Strand Releasing | Release Date: May 21, 2008
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 37 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
0
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
mubagreenAug 25, 2011
what can i say about this movie .whether its music or cinematography or acting or editing .everything in the movie is top notch.the theme of the movie forgiveness is very divine. fatih akin handles this multidimensional subject with greatwhat can i say about this movie .whether its music or cinematography or acting or editing .everything in the movie is top notch.the theme of the movie forgiveness is very divine. fatih akin handles this multidimensional subject with great care and it surpasses the film babel in one way 'simplicity' Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JayH.Oct 13, 2008
Powerful film, a bit too slow moving at times, but the characters are richly developed, great and well developed screenplay. Fine acting all around. Touching and moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliottMDec 23, 2008
Far and away the best thing I saw in 2008. Still can't stop thinking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SMDec 31, 2008
You won't regret watching this. Promise!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AngieNov 30, 2008
While this movie may have got me thinking about, well, stuff, I didn't really enjoy it. I found the acting to be very good, but I didn't care for the meandering, situational storyline. That's just me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FreddyLJan 19, 2009
While I was bothered by the "see how it all fits together" narrative in other films, such as "Crash", and "Babel", here it works out well, in an impressive and very moving film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertI.Jun 21, 2008
Intertwining of people and places, with verisimilitude in the weaving, mixing human dignity and decency and desire. All that's missing is a gifted cinematographic eye, which would have raised the scenes to a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
nutterjrMay 11, 2013
A number of people started comparing The Edge of Heaven to Babel/Crash and other vertebrate type storylines alike. And even though there is a structural resemblance, the director Akin, a prodigy of immigration himself, makes a movie oozingA number of people started comparing The Edge of Heaven to Babel/Crash and other vertebrate type storylines alike. And even though there is a structural resemblance, the director Akin, a prodigy of immigration himself, makes a movie oozing nostalgia for home; in one thread home is the love of one's life, in another it is the country of origin, in the other one the bosom of a woman, and in another belonging to a cause. Notable mention should be made to the exceptional editing which invariably adds irony and suspense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mapizarroNov 27, 2013
German director, Fatih Akin, explores relationships between national people from Germany and immigrant people from Turkey (most immigrant people in Germany is from Turkey). Reasoning is word most useful for this film. Akin shows us a directGerman director, Fatih Akin, explores relationships between national people from Germany and immigrant people from Turkey (most immigrant people in Germany is from Turkey). Reasoning is word most useful for this film. Akin shows us a direct question to us and he shows his particular vision about Turkish-German people in present. Beautiful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews