User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    9
    This was a profoundly sad film. I don't think I was happy at any point throughout the film. However, the dynamic between Hester and Freddie was so emotionally compelling and heart wrenching. It shows the anguish and misery that is often integrated with love. The movie isn't easliy digested, and I don't think I want to see it again but, I am still glad I did. It was such a realThis was a profoundly sad film. I don't think I was happy at any point throughout the film. However, the dynamic between Hester and Freddie was so emotionally compelling and heart wrenching. It shows the anguish and misery that is often integrated with love. The movie isn't easliy digested, and I don't think I want to see it again but, I am still glad I did. It was such a real love story and it will rip your heart to shreds. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2015
    8
    It's a difficult movie to evaluate because although it is one of those films that I do think was good, I can't say I really enjoyed watching. I think the way I would describe it is that The Deep Blue Sea is a film that is about all-consuming desire, and desire that is also overwhelmingly incompatible. It's tragic because in this love triangle you can so clearly see that neither outcomeIt's a difficult movie to evaluate because although it is one of those films that I do think was good, I can't say I really enjoyed watching. I think the way I would describe it is that The Deep Blue Sea is a film that is about all-consuming desire, and desire that is also overwhelmingly incompatible. It's tragic because in this love triangle you can so clearly see that neither outcome would be a happy one, given the disparity in intensity of affection in both cases. It reminded me a little of the play After Miss Julie, but I felt that the lack of conventional chronology made it more of a portrait of humanity/emotion/desire than a story in which I was invested in the ending. As a film, I thought it was beautifully shot and it conjures up a haunting image of post-war London. Without a doubt, the highlight of this film is the incredible Rachel Weisz. She is simply excellent. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    7
    This is one of those tough evaluations. Yes, it explores a very tactile, real, passionate love triangle - an intense young woman in a loveless marriage to an older man falls passionately in love with a fun-loving younger pilot - but it's such a tough movie to get though, that I can't score it among the best of the season. Weisz is perfect for the role, but you just feel like slapping herThis is one of those tough evaluations. Yes, it explores a very tactile, real, passionate love triangle - an intense young woman in a loveless marriage to an older man falls passionately in love with a fun-loving younger pilot - but it's such a tough movie to get though, that I can't score it among the best of the season. Weisz is perfect for the role, but you just feel like slapping her throughout the film.... "snap out of it!" It's not a film that I can recommend, but it does vividly capture the predicament. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    Starkly realistic portrayal of the consequences of one-sided, overwhelming, irrational passion. It is no doubt a fantastic film, but the material is so heavy that the film is almost too painful to watch at times. This also makes it a hard film to love and get personally attached to. It is best to stay distant during the film, because if you open yourself up too much, you might getStarkly realistic portrayal of the consequences of one-sided, overwhelming, irrational passion. It is no doubt a fantastic film, but the material is so heavy that the film is almost too painful to watch at times. This also makes it a hard film to love and get personally attached to. It is best to stay distant during the film, because if you open yourself up too much, you might get destroyed in the crossfires of the characters' emotions(I kept myself distant, and yet I still found it to be so powerful that it was almost unbearable and stifling). The film may move at a languid pace for some, and the first half is very, very slow, but the explosive power of the end of the film is well worth the wait. Go see the film for its acting. This is clearly the best performance Rachel Weisz has ever done. She is so emotionally distressed during the film that it appears that she might implode at any time. It's not a film to see twice, however. I don't think i'd be able to do it. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    Despite moving at a glacial pace, The Deep Blue Sea builds to a subtle but effective ending that really caps the film off with a bang. I really liked this film even if it is hard to understand at times. It's a quietly moving picture that really is worth seeing and Hiddleston and Weisz are both terrific.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 26, 2012
    80
    The only flaw here is the score. It's beautiful but so obtrusive, particularly at the start, that it threatens to turn the proceedings into melodrama.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    Happily, in his adaptation of the Terence Rattigan play, The Deep Blue Sea, Davies has found a setting close to his heart and a subject more nearly suited to his style.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 12, 2012
    88
    The beautiful misery of The Deep Blue Sea - Terence Davies' crushing adaptation of Terence Rattigan's 1952 play - is almost too much.