User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 38
  2. Negative: 8 out of 38

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    This is the heaviest movie I have seen in few years. The Divide exactly giving us picture of people with fractured psyche, people, who are broken and trying to survive. Being locked out with no hope of getting outside is turning them slowly into animals. And as we know, human beings are animals that have evolved, which means, that this movie shows real human nature. Epic.
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand all the negativity towards this movie, yes it's brutal and hard to watch, but try to imagine the feeling of being trapped in a basement after a nuclear war, knowing all your friends and loved ones have died, the feeling of helplessness that you're going to die of starvation or worse, and knowing it will take a few hundred years for the radiation to subside, the way certain characters descend into madness is portrayed very well, may i suggest all the haters of the film stick to romcoms in future. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Right off the bat the movie got under my skin. I'm a big nuclear junkie, Obsessed with the cold war and nuclear anything, anyway, It had Eva staring at the mushroom cloud from her apartment building, the flash is enough to blind a person from many miles away and at Eva's distance she would have had severe burns all over her body not to mention glass and whatever **** the blast would throw right at her. Nitpicking the details aside though, This movie had good potential. I understand why it appeals to some, this is probably a pretty good portrait of what this kind of survival situation would deteriorate into, but it's a movie for **** sake. Micky was a good dynamic character, sort of a curmudgeon, kind of like house. They had some nice personality clashing going on and then the military or what the **** ever bust in, and take the kid for no obvious reason. Why they don't kill everyone else or weld the door shut right away, who knows, for some reason they see fit to build a totally realistic plastic tunnel that leads to their evil child lab. The movie turns to **** soon after. Black guy gets killed and then they cut off Micky's finger for the panic room combo and then we see none of him for pretty much the whole movie while we get treated to alot of rape and Eva, Sam and that other guy act like **** Because it would be so hard to bash the 2 evil guy's heads in while they sleep with some piece of junk in the basement. Anyway, after **** picks up again and Sam gets the Luger (I gotta admit I did enjoy everyone yelling and Sam eventually shooting the one good guy because he liked his girlfriend) Eva helps Micky out of the chair and Micky caps the remaining evildoer in the chest like the bad ass mother****er that he is, and what does Eve do but LOCK THEM IN THE ****ING BASEMENT WHILE SHE ESCAPES. WHAT THE **** THAT **** That's really what the movie left me with was a feeling of wanting to punch Eva in the ovaries.
    Was certainly interesting to watch but in the end it was not a good movie.
    Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2012
    1
    Michael Biehn attended the screening of The Divide tonight, and openly mocked the movie in front of the producer, writer, and everyone who had just paid to see the film. Good for him. This is a painfully dull, stupid movie. Plots and themes arise and then are promptly dropped, never to be addressed again. Torture, homophobia, and racism are practically endorsed by this film. Oh, and rape. Did I mention the rape? Because if you like rape, this movie is filled with rape. Watching this film, I felt like I was trapped in a room with 8 untalented over-actors, all trying their best to impress me with how edgy they could be. The result was offensive, stupid, and worst of all, BORING. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    What the hell did I just watch? This is one of those movies that depicts "mankind's descent into madness in the face of desperate situations". I am by no means a squeamish move-goer but there is a right way and a stupid way to do these sorts of movies. The "character development" in this movie is so unbelievable, you'll find yourself shaking your head at the idiocy of what you're seeing on screen. Every part of the plot depends on the **** character acting like more of an **** or the weak willed pansy screwing up a plan because of his own fear. Or the kind-hearted female protagonist who acts as the moral compass of the group until she's pushed too far and then at the end emerges as a kickass heroine-but not before everything went to hell. We have seen these cardboard types so often in films that we almost know exactly what's going to happen throughout the film. Just once I want to see a movie about some intelligent, tough protagonist who puts a bullet in the heads of all these morons and then leads the group to salvation through ingenuity and team-work. Please Hollywood, surprise me just once. Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    The storyline is seemingly broken in places to take you off guard in order to generate an actual emotion inside of you.

    The movie does this very well. The reason it gets so many bad reviews is people it has grabbed people and dragged them down into it. And frankly, it's disturbing and uncomfortable.
    Which is exactly how the movie is designed to make you feel. From the characters to the
    decisions to the flow. It's designed to crawl under your skin and make you frustrated. You should feel injustice, hopeless and anger.

    Do you know what it feels like to be in a basement with the whole world gone and just a matter of time before you are too? If you watched someone in a basement would this be able to convey that feeling? Or all the psychological horrors that spawn from isolation overtime? Disconnect with reality, no police, no justice system while your peers are going crazy and become a danger to your life?
    If I set up the movie so that you have little to no choice but to get this feeling how is that a bad movie?
    It seems many aren't able to make this link or appreciate the seemingly unique approach. But this is what the movie is based on and it does it wonderfully. And if you actually crawl under the skin of the movie instead of it crawling up yours you see that there is a very strong thread keeping everything together.
    Look for the thread instead of being blinded by rage. If you can't comment on the why don't bother commenting on the what. You simply have nothing to add.
    Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder so if you're blind the world will look like a dark place. Try not to be blind.

    I'd rate it a 7.5 - 8 for a general realistic grade however if there are gonna be deluded votes because people vote 1 I'd rather not vote at all. You rate that low because you don' t want others to see the movie and understand it while you don't.
    Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Just what the doctor ordered - when feeling down & wanting some survival horror movie - this one hits the spot with the slow descent into madness. Each step in this journey makes you wake up to be aware of just how far they have come - there maybe just a few minutes between one scene & the next - but the movie makes you acutely aware how much time must have passed. Some of the plot towards the end isn't exactly what I would have written, but it gets it through rather quick to a satisfyingly desolate ending. Expand
  8. May 8, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Film is Indicative of the downward trend in american cinema.Rape ;torture ;racism;dismemberment-its all here .Put a load of people in a room and think of all the nasty things they could do to each-thats about it .The performance of Michael Biehn was the only positive thing about it .There are obviously a lot of actors out there desperate for work . Expand
  9. Aug 2, 2012
    5
    The only thing I will never undestand in these kind of movies is... why does the worst ALWAYS happen? Worst case scenario in every single case! The characters put inside that basement were impossible mix all by themselves, paired with that it just makes this movie completely detached from reality. Yes, I understand the point authors try to make, but you need at least one character you can relate to and a setting that seems adequately plausible to immerse yourself in it, otherwise it's just like a nightmare, you wake up and realize it was total **** Expand
  10. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    I really enjoyed the first 30 to 40 minutes of this movie. It kept me intrested and wondered in what will happen next. But after the 40 mins into the movie, the movie became very boring and pointless.
  11. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic nail biting apocalypse film. Lauren German and Michael Biehn are both fantastic in the way they portray innocent morality driven people put in one of the most desperate situations imaginable.
  12. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    People are complaining about some hard material here. They didn't say it was going to be Alice in Wonderland. Really hate all this woosie reviews! Just watch this good movie and remember life is hard, and this characters are very plausible to me. I really like this pos-apocalyptic survivalist movies and this is one of the best ive seen in 30 years of life.
  13. Jan 25, 2013
    3
    The Divide starts out interesting albeit a little psychotic. We've got the basic premise of a bunch of survivors holed up in a dark place with limited supplies after a nuclear attack and we get to see them as they go on about their daily lives and slowly loose their minds (insofar they hadn't done so before entering the fallout shelter) There are some unexpected moments which make you believe there is more to the storyline than there really is and all of a sudden, about halfway through the movie, the torture-porn creeps in. At first it's just insinuation, then there's some bloodshed and finally we've got a full-blown torture-movie and the movie takes on a different tone where the director seems to have fallen in love with the skills of his camera, sound and lighting crew. Yes, some of the scenes are very well shot but that doesn't make up for the storyline that seems to have been written by someone with a sudden bout of pyschosis halfway through. The characters aren't very like-able and the only ones you may connect to disappear for long amounts of time from the screen or end up being killed in unimaginary ways that always make you wonder why no one steps up and acts like a human being. There are some serious loose ends to the movie that would have made for great sci-fi action and genuine horror/action but these ends are never wrapped up let alone explored. Instead we are served with what can only be described as reality TV by professional actors. Expand
  14. Sep 11, 2013
    7
    The Divide presents the dark and merciless side of post-apocalyptic survival surprisingly well. Although the film lacks spectacle and the setting remains the same for pretty much the whole movie I felt compelled to keep watching to find out what would happen to the nine survivors as the story progressed. Their stark love-or-hate personalities clashed really well over the two-hour film and it soon becomes clear that no one is perfect when their life is on the line. However, I would have liked to have seen more of the devastated city outside the basement before the credits rolled. Despite this, The Divide is still captivating and engaging with a clear message about how low humanity has the potential to go. Expand
  15. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst movie ever made
    The characters are completely insane and as dumb as it can get. Then there's your common hostage situation and some rape because uhhh it must be this way when people get locked up.
    Then you have the "uhh the good guy has the gun now" and guess what, he shoots another good guy and gets beaten up by the bad guys again. It's just dumb and based on some weird "humans bad" philosophy.
    Expand
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jan 24, 2012
    25
    As the loosely aligned band of survivors turns into a pack of sociopathic loners, the only reasonable conclusion is that they were all pretty rotten to begin with.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 19, 2012
    38
    Valuable life lessons always come at a steep price, and this one is no exception. Sorry, but you'll have to shell out for The Divide and then suffer through its nearly two hours of bloody inanities. Weigh the balance, make your choice.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jan 19, 2012
    12
    As it is, The Divide is simply noxious for noxiousness's sake. French director Xavier Gens and writers Karl Mueller and Eron Sheean almost seem to take a kind of perverse pride in seeing how far they can go.