Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 12, 2008
4.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 222 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
74
Mixed:
65
Negative:
83
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
EpicLadySpongeFeb 22, 2016
The Day the Review Gets In. For such an earthly movie, this one didn't get most of it right. You'll be better off watching the original instead. This remake ends up being still.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
choomtabi31Feb 9, 2016
It was an okay remake. The end was pretty blah. Acting so-so. The secondary characters acted WAY better than the principal ones.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-532-The-Day-the-Earth-Stood-Still-2008-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ChaChaChaiJan 13, 2016
Booooring. Just a collection of stares and very poor dialogue. I think the main actors were overacting, but they were probably trying their best with the awful script. Special effects were not bad for 2008.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SyFyMovieGuySep 1, 2015
6/10
60/100 indicating "mixed or average" review.
The Complementary Science-Fiction Remake of the Science Fiction Classic has Cometh into Theaters on December 12, 2007, granted I haven't seen either in some type of decent cinema screen
6/10
60/100 indicating "mixed or average" review.

The Complementary Science-Fiction Remake of the Science Fiction Classic has Cometh into Theaters on December 12, 2007, granted I haven't seen either in some type of decent cinema screen but I bought both films on Blu-Ray. The cinematography is by David Tattersall, edited by Wayne Wahrman and directed by Scott Derrickson (who previously directed "Hellraiser: Inferno" and "The Exorcism of Emily Rose"). I guess Scott had the proposal to remake the original science fiction classic Robert Wise directed in 1951, back than when the second Red Scare was taking place and color couldn't be seen in films.

I will stop there because I have written a lengthy review for the film and I will soon publish it online in the most creative way imaginable; hopefully soon. You might actually be shocked. I just wanted to give my rating. And there it is! (Look up).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MarickJun 30, 2015
One of the worst movies. I understand that he wants to be a remake and may bring tribute or something. But he never fails to keep me tied to monitor .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
flobob33Oct 25, 2014
That movie had a lot of promises but it didn't keep them... That's it remains in my top 10 most disapointing movies of all time: with bad ending and too many non action sequence. Moreover, the dialogs predicts a lot of cool thing ... butThat movie had a lot of promises but it didn't keep them... That's it remains in my top 10 most disapointing movies of all time: with bad ending and too many non action sequence. Moreover, the dialogs predicts a lot of cool thing ... but nothing of it :-( However, acting is good and the idea of begining is pretty nice :p Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really got a say, I'm having slightly mixed feelings about this movie.

Let's start with the bad: a film like this, with the setting it has about human race's time being OVER is always daring. Did I mention justified? It keeps me wondering, how many times exactly are we going to be given the "second" chance to make ourselves better? After all, it is almost a proven fact that we are not going to stop abusing this planet until there's nothing left to abuse.

On the good note, perhaps this IS the movie that is finally going to show how it's going to end for the human beings? (or not...).

The movie is visually stunning. Also liked the music; it was fitting and not disturbing.

I adored the way they showed the size difference of the sphere compared to the humans and buildings around it. Neat tricks, but really impressive! And did I mention the stunning visual/special effects? So, that was a good setting for the movie.

The plot itself, after the beginning, moved on quickly in plunges. That continued to the very end. Keanu Reeves' role and character were sublime and very "cool". Could be thanks to "Matrix", of course, and the image that has left to our brains...

The only minus is maybe the ending, and necessarily not even that, but the way human race was saved again. The emotional level just didn't do it for me. Klaatu's "realization" came so quick and sudden, and almost as if out of thin air with the sobbing of a mother and son, and what have you. Either way, it shows some hope for us still - even though we may not deserve it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Tib3rianAug 11, 2014
Atypical, but also unprecedently bad film processing, extreme stupidly presented main movie ideas and reasoning between characters on 3th american school grade level. Story almost says nothing logic and someone claim meaning of this movie asAtypical, but also unprecedently bad film processing, extreme stupidly presented main movie ideas and reasoning between characters on 3th american school grade level. Story almost says nothing logic and someone claim meaning of this movie as main positive???!!!!! Well there is original view on invasion-apocalypse theme, unlike Independence Day style, and interesting visual-audio aesthetics. Good acting by main protagonist, and tension, to make people to think about their preferences in live, and about ways of our race. 2/10 for that Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Viper8787Apr 18, 2014
Out of all the movie I have seen in my life this is my least favourite. I have never fallen asleep watching a movie and this one almost had me falling asleep. Nothing interesting happened in it and was so boring. I was actually lookingOut of all the movie I have seen in my life this is my least favourite. I have never fallen asleep watching a movie and this one almost had me falling asleep. Nothing interesting happened in it and was so boring. I was actually looking forward to watching this one but holy was it bad. Don't watch this movie you will not enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeFeb 16, 2014
The Day the Earth Stood Still is a great movie when it comes to action and science fiction, but the story is a little lengthy and the tempo is slow.

This movie got an exiting beginning, and the movie overall felt thrilling. The story is
The Day the Earth Stood Still is a great movie when it comes to action and science fiction, but the story is a little lengthy and the tempo is slow.

This movie got an exiting beginning, and the movie overall felt thrilling. The story is good, and the events in this film really felt logical for form a "human behavior perspective". Another thing that's good is the story, the actors and the special effects, and it's a very unique movie. The bad thing about The Day the Earth Stood Still is that it's a little boring sometimes, and that they could have done the special effects a little better, but also that the tempo is too slow. Another bad thing is the ending, it felt that it was something missing, but overall is this a okay movie to watch, and combined with a good soundtrack is this a good movie, but not more.

The Day the Earth Stood Still gets a 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
The Day the Earth Stood Still had a misleading trailer which shows it being action packed and containing tonnes of special effects. These are all present and visually stunning but also significantly spaced out making it drag and cause yawnsThe Day the Earth Stood Still had a misleading trailer which shows it being action packed and containing tonnes of special effects. These are all present and visually stunning but also significantly spaced out making it drag and cause yawns in-between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellFeb 23, 2013
So I feel that both this version and the 1951 version both have their ups and downs. The 1951 version may look cheap compared to todays standards and the ending left me wanting more, but the acting and believability are extremely high.So I feel that both this version and the 1951 version both have their ups and downs. The 1951 version may look cheap compared to todays standards and the ending left me wanting more, but the acting and believability are extremely high. Fortunately, the 2008 remake retains the believability. The large amount of special effects doesn't make the story of this version less interesting. My eyes remained glued to the screen as I deeply was invested in what the characters would do next. A lot more of the science and the technology of the situation is explained in this version, and putting it in the modern times didn't remove the important plot elements. I think if you enjoyed the 1951 version, you should't have many reasons to hate this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jado818Feb 5, 2013
Never saw the original. I'm judging this film based off other sci-fi I've read and watched. It was an interesting premise that started off decent enough but withing 20 minutes was quickly losing focus. The film nose dives into a terribleNever saw the original. I'm judging this film based off other sci-fi I've read and watched. It was an interesting premise that started off decent enough but withing 20 minutes was quickly losing focus. The film nose dives into a terrible direction and ends in an absurd manner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
avatar16Apr 13, 2012
Quel gâchis! Voilà ce qui m'est venu à l'esprit dès l'apparition du générique final. Gâchis car, franchement, il y avait quelque chose àQuel gâchis! Voilà ce qui m'est venu à l'esprit dès l'apparition du générique final. Gâchis car, franchement, il y avait quelque chose à tirer de ce remake. Tout d'abord, il faut bien avouer que le film a le mérite d'être d'actualité (écologie, famille recomposée...), de proposer un casting pas si catastrophique que ça (Keanu Reeves arrive à rendre utile son jeu toujours aussi fade) et que le compositeur tente d'installer une ambiance adéquate . Malheureusement, le terme de remake hollywoodien se fait grandement sentir : trop de moyens pour rien (pas de punch), effets numériques inégaux, mise en scène sans âme, happy end brutal et indigeste... Bref, c'est loupé malgré que l'ensemble se laisse suivre. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Mar 30, 2012
This movie could have been a whole lot better. The story is way too stupid and with a bunch of big actors nothing comes alive. Keanu Reeves is the worst actor of are generation so he doesn't help. The helicopters weren't even real, what aThis movie could have been a whole lot better. The story is way too stupid and with a bunch of big actors nothing comes alive. Keanu Reeves is the worst actor of are generation so he doesn't help. The helicopters weren't even real, what a cheap movie and it showed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JAM123Aug 5, 2011
Another failed attempt at making a remake of a fantastic classic. I can see where they were going when they got Keanu Reeves to play klatuu. He's your perfect stone faced actor with one expression and he did this part well. But this movieAnother failed attempt at making a remake of a fantastic classic. I can see where they were going when they got Keanu Reeves to play klatuu. He's your perfect stone faced actor with one expression and he did this part well. But this movie failed hard to bring back the classic 1951 film by the same name. This movie for one was rushed and that got me angry. NOT a good movie and do not recommend it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
s3ver14nJun 18, 2011
I've rated this film a 10, not because it deserves a 10, but becaue the average of 4.5 is ridiculous. It was always going to struggle. A remake of a well loved movie that doesn't lend itself to the dumb immediate payback of modern actionI've rated this film a 10, not because it deserves a 10, but becaue the average of 4.5 is ridiculous. It was always going to struggle. A remake of a well loved movie that doesn't lend itself to the dumb immediate payback of modern action movies - it was screwed from the start. Critised for not being the original movie and for not being modern and full of action, or an exact duplicate, it never stood a chance. Actually there are a lot of subtleties to the movie, and the new twist on the old twist is brilliantly delivered; for most of the movie I thought they'd forgotten the movie's name, and yet it turns out to be more poignant than in the original.
Well worth watching if you have half a brain, but I suggest watching the orignal first. The makers of this film did, and it shows.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
tonyGreenNov 26, 2010
This was quite a bit better than i had expected. Thematically updated for the world's current parlous state. Keanu Reeves is well cast as Klaatu. Maybe not the classic of the 1951 original but still watchable.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
mthrndrSep 4, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I created an account just to express my contempt for this movie. Started out interestingly enough, and devolves into a classic Hollywood 'Hurr-Durr humans are killing de Earff, durr!'

So let me get this right: there are only a handful of planets in the universe capable of complex life, according to the film. Therefore we assume that the races who sent klaatu evolved in a similar manner to us. Yet humans are beyond saving because of some hollywood writers' idea of global warming or other claptrap. What about those other races? did they just jump from amoebas to transcendent beings, and totally bypass their industrial and economic revolutions that require planetary resources? I guess so. Oh well, nothing a few equations written with John Cleese won't fix.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
MikeHAug 29, 2009
What happened? seriously... did the original make sense? cos this one didn't... from what i could understand it appeared that aliens came to earth to kill everyone then halfway through decided to take pity on humans and left the planet, What happened? seriously... did the original make sense? cos this one didn't... from what i could understand it appeared that aliens came to earth to kill everyone then halfway through decided to take pity on humans and left the planet, leaving us without any form of technology as punishment or something. a 40/100 is definitely more than it deserves. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
h-h-h-heinoj.Aug 28, 2009
One of the worst movies ever. Nevertheless, not the worst.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JayM.Aug 26, 2009
Exemplifies all that is wrong with Hollywood films: an unnecessary remake, an overwrought script, and a director too enamored with special effects for their own sake. Utterly lacking in every department. Charmless.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
EnzoP.Jul 23, 2009
The Day the Earth Stood Still based on the old classic, shows that whatever you do you can never make a remake that is better then the original. But the one thing in this movie that really surprised me is that they didn't say one swear The Day the Earth Stood Still based on the old classic, shows that whatever you do you can never make a remake that is better then the original. But the one thing in this movie that really surprised me is that they didn't say one swear in the entire film. It's a miracle in every PG-13 movie there has to be at least one swear in this there were none. Also another thing about this film that I didn't like was the over the top plot. That was the only thing that really bothered me. The acting was alright the special effects were fascinating, I thought it was pretty unpredictable so overall it was a nice rent it movie. Sure some parts were weird but it still had it's cool clever scenes. I feel like this movie would of been better of not being made because Scott Derrickson wasted his money making this remake it just wasn't worth it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
FranRJun 27, 2009
Disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RobertBJun 6, 2009
Thank you Keanu Reeves and thank you 20th century fox for ruining a classic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
PeterJMay 27, 2009
Ok to watch once, but not something I'd ever watch a second time. Never saw the original, but still knew exactly where the movie was going.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
AaronSMay 22, 2009
I went there expecting to see a action/sci-fi war of the worlds type film when it turned out to be boring,unfrilling and average Iv'e only seen it once and never agian.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NealFMay 17, 2009
Predictable and pushing a green agenda.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
paulgMay 13, 2009
The plot is flawed. and acting is so rigid that any emotion is lost. keanu reeves proves yet once again that unless he has a shades on he is terrible.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
BrockMApr 29, 2009
This is possible the worst movie ever made. It was worse than The Day After Tomorrow and the Core put together. The script is terrible, the best actor is the large sentinel thing and worst of all, nothing happens! The worst bits of hollywood This is possible the worst movie ever made. It was worse than The Day After Tomorrow and the Core put together. The script is terrible, the best actor is the large sentinel thing and worst of all, nothing happens! The worst bits of hollywood mega "event" movies distilled into one big mess. Rubbish Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StuJApr 28, 2009
Cannot believe how bad this is. The interrelationship between the robot and Klatu never explained? The day everything stood still?? The famous line we all ran around saying to each other as kids? eeves was well cast -- a part requiring no Cannot believe how bad this is. The interrelationship between the robot and Klatu never explained? The day everything stood still?? The famous line we all ran around saying to each other as kids? eeves was well cast -- a part requiring no acting fits him ever so well. A massive demonstration of Hollywood bungling. Special effects do not a movie make. I need to rewatch the original to purge any memory of this from my mind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ColinCApr 21, 2009
Boring. Other than one brief scene with one of the characters being snatched up by a helicopter, I found this movie to duller than dishwater. Very disappointed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GnushBApr 12, 2009
One of the worst sci-fis of all time. Story doesn't make sense, terrible dialogue and bad acting. Jaden Smith can't be cast in another movie. That is nepotism. Boy CANNOT act!!!!!! He ruins every movie he's in.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RickKApr 11, 2009
Sad sad remake of a great movie. Lame updating, and the messege get conveluted. The filmmakers took one of the greatest robots of classic scifi and completely screwed it up. Sad sad movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
bradbApr 11, 2009
One of the five worst (not worse) films of 2008. Pathetically dreadful. Only character of interest was John Cleese.There needs to be a movie remake committee somewhere that can stop a green light on this crap!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RyanM.Apr 10, 2009
Could've been good or at least entertaining. Pacing was bad. Script was bad. And the direction would've been better under someone closer to a Spielberg. The sid estory and the kid was annoying and out of place. Poorly executed overall.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
landonwApr 10, 2009
A one for special effects, now the real part of the movie review, im a fan of the 1951, and keanu is good in sci-fi, BUT jenifers staring & wonder at this great alien & his robot is not enough to say this has epic action, just the opposite. A one for special effects, now the real part of the movie review, im a fan of the 1951, and keanu is good in sci-fi, BUT jenifers staring & wonder at this great alien & his robot is not enough to say this has epic action, just the opposite. They Fail miserably in the movie is with GORT, simply they dont stop him like in the original or really even try too, He only stares and has less screen time then Darth Maul did! enuff said! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JayHMar 31, 2009
I enjoyed it and found it very entertaining. I know, it's flawed but I was never once bored. The special effects were good. The performances are respectable, only Jaden Smith fails. Pure Hollywood entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AntwianF.Mar 10, 2009
Keanu sucks. the movie goes no where and will 's boy is the only halfway decent spotlight in this tragedy of a remake.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
M.M.Mar 4, 2009
Terrible movie. I give it a 2 for Jennifer Connelly and Keanu Reeves who did their best with the horrible script and some decent cgi. I thought Jaden Smith was acting bad and more importantly..annoying and distracting as hell. He might be Terrible movie. I give it a 2 for Jennifer Connelly and Keanu Reeves who did their best with the horrible script and some decent cgi. I thought Jaden Smith was acting bad and more importantly..annoying and distracting as hell. He might be cute for comedies with his funny hair but he can't do dramatic scenes with subjects like losing a parent. There a lots of better child actors out there. His character was useless and distracting for the movie. But that is also the fault of the screen writer and the director. Ever heard of pacing?? And also ever heard of the audience sympathizing for at least one of the characters?? Avoid if you can. Dumb remake with unsympathetic characters including a very irritating Jaden Smith. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ClifC.Mar 2, 2009
The only thing I really appreciated were the special effects. But Keanu Reeves simply can't act. The end is so bad, I really didn't like it. Plus, there's absolutely nothing to say about the story, it' quite boring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MartDFeb 27, 2009
One of the worse ever seen...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JasonD.Feb 23, 2009
I was very disappointed with this film. It was not a terrible film, it just did not live up to the expectations that I had for it. I was very excited to see this but then when I finally did, it was a let down. The concept seemed pretty cool I was very disappointed with this film. It was not a terrible film, it just did not live up to the expectations that I had for it. I was very excited to see this but then when I finally did, it was a let down. The concept seemed pretty cool but the execution was boring. the cool stuff that the trailers show don't even happen until the very end and they are not as cool as the trailers make out to seem. Wrap that up with a bad ending and you have a huge dissapointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BitBurnFeb 16, 2009
This movie was not half as bad as I thought it would be. Not the greatest ending either but I was entertained nonetheless. Jennifer and Keanu did the best with the script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackN.Feb 15, 2009
To be honest this movie was a little above average. Just because some pompous writers who think their criticism matters above all else, does not make a movie bad. Complaining about how they know what aliens or humankind would do in that To be honest this movie was a little above average. Just because some pompous writers who think their criticism matters above all else, does not make a movie bad. Complaining about how they know what aliens or humankind would do in that situation, what ignorant critics, I laugh at them. Yes, I agree that it may not be as good as the original, but for those who hasn't seen it would probably enjoy this movie. Even though the directors were horrible, it's not that bad of a movie. Critics, stop being so damned overzealous, just because you can write a few fancy words here and there. So people who read these reviews, at least rent the movie and watch it and see how your opinion compares with theirs, because critics' opinions are just that "opinions". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HenryFilmsJan 31, 2009
Ouch! This movie is barely worth renting. The movie itself was very far from its former self from 1951. It lacked key phrases that the original did. Might I add that dialog and the basic plot are really the only thing you need to copy when Ouch! This movie is barely worth renting. The movie itself was very far from its former self from 1951. It lacked key phrases that the original did. Might I add that dialog and the basic plot are really the only thing you need to copy when remaking an older movie. 4/10 and I'm being generous. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MarsPJan 27, 2009
I really don't get how you can 100 million dollars on a movie and then have a complete idiot write the script. Why,o why, would you greet our first interstellar visitor with a bullet and "enhanced interrogation" techniques?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AndreRJan 11, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, though it was not perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JPS.Jan 4, 2009
Boring movie. If they had edited down to a 30 minute short it might have been exciting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeCJan 1, 2009
Excellent film. I loved every bit of it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
sidb.Dec 30, 2008
The beginning of the movie seemed to be going somewhere but honestly this movie was terrible. What were the people making this movie thinking honestly? They have known what people would think of this film. Just terrible. Even worst than War The beginning of the movie seemed to be going somewhere but honestly this movie was terrible. What were the people making this movie thinking honestly? They have known what people would think of this film. Just terrible. Even worst than War of the Worlds. Don't waste your time seeing this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GuyG.Dec 27, 2008
One of the worse movies I've ever seen. The movie totally betways the intended story line. More time is spent discussing the live of the main femail character and her inter-racial son than the story line. The movie fails to caputre your One of the worse movies I've ever seen. The movie totally betways the intended story line. More time is spent discussing the live of the main femail character and her inter-racial son than the story line. The movie fails to caputre your interest, the acting was extremely bad. I urge you to never see this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
FredB.Dec 26, 2008
I liked it a lot better than I expected to. It DOES get tiresome to find the U.S. government being the incompetent, aggressive, cabal of thugs in movie after movie, though. Plenty of predictable cliches in this flick but decently executed I liked it a lot better than I expected to. It DOES get tiresome to find the U.S. government being the incompetent, aggressive, cabal of thugs in movie after movie, though. Plenty of predictable cliches in this flick but decently executed and filmed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NeilK.Dec 23, 2008
I thought that it was good in taking a story that has so much potential and throwing it down the drain. The film dies when the largest amount of acting talent in the film is coming from young Jaden Smith. Thought to be honest Keanu Reeves I thought that it was good in taking a story that has so much potential and throwing it down the drain. The film dies when the largest amount of acting talent in the film is coming from young Jaden Smith. Thought to be honest Keanu Reeves landed theperfect role for him, a emotionless, dull character that was terribly revuved from the original. Overall this film was able to keep in the seat beccuase I saw it in IMAX and the sheer brilliance and size of the IMAX expierance was enough to keep me in the seat. The Day the Earth Stood Still should should have remained a classic not a crappy remake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnE.Dec 22, 2008
compared to the original is sucked, compared to anything it sucked. what a waste of time and money. this would have been better if it had been made by a complete retard running around with his head on fire. A remake of the day the earth compared to the original is sucked, compared to anything it sucked. what a waste of time and money. this would have been better if it had been made by a complete retard running around with his head on fire. A remake of the day the earth stood stil needed to be made, but this is not what is should have been by any strech of the imagination. Please stephen speilberg redo this redo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NiceKidDec 22, 2008
Keanu Reeves was going for a terrible Arnold Swartssnagger (spelled wrong srry) theme with his acting. You couldn't tell if he wasn't trying to act or if he was trying to hard.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AlgoreDec 22, 2008
See what happens if you don't listen to me? That was me Al as GORT. I had as big a part as I did as VP. Yeah the movie makes no sense and after about a half hour in you realize you have been taken. Those diamond mosquito's are now See what happens if you don't listen to me? That was me Al as GORT. I had as big a part as I did as VP. Yeah the movie makes no sense and after about a half hour in you realize you have been taken. Those diamond mosquito's are now on the endangered list. LOL Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GeorgeKDec 21, 2008
Walked out! Terrible acting. Played-out storyline.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
FrankGDec 21, 2008
The plot makes no sense, the script is illogical and the acting is poor. The kid adds nothing to the story or the mood of the movie. What's particularly sad is that the film makers didn't seem to get the idea of the original, The plot makes no sense, the script is illogical and the acting is poor. The kid adds nothing to the story or the mood of the movie. What's particularly sad is that the film makers didn't seem to get the idea of the original, fabulous, movie from the 50's. There's a reason that the original is a kind of cultural icon--it works on many levels, it's entertaining. With virtually no special effects beyond those implied by the story, the power involved was clear. In this new version, Keanu seems sometimes to have extraordinary powers, sometimes not. He never seems either smart or wise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LolitaDec 21, 2008
Pretty lame flick without any suspense. It was so bad I started laughing at some of the dialog. Keanu Reeves is a joke. Who makes these things? Idiots?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AaronDec 21, 2008
To those of you who are taken in with the childlike computer generated special effects who don't know any better, I suggest you watch the black and white 1951 original classic. Then you'll understand what a good movie truly is. To those of you who are taken in with the childlike computer generated special effects who don't know any better, I suggest you watch the black and white 1951 original classic. Then you'll understand what a good movie truly is. This remake is total garbage not worthy of being mentioned in the same breath with the original. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DarwinDec 21, 2008
Dreadful film that is slow moving without any character development. With just a little imagination it could have been so much more. An embarrassment to share the same title as the 1951 classic. Keanu Reeves sleepwalks through his role. Dreadful film that is slow moving without any character development. With just a little imagination it could have been so much more. An embarrassment to share the same title as the 1951 classic. Keanu Reeves sleepwalks through his role. Terribly disappointing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AndreDec 20, 2008
I think the critics were a bit harsh with this movie. But it's true that the first half was promising, and that GORT didn't have much time in the movie. I did saw the original when I was much younger, and it doesn't badder me I think the critics were a bit harsh with this movie. But it's true that the first half was promising, and that GORT didn't have much time in the movie. I did saw the original when I was much younger, and it doesn't badder me if this film is different. The effects are fine, but the story is slim in substance. It doesn't explain or justify itself that much, which is a problem in terms of credibility. The second half falls short. If GORT would have been active in that part, it would have been more interesting. The actors were decent, but they didn't have much to work on. I must say the great work that was done with the music. This is by far the best part of the movie. Too bad the composer didn't have a solid movie to work on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CarolSDec 20, 2008
What starts out with great action turns into a schmaltzy tale for the "green" set. Preachy. Good special effects.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JohnH.Dec 20, 2008
I really wanted to like this film. I think Keanu Reeves and Jennifer Connelly are both good actors. But, I have to be honest, I was bored through much of the movie. The points of view of both the U.S. Government and the aliens were totally I really wanted to like this film. I think Keanu Reeves and Jennifer Connelly are both good actors. But, I have to be honest, I was bored through much of the movie. The points of view of both the U.S. Government and the aliens were totally idiotic. So it didn't pass the cerebral test that may have saved it since the action was less than exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamD.Dec 20, 2008
This movie is ONLY rated badly because it dared to take the name of the 1951 gem of the same name. Other than two minor points, that is ALL it has in common with it. IF YOU view the movie WITHOUT reference to the older one, it's This movie is ONLY rated badly because it dared to take the name of the 1951 gem of the same name. Other than two minor points, that is ALL it has in common with it. IF YOU view the movie WITHOUT reference to the older one, it's actually a pretty good movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CatherineF.Dec 20, 2008
My girlfriend and I saw the movie last night (12/19). Everyone was laughing so hard throughout the show, including us, we had tears in our eyes. We both loved the movie and plan on seeing it again -- and we never do that. Jim Carey -- thank My girlfriend and I saw the movie last night (12/19). Everyone was laughing so hard throughout the show, including us, we had tears in our eyes. We both loved the movie and plan on seeing it again -- and we never do that. Jim Carey -- thank you! I needed the laughter and gave it to us in a wonderful new style. Great acting! And the take off used in the seminar was great too. I've attended Tony Robbins for years and others and it was a little over board but not by much when it came to the emotions. Right on! I encourage everyone to see this movie if you want to laugh hard and have a great time. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
BobT.Dec 19, 2008
Tries to be new, tries to pay homage to the old...fails at both. Acting is fine. Keanu doing his best Bill Pullman as an emotionless alien. The script is just weak, no drama. The music...forgettable. Another "Why did they remake this?"
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JohnW.Dec 19, 2008
not bad at all, but I wouldn't call it "amusing or exciting". Instead it was a bit boring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RH.Dec 19, 2008
If aliens that looked like humans came they probably would be very calm, objective and emotionless. It had great elements such as the way humans, especially us Americans tend to apply Military action to any perceived threat. It was a mirror If aliens that looked like humans came they probably would be very calm, objective and emotionless. It had great elements such as the way humans, especially us Americans tend to apply Military action to any perceived threat. It was a mirror and we face that mirror and CHANGE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BeatriceDec 18, 2008
What have we become? To even call this movie by the same name as the black and white classic is an insult. For those of you who liked or even loved this movie I would suggest that you rent the original and then you will understand how What have we become? To even call this movie by the same name as the black and white classic is an insult. For those of you who liked or even loved this movie I would suggest that you rent the original and then you will understand how terrible a movie this is. You need to check your brains in at the door as there is nothing suspenseful or interesting. Keanu Reeves must have a death wish because this is as bad as it gets. Horrible flick. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JustinR.Dec 18, 2008
I thought this was a great movie with an important message. More details on Klaatu's mission would have been nice, but no other complaints.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenM.Dec 17, 2008
Great film could not look away and what a great remake without introducing to many more plot points and characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Dec 16, 2008
What a poor excuse for a movie. No sympathetic characters. No excitement. No (intentional) laughs. Low-rent effects. Bogus message. "Happy ending" is that the aliens don't kill us, just stop all our machines. Care to estimate how many What a poor excuse for a movie. No sympathetic characters. No excitement. No (intentional) laughs. Low-rent effects. Bogus message. "Happy ending" is that the aliens don't kill us, just stop all our machines. Care to estimate how many billions would starve due to no tractors to pull plows, no trucks to move produce, no refrigerators to keep food fresh? Kinder just to wipe them out, no? I've watched other "message" movies that were feeble logically, but were made tolerable because there were characters to identify with, or worthy special effects, or a good laugh or two. This one has nothing to recommend it. I went to IMDB and rated it a 1. Then I hunted down the other 3 movies I had rated as 1s and bumped each of them up to 2. Why must message films always be made by production teams that are ashamed of being human? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChuckO.Dec 16, 2008
Not even a good popcorn movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HyperS.Dec 16, 2008
For a movie about the destruction of the world it sure was boring. At the beginning upon first arrival there was a curiosity as to the plot, but after that the movie progressed at a lackadaisical pace (Note: I never saw the original so for For a movie about the destruction of the world it sure was boring. At the beginning upon first arrival there was a curiosity as to the plot, but after that the movie progressed at a lackadaisical pace (Note: I never saw the original so for those who did and know the story line you might be bored from the get-go). The special effects were pretty boring and there weren't that many considering this is an 'end of the world' flick. Honestly, if you want to be more entertained go back and watch Independence Day or even War of the Worlds. They both blow this one out of the water with better special effects, cooler aliens, a grander scale, and a movie worthy of worldwide annihilation. P.S. Only thing I liked about this movie was the old school robot, but he barely got any screen time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JoeD.Dec 16, 2008
I don't really know why this movie is getting such bad reports. I've not seen the original and maybe that's why i like it, but i thought it was a decent movie, it's got a bit of a "green" undertone which might not be to I don't really know why this movie is getting such bad reports. I've not seen the original and maybe that's why i like it, but i thought it was a decent movie, it's got a bit of a "green" undertone which might not be to some people's tastes but if you just accept it as a simple popcorn movie and don't expect it to be a "war of the worlds" then you'll enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronS.Dec 15, 2008
Not nearly as bad as the critics say. It's not hard to follow, and makes for an interesting what if?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RyeG.Dec 15, 2008
Destined to fail with the general consensus. It's a whirlwind of fragmented scenes that on the whole, at best, never accomplishes a solid grip on the attention of the viewing audience. The more serious scenes tend to be dull where the Destined to fail with the general consensus. It's a whirlwind of fragmented scenes that on the whole, at best, never accomplishes a solid grip on the attention of the viewing audience. The more serious scenes tend to be dull where the extreme measures that would normally be forefront in a global grave situation are non-existant. Sadly to say, the plot has good potential but this adaptation of the classic was assembled too quickly where it is evident there was a lack of "fine-tuning" in many areas of the production. Overall: It's a thumbs-down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WayneL.Dec 15, 2008
Poorly written and incoherent. Amazing special effects (even in IMAX) cannot give life to this dog.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
E.S.Dec 14, 2008
"Starman" meets "War of the Worlds". And not bad, either. The aliens--including Keanu's character-- give off a certain powerful menace that gives the film a sence of foreboding. Tight and too the point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
S.DeanDec 14, 2008
Basically, this movie is about Global Warming. With a terrible subject as it's foundation, and horrid story poorly draped over it, this movie had no chance. The CG even looked bad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChrisB.Dec 14, 2008
I thought the movie was actually very worthwhile.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AdamC.Dec 14, 2008
Bland remake left me wanting to go home and rewatch the original. Save yourself the time and buy the Blu-ray instead.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DaveS.Dec 14, 2008
It was ok until the anti-climatic ending when the world is lift with a bunch of dead metal bugs and no power.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RB.Dec 14, 2008
Pretty good pop corn movie - better than a lot of the fodder that came out this year - wasn't intended to be Ben Hur.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MWhitbyDec 14, 2008
Breathtaking and thought provoking. 40/100 is too low an average.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TeddyDec 14, 2008
Awful is an understatement. There was no suspense, a poorly written script, and no character development. Even when they had the opportunity to do something out of this world the director missed the opportunity as he seemed to color his Awful is an understatement. There was no suspense, a poorly written script, and no character development. Even when they had the opportunity to do something out of this world the director missed the opportunity as he seemed to color his picture by the numbers. How can you take a classic and turn it into this garbage. Avoid. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JOELS.Dec 13, 2008
Not nearly as well done as the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AgustinB.Dec 13, 2008
Not bad as almost everybody is saying and the best keanu ever. He doesn´t have to act in his role, he doesn´t have emotions as an alien!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SquallDec 13, 2008
The begging quesion is Keanu Reeves alive. More importantly does anyone care? This may be one of the worst most boring movies of the year. A definite contender for a Razzberry.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LaneDec 13, 2008
Lame. No sane investor could ever sanction the money they spent to make this ridiculous film unless they wanted to go broke. No bailout for this crapola.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JoeM.Dec 13, 2008
I never saw the original, so I went to go find out what the big mystery in the movie is. It turns out that the movie's mystery was how much product placement they could fit in there. It's literally everywhere. Product placement I never saw the original, so I went to go find out what the big mystery in the movie is. It turns out that the movie's mystery was how much product placement they could fit in there. It's literally everywhere. Product placement isn't inherently a problem, but when it's used to the extent that it is in this movie (every chance they get) it starts to seem more like a mediocre extended TV show than a movie. You go to movies for a fluid, engrossing experience and the egregious number of ads really detract from that here. That aside, Keanu Reaves was the perfect choice for the part. Sooo... acting was solid. 'Nuff said. All in all, I guess it wasn't awful - I just didn't want to go to the movies and throw down seven bucks for an ecology lesson and an armful of commercials. Bottom line: Wait till DVD or someone else is buying your ticket. It's nothing special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RonnieR.Dec 13, 2008
Politically correct non-sense!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
FantasyDec 13, 2008
No one loves science fiction movies more than I do. I saw the original and must have seen it 20 times since then. Michael Rennie was terrific. It was with great anticipation that I was looking forward to the remake. After seeing it this No one loves science fiction movies more than I do. I saw the original and must have seen it 20 times since then. Michael Rennie was terrific. It was with great anticipation that I was looking forward to the remake. After seeing it this evening there aren't words to describe how awful this turkey was. Keanu Reeves sleepwalks through the film as if he was a zombie. His fellow actors had to be embarrassed by the finished product because this was like Chinese Water torture as it meandered along oh so slow. There was nothing frightening, no suspense, no character development, no nothing. And the ending was so lame that theater goers were actually angry walking out of the movie. Save your hard earned dollars because this is one bad film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleW.Dec 13, 2008
I've never seen the first, and I never will. Coming into this fresh, it was exactly what I expected; a true-to-life representation of how it might go down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlackPearlDec 13, 2008
Watched it today and I really enjoyed it. Great performace of Keanu Reeves (Not that I had any doubts..) Some of the lines reminded me of Matrix.. He just has that.. hmm, I dunno what do you call that...? Well, he's just perfect in Watched it today and I really enjoyed it. Great performace of Keanu Reeves (Not that I had any doubts..) Some of the lines reminded me of Matrix.. He just has that.. hmm, I dunno what do you call that...? Well, he's just perfect in these kinds of roles and movies ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoseLuisLoyaDec 13, 2008
Excellent movie, incredible special-effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PhilipF.Dec 13, 2008
First off, i thought keanu reeves would ruin this movie, but i'll say that he played a decent klaatu. What ruined this movie, is the combination of environmental propaganda, severely bad (and completely unnecessary) product placement, First off, i thought keanu reeves would ruin this movie, but i'll say that he played a decent klaatu. What ruined this movie, is the combination of environmental propaganda, severely bad (and completely unnecessary) product placement, the over use of CG, and a poor replication of the very few similar scenes in the original. it was pointless to remake, the original is still much better. if you have seen the classic version in black and white, you will walk of out this movie half-disgusted. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DarrenK.Dec 13, 2008
sanctimonious drivel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful