Tartan | Release Date: April 26, 2006
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
3
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
VerbalCantJul 9, 2012
Watched this scrunched up at the back on a cinema during a film festival. I have never wished anyone in the world dead until half way through this movie. Two and a half hours - were all the Romanian editors on strike? Yes I know life is bleakWatched this scrunched up at the back on a cinema during a film festival. I have never wished anyone in the world dead until half way through this movie. Two and a half hours - were all the Romanian editors on strike? Yes I know life is bleak and death is lonely and futile, but a little part of me did not have to die in the cinema for me to know that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RoryP.Feb 21, 2008
Excellent. No doubt about it. Me being a conventional lad, I did find the 'naturalistic' pace a bit head wrecking for the first 20 minutes. After that I gave into it and found the whole thing an extremely rewarding experience. very Excellent. No doubt about it. Me being a conventional lad, I did find the 'naturalistic' pace a bit head wrecking for the first 20 minutes. After that I gave into it and found the whole thing an extremely rewarding experience. very real and moving. The best film I've seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamieBJul 30, 2007
Never before have I ever wished death on anyone, but by the end of this film I just wanted Mr Lazarescu to die. Perhaps that was the point. To be honest though if I had wanted to torture myself I would have stubbed cigarettes out on my hand Never before have I ever wished death on anyone, but by the end of this film I just wanted Mr Lazarescu to die. Perhaps that was the point. To be honest though if I had wanted to torture myself I would have stubbed cigarettes out on my hand in preference to watching this film. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GabrielS.Apr 23, 2007
This movie was made in 2004, 15 years through Romania's painful transition to free-market economy and all that the 'west' brings with it. Attitudes - so Romanians, in their devoidness of showy love as most westerners are used This movie was made in 2004, 15 years through Romania's painful transition to free-market economy and all that the 'west' brings with it. Attitudes - so Romanians, in their devoidness of showy love as most westerners are used to - are both bleak and humane and I liked the way Cristi Puiu portrayed that naturalness. Top film. Bitter, but good medicine for the soul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BogdanP.Feb 5, 2007
The drama on the screen is no more powerful than the real drama. Yet the true power of the movie is that it portrays reality as no one believes it could be. Deeply human. Sad nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonK.Jan 22, 2007
The most depresssing film I've seen in years, it made me feel ill. Why on earth does it get such a high rating?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigS.Jan 7, 2007
Best statement on humanity or lack of humanity that I've seen. It will help turn most viewers into beings who care more for each other.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JenniferM.Oct 22, 2006
I, too, didn't get the humour in it. I found it painfully realistic and bleak. Great performances and highly original though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterM.Oct 19, 2006
Harrowing film depicting the last hours in the life of Mr. Dante (no mistake about that name) Lazarescu, leavened with dollops of back humor modeled on the disconnect between the dialogue and what we see on the screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StefanC.Aug 31, 2006
One of the most entrenching films coming from a Romanian director, "Moartea domnului Lazarescu" truly becomes a profound experience throughout its viewing. The drama of daily life, people portayed as people and not their avatars, and the One of the most entrenching films coming from a Romanian director, "Moartea domnului Lazarescu" truly becomes a profound experience throughout its viewing. The drama of daily life, people portayed as people and not their avatars, and the humorous tragedy of Mr. Lazarescu ammount to quite an achievement from Cristi Puiu. Hopefully, only the first in many to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaduH.Jun 12, 2006
it describes the reality from the medical sistem in romania.it is like in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
-Immitation-May 11, 2006
Well written and worth my money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KenG.May 6, 2006
First half of movie is really slow. There was no reason, other then self-indulgence, that filmmakers couldn't have cut 30 mintues out of this section, giving them a 2 hour movie, rather then 2 and a half hours. 2nd half of movie First half of movie is really slow. There was no reason, other then self-indulgence, that filmmakers couldn't have cut 30 mintues out of this section, giving them a 2 hour movie, rather then 2 and a half hours. 2nd half of movie isn't as slow, but it feels more and more repetitious. I also think filmmakers made a bad call my making this all happen on the night of a terrible bus crash. The emergenacy rooms of big city hospitals tend to be very busy places on any night. If you throw on top of that the kaos that would result from a terrible bus crash, I don't think it's that shocking that someone might be "lost in the shuffle". This would have made a more powerful statement if it had happened on "just another night". I have read about the comedy and the humor that is in this movie, but it's not likely you'll see it. Perhaps the critics could point out the funny parts in their reviews. (and no, I don't need Jim Carrey or Adam Sandler to laugh. In fact I don't think they're particurarily funny. Carrey and Sandler are both better actors then they are comedians). By the end of the end of the movie all I was really interested in was the lesbian relationship that is hinted at between the middle-age paramedic, and the really good looking nurse at one of the hospitals. But unfortunately, movie never gets back to this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful