Wan has created a fun, scary and beautiful looking movie. In The Conjuring, Wan uses skills learnt directing his previous films and old school 70’s horror tricks to amp up theDespite having a fairly standard haunted house horror plot, James Wan has created a fun, scary and beautiful looking movie. In The Conjuring, Wan uses skills learnt directing his previous films and old school 70’s horror tricks to amp up the tension and ensure a sleepless night. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
minecraftonianJul 21, 2013
Going into this movie I was expecting something that would have me on the edge of my seat, but to be honest this movie was nothing more than any other "horror film" nothing but a few jump scares. It wasn't terrible, just way to predictable.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
PStakhivJul 21, 2013
It is definitely the best horror of the decade!!! Full package great acting, super immersive action, interesting plot! The only week point is that the ending happened very rapidly! Great horror movie
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
meatblossomJul 31, 2013
It's been a damn long time since I was creeped out at home after a movie, so I am very happy to say that after going to see The Conjuring I was jumping at shadows and looking over my shoulder for 3 or 4 days! Weird things would happen, like aIt's been a damn long time since I was creeped out at home after a movie, so I am very happy to say that after going to see The Conjuring I was jumping at shadows and looking over my shoulder for 3 or 4 days! Weird things would happen, like a fan that kept falling off the windowsill or my wife waking up in the middle of the night talking about "that terrible noise" when I had been laying there reading and it was quiet. I just about lost it when my wife and kid left to go to the store, and the fire alarms in the house started going off randomly in short bursts. I noticed that the alarms were always 3 beeps... like the knocks in the movie! It was probably just some sort of low battery warning. But I really wanted to not be in the house! I've calmed down since seeing the movie and everything seems rational again, but it really was an effective movie at raising one's paranoia and making you think "Yeah, I know that stuff never happens... but what if it did?".

Great pacing, good jump scares, good slow build scares. The only complaint might be that there seemed to be two different stories told the investigator couple, and the haunted family. Or from the perspective of evil entities, Annabelle the haunted doll and the nasty old lady who haunted the house. The movie tried to reconcile all of these things but it never felt like they tied together 100%.

The cats are running back and forth upstairs and writing about this movie is not helping me think about it in a rational manner. I'm logging off and going to bed, with the lights on!
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
emcoffey3Sep 3, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of horror, but I did enjoy James Wan's last movie (Insidious) enough to bring me back for this one. I'm glad I did, because The Conjuring is by far the best movie I've seen this year. It does a great job at maintainingI'm not a huge fan of horror, but I did enjoy James Wan's last movie (Insidious) enough to bring me back for this one. I'm glad I did, because The Conjuring is by far the best movie I've seen this year. It does a great job at maintaining tension throughout almost the entire movie. There are plenty of scares, and none of them feel cheesy or forced. I also loved the way this movie looks: the cinematography is great, and they really captured the era (early 70's). Long story short: Go see it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerNov 19, 2013
Without a doubt the scariest horror movie I have ever seen. After Insidious I was sure that James Wan could pull of a great horror movie, and I was right. Once again pairing with Patrick Wilson, James Wan creates a down-right terrifyingWithout a doubt the scariest horror movie I have ever seen. After Insidious I was sure that James Wan could pull of a great horror movie, and I was right. Once again pairing with Patrick Wilson, James Wan creates a down-right terrifying possession flick that will give you chills, put you one the edge of your seat, and leave you gasping for air. I'm not typically scared during horror movies and I was terrified. Once the film gets going it does not stop, providing scare after scare after scare.

The problem with it is that it does take a little bit to get going. Not as long as other horror movies take, but it does take some time. Another issue are the unintentionally funny moments that plagued Wan's previous work "Insidious" are here as well. There is also the occasional lull between scares that just left me bored. These lulls aren't frequent or long, but they do get in the way. Overall though this a genuinely good horror movie that does something most other so called horror movies fail to do; provide genuine terror.

In my opinion James Wan might just be the best horror movie director out there. With this and Insidious he has proven to me that he knows how to create good horror movies and I'm looking forward to seeing what he comes up with next. If you're looking for a genuinely scary horror movie then this is a great choice. It has got some issues but that doesn't change the fact that this movie is not just scary, but also terrifying.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
BrandonBonaseraJul 19, 2013
It may unfortunately lack in scares and may have one silly moment, but it is saved by beautiful cinematography, nice sound design, blood-curdling tension, fantastic acting and a nice retro and old fashioned feel. If the film managed to haveIt may unfortunately lack in scares and may have one silly moment, but it is saved by beautiful cinematography, nice sound design, blood-curdling tension, fantastic acting and a nice retro and old fashioned feel. If the film managed to have more scares, James Wan's fantastic The Conjuring would have got a full score. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
coreyg007Jul 25, 2013
I saw this movie last weekend and, whoa!, scary scary. I know it's based on a true story but Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga are awesome! It takes the movie a little while to really pick up. They lay the ground work for the first hour butI saw this movie last weekend and, whoa!, scary scary. I know it's based on a true story but Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga are awesome! It takes the movie a little while to really pick up. They lay the ground work for the first hour but what comes later is well worth the wait. Definitely one I'll purchase for my Halloween and late nite collection. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ClayMerrittJul 21, 2013
The Conjuring can easily be described as the best horror movie of the year, thus far. That would be an accurate description. The influence of old-school horror movies of the past was present in this movie. Unlike most horror movies today, theThe Conjuring can easily be described as the best horror movie of the year, thus far. That would be an accurate description. The influence of old-school horror movies of the past was present in this movie. Unlike most horror movies today, the scares here are earned and aren't forced. They're well placed, and at times, random. While it wasn't the best of horror films, this one easily takes the cake as the best one this year, hell, its even arguably the best one of this year, and last year. No blood & gore like director James Wan is known for with the massively popular Saw movie. Despite its flaws, the good outweighs the bad, and is definitely the next movie you should go see. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jul 20, 2013
With James Wan's signature penchant for tension, a serious devotion to story and character, and an unexpectedly crowd-pleasing ending, "The Conjuring" is a horror movie with absolute class and refinement.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Kush1991Jul 31, 2013
Firstly the fact that this one's a true story leads the viewers to expect a lot from the story line than they usually would from a fiction. Hence the first impression, the opening 30 min. are always important as that is often decides the fateFirstly the fact that this one's a true story leads the viewers to expect a lot from the story line than they usually would from a fiction. Hence the first impression, the opening 30 min. are always important as that is often decides the fate of the movie in such True Story based films. This movie starts off brilliantly. It does not scare you off or try to be cynical. The first 20 min. just gives you the hunch that this movie is going to create an impact and you know it right there that this is not one of those typical overdone horror flicks. The movie then rapidly picks up pace just refusing to stop and give you a break. The ending is well constructed nothing highly dramatic or depressing. Ends where it has to, when it has to. The set,the cast,the makeup is spot on. Though if there's one thing missing it has to the be the lighting which is just not bright enough. But that really doesn't matter cause the plot is just fabulous. This movie truly has what it takes to be one of the best horror movies of all time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Jbles303Jul 24, 2013
The Conjuring was filmed very well. James Wan has created a very realistic vision of a possession type of film. Incredible casting. Definetely will recommend this movie to others.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJul 19, 2013
This is a superb horror film mainly because of the brilliant directing of James Wan and a great score. Wan is easily one of the best horror directors going today with Saw, Insidious, and now The Conjuring. Also I really thought VersaThis is a superb horror film mainly because of the brilliant directing of James Wan and a great score. Wan is easily one of the best horror directors going today with Saw, Insidious, and now The Conjuring. Also I really thought Versa Farmiga and Lily Taylor gave the standout performances. I don't get shaken easily, but I got to say it got me a few times. A Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
josephjacob3232Aug 15, 2013
Now this is a horror movie the best I've seen in 2013 James Wan is a great director He Gives us great gems like Insidious And Saw now this movie has a borrows for some movies but it it worth it in the end the scares come and the come good notNow this is a horror movie the best I've seen in 2013 James Wan is a great director He Gives us great gems like Insidious And Saw now this movie has a borrows for some movies but it it worth it in the end the scares come and the come good not quick fire jumps like every 2 seconds I mean you think is coming and some else happens instead. The Cast are great Paddy Wilson was good my advice go see this now you will be forever change Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ParadeAug 3, 2013
Best horror film I have ever seen, kept me on my toes the entire time, filled with amazing scares that had the whole cinema screaming in terror. The plot was great and was developed very well, with great suspense throughout the entire film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
busbfranDec 24, 2013
The Conjuring is easily the most scariest movie to date. Take what you think is scary and times it by 10, and your left with The Conjuring. This movie is a MUST for all horror fans. To the acting, dialogue and creepy sound effect this movieThe Conjuring is easily the most scariest movie to date. Take what you think is scary and times it by 10, and your left with The Conjuring. This movie is a MUST for all horror fans. To the acting, dialogue and creepy sound effect this movie will leave you exhausted by the end wishing you never watched because I can tell you now you won't be getting a goods night sleep. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ArtKJul 20, 2013
THE CONJURING This is not "Saw", "Friday, the 13th" or other slasher fare. Instead, think "Amityville Horror" meets "The Exorcist". Director James Wan takes you to your seat's edge early on and keeps you there in this retro-thriller.THE CONJURING This is not "Saw", "Friday, the 13th" or other slasher fare. Instead, think "Amityville Horror" meets "The Exorcist". Director James Wan takes you to your seat's edge early on and keeps you there in this retro-thriller.

Scary? Absolutely! but the characters are well-developed and the principal actors (Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga, Ron Livingston, and Lili Taylor) are all terrific. Did I mention it was scary? I think it's time to watch a double-feature of "Hairspray" and "Grease". ***1/2 (out of 4)
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
mightymike1978Feb 19, 2014
"Why is this movie getting awesome scores? What happened in this movie that hasn't happened in every other horror movie?"

It is an art to make good pictures. It is an art to make feel the viewer emotionally involved. It is an art to place,
"Why is this movie getting awesome scores? What happened in this movie that hasn't happened in every other horror movie?"

It is an art to make good pictures. It is an art to make feel the viewer emotionally involved. It is an art to place, choose and time sound effects so that they are just "in time". Often in life it is not the story which is told. It is the WAY the story is told!!!! The conjuring - for shure - is a composition of already known story fragments, but the way the fragments have been arranged to a dense thrilling story are absolutely f***ng genious. There is barely nothing which I had to criticize respectively that can be criticized. And this is - by all respect to other filmmakers - a seldom situation. double thumps up into my bluray-collection!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
RainbowDenixJun 10, 2016
Very spooky movie.Good actor's game,atmosphere of terror everywher.Very nice film.this movie really scare you to crap his pants.I don't know what else to write just see this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JJ99Aug 14, 2013
Being a horror film fanatic, The Conjuring was a must see from the coming attractions, it had a vintage, nostalgic feel of such classic horror pictures including Poltergeist and The Exorcism, with some great people involved, both in front ofBeing a horror film fanatic, The Conjuring was a must see from the coming attractions, it had a vintage, nostalgic feel of such classic horror pictures including Poltergeist and The Exorcism, with some great people involved, both in front of and behind the camera. The film delivered in all the aspects it was set to deliver and then some. The Conjuring never really TERRIFIED me, as most of the really good scares were shown in the trailer, but it was effective. The Conjuring was a thrill ride from the opening scene in which we get a little backstory with the story of a haunted doll, to the very end, where, well, that's for you to find out. The lead actors, a couple played by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga, both played their roles very well, and director James Wan, previously known for his involvement in Insidious and the Saw franchise, lead the actors to be successful. The script was something I had a bit of a problem with yes, there were some very effective scares and in a horror movie, that's the primary target. Yet, this film is pretty much your typical cookie-cutter haunted house story, with some good acting and decent thrills. All in all, The Conjuring is a fresh addition to the very stale horror genre. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
MikaelZJul 30, 2013
I love horror pictures and whenever a new one is release I see it, and The Conjuring is the first one that has scared me s***less since Paranormal Activity.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
jetstarAug 20, 2013
I never watched the trailers because I knew that were some scary scenes from the movie that was used in the trailers, I wanted to cover my eyes and to experience the scary ride without being spoiled by the trailers. The biggest question thatI never watched the trailers because I knew that were some scary scenes from the movie that was used in the trailers, I wanted to cover my eyes and to experience the scary ride without being spoiled by the trailers. The biggest question that I had when I was about to watch the movie was that would it be scary enough for me to walk away? There were scenes that gave me chills and sometimes made me back away but it wasn't super scary that I hoped it could have been. The movie has good acting and a decent story to make it a chilling story. The thing that really made my skin crawl was that this was based on a true story and the movie did a good job of making that story, into a movie that will appeal to all horror fans. Of course it still has a lot of characters that had short development and some that didn't really have one. Some scenes that could have been removed and that it just made the movie a bit dragging. The movie was still a decent horror movie and I am going to give The Conjuring a 7/10. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
CP34Jul 19, 2013
Legitimately the best horror movie in the last 30 years. The Conjuring conjures up the same type of atmosphere as the horror greats in the 70s and early 80s. The scares come continuously, and the story is well written and acted. TheLegitimately the best horror movie in the last 30 years. The Conjuring conjures up the same type of atmosphere as the horror greats in the 70s and early 80s. The scares come continuously, and the story is well written and acted. The characters are relatable and well formed. Very strongly recommend! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
gatts_77Jul 24, 2013
Probably the thing that i enjoyed the most was leaving the cinema having the feeling that for a change i was not treated as retarded just because i like the horror genre, thanks for a well done movie, good actors and performance.

the story
Probably the thing that i enjoyed the most was leaving the cinema having the feeling that for a change i was not treated as retarded just because i like the horror genre, thanks for a well done movie, good actors and performance.

the story is fairly simple, but is all the rest what makes this a great film. Sequel with the same quality? yes please!

And for people wandering if it worth the chance watching it, be sure that any movie (that is not part of a cult start trek/star wars, etc) that has better reviews from the users than the critic it worth the time watching.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ChronicticSep 9, 2013
It's Funny How People Are Saying Negative Things About The Movie... Most Of The Normal People Would Say They Don't Want To Reveal That They Wet Themselves
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
ERB2Aug 9, 2013
This is the first movie to make me shout at the theaters.The story is great at the same time creepy.Not many horror movies I watch is that scary.I proclaim this movie as the scariest movie I've ever watched.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesJul 31, 2013
Amityville meets the Exorcist. Although this movie is being hyped as one of the scariest ever, it wasn't that scary for me. I hate gory films, and thankfully this film is not in that category. You might scream from the suspense, but notAmityville meets the Exorcist. Although this movie is being hyped as one of the scariest ever, it wasn't that scary for me. I hate gory films, and thankfully this film is not in that category. You might scream from the suspense, but not from cheap gore. The acting and writing is good across the board, and in general people don't do stupid things like walk into dark rooms without turning on lights, or back up to a window. They pretty much behave normally with only one exception that I won't give away (it has to do with the mother and the cellar). I had goosebumps throughout the movie and thought it had just enough of a scare factor to make it fun. A nice creepy time at the movies. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Aug 3, 2013
Being a huge fan of Jame Wan's I was looking forward to this film and it didn't disappoint at all. Unlike Insidious it has a very authentic, old school horror feel about it. There's a nice, gradual build up to things going wrong, with someBeing a huge fan of Jame Wan's I was looking forward to this film and it didn't disappoint at all. Unlike Insidious it has a very authentic, old school horror feel about it. There's a nice, gradual build up to things going wrong, with some good character development and scene setting going on. Then, when it starts kicking off, as you'd expect from Wan it soon gets to a point where your nerves are being bludgeoned with horrific imagery and concepts. I'm so glad this Director exits because we rarely get a horror masterpiece like this on the shelves. A perfect film in every way and boy am I looking forward to Insidious 2. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TheRubixGamerAug 9, 2013
This movie is awesome. The acting is believable and the scares are done really well. They use alot of jump scares in this movie but they use them in the right way, they build up to what you think is a jump scare but it comes from a differentThis movie is awesome. The acting is believable and the scares are done really well. They use alot of jump scares in this movie but they use them in the right way, they build up to what you think is a jump scare but it comes from a different direction and scares the crap out of you. Some may find the ending a bit silly but the whole movie was so entertaining I really didn't care.

If your a horror fan or your looking for a movie to make you fill your underwear this movie is for you.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AliStarkAug 8, 2013
Best horror movie maybe in last ten years or more. A really good horror movie and enjoyed it very much. Great direction, great script and obviously very scary.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LorcxAug 20, 2013
An almost flawless, nostalgic James Wan directed horror flick which may occasionally slide into slightly familiar territory. There are phenomenal performances all round especially from Famiga, who's really coming into her own. The movie hasAn almost flawless, nostalgic James Wan directed horror flick which may occasionally slide into slightly familiar territory. There are phenomenal performances all round especially from Famiga, who's really coming into her own. The movie has some flaws but becomes an instant horror classic and is arguably Wan's best movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kiwi2299Sep 6, 2013
This movie is really awesome, it is not like the typical kind of exorcism and demons movie, it´s like paranormal activity but with real exorcism and really good actors. If you get to watch it on the cinema remember to scream yourself out!!!This movie is really awesome, it is not like the typical kind of exorcism and demons movie, it´s like paranormal activity but with real exorcism and really good actors. If you get to watch it on the cinema remember to scream yourself out!!! go with some girls Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
SyimanAug 2, 2013
One of the best scary movie I've ever seen! The acting, cinematography and plot are all good! James Wan done some very good job to this movie! I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SuperbuddhaAug 29, 2013
A solid horror movie.
The conjuring is an old school horror movie where the emphasis is not on blood and gore but on psychological tension. It's one of the best film of 2013 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Knicksfan7Aug 5, 2013
The Conjuring was certainly one of the better releases from the horror genre in the last decade. It was truly terrifying right from the beginning leading to the insane ending. It will make you laugh then 3 seconds later shudder. James WanThe Conjuring was certainly one of the better releases from the horror genre in the last decade. It was truly terrifying right from the beginning leading to the insane ending. It will make you laugh then 3 seconds later shudder. James Wan really knows how to mess with your emotions. The main reason I liked this film is it is indeed like other demon/possession types of films in certain ways but with the conjuring you are also being told a great story, unlike other mindless films (The Devil Inside, The Last Exorcism) the conjuring has a great plot. Only bone I had to pick with it was due to the fact I work at a theater I had seen every preview there was for this movie and I saw a lot of the creepier moments coming due to many of them being in the previews but other than that no major issues. It was a great classic horror film, highly recommended in my book. 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
quincytheodoreAug 14, 2013
In the spirit of classic horror flicks, The Conjuring is eerily breathtaking and possibly the scariest movie of the year. It plays with the atmosphere so well with lingering shots, clever lighting manipulation, wicked music and timely scare.In the spirit of classic horror flicks, The Conjuring is eerily breathtaking and possibly the scariest movie of the year. It plays with the atmosphere so well with lingering shots, clever lighting manipulation, wicked music and timely scare. Not much CG is involved as it practically uses simple tricks to its amazing potential, it's surprising how effective they can be. Screenplay are done so well, at many occasions it felt as if the theater is frozen at the sight of stunningly ominous scenes. The director, James Wan from Insidious, crafts the movie brilliantly to the point of making these entities and people who are abused by them seemingly real.

Story follows Warrens couple, acclaimed demonologists who attempt to help Perron family as they battle their demonic invaders. Roger and Carolyn Perron with their five children move into a rural home where they are constantly being abused by ghosts of the past. Warrens eventually volunteer to help the family despite their own plaguing problem. The premise is simple, but it is executed with excellence. Characters are interestingly engaging, especially the younger girls, they convey the terror pretty well and the way camera idles around them makes it even more unsettling.

There is little modern influence on the movie, everything looks very archaic, and it's not just limited in the retro setting, but the overall nuance feels much like traditional western horror. The terror works fantastically with whispering ambiance, the slight display of other rooms around the camera angle and how the shadows enchantingly move about. Cinematography looks intentionally old, although it flutters in such precision you'll be involuntarily captivated into searching that strange dark corner where something might just appear.

Its scare utilizes some jump scare as well, but it is not cheap. The director builds up tension masterfully just by tilting the camera or lingering a few more seconds for specific scene. The result is nothing less than a thrill, I found myself shivering in some instances. Soundtracks adds to the horror even more, its hauntingly and somewhat choir-like mumble or inexplicable screeching is immensely frightening, making crawling noises of something that lurks uninvited. Everything is choreographed meticulously without resorting to blood and gore, albeit there is little seeping here.

It's nice to see the old vibe of horror makes its return, James Wan is a talented director and his antique style is remarkably fresh. The main protagonist, Patrick Wilson, who is also involved in Insidious, is looking very comfortable in this genre. I'm excited to see the sequels in near future, but for now The Conjuring will chill your spine delightfully.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Aug 30, 2013
The Conjuring is a horror film of 2013 directed by James Wan, based on the true events in 1971, with Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson and Lili Taylor.
The film is about one of the most disturbing cases happened to Mr and Mrs Warren, who are
The Conjuring is a horror film of 2013 directed by James Wan, based on the true events in 1971, with Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson and Lili Taylor.
The film is about one of the most disturbing cases happened to Mr and Mrs Warren, who are called by the Perron family, terrified because for quite some time in their new home is going something really horrible doors that open themselves from the sun, the mysterious death their dog and presences that do not leave the family in peace. It's up to Ed Warren and Loranne discover and deal with this threat that will prove to be very powerful and ruthless.
In addition to surprise the huge success it is having in the world in terms of receipts, The Conjuring surprisingly also for the way in which it was made.
James Wan has improved a lot with the master socket, and if with Insidious had done a great job with this film is even better. Shots really well made and disturbing chills, atmosphere typical of the '80s movie realized with skill that can give a sense of oppression, sound effects typical of the old horror that can make you stop the heart and actors who play really well .
From the plot, the film seems to be the typical ghost story but it is not. In fact, the film is also the theme of exorcism (it was the time of The Exorcism of Emily Rose, who was not treated so well the genre) and the family that is not trivialized as happens in other movies.
In the film, there are also tributes to old horror such as The Exorcist but also films like Prince of Darkness and many others.
A film that uses the tricks of the old school horror in an original way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
The Conjuring is by and far the scariest film of 2013. A film about paranormal investigators (vividly portrayed by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga), it's chilling and a flashback to early horror flicks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Dec 9, 2013
For a genre that almost always gets it wrong, The Conjuring finally gets it right. Not only is it actually scary, but the film also manages to tie in good acting, score, production, and a perfect pace. Something that cannot be said of anyFor a genre that almost always gets it wrong, The Conjuring finally gets it right. Not only is it actually scary, but the film also manages to tie in good acting, score, production, and a perfect pace. Something that cannot be said of any other horror movie that comes to mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kuehnauAug 25, 2013
It's your standard fare "family moves into a house, it's haunted" horror film and that's alright for two reasons 1.) It's done incredibly well and 2.) Number 1 doesn't happen very often.

Forget the stream of garbage that has been hitting
It's your standard fare "family moves into a house, it's haunted" horror film and that's alright for two reasons 1.) It's done incredibly well and 2.) Number 1 doesn't happen very often.

Forget the stream of garbage that has been hitting the industry lately, The Conjuring is an amazing tale of a family moving into a farm house, only to discover something is lurking in the shadows. A film based off a "true story" from two of America's top most paranormal investigators, Ed and Lorraine Warren.

Everything about this movie is great, the pacing, the atmosphere, the level of anticipation, it's all perfecr and blends well with the amazing story that is being told.

It doesn't matter if what the Warrens said was true or not, it doesn't matter if it's a true story or not, because this is an amazing, rare, masterpiece of a horror film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMar 1, 2015
The Conjuring soars on a couple of different categories. First, the acting from the entire cast is very good. Second, the direction from James Wan is stellar, really amps up the creepy and does a great job setting an eerie mood. Next, theThe Conjuring soars on a couple of different categories. First, the acting from the entire cast is very good. Second, the direction from James Wan is stellar, really amps up the creepy and does a great job setting an eerie mood. Next, the special effects are great. Everything looks really realistic and that really helps the scares become even more intense. In addition to these, the cinematography is great and the whole production design is great. Really cool look to this one to go with the great feel. Finally, and most importantly, it is legitimately scary. From beginning to end, it makes you feel a sense of dread and provides enough scares to cause you to jump six feet in the air far too many times. The Conjuring stands tall as one of the best recent horror films and, undoubtedly, one of the scariest films ever made, in large part thanks to it relying on the same types of scares to the table that its predecessors do. In many ways, The Conjuring is the 2010s introduction to brilliant, non-cheesy, supernatural horror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
htimreimerAug 6, 2013
the plot is something we all seen before but unlike many other movies with a similar plot to this, this movie does everything right and hits every scary note
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JawsLaxerDramaDec 31, 2013
For the record, I am not into horror movies in general. Simply because, they are so overused in the areas of sex, and plenty of to last for the ages. I am not a prude, I enjoy over zealous movies (The Wolf ofWall Street) but I am shocked toFor the record, I am not into horror movies in general. Simply because, they are so overused in the areas of sex, and plenty of to last for the ages. I am not a prude, I enjoy over zealous movies (The Wolf ofWall Street) but I am shocked to say The Conjuring has no profanity, no sex scenes to speak of, and is still rated R. Why? The scares. The lighting. The acting. The direction. Absolutely perfect in terms of a watchable horror film. Scary is too much hype. It's frightening in the way that you aren't terrified in the theatre, but at home, Christ...the images of a doll come running back (no, not Chucky) and an esteemed cast that for once, the characters are not unlivable and they're not stupid. It's a bit slow, but rewarding in the end with effects that will shock and a plot that builds over time to a satisfying conclusion.
You may say that James Wan, the director of Saw, has come to his finest hour with The Conjuring. It's a breezy, effortless film to watch, with popcorn occasionally flying and eyes subsequently being shut. At times, I found myself clinging to the arm of a friend (especially the scene with the old lady and Annabelle, the doll) but it's fun. A real picture that builds up over time, no cheap scares and at last, a movie where you care what happens to the characters. Please see.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
toliverjohnJan 6, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of those horror movies where everyday stuff turn into nightmares. If you have ever lived in an old house you have experienced strange sounds that can't be explained by normal occurrences. In my opinion this fact is what makes this movie so scary and spooky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ToffenuffOct 5, 2013
I don't watch horror movies too often, though the few I've seen have been either fairly good or absolutely garbage. This is neither and rises to the top of my list as one of the best horror movies I've watched. Excellent acting and theI don't watch horror movies too often, though the few I've seen have been either fairly good or absolutely garbage. This is neither and rises to the top of my list as one of the best horror movies I've watched. Excellent acting and the characters are well done, and I actually liked the plot of this one, particularly because it was paced very well. Plenty enough scares for the horror film lover, much of which is achieved by slow moments of rising tension, tense anticipation and plain creepy moments. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
foxgroveAug 4, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Conjuring promises more than it ultimately delivers, although an effective sense of trepidation is felt throughout. The film is actually at its best in the first hour before all the camera equipment is moved into the house to photograph unfolding events. Maximum tension is eked out of scene after scene and although these occasionally result in some chilling payoffs they are never to jumpy effect. Great camera movements, considered direction and the main house setting create the right atmosphere and all add to the film's success. Likewise, the music and sound effectively jangle the nerves. It is therefore a shame that towards the end things start to get a tad silly. Unintentional laughs are conjured up when Lili Taylor goes in to full possession and we find ourselves in territory derivative from other movies. This, unfortunately, has the effect of undermining some of the good work achieved during the film's careful build up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Feb 14, 2014
To be honest, this has to be one of the better horrors I have seen in a while. Granted allot in this movie has been done before and the premise is nothing original, the movie as a whole feels fresh and genuinely scary at points. RichTo be honest, this has to be one of the better horrors I have seen in a while. Granted allot in this movie has been done before and the premise is nothing original, the movie as a whole feels fresh and genuinely scary at points. Rich atmosphere and all round decent acting give this movie the creepy vibe that many other horrors are lacking.

While they could have been a bit more daring and gone deeper with the narrative, I really have no gripes with this movie.

Overall:
An enjoyable, creepy and highly atmospheric movie and probably the best horror movie of 2013. I loved it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
survivorfan989Aug 4, 2013
Wow! One of the best Horror films I've seen, let alone this year. From start to finish it draws you in and you are hooked! Such a creative idea and I've never seen this type of Horror film done this well before, because many have attemptedWow! One of the best Horror films I've seen, let alone this year. From start to finish it draws you in and you are hooked! Such a creative idea and I've never seen this type of Horror film done this well before, because many have attempted and failed. It's creepy atmosphere is done well because it builds from being pretty calm to extremely creepy towards the end. There are jumps galore and many moments you can't help but look away! Overall a solid Horror film and one of the best I've seen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pxlAug 27, 2013
I went out to the cinema for this one and it was well worth the money, the film was great, had the perfect formula for a good horror movie. The problem for me with films like this is that, they struggle to scare me, I really enjoy horrorI went out to the cinema for this one and it was well worth the money, the film was great, had the perfect formula for a good horror movie. The problem for me with films like this is that, they struggle to scare me, I really enjoy horror movies but it's rare I am genuinely caught off guard but, this film just had the perfect formula.

1) A creepy music piece (The Jack in the Box)
2) A creepy item (The doll)
3) A fear evoking antagonist (You'll see)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MaricaAug 31, 2014
"When the music stops, you'll see him in the mirror standing behind you." - April

This is why i love horror movies.One of the best horror movies i ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJJan 25, 2014
Now this is a real horror movie! So much scary scenes! The story was intresting, kinda boring at moments but still a great movie to watch! I recommend it if you want to watch a scary movie with less disgusting scenes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sammieteeOct 30, 2013
I normally don't enjoy horror movies but The Conjuring was fantastic for what it was. This movie really scared me, I watched half of it through my fingers. What makes it even more scary it was based on a real demonologists, they even talkedI normally don't enjoy horror movies but The Conjuring was fantastic for what it was. This movie really scared me, I watched half of it through my fingers. What makes it even more scary it was based on a real demonologists, they even talked at my local university at the height of their careers. The performances were good for most of the actors and it had a good build up to build suspense and fear. It's been a few days since I've seen it and I still makes me nervous when I trun off the light. Worth watching if you want a good scare! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jonathan117Mar 23, 2014
One of the best horror movies of all time!
Positives:
- Excellent Actors - Excellent Story - Great Atmosphere Negatives: - Abrupt Ending - Based on a true story, even though the story was amazing I'd rather not hear it being based on
One of the best horror movies of all time!
Positives:
- Excellent Actors
- Excellent Story
- Great Atmosphere
Negatives:
- Abrupt Ending
- Based on a true story, even though the story was amazing I'd rather not hear it being based on actual events.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Dimitris01Oct 10, 2013
The movie becomes gradually less scary after the two 'ghost hunters' arrive at the haunted house, the mystery should be harder to solve and the ending is too 'noisy'. Still, the first act is excellent, there are several frightening scenes,The movie becomes gradually less scary after the two 'ghost hunters' arrive at the haunted house, the mystery should be harder to solve and the ending is too 'noisy'. Still, the first act is excellent, there are several frightening scenes, the direction makes the atmosphere darker and Vera Farmiga is great. Patrick Wilson is good too.
argonautis.eu
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrumanTrumanAug 4, 2013
Based on a true story "The Conjuring" provides consistent scares throughout the entire film with interesting fleshed out characters and scenes superbly directed by James Wan. If you are a fan of any of James Wan's former work or of scaryBased on a true story "The Conjuring" provides consistent scares throughout the entire film with interesting fleshed out characters and scenes superbly directed by James Wan. If you are a fan of any of James Wan's former work or of scary movies in general I would HIGHLY recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jessica_WebbAug 4, 2013
I have not ever that I recall screamed in theater... until I watched the Conjuring. For three nights, I felt anxious to turn out my light before getting into bed. The last time I felt like that was The Exorcism of Emily Rose. The ExorcistI have not ever that I recall screamed in theater... until I watched the Conjuring. For three nights, I felt anxious to turn out my light before getting into bed. The last time I felt like that was The Exorcism of Emily Rose. The Exorcist gets attention for being novel, but seriously, I watched that when I was 4 (but not deeply set into religion). The effect did not last passed the credit roll. The Conjuring used (mostly) simpler tactics than pea soup and cross-raping of a child's vulva to pull fear and disgust from my usually strong psyche. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sahailionAug 5, 2013
So far this movie is the best horror movie I ever watched! It prevented me from sitting nicely in every scary scene...I cant even differentiate between the screams audiences and real movie scream effects! Best horror movie indeed. Clap Clap!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShockerAug 5, 2013
Most horror flicks these days aren't scary at all. I can't say that at all about The Conjuring. Old school scares and great acting and story combine to make this one of the most terrifying horror movies I've seen. The soundtrack was extremelyMost horror flicks these days aren't scary at all. I can't say that at all about The Conjuring. Old school scares and great acting and story combine to make this one of the most terrifying horror movies I've seen. The soundtrack was extremely well done as well. At times the level of suspense was almost unbearable. And all throughout the director never lost focus. This movie ranks right up there with the classics. If you love a good scare DON'T miss The Conjuring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BWETMatangiAug 26, 2013
"The Conjuring" is the scariest movie you will ever see. Everyone in the theater screamed at least three times. This is a true scary horror movie. And it's based on a true story...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
smoovelaiAug 7, 2013
My GF loves scary movies i use too as a child but i find none of them scary anymore, i thought i grew out of it as a man...until i watched the conjuring it was actually scary first movie i' can say actually had scary moments in a long timeMy GF loves scary movies i use too as a child but i find none of them scary anymore, i thought i grew out of it as a man...until i watched the conjuring it was actually scary first movie i' can say actually had scary moments in a long time worth a 9 rating just for that fact i would of gave it a 10 but the story was not very original but at least the scares were Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mobellm116Aug 9, 2013
i love horror movies, this film make me scary but i love it, vote 10 Score for this film everyone.
Saw and Insidious is also fantastic too, I really love Insidious and i can't wait until this film show.
but why Patrick Wilson really
i love horror movies, this film make me scary but i love it, vote 10 Score for this film everyone.
Saw and Insidious is also fantastic too, I really love Insidious and i can't wait until this film show.
but why Patrick Wilson really interested in acting horror movies.
i knew Leigh Whannell in saw, and now he come back with Insidious.
cause i live in vietnam so my english
because I live in Vietnam so my english vocabulary is not so good if you do not know what I said, then I'm sorry
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Based on a true stroy The Conjuring is a movie that follows a family in the early 70's that was being tormented by a demonic demon so they soon seek out the help of paranormal investigators to get rid of the demon haunting them. The storyBased on a true stroy The Conjuring is a movie that follows a family in the early 70's that was being tormented by a demonic demon so they soon seek out the help of paranormal investigators to get rid of the demon haunting them. The story itself is nothing new and the events surrounding the story isn't anything new but James Wan delivers on the suspense of the telling of a old story. There wasn't any jump scare moments well at least none that got me. Also only being made on a 20 million budget was great none of it looked bad and for making over 300 million worldwide that is something.

Overall i give it a 7.5 The movie freaked my mom out she siad she wanted to watch a scary movie then after she siad she never want's to see this movie ever again i laughed =D the movie isn't scary at all
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
yeahbuddy123451Aug 15, 2013
I went to see the movie with my girlfriend and boy did I wish my mommy was with me too. I cant explain to you how creepy the movie was. I was surprised that my arm didn't go numb from my girlfriend squeezing it like a teddy bear. 75% of theI went to see the movie with my girlfriend and boy did I wish my mommy was with me too. I cant explain to you how creepy the movie was. I was surprised that my arm didn't go numb from my girlfriend squeezing it like a teddy bear. 75% of the movie we spent huddling up and gasping for air If you want to see it I advise you to bring a diaper with you. And dont act big thinking it is just a movie because this movie makes Saw and all other horror movies look like childs play. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KratosITALYAug 28, 2013
Definitely one of the best horror movies ever made, mainly because of it's story: this movie was made to tell a story, not to just freak out people. The acting is top notch, and Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga give a wonderful portrayal ofDefinitely one of the best horror movies ever made, mainly because of it's story: this movie was made to tell a story, not to just freak out people. The acting is top notch, and Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga give a wonderful portrayal of the two demonologists. The visual are very effective, with some pretty eerie stuff, and the music blends in perfectly.
I recommend this to horror movie fans, but also who (like me) had lost hope for a good horror movie
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews