Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 5051 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,582
Mixed:
188
Negative:
281
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
DaleMDec 15, 2008
This movie is a mix of utterly serious themes mixed with a bunch of silliness. One minute an 18-wheeler is racing down city streets taking corners at 50 miles an hour in a manner 18-wheelers just don't do, and the next someone is This movie is a mix of utterly serious themes mixed with a bunch of silliness. One minute an 18-wheeler is racing down city streets taking corners at 50 miles an hour in a manner 18-wheelers just don't do, and the next someone is brooding on some deep subject. The seriousness ruins the fun factor of the movie, and the fun stuff makes the serious seem bathetic. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful
4
FantasyJul 20, 2008
This was a very tough movie to grade. The bottom line is this is not the cartoon BATMAN. Instead under the guise of the Batman character we have a very dark psychological socialpath slasher movie. How this movie was given a PG 13 rating is This was a very tough movie to grade. The bottom line is this is not the cartoon BATMAN. Instead under the guise of the Batman character we have a very dark psychological socialpath slasher movie. How this movie was given a PG 13 rating is beyond me? Any parent considering taking their child to see this thinking they are going to see the old POW BAM ZAP Batman is in for a great surprise. Heath Ledger as The JOKER is demented and belongs in a rubber room. Hanibal Lechter should come to mind because that is how disturbed his character is. IF you remember the knife scene from Saving Private Ryan well be prepared to be subjected to two grueling hours of this blood and mayhem. This is a violent sick disturberd movie masquerading under a cartoon character to make all of you go ga ga. P T Barnum once said a sucker is born every minute. Well as I said this is not a cartoon character and 15 minutes into the film you will be sitting on the edge of your seat. The violence is non stop and at one point it becomes overbearing. But when you see children in harms way and the constant disregard for human life with terroristic attacks well that is taking it to the limit. If they had made this movie under a different name with no connection to the cartoon character at least the audience would be prepared for what they are about to see. Heath Ledger is simply brilliant and will definitely win an OSCAR for his portrayal of the manical JOKER. But to say this is BATMAN is totally unfair. DARK is definitely appropriate for the makeup of this film. Not my cup of tea. Do NOT take any children to see this. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
4
PaulioG.Nov 18, 2008
Over the top story, acting, action, runtime, characters, and critical acclaim. The only aspect of this movie Not OTT was Batman. Who was underplayed, had a silly voice, and didnt seem to be in the movie that much.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 1, 2011
This movie is really just trying to disguise what it is. What it is is just another Batman movie. It added pointless layers of depth to itself so that critics could not write it off as another superhero movie. I liked it when it was justThis movie is really just trying to disguise what it is. What it is is just another Batman movie. It added pointless layers of depth to itself so that critics could not write it off as another superhero movie. I liked it when it was just Batman beating the crap out of criminals, and not Batman being a political figure. I usually like Christopher Nolan movies, but he really was overloading this one and makes it complicated enough that the regular audience of Batman films (6-10 yr olds) wont enjoy it and end up calling it boring. In short, great as a superhero movie and confused as a political thriller. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
PriMJan 12, 2009
Overlong, disjointed, with a convoluted plot and a good helping of silliness and hype. Completely devoid of any charm, unlike Burton's Batman, or even Nolan's previous effort. No likable characters, apart from Oldman's Overlong, disjointed, with a convoluted plot and a good helping of silliness and hype. Completely devoid of any charm, unlike Burton's Batman, or even Nolan's previous effort. No likable characters, apart from Oldman's perhaps. Bale now seems bored of the role. Freeman is still doing his 'Q' bit and I'm still getting used to Michael '..blow the the bloody doors off' Caine playing Alfred. Granted, Heath did very well. Batman and the Joker, due to their own reasons, pose no real threat to each other. Dent's U-turn from good to bad was laughable and the movie ends with a muddled moralistic pompous message that fails to truly uplift. TDK might still be riding on the crest of a wave of popularity and hype ( due mainly to one guys performance and untimely death) but I have a feeling the years will not be kind to this movie. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful
5
PaulTOct 1, 2008
I have to agree with Karen. For me the best scenes were those that involved dialog. Movie strated very well, but just seemed to get more and more silly. Silly to the point where the story was not relevent anymore. A major disapointment as I have to agree with Karen. For me the best scenes were those that involved dialog. Movie strated very well, but just seemed to get more and more silly. Silly to the point where the story was not relevent anymore. A major disapointment as far as I was concerned Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful
5
LinLJan 4, 2009
Some swell special effects . . . but I wonder, do you have to be a comic book aficionado to buy into the whole "superhero as tortured neurotic incompetent" bit? I thought "Iron Man" was a lot more satisfying.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
4
DarrylJul 20, 2008
Mediocre at best, if you want a great movie.... see Iron Man, or Wanted.... There has been way too much hype over this movie, and I think a lot has to do with the untimely death of Heath Ledger ..who steals the movie and is a sure Oscar Mediocre at best, if you want a great movie.... see Iron Man, or Wanted.... There has been way too much hype over this movie, and I think a lot has to do with the untimely death of Heath Ledger ..who steals the movie and is a sure Oscar winner with his performance. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
JoshC.Nov 9, 2008
A sadly average movie that is grossly overrated. While many performances are great (despite the much talked about performance of Heath Ledger, Freeman, Caine, and Oldman give equally good performances) and some truly breathtaking moments (a A sadly average movie that is grossly overrated. While many performances are great (despite the much talked about performance of Heath Ledger, Freeman, Caine, and Oldman give equally good performances) and some truly breathtaking moments (a bound to be much repeated opening shot that slowly zooms in over the skyline), the movie is killed by it's length, overly-convoluted plot and lack of any real character development. More depressing still are the flat performances of Christian Bale, Aaron Eckhart and Maggie Gyllenhaal, all of whom are too stiff and bland to really care about. A number of smaller problems (a stupidly overdone batsuit, a two-face subplot that doesn't go anywhere, and Bruce Wayne coming off as far too whiny) all bring down the film. Which is a true shame as the movie shows real potential in a lot of areas. However, the film starts strong and ends up going nowhere for far too long. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
BillR.Jul 20, 2008
i presume those who keep scoring "10" are teens? such an opportunity gone begging to flesh out the Joker. They could have focused on his childhood, the factors which drove him to the edge and gave Heath a meatier role that could have gone i presume those who keep scoring "10" are teens? such an opportunity gone begging to flesh out the Joker. They could have focused on his childhood, the factors which drove him to the edge and gave Heath a meatier role that could have gone down in history. Instead we had a 150 min movie, brlliantly produced , but lacked characters with emotional depth. Mr Ledger is capable of so much better. Scintillating stuff for the xbox 360 crowd. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
PaulB.Jul 20, 2008
Wow.... people were walking out of the cinema i saw this in and it's understandable. The joker is great...but the film is so badly plotted it's amazing. The entire Harvey Dent character should have been edited out as it was not wellWow.... people were walking out of the cinema i saw this in and it's understandable. The joker is great...but the film is so badly plotted it's amazing. The entire Harvey Dent character should have been edited out as it was not well executed and the story arc round Dent was weakly scripted. we don't believe him... The joker has been used as a cenematic 'device' by Nolan. He is a cypher. He turns up as required, in any situation... we never understand how he gets there, how he commandeers a skyscraper, or enters the impenetrable apartment of Batman... The film degenerates in the last 40 mins completely. Once the only character you care for is dead the film just keeps going. I thjought it finished at least three times, only to groan when it started again. Indulgent, flat.. and uninteresting... I think the crtic's reviews are shrouded with the death of ledger and no one wants to admit the films a barker....wooof....the dog of summer. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
PacoS.Dec 10, 2008
The first movie was so good I found this story to be lame contrived, I feel too much credit is given to Heath for his portrayal of the Joker, couple of great moments, and a few cool weapons or gizmos other then that lame. I feel they should The first movie was so good I found this story to be lame contrived, I feel too much credit is given to Heath for his portrayal of the Joker, couple of great moments, and a few cool weapons or gizmos other then that lame. I feel they should have created a new story around a villain that hadn't been used before, hard to beat Jack's version of Joker. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
LittleJoeDec 31, 2008
I wanted to like this movie because of its high scores both by critics and users, but I found it to be very confusing and extremely hard to follow. The effects were spectacular, the acting nicely done, but the plot was a complete mishmash.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
JamesLulzOct 9, 2008
this movie was too long. mightv been better if it was about 1/2 the time. also it takes itself too seriously for a movie based off a comic book and after the first half you begin to wonder why you bother with the movie and its constantthis movie was too long. mightv been better if it was about 1/2 the time. also it takes itself too seriously for a movie based off a comic book and after the first half you begin to wonder why you bother with the movie and its constant undramatic "twists" Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
AronJ.Dec 1, 2008
Cut batman out and youve still got a mediocre story, and movie. Although full of a-listers like ledger, bale, and eckhart, its still unappealing. The acting was great, but, limited, the strongest performences came from eckhart and leger, Cut batman out and youve still got a mediocre story, and movie. Although full of a-listers like ledger, bale, and eckhart, its still unappealing. The acting was great, but, limited, the strongest performences came from eckhart and leger, bale is overrated as an actor. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
HarsH.Dec 15, 2008
Quite possibly the most overrated Hollywood film since Titanic. Convoluted and overwrought with dry performances, unnecessary subplots, and derivative action sequences. Ledger gives a compelling performance in what is otherwise a vacuous Quite possibly the most overrated Hollywood film since Titanic. Convoluted and overwrought with dry performances, unnecessary subplots, and derivative action sequences. Ledger gives a compelling performance in what is otherwise a vacuous film. I respect Christopher Nolan, but he needs to ask Jon Favreau how to make a superhero film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
ArmondA.Dec 18, 2008
The makers of this film bought themselves a terrific toolbox but they didn't build much of anything. Well actually they made a very big, noisy, philosophically pompous, bore. It runs awfully long, too, as if trying to make up for its The makers of this film bought themselves a terrific toolbox but they didn't build much of anything. Well actually they made a very big, noisy, philosophically pompous, bore. It runs awfully long, too, as if trying to make up for its lack of satisfying content by giving a second and third helping, as the crash-em-up episodes just keep on coming. Please, no more of this batty-man. The myth has been over-explored and wrung out. Maybe it's time for an updated version of the campy interpretation many of us howled at 40 years ago. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
6
TanabeA.Jul 17, 2008
Bored me to death. Pretentious and humorless. Batman's irritatingly raspy voice and his stiff costume efficiently erased the whatever nuances Christian Bale wanted to convey. Heath Ledger was good but I wouldn't go so far as to Bored me to death. Pretentious and humorless. Batman's irritatingly raspy voice and his stiff costume efficiently erased the whatever nuances Christian Bale wanted to convey. Heath Ledger was good but I wouldn't go so far as to give him an Oscar nomination in this. Better that people should give much more notice to Gary Oldman who imbued his character with a quiet strength I found totally captivating and believable. The plot was predictable in many parts and hardly original. This movie takes itself way too seriously. What we have here is a tempest in a teacup. Greatest comicbook movie ever made? Hahahahaha! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
WillyM.Sep 21, 2008
Heath Ledger is amazing, but the movie is a dark, nasty mess with a gaping hole in the middle where a hero should be. Feels like it's 4 hours long.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
TonyO.Dec 14, 2008
I like Batman. I like Christopher Nolan. I like Christian Bale. I like comic book film adaptations, by and large. So why didn't I like this movie? 1. Way too long. 2. Some really pointless sub-plots and over-egged supporting characters. I like Batman. I like Christopher Nolan. I like Christian Bale. I like comic book film adaptations, by and large. So why didn't I like this movie? 1. Way too long. 2. Some really pointless sub-plots and over-egged supporting characters. 3. too many tedious and unexciting action sequences. 4. In short, it suffered from the same syndrome as Spider-Man 3 and X-men 3 - yet another puffed up sequel based on a promising beginning. Of course there are some good bits Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MovieLonely94Oct 30, 2010
Christopher Nolan is by far an excellent director while making this epic hit!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
If you removed Heath Ledger from this film then it would be trash. The only good parts of the film are with the Joker and Heath puts on an amazing performance that will make you go out and buy the film and re-watch it just for him. The mainIf you removed Heath Ledger from this film then it would be trash. The only good parts of the film are with the Joker and Heath puts on an amazing performance that will make you go out and buy the film and re-watch it just for him. The main cast was rather disapointing, The entire film was a bit too long for my taste, and it was actually rather boring outside of the parts with the Joker. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
Really overrated by users imo. The only thing good about this movie is Heath Ledger as the Joker, which is simply the most untouchable performance of the year imo, and the only reason one should watch this movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
QuinzelJun 26, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The thing about The Dark Knight is that there's so much build up going on through the entire movie. The movie does a good job of juggling multiple villians, like how Batman Begins was. Joker is the main villian, and Lau and Salvatori Maroni are the other villians. There's also a lot of bad guys in this. The action is a big step up in this one to as there's not only more action than Begins, but the quality is a little better. The last dilema with the Joker and the ships felt a bit rushed though, but the movie quickly picked up at the finale. The screentime for this movie is longer than a few other superhero movies at 2hrs.18min without credits. But the pacing throughout the movie is so well done that the movie feels more like 2hrs than that time. The movie is so intense at times it may be a bit uncomfortable. But the intensity is not violent as there's blood or a lot of cursing in it. The plot and issues just make it feel intense. Overall the movie haves a couple of flaws but it's certainly awesome. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
doomdragonFeb 20, 2015
Il peggior Joker che abbia mai visto, niente a che spartire con Jack Nicholson, e poi vogliamo parlare di Due Facce? Un personaggio buttato lì solo per riempire una mezz'oretta di film in più
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
DarrenOct 7, 2010
The Dark Knight is the most overhyped event in the past 10 years. Batman Begins was pretty good, but this? THIS?? Chris Nolan went experimental and tried to do a "big movie" about crime, anarchy and stuff, but kind of forgot its entertainmentThe Dark Knight is the most overhyped event in the past 10 years. Batman Begins was pretty good, but this? THIS?? Chris Nolan went experimental and tried to do a "big movie" about crime, anarchy and stuff, but kind of forgot its entertainment value. The film has excellent cinematography and does have good acting with a solid performance of Aaron Eckhart and Heath Ledger as the Joker is the most unique interpretation of a psycho killer with a level of craziness Johnny Depp can only dream of, but there is no point in having solid performances if there is no plot nor story. I am not going to write a plot overview for this movie because there isn't one. Did something really happen in this movie? Was there something worth telling? Sorry if you're a fan, but there was no point in making this "film". No story in a 2 and half hour long movie is dreadful, I'd rather watch something like Watchmen Ultimate Cut with a running time of 3 and a half hours than this, this film is interesting as long as the running time and then it's over. Can you recall any moment in this film? No? I'm not surprised, That is why I say this film lacked a story. Batman Begins will be remembered for being influential, The Dark Knight will only be remembered by its huge hype and overrated reviews. Expand
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
1
JacobG.Aug 1, 2008
Movie was too long, and got kind of stale in the end....Kept wanting to kill myself every time I heard Batman's voice. Also if he would have killed Joker in the beginning he could have saved like 50 people. Batman lets his own personal Movie was too long, and got kind of stale in the end....Kept wanting to kill myself every time I heard Batman's voice. Also if he would have killed Joker in the beginning he could have saved like 50 people. Batman lets his own personal heroics get in the way of saving people. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
0
SquilliamDec 3, 2013
Overrated as Hell! I do not understand why people say this piece of trash is so good. Especially when they say "It's a classic- right up there with The Godfather." Uhhhhh...... NO! Some poor performances (cough, cough, Bale), an overOverrated as Hell! I do not understand why people say this piece of trash is so good. Especially when they say "It's a classic- right up there with The Godfather." Uhhhhh...... NO! Some poor performances (cough, cough, Bale), an over complicated plot (just like all Nolan movies), cheesy lines, and some pretty awful action scenes all contribute to making this movie one awful pile of crap. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
0
andreekaMar 7, 2015
most overrated movie i've ever seen in entire my life. it's not even close to classic movies such as the godfather, the lord of the rings, casablanca, citizen kane and etc.
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
2
WyattJul 23, 2008
Heath Ledger was fabulous as you couldn't take your eyes off of him. He is much deserving of an OSCAR. But what this had to do with the fun that is Batman is what takes this movie down for me. Everytime Batman appeared it ruined what Heath Ledger was fabulous as you couldn't take your eyes off of him. He is much deserving of an OSCAR. But what this had to do with the fun that is Batman is what takes this movie down for me. Everytime Batman appeared it ruined what otherwise was a very serious dark movie. I don't know if I was alone but that is the way I felt. If the Batman character was removed from the film I may have given this a ten. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful
4
CyberPunkFeb 13, 2012
A film with too many plot holes. The plot is all over the place. This film really should of been split in two to make it flow better. As is, it's one giant cluster ****
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
4
ChadSchneiderFeb 20, 2009
I thought this movie was over-hyped, over-(and under)acted and just plain long. While the Joker character was well acted by Ledger (Oscar worthy for sure), Christian Bale fell short of making me believe that Batman was more than a mumbling,I thought this movie was over-hyped, over-(and under)acted and just plain long. While the Joker character was well acted by Ledger (Oscar worthy for sure), Christian Bale fell short of making me believe that Batman was more than a mumbling, monotone, disconnected Houdini wanna-be.

Was not impressed by the Bat-mobile. Was not impressed by the Transformer-like Bat-mobile turned Bat-cycle. Was not impressed at all. A mostly wasted 3 hours of my life that could have been better spent picking my nose.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
metalmaidenJul 28, 2008
Sadistic, gratuitous violence and a rehash of borrowed ideas with no plot, horrible dialogue and worse acting. Ledger played a psycho well but his voice sounded like Al Franken, made me giggle, and made it impossible for me to get into his Sadistic, gratuitous violence and a rehash of borrowed ideas with no plot, horrible dialogue and worse acting. Ledger played a psycho well but his voice sounded like Al Franken, made me giggle, and made it impossible for me to get into his actions. An absolutely horrible waste of time. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JackieC.Jul 9, 2008
Completely overhyped, absolute sh*t.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
4
VS.D.Aug 1, 2008
What a snoozefest. Though not as bad as its prequel, this film really had nothing interesting enough to require this run time. A poor script was helped along by some decent acting but really the film is nothing special.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
colinCAug 3, 2008
Under normal circumstances this movie might get a two or three, but given all the bloated praise it's gotten elsewhere I think the zero is warranted. It's way too long, way too self-serious, and often makes little sense. My Under normal circumstances this movie might get a two or three, but given all the bloated praise it's gotten elsewhere I think the zero is warranted. It's way too long, way too self-serious, and often makes little sense. My girlfriend and I were close to walking out because by the end we were exhausted by all the explosions, heavy-handed dialogue and thudding, stupid music. Batman Begins was fun, but this is just a loud, pretentious bore. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
AngelHMay 18, 2009
Dour, self important, bloated, overly long and pretentious film. The pseudo philosophical posturing of the joker was obnoxious and unnecessary. Instead of leaving the audience to ponder the difference between good and evil, if there is such Dour, self important, bloated, overly long and pretentious film. The pseudo philosophical posturing of the joker was obnoxious and unnecessary. Instead of leaving the audience to ponder the difference between good and evil, if there is such a thing the creators feel the need to spell it our in stilted dialogue hamtastically delivered by all but the character of Alfred. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
peteC.Jul 26, 2008
I was the victim of the marketing campain. I payed 9 euros and left at the half of the movie dissapointed. Ledger performance looks good but probably overrated by his premature death. This movie, like many other hollywoodian productions is I was the victim of the marketing campain. I payed 9 euros and left at the half of the movie dissapointed. Ledger performance looks good but probably overrated by his premature death. This movie, like many other hollywoodian productions is nothing else than a capitalist excentricity with no artistic and cinematical value. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
LouT.Jul 29, 2008
Gotham is portrayed as a town full of sheep who can only be saved by some fearless leader in whom they all have to believe in the same way that Germans believed in der Fuhrer. There is no community, just huddled masses yearning to be saved. Gotham is portrayed as a town full of sheep who can only be saved by some fearless leader in whom they all have to believe in the same way that Germans believed in der Fuhrer. There is no community, just huddled masses yearning to be saved. And who will save them? Maybe the District Attorney, by prosecuting criminals? But no, he can't prevail against the evil Joker, so it has to be a super-wealthy guy who is the head of a massive weapons manufacturing company, and who moonlights as a gadget-driven crime fighter. He also apparently holds the purse strings to the D.A. guy (and the film has no problem with that), so let's face it, folks, Mr. Super Wealthy holds the fate of the city in his heavily-armored hands. To justify this monster, we need a greater monster, just like Cheney needs bin Laden. That's where the Joker comes in. Mr. Super Wealthy even develops a system for spying on every single square inch of space within the entire city, all justified by Mr. Joker, since he's so very, very bad. In short, this film should be offensive to anyone who believes in our Constitution's Bill of Rights. As for the drama, the plot is full of holes you could drive a Batmobile through, which the film does again and again, filling plot problems with gadgetry as needed, which is all of the time. I saw this on an IMAX screen and the aerial city views were fantastic; hence the 1 point in my rating. And Heath Ledger was very good at portraying a psychotic criminal, but unfortunately having a character with completely insane behavior tends to liberate the plot from sensible constraints, and so "what happens next" trumps "why did it happen" just about every time. My view seems to be in the minority, but if you saw this and liked it, after reading this, please ask yourself why. One more thing: Quite apart from its politics, I honestly thought that it was a bore. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ZioZioDec 21, 2009
Pure bilge. All the talk about this being the darkest Batman film is pure nonsense: Batman never deviates from his task or even tries to kill the joker (as he did with a kamikaze batwing attack in Burton's film). I'm not going to Pure bilge. All the talk about this being the darkest Batman film is pure nonsense: Batman never deviates from his task or even tries to kill the joker (as he did with a kamikaze batwing attack in Burton's film). I'm not going to bother commenting on the rest but suffice to say it's confused, pretentious and self-important when it's really about as deep as something written by a barely-literate 15-year-old. I can see the lad right now, his dedication to his art total as he writes countless pages of description for each and every explosion. Watching the action sequences is about as exhausting as reading such descriptions. I disagree that Ledger was masterful as the Joker: how can somebody whose only background is made up of a handful of simple lies be even considered as a character? All the joker is is a plot device to string all of the scenes together: a bit like a tireless football player playing keepie uppies for the film's entire duration: about two hours too long. Absolute tripe, only Quantum of Solace makes this look good. I'd give that a zero too, but wouldn't waste my time saying why! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
5
MatthewM.Oct 18, 2008
This movie was lame. Too long, too many anti-climactic action scense, fight choreography sucked, Maggie G was insufferable, Robert Downy Jr would have made a better bruce wayne than Bale, way too many stupid plot twists. Nolan tried way too This movie was lame. Too long, too many anti-climactic action scense, fight choreography sucked, Maggie G was insufferable, Robert Downy Jr would have made a better bruce wayne than Bale, way too many stupid plot twists. Nolan tried way too hard, and apart from Ledger, the rest of the actors weren't believable. Heath's performance was the only shining aspect of this film. I don't think he was better than jack nicholson, but a great interpretation of the joker nonetheless. Lastly, ledger's death without a doubt inflated the success of the film, and if he hadn't died i don't believe it would be the 2nd highest grossing movie of all time, or anywhere near it. Overall it was dissapointing, way below my expectations. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
5
KarenW.Sep 14, 2008
Gotta go against the grain here. Great performances, including one that should get Heath Ledger nominated for a posthumous Oscar, but in the end, you have to ask what was the point? I initially thought they had to reconstruct and reedit Gotta go against the grain here. Great performances, including one that should get Heath Ledger nominated for a posthumous Oscar, but in the end, you have to ask what was the point? I initially thought they had to reconstruct and reedit after Ledger's death because that's the way the plot came out: jumbled and disjointed. It seemed to come close to making a point a few times, then just skittered away from it. OK, yes, it was striving to be something more than a superhero story, but it fell so far short of Batman Begins that it devolved into a paean to violence; in that flick, violence served to advance the plot while here it seemed to be inserted (liberally) for its own sake. While it was bloodless, you understood that the Joker was doing a fair amount of slashing off-screen, and there seemed no point in showing a fabricated genesis of Two-face when he lasts about 20 on-screen minutes before going the way of all flesh. My stomach is still in knots the way it was after, say, Aliens, but this was less of a roller-coaster ride and more of a cheap carnival funhouse trip. My one thought is that perhaps, like Peter Jackson's version of The Two Towers, it will all make a lot more sense once the DVD comes out if it has 40 minutes of deleted footage, but the film left me with such a bad taste in my mouth from the abysmal plotting and excessive violence that it's not something I plan to go out of my way to find out. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
darkbeast119Aug 16, 2014
The dark knight is not a superhero film but a film about a messed up rich guy who wears a clad black suit like a pornstar and some psychotic hippy clown criminal who has a confusing personality. That's right folks I'm calling this film notThe dark knight is not a superhero film but a film about a messed up rich guy who wears a clad black suit like a pornstar and some psychotic hippy clown criminal who has a confusing personality. That's right folks I'm calling this film not the best because it has no super in it and gives you a sad and disappointing view of real life. The plot, characters, and whole presence makes you so pissed off and the critics call it the perfect superhero film what a load of **** Yeah I just said it **** and who really cars if I say a few swear words, it just my own opinion. The most part that makes me angry is that health ledger's joker is the supervillain, I prefer the Jack Nicholson version and to give a dead guy a award for good acting is like walking off a bridge. I admit some of the action scenes were cool but I'm no batman fan. I'm a loyal superman fan and I think the man of steel is way better than this crappy film. So that's my review of a extremely overrated film that died so much in disgrace that it could never make me pleasant Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
DerekAug 6, 2008
Ledger was amazing... easily the part of The Dark Knight. However, the film was unnecessarily convoluted, lacked any substantial depth, and could quickly devolve into cheap Hollywood banality. People are losing their shit over this movie, Ledger was amazing... easily the part of The Dark Knight. However, the film was unnecessarily convoluted, lacked any substantial depth, and could quickly devolve into cheap Hollywood banality. People are losing their shit over this movie, and trust me when I say I really wanted to like it, but i just ended up being extremely disappointed. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful
5
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
i didnt get the hype behind this film . i know alot of people who liked it but i guess im not one of them . im almost wondering if it was because it was heath ledgers last preformance befor he died . well i guess for one im not a huge batmani didnt get the hype behind this film . i know alot of people who liked it but i guess im not one of them . im almost wondering if it was because it was heath ledgers last preformance befor he died . well i guess for one im not a huge batman fan to begin with . well lets move on the critics where right though on heath ledger giving a great preformance as the joker i thought it would be really tough to top jack nicholsons version of the joker but he did a great job . im not saying that eather cause he kicked off he did actaully do it well. thats about really the only plus of the film that and the over all plot of how evil people can just light the world on fire and wach it burn and not care about any thing els wasnt bad eather . the main problems i have with this film are baal himself as batman . should i be laughing every time he talks as batman? well i am his low sounding raspy voice for batman just seems over the top and rediculas . i just kept laughing every time he opend his mouth . the film is also way to long like 2 hrs 45 min or some thing like that . it could have been easily cut to just under 2 hours. bringing in 2 face at the end i thought was just pointless for such a small roll and then end it the way they did . this film really wasnt bad but not nearly enjoyable enough for me to ever want to see it ever again or its sequels. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
0
PK.Jul 30, 2008
Awful editing, trite and implausible storytelling, cartoonish characters, annoying Batman voice, to many eye-rolling moments, nerve-grating Joker lip-licking (to mock Tom Arnold??), too jumbled film-making, kowtowing to the whims of fanboys Awful editing, trite and implausible storytelling, cartoonish characters, annoying Batman voice, to many eye-rolling moments, nerve-grating Joker lip-licking (to mock Tom Arnold??), too jumbled film-making, kowtowing to the whims of fanboys all equal a zero from this moviegoer who is grateful he didn't have to pay to see it. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful
4
Paul_YoonSep 19, 2010
Director Nolan illustrates his movie too darkly and too gloomy. Why this super-hero movie should deserve to philosophically intricated one. Watching Super-hero movie is merely for fun.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
1
BibliotechaS.Jul 25, 2008
Bullshit. No one would waste that much money to fight crime. So many things destroyed. How could anyone tolerate such loses. This is the real reason why I think Batman wanted to quit. It had nothing to do with remaining hidden. The story is flawed.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
TheTerminatorJul 25, 2008
What happened to the Batman character as he appeared to be 3rd string in this very dark homicidal tribute to Heath Ledger AKA The Joker. No one cared about Batman as Heath Ledger was so perverted that all eyes were rivited on him. This movie What happened to the Batman character as he appeared to be 3rd string in this very dark homicidal tribute to Heath Ledger AKA The Joker. No one cared about Batman as Heath Ledger was so perverted that all eyes were rivited on him. This movie is NOT appropriate for young children. Very little humor and way too much violence for my taste. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
DidiM.Jul 30, 2008
The movie had a lot of action and very creative in the way that batman used his bag of tricks. But things just didn't make sense. The joker was all powerful and he did things and things were done as if he could do magic. It was very The movie had a lot of action and very creative in the way that batman used his bag of tricks. But things just didn't make sense. The joker was all powerful and he did things and things were done as if he could do magic. It was very frustrating to watch when things didn't make sense. I expected a lot more. Iron man was a lot better. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
BillyB.Aug 1, 2008
Typical summer action movie with lots of blam blam punctuated by bits of sadism. Thirty minutes too long. I was bored by the end. A friend actually fell asleep. Had they cut it shorter, it would have actually been a better, more interesting Typical summer action movie with lots of blam blam punctuated by bits of sadism. Thirty minutes too long. I was bored by the end. A friend actually fell asleep. Had they cut it shorter, it would have actually been a better, more interesting movie. But, in true Hollywood fashion, they had to connect all the dots for us hapless movie goers. Ledger's portrayal of the Joker was top notch and the highlight of the movie. Rachel was not up to the part. There were some interesting moments but the end was one long slog. Wait for it on cable. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
MikeAug 6, 2008
How can people like such NON sense!?! This movie is one big joke! The plot is so complex to the point where it doesn't make sense. And why does Wayne's voice suddenly go deep when he wears his batman outfit? A violent movie for How can people like such NON sense!?! This movie is one big joke! The plot is so complex to the point where it doesn't make sense. And why does Wayne's voice suddenly go deep when he wears his batman outfit? A violent movie for grown up children is what this movie really is. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
sergueimoviegoerAug 7, 2008
too many stunts, too much unnecessary violence and too much unbelievable scenes. reflects a huger society on violence and revenge. other than that, a good movie for a raged teenager that loves violent videogames
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
MeYouApr 10, 2009
This movie was nothing more than another Hollywood action flick, completely void of depth, character development, or a remotely interesting story. If you're a mindless ape who enjoys action and Stalone and all that then you will adore This movie was nothing more than another Hollywood action flick, completely void of depth, character development, or a remotely interesting story. If you're a mindless ape who enjoys action and Stalone and all that then you will adore it. If you're a pretentious 20 year old who reads nothing but comic books and doesn't know a thing about films beside Hollywood mockery then you wil love it. And for those of you who stick up your noses and say "you just didn't get it", there is nothing to get, watch a film by Tarkovsky and maybe you will understand what depth and art put to film actually is. ANd if yuo're saying it is the best film of 2008 when all you have watched are pathetic American Hollywood films then just keep quiet. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
MightyM.Jul 23, 2008
Too long, too muddled, too rushed. It felt like there was enough material for 3 films. While in the Batman suit Bale speaks like McGruff the crime dog. While this is by far the best of the franchise, that's really not enough. Accolades Too long, too muddled, too rushed. It felt like there was enough material for 3 films. While in the Batman suit Bale speaks like McGruff the crime dog. While this is by far the best of the franchise, that's really not enough. Accolades like "best comic movie ever" don't really cut it because comic book movies haven't set the bar very high to begin with. The two face plot wasn't flushed out enough. Good job by Ledger though. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
tjJul 29, 2008
Batman Begins was excellent, but what happened to the characters? This movie is one over the top dramatic moment after another...and wow, 2 1/2 hours? I was looking at my watch after an hour. Seems like all these directors of superhero Batman Begins was excellent, but what happened to the characters? This movie is one over the top dramatic moment after another...and wow, 2 1/2 hours? I was looking at my watch after an hour. Seems like all these directors of superhero movies try to pump up the volume in their sequels--and they lose their heart and humanity. There was no drama and suspense--all big surprises. Heath Ledger is excellent, but he was the only one with any decent lines. This was an overblown mess and a big disappointment. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
1
JasS.Jul 19, 2008
A great acting job (heath ledger) does not make up for a terrible plot. no climax or depth to the storyline, made it impossible to have any attachment or regard for the outcome of any particular character. even with nearly 3 hour length, theA great acting job (heath ledger) does not make up for a terrible plot. no climax or depth to the storyline, made it impossible to have any attachment or regard for the outcome of any particular character. even with nearly 3 hour length, the movie couldn't go in depth in to any of the scenes and just strung together random high speed bursts of action one after another that still somehow failed to captivate. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
BakaHaramMay 23, 2014
This movie is so dry, pretentious and humorless that my cat became depressed after watching it with me and starved herself to death. Also all the expository dialogue and mindless pop philosophy made me schizophrenic. I'm now sharpening myThis movie is so dry, pretentious and humorless that my cat became depressed after watching it with me and starved herself to death. Also all the expository dialogue and mindless pop philosophy made me schizophrenic. I'm now sharpening my knives and ordering the Halloween mask from EBay. Close your windows, Chris "Pretentious Hack" Nolan, I'm gonna avenge my kitty! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
HRMay 28, 2009
Agree with Ty Burr, Boston Globe: "Ten tons of expressionist murk... Dirty Harry crossed with Hamlet." They tried too hard, lost all depth of plot and texture. Just because a movie is "disturbing" does *not* make it "art." "...Begins" was Agree with Ty Burr, Boston Globe: "Ten tons of expressionist murk... Dirty Harry crossed with Hamlet." They tried too hard, lost all depth of plot and texture. Just because a movie is "disturbing" does *not* make it "art." "...Begins" was much better. Expand
6 of 35 users found this helpful
0
MovieMan12Jun 13, 2013
Self-indulgent pretentious crap. He ruined the Batman series. Mindless trash this was. Still hate it to this day. No wonder everybody hated the last one, its because this one was the set up to an even worse one.
3 of 18 users found this helpful315
All this user's reviews
3
FerrinL.Aug 10, 2008
Plodding and hamfisted. Terrible script. Good ideas, but ruined by having every thematic idea telegraphed over and over (and over and over and over...) in the least subtle way possible. Basically, it was like having anvils labeled "important Plodding and hamfisted. Terrible script. Good ideas, but ruined by having every thematic idea telegraphed over and over (and over and over and over...) in the least subtle way possible. Basically, it was like having anvils labeled "important moral allegory" thrown at your head every five minutes for three hours. That, and it occurred to me that Gotham wouldn't need Batman so much if the Gotham cops weren't so blindingly stupid. I mean come on--while transporting Dent one of the cops practically says "This looks like a trap. Let's walk right in to it." Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
2
AlexS.Jul 20, 2008
The IMAX format is spectacular. Too bad I can't say the same for the film itself.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
ArdenJul 21, 2008
Way too violent and long. Much ado about nothing.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
3
BrandonSmithJul 24, 2008
Batman Begins was terrible, and Bale brings his same I'm-so-cool "acting" into this one. I miss Michael Keaton.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
BillM.Jul 18, 2008
Dark Knight ruined Batman - series should have never been written. DC should be ashamed!
1 of 6 users found this helpful
0
ADEJul 19, 2008
So long.. so very long
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
LisaFMar 12, 2009
This movie sucked such terrific ass that I just almost can't believe I sat through the whole epic length thing. I learned early on that I couldn't get too wrapped up in any of the characters due to the idiotic way people kept This movie sucked such terrific ass that I just almost can't believe I sat through the whole epic length thing. I learned early on that I couldn't get too wrapped up in any of the characters due to the idiotic way people kept turning into caricatures of themselves. Usually I'm not a violent person, but I kept wishing people would just die and stay dead. Batman made you like him even less by speaking in a strange he-man voice that no actual person would ever use for any reason whatsoever. By the last time the hoary-voiced dark avenger fell, I hoped he would stay dead so I could just get the f*ck out of there. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
5
PepticNightmareOct 14, 2012
This is a very over-rated film, slightly boring, It took me two days to actually get through this snooze-fest, It's a decent film overall but even Heath Ledger's fantastic performance can't save this from just being another film featuring aThis is a very over-rated film, slightly boring, It took me two days to actually get through this snooze-fest, It's a decent film overall but even Heath Ledger's fantastic performance can't save this from just being another film featuring a comic book hero, I enjoy Batman normally the comics are fantastic but this isn't fantastic and you could even miss this film if you were watching The Dark Knight Trilogy. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
LevS.Aug 11, 2008
Inept political thriller dished up as a Batman movie, lacking in imagination and a decent story. Ledger's Joker was the only praiseworthy element but even so, nothing spectacular. If the poor guy hadn't had died this movie would Inept political thriller dished up as a Batman movie, lacking in imagination and a decent story. Ledger's Joker was the only praiseworthy element but even so, nothing spectacular. If the poor guy hadn't had died this movie would not have been so insanely overhyped. Expand
6 of 37 users found this helpful
0
TrueEleganceMay 19, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nolan finally reveals his ability that it is not skill to bring forth a gritty "realism" to a comic book movie, but a lack of complete and utter imagination to fulfill a fantasy based character. To be honest the film itself was not that bad, had it not been an hour too long. Had the movie ended after Rachel Dawson died, and the reveal of two-face, it would end on such a somber "Empire Strikes Back" note, and really left the audience in a state of wonder and a need for me. But instead Nolan decides to continue on for an hour where he plateaus with his boring action sequence, and than killing off two face in on of the worst ending in comic book history since Fantastic Four. Too damn long, but of course, Heath Ledger shines bright Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
3
DavidHJul 29, 2008
Yes I admit Heath Ledger turned in a very impressive performance. Christian Bale was also good and there was some excellent technology and special effects. Drawbacks were the combination of it being generally a downer combined with being too Yes I admit Heath Ledger turned in a very impressive performance. Christian Bale was also good and there was some excellent technology and special effects. Drawbacks were the combination of it being generally a downer combined with being too long. A hero is someone you're willing to watch go through all kinds of hell as long as he is triumphant in the end. It is depressing that he has to sacrifice virtually everything including nearly his life, catches the bad guy, and yet still ends up persecuted in the end by an annoyingly over-righteous mindset. The chemistry with Maggie Gyllenhall is non-existent compared to Katie and she remains also irritatingly righteous where again, Batman seems to sacrifice absolutely everything in order to help people and yet it is still not good enough for her. Maggie also is simply not attractive enough for this role. As a comparison, when you walk out of Ironman, you feel good, when you walk out of Dark Night, you feel depressed. Expand
4 of 28 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Jul 19, 2008
Confused & too long.
1 of 7 users found this helpful
0
R.H.May 3, 2009
All right, I wasn't going to say anything because this is the internet. But all the morons here saying this film is "art" or the closest movies will ever get to art- how dare you? How could you say something so ignorant when you All right, I wasn't going to say anything because this is the internet. But all the morons here saying this film is "art" or the closest movies will ever get to art- how dare you? How could you say something so ignorant when you haven't bothered to study anything about films? Try watching films by Ingmar Bergman like Winter Light. Watch films by Andrei Tarkovsky like Andrei Rublev and Mirror. Watch Ozu films like Late Spring and Floating Weeds. I don't care if you loved the movie or whatever- I personally thought the film was hollow, worthless, and nothing new. But don't you dare say this is the highest the art form has to offer- it's barely a step above the lowest. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
1
NNDec 27, 2008
Stupid Idiotic movie of the worst kind Jumbled plot, meaningless violence and sadistic We have hit real low for so many critics to give such high marks
4 of 32 users found this helpful
3
bdaJul 20, 2008
A numbing movie. Why is everyone on the Ledger bandwagon? Yes, it was an enjoyable performance. But keep in mind how juicy the role was and that any number of actors could have given equally enjoyable performances.
1 of 8 users found this helpful
0
BobS.Jul 17, 2008
Soooo long. So very very long. And too loud. Or is that just the cinema? Joker is great but hes not joker. Just a psycho with make up. U don't see the crazy fun house mad house joker from the original and its just toooo long.
1 of 8 users found this helpful
2
JemimaK>Jul 20, 2008
I'm baffled by all the superlatives being showered on this film. I'm a huge fan of Nolan, Bale, Caine, Oldman, Gyllenhaal but really, this film was competely uninvolving. Bruce/Batman was given short shrift in this screenplay, I'm baffled by all the superlatives being showered on this film. I'm a huge fan of Nolan, Bale, Caine, Oldman, Gyllenhaal but really, this film was competely uninvolving. Bruce/Batman was given short shrift in this screenplay, it's the wonderful Christian Bale who breathes soul into every miniscule oppurtunity he is given. There is no back story, no fleshing out of any character except Harvey Dent. The film starts as if we've caught it in mid-low. And honestly, this hype over Ledger's performance is too inflated. For me, Tim Burton's Penguin is the greatest villain in the Batman series - evil, tragic, repelling and attracting at the same time. Jack Nicholson's Joker could have done with an editing job, but my goodness, the portrayal itself was one of brilliance and insane originality. Ledger was an actor of great promise, but the praise over his Joker seems out of perspective & proportion. This edition of Batman was a case of overkill, OD'ing on the dark element (not a single touch of genuine wit), over-indulging on the philosophizing and the explosions/mayhem. All in all, a superhero film that takes itself too seriously. It's tragic that some of the finest young directors ( Bryan Singer, etc.) are frittering their prime years away on superhero franschises. Christopher Nolan, please come out of your Bat Cave black hole and give us something worthwhile to watch, again. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
0
WolfmotherMay 4, 2011
This movie was brilliant, entertaining to the people who love in-depth conversations to the people who love explosions. So much drama, I dont see where it fails to have plot, basically its a simple battle of philosophies, nothing more, butThis movie was brilliant, entertaining to the people who love in-depth conversations to the people who love explosions. So much drama, I dont see where it fails to have plot, basically its a simple battle of philosophies, nothing more, but nothing needed, he taints other people to madness, what more do you need? Even if it doesnt have plot, it doesnt NEED plot, suspense, action, conflicting philosophies, drawbacks to madness are all you truly need. It took Joker and evolved him to the next level. Expand
1 of 24 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
3
GaryJAug 10, 2008
Ledger was terrifyingly good. The plot is weak, the movie interminably long and vicious. PG-13 ? If this is entertainment, we are a society in trouble.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
EstaD.Aug 6, 2008
Although I would give the filmmakers credit for a reasonable story and character development, I think the movie is inappropriate for many people to watch. It depicts a anti-social society and I might say also a mirror of the current American Although I would give the filmmakers credit for a reasonable story and character development, I think the movie is inappropriate for many people to watch. It depicts a anti-social society and I might say also a mirror of the current American society. We don't need to see all the sweetness from the 50s but in my opinion this movie should be xxx-rated. Harry Potter was banned in many conservative bulwarks, but Batman was not. It is time to start a public discussion about the difference between the character of the two stories. Do you really think the Dark Knight/Batman is a children's story? A bank robbery where you kill all your mates?????? No wonder the American society cannot get rid of its violent nature. It will go under just like the Roman Empire due to decadence and (too much expenditure) wars. I am looking forward for that time to happen any time soon. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JMJul 20, 2008
Way overrated. The movie is too long, the fight/actions scenes edited too much like an MTV video, and the movie is way too in love with violence. This movie should NOT be PG-13. It warrants a "R" rating. In addition, while Maggie Gyllenhaal Way overrated. The movie is too long, the fight/actions scenes edited too much like an MTV video, and the movie is way too in love with violence. This movie should NOT be PG-13. It warrants a "R" rating. In addition, while Maggie Gyllenhaal , provided a fine performance she is no leading lady. As much as I love Batman and as much as I appreciated Heath Ledger's great performance, I cannot recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ElenaJul 23, 2008
This wasn't Batman or a cartoon caper turned into a movie. It was a SLASHER movie with gore and way too much violence. How is this PG 13?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DanielJul 20, 2008
The special effects and action sequences are great, but the plot is confused and ultimately the movie goes at least 30 minutes too long than it should. Not a patch on "Batman Begins."
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AnS.Aug 16, 2008
So what's all the fuss about? An action film so deluded that it thinks it has something deep or relevant to say about the post September 11 climate? No thanks. If only George Bush monitored the mobile phone communications of the So what's all the fuss about? An action film so deluded that it thinks it has something deep or relevant to say about the post September 11 climate? No thanks. If only George Bush monitored the mobile phone communications of the film's producers, this awful, self-indulgent mess would have been extraordinarily rendered to some secret prison in Eastern Europe. Showing it to its fellow unlawful combatants would be a torture much worse than waterboarding. Ledger's performance is good but not remarkable. Pacing and action feel disjointed. Given very little exciting happens and all of the dialogue is hot air, it should have been a lot shorter. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JohnMar 2, 2009
Actually deserves a 3, but there are too many 10's. What were people watching. I agree with all of those that thought it made no sense. The motivations of the characters were entirely random. This entry could be pages long with all the Actually deserves a 3, but there are too many 10's. What were people watching. I agree with all of those that thought it made no sense. The motivations of the characters were entirely random. This entry could be pages long with all the problems. Ya, Ledger was fun to watch, thus the 3. But the rest was terrible. At some point the viewer just gives up assuming any of it will make any sense. Where is Adam West when you need him? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelKJul 18, 2008
This isn't a comic book movie; this is a superlative crime drama.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MeganB.Jul 19, 2008
I wanted to love this movie. It had some very good performances, and I loved the cinematography. That said, this movie has way too many inexplicable jumps in it; there are multiple scenes that end with a cut to another scene without any I wanted to love this movie. It had some very good performances, and I loved the cinematography. That said, this movie has way too many inexplicable jumps in it; there are multiple scenes that end with a cut to another scene without any segue or explanation, and often what could have been the best part of a scene was left out altogether. Also, the whole movie just builds and builds and builds and it has 3 separate endings. And finally: PG-13?!?!? On what planet should a 13 year old see something that is that violent and graphic? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MovieGuyJul 21, 2008
Very over-hyped. Batman is supposed to be fun, not philosophical thesis with bad action. And what's up with the Heath Ledger hype? He never was very amazing. Take a chill pill people. The hero had rubber years for god's sake!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ChadShiiraJul 23, 2008
A Batman for the ages? No. Brokeback Joker in medical professional drag playing clinical terrorist unnerves like a Robin Cook hospital thriller, but it doesn't out-evil the Nazi overtones of Jack's Joker(Tim Burton's "Batman"),A Batman for the ages? No. Brokeback Joker in medical professional drag playing clinical terrorist unnerves like a Robin Cook hospital thriller, but it doesn't out-evil the Nazi overtones of Jack's Joker(Tim Burton's "Batman"), in which the bipolar master criminal defaces great works of art to a devil-may-care purple soundtrack. Because "The Dark Knight" distances itself from the comic book, largely by demythologizing Gotham as a fantasia of improbable architecture and rebuilding it into a city that could host Martin Scorsese's "The Departed"(a remake of Wai-keung Lau & Siu Fai Mak's "Mou gaan dou"(American title: "Internal Affairs"); the term "internal affairs" is sprinkled throughout the film), the notion of a grown man running around in a bat suit(nipples, or no nipples), comes off as nonsensical and extraneous, in a film spawned from children's literature that purports to be taken seriously; that wants to be mentioned in the same breath with a film by Scorsese, and not, say, "Catwoman". But "The Dark Knight" caught my attention late in the game when Batman(Christian Bale) asks Lucius Fox(Morgan Freeman) to play Orwellian games with the public at-large. The evocation of the Patriot Act turns into an endorsement of conservative ideology because it helps Batman keep Gotham safe. The end justifies the means. The Dark Knight is our outgoing president and Harvey Dent(Aaron Eckhart) stands for America. He's ideology in the flesh. Which half, which face, reminds you of our country in terms of the war against terrorism and foreign policy? The filmmaker asserts that our president's legacy, regarding the five-thousand dead and rising overseas, will change from a war criminal into a fall guy, for the country with two faces, once hindsight is given the once over and the history books are written accordingly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
S.X.Jul 23, 2008
I found the endless obsession with dark-this and dark-that, to be a depressing one-note that hung around from beginning to end. The moral complications were contrived and pretentious. A number of liberties were taken with the logic of the I found the endless obsession with dark-this and dark-that, to be a depressing one-note that hung around from beginning to end. The moral complications were contrived and pretentious. A number of liberties were taken with the logic of the action. What I found most odd is that 'the batman' seemed out of place in his own movie, as if some dude in a cape kept popping in and out of a more serious, real-world crime drama. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
BillyC.Jul 29, 2008
It started well but after 2 hours Nolan should have wrapped it up! Two Face became a really childish bore and ridiculous with his coin tossing (Anton Chigurrh anyone?) nonsense. The dialogue was a bit cheesy. Far fetched.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MarkL.Aug 1, 2008
No thanks, this movie was way to long and could have been shortened an hour easy and Heath L. put on a good performance but after two hours of watching him lick his lips I was rather annoyed by his performance and what is up with the child No thanks, this movie was way to long and could have been shortened an hour easy and Heath L. put on a good performance but after two hours of watching him lick his lips I was rather annoyed by his performance and what is up with the child molester voice of the Batman "come here little girl I have some candy for you",lol. I don't think this movie would have made that big of a splash if Heath wouldn't have passed away because it's all been done a hundred times. Nothing new here............ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NonyaBusinessAug 11, 2008
Much worse than the first. Since when did Batman become hated and a villain? I didn't like that Nolan tried to pitch Batman that way.... the only good thing about the film was Ledger's acting, which is first-rate. Too bad it Much worse than the first. Since when did Batman become hated and a villain? I didn't like that Nolan tried to pitch Batman that way.... the only good thing about the film was Ledger's acting, which is first-rate. Too bad it couldn't have a lighter end. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MichaelC.Aug 2, 2008
I really wanted to like this movie but was very disappointed with it. It was long and rambling and I was bored by it. What a let down!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
dlloydAug 9, 2008
Simply weak. Poor script. Good acting but the lack of depth in any single character left their work empty. The joker was crap because he was just a nihilist with nothing else to him and so boring and predictable. The whole film was boring Simply weak. Poor script. Good acting but the lack of depth in any single character left their work empty. The joker was crap because he was just a nihilist with nothing else to him and so boring and predictable. The whole film was boring and they couldn't even keep the plot coherent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoshW.Jan 8, 2009
Bad. Ledger ruined the film. Re-edited to get all joker scenes in. If Heath gets an ocar it is beacuse he died and nothing to do with acting.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
tkFeb 10, 2009
This movie was no good the plot was the same old same old
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JakeA.Mar 6, 2009
The only truly amazing thing about this movie was Heath Ledger's performance. Otherwise, it was awful. Christian Bale was absolutely horrible, just, bad. The story simply drags on and on without really going anywhere. It's really The only truly amazing thing about this movie was Heath Ledger's performance. Otherwise, it was awful. Christian Bale was absolutely horrible, just, bad. The story simply drags on and on without really going anywhere. It's really too bad that Ledger's best performance had to be in an otherwise bad film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PaulW.Oct 2, 2008
Batmanan has a speech impediment; the Joker needs a chap stick to nurse his dry lips; the script is sophomoric; the girl anything but sexy; the photography chaotic. Found it so boring I almost fell asleep. For a guy who adored the comic Batmanan has a speech impediment; the Joker needs a chap stick to nurse his dry lips; the script is sophomoric; the girl anything but sexy; the photography chaotic. Found it so boring I almost fell asleep. For a guy who adored the comic strip when he was a kid this just doesn't hack it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JayB.Oct 22, 2008
EXTREMELY overrated. Too long, bland overacting on Christian Bale's part, a forgettable Maggie Gyllenhaal and two-face, pretentious scatterbrained writing and plot, not to mention it lacks the "dark" part in dark knight; completely EXTREMELY overrated. Too long, bland overacting on Christian Bale's part, a forgettable Maggie Gyllenhaal and two-face, pretentious scatterbrained writing and plot, not to mention it lacks the "dark" part in dark knight; completely cheesy. Speaking of cheesy, Batman's voice...wow. The ONLY thing that saved this movie was Heath Ledger, and now he's dead. The franchise is over. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful