Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 6, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1492 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,089
Mixed:
99
Negative:
304
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
NYcriticMay 21, 2013
An excellent film with an outstanding cast brilliant direction and genius writing and a spectacular ending. This is one of the finest films of Scorsese since Goodfellas & Taxi Driver.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
JustinG.Nov 5, 2007
It seems as if the Christian fundies have invaded this site. This film is truly one of my favorite films, ever. A true gangster film, with a great story, great acting, and overall an exceptional film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RickyQ.Nov 1, 2006
Great story, great acting, great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VamsiK.Nov 26, 2006
I think it will be the best movie of 2006. If you haven
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EonNov 4, 2006
What a nice return to the good stuff from the director. I don't think it's his best since "Goodfellas" ( I think "Casino" is) , but it is really one of his best. And definitely best Dicaprio's work.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RM.Oct 30, 2006
Slightly overrated. The acting was superb from all quarters, EVERYONE. But Di Caprio carried the movie. I actually wanted to see more of Mark Whalberg in this film, his character was intense. Matt was Matt (his best work for me with regards Slightly overrated. The acting was superb from all quarters, EVERYONE. But Di Caprio carried the movie. I actually wanted to see more of Mark Whalberg in this film, his character was intense. Matt was Matt (his best work for me with regards to Damon to this day still remains to be the first remake of the Bourne Identity, but he did a good job here too). Jack was Jack and you can't say anything more. But Leo was definitely the character I empathized with the most and like I said he carried the film. Maybe it was all the hype leading up to me seeing the movie that let me down a bit though the ending was really good. 8/8 Worth the $$$. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BarryA.Sep 9, 2007
One of the best movies I have ever seen! It keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The actings fantastic, the music is great. This movie is thrilling, unpredictable, and amazing!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
marcvsFeb 12, 2007
the film was great. all of the complaints people have about it are invalid. the plot was great, the acting suited the film perfectly, and character development worked well. if people can't understand the motivation of a character in athe film was great. all of the complaints people have about it are invalid. the plot was great, the acting suited the film perfectly, and character development worked well. if people can't understand the motivation of a character in a film directed this well, it's the fault of their incompetence, not poor screenwriting or directing or acting. the film is by no means "safe", the editing was very sporatic for effect and necessity and the cursing realistic... if you want to be shocked for shock's sake, watch hobos fight on the internet. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TSudNov 2, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Solid performances from all actors but once again DiCaprio especially impresses me. He's undercover, struggling with unimaginable anxiety and paranoia which he barely manages to keep a lid on through abuse of anxiolytics and he delivers us a solid and believable character.
Mark Wahlberg's outrageous swearing and in-your-face attitude reminds us there are few, if any, true heroes out there. Faced with the reality of sociopathic criminals and blood-ridden crime scenes even the good guys get gritty. And on the topic of sociopathy, Jack Nicholson unflinchingly becomes the personification of depravity. For me, the graphic violence and bad language is justified: these are men pushed to their limits. And the death of the characters (especially the unexpected death of DiCaprio's character) is shocking and therefore the violence of their deaths should also be shocking.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJun 22, 2013
Just a fantastic film. Each and every actor does such a marvelous job and the movie leaves you wanting more, which is the key reason why this is a 10. The end was great, but yet, I still want more. I'm almost sad that the movie is over.Just a fantastic film. Each and every actor does such a marvelous job and the movie leaves you wanting more, which is the key reason why this is a 10. The end was great, but yet, I still want more. I'm almost sad that the movie is over. Highly recommend. Fantastic film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMar 19, 2012
The film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and theThe film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and the acting ensemble. The films writting is also masterful but, it works extremely well because of the acting. Overall a great film. Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
10
JimmyHOct 6, 2006
Phenomenal. Definitely as good (if not better) than Goodfellas.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
jpeyt0n2Jan 16, 2011
One of Scorsese's most brilliant works. It may be an adaptation, but the rebirth is stronger like a phoenix. Strong, strong acting, excellent directing, and involving storyline make this mob thriller one of the highlight films of the year.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
elliott23Jan 21, 2011
Mr. Scorsese just put me in a position, after watching this movie, to be appalled at how gruesome and unnecessarily violent this movie is, or to say, "What a masterpiece!" I think I'll go with the latter.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
SimonM.Sep 3, 2007
Marty does it again!! and I really really hate DeCaprio (this is baseless old fashioned, old school unreasoning hate, like a clan member but instead of ethnic groups I hate the beautiful people who get to eat cheese burgers off of super Marty does it again!! and I really really hate DeCaprio (this is baseless old fashioned, old school unreasoning hate, like a clan member but instead of ethnic groups I hate the beautiful people who get to eat cheese burgers off of super model asses!) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JasonB.Dec 19, 2006
This Movie is one of the best on the past decade. Excellent job.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Not as good as Scorsese's transcendant "Goodfellas", but what film could be compared to that masterpiece other than "The Godfather"? It's pretty shocking to see that this is the only film directed by Scorsese that ever won Best Picture (notNot as good as Scorsese's transcendant "Goodfellas", but what film could be compared to that masterpiece other than "The Godfather"? It's pretty shocking to see that this is the only film directed by Scorsese that ever won Best Picture (not that it matters), because I can think of four or five films that I prefer of his over "The Departed". Maybe what this film does more than anything is show how illustrious and superb Scorsese's career has been. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
NidPOct 11, 2006
Possibly Leo's finest hour........but as with so many recent Scorcese films the ending seemed rushed and the storyline needed work -[***SPOILERS***] how 'bout Wahlberg dropping the brown envelope on the body at the end?. Maybe the Possibly Leo's finest hour........but as with so many recent Scorcese films the ending seemed rushed and the storyline needed work -[***SPOILERS***] how 'bout Wahlberg dropping the brown envelope on the body at the end?. Maybe the last 5 minutes should have been cut entirely and I think Marty should have had a few less 'Yes' men watch the film before it came out. The Departed = Disappointed Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Crime film is very thrilling, hard to stop watching. Deserving of its Best Picture Oscar.

Scorsese directs a violent update of the well-known Chinese mob film, INFERNAL AFFAIRS, from just four years prior. Set in Boston, Massachusetts, the story tells of a mob boss named Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson) who sends out a criminal, Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon). Simultaneously, the local police have sent out Billy Costigan (Leonardo DiCaprio) to infiltrate Costelloâ
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Martin Scorsese's translation of "Internal Affairs" offers nothing new or shocking except for a surprisingly well performed Wahlberg. He ends the movie with his own american twist (everybody dies) and boom, before you know it the movie is barely done. Overall its good, but he barely makes his point in "The Departed" with his overaggressive 'American' translation of the stunning original. I recommend Martin Scorsese to try better, like the time where he had the spirit to direct "Taxi Driver". Expand
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
3
1966ZodiacOct 6, 2010
This movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly peopleThis movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly people saying the F word over and over again. Some parts of the movie tries to have crude humor but it fails miserably. Now I saw this movie before I saw the original infernal affairs I saw infernal affairs about a year after an thought the original was much much MUCH better. This movie lacks proper character development and we feel no emotion for the characters. The only thing better about this remake is the mob boss played by Jack Nicholson. This movie is WAY overrated and I really don't recomend watching it. I however can recomend watching the original movie. The orginal movie "Inferna Affairs" has what this movies missing(a heart). Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
Uninteresting. It is very overrated. It is too bad that Marty won for this film when he clearly had better work that was overlooked. The accents seem so forced and the storyline is just another gangster film.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
3
ZackB.Jul 14, 2008
I really wish someone would explain to me how this is a good movie. Is the acting great? You bet. Direction? Sure. But, how about this... There is absolutely no way in my mind that the events portrayed in the movie could ever be considered I really wish someone would explain to me how this is a good movie. Is the acting great? You bet. Direction? Sure. But, how about this... There is absolutely no way in my mind that the events portrayed in the movie could ever be considered believable. Leonardo DiCaprios character wouldn't have survived any longer than the amount of time it took Jack Nicholson to find him after hearing that there was a rat in the group. Secondly, if there is a leak in a department, they would bring in from outside the group to investigate, not just tell the guy in charge to do it. I dislike this movie only for the reason that I find it amazingly unbelievable and ludicrous. Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful
3
TerenceH.May 23, 2008
While the original Hong Kong version was plausible due to their cultural standards, Scorsese's version was way below imaginable standards. While the HK verison had some plot devices, there was a lot implausible gaps and forced concepts While the original Hong Kong version was plausible due to their cultural standards, Scorsese's version was way below imaginable standards. While the HK verison had some plot devices, there was a lot implausible gaps and forced concepts that didn't work out in the American version. Like a boss sitting in the front of a car so the mole can communicate in the back. A gang boss will never sit in the front of a car! Using cell-phones to bring down a gang is just lame and un-inspiring! Colin Sullivan, who claimed to not be able to use the password on his computer all of a sudden uses it to delete Costigans profile on his very own computer seconds later. The list goes on and gets very tiresome to mention. Didn't anyone review these forced issues and plotholes before making the film? That's right, they just tried to copy IA, forgetting about the lost in translation consequences. Its a shame that America never bothered to release the IA trilogy instead in theaters. The original stories encompassed balanced story-telling, better suspense and emotional content, slick cat-and mouse chase, psychological dept, and well-developed and intriguing characters. We also get to see how being in the police and triads truly bring grief in their lives. The Departed was done sloppy in comparison only saved by typical Scorsese violence and swearing. The characters in Departed were lame and boring. Billy Costigan (Leo Dicpario) is the only character probably that got his role right. Matt Damon, a good actor, had a very dull and typical bad guy character in comparison to Andy Lau's tormented role in IA. Martin Sheen was a poor father figure and a watse of time. and of course, there are other lame, pointless filler characters that aren't worth mentioning. Sadly, Scorsese will get praises from the audience no matter how he makes his films. Had Scorsese's name not been on the director's list, this film would had got a worser rating. All in all, it was IA that was more realistic. People say Departed is, but tell yourself this, not one person swears that much, nor do you see bloodshed like that in reality. 4 guys getting bullets in their heads one after another? There was a reason why IA had the bullet in the head scenerio but Scorsese and Monahan just really never knew what it meant, did they? Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful
1
TerryJacobsDec 20, 2007
Overrated. Unfortunately, overexcessive swearing and violence makes this film too unrealistic. Scorsese is starting to lack polish in his films.
2 of 12 users found this helpful
2
JaneDJul 3, 2008
For once ,I agree with the negative reviews here. I simply didn't like the film and Scorsese's way beyond fictional views. I don't see how anyone could give this film a 8 or above.
1 of 7 users found this helpful
0
JCA.Oct 2, 2007
Not necessary. Martin, William, leonardo, Matt, Mark, and Jack put together a performance that goes way over the top and totally unexpected. But 90 minutes in the movie, you can expect the violent killings at the end due to a non-stop Not necessary. Martin, William, leonardo, Matt, Mark, and Jack put together a performance that goes way over the top and totally unexpected. But 90 minutes in the movie, you can expect the violent killings at the end due to a non-stop functional randomly made-up look into crazy lives that is impossibly accurate. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
2
KevinDJun 7, 2009
Why is Mark Wahlberg affecting a Bostonian accent in this movie: he's FROM Boston! And, as usual, Scorcese can't direct a believable female character at all. Ever. This-- ALL this said-- it is certainly a better movie than his Why is Mark Wahlberg affecting a Bostonian accent in this movie: he's FROM Boston! And, as usual, Scorcese can't direct a believable female character at all. Ever. This-- ALL this said-- it is certainly a better movie than his post-2000 attempts: the tedious GANGS OF NY and the unwatchable THE AVIATOR...faint praise, indeed. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful
0
JoyceC.Oct 2, 2007
Martin Scorsese is obsessed with sinful everything. This movie is written, and every character never does follow the ten commandments, only the devils.
1 of 9 users found this helpful
5
AndrewH.Mar 25, 2007
Better than awful, but really the most artificial, least compelling, 2d characters, standard run of the mill crap crime movie. If you don't have integrity, you'll enjoy the whole movie. If you do, you might think it's Better than awful, but really the most artificial, least compelling, 2d characters, standard run of the mill crap crime movie. If you don't have integrity, you'll enjoy the whole movie. If you do, you might think it's occasionally touching when the lead men interact with their shared love interest. The rest is just Tarantino-style violence/vulgarity porn for cheap thrills. Worst Mark Wahlberg movie I've seen. WTF? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful