Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the last evacuation flight out of war-torn Africa crashes off the coast, American Air Force Engineer Lieutenant Brian Murphy emerges as the sole survivor in a land where the dead are returning to life and attacking the living. (Global Cinema Distribution)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Oct 12, 2011
    80
    The Dead, with its vast, pitiless landscapes and moral seriousness, is "Night of the Living Dead" reimagined as a Sergio Leone western. It's a knockout.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Oct 20, 2011
    75
    The Fords give us old-fashioned predators: Zombies shuffle slowly, silently, patiently forward, as implacably destructive as Time itself. Meanwhile, the Fords play off our memories from books, TV news and other movies.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Oct 12, 2011
    67
    The film provides a whole new way of looking at the same old dead things. Eat up.
  4. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Oct 12, 2011
    60
    The Dead, evocatively filmed in grainy 35mm, might carry the cinematic vibe of an old-school, flesh-eating adventure, but as it should be with stories like this, it's not a pretty picture.
  5. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Oct 12, 2011
    50
    The Dead ultimately doesn't have much of a pulse, as it fails to transcend the banality of its inevitable theme.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 13, 2011
    40
    Its scenes frequently feature Africans machine-gunning other Africans or hacking them to death with machetes. This is a disturbing sight indeed. Maybe it was intended as a metaphor, but this movie isn't nearly sophisticated enough to pull off that kind of commentary. It's not really even sophisticated enough to be an absorbing zombie movie
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    this movie prove to be automatically good zombie are attacking right away the is not really much dialogue but zombie are all good only thingthis movie prove to be automatically good zombie are attacking right away the is not really much dialogue but zombie are all good only thing frighten me is the eye colour all white light bluish Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    An incredible zombie flick, i can't believe all of the negative user reviews... seriously, are you people high, i bet you couldn't see a goodAn incredible zombie flick, i can't believe all of the negative user reviews... seriously, are you people high, i bet you couldn't see a good film if it hit you right in the face... Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    3
    Again, I find the story line dull and pointless. The death scenes are if anything cheesy, i put this down to mediocre acting. Another pointAgain, I find the story line dull and pointless. The death scenes are if anything cheesy, i put this down to mediocre acting. Another point (as a question to others), do you notice the same actor is used more than once even if that zombie has been killed? They do this in Shaun Of The Dead, but they do it discreetly. Collapse
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    3
    in the first 40 minutes of this movie, I think I counted 4 or 5 lines of dialogue. These two guys are just driving around and around for whatin the first 40 minutes of this movie, I think I counted 4 or 5 lines of dialogue. These two guys are just driving around and around for what seems like ever. Nothing is ever explained. Really bad zombie movie. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    what a boring boring zombie movie!! yeah a zombie movie being boring? you say? that takes talent! lol
    The movie had no atmospehere, no scary
    what a boring boring zombie movie!! yeah a zombie movie being boring? you say? that takes talent! lol
    The movie had no atmospehere, no scary zombies, no fear. Avoid at all costs!!!!
    Expand

Trailers