Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 5, 2005
4.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 64 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
11
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SHANKROIDFeb 16, 2013
I don't believe I've ever laughed so hard at a movie as I did at The Dukes Of Hazzard. Do the math... the guy from Jackass, the guy from American Pies and Burt Reynolds (no stranger to car movie shenanigans remember. See The Cannonball Run)I don't believe I've ever laughed so hard at a movie as I did at The Dukes Of Hazzard. Do the math... the guy from Jackass, the guy from American Pies and Burt Reynolds (no stranger to car movie shenanigans remember. See The Cannonball Run) all in a movie version of the classic tv show. How are the Duke boys gonna get one over the local sherrif while avoiding the distractions of a cool deep south car and their sexy cousin?? This is one laugh after another. And another. Even another. If this was one of the episodes of the show that inspired it, it'd be the best episode of it easy. Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
10
faisaln.Dec 25, 2005
I love it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoshuaB.Dec 15, 2005
This is the wrong way to remake a good show.It needs that dukes of Hazzard charm to make it better.This movie takes a good show and turns it into crap.This movie needs a better cast and Director to do this job.They have failed completely to This is the wrong way to remake a good show.It needs that dukes of Hazzard charm to make it better.This movie takes a good show and turns it into crap.This movie needs a better cast and Director to do this job.They have failed completely to make a good movie.I'm sure not to watch this movie.Other people might like this movie,I sure don't.Not to be mean to anybody else who might like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
D-RangedOct 8, 2005
HATED IT! I don't care about stuff like this. A total abomination and disrespect to the original TV series. Jessica Simpson the ditzy blonde bimbo is grating and overrated in looks-gimme Nia Long anyday :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarkB.Sep 20, 2005
A lot can happen in 25 years! In 1980, when the junk-food CBS-TV show this was based on was at the peak of its popularity, could Willie Nelson--at that time amassing real cred as both a character actor and leading man (The Electric Horseman, A lot can happen in 25 years! In 1980, when the junk-food CBS-TV show this was based on was at the peak of its popularity, could Willie Nelson--at that time amassing real cred as both a character actor and leading man (The Electric Horseman, Honeysuckle Rose)--have guessed that he'd be taking on Denver Pyle's role as Uncle Jesse? More to the point, did Burt Reynolds, at that time the #1 box office star (until he cranked out a few too many shoddy, repetitive Dukes variations for buddy Hal Needham) have had even the slightest fraction of a clue of an inkling that he'd be putting on Boss Hogg's white suit? (In the words of The Grateful Dead, "What a long strange trip it's been!") Maybe my never being a fan of the TV series (written largely by former McHale's Navy scribes and likewise featuring all-American party boys taking on the corrupt, inept establishment with the use of labyrinthine, Sting-like schemes, but one Captain Binghamton is worth a thousand Hoggs) allowed me to appreciate the inevitable movie as dumb but relatively painless. That's not exactly ringing praise, I admit, but as 2005 TV show translations go, it's a lot easier to sit through than the last 40 minutes of Bewitched and any nanosecond of The Honeymooners. Director Jay Chandresekhar (whose Broken Lizard gang brought you the fairly funny Super Troopers and the downright terrible Club Dread) manages a nice balance between admiring and satirizing the show; Duke boys Johnny Knoxville and Sean William Scott, as well as Nelson, Reynolds and Lynda Carter all seem to be enjoying themselves, and happily Jessica Simpson seems to be in on the joke. (I still think the producers should've honored Catherine Bach, the original Daisy Duke, either by dying Simpson's hair or casting a brunette.) The worst element of the movie--directly transferred from the show--is retaining the Confederate flag logo on the Dukes' car; I'm as politically incorrect as I wanna be, but what once may have been accepted as a sign of healthy American rebellion is now a sign of racism, lynchings and murder, and should've been replaced with an American flag; Chandresekhar's meager attempts to deal with the controversy on screen are extremely weak. Other than that, Dukes would be an excellent time-machine candidate; it would play quite well on a 1976 drive-in triple feature along with Six Pack Annie and the 407th reissue of Thunder Road--especially with a case or three of Coors in the car. Bob Denver's recent death (which made page 2 of the NEWS--not entertainment--section of USA Today and inspired not one but two columns by Slate's online critics) certainly increases the possibility of a Gilligan's Island big-screen endeavor; not that I'm encouraging it in any way whatsoever, but if it's inevitable, Chandrasekhar is the man for the job. (Note that I'm in favor of this happening, mind you; I just said that I'm NOT encouraging a Gilligan's Island movie, but if one were going to be made anyway, then...oh, never mind.) Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BennyB.Sep 5, 2005
This is a bad film but a likeably bad film. The plot is terrible and the acting is patchy. But I found that this actually worked in places. it had a very late70s/early 80's feel to a lot of it because of these shortcomings. The major This is a bad film but a likeably bad film. The plot is terrible and the acting is patchy. But I found that this actually worked in places. it had a very late70s/early 80's feel to a lot of it because of these shortcomings. The major thing about this film is that the car scenes are ludacris and over the top, and a lot of fun. There's nothing more annoying than a load of CG enhanced car chase scenes that have sneaked into modern films. Here we get some good old fashioned wheel spins and high velocity turning and we get shown that a dodge charger would be a cool car for drift racing. Some of the jokes are lame, but I've heard worse. It's not a good film, but it is enjoyable. I reckon it's down to you on how much money you want to spend (if any) on seeing this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennyM.Jan 10, 2006
Someone asked me the other day, "what's the worst movie you have ever seen?" I said, "dukes of hazzard." You know how some movies are funny in a sick perverted, teen-comedy way (american pie) but this movie is just plain perversly Someone asked me the other day, "what's the worst movie you have ever seen?" I said, "dukes of hazzard." You know how some movies are funny in a sick perverted, teen-comedy way (american pie) but this movie is just plain perversly stupid. It is an excercise in stupidity, and makes me want to vomit all over myself. The acting is horrible, the jokes are horrible, the story is horrible, jessica simpson should be shot in the face, johnny knoxville should stick to being a jackass, the list goes on and on... absolutly horrible, anyone who likes this has a low IQ and no sense of humor and is obviously going nowhere in life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KDDec 13, 2005
I dont know why all the critics are so harsh. this is one of the funniest movies of 2005. its a good 'ol time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Total junk,nothing like the tv series that i loved.this movie was a total slam to the people that liked the tv series.the director and writers of the movie in my words should be working in fast food as they know nothing of how movies work Total junk,nothing like the tv series that i loved.this movie was a total slam to the people that liked the tv series.the director and writers of the movie in my words should be working in fast food as they know nothing of how movies work and should be good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
It's fun all right, but it is so brainless that it makes you feel dumb that you actually liked a part of this. The actors have carisma, and Simpson has the legs, but I can always rent something else, the bad part is I saw this in the It's fun all right, but it is so brainless that it makes you feel dumb that you actually liked a part of this. The actors have carisma, and Simpson has the legs, but I can always rent something else, the bad part is I saw this in the movie theatres, beware. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimmyC.Aug 25, 2005
Ongoing proof that Hollywood is fresh out of original ideas. I walked out 15 minutes into this trashfest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WilsonSep 14, 2005
Don't watch it...boring as hell except Jessica (SO HOT), but if u want to drool...watch her music video--that's much better than the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelanieT.Sep 16, 2005
I thought it was excellent! i would see it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TaylorB.Sep 18, 2006
The Dukes of Hazzard was hazardous. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Not only were the actors terrible at reading the dialogue, the entire story line was just plain stupid. As for Jessica Simpson, the less said the better. However it The Dukes of Hazzard was hazardous. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Not only were the actors terrible at reading the dialogue, the entire story line was just plain stupid. As for Jessica Simpson, the less said the better. However it hurt my eyes to watch her on the big screen. Yeah, she's hot, but she is NOT an actress. She needs to stick to what she does best (or better): singing.. no more acting PLEASE! I dont' know how much longer I can take watching that girl try to be someone she's not. She's a singer, not an actress. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BassFeb 28, 2006
This is plain and simply the worst film ever made. The acting is poor, the direction is poor, the story is poor, and buy the time the ending credits roll you're left wondering jst how you didn't manage to kil yourself after the This is plain and simply the worst film ever made. The acting is poor, the direction is poor, the story is poor, and buy the time the ending credits roll you're left wondering jst how you didn't manage to kil yourself after the last 2 hours of hellish cinema. I like many others worship Sean William Scott for his rolls in previous brillaint comedies such as American Pie, Road Trip and his cameo in the truely excellent Old School, however the mere fact that he signed on for this movie is unacceptable, and someone with his natural comedic talent should most definitly be looking towards quality rolls instead of a large paycheck. I've never been the biggest fan of Knockxville but did admire his contribution in Walking Tall along side The Rock, however after watching this film i'm convinced that one good turn was nothing more than a fluke. The only saving grace for this film is that Jessica Simspon is in it and provides quality eye candy, however we all know that much better source material can easily be found on the internet, and for free as well. Please do not watch this film unless you want your brain to experience unadulterated pain and suffering. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TravisW.Jan 23, 2008
Seriously, who wrote this crap? Have they ever watched a single episode of the Dukes?
0 of 0 users found this helpful