Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 3832 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Batman raises the stakes in his war on crime. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to dismantle the remaining criminal organizations that plague the city streets. The partnership proves to be effective, but they soon find themselves prey toBatman raises the stakes in his war on crime. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to dismantle the remaining criminal organizations that plague the city streets. The partnership proves to be effective, but they soon find themselves prey to reign of chaos unleashed by a rising criminal mastermind known to the terrified citizens of Gotham as the Joker. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Dinning
    100
    Ledger's performance is monumental, but The Dark Knight lives up to it. Nolan cements his position as Hollywood's premier purveyor of blockbuster smarts – and the Batbike is kinda cool, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    100
    When was the last time you saw a blockbuster that was impeccably executed and simultaneously thought-provoking, audacious and unnerving while consistently being fun and entertaining?
  3. Bale again brilliantly personifies all the deep traumas and misgivings of Batman's alter ego, Bruce Wayne. A bit of Hamlet is in this Batman.
  4. 90
    The Dark Knight may not be a masterpiece, but it easily vaults to the top of any list of "best superhero movies."
  5. 88
    The highest praise I can give a superhero movie is that it makes me forget about its 10-cent-comic-book soul.
  6. An action blockbuster extravaganza that's sadder than sad and never pretends otherwise.
  7. 50
    The Dark Knight is hardly routine--it has a kicky sadism in scene after scene, which keeps you on edge and sends you out onto the street with post-movie stress disorder.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how goodI don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how good this film is, then watch it, and then talk to me. And don't even get me started on people saying, "People like it just because Heath Ledger died!" Again, pretend as though he didn't die, watch his performance again, and then come talk to me. An outstanding performance by anyone who was ever involved in this film. Expand
  2. ErlantzJ.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    Incredibly well done movie, with great action, better casting and good plot. I love this movie, dark like the real batman, gray like the real Incredibly well done movie, with great action, better casting and good plot. I love this movie, dark like the real batman, gray like the real life. I can't stop thinking in Joker's character. It's a pitty we won't see him again. Expand
  3. KevinSlaten
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Spot on. Actually, beyond my expectations. One of the few long movies that requires the time to tell the story well and that seems to go bySpot on. Actually, beyond my expectations. One of the few long movies that requires the time to tell the story well and that seems to go by quickly. The complexities of the sotry and characters is wonderful. Let's see if this Batman series can keep the next movie(s) up to *this* par! Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Best movies I've seen in this year 2012 is Looper and batman the dark knight rises ,my all time favorite movie's are The Godfather (1972)Best movies I've seen in this year 2012 is Looper and batman the dark knight rises ,my all time favorite movie's are The Godfather (1972) .Taxi Driver (1976). Carrie (1976). Scarface (1983). GoodFellas (1990) . Raging Bull (1980) .Casino (1995) there masterpiece movies, what i don't like are the silly remakes why a new carrie movie ? this is the 4th movie carrie the made it's just stupid ,Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie are absolutely perfect ,they both got Oscar nominations out of it, for God sake!. Rest in peace Heath Ledger you will never be forgotten Expand
  5. Hilary
    Jul 18, 2008
    9
    Great movie, too bad Heath Ledger died. Christian Bale is great as usual. Aaron Eckhart turns in a great performance. The movie was pretty Great movie, too bad Heath Ledger died. Christian Bale is great as usual. Aaron Eckhart turns in a great performance. The movie was pretty much fantastic, if a little long. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    Despite being overrated, The Dark Knight shows viewers a strong villain and dark atmosphere. Sadly, Heath Ledger died postumously to itsDespite being overrated, The Dark Knight shows viewers a strong villain and dark atmosphere. Sadly, Heath Ledger died postumously to its release however, he still earned a Oscar for best supporting actor and cemented himself in film history. Expand
  7. JeffG.
    Jul 21, 2008
    0
    I love dark movies -- Pan's Labyrinth, Apocalypse Now -- but Dark Knight isn't dark: it's sick. If you like horror movies like I love dark movies -- Pan's Labyrinth, Apocalypse Now -- but Dark Knight isn't dark: it's sick. If you like horror movies like Hostel and Saw III, maybe this'll be up your line -- but come on: a cell phone stitched into a guy's stomach and rigged to explode crosses a line for me. There's no point, no message, just sick, disturbing sadism. Expand

See all 1143 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  2. Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels

    Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels Image
    Published: May 6, 2010
    How does "Iron Man 2" compare to the first "Iron Man," and how have other superhero sequels performed in the past?
  3. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."
  4. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.