Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 22, 2013
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 280 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
197
Mixed:
57
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
RalphsReviewsApr 29, 2013
While not horribly memorable or spectacular, it is a good kids film. The animation is nice and flashy and the characters have nice little arcs throughout. The first 10 minutes were bad and the end was cheesy but the rest of the film is funnyWhile not horribly memorable or spectacular, it is a good kids film. The animation is nice and flashy and the characters have nice little arcs throughout. The first 10 minutes were bad and the end was cheesy but the rest of the film is funny and colorful. That'll be enough to entertain your kids and to keep parents from pulling their hair out. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGoer14Jul 16, 2013
The Croods is a cheer up insightful animation, that will please die hard animation fans, family but mainly kids. It has some great messages about family and life that will please and comfort families. Despite that The Croods is a good familyThe Croods is a cheer up insightful animation, that will please die hard animation fans, family but mainly kids. It has some great messages about family and life that will please and comfort families. Despite that The Croods is a good family animation, but it has lots of flaws. First of all, it doesn't describe the origins of the family, they are just vessels to move on with the story. Secondly, it has some falling apart moments that bored the hell out of me, also that the story is ridiculous, seriously! What happens to the world ending??? Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingNov 28, 2013
It succeeds in everything, but just barely. It is fun but everthing else from the direction to the characters are just about average. It's a good time but instantly unmemorable.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MissDraeMar 2, 2014
It was a cute movie, I sort of enjoyed, but it wasn't a memorable one for me. Although I would recommend it for parents who want to watch a movie with their kids.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
LanaDelReyMar 24, 2013
A Poor Mans Flinstones? Somewhat....
Still Barley Charming.....
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
6
UzumakitonyOct 8, 2013
I think Ice Age already covered what this movie did so I'm in the been-ther-done-that crew. I think a 6 is the perfect rating for this movie. It's kinda funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JacobMay 20, 2014
The film looks great with its bright colors and there is some decent humor, which will entertain the kids but that’s not enough. This film is meh. Outside of the last third, which is somewhat engaging and heartfelt this movie has little toThe film looks great with its bright colors and there is some decent humor, which will entertain the kids but that’s not enough. This film is meh. Outside of the last third, which is somewhat engaging and heartfelt this movie has little to offer. The story and characters are generic containing a lot of stuff that I’ve seen before (some of which from other Dreamworks movies) and there is no good humor or hilarious side character to save this movie. This is disappointing since Chris Miller was working on this movie and he has worked on such Disney films as Mulan along with Dreamworks hits like How to Train Your Dragon. I can kind of feel his touch but not really. Maybe he wasn’t that involved in it though. I heard that originally Aardman was going to make this film but when their deal with Dreamworks ended they got to make the movie instead of Aardman, which is a shame because I would have loved to have seen what Aardman’s version would have been like because knowing them it would have had a lot more heart like Arthur Christmas (which is a great film) and/or humor like Pirates Band of Misfits. Even so this is coming from a studio that has made some pretty good movies such as the first two Shrek movies, How To Train Your Dragon, the Kung Fu Panda films, and most recently Rise of the Guardians. I am shocked that this movie is getting a sequel because this doesn’t seem like the kind of movie that would catch on. I don’t know anyone who saw it and it wasn’t getting that much buzz. However, obviously there are a bunch of little kids that saw this film and liked it and I won’t blame them because there are a lot of mediocre films I saw as I kid that only recently upon a repeated viewing am I realizing are crap (like the Ice Age films). So if you have kids show them this movie it will entertain them but if you are looking for that exceptionally good animated film this ain’t it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
llamayarmybarOct 1, 2016
"The croods," or is like to call, "Ice Age The Great caveman adventure," is a film made for children and brain dead parents who either are religious and don't seem to find this film offensive, or aren't and are just plain brain dead to begin"The croods," or is like to call, "Ice Age The Great caveman adventure," is a film made for children and brain dead parents who either are religious and don't seem to find this film offensive, or aren't and are just plain brain dead to begin with. If you, like me saw the trailer for this film, you might have actually thought that this was Dreamworks making another terrible sequel to the Ice Age series of films, however I was pleasantly surprised after watching the full film from start to finish. I thought, "Wow, its hard to believe a bunch of morons at Dreamworks thought this garbage would actually sell with Nicholas Cage attached to it." He's the worst thing in it, he's the worst character, he's the worst voice actor, and he's a detriment to the movie as a whole. Honestly remove his character and take away the dialogue from the majority of the film? This would've been great, but yet again its another imaginative film for children that can't even treat its audience like children. It spells everything out, it has no mystery, it lacks any charm it COULD have provided ultimately. My biggest issue here though, is the plot is really thin without the inclusion of "Guys" character. I mean it could've just gone nowhere entirely, but thank goodness they just so HAPPEN to meet another character that just so happens to MOVE the plot along otherwise they would've all died in the cave after the first earthquake I guess. "Eep" is great, voice work is solid here, but her expressions, character design and general animation are what make her a good character. Everyone else feels kind of cookie cutter in comparison, aside from "Guy" of course. Its obvious that its suggesting romance between Neanderthals and Homo sapiens, which is a cute thought, but these two species would've likely attacked and killed eachother on sight as well. Just a little bit of scientific knowledge to thrown for good measure, since their is absolutely none of it in this film. Turtles with wings, giant walking land whales, flying piranha birds, strange amalgamations of animals that could've never existed- you name it. They're all over this movie. Part of me likes to indulge that kind of imagination and I could see a child being interested in such things, but another part of me is literally shouting internally things like, "This is completely wrong and makes no sense." All in all, if you edited Nicholas Cage and his character out of the movie, fleshed out the family more and make a better motivation for why Guy and Eep even met up to begin with, it could've been a pretty stellar movie. Like maybe an arranged marriage or peace treaty between a Neanderthal and Homo Sapien family or tribe perhaps. Its funny that when I think about when early Homosapiens wandering the Earth that even I could write a better plot about them going on an adventure. Dreamworks- nice try in attempting to catch lightning in a bottle twice (we know you can't by now). Turn down the trippy ridiculous Pandora environments and maybe try writing a film that appeals to adults next time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Jul 8, 2013
A Caveman animation almost entirely about family sounds like a generic idea for an animated film but The Croods surprises with its unexpected turns, stellar animation and emotional finale. The film follows a family of cavemen called TheA Caveman animation almost entirely about family sounds like a generic idea for an animated film but The Croods surprises with its unexpected turns, stellar animation and emotional finale. The film follows a family of cavemen called The Croods who are led by father Grug (Nicholas Cage). However when Grug's daughter Eep (Emma Stone) defies him and leaves the cave and meets Guy (Ryan Reynolds) she learns the end is coming and that she must force her family to change their cave dwelling ways in order to survive, something Grug might be incapable of doing. The Croods is paint by numbers animation with the plot feeling like a rehash of Ice Age with a bit of The Flintstones thrown in for good measure. The film is generic in its plotting and it feels very much like a flash in the pan, a film for now that people won't remember that well in the future. However it does have enough for it to have been a shame to miss. That being said, this caveman saga is hobbled very early on by some lacklustre voice acting, especially by Katherine Keener who plays Grug's wife Ugga. She puts very little into her performance something that becomes very clear towards the end when she under delivers in some key scenes. The film soldiers on though and manages to be unique through its action with some of the set pieces being truly breathtaking. In fact the attention to detail in the movie is remarkable, the world they have created is one untouched by animation so far and for a film that's main colour is brown, that's impressive. The finale of the film is terrific for multiple reasons but the animation is the best aspect, there is enough action and excitement in the ending as there is in the rest of the movie and the animators managed to put enough into their shots so that it looks amazing but doesn't give you a Man of Steel headache. In fact The Croods really comes alive in its ending and differentiates itself from other animated fare with a finale that is action packed, funny and carries one hell of an emotional punch that feels quite familiar but still has the desired effect. Its a well crafted film from the director of How to Train your Dragon and a worthy but not quite as good follow up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
Despite a familiar formula from other animated features, The Croods is somehow refreshing amidst Neanderthals during Year 1. Unfortunately, marred with several unimpressive voice-acting performances from Nic Cage and Emma Stone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticNov 15, 2013
A family oriented comedy about a prehistoric family with modern day issues sounds too far-fetched to be watchable and entertaining, but the story line keeps itself afloat just long enough for the film to structure properly, so that the comedyA family oriented comedy about a prehistoric family with modern day issues sounds too far-fetched to be watchable and entertaining, but the story line keeps itself afloat just long enough for the film to structure properly, so that the comedy can blend with the heart of the movie. Though most of the 'heart' is cliched and unoriginal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FirebalaOct 7, 2013
One can watch a few good jokes in there but nothing special. Unfortunately, just your average animated movie rather smaller ages. I expected more but it is so weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FreedomFightersJan 3, 2017
After the box-office disappointment that was "Rise of the Guardians," DreamWorks decided to take us back to prehistoric times with "The Croods," which they promise us isn't just another "Flintstones." Did they keep that promise? Sort of. "TheAfter the box-office disappointment that was "Rise of the Guardians," DreamWorks decided to take us back to prehistoric times with "The Croods," which they promise us isn't just another "Flintstones." Did they keep that promise? Sort of. "The Croods" is a pretty solid animated film that doesn't quite ascend to new levels for DreamWorks: it's funny, it's well-animated, it's got some exciting moments, and it's basically some solid family-friendly entertainment that doesn't approach the high standard set by DreamWorks or the other animated companies around them. Don't set your expectations sky high on this one, but all in all, "The Croods" is decently entertaining family fare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
gmnzJan 31, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only part that got me involved throughout was the last part only. The characters are okay. This movie is unforgettable in weeks. But their were some funny moments too which were original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Nov 8, 2014
A lukewarm animation, The Croods is full of light fun, entertainment and vibrant visuals and might satisfy it's target audience but for everyone else, doesn't leave a lasting impact on the mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Delaforce828Oct 14, 2014
Not bad, not great, it's just okay. I like the connection between the family and the Id buy the chemistry they share, but for me I don't see anything that special about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tiber5Oct 9, 2016
The movie is at its most interesting and amusing when riffing on how cavemen might have reacted to new experiences and ideas, like fire and shoes. Whether the kiddies will appreciate that is unclear, but they’ll certainly like the voice workThe movie is at its most interesting and amusing when riffing on how cavemen might have reacted to new experiences and ideas, like fire and shoes. Whether the kiddies will appreciate that is unclear, but they’ll certainly like the voice work done by Emma Stone as Eep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews