User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1109 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2013
    9
    An excellent film with an outstanding cast brilliant direction and genius writing and a spectacular ending. This is one of the finest films of Scorsese since Goodfellas & Taxi Driver.
  2. JustinG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    It seems as if the Christian fundies have invaded this site. This film is truly one of my favorite films, ever. A true gangster film, with a great story, great acting, and overall an exceptional film.
  3. RickyQ.
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    Great story, great acting, great film.
  4. VamsiK.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    I think it will be the best movie of 2006. If you haven
  5. Eon
    Nov 4, 2006
    9
    What a nice return to the good stuff from the director. I don't think it's his best since "Goodfellas" ( I think "Casino" is) , but it is really one of his best. And definitely best Dicaprio's work.
  6. RM.
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    Slightly overrated. The acting was superb from all quarters, EVERYONE. But Di Caprio carried the movie. I actually wanted to see more of Mark Whalberg in this film, his character was intense. Matt was Matt (his best work for me with regards to Damon to this day still remains to be the first remake of the Bourne Identity, but he did a good job here too). Jack was Jack and you can't Slightly overrated. The acting was superb from all quarters, EVERYONE. But Di Caprio carried the movie. I actually wanted to see more of Mark Whalberg in this film, his character was intense. Matt was Matt (his best work for me with regards to Damon to this day still remains to be the first remake of the Bourne Identity, but he did a good job here too). Jack was Jack and you can't say anything more. But Leo was definitely the character I empathized with the most and like I said he carried the film. Maybe it was all the hype leading up to me seeing the movie that let me down a bit though the ending was really good. 8/8 Worth the $$$. Expand
  7. BarryA.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen! It keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The actings fantastic, the music is great. This movie is thrilling, unpredictable, and amazing!
  8. marcvs
    Feb 12, 2007
    9
    the film was great. all of the complaints people have about it are invalid. the plot was great, the acting suited the film perfectly, and character development worked well. if people can't understand the motivation of a character in a film directed this well, it's the fault of their incompetence, not poor screenwriting or directing or acting. the film is by no means "safe", thethe film was great. all of the complaints people have about it are invalid. the plot was great, the acting suited the film perfectly, and character development worked well. if people can't understand the motivation of a character in a film directed this well, it's the fault of their incompetence, not poor screenwriting or directing or acting. the film is by no means "safe", the editing was very sporatic for effect and necessity and the cursing realistic... if you want to be shocked for shock's sake, watch hobos fight on the internet. Expand
  9. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    Just a fantastic film. Each and every actor does such a marvelous job and the movie leaves you wanting more, which is the key reason why this is a 10. The end was great, but yet, I still want more. I'm almost sad that the movie is over. Highly recommend. Fantastic film.
  10. Aug 17, 2014
    5
    A gripping, action-packed thriller, full of sudden twists and some literally breathtaking moments. If this is all you are looking for, watch it. Definitely.
  11. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and the acting ensemble. The films writting is also masterful but, it works extremely well because of the acting. Overall a great film.
  12. JimmyH
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Phenomenal. Definitely as good (if not better) than Goodfellas.
  13. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    One of Scorsese's most brilliant works. It may be an adaptation, but the rebirth is stronger like a phoenix. Strong, strong acting, excellent directing, and involving storyline make this mob thriller one of the highlight films of the year.
  14. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Mr. Scorsese just put me in a position, after watching this movie, to be appalled at how gruesome and unnecessarily violent this movie is, or to say, "What a masterpiece!" I think I'll go with the latter.
  15. SimonM.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Marty does it again!! and I really really hate DeCaprio (this is baseless old fashioned, old school unreasoning hate, like a clan member but instead of ethnic groups I hate the beautiful people who get to eat cheese burgers off of super model asses!)
  16. JasonB.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    This Movie is one of the best on the past decade. Excellent job.
  17. Sep 22, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Martin Scorsese's translation of "Internal Affairs" offers nothing new or shocking except for a surprisingly well performed Wahlberg. He ends the movie with his own american twist (everybody dies) and boom, before you know it the movie is barely done. Overall its good, but he barely makes his point in "The Departed" with his overaggressive 'American' translation of the stunning original. I recommend Martin Scorsese to try better, like the time where he had the spirit to direct "Taxi Driver". Expand
  18. NidP
    Oct 11, 2006
    5
    Possibly Leo's finest hour........but as with so many recent Scorcese films the ending seemed rushed and the storyline needed work -[***SPOILERS***] how 'bout Wahlberg dropping the brown envelope on the body at the end?. Maybe the last 5 minutes should have been cut entirely and I think Marty should have had a few less 'Yes' men watch the film before it came out. The Possibly Leo's finest hour........but as with so many recent Scorcese films the ending seemed rushed and the storyline needed work -[***SPOILERS***] how 'bout Wahlberg dropping the brown envelope on the body at the end?. Maybe the last 5 minutes should have been cut entirely and I think Marty should have had a few less 'Yes' men watch the film before it came out. The Departed = Disappointed Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Crime film is very thrilling, hard to stop watching. Deserving of its Best Picture Oscar.

    Scorsese directs a violent update of the well-known Chinese mob film, INFERNAL AFFAIRS, from just four years prior. Set in Boston, Massachusetts, the story tells of a mob boss named Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson) who sends out a criminal, Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon). Simultaneously, the local police have sent out Billy Costigan (Leonardo DiCaprio) to infiltrate Costelloâ
    Expand
  20. Oct 6, 2010
    3
    This movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly people saying the F word over and over again. Some parts of the movie tries to have crude humor but it fails miserably. Now I saw this movie before I saw theThis movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly people saying the F word over and over again. Some parts of the movie tries to have crude humor but it fails miserably. Now I saw this movie before I saw the original infernal affairs I saw infernal affairs about a year after an thought the original was much much MUCH better. This movie lacks proper character development and we feel no emotion for the characters. The only thing better about this remake is the mob boss played by Jack Nicholson. This movie is WAY overrated and I really don't recomend watching it. I however can recomend watching the original movie. The orginal movie "Inferna Affairs" has what this movies missing(a heart). Expand
  21. Mar 31, 2012
    1
    Uninteresting. It is very overrated. It is too bad that Marty won for this film when he clearly had better work that was overlooked. The accents seem so forced and the storyline is just another gangster film.
  22. ZackB.
    Jul 14, 2008
    3
    I really wish someone would explain to me how this is a good movie. Is the acting great? You bet. Direction? Sure. But, how about this... There is absolutely no way in my mind that the events portrayed in the movie could ever be considered believable. Leonardo DiCaprios character wouldn't have survived any longer than the amount of time it took Jack Nicholson to find him after I really wish someone would explain to me how this is a good movie. Is the acting great? You bet. Direction? Sure. But, how about this... There is absolutely no way in my mind that the events portrayed in the movie could ever be considered believable. Leonardo DiCaprios character wouldn't have survived any longer than the amount of time it took Jack Nicholson to find him after hearing that there was a rat in the group. Secondly, if there is a leak in a department, they would bring in from outside the group to investigate, not just tell the guy in charge to do it. I dislike this movie only for the reason that I find it amazingly unbelievable and ludicrous. Expand
  23. TerenceH.
    May 23, 2008
    3
    While the original Hong Kong version was plausible due to their cultural standards, Scorsese's version was way below imaginable standards. While the HK verison had some plot devices, there was a lot implausible gaps and forced concepts that didn't work out in the American version. Like a boss sitting in the front of a car so the mole can communicate in the back. A gang boss will While the original Hong Kong version was plausible due to their cultural standards, Scorsese's version was way below imaginable standards. While the HK verison had some plot devices, there was a lot implausible gaps and forced concepts that didn't work out in the American version. Like a boss sitting in the front of a car so the mole can communicate in the back. A gang boss will never sit in the front of a car! Using cell-phones to bring down a gang is just lame and un-inspiring! Colin Sullivan, who claimed to not be able to use the password on his computer all of a sudden uses it to delete Costigans profile on his very own computer seconds later. The list goes on and gets very tiresome to mention. Didn't anyone review these forced issues and plotholes before making the film? That's right, they just tried to copy IA, forgetting about the lost in translation consequences. Its a shame that America never bothered to release the IA trilogy instead in theaters. The original stories encompassed balanced story-telling, better suspense and emotional content, slick cat-and mouse chase, psychological dept, and well-developed and intriguing characters. We also get to see how being in the police and triads truly bring grief in their lives. The Departed was done sloppy in comparison only saved by typical Scorsese violence and swearing. The characters in Departed were lame and boring. Billy Costigan (Leo Dicpario) is the only character probably that got his role right. Matt Damon, a good actor, had a very dull and typical bad guy character in comparison to Andy Lau's tormented role in IA. Martin Sheen was a poor father figure and a watse of time. and of course, there are other lame, pointless filler characters that aren't worth mentioning. Sadly, Scorsese will get praises from the audience no matter how he makes his films. Had Scorsese's name not been on the director's list, this film would had got a worser rating. All in all, it was IA that was more realistic. People say Departed is, but tell yourself this, not one person swears that much, nor do you see bloodshed like that in reality. 4 guys getting bullets in their heads one after another? There was a reason why IA had the bullet in the head scenerio but Scorsese and Monahan just really never knew what it meant, did they? Expand
  24. TerryJacobs
    Dec 20, 2007
    1
    Overrated. Unfortunately, overexcessive swearing and violence makes this film too unrealistic. Scorsese is starting to lack polish in his films.
  25. JaneD
    Jul 3, 2008
    2
    For once ,I agree with the negative reviews here. I simply didn't like the film and Scorsese's way beyond fictional views. I don't see how anyone could give this film a 8 or above.
  26. JCA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    0
    Not necessary. Martin, William, leonardo, Matt, Mark, and Jack put together a performance that goes way over the top and totally unexpected. But 90 minutes in the movie, you can expect the violent killings at the end due to a non-stop functional randomly made-up look into crazy lives that is impossibly accurate.
  27. KevinD
    Jun 7, 2009
    2
    Why is Mark Wahlberg affecting a Bostonian accent in this movie: he's FROM Boston! And, as usual, Scorcese can't direct a believable female character at all. Ever. This-- ALL this said-- it is certainly a better movie than his post-2000 attempts: the tedious GANGS OF NY and the unwatchable THE AVIATOR...faint praise, indeed.
  28. JoyceC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    0
    Martin Scorsese is obsessed with sinful everything. This movie is written, and every character never does follow the ten commandments, only the devils.
  29. AndrewH.
    Mar 25, 2007
    5
    Better than awful, but really the most artificial, least compelling, 2d characters, standard run of the mill crap crime movie. If you don't have integrity, you'll enjoy the whole movie. If you do, you might think it's occasionally touching when the lead men interact with their shared love interest. The rest is just Tarantino-style violence/vulgarity porn for cheap thrills. Better than awful, but really the most artificial, least compelling, 2d characters, standard run of the mill crap crime movie. If you don't have integrity, you'll enjoy the whole movie. If you do, you might think it's occasionally touching when the lead men interact with their shared love interest. The rest is just Tarantino-style violence/vulgarity porn for cheap thrills. Worst Mark Wahlberg movie I've seen. WTF? Expand
  30. DZ
    Nov 1, 2006
    5
    James Hoberman was completely on target: Neither a debacle nor a bore. The film's first two-thirds were well constructed. The interlude sequence with Costello (portrayed by Nicholson) lured the audience in with a certain mood. With a technical and fictional (story telling) plan, Martin Scorsese, accompanied by his skilled editor Thelma Schoonmaker succeeded with engaging the audience James Hoberman was completely on target: Neither a debacle nor a bore. The film's first two-thirds were well constructed. The interlude sequence with Costello (portrayed by Nicholson) lured the audience in with a certain mood. With a technical and fictional (story telling) plan, Martin Scorsese, accompanied by his skilled editor Thelma Schoonmaker succeeded with engaging the audience with a tight cast of characters furthered by precise directing from Martin Scorsese Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    A new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here on its highest beams.
  2. A ferociously entertaining film.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    This reworking of a popular Hong Kong picture pulses with energy, tangy dialogue and crackling performances from a fine cast.