Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 22, 2002
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
1
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RobertH.Dec 2, 2002
Eureka! Finally a movie that delivers entertainment. Kevin Kline is wonderful. The Emperor's Club is a marvelous surprise as was My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Just go see and enjoy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LuigiA.Mar 10, 2003
Sorry Charlie you just don't get it. This is one of the most uplifting and wonderful movies I have ever seen. Don't miss it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JanetS.Dec 6, 2002
Bravo! Finally a movie that entertains and where you can leave the theater feeling good!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JasonZ.May 27, 2003
This is, indeed, a morality tale about virtue, character, and the importance of mentorship in the lives of young people. The idea is solid, but the result is tragically bad. Kevin Kline gives the worst performance of his acting career. This is, indeed, a morality tale about virtue, character, and the importance of mentorship in the lives of young people. The idea is solid, but the result is tragically bad. Kevin Kline gives the worst performance of his acting career. Simply put, he mails this one in for the paycheck. His character is wooden and awkward. The acting around him is dreadful. Did anyone making this movie watch either "Dead Poet's Society" or "The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys" before casting the young men as the "moldable students"? This is a bad movie. You might appreciate the message, but the movie is an absolute cinematic mess. Dialogue is hollow. Editing is choppy. Narration is weak. And the writing! God good. It's always a good rule to stay away from a movie that has 5+ writers ... a sure sign that form and function are a recipe for disaster. I'm positive that Kline wants to forget he ever showed up on this set. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FinnyG.Feb 3, 2004
I love it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CharlesH.Feb 28, 2003
I really have to wonder about all these people who praised this movie. Are they shills or something? The movie was garbage.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NolanB.May 27, 2003
A very pleasent suprise.... Kevin Kline was outstanding in it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredH.Nov 28, 2002
Wonderful movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. I recommend it to everyone. Kevin Kline's performance is outstanding.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RoscoeNov 17, 2007
The critics that damn this film are out of touch with the real meaning of this film and are likely to be devoid of any ethics, sensitivity and purpose in life. It shows why they are critics, rather people who perform a role that adds any The critics that damn this film are out of touch with the real meaning of this film and are likely to be devoid of any ethics, sensitivity and purpose in life. It shows why they are critics, rather people who perform a role that adds any real value to society. They are sad cases and I feel sorry for them. I love this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AmberP.Dec 2, 2002
What a joy to behold! Kevin Kline is brilliant as we watch his life unfold. He is an assistant headmaster at an all boys school. The passion he invokes in teaching his students is quite evident. He then has a chance to see his mark on the What a joy to behold! Kevin Kline is brilliant as we watch his life unfold. He is an assistant headmaster at an all boys school. The passion he invokes in teaching his students is quite evident. He then has a chance to see his mark on the world when he attends a class reunion twenty-five years later. Just a wonderful feel good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Sep 12, 2005
It's not as bad a critics claim it is. Kline is good, and the situation with that one cheater kid is interesting. Also shows how strict private schools get...sheesh (but they all got rich! or stayed that way). Guess that kid never changed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LassisterP.Nov 26, 2002
An absolute masterpiece about what is important in life. Kevin Kline steals the show as the teacher who instills in his students that good morals and learning about history is how we make our mark on this earth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StacyH.Dec 8, 2002
Excellent film! The acting was outstandingly real! Anyone who could watch this movie and say it's "simple minded" isn't paying attention to the many nuances of the story! A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaskassSep 22, 2003
I love this movie...an inspiring one...!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyL.Dec 9, 2002
Add me to the list of people that simply loved Kevin Kline in this role. An all around great movie. The moral is that if you give life all you have, you can actually make a difference in this world. Just tremendously entertaining and thought Add me to the list of people that simply loved Kevin Kline in this role. An all around great movie. The moral is that if you give life all you have, you can actually make a difference in this world. Just tremendously entertaining and thought provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyL.Nov 25, 2002
I just came back from watching The Emperor's Club. Kevin Kline captivates the screen with his heart rendering brilliant performance as a history teacher who actually cares at an elite all boys prep school. The movie then fasts forward I just came back from watching The Emperor's Club. Kevin Kline captivates the screen with his heart rendering brilliant performance as a history teacher who actually cares at an elite all boys prep school. The movie then fasts forward twenty-five years into the future presenting him with a unique opportunity to see what has become of his former pupils. It is a must see movie for all parents and teenagers as it will bridge the gap. Absolutely brilliant. It is a must see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
This movie is a aftershock of Dead Poet's Society and it goes down in flames due to it's predictable plot and uninteresting characters. The ending was unique but most of it was unnecessary. Costner has never been my favorite and he has provenThis movie is a aftershock of Dead Poet's Society and it goes down in flames due to it's predictable plot and uninteresting characters. The ending was unique but most of it was unnecessary. Costner has never been my favorite and he has proven again he is only a par actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews