Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 5061 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,591
Mixed:
188
Negative:
282
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JoeS.Jan 10, 2009
One of the best movies I've ever seen can't wait for the rerelease so I can catch it in Imax one more time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HollyFJan 3, 2009
Is is absolutely not as great as everyone said it is. I enjoyed it, but I also enjoyed Iron Man just as much. But at least Iron Man knew what it was trying to be. TDK tries to balance action whilst attempting to be "thought provoking drama". Is is absolutely not as great as everyone said it is. I enjoyed it, but I also enjoyed Iron Man just as much. But at least Iron Man knew what it was trying to be. TDK tries to balance action whilst attempting to be "thought provoking drama". I felt very alienated because of it and insulted. My favorite scene was the large action sequence in act 2 with the transport. Problem with that is that the action sequence is NEVER my fave scene in a film. That just goes to show how the dramatic components fail. Problem is action is not suppose to be subtle while drama is and the problem with this movie is that everything is just so in your face, including the film arrogant, annoying and pompous message. I enjoyed it, but is far from being a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasDJan 4, 2009
Perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegoLJan 5, 2009
One of the greatest action movies ever, and the best movie of the year. Not a doubt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryOJan 6, 2009
This was a spectacular films, but like all in life its not without weaknesses. Nonetheless this gems burns brightly in the darkest of nights!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LouisMenardJan 9, 2009
The whole movie was a 7... The two first hours were 8.5-9. It was lenghty and at the end, I was bored after having been amazed by the beginning.
Plus, Gotham is supposed to be a kinda' dark city (as in the first one, wich was better),
The whole movie was a 7... The two first hours were 8.5-9. It was lenghty and at the end, I was bored after having been amazed by the beginning.
Plus, Gotham is supposed to be a kinda' dark city (as in the first one, wich was better), but in this one, it looks like... downtown Chicago at noon.
It's an overated movie, but still a good one. Anyone seeking entertainment should go and watch this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamuelJohnsonFeb 12, 2009
The attempt at setting a darker tone is only achieved through an incredible performance by Ledger. It should be noted that Nolan is inadequate in delivering the true tone that Burton instilled in both of his films e.g. Batman himself lookedThe attempt at setting a darker tone is only achieved through an incredible performance by Ledger. It should be noted that Nolan is inadequate in delivering the true tone that Burton instilled in both of his films e.g. Batman himself looked darker in Batman & Batman Returns. Nolan throws in way too much philosophy, which is mediocre and lacking in metaphysic... to be frank, the second time through I was literally looking at my watch, waiting for the film to be over. I would only watch the film once, but I recommend the film to those who are obsessed with the psychotic; then again, I as well find interest in the subject however I found The Crow, American Psycho, and the first Batman to be much better and less cliche in their approach to presenting such character. From an avid film connoisseur, the film could have been so much better, and it is highly over rated, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aqibK.Feb 18, 2009
Not a boring scene in the film, it flows like clock work great preformances alll round and a near perfect script with a over 5 great quotes and the greatest super hero villan battle in history to add to it . What more do you want?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nickiw.Feb 2, 2009
Simply put, a masterpiece of modern cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJ.Feb 8, 2009
The best film since LOTR.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TFMar 10, 2009
Excellent movie that felt dark and gritty but still contained a message of hope. Ledger was quite good, but so was Morgan Freeman and the rest of the cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
caltomzApr 26, 2009
Excellent. The writing was so clever, and ledger put on maybe the greatest villan performance of all time. What a tradgic death he had. The Dark Knight's newest member, Harvey Dent, was a big factor in the film. It's intensity gets Excellent. The writing was so clever, and ledger put on maybe the greatest villan performance of all time. What a tradgic death he had. The Dark Knight's newest member, Harvey Dent, was a big factor in the film. It's intensity gets your heart pounding out of your chest! The best Batman film by a mile, and probably the best superhero film. The Dark Knight is DA BOMB!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyZApr 5, 2009
Heath Ledger was amazing in this movie! The action was great and the acting was great! Great plot and story too! One of my favorite movies I've seen!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackieKillerKilledJackieJun 13, 2009
This is my favorite movie. It's the best movie ever made. It's much darker than "Batman Begins" and features superb performances by Christian Bale (he's 110% Batman), Heath Ledger (the modern and slightly more insane Joker) This is my favorite movie. It's the best movie ever made. It's much darker than "Batman Begins" and features superb performances by Christian Bale (he's 110% Batman), Heath Ledger (the modern and slightly more insane Joker) and Aaron Eckhart (the terrifying Two-Face). I'm so happy that Christopher Nolan shows Gotham City in it's true, dark nature with his movies and let us all forget the AWFUL past (the old Batman movies). This is really a great movie and everyone should really watch it - and Jackie C., if you say that shit again, I'm gonna hunt you down and rip your fucking head off, you piece of shit and fucking punk..! Jackie C. I don't think that you have a live, when you talk shit about this masterpiece, so I will send you 2 dollars, so you can buy one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KillSwitchJun 15, 2009
How stupid and juvenile do you have to be to Rate this film a 0? Seriously people, the extent to which some of you try to perpetuate any kind of false "backlash" is pathetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenjoEJan 4, 2010
Perfect - the best action film of all time. Nolan crafts absolute good and evil, the epically evil joker and the epically good Batman and Fox and gang, and documents their battle for Harvey Dent and the people of Gotham whom he represents. Perfect - the best action film of all time. Nolan crafts absolute good and evil, the epically evil joker and the epically good Batman and Fox and gang, and documents their battle for Harvey Dent and the people of Gotham whom he represents. This isn't a story of character development so much as an epic struggle that is played out with incredible intensity and thrilling action. No other film attempting to do anything of the sort has attained the level that The Dark Knight has. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianS.Apr 14, 2010
The best batman movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TomB.Nov 1, 2008
How could it possibly be that all of those people and critics ignore or accept the ridiculousness of this movie with its impossible moments and aspects and a serious young guy dressed as a bat?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeekS.Nov 10, 2008
Truly amazing, sound and visuals make this movie one of the best ever. Astounding production with breath-taking performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkNov 16, 2008
By far the best comic book film to date. Not too many special effects. Excellent acting, especially from Ledger. Amazing score. Very dark and haunting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFOct 17, 2008
One of the best movies I've seen in a while. A great capture of the Dark Knight series of illustrated books, exceptionally-acted and brilliantly filmed. Not a film for your young children though due to graphic violence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterCOct 18, 2008
Heath Ledgers performance in this must see movie was amazing i seen this movie twice in the cinema just to see Heath perform. Best Super Hero movie of 2008. Acting, story, script & settings all very good. Must see movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LordW.Dec 12, 2008
The Best Batman I have ever seen. Good filming good athmosphear Greats Actor A must to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveSDec 10, 2008
Shakespearean is the first word that comes to mind when I see this film. Although I think the acting is all excellent and writing far above average I think Heath Ledger's performance should be considered not as a best supporting actor Shakespearean is the first word that comes to mind when I see this film. Although I think the acting is all excellent and writing far above average I think Heath Ledger's performance should be considered not as a best supporting actor but as a Best Actor even though his character is supporting. You can't take your eyes off him whem he's onscreen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewLDec 15, 2008
with the phenomenal performance of heath ledger and again by gary oldman the sequel to batman begins didnt cease to amaze me, not in the slightest. thinking i'd only watch the ledger parts from the blu-ray disc, i ended up watching thewith the phenomenal performance of heath ledger and again by gary oldman the sequel to batman begins didnt cease to amaze me, not in the slightest. thinking i'd only watch the ledger parts from the blu-ray disc, i ended up watching the entire thing start to finish - it truly is a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CP.Oct 22, 2008
What an excellent film. Full of twists and turns that you would not see coming. It is epic in every sense and the worst part is the end as you really do not want the movie to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonH.Dec 25, 2008
The movie has some good ideas however did not make sense way the Joker was kept alive for so long. The movie did not have to be so long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyMDec 31, 2008
Perhaps it was because of how much it was hyped, perhaps it's because I saw the movie late and missed out on the excitement, but I felt that this film was not quite as good as it perhaps should have been. It had all the elements of a Perhaps it was because of how much it was hyped, perhaps it's because I saw the movie late and missed out on the excitement, but I felt that this film was not quite as good as it perhaps should have been. It had all the elements of a superhero movie but had a tendency towards pretention. Heath Ledger's turn as the Joker is particularly overrated and since when did Batman have to talk like the Cookie Monster all the time? It was worth a watch but ultimately could have been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkKDec 30, 2008
Quiet simply the best Batman film ever made. Everything from acting to film making is at it's peak here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicolasR.Oct 26, 2008
Excellent movie, and a master piece, although it was not made for pop culture who doesnt understand a modern Hamlet and go out to a cinema to find a HSM movie, that wasnt too long for their disney chanel movie style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeeB.Dec 8, 2008
Worth watching just for the hospital bit. Ledger really carries this film (Best bit about it) but the rest of the cast do their part. Sure you could pick the plot apart into a holey mess but that'd be taking away the excitement of the Worth watching just for the hospital bit. Ledger really carries this film (Best bit about it) but the rest of the cast do their part. Sure you could pick the plot apart into a holey mess but that'd be taking away the excitement of the Joker single-handedly tearing Gotham City apart And the hospital bit! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielA.Jul 10, 2008
Awesome. I haven't even seen it yet. How can't it be awesome? This is the movie of the summer mang!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeF.Jul 10, 2008
Perhaps the greatest superhero movie ever made. Heath Ledgers joker is enthralling and very intense. Bravo Nolan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MosesP.Jul 14, 2008
It keeps you on the edge of your seat!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RetnuhB.Jul 14, 2008
This film is incredible, this is not only the best comic book film of ever, Its also the best film of the last 10 years. Every member of the cast played their role perfectly (not just Heath who was brilliant) and this only aided what was an This film is incredible, this is not only the best comic book film of ever, Its also the best film of the last 10 years. Every member of the cast played their role perfectly (not just Heath who was brilliant) and this only aided what was an incredible script that was brought to life with great care by Chris Nolan. Watch this movie the first chance u get, once you do you will want to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshE.Jul 15, 2008
I can honestly say that the New York critics can fornicate themselves with an iron rod. The sheer power of this film topples every other comic book adaptation off the movie pile. Heath Ledger turns in the most astonishing movie villain since I can honestly say that the New York critics can fornicate themselves with an iron rod. The sheer power of this film topples every other comic book adaptation off the movie pile. Heath Ledger turns in the most astonishing movie villain since Schindler's List's Amon Goeth and Christian Bale matches him in every respect. Don't listen to the New Yorkers. They're just upset because the film was set in Chicago. SEE THIS FILM!!! Although at 150 minutes, it was somewhat of a drag. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonV.Jul 15, 2008
Simply amazing, i say give it the best picture Oscar, its up there with no country and the departed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bradsmithJul 16, 2008
Probably the best comic book movie of all time. It is sad that three critics ( new yorker, new york, and austin chronicle don't get the movie and drag down the score).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattmanJul 16, 2008
Saw it at an advance imax screening Tuesday night. Unbelievable. Amazing performances by the cast all around, especially Ledger's unforgettable Joker. Oscar worthy to say the least. Story is fantastic and is a real treat for comic book Saw it at an advance imax screening Tuesday night. Unbelievable. Amazing performances by the cast all around, especially Ledger's unforgettable Joker. Oscar worthy to say the least. Story is fantastic and is a real treat for comic book fans and nonfans alike. Feels like a crime drama even more than a superhero movie. Excellent. You must see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamD.Jul 16, 2008
This is an excellent dark and intense movie. It goes where every other comic book/superhero movie wouldn't go. It is an intense crime drama and may not be suitable for 8 year olds like spiderman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnestK.Jul 16, 2008
Dark Knight is a magnificent showcase of what a Hollywood Summer Blockbuster should be. Dark Knight is smart, witty, and knowledgeable in its execution. Nolan has done a great job in squeezing every ounce of talent from the all-star cast of Dark Knight is a magnificent showcase of what a Hollywood Summer Blockbuster should be. Dark Knight is smart, witty, and knowledgeable in its execution. Nolan has done a great job in squeezing every ounce of talent from the all-star cast of Bale, Ledger, Eckhart, Maggie, Oldman, Freeman, etc. Definitely lives up to all the hype, and I would not be surprised if it received an Oscar nomination in best picture and supporting actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreasK.Jul 17, 2008
Genre defying masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyW.Jul 17, 2008
I saw this movie two days before its release, at a special pre-screening. Now, just this one fact should tell you how great this movie was: not once did any of the people in the (full) theater talk. Everyone was too busy watching the I saw this movie two days before its release, at a special pre-screening. Now, just this one fact should tell you how great this movie was: not once did any of the people in the (full) theater talk. Everyone was too busy watching the action--and the drama, and the humor. Great performances from everyone, and Maggie Gyllenhaal is a great improvement over Katie Holmes (no slight to her, she just wasn't right for the role.) There are a few clichés (becoming like your enemy, chaos vs. order) but even those just add to the complexity and scope of the story. Honestly, if you want a movie that combines top-notch action, black humor, tragedy, romance, and just about every other genre into an unnervingly realistic whole, you can't beat the Dark Night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigG.Jul 17, 2008
The Dark Knight really conveys how a psycho like the Joker would actually behave in real life and passes on philosophy that can be related to our society today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenT.Jul 17, 2008
A movie which rips out your thoughts and ideals of what the real consequences would be behind the actions of a "hero" and the morals and vulnerabilities of the cities they protect. An intense cinema experience made all the more watchable by A movie which rips out your thoughts and ideals of what the real consequences would be behind the actions of a "hero" and the morals and vulnerabilities of the cities they protect. An intense cinema experience made all the more watchable by one of the best performances that my generation will likely ever see. There will never be another joker! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Jul 17, 2008
This movie really was amazing. I know everyone has been saying how amazing Heath Ledger is in this movie and they were right. He actually manages to make the Joker scary, unpredictable yet still humorous in a twisted way. I truly do believe This movie really was amazing. I know everyone has been saying how amazing Heath Ledger is in this movie and they were right. He actually manages to make the Joker scary, unpredictable yet still humorous in a twisted way. I truly do believe that he may have been the best villain in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HilaryJul 18, 2008
Great movie, too bad Heath Ledger died. Christian Bale is great as usual. Aaron Eckhart turns in a great performance. The movie was pretty much fantastic, if a little long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayM.Jul 18, 2008
Overall, the movie is great. It's dark, very mature, without having to be graphic or profane. I've always thought that great movies don't need to have excessive violence or language in order to be a good movie, and The Dark Overall, the movie is great. It's dark, very mature, without having to be graphic or profane. I've always thought that great movies don't need to have excessive violence or language in order to be a good movie, and The Dark Knight proves this point to be true. The reason I am not rating this movie 10 is because the ending really took a slow turn. The last 10 minutes or so really slowed the action down to a crawl. The ending really didn't leave you wanting more, it just kind of "ended". I would highly recommend you go see The Dark Knight, but you've probably already seen it, or are on your way now, so you don't need me telling you that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CourtS.Jul 18, 2008
In my opinion, one of the best movies I have ever seen. It's up there along with the original Jurassic Park, and Independence Day. Ledger does possibly the best acting I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottV.Jul 18, 2008
Heath Ledger put on an Oscar-winning performance and really made his character, the Joker, come alive. And, of course, Christen Bale and Michael Kain were brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielS.Jul 18, 2008
The NY Times review has it right when it compares this film with Zodiac. Both dark and enthralling. But the DK is highly superior and lived to its hype more that I could ever expected. It blew my mind and Heath's performance like the The NY Times review has it right when it compares this film with Zodiac. Both dark and enthralling. But the DK is highly superior and lived to its hype more that I could ever expected. It blew my mind and Heath's performance like the movie was just stunning. This is a serious art film that just happens to have comic book characters. You could feel the energy in the air while watching it. Everyone around me was gasping for air and thrilled to be watching such spectacle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatarinaM.Jul 18, 2008
A 10 + For Heath Ledger This film was dynamic and on the edge of your seat exhilarating .I can understand how this character would be tough to get out of his subconscious.I truly enjoyed the well thought intensity of this film.And Arron A 10 + For Heath Ledger This film was dynamic and on the edge of your seat exhilarating .I can understand how this character would be tough to get out of his subconscious.I truly enjoyed the well thought intensity of this film.And Arron Eckhart was incredible also!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PrestonM.Jul 18, 2008
Ledger was amazing as the Joker, and the movie dared to be unconventional in the fact that it let people die, and it let the "good guy's" appearance be less than immaculate. Though it seemed to have enough plot for two movies, I feel Ledger was amazing as the Joker, and the movie dared to be unconventional in the fact that it let people die, and it let the "good guy's" appearance be less than immaculate. Though it seemed to have enough plot for two movies, I feel that this installment was so triumphant in achieving everything it wanted, it should be the cemented end of the saga. Trying to top this would be a set up for failure, and ending it would be a great memorial to Ledger, who was amazing in this, and deserves a posthumous Oscar for best supporting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJ.Jul 18, 2008
This movie was better than Tim Burton's Batman. Heath Ledger was amazing. Personally, i think he would've made Alan Moore and Frank Miller either pleased or proud, thus why people speculate if he should get an Oscar. One great This movie was better than Tim Burton's Batman. Heath Ledger was amazing. Personally, i think he would've made Alan Moore and Frank Miller either pleased or proud, thus why people speculate if he should get an Oscar. One great thing Nolan did about this movie, he didn't revisit Batman's origin (death of his parents). He just moved on with the story. That's why the other bat sequels stank, they look back into origins TOO much. This was a fantastic film. and if you miss this movie, you would have missed this summer's greatest hit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJul 18, 2008
Went to the Midnight opening. Wow... Wow.. Epic beyond words!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.K.Jul 18, 2008
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeN.Jul 18, 2008
Ledger is great. The movie is a whole is excellent, but perhaps a little lacking in memorably iconic moments. There is also a half hour diversion to China in the middle of the film that seems out of place. Worth seeing. Not really a film for Ledger is great. The movie is a whole is excellent, but perhaps a little lacking in memorably iconic moments. There is also a half hour diversion to China in the middle of the film that seems out of place. Worth seeing. Not really a film for young kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyW.Jul 18, 2008
The Dark Knight very well could be the "BEST" comic book movie ever made, by far the best of the Batman series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianJ.Jul 18, 2008
Outstanding. The only troublesome thing about the entire experience is that there will never be as great a Joker as seen here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobN.Jul 18, 2008
It astounds me that some critics gave this awesome film such poor ratings. Ledger was perfect as Joker. When he showed up, I thought "Finally...they made Joker like everyone truly imagined him." Incredibly dark, philosophical, moving and It astounds me that some critics gave this awesome film such poor ratings. Ledger was perfect as Joker. When he showed up, I thought "Finally...they made Joker like everyone truly imagined him." Incredibly dark, philosophical, moving and cool. Nolan is a top notch director. Bale is a top notch actor. Perfect combination. This, ladies and gentleman, is the real Batman, the real Joker, another Batman film (Begins as well) done with justice to the character and ethos of the comic and graphic comics in mind. The other Batman films were horrible and horribly PC. Batman has never been PC. Which is why some critics of biased liberal idiotic "journals" do not like it. This is why this film will make tons of dough. Not because Heath died, but because Batman rocks, and the Joker is the ultimate agent of chaos. Go see it now (don't bring your kids though). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickeyD.Jul 18, 2008
How some of the critics gave this anything under a 95 is beyond me. The Dark Knight is everything a movie should be, and then some. It is a movie that is so good, that it has single-handedly changed movie making for the rest of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnPJul 18, 2008
The best movie of the year so far. The best superhero movie of all time. The best sequel ever. Heath kicks Jacks ass as the Joker. Long live the Batman !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessEJul 18, 2008
The real star of "the Dark Knight" is Aaron Eckhart who gives an outstanding performance as Harvey Dent. Ledger is very good as the Joker but Maggie Gyllanhaal could have stayed home and she would not have being missed. Overall the film and The real star of "the Dark Knight" is Aaron Eckhart who gives an outstanding performance as Harvey Dent. Ledger is very good as the Joker but Maggie Gyllanhaal could have stayed home and she would not have being missed. Overall the film and the story is murky and muddled with too many fast cut edits and twists and leaves a lot to be desired. Overhyped and overpraised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonC.Jul 18, 2008
Best movie I have seen in years and is also now my favorite Batman movie. That was previously hard to attain since Mask of the Phantasm. I felt drained afterwards because of all the tension. It was almost as intense as watching Saving Private Ryan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergioP.Jul 18, 2008
Batman has never been better on screen. Joker is really amazing. Caos. Only the gadgets are lame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RedJul 18, 2008
The Joker's calling card may be that of a joker, but this movie rises above to be an ace. It steps outside the realm of a cliché 'comic book movie.' Dark Knight offers the viewer action, suspense, drama. Story lines are The Joker's calling card may be that of a joker, but this movie rises above to be an ace. It steps outside the realm of a cliché 'comic book movie.' Dark Knight offers the viewer action, suspense, drama. Story lines are interwoven and you feel immersed in movie with the ability to connect to the characters. Of which all the leading performances are presented flawlessly. Heath Ledger's Joker stands out gripping the viewer from the beginning. Nolan has truly raised the bar for this genre, and we can only hope Gotham will call upon Batman again for a third installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NancyHJul 18, 2008
The moral dilemma and how far does one get pushed before falling into the abyss? Ledger was brilliant and only underscores the loss of such an amazing talent. Bale,Ekhart, Oldman, Caine, et al equally stood up to their roles. My only The moral dilemma and how far does one get pushed before falling into the abyss? Ledger was brilliant and only underscores the loss of such an amazing talent. Bale,Ekhart, Oldman, Caine, et al equally stood up to their roles. My only complaint was that it was a tad long to get to the punch line. Excellent all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanFJul 18, 2008
Awesome. Heath Ledger is unreal. it's such a shame that he died because he would have had an incredible career. this movie is one hell of a ride, and ledger as the joker practically fuels the fire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonJul 18, 2008
An incredible movie. Heath Ledger did a more than outstanding job as the Joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielF.Jul 18, 2008
Ok, I'm a big skeptic when it comes to Hollywood. I'm of the opinion that 95% of what they produce is garbage. i even expected to be disappointed by this movie, I've never been a heath ledger fan, and i tend to not believe the Ok, I'm a big skeptic when it comes to Hollywood. I'm of the opinion that 95% of what they produce is garbage. i even expected to be disappointed by this movie, I've never been a heath ledger fan, and i tend to not believe the hype, ever. but this is for real. it doesn't feel like you're watching an actor, it feels like they busted some psycho out of prison and put him in a movie. it just doesn't seem possible that this is the same guy that was in "10 things i hate about you." overall the movie has some issues, it might have been too ambitious for a 2-3 hour movie. Maggie Gyllenhall is forgettable, and there are a few silly cliches that remind you that this is a comic book movie. this isn't a perfect movie, but ledger gives a perfect performance. It's just plain creepy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeJul 18, 2008
It's a shame we will never get to see another villain like this. This was the best movie of the year, hands down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanMJul 18, 2008
This movie was much more than I had expected, and greater than anything I could've wanted from a Batman movie. The character development was just phenomenal and I couldn't believe how well Heath Ledger played the role of the Joker. This movie was much more than I had expected, and greater than anything I could've wanted from a Batman movie. The character development was just phenomenal and I couldn't believe how well Heath Ledger played the role of the Joker. He was simply disturbing, sadistic, and at some points quite comical even if the situation was gruesome. This movie definitely deserves all praise it receives, this is a movie I will go to again just because I can't wait for this to come out on dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanO.Jul 18, 2008
I give this a 9.5 but still this movie rocks I love the JOcker almost as much as BATMAN and the action is wicked there is not enoth WORDS to describe this MOVIE this movie is the best of the BEST this YEAR SO go see it and stop READING this!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyM.Jul 18, 2008
Simply put: it will leave you speechless. Disturbingly terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrahamE.Jul 18, 2008
Magnificent performances all around (excluding Gyllenhaal) with a story that never drags. Every time the movie seems to be heading toward a lull it picks right back up and throws you back into the mix. Heath Ledger completely redefines the Magnificent performances all around (excluding Gyllenhaal) with a story that never drags. Every time the movie seems to be heading toward a lull it picks right back up and throws you back into the mix. Heath Ledger completely redefines the Joker into the maniacal anarchist he had the potential to become. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeCardCardJul 18, 2008
I went into this movie with some of the highest expectations I've ever had for a film. I left realizing I was shocked, it totally and completely lived up to all of them. In fact, it actually surpassed them. To put it bluntly, The Dark I went into this movie with some of the highest expectations I've ever had for a film. I left realizing I was shocked, it totally and completely lived up to all of them. In fact, it actually surpassed them. To put it bluntly, The Dark Knight is one of the closest things I've seen to a perfect film to come out of American cinema in years. Everything about it pushes boundaries of its genre and every superhero film that comes out from now on will be compared to this one. Every performance is spot on. Christian Bale pulls off Bruce Wayne again which is something that I was a little worried he might try to change up but I'm happy to say he nailed it again. Michael Caine is awesome (but then again when is he not). I was skeptical to whether or not Heath Ledger was going to really be as good as the hype and let me just say: YES he was INCREDIBLE. I don't know how to pull it off but his Joker literally terrified me and at the same time made me laugh. I can't really explain it its something that must be seen and I can definitely say that he does deserve an Oscar nomination for his role. The role of the Joker is terrifying just by itself and when Ledger steps in and adds an almost likable side to him its almost disturbing. You don't want to laugh at the man in a clown suit making Jokes because he's also doing horrible things to people. Aaron Eckhart is also awesome in this as Harvey Dent and definitely deserves to be mentioned. The writing is top notch and at this point I want Nolan to take the Batman franchise wherever he wants and he clearly knows where he wants to go. The story takes every plothole and cliche from superhero films and fixes them. It's well paced, never boring and most of all you always are left wanting to know what happens next. I don't have a complaint. This is not the Batman you've always known. This is something new, yet still the same. I've never seen a film reinvent something like this. This doesn't feel like some crazy superhero story that takes place somewhere else. For the first time it almost feels real. The danger feels real, that's where this movie really starts to come into its own and it becomes something more than a superhero movie. The action was top notch and there are some truly badass scenes. To sum it up: not only is this the best superhero film EVER MADE, but its also one of the best films I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RepairmanJul 18, 2008
One of the most satisfying mixtures of both cinematic escapism and intellectual art I have ever come across in the world of cinema. The fact that it is based on a childish lore, has nothing and everything to do with this complex dichotomy of One of the most satisfying mixtures of both cinematic escapism and intellectual art I have ever come across in the world of cinema. The fact that it is based on a childish lore, has nothing and everything to do with this complex dichotomy of everything that is life, cinema and human, all mixed into one. This movie, while exposing the multiple levels of duality in each one of us, also inspires us to be better, think better, while challenging the very notion of good vs. bad in the first place. It is nothing short of a modern masterpiece, and I am certain history will prove it as such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EthanD.Jul 18, 2008
Just got back from this movie, and it is utterly terrific. Agreed that the cell phone sonar thing doesn't make sense, and agreed that the end was a minor let down, but that's only in comparison the the hours of ass-kicking action Just got back from this movie, and it is utterly terrific. Agreed that the cell phone sonar thing doesn't make sense, and agreed that the end was a minor let down, but that's only in comparison the the hours of ass-kicking action that precede it. Go see this movie, for the love of God. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoKerJul 18, 2008
I went in expecting something the equal to Batman Begins. I absolutely loved the prequel to this movie, and figured that they might just top it with this next movie. Coming back, I'm stunned when thinking that Heath Ledger was the I went in expecting something the equal to Batman Begins. I absolutely loved the prequel to this movie, and figured that they might just top it with this next movie. Coming back, I'm stunned when thinking that Heath Ledger was the Joker. I apologize for rudeness, but I truly wondered whether he could pull it off, given his past work. As it turns out, his performance was nothing less than spectacular, easily topping Jack Nicholson's performance of Joker from 1989. I can honestly say that I cringed, laughed, and stood in awe of this latest rendition of Joker. Somehow, this movie went back to the basics of Hero and Villain more than any movie I've yet seen. The entirety of Batman's and Joker's characters were actually based around the morality that they stood for, rather than their ability to physically wreak havoc. Its not that they were lack luster in that respect. You just get so much more drawn into the moral dilemmas they must face. I give this movie a "10" only because there is no other way to express the genius of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexB.Jul 18, 2008
This movie is amazing. It's a SuperHero movie with huge morals and wonderful grace, with superb acting, the latter conceding to everyone, not just the fantastic Heath Ledger, brilliant direction, top of the line action, and a dark, even This movie is amazing. It's a SuperHero movie with huge morals and wonderful grace, with superb acting, the latter conceding to everyone, not just the fantastic Heath Ledger, brilliant direction, top of the line action, and a dark, even sadistic realism that it seems some critics can't bare. The only shame I can feel for this movie is how underappreciated it will be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveKJul 18, 2008
Smarter than any superhero movie deserves to be. This is a great movie with so much more depth than a summer blockbuster deserves. A great great film. More story and themes (translate: slower) than some in the ADD generation can tolerate (at Smarter than any superhero movie deserves to be. This is a great movie with so much more depth than a summer blockbuster deserves. A great great film. More story and themes (translate: slower) than some in the ADD generation can tolerate (at times, at least), but if you like your movies epic, if you appreciate movies with depth, and you even remotely like Batman, this is a must-see, but you didn't need me to tell you that. The Joker adds an unnerving, edge-of-the-seat unpredictability to this movie that you so rarely see in superhero movies and well, any movie nowadays. It cannot be understated that Heath Ledger is brilliant. The only negative I can see is that I honestly don't know where they can go from here? How do you top this? What other Batman villain can hold a candle to the Joker (especially this masterful portrayal of the iconic villain that for obvious reasons cannot be reprised)? I almost wish that they don't make another one just because this one is so damn good and the next one will almost certainly be a disappointment with the standard set so impossibly high. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zeppyrkrJul 18, 2008
Utterly amazing, films don't get any better then this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Jul 18, 2008
What can I say? read just about any other review and you'll have my opinion. It's just a crying shame that Ledger can't reprise this roll. Also I want to say "I was wrong". I was one of those who thought he was going to ruin What can I say? read just about any other review and you'll have my opinion. It's just a crying shame that Ledger can't reprise this roll. Also I want to say "I was wrong". I was one of those who thought he was going to ruin the part before I'd actually seen footage of him in character. His take was equal to Nicholson's, though completely different in tone. A Perfect 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RCRJul 19, 2008
This is the treatment Batman has always deserved; Blurred moral boundaries and unapologetic villainy. Ledger's Joker exudes maddness and is the pinnacle of a pyschotic portrait. All facets of this gem are flawless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristianP.Jul 19, 2008
Great nuances keep you interested. although it's long, i never got bored -- whether it was action movie stuff, the acting of the wonderful cast, the interesting turn in the music and audio editing, or the overall mood. wonderful,Great nuances keep you interested. although it's long, i never got bored -- whether it was action movie stuff, the acting of the wonderful cast, the interesting turn in the music and audio editing, or the overall mood. wonderful, wonderful film that puts other comic book movies to shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanA.Jul 19, 2008
This is not only the best Batman movie ever. But also the best movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelD.Jul 19, 2008
Truelly brilliant, not just the best Batman movie ever. But also one of the best movies made in at least 20 years. Ledger owns the Joker part and deserves every known movie award there is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanF.Jul 19, 2008
It couldn't have been more satisfying unless it was 5 hours long. I can think of 12 critics who are factually wrong, and I'm not sure if it'll ever set in that Heath Ledger's gone, because how can he be?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Jul 19, 2008
Easily the best movie based on a comic. A real movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothyD.Jul 19, 2008
Heaths performace is suberb. Some of the Best acting ive ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertsA.Jul 19, 2008
EVEN BETTER THAN THE HYPE The Dark Knight (TDK) on IMAX may be one of the best films I have ever seen ... up until the third act of the film. This is not to say the third act of the film isn't good, however. It is just familiar for fans EVEN BETTER THAN THE HYPE The Dark Knight (TDK) on IMAX may be one of the best films I have ever seen ... up until the third act of the film. This is not to say the third act of the film isn't good, however. It is just familiar for fans of comic books films. The film's excellent performances, including Mr. Ledger's transformation into the role of the Joker, match the skill of the writers and producers of the film. Mr. Nolan vision and expansion of the world of Batman are breathtaking ... and a welcome change from earlier comic book adaptations. While many audience members will be drawn in to see the film out of morbid curiosity after Mr. Ledger's untimely death, I expect many will see it as a celebration of fine acting and enjoy the movie as one of the best films of the year ... if not decade. Regardless of why you go see the movie, TDK is a must see for those who love movies and what the profession of acting can offer us, which is pure entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShaunM.Jul 19, 2008
Completely overrated. Very good however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaB.Jul 19, 2008
Awesome installment in the iconic Batman franchise. Christan Bale is pitch perfect as cocky, twisted in his own way Bruce Wayne. The Joker is sociopathic and fleshed out by Heath Ledger like no one before him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattA.Jul 19, 2008
I went in with mild expectations when seeing the dark knight. I admit to liking the lore of batman, but i wasn't the hugest fan of the first film (begins). This movie, however, blew me away in a way that was not expected. The characters I went in with mild expectations when seeing the dark knight. I admit to liking the lore of batman, but i wasn't the hugest fan of the first film (begins). This movie, however, blew me away in a way that was not expected. The characters were very well developed, and their pains and ambitions seeped through their performance. Batman and Harvey are two men who are affected by the same problem in totally different ways, and the inevitable conclusion follows. I don't say that i'll go and see a movie twice often, but i believe this one deserves it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Jul 19, 2008
-1 for Maggie G, her acting was fine, she is not attractive enough for the role. Look at the tail that Bruce is with in other parts of the movie. Katie Holmes was more believable in the role. Other than that the movie was excellent, half way -1 for Maggie G, her acting was fine, she is not attractive enough for the role. Look at the tail that Bruce is with in other parts of the movie. Katie Holmes was more believable in the role. Other than that the movie was excellent, half way through it didn't even feel like a superhero/comic book movie. More like a psychological thriller with a terrorist twist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CurtisL.Jul 19, 2008
Very entertaining. Since everyone is heaping nothing but praise i will change it up. Three things that i did not like. 1.Honestly how was this movie only pg-13. i mean i know why, because it make more money that way, but seriously, this Very entertaining. Since everyone is heaping nothing but praise i will change it up. Three things that i did not like. 1.Honestly how was this movie only pg-13. i mean i know why, because it make more money that way, but seriously, this movie was extremely violent. I am no prude, but pg 13, really? The magic trick with the pencil should have made it R let alone the rest of the brutal violence. 2. I did not like the ending. Dent should have shot the boy, it was corny to have batman save him. i am no weirdo, but it seems like the 3 "knight" all should have lost someone, bruce and harvey lost rachel, but gordon did not have to suffer at all. I just thought with the way the movie was going it would have been more true to the story to have the kid get shot. 3. Maggie Gyllenhal is a terrible actor. thank god her character was killed off because i think she could have singlehandedly destroyed everyone elses performance through the poor quality of her own. That being said all of the other actors put in great performances. the two and half hours was over too soon for me and left me wanting more. great film, i hope they do not make a third because they cannot top this, especially considering they cannot bring back the joker character considering ledger's cowardly death. That's right i said it, overdosing on drugs is not a tragedy, it is a diservice to people who do die tragically to put a drug addicts death on the same level Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HollyCJul 19, 2008
Excellent film --starts off beautifully--- a tad too much fat in the middle, but ends brilliantly. As others have said, this film really elevates the "superhero genre" to real drama---like Lord of the Rings did in a way. The cast was a big Excellent film --starts off beautifully--- a tad too much fat in the middle, but ends brilliantly. As others have said, this film really elevates the "superhero genre" to real drama---like Lord of the Rings did in a way. The cast was a big part of that-- Ledger, Ekhart, Bale & Gyllenhaal (much preferred over Holmes) were absolutely solid, with perhaps Ledger outshining a bit. But he really did have the most to prove given the iconic Joker Nicholson created---and Ledger totally hit it out of the park and then some. This is just a great tragic drama---one of the better films I've seen this year. Had they tightened up the middle a bit, I would say this was almost a perfect film. Even saying that though, run and see this thing in theaters--definitely worth the price of admission (& to see some particularly great action scenes as they were meant to be seen). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveO.Jul 19, 2008
I loved it. Blows away every superhero movie ever made pretty much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ASJul 19, 2008
This movie was absolutely god damn awesome! Easily the best movie I've gone to see at the theaters in AGES and it was worth every cent! MUCH better than Batman Begins. The action was non stop. Brilliant acting and my god did Heath This movie was absolutely god damn awesome! Easily the best movie I've gone to see at the theaters in AGES and it was worth every cent! MUCH better than Batman Begins. The action was non stop. Brilliant acting and my god did Heath Ledger deliver an absolutely convincing and amazing performance. Throughout the whole movie it actually made me somewhat sad as I was seeing how well he portrayed the Joker knowing that he won't be returning in future Batman movies which is an immense shame. I know he'll get an Oscar for this because his performance was FLAWLESS and he was definitely the standout in this movie. Even if he was still alive he'd still be the standout. Batman seemed to be in the shadows a bit in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonS.Jul 19, 2008
Oh my damn! I went into this movie already with high expectations, as many of my co-workers saw the midnight showing), and "The Dark Knight," still managed to surpass them. This is the greatest Batman film I have seen, one of the greatest Oh my damn! I went into this movie already with high expectations, as many of my co-workers saw the midnight showing), and "The Dark Knight," still managed to surpass them. This is the greatest Batman film I have seen, one of the greatest action movies I have ever seen, as well as one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. "The Dark Knight," receives an all too well deserved 10 from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful