User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 702 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 702
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I'm not a huge fan of horror, but I did enjoy James Wan's last movie (Insidious) enough to bring me back for this one. I'm glad I did, because The Conjuring is by far the best movie I've seen this year. It does a great job at maintaining tension throughout almost the entire movie. There are plenty of scares, and none of them feel cheesy or forced. I also loved the way this movie looks:I'm not a huge fan of horror, but I did enjoy James Wan's last movie (Insidious) enough to bring me back for this one. I'm glad I did, because The Conjuring is by far the best movie I've seen this year. It does a great job at maintaining tension throughout almost the entire movie. There are plenty of scares, and none of them feel cheesy or forced. I also loved the way this movie looks: the cinematography is great, and they really captured the era (early 70's). Long story short: Go see it. Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Jame Wan's I was looking forward to this film and it didn't disappoint at all. Unlike Insidious it has a very authentic, old school horror feel about it. There's a nice, gradual build up to things going wrong, with some good character development and scene setting going on. Then, when it starts kicking off, as you'd expect from Wan it soon gets to a point where yourBeing a huge fan of Jame Wan's I was looking forward to this film and it didn't disappoint at all. Unlike Insidious it has a very authentic, old school horror feel about it. There's a nice, gradual build up to things going wrong, with some good character development and scene setting going on. Then, when it starts kicking off, as you'd expect from Wan it soon gets to a point where your nerves are being bludgeoned with horrific imagery and concepts. I'm so glad this Director exits because we rarely get a horror masterpiece like this on the shelves. A perfect film in every way and boy am I looking forward to Insidious 2. Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    The Conjuring is a horror film of 2013 directed by James Wan, based on the true events in 1971, with Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson and Lili Taylor.
    The film is about one of the most disturbing cases happened to Mr and Mrs Warren, who are called by the Perron family, terrified because for quite some time in their new home is going something really horrible doors that open themselves from
    The Conjuring is a horror film of 2013 directed by James Wan, based on the true events in 1971, with Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson and Lili Taylor.
    The film is about one of the most disturbing cases happened to Mr and Mrs Warren, who are called by the Perron family, terrified because for quite some time in their new home is going something really horrible doors that open themselves from the sun, the mysterious death their dog and presences that do not leave the family in peace. It's up to Ed Warren and Loranne discover and deal with this threat that will prove to be very powerful and ruthless.
    In addition to surprise the huge success it is having in the world in terms of receipts, The Conjuring surprisingly also for the way in which it was made.
    James Wan has improved a lot with the master socket, and if with Insidious had done a great job with this film is even better. Shots really well made and disturbing chills, atmosphere typical of the '80s movie realized with skill that can give a sense of oppression, sound effects typical of the old horror that can make you stop the heart and actors who play really well .
    From the plot, the film seems to be the typical ghost story but it is not. In fact, the film is also the theme of exorcism (it was the time of The Exorcism of Emily Rose, who was not treated so well the genre) and the family that is not trivialized as happens in other movies.
    In the film, there are also tributes to old horror such as The Exorcist but also films like Prince of Darkness and many others.
    A film that uses the tricks of the old school horror in an original way.
    Collapse
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    It's your standard fare "family moves into a house, it's haunted" horror film and that's alright for two reasons 1.) It's done incredibly well and 2.) Number 1 doesn't happen very often.

    Forget the stream of garbage that has been hitting the industry lately, The Conjuring is an amazing tale of a family moving into a farm house, only to discover something is lurking in the shadows. A
    It's your standard fare "family moves into a house, it's haunted" horror film and that's alright for two reasons 1.) It's done incredibly well and 2.) Number 1 doesn't happen very often.

    Forget the stream of garbage that has been hitting the industry lately, The Conjuring is an amazing tale of a family moving into a farm house, only to discover something is lurking in the shadows. A film based off a "true story" from two of America's top most paranormal investigators, Ed and Lorraine Warren.

    Everything about this movie is great, the pacing, the atmosphere, the level of anticipation, it's all perfecr and blends well with the amazing story that is being told.

    It doesn't matter if what the Warrens said was true or not, it doesn't matter if it's a true story or not, because this is an amazing, rare, masterpiece of a horror film.
    Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Wow! One of the best Horror films I've seen, let alone this year. From start to finish it draws you in and you are hooked! Such a creative idea and I've never seen this type of Horror film done this well before, because many have attempted and failed. It's creepy atmosphere is done well because it builds from being pretty calm to extremely creepy towards the end. There are jumps galore andWow! One of the best Horror films I've seen, let alone this year. From start to finish it draws you in and you are hooked! Such a creative idea and I've never seen this type of Horror film done this well before, because many have attempted and failed. It's creepy atmosphere is done well because it builds from being pretty calm to extremely creepy towards the end. There are jumps galore and many moments you can't help but look away! Overall a solid Horror film and one of the best I've seen! Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    I love horror pictures and whenever a new one is release I see it, and The Conjuring is the first one that has scared me s***less since Paranormal Activity.
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Firstly the fact that this one's a true story leads the viewers to expect a lot from the story line than they usually would from a fiction. Hence the first impression, the opening 30 min. are always important as that is often decides the fate of the movie in such True Story based films. This movie starts off brilliantly. It does not scare you off or try to be cynical. The first 20 min.Firstly the fact that this one's a true story leads the viewers to expect a lot from the story line than they usually would from a fiction. Hence the first impression, the opening 30 min. are always important as that is often decides the fate of the movie in such True Story based films. This movie starts off brilliantly. It does not scare you off or try to be cynical. The first 20 min. just gives you the hunch that this movie is going to create an impact and you know it right there that this is not one of those typical overdone horror flicks. The movie then rapidly picks up pace just refusing to stop and give you a break. The ending is well constructed nothing highly dramatic or depressing. Ends where it has to, when it has to. The set,the cast,the makeup is spot on. Though if there's one thing missing it has to the be the lighting which is just not bright enough. But that really doesn't matter cause the plot is just fabulous. This movie truly has what it takes to be one of the best horror movies of all time. Expand
  8. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Despite having a fairly standard haunted house horror plot, James Wan has created a fun, scary and beautiful looking movie. In The Conjuring, Wan uses skills learnt directing his previous films and old school 70’s horror tricks to amp up the tension and ensure a sleepless night.
  9. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Now this is a horror movie the best I've seen in 2013 James Wan is a great director He Gives us great gems like Insidious And Saw now this movie has a borrows for some movies but it it worth it in the end the scares come and the come good not quick fire jumps like every 2 seconds I mean you think is coming and some else happens instead. The Cast are great Paddy Wilson was good my advice goNow this is a horror movie the best I've seen in 2013 James Wan is a great director He Gives us great gems like Insidious And Saw now this movie has a borrows for some movies but it it worth it in the end the scares come and the come good not quick fire jumps like every 2 seconds I mean you think is coming and some else happens instead. The Cast are great Paddy Wilson was good my advice go see this now you will be forever change Expand
  10. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Best horror film I have ever seen, kept me on my toes the entire time, filled with amazing scares that had the whole cinema screaming in terror. The plot was great and was developed very well, with great suspense throughout the entire film.
  11. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    The Conjuring is easily the most scariest movie to date. Take what you think is scary and times it by 10, and your left with The Conjuring. This movie is a MUST for all horror fans. To the acting, dialogue and creepy sound effect this movie will leave you exhausted by the end wishing you never watched because I can tell you now you won't be getting a goods night sleep.
  12. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    One of the rare films I found truly scary and truly captivating. Well worth the watch for horror lovers. Not sure why reviews have to be fifty characters long...
  13. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    My girlfriend loves horror movies and has dragged me to a lot of stinkers, but this movie was not one of them. Possibly the best horror movie I have seen to date! Here are the top reasons why I enjoyed this movie so much

    1. crapped my pants 2. surprised my girlfriend didn't leave hand prints because she was gripping my arm so tightly 3. the "brave" guys beside me made lame jokes to
    My girlfriend loves horror movies and has dragged me to a lot of stinkers, but this movie was not one of them. Possibly the best horror movie I have seen to date! Here are the top reasons why I enjoyed this movie so much

    1. crapped my pants
    2. surprised my girlfriend didn't leave hand prints because she was gripping my arm so tightly
    3. the "brave" guys beside me made lame jokes to lighten the mood (I assume they didn't like being so scared)
    4. the plot was very good for a horror movie and did I mention I crapped my pants?

    if you like horror go see this movie! wear a diaper...
    Expand
  14. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    With minimal CGI, minimal jump scares, and awesome acting, James Wan's "The Conjuring" stands out as an awesome, original film. It's the kind of scary that gets under your skin and makes you feel very uncomfortable. Such a fun time in the movie theatre! Go watch this movie and have as much fun as I did!
  15. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    What a great film. I'm giving it a 10 because of what it accomplishes. It is a straight-up old school haunted house flick, pulling no new tricks. And the plot is a very simple uphill ramp of gradually building suspense until all heck breaks loose. Yet it does everything well and somehow pulls it off, and manages to feel fresh and compelling. What a surprise!

    It's simply an honest
    What a great film. I'm giving it a 10 because of what it accomplishes. It is a straight-up old school haunted house flick, pulling no new tricks. And the plot is a very simple uphill ramp of gradually building suspense until all heck breaks loose. Yet it does everything well and somehow pulls it off, and manages to feel fresh and compelling. What a surprise!

    It's simply an honest attempt at telling a scary story within conventional and very familiar bounds. It does so wonderfully, beautifully, and quite artfully. What's not to like? The acting is superb, and each scene is thoughtfully prepared and executed expertly. Good acting, good directing, good scripting, good cinematography, good score.

    Horror movies rarely get better than this.
    Expand
  16. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    I watched The Conjuring Movie and saw that it was based on a true story that happened in Harrisville Rhode Island, so I decided to go check out the old farm house. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okCr61sYpsI
  17. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Most horror flicks these days aren't scary at all. I can't say that at all about The Conjuring. Old school scares and great acting and story combine to make this one of the most terrifying horror movies I've seen. The soundtrack was extremely well done as well. At times the level of suspense was almost unbearable. And all throughout the director never lost focus. This movie ranks right upMost horror flicks these days aren't scary at all. I can't say that at all about The Conjuring. Old school scares and great acting and story combine to make this one of the most terrifying horror movies I've seen. The soundtrack was extremely well done as well. At times the level of suspense was almost unbearable. And all throughout the director never lost focus. This movie ranks right up there with the classics. If you love a good scare DON'T miss The Conjuring. Expand
  18. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    "The Conjuring" is the scariest movie you will ever see. Everyone in the theater screamed at least three times. This is a true scary horror movie. And it's based on a true story...
  19. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    i love horror movies, this film make me scary but i love it, vote 10 Score for this film everyone.
    Saw and Insidious is also fantastic too, I really love Insidious and i can't wait until this film show.
    but why Patrick Wilson really interested in acting horror movies. i knew Leigh Whannell in saw, and now he come back with Insidious. cause i live in vietnam so my english because I
    i love horror movies, this film make me scary but i love it, vote 10 Score for this film everyone.
    Saw and Insidious is also fantastic too, I really love Insidious and i can't wait until this film show.
    but why Patrick Wilson really interested in acting horror movies.
    i knew Leigh Whannell in saw, and now he come back with Insidious.
    cause i live in vietnam so my english
    because I live in Vietnam so my english vocabulary is not so good if you do not know what I said, then I'm sorry
    Expand
  20. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    I went to see the movie with my girlfriend and boy did I wish my mommy was with me too. I cant explain to you how creepy the movie was. I was surprised that my arm didn't go numb from my girlfriend squeezing it like a teddy bear. 75% of the movie we spent huddling up and gasping for air If you want to see it I advise you to bring a diaper with you. And dont act big thinking it is just aI went to see the movie with my girlfriend and boy did I wish my mommy was with me too. I cant explain to you how creepy the movie was. I was surprised that my arm didn't go numb from my girlfriend squeezing it like a teddy bear. 75% of the movie we spent huddling up and gasping for air If you want to see it I advise you to bring a diaper with you. And dont act big thinking it is just a movie because this movie makes Saw and all other horror movies look like childs play. Expand
  21. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best horror movies ever made, mainly because of it's story: this movie was made to tell a story, not to just freak out people. The acting is top notch, and Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga give a wonderful portrayal of the two demonologists. The visual are very effective, with some pretty eerie stuff, and the music blends in perfectly.
    I recommend this to horror movie
    Definitely one of the best horror movies ever made, mainly because of it's story: this movie was made to tell a story, not to just freak out people. The acting is top notch, and Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga give a wonderful portrayal of the two demonologists. The visual are very effective, with some pretty eerie stuff, and the music blends in perfectly.
    I recommend this to horror movie fans, but also who (like me) had lost hope for a good horror movie
    Expand
  22. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    I seen this movie at 3:15 pm when i left left i could not shake this off 4 the whole day, this was the best, most scary, great actors, great story and backstory at some parts and i highly recommend this movie to any horror fan. these are only some of this movies strong points cause it would take to long to write them all. 11 out of 10
  23. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    This movie is really awesome, it is not like the typical kind of exorcism and demons movie, it´s like paranormal activity but with real exorcism and really good actors. If you get to watch it on the cinema remember to scream yourself out!!! go with some girls
  24. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    It's Funny How People Are Saying Negative Things About The Movie... Most Of The Normal People Would Say They Don't Want To Reveal That They Wet Themselves
  25. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    The Conjuring is quite possibly the best horror movie of the past 5 or so years. I've been watching horror movies for 15+ years now, and nothing scared me quite as bad as this one. Too scary to move to the edge of your seat, but too intense to sit back. The only other option was to curl up in my seat while being bombarded with a fantastic story and scare tactics beyond the averageThe Conjuring is quite possibly the best horror movie of the past 5 or so years. I've been watching horror movies for 15+ years now, and nothing scared me quite as bad as this one. Too scary to move to the edge of your seat, but too intense to sit back. The only other option was to curl up in my seat while being bombarded with a fantastic story and scare tactics beyond the average possession tale. It's too unique of a horror movie to miss. Expand
  26. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I'm an avid horror fan. Lately I've been thinking there isn't much that can scare me (though Sinister got under my skin). I appreciate James Wan's films, I love the first Saw, Insidious was a damn good modern ghost story, but like all reviews have stated for it, the movie kinda loses it's momentum in the final act.

    The Conjuring is better, scarier, and more tense than Insidious. I'm
    I'm an avid horror fan. Lately I've been thinking there isn't much that can scare me (though Sinister got under my skin). I appreciate James Wan's films, I love the first Saw, Insidious was a damn good modern ghost story, but like all reviews have stated for it, the movie kinda loses it's momentum in the final act.

    The Conjuring is better, scarier, and more tense than Insidious. I'm gonna go out on a limb and say it's one of the best horror movies of the last 5 or 10 years. It goes back to the classic rule of horror film making, never show the bad guy fully to your audience. Plus this movie knows suspense, I tell you, I almost threw a water bottle at the screen from sheer terror once the scare finally happened. There are no fake jump scares, the movie earned an R rating without any blood, sex, or profanity, it's all from the terror that this movie builds upon.

    Not only is the movie scary, but as a film itself, it's almost a masterpiece. The script, acting, direction, style, tone, etc were all simply top notch. Wan's camera-work here is by far his best out of any of his movies. The choice to set the movie in the 70s was a stroke of genius as it feels so authentic and all the more real. If this story were set in the present, it simply wouldn't be as a effective or scary. The 70s style film making, costuming, and hair styling are a great throwback to likes of The Exorcist & The Amityville Horror.

    Though there are a few (extremely minor) flaws, such are length, repetitiveness, and a resolution that happens way too fast. I don't care, every horror movie (or movie in general) has it's flaws. There will never be a perfect horror movie, if there is one, I haven't seen it yet. But all I know is James Wan's The Conjuring is one of the best horror movies I've seen in a long time, and it's been a really long time that a movie has scared me this badly.

    10/10 Don't miss this one, it's an amazing theater viewing experience.
    Expand
  27. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This movie is definitely one of the best horror movies I have seen so far. I was a bit skeptical at first of this movie, but once it started, I could not keep my eyes off the screen. It was definitely a better movie to see than "My Little Pony: Equestria Girls". I can't wait for James Wan's next installment in the Warren paranormal investigators saga.
  28. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    This movie is my best horror movie. The story is based on true events wich makes the movie even more scary especially if it's well played. It has a lot of moments where you think there will be jump scare but in the end it's nothing and thats what makes it so scary, there are a few jump scares yes but not always. Just in the right moments.
  29. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    "Why is this movie getting awesome scores? What happened in this movie that hasn't happened in every other horror movie?"

    It is an art to make good pictures. It is an art to make feel the viewer emotionally involved. It is an art to place, choose and time sound effects so that they are just "in time". Often in life it is not the story which is told. It is the WAY the story is told!!!!
    "Why is this movie getting awesome scores? What happened in this movie that hasn't happened in every other horror movie?"

    It is an art to make good pictures. It is an art to make feel the viewer emotionally involved. It is an art to place, choose and time sound effects so that they are just "in time". Often in life it is not the story which is told. It is the WAY the story is told!!!! The conjuring - for shure - is a composition of already known story fragments, but the way the fragments have been arranged to a dense thrilling story are absolutely f***ng genious. There is barely nothing which I had to criticize respectively that can be criticized. And this is - by all respect to other filmmakers - a seldom situation. double thumps up into my bluray-collection!
    Expand
  30. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    The Conjuring es una película del género terror que logra cumplir con las expectativas del género, sin duda alguna va a ser considerada una de las mejores películas de terror del 2013.
  31. Ozy
    Feb 4, 2015
    10
    Was scary!!! This scared the living crap out of me. Yet i'm the brat aethiest, go figure! The movie is very subtle - then out of nowhere some scary b,,tch jumps off a big cabinet and then i couldnt sleep that night. Don't watch alone dont be a fool.
  32. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    My first REAL Horror movie I have ever watched .....Final Destination 5, The Purge, The Bay. and the Resident Evil movies are horror movies I have watched but THIS is my first demon-posssession/exorcism type of horror I have ever watched. And guess what? I watched it late at night, on my Ipod Touch with earbuds on pretty loud. And guess what? Its one of my favorites of all time! ReallyMy first REAL Horror movie I have ever watched .....Final Destination 5, The Purge, The Bay. and the Resident Evil movies are horror movies I have watched but THIS is my first demon-posssession/exorcism type of horror I have ever watched. And guess what? I watched it late at night, on my Ipod Touch with earbuds on pretty loud. And guess what? Its one of my favorites of all time! Really really loved it! My favorite horror flick so far....definitely will look more into James Wans movies. Already checked him out on the IMDB!!.

    And this is what has got me into horror movies and now I freaking love horror flicks. Hollywood sure is awesome guys, don't you think? Go see the Conjuring! Oh, and Resident evil are zombie movies.
    Expand
  33. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    I love this movie. plot was great and the scary parts were actually scary!!!! It was not predictable and I would watch it again, for sure. I highly recommend this movie if you want a good scare :)
  34. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    Like the old-school horror flicks that inspired it, The Conjuring is more of an exercise in palpable tension and mounting dread than outright terror. It is a slow, quiet movie that definitely earns every scare it throws at you. Those suffering heart conditions might want to avoid this one.
  35. Oct 8, 2014
    9
    Pass on Annabelle and watch this movie again. This was the first horror movie I've seen with such amazing production values, but it was kept at an affordable price for a film that had as much talent as this one did; and it made millions because it was actually scary, and actually well written. The Conjuring is full of scary moments that show how scary demon possession is, there is noPass on Annabelle and watch this movie again. This was the first horror movie I've seen with such amazing production values, but it was kept at an affordable price for a film that had as much talent as this one did; and it made millions because it was actually scary, and actually well written. The Conjuring is full of scary moments that show how scary demon possession is, there is no hidden agenda and the demons don't come off as pompous idiots who just mess with you. These demons mentally destroyed these people beyond repair. Expand
  36. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    It's a classic. From start to finish, this was true beautiful filmmaking. Two months ago I saw a tv spot of this and I thought this could be really good. I was beyond right. This movie is the Inception of horror movies. It was wonderfully put together and everything seemed to just simply work. You're right in there. Many a movies just present a visual that's symbolic through the writing,It's a classic. From start to finish, this was true beautiful filmmaking. Two months ago I saw a tv spot of this and I thought this could be really good. I was beyond right. This movie is the Inception of horror movies. It was wonderfully put together and everything seemed to just simply work. You're right in there. Many a movies just present a visual that's symbolic through the writing, directing and acting for it's lack of care or passion or vision and just presenting an obviously gimmick picture that's only trying to make cash to give the producers a bigger ego. Now the rare films that actually have passion, care and a vision aren't entirely made to sell tickets. More of, to entertain and satisfy audiences to make the producers feel good to give them a raw feeling, other than the fake feeling of ego boosts, which is utter joy for their inspiring love for film. That's what The Conjuring is all about. It has all the passion, all the care, and all the vision to truly become a great piece of work. It draws you in, and presents a very classic and truly inspiring horror vision that easily got me going with the main titles, which is a small thing but in film the small things are the most important things and become big things in delivering a full, complete impact of a visual. From there on forward, we get phenomenal writing and acting and directing that I would say should be Oscar-worthy. Characters that are relatable and likeable and face empathetic conflicts. It draws you in and makes you believe wants happening on the screen is legit actually happening in front of you. I felt it was real.

    The directing of this film was passionate, the writing was unnerving, and the acting was high-caliber and every element aspect of filmmaking fed off each other to make an enthralling harmony of film magic. I wish every film had this. I mean I want to give this a 10/10, I'm not overly-critical, but giving this a 10 would mean comparing it to Citizen Kane or The Godfather. However this is so damn good, I'm giving it a deserving 9/10. In dire specifics, it'd be a 9.2 which is real high. But this is a horror masterpiece.

    It ends brilliantly. People misinterpret and misunderstand the fact that horror movies don't necessarily have to contain depressing themes. Isn't that kinda what film-noir is? But this stinger believes in delivering a movie, with a horror genre, with an original theme. I mean there's emotion in this. There's a flashback sequence towards the climax that brings a forgotten light in the visual that sustained darkness for the primary portion of the final act that gave me hope, care, and true feeling for these characters, and ultimately belief and inspiration for horror movies and in movies once again. I love it when movies have that and do that, and whenever they do, I'm inspired and obsessed. In this case, possessed.

    The movie felt so genuine, so real, and so authentic that (since it's based on a true story) when they showed the actual people who experienced this, I was truly haunted than I already was. They had to put the stinger in there to make it even more real than it was. Oh, man I couldn't sleep.

    This is a true horror movie and as a summer movie, it's the most inspiring and well put together since Inception. I mean it. The ending was a signature of pure artistry. Like Inception. I don't care if you hate horror movies and/or the stereotype has brainwashed your opinion, GO SEE THIS NOW!!!!!
    Expand
  37. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    I don't have to write a long review on this. I can sum it up in a few words: the most terrifying film I've ever seen since the Exorcist (1973). I love horror movies, been watching them by myself since I was 4 and I have to say, do not see this alone like I did. The acting is good, the special effects (when necessary) were good, the storyline was fantastic, & the movie came together well.
  38. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    A solid horror movie.
    The conjuring is an old school horror movie where the emphasis is not on blood and gore but on psychological tension. It's one of the best film of 2013 so far.
  39. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    It may unfortunately lack in scares and may have one silly moment, but it is saved by beautiful cinematography, nice sound design, blood-curdling tension, fantastic acting and a nice retro and old fashioned feel. If the film managed to have more scares, James Wan's fantastic The Conjuring would have got a full score.
  40. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    For a genre that almost always gets it wrong, The Conjuring finally gets it right. Not only is it actually scary, but the film also manages to tie in good acting, score, production, and a perfect pace. Something that cannot be said of any other horror movie that comes to mind.
  41. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    the plot is something we all seen before but unlike many other movies with a similar plot to this, this movie does everything right and hits every scary note
  42. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    I saw this movie last weekend and, whoa!, scary scary. I know it's based on a true story but Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga are awesome! It takes the movie a little while to really pick up. They lay the ground work for the first hour but what comes later is well worth the wait. Definitely one I'll purchase for my Halloween and late nite collection.
  43. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of those horror movies where everyday stuff turn into nightmares. If you have ever lived in an old house you have experienced strange sounds that can't be explained by normal occurrences. In my opinion this fact is what makes this movie so scary and spooky. Expand
  44. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    With James Wan's signature penchant for tension, a serious devotion to story and character, and an unexpectedly crowd-pleasing ending, "The Conjuring" is a horror movie with absolute class and refinement.
  45. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    I don't watch horror movies too often, though the few I've seen have been either fairly good or absolutely garbage. This is neither and rises to the top of my list as one of the best horror movies I've watched. Excellent acting and the characters are well done, and I actually liked the plot of this one, particularly because it was paced very well. Plenty enough scares for the horror filmI don't watch horror movies too often, though the few I've seen have been either fairly good or absolutely garbage. This is neither and rises to the top of my list as one of the best horror movies I've watched. Excellent acting and the characters are well done, and I actually liked the plot of this one, particularly because it was paced very well. Plenty enough scares for the horror film lover, much of which is achieved by slow moments of rising tension, tense anticipation and plain creepy moments. Recommended. Expand
  46. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    To be honest, this has to be one of the better horrors I have seen in a while. Granted allot in this movie has been done before and the premise is nothing original, the movie as a whole feels fresh and genuinely scary at points. Rich atmosphere and all round decent acting give this movie the creepy vibe that many other horrors are lacking.

    While they could have been a bit more daring
    To be honest, this has to be one of the better horrors I have seen in a while. Granted allot in this movie has been done before and the premise is nothing original, the movie as a whole feels fresh and genuinely scary at points. Rich atmosphere and all round decent acting give this movie the creepy vibe that many other horrors are lacking.

    While they could have been a bit more daring and gone deeper with the narrative, I really have no gripes with this movie.

    Overall:
    An enjoyable, creepy and highly atmospheric movie and probably the best horror movie of 2013. I loved it.
    Expand
  47. pxl
    Aug 27, 2013
    9
    I went out to the cinema for this one and it was well worth the money, the film was great, had the perfect formula for a good horror movie. The problem for me with films like this is that, they struggle to scare me, I really enjoy horror movies but it's rare I am genuinely caught off guard but, this film just had the perfect formula.

    1) A creepy music piece (The Jack in the Box) 2) A
    I went out to the cinema for this one and it was well worth the money, the film was great, had the perfect formula for a good horror movie. The problem for me with films like this is that, they struggle to scare me, I really enjoy horror movies but it's rare I am genuinely caught off guard but, this film just had the perfect formula.

    1) A creepy music piece (The Jack in the Box)
    2) A creepy item (The doll)
    3) A fear evoking antagonist (You'll see)
    Expand
  48. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    "When the music stops, you'll see him in the mirror standing behind you." - April

    This is why i love horror movies.One of the best horror movies i ever seen.
  49. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    This is a superb horror film mainly because of the brilliant directing of James Wan and a great score. Wan is easily one of the best horror directors going today with Saw, Insidious, and now The Conjuring. Also I really thought Versa Farmiga and Lily Taylor gave the standout performances. I don't get shaken easily, but I got to say it got me a few times. A
  50. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    One of the best horror movies of all time!
    Positives:
    - Excellent Actors
    - Excellent Story
    - Great Atmosphere
    Negatives:
    - Abrupt Ending
    - Based on a true story, even though the story was amazing I'd rather not hear it being based on actual events.
  51. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    It is definitely the best horror of the decade!!! Full package great acting, super immersive action, interesting plot! The only week point is that the ending happened very rapidly! Great horror movie
  52. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    James Wan is a master. I haven't watched many films that he has made but the conjuring is just epic. The first hour it just builds the whole thing and in the second hour true horror comes in the screen. From the first scene, I knew that this movie is going to make me bricks. And of course I was correct. Something really impressive was the actors and the cinematography of the film. LiliJames Wan is a master. I haven't watched many films that he has made but the conjuring is just epic. The first hour it just builds the whole thing and in the second hour true horror comes in the screen. From the first scene, I knew that this movie is going to make me bricks. And of course I was correct. Something really impressive was the actors and the cinematography of the film. Lili Taylor and Vera Farmiga were stunning. As for the cinematography I doubt that there is going to be a better film with that cinematography. Though it has no originality it gives to a horror fan what really wanted for many years. I don't think that there is going to be such a good horror movie in years. Thumbs up! 9,5/10 Expand
  53. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    Before saying that The Conjuring is terrifying as hell, it is extremely disturbing and manipulative. With its own twist and story it delivers a thrilling ride through hell, this is one of the best movies of 2013, more off, it is scariest than The Evil Dead remake. On the other hand, I felt like there is no haunted house horror movie those days, that can work without the usual, predictableBefore saying that The Conjuring is terrifying as hell, it is extremely disturbing and manipulative. With its own twist and story it delivers a thrilling ride through hell, this is one of the best movies of 2013, more off, it is scariest than The Evil Dead remake. On the other hand, I felt like there is no haunted house horror movie those days, that can work without the usual, predictable and kind of annoying cliches! For Example: birds are breaking their nicks by hitting the house! Didn't we see it in The Last Exorcism Part II and before it Dark Skies? Doors slamming, like always, and thanks for the franchise that is known for doors slamming, and it worked and terrified us every time "Paranormal Activity" Can't James wan makes the door break after slamming, or just doesn't slam the door at all? I think he can do just way to more better, I actually blame him much because it was based on true story but not EVENTS, even though it isn't right if you have the accurate events. It is sometimes predictable and references much past horror movies ex: Poltergeist, Insidious, Paranormal Activity, Sinister, Drag me to hell and much more. But does make The Conjuring even close of being bad? Absolutely not! The cast is terrific, Vera Farmiga is hot and the plot is a through back to the '70s, it is not a bad movie, but not great one either but awfully close of being my favourite movie of 2013, if it wasn't for the cliches, it would have gotten a ten, but unfortunately, those cliches exist and I hate them, although some of them work, but not all of them. The Conjuring is the best horror movie 2013 and one of my favorite horror movies. I would highly recommend seeing it in theaters, IF YOU DARE! Expand
  54. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    Legitimately the best horror movie in the last 30 years. The Conjuring conjures up the same type of atmosphere as the horror greats in the 70s and early 80s. The scares come continuously, and the story is well written and acted. The characters are relatable and well formed. Very strongly recommend!
  55. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Probably the thing that i enjoyed the most was leaving the cinema having the feeling that for a change i was not treated as retarded just because i like the horror genre, thanks for a well done movie, good actors and performance.

    the story is fairly simple, but is all the rest what makes this a great film. Sequel with the same quality? yes please! And for people wandering if it worth
    Probably the thing that i enjoyed the most was leaving the cinema having the feeling that for a change i was not treated as retarded just because i like the horror genre, thanks for a well done movie, good actors and performance.

    the story is fairly simple, but is all the rest what makes this a great film. Sequel with the same quality? yes please!

    And for people wandering if it worth the chance watching it, be sure that any movie (that is not part of a cult start trek/star wars, etc) that has better reviews from the users than the critic it worth the time watching.
    Expand
  56. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    It's been a damn long time since I was creeped out at home after a movie, so I am very happy to say that after going to see The Conjuring I was jumping at shadows and looking over my shoulder for 3 or 4 days! Weird things would happen, like a fan that kept falling off the windowsill or my wife waking up in the middle of the night talking about "that terrible noise" when I had been layingIt's been a damn long time since I was creeped out at home after a movie, so I am very happy to say that after going to see The Conjuring I was jumping at shadows and looking over my shoulder for 3 or 4 days! Weird things would happen, like a fan that kept falling off the windowsill or my wife waking up in the middle of the night talking about "that terrible noise" when I had been laying there reading and it was quiet. I just about lost it when my wife and kid left to go to the store, and the fire alarms in the house started going off randomly in short bursts. I noticed that the alarms were always 3 beeps... like the knocks in the movie! It was probably just some sort of low battery warning. But I really wanted to not be in the house! I've calmed down since seeing the movie and everything seems rational again, but it really was an effective movie at raising one's paranoia and making you think "Yeah, I know that stuff never happens... but what if it did?".

    Great pacing, good jump scares, good slow build scares. The only complaint might be that there seemed to be two different stories told the investigator couple, and the haunted family. Or from the perspective of evil entities, Annabelle the haunted doll and the nasty old lady who haunted the house. The movie tried to reconcile all of these things but it never felt like they tied together 100%.

    The cats are running back and forth upstairs and writing about this movie is not helping me think about it in a rational manner. I'm logging off and going to bed, with the lights on!
    Expand
  57. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Based on a true story "The Conjuring" provides consistent scares throughout the entire film with interesting fleshed out characters and scenes superbly directed by James Wan. If you are a fan of any of James Wan's former work or of scary movies in general I would HIGHLY recommend this movie.
  58. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    So far this movie is the best horror movie I ever watched! It prevented me from sitting nicely in every scary scene...I cant even differentiate between the screams audiences and real movie scream effects! Best horror movie indeed. Clap Clap!
  59. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    My GF loves scary movies i use too as a child but i find none of them scary anymore, i thought i grew out of it as a man...until i watched the conjuring it was actually scary first movie i' can say actually had scary moments in a long time worth a 9 rating just for that fact i would of gave it a 10 but the story was not very original but at least the scares were
  60. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    This is the first movie to make me shout at the theaters.The story is great at the same time creepy.Not many horror movies I watch is that scary.I proclaim this movie as the scariest movie I've ever watched.
  61. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    An almost flawless, nostalgic James Wan directed horror flick which may occasionally slide into slightly familiar territory. There are phenomenal performances all round especially from Famiga, who's really coming into her own. The movie has some flaws but becomes an instant horror classic and is arguably Wan's best movie.
  62. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie...if your a fan of horror movies you will love this movie!!!

    Overall a great movie and acting...not to mention lovely spooky atmospheres & sounds...
  63. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    We actually really enjoyed this movie. It made us a jump a bunch of times and was a great halloween movie. Sure there were some already used plot devices in this horror movie, but overall it was great.
  64. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    The Conjuring thrills with its countless scares and tense atmosphere. Solid acting and great cinematography only excels this as a thoroughly enjoyable (and old-school) horror flick.
  65. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    James Wan brings us the classic horror film that does scare anyone who is in the room from the first minute (literally), bringing a conbinacion Poltergeist, The Exorcist and The Shining reverse. The 2013 was good horror movies generally had good reviews as Mama and The Cottage of Terror (although in the latter my criticism was not positive). Vera Farmiga splendid as ever. The girls (JoeyJames Wan brings us the classic horror film that does scare anyone who is in the room from the first minute (literally), bringing a conbinacion Poltergeist, The Exorcist and The Shining reverse. The 2013 was good horror movies generally had good reviews as Mama and The Cottage of Terror (although in the latter my criticism was not positive). Vera Farmiga splendid as ever. The girls (Joey King Batman the Dark Knight rises, Mackenzie Foy Breaking Dawn Part 2 and others) keeps his performance very well. The best thing about the movie is the diabolical doll Anabelle since its first appearance in the movie scares, the plot and outcome. The only thing bad about 20 minutes without something interesting happens. Expand
  66. Feb 17, 2014
    9
    I've always been a fan of good horror movies. Sadly, nowadays, there is somewhat of a deficit amongst the genre, because, correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think a generic plot + dark premise + a few jumpscares = a good movie. Luckily, this movie isn't like that.
    I love this movie. And even as I nitpick my way through it, I manage to find just one thing I don't like about it. But let
    I've always been a fan of good horror movies. Sadly, nowadays, there is somewhat of a deficit amongst the genre, because, correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think a generic plot + dark premise + a few jumpscares = a good movie. Luckily, this movie isn't like that.
    I love this movie. And even as I nitpick my way through it, I manage to find just one thing I don't like about it. But let me get there first.
    This movie is really beautifuly shot. The whole direction it is going for has a very retro-horror vibe that I just can't help but enjoy. There are almost no effects, which I think is a huge plus, and those that are included are very effective. This movie doesn't rely simply on jumpscares, but on pure, well-built atmosphere, the overall look and feel of it brings a lot to this.
    It also sounds great, all the sound effects used are creepy, there are almost no random sharp sounds, like the ones used in Insidious (whichi I personally hated about it), there is also almost no awkward silence - it's a perfect mix.
    The acting in the movie is great. The people behind the movie knew exactly what kinds of people they need, so they just got those people, and they are perfect for their roles. Even the little kids are great at acting it out! It's simply a joy to watch all of these people interract with eachother on such a great level, at times it feels like real-life footidge of a family reunion and that's brilliant.
    The overall story is nothing we haven't seen before, but it's very well paced, which is key to a good horror movie. I really love what they did with the pacing here, though I felt the ending was a bit rushed, but I give the movie credit for having scenes that most movies of the genre forget - those that expand on the characters and their bonds. However, here is also the one thing I don't like about this movie, and it's the paranormal apparition - it's not badly done, it's just not my thing and I didn't find it scary or creepy, I was intrigued and when I found out what it was, it all sort of went down hill from there for me, but this is just for me, so instead of my personal rating of a 8/10, I give it a almost perfect 9/10 - I recommend this movie to all horror fans, especially those who are nostalgic for retro horror. This movie is awesome!
    Expand
  67. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    from the guy who brought you saw and insidious james wan brought us the conjuring which is scary and freaky . i never saw a horror film that was based on a true story . this is sort of like amityville horror but hey it was a good film . i can not wait for the sequel
  68. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    First I heard about it I thought I was going to be really scared about it, but rare times it scared me. But that's not very important, because the movie was not made to be horror. The story was a very good one, which made me think and ask myself why was doing that character a certain weird thing. Even the movie wasn't what I was looking for, I liked it very much because of mistery,First I heard about it I thought I was going to be really scared about it, but rare times it scared me. But that's not very important, because the movie was not made to be horror. The story was a very good one, which made me think and ask myself why was doing that character a certain weird thing. Even the movie wasn't what I was looking for, I liked it very much because of mistery, characters, especially Lorraine, who had a great role in the story; of course everyone had it own role, and the way they have solved the problem. The thing I didn't like so much was that the exorcism was a quick ritual in the film, about several minutes, where I wanted to see something more. Nevertheless, now, after I watched it it's on my favourite list, so I give it a 9, recommending it for the people who wants mistery. Expand
  69. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Again, I DARE YOU TO WATCH THIS FILM BY YOURSELF IN THE DARK!!! It's so scary, the government are thinking of adding this film as part of training in the military, in helping soldiers face their fears. lol
  70. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    The Conjuring thrills with its countless scares and tense atmosphere. Solid acting and great cinematography only excels this as a thoroughly enjoyable (and old-school) horror flick.
  71. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    One of the best horror movies I've ever watched. The story is fantastic [and real], I guess I am more afraid of ghosts than I was before seeing this film, it's very good indeed.
  72. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    "The Conjuring" is one of the better supernatural films to come out in the last few years. It's scary, intriguing, and highly enjoyable. The movie has a very 70's feel to it, especially the cinematography, and the story is pretty simple, yet it flows very well. Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga are great together as the Warrens. Really, the entire cast was great. This is a great movie to"The Conjuring" is one of the better supernatural films to come out in the last few years. It's scary, intriguing, and highly enjoyable. The movie has a very 70's feel to it, especially the cinematography, and the story is pretty simple, yet it flows very well. Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga are great together as the Warrens. Really, the entire cast was great. This is a great movie to watch and get scared with your friends. I highly recommend it. Expand
  73. Jul 12, 2015
    9
    Summary: The Conjuring is a memorable, well acted and genuinely frightening horror film. 90/100 [A-]

    The Conjuring is a horror film directed by James Wan and it was my most anticipated horror movie of 2013. Moving on, the opening scene is spooky, since here you can behold the stunning camera work; this little scene is about a possessed doll called Annabelle. This scene keeps the
    Summary: The Conjuring is a memorable, well acted and genuinely frightening horror film. 90/100 [A-]

    The Conjuring is a horror film directed by James Wan and it was my most anticipated horror movie of 2013. Moving on, the opening scene is spooky, since here you can behold the stunning camera work; this little scene is about a possessed doll called Annabelle. This scene keeps the suspense and the scariness. There are two stories in the movie; the first one is about Lorraine and Ed Warren, they are two paranormal investigators, both have a little daughter and they live in a nice house. Then, there's the other story about a likable family who has experienced some paranormal events in their new home. It doesn't matter how cliche it sounds, this is a terrific horror film.

    After the first 30 minutes or so, there are the first scares, all of them are very effective, unexpected and well executed. Even though I didn't jump out of my seat (maybe because jump-scares are not effective in me and some of the scares were in the trailer) I have to admit that the film freaked me out so much, it boasts some extremely violent sequences and it was so damn thrilling at several moments. A few scares were pretty familiar and it's true that it doesn't offer something new to the horror genre, but it has enough creativity and originality to succeed. In addition, it is very similar in tone to 'The Woman in Black', both have a well handled suspense and an atmospheric setting.

    The performances were great, even the young cast was awesome. The most believable character in the film was Christine (performed by Joey King), this girl was excellent. Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga were good as always, Vera's character "Lorraine" was a bit surreal but her stunning performance made me believe in all of what she said. Also, Lili Taylor did an excellent job with her role throughout the film, she was amazing, especially in the chilling final act. Moving on, the special effects were quite realistic and so well done. In spite of being a low budget film, it didn't use too much CGI, maybe just in a couple scenes, but everything looks great anyway.

    Its final act has some flaws, the exorcism scene has its ups and downs. However, I still liked it, this whole sequence is truly violent, a bit bloody and creepy. The acting was awesome here, Lili Taylor is such a great actress and she really looked like a possessed woman. I just can't believe that Wan directed this flick, most of his previous movies are quite average; but this one, it's a total blast. The Conjuring is an extremely well done horror film that has an impressive camera work, a great cast and lots of memorable scares. It definitely earns its R rating because it's very gruesome and evil at times. It's my favorite horror film of 2013. Oh, and please don't watch the trailer, it's a huge spoiler. [A-]
    Expand
  74. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    This movie is considered to be one of the most terrifying, This is true for the most part, and the suspense makes you go crazy. The only problem I experienced was when the ending was so slow and a little boring.
  75. Apr 22, 2015
    9
    The Conjuring represents a member of an increasingly endangered species: the R-rated horror movie that relies more on suspense and scares than blood and gore. That's not to say there are no instances of horrific, stomach-churning visuals in The Conjuring, but this is predominantly a ghost/haunted house tale and, as such, is largely devoid of the kind of slicing and dicing thatThe Conjuring represents a member of an increasingly endangered species: the R-rated horror movie that relies more on suspense and scares than blood and gore. That's not to say there are no instances of horrific, stomach-churning visuals in The Conjuring, but this is predominantly a ghost/haunted house tale and, as such, is largely devoid of the kind of slicing and dicing that characterizes movies established in the slasher or "torture porn" subgenres. If I was to use a single word to describe The Conjuring, it would be "intense." The pervasive aura of creepiness more than compensates for the low body count and inventive use of sharp instrumentation.

    The victims are the members of the Perron family: father Roger (Ron Livingston), mother Carolyn, and daughters Andrea (Shanley Caswell), Nancy (Hayley McFarland), Christine (Joey King), Cindy (Mackenzie Foy), and April (Kyla Deaver). It doesn't take long before strange things begin happening in their new "dream home." Bumps in the night, mysterious skin bruises, hands clapping in empty rooms, and a dead dog are the first symptoms that all isn't right in this rural, colonial house. By the time Carolyn brings in the Warrens to help, the situation has become serious with the inmates running the asylum.

    Wan is a master of manipulation and uses every trick available to him to ratchet up the level of tension. At times, he moves the camera in innovative ways (there's a nice little point-of-view shot that occurs when one of the girls looks under her bed), preferring long takes over short cuts. He often plays with the audience, establishing expected angles without the payoff only to have the "money shot" occur shortly thereafter. The camera placement and movement is precise and represents the difference between a pedestrian haunted house tale and a top-notch one. Joseph Bishara's discordant score adds to the effect without becoming intrusive or overwhelming. CGI and practical effects are used but not overused - another indication that Wan knows what he's doing.

    The Conjuring offers the right mix of jump-scare "boo!" moments and mounting tension that creates an intense two hours. The ending is a little weak but it's by no means a disappointment and it wraps up the story effectively - something increasingly unfamiliar to horror films (which like to have "hooks" at the end to facilitate a sequel). This is a midsummer gift to those who genuinely appreciate movies that startle and unsettle. For those who like real horror, this is a don't-miss.

    One of the best horror films of all time!
    Expand
  76. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    Amityville meets the Exorcist. Although this movie is being hyped as one of the scariest ever, it wasn't that scary for me. I hate gory films, and thankfully this film is not in that category. You might scream from the suspense, but not from cheap gore. The acting and writing is good across the board, and in general people don't do stupid things like walk into dark rooms withoutAmityville meets the Exorcist. Although this movie is being hyped as one of the scariest ever, it wasn't that scary for me. I hate gory films, and thankfully this film is not in that category. You might scream from the suspense, but not from cheap gore. The acting and writing is good across the board, and in general people don't do stupid things like walk into dark rooms without turning on lights, or back up to a window. They pretty much behave normally with only one exception that I won't give away (it has to do with the mother and the cellar). I had goosebumps throughout the movie and thought it had just enough of a scare factor to make it fun. A nice creepy time at the movies. Expand
  77. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    People in my cinema were laughing just to feel comfortable, this movie will scare you for good, probably one of the best horror movies in the last decade, a must watch for every horror fan out there.
  78. Aug 2, 2013
    8
    One of the best scary movie I've ever seen! The acting, cinematography and plot are all good! James Wan done some very good job to this movie! I love it!
  79. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    The Conjuring was certainly one of the better releases from the horror genre in the last decade. It was truly terrifying right from the beginning leading to the insane ending. It will make you laugh then 3 seconds later shudder. James Wan really knows how to mess with your emotions. The main reason I liked this film is it is indeed like other demon/possession types of films in certain waysThe Conjuring was certainly one of the better releases from the horror genre in the last decade. It was truly terrifying right from the beginning leading to the insane ending. It will make you laugh then 3 seconds later shudder. James Wan really knows how to mess with your emotions. The main reason I liked this film is it is indeed like other demon/possession types of films in certain ways but with the conjuring you are also being told a great story, unlike other mindless films (The Devil Inside, The Last Exorcism) the conjuring has a great plot. Only bone I had to pick with it was due to the fact I work at a theater I had seen every preview there was for this movie and I saw a lot of the creepier moments coming due to many of them being in the previews but other than that no major issues. It was a great classic horror film, highly recommended in my book. 8/10 Expand
  80. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    In the spirit of classic horror flicks, The Conjuring is eerily breathtaking and possibly the scariest movie of the year. It plays with the atmosphere so well with lingering shots, clever lighting manipulation, wicked music and timely scare. Not much CG is involved as it practically uses simple tricks to its amazing potential, it's surprising how effective they can be. Screenplay are doneIn the spirit of classic horror flicks, The Conjuring is eerily breathtaking and possibly the scariest movie of the year. It plays with the atmosphere so well with lingering shots, clever lighting manipulation, wicked music and timely scare. Not much CG is involved as it practically uses simple tricks to its amazing potential, it's surprising how effective they can be. Screenplay are done so well, at many occasions it felt as if the theater is frozen at the sight of stunningly ominous scenes. The director, James Wan from Insidious, crafts the movie brilliantly to the point of making these entities and people who are abused by them seemingly real.

    Story follows Warrens couple, acclaimed demonologists who attempt to help Perron family as they battle their demonic invaders. Roger and Carolyn Perron with their five children move into a rural home where they are constantly being abused by ghosts of the past. Warrens eventually volunteer to help the family despite their own plaguing problem. The premise is simple, but it is executed with excellence. Characters are interestingly engaging, especially the younger girls, they convey the terror pretty well and the way camera idles around them makes it even more unsettling.

    There is little modern influence on the movie, everything looks very archaic, and it's not just limited in the retro setting, but the overall nuance feels much like traditional western horror. The terror works fantastically with whispering ambiance, the slight display of other rooms around the camera angle and how the shadows enchantingly move about. Cinematography looks intentionally old, although it flutters in such precision you'll be involuntarily captivated into searching that strange dark corner where something might just appear.

    Its scare utilizes some jump scare as well, but it is not cheap. The director builds up tension masterfully just by tilting the camera or lingering a few more seconds for specific scene. The result is nothing less than a thrill, I found myself shivering in some instances. Soundtracks adds to the horror even more, its hauntingly and somewhat choir-like mumble or inexplicable screeching is immensely frightening, making crawling noises of something that lurks uninvited. Everything is choreographed meticulously without resorting to blood and gore, albeit there is little seeping here.

    It's nice to see the old vibe of horror makes its return, James Wan is a talented director and his antique style is remarkably fresh. The main protagonist, Patrick Wilson, who is also involved in Insidious, is looking very comfortable in this genre. I'm excited to see the sequels in near future, but for now The Conjuring will chill your spine delightfully.
    Expand
  81. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    For the first time in a long time The Conjuring gives horror movies a chance to be good again. Everything from the score, to the cinematography, to a well though out story came together brilliantly to provide for a truly horrifying film.
  82. Mar 1, 2015
    8
    The Conjuring soars on a couple of different categories. First, the acting from the entire cast is very good. Second, the direction from James Wan is stellar, really amps up the creepy and does a great job setting an eerie mood. Next, the special effects are great. Everything looks really realistic and that really helps the scares become even more intense. In addition to these, theThe Conjuring soars on a couple of different categories. First, the acting from the entire cast is very good. Second, the direction from James Wan is stellar, really amps up the creepy and does a great job setting an eerie mood. Next, the special effects are great. Everything looks really realistic and that really helps the scares become even more intense. In addition to these, the cinematography is great and the whole production design is great. Really cool look to this one to go with the great feel. Finally, and most importantly, it is legitimately scary. From beginning to end, it makes you feel a sense of dread and provides enough scares to cause you to jump six feet in the air far too many times. The Conjuring stands tall as one of the best recent horror films and, undoubtedly, one of the scariest films ever made, in large part thanks to it relying on the same types of scares to the table that its predecessors do. In many ways, The Conjuring is the 2010s introduction to brilliant, non-cheesy, supernatural horror. Expand
  83. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    The Conjuring can easily be described as the best horror movie of the year, thus far. That would be an accurate description. The influence of old-school horror movies of the past was present in this movie. Unlike most horror movies today, the scares here are earned and aren't forced. They're well placed, and at times, random. While it wasn't the best of horror films, this one easily takesThe Conjuring can easily be described as the best horror movie of the year, thus far. That would be an accurate description. The influence of old-school horror movies of the past was present in this movie. Unlike most horror movies today, the scares here are earned and aren't forced. They're well placed, and at times, random. While it wasn't the best of horror films, this one easily takes the cake as the best one this year, hell, its even arguably the best one of this year, and last year. No blood & gore like director James Wan is known for with the massively popular Saw movie. Despite its flaws, the good outweighs the bad, and is definitely the next movie you should go see. Expand
  84. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    For the record, I am not into horror movies in general. Simply because, they are so overused in the areas of sex, and plenty of to last for the ages. I am not a prude, I enjoy over zealous movies (The Wolf ofWall Street) but I am shocked to say The Conjuring has no profanity, no sex scenes to speak of, and is still rated R. Why? The scares. The lighting. The acting. The direction.For the record, I am not into horror movies in general. Simply because, they are so overused in the areas of sex, and plenty of to last for the ages. I am not a prude, I enjoy over zealous movies (The Wolf ofWall Street) but I am shocked to say The Conjuring has no profanity, no sex scenes to speak of, and is still rated R. Why? The scares. The lighting. The acting. The direction. Absolutely perfect in terms of a watchable horror film. Scary is too much hype. It's frightening in the way that you aren't terrified in the theatre, but at home, Christ...the images of a doll come running back (no, not Chucky) and an esteemed cast that for once, the characters are not unlivable and they're not stupid. It's a bit slow, but rewarding in the end with effects that will shock and a plot that builds over time to a satisfying conclusion.
    You may say that James Wan, the director of Saw, has come to his finest hour with The Conjuring. It's a breezy, effortless film to watch, with popcorn occasionally flying and eyes subsequently being shut. At times, I found myself clinging to the arm of a friend (especially the scene with the old lady and Annabelle, the doll) but it's fun. A real picture that builds up over time, no cheap scares and at last, a movie where you care what happens to the characters. Please see.
    Expand
  85. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    I haven't liked a horror movie in a long time and I'm pleased to say that that period is over. The scares were calculated and chilling. The mood was consistent and did not let up. The acting was OK. It felt like I was watching a historical movie. It was cleverly shot. But I have a problem with the ending. It could have been more pessimistic. But given that the director wanted to makeI haven't liked a horror movie in a long time and I'm pleased to say that that period is over. The scares were calculated and chilling. The mood was consistent and did not let up. The acting was OK. It felt like I was watching a historical movie. It was cleverly shot. But I have a problem with the ending. It could have been more pessimistic. But given that the director wanted to make something more than just a horror flick, that is understandable. Do not miss this. Expand
  86. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    For a movie with no body count, it was genuinely creepy. Best possession film since the Exorcist. Still deserved its R rating, good pacing and good progression. Only real problem is it felt like a Christian horror movie at times. But not to an extent where it was un watchable.
  87. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    "The Conjuring" is an enjoyable, spine-chilling paranormal saga directed by James Wan ("Saw", "Insidious"), and it has already been given the green light by New Line Cinema for a sequel before the first installment has even hit theaters on July 19. A welcome throwback to classic 1970s chillers, with spectacular production design work, a well-constructed script, impressive atmospheric set"The Conjuring" is an enjoyable, spine-chilling paranormal saga directed by James Wan ("Saw", "Insidious"), and it has already been given the green light by New Line Cinema for a sequel before the first installment has even hit theaters on July 19. A welcome throwback to classic 1970s chillers, with spectacular production design work, a well-constructed script, impressive atmospheric set pieces, and rounded out with terrific performances from Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga. The film primarily utilizes the old bag of tricks for scares very effectively, creating a terrifying atmosphere of bloodless scaremongering.

    Set in the 1970s, "The Conjuring" tells the story of husband-and-wife demonologists Ed Warren (Patrick Wilson), and Lorraine Warren (Vera Farmiga), who are best known for their case involving the Amityville Horror, and are now investigating the secluded Harrisville, Rhode Island home of Carolyn and Roger Perron (Lili Taylor and Ron Livingston.) The family has recently moved into the house with their five daughters (Shanley Caswell, Hayley McFarland, Joey King, Mackenzie Foy and Kyla Deaver), and have begun experiencing a series of unexplained occurrences. Lorraine immediately detects that something isn't right in the house, and the pair conclude that the Perron's home is possessed by multiple demons, with their initial investigation revealing that the trouble may have begun as far back as the Salem Witch trials. Meanwhile, the Warren's presence enrages whatever is within the house, and the supernatural activity escalates to terrifying levels.

    James Wan and his group of frequent collaborators are clearly well in sync for "The Conjuring." The film nods its head to everything from "The Exorcist" (1973) to "The Amityville Horror" (1979), while developing an atmosphere of trepidation, with well-timed scares that will keep viewers on the edge. All the ingredients of a standard paranormal story are present: a haunted and secluded house, a peaceful family being terrorized, strange noises in the night and its all-familiar territory. However, the film is so finely tuned, it comes across as a respectable homage to the genre. It's reassuring to see a genre film that contains a compelling story and has interesting characters, rather than serving up a number of teenagers ready to be tortured.

    "The Conjuring" is primarily intended as a haunted-house attraction, a ride through a hall of nerve-racking horrors. Wan's direction is perfectly paced, pulling off some properly scary set pieces (a game of 'hide and clap'; some business involving a mirror and a music box), and slowly ratcheting up the tension. The frightening escalation of events gives a permanent tension in a feature film that is certainly predictable, but smoothly conducted to satisfaction.
    Expand
  88. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    This movie is awesome. The acting is believable and the scares are done really well. They use alot of jump scares in this movie but they use them in the right way, they build up to what you think is a jump scare but it comes from a different direction and scares the crap out of you. Some may find the ending a bit silly but the whole movie was so entertaining I really didn't care.

    If
    This movie is awesome. The acting is believable and the scares are done really well. They use alot of jump scares in this movie but they use them in the right way, they build up to what you think is a jump scare but it comes from a different direction and scares the crap out of you. Some may find the ending a bit silly but the whole movie was so entertaining I really didn't care.

    If your a horror fan or your looking for a movie to make you fill your underwear this movie is for you.
    Expand
  89. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    The Conjuring was filmed very well. James Wan has created a very realistic vision of a possession type of film. Incredible casting. Definetely will recommend this movie to others.
  90. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    I normally don't enjoy horror movies but The Conjuring was fantastic for what it was. This movie really scared me, I watched half of it through my fingers. What makes it even more scary it was based on a real demonologists, they even talked at my local university at the height of their careers. The performances were good for most of the actors and it had a good build up to build suspenseI normally don't enjoy horror movies but The Conjuring was fantastic for what it was. This movie really scared me, I watched half of it through my fingers. What makes it even more scary it was based on a real demonologists, they even talked at my local university at the height of their careers. The performances were good for most of the actors and it had a good build up to build suspense and fear. It's been a few days since I've seen it and I still makes me nervous when I trun off the light. Worth watching if you want a good scare! Expand
  91. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    Now this is a scary movie. It may not be an original movie, but it succeeds at scary the living crap out of people! Overall, The horror genre is back! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  92. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    THE CONJURING This is not "Saw", "Friday, the 13th" or other slasher fare. Instead, think "Amityville Horror" meets "The Exorcist". Director James Wan takes you to your seat's edge early on and keeps you there in this retro-thriller.

    Scary? Absolutely! but the characters are well-developed and the principal actors (Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga, Ron Livingston, and Lili Taylor) are all
    THE CONJURING This is not "Saw", "Friday, the 13th" or other slasher fare. Instead, think "Amityville Horror" meets "The Exorcist". Director James Wan takes you to your seat's edge early on and keeps you there in this retro-thriller.

    Scary? Absolutely! but the characters are well-developed and the principal actors (Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga, Ron Livingston, and Lili Taylor) are all terrific. Did I mention it was scary? I think it's time to watch a double-feature of "Hairspray" and "Grease". ***1/2 (out of 4)
    Expand
  93. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    The movie becomes gradually less scary after the two 'ghost hunters' arrive at the haunted house, the mystery should be harder to solve and the ending is too 'noisy'. Still, the first act is excellent, there are several frightening scenes, the direction makes the atmosphere darker and Vera Farmiga is great. Patrick Wilson is good too.
    argonautis.eu
  94. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    Wow! This was scary. I normally don't dig horror films because I'm hard to scare but James Wan (director of "Saw") crafted a horror film about ghosts that felt real and authentic--and this is coming from a guy who doesn't even believe in the supernatural! He perfectly used light, shadow and sound to make chilling sequences and the pace Wan brought to the film made scares that got betterWow! This was scary. I normally don't dig horror films because I'm hard to scare but James Wan (director of "Saw") crafted a horror film about ghosts that felt real and authentic--and this is coming from a guy who doesn't even believe in the supernatural! He perfectly used light, shadow and sound to make chilling sequences and the pace Wan brought to the film made scares that got better and more frightening as the film progressed. Not to mention, terrific performances all around from the entire cast. Expand
  95. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    I have not ever that I recall screamed in theater... until I watched the Conjuring. For three nights, I felt anxious to turn out my light before getting into bed. The last time I felt like that was The Exorcism of Emily Rose. The Exorcist gets attention for being novel, but seriously, I watched that when I was 4 (but not deeply set into religion). The effect did not last passed theI have not ever that I recall screamed in theater... until I watched the Conjuring. For three nights, I felt anxious to turn out my light before getting into bed. The last time I felt like that was The Exorcism of Emily Rose. The Exorcist gets attention for being novel, but seriously, I watched that when I was 4 (but not deeply set into religion). The effect did not last passed the credit roll. The Conjuring used (mostly) simpler tactics than pea soup and cross-raping of a child's vulva to pull fear and disgust from my usually strong psyche. Expand
  96. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    Best horror movie maybe in last ten years or more. A really good horror movie and enjoyed it very much. Great direction, great script and obviously very scary.
  97. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    Being a horror film fanatic, The Conjuring was a must see from the coming attractions, it had a vintage, nostalgic feel of such classic horror pictures including Poltergeist and The Exorcism, with some great people involved, both in front of and behind the camera. The film delivered in all the aspects it was set to deliver and then some. The Conjuring never really TERRIFIED me, as most ofBeing a horror film fanatic, The Conjuring was a must see from the coming attractions, it had a vintage, nostalgic feel of such classic horror pictures including Poltergeist and The Exorcism, with some great people involved, both in front of and behind the camera. The film delivered in all the aspects it was set to deliver and then some. The Conjuring never really TERRIFIED me, as most of the really good scares were shown in the trailer, but it was effective. The Conjuring was a thrill ride from the opening scene in which we get a little backstory with the story of a haunted doll, to the very end, where, well, that's for you to find out. The lead actors, a couple played by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga, both played their roles very well, and director James Wan, previously known for his involvement in Insidious and the Saw franchise, lead the actors to be successful. The script was something I had a bit of a problem with yes, there were some very effective scares and in a horror movie, that's the primary target. Yet, this film is pretty much your typical cookie-cutter haunted house story, with some good acting and decent thrills. All in all, The Conjuring is a fresh addition to the very stale horror genre. Expand
  98. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    Before Christianity and Latin existed how did exorcists exorcise? A lingering question after watching The Conjuring, a film by James Wan.

    The age of Scary Movie-esque franchises has turned seeing dead people and being haunted by and evil spirits into mundanely comic events. Sexy vampires, farcical zombies, and ridiculous inside jokes about the world’s end begone! The Conjuring is a big
    Before Christianity and Latin existed how did exorcists exorcise? A lingering question after watching The Conjuring, a film by James Wan.

    The age of Scary Movie-esque franchises has turned seeing dead people and being haunted by and evil spirits into mundanely comic events. Sexy vampires, farcical zombies, and ridiculous inside jokes about the world’s end begone! The Conjuring is a big horror film that is actually good and scary. Finally!

    Still, Director Wan uses all the old horror tricks to build up the suspense: creeping suggestive crescendos in the score, brief uncertain glimpses of unknown beings, and of course, lots of loud and unexpected jolts.

    The film opens as the Perron family arrives at their new home, a large fixer-upper in the Rhode Island countryside. As the family starts their life in the new house the haunting becomes apparent. Clocks stop, doors slam, people scream. Terror drives the family to huddle up in the living room where they spend their nights sleeping together. It makes the spirits calmer, they say.

    A little too conveniently, famous demonologists Ed and Lorraine Warren just so happen to be speaking nearby. Mrs. Perron persuades the Warrens to come inspect the house. Lorrain Warren, a kind of clairvoyant, senses real trouble in the Perron house immediately. Using cameras, Holy magic, and Latin scriptures, the fight begins to save not only the house from destruction, but the people inside it as well.
    Expand
  99. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    If you despise dolls but love horror films, watch this one.
    A lot of the time I wasn't on the edge of my seat, but sometimes it just gets you.
    Fairly good in terms of most horrors, falls a bit short on occasion and the constant jump scares is a bit repetitive, but a good watch
    I recommend
  100. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    Great expectations for the title of the film, horror at its highest expression, the situation more chilling is that it is not murder but of spirits. I was scared but with Insidius.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Aug 3, 2013
    60
    Wan’s film is a sturdily built supernatural chiller, with next-to-no digital effects or gore, and it delivers its scares with a breezy lack of urgency.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jul 25, 2013
    100
    I'd be shocked if we see a better horror film in 2013.
  3. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jul 19, 2013
    25
    The Conjuring is as toothless as it is because it's two different kinds of boring. The film's plot is explained exhaustively whenever loud noises aren't blaring, and random objects aren't teasingly leaping out at you from the corner of your eye.