Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 26, 2014
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 344 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
229
Mixed:
79
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
LamontRaymondOct 2, 2014
It's a super-entertaining flick, and Deznel is at the peak of his "less is more" powers here. Have we noticed that all these aging actors (Neeson, Denzel) are becoming Charles Bronson? Hey, give the people what they want.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
fantasyOct 4, 2014
Denzel Washington is brilliant as he is born to play this role. There is nothing not to like as the story develops nicely. The villain is expertly played similar to what James Bond 007 usually faced in his adventures. And Denzel improvisesDenzel Washington is brilliant as he is born to play this role. There is nothing not to like as the story develops nicely. The villain is expertly played similar to what James Bond 007 usually faced in his adventures. And Denzel improvises for his choice of weapons usually on the fly. He is always one step ahead of the bad guys. He's the type of vigilante we all wish we had in this world. Maybe he can pay a visit to ISIS? He can do what our President doesn't have the backbone to do! Basically as our fearful Commander In Chief hasn't learned as yet, you can't negotiate with bad guys that have no respect for human life, theirs or our own. Denzel as The Equalizer makes us stand up and cheer. Can't wait for the sequel. Great action popcorn movie. Go see and enjoy! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
HfahmyOct 17, 2014
A superman in casual clothes

A handmade film for Denzel Washington, he is in every scene, he sees, foresees, acts, reacts, knows everything and does everything. There is no real scenario, a storyline that attires, just series of cat and
A superman in casual clothes

A handmade film for Denzel Washington, he is in every scene, he sees, foresees, acts, reacts, knows everything and does everything. There is no real scenario, a storyline that attires, just series of cat and rat maneuvers. Nevertheless the film is tense, there is no why and how, only Denzel Washington knows and may be the script writer. It is hard to identify a typical character or actor, it is a one man show. If you are interested in spending two hours with Denzel, it is the movie, if you are curious in knowing what will happen next, it is the movie, no more no less.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
5
KastleJan 3, 2015
I liked this movie WAY better when it was called 'Man on Fire'. It was almost the exact same story except instead of killing Mexican cartel he was killing Russian mob to get revenge for a young girl. Hope Denzel decides to make some moreI liked this movie WAY better when it was called 'Man on Fire'. It was almost the exact same story except instead of killing Mexican cartel he was killing Russian mob to get revenge for a young girl. Hope Denzel decides to make some more unique films again. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasSep 28, 2014
I wish the world had a bunch of equalizers. Yes, sometimes you must do something bad for good to win. Very strong message, amazing how Denzel acts with his eyes and it looks like Chloe is building towards a strong future in acting.
9 of 21 users found this helpful912
All this user's reviews
6
Bruce722Oct 24, 2015
I had high hopes for this movie and, while it largely lived up to them, I felt there were some glaring flaws that could've easily been avoided, which would've resulted in a superior film. For one, Antoine Fuqua did a mediocre job with theI had high hopes for this movie and, while it largely lived up to them, I felt there were some glaring flaws that could've easily been avoided, which would've resulted in a superior film. For one, Antoine Fuqua did a mediocre job with the directing role. It almost felt like he had never directed a film in his entire life, found a list of all the cool camera tricks, angles, and cinematic effects, and felt compelled to include each and every one of them. How did this impact the movie? It made it seem as though it lacked any identity whatsoever. Secondly, there is a critical moment in the final major conflict resolution that is just terrible. To avoid spoilers, let's just say that the protagonist that had been established throughout the film makes a decision that he would never make. That, combined with the plot getting a little out of hand, made the last quarter or so of the movie hard to swallow. It wasn't all bad, however, as the rating should reflect. The acting was great and fighting sequences were done incredibly well. The build up and initial character and plot development were fantastic too. Unfortunately this film suffered from having a director who wanted to do everything instead of making a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dark_wizOct 1, 2014
I really enjoyed the movie, great acting, compelling story not super original, kept me engaged and wanting more, Denzel is a bad ass as usual. This is nothing like the expendables that's laughable. Go see it !
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
KenmeiOct 11, 2015
Extremely middle of the road movie and definitely not one of Denzel's finest moments. There's too much same old same old for me here and even that is not done very well. This movie is compared to Man on Fire alot, one of Denzel's finestExtremely middle of the road movie and definitely not one of Denzel's finest moments. There's too much same old same old for me here and even that is not done very well. This movie is compared to Man on Fire alot, one of Denzel's finest moments I think, and it doesn't hold a candle to that movie. Bout the only thing this movie has going for it is that it's easy to sit down and enjoy. How much you enjoy it really depends on your love of action and/or Denzel movies honestly but it's very easy to follow and it clearly does not want you thinking about the various plot holes too much. There are plenty of other Denzel movies to watch instead of this one. Stay far away from this clunker. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Mar 30, 2015
The Equalizer was one of the most underrated shows of the 1980s, it was a great show, but it always lacked a certain intensity that the lead character needed. In this 2014 film adaptation of the series, Director, Antoine Fuqua, made sure thatThe Equalizer was one of the most underrated shows of the 1980s, it was a great show, but it always lacked a certain intensity that the lead character needed. In this 2014 film adaptation of the series, Director, Antoine Fuqua, made sure that didn't happen again. Denzel Washington stars and can play anyone, but I find he's at his best when he's playing a dark loner like Robert McCall. McCall, a former CIA operative has retired and is attempting to live a normal life. Everything is going as planned, until he sees a young girl being abused, and decides to take action. McCall believe he's just going up against a local pimp, but discovers it's a lot more complicated than that. Washington continues to be at the top of his game, as the ageless wonder is once again spectacular. This film is everything I loved about the series, with a whole lot more action and intensity. Director, Antoine Fuqua, has been on a role after films like Training Day, Shooter, and Olympus Has Fallen, and he has become THE guy when it comes to action films. Playing off an established franchise and paired with Denzel Washington, The Equalizer has come back to life and is one of the most refreshing action films I've seen in a long time. Sometimes with a different team, what was once old, can become new again, and I was practically jumping out of my seat with excitement. As far as the continuation of the series goes, Fuqua is in the early stages of a sequel. It may not be a new TV series, but it's still something exciting for the fans, and I for one can't wait to see more. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawOct 6, 2014
A recent cinema-going of Denzel Washington’s latest thriller directed by Antoine Fuqua, the man behind his Oscar-crowning good-cop-goes-bad turn in TRAINING DAY (2001, 8/10). But that is only a one-off bait for his Oscar consummation. As oneA recent cinema-going of Denzel Washington’s latest thriller directed by Antoine Fuqua, the man behind his Oscar-crowning good-cop-goes-bad turn in TRAINING DAY (2001, 8/10). But that is only a one-off bait for his Oscar consummation. As one of the most consistently bankable actor in Hollywood (at least in the domestic market), Washington’s good-man card never fail his audience, bar his sortie in portraying an ambiguous character as a drunken pilot garners him another Oscar-nomination in Robert Zemeckis’ FLIGHT (2012, 7/10). So this reunion is more or less commercial-oriented than an ambitious art-house attempt as Fuqua has established his status as the Hollywood go-to action journeyman after producing profitable outputs like SHOOTER (2007) and OLYMPUS HAS FALLEN (2013).

continue reading my review on my blog: google cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
yrcrazyOct 1, 2014
Horribly cliched and predictable and despite the storyline being poor it still managed to drag on for two hours. No surprise in guessing the nationality of the bad guys and no surprise the main character kills everything in his path. UsualHorribly cliched and predictable and despite the storyline being poor it still managed to drag on for two hours. No surprise in guessing the nationality of the bad guys and no surprise the main character kills everything in his path. Usual big budget film that insults the intelligence of its viewers. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
bigfoot6463Nov 7, 2014
This is one of the best top 5 movie of the year. Denzel Washington is the bomb. Must see movie. White knuckle ride that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Very graphic kill scenes, and tense as hell. He does what each one of us would likeThis is one of the best top 5 movie of the year. Denzel Washington is the bomb. Must see movie. White knuckle ride that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Very graphic kill scenes, and tense as hell. He does what each one of us would like to do to the **** holes in this world. Story was solid and perfectly scripted. Action was killer. Well acted by all. Inspirational. Denzel Washington happens to be one of my most favorite actors and is never a let down in any of his movies. Im not going to get into the story line, you can read it your self. WELL DONE! God blessed you Denzel Washington and you use your gift flawlessly. It is now 2:00 am and im going to watch Unstoppable, which is another Denzel Washington movie that is a must see. I have watched Unstoppable at least 40 times and the movie never gets old. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
theofficeSep 27, 2014
The Equalizer is in the "noir" genre of film so don't go in expecting a huge shoot 'em up. That being said it was extremely well done and pretty violent while presenting interesting moral questions. Denzel does a great job as usual and IThe Equalizer is in the "noir" genre of film so don't go in expecting a huge shoot 'em up. That being said it was extremely well done and pretty violent while presenting interesting moral questions. Denzel does a great job as usual and I think the overarching story is pretty cool. I also think the movie does a good job of drawing you in to actually care about some of the lesser characters. Think it is worth a watch for sure! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
8
FullmetalSep 29, 2014
For all the people that claim the movie's plot is not original enough, it is worth noting that this is based on a tv series that ran from 1985 to 1989. That being said, this remake does what the show took a while to do. The show was campy,For all the people that claim the movie's plot is not original enough, it is worth noting that this is based on a tv series that ran from 1985 to 1989. That being said, this remake does what the show took a while to do. The show was campy, the acting was pretty bad, and it was nowhere near as violent as this movie. Denzel Washington did a good job of playing the Black Ops badass in this movie, and I enjoyed when the Russian scumbags pushed his buttons and forced him to act. This movie was entertaining, which is why I go to the movies. If I wanted a cerebral movie about a broken black ops operator, I would watch Man on Fire. This was basically a sequel to Man on Fire with a different character and story. In the end, the girl causes him to snap and do bad things to people who deserve it. Don't have a problem with that, and got good entertainment for what I paid for. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
RealMuthaFSep 26, 2014
While not being somewhat outstanding, The Equalizer is still a potent, albeit a bit too slow-paced, action movie. The plot, obviously, is not very original, so the main question was how good it would be executed.The result is mostlyWhile not being somewhat outstanding, The Equalizer is still a potent, albeit a bit too slow-paced, action movie. The plot, obviously, is not very original, so the main question was how good it would be executed.The result is mostly satisfying, among the strong sides I'd name: of course Denzel Washington, who never disappoints (although his other movies I've seen were better), gory action and the overall classic action movie feel to it - the hero is super bad-ass, always walking slowly, dispensing kickassery and not looking at explosions, while the villain is properly menacing and ruthless.
The movie's not without flaws, and shaky camera work during action scenes, overly slow pacing and the stereotypical bad guys are among them. (Russian gangsters with cheesy tattoos, lots of vodka and tons of Kremlin and Red Square pictures)
Despite that, the movie manages to hold its own and be worth your time and money. It's quite refreshing to watch an old-school bad-ass-dispensing-justice movie after all those comic book adaptations and the rule "Denzel doesn't play in crap" still works.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
andarial6670Dec 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like "The Old Man and the Sea" references in this movie. That's about the only thing that stuck out to me. The pacing is bad. The story is underdeveloped in my opinion. Based on what happens throughout the entire movie, the plot could have resolved itself within the first hour. I think the biggest problem is that this movie follows the formula of "unstoppable protagonist" where Denzel is basically a black superhero smacking around mobsters who look like they've never been in a fight before. I take back the black superhero description, I think "Home Depot Warrior" fits him better. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
BshopOct 2, 2014
Reminded me of another "I'll find you and kill you" type of movie - Paul Blart - Mall Cop.
Seriously though, it was an alright movie, but lasted a bit too long.
Chloe Martz-whatever was alright, small and predictable role. I would wait to
Reminded me of another "I'll find you and kill you" type of movie - Paul Blart - Mall Cop.
Seriously though, it was an alright movie, but lasted a bit too long.
Chloe Martz-whatever was alright, small and predictable role.
I would wait to see on Netflix or Amazon Prime. Not one of Denzel's best, I though his movie Flight was better than this honestly.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
Brutus54Sep 28, 2014
Alright - but way too long, and suffers from the usual problem with heroes these days - where the protagonist is apparently invulnerable, and routinely able to brush off horrible mutilation and/or severe wounds that would sideline - orAlright - but way too long, and suffers from the usual problem with heroes these days - where the protagonist is apparently invulnerable, and routinely able to brush off horrible mutilation and/or severe wounds that would sideline - or terminate - anyone else. It just becomes tedious to watch when no matter what injury is suggested, you know that the hero will simply get up, shrug his shoulders, and then continue on to dispatch everyone else - usually without any consequences. It appears all heroes are now automatically assumed have absorbed Wolverine's self-healing capacity. For example, at one stage here, the Equalizer gets shot (and blown up), is apparently seriously disabled, and even has to be dragged to safety by an onlooker . But one minutes late, he is back, dealing death through the judicious and malevolent manipulation of domestic hardware. It all becomes a bit silly after a while. But nevertheless, Denzel is OK in the role, and the various supporting characters (while clichéd) are also adequate. A sequel beckons. Or possibly five. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Sep 26, 2014
"The Equalizer" is a perfect storm of all sorts of lightning strikes striking in one place at the same time. The breathtaking direction and imagery from Antoine Fuqua and Mauro Fiore. The satiatingly rich and thick score from Harry"The Equalizer" is a perfect storm of all sorts of lightning strikes striking in one place at the same time. The breathtaking direction and imagery from Antoine Fuqua and Mauro Fiore. The satiatingly rich and thick score from Harry Gregson-Williams. The absolutely remarkable and eminently charming turn from Denzel Washington. And the unthinkably satisfying set pieces/fight scenes that make you jump from your seat like a giddy 16-year-old kid seeing an R-Rated movie in theaters for the first time. "The Equalizer" is the kind of movie you don't want to end. Ever. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
8
ToffenuffJan 6, 2015
This is a good action drama movie. I'm a sucker for the quiet, unassuming, and underestimated heroes. I'm also a sucker for pretty much anything Denzel Washington stars in since he's one of my favorite actors. Worth a watch.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MeritCobaSep 11, 2016
This is certainly an amazing movie as it shows how great an actor Denzel Washinton is. A lot of credit should also go to Marton Csokas who is great as well and the cat and mouse play between the two is what makes the movie.
Washinton is a
This is certainly an amazing movie as it shows how great an actor Denzel Washinton is. A lot of credit should also go to Marton Csokas who is great as well and the cat and mouse play between the two is what makes the movie.
Washinton is a former undercover agent who gets involved in a battle with the Russian mob. Csokas is a former Spetznaz who has to track down and remove the problem Washington.
The biggest flaw in the movie is that Washington is presented as an overconfident and overpowered killing machine who knows too much, with him killing a room full of enemies with just his bare hands to start out with in one of the dumbest scenes. And on the flip side: Csokas is soon revealed as a cliche brutish thug, which makes his first appearance, where he is smart, self-assured and cool a downer in hindsight.
Missing is also the obvious third player, the authorities(or journalist?) hunting the vigilante Washington and a love interest or other vulnerability for Washingon. Many movies know that when one makes someone overpowered, you need to a weakness to make up for it.
This makes the movie mostly boil down to Washington talking a lot to people, killing a lot of bad guys and Csokas being a brute.
The climax of the movie is great because of excellent soundtrack Vengeance by Zack Hemsey and it is a brilliant way of giving tension to the scenes. It also has Washington using the various power tools as deadly weapons.
The movie excels in great scenes, moody talks, finely tuned combat scenes and then gets hurt with Washington knowing too much, being too self-assured , being too overpowered and scenes that are ridiculous as the one that has him walking unarmed into a room with five thugs. Washington also never gets hurt until in the last scene.
This makes the movie unbalanced, despite the great acting. A pity.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KelphyFeb 11, 2015
A little cliche? Maybe so. What I do not see very often these days is great action movies and this one fulfilled what the cliche action movie fans wanted! This is a must see if you want to see an action that us action movie fanatics haveA little cliche? Maybe so. What I do not see very often these days is great action movies and this one fulfilled what the cliche action movie fans wanted! This is a must see if you want to see an action that us action movie fanatics have sorely missed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
GinaKSep 28, 2014
The Equalizer was a very disappointing film because it was so uneven – schmaltzy parts and vicious action and both types of scenes could be boring. The one really interesting thing was the creative ways the villains were dispatched, althoughThe Equalizer was a very disappointing film because it was so uneven – schmaltzy parts and vicious action and both types of scenes could be boring. The one really interesting thing was the creative ways the villains were dispatched, although The Equalizer was cheating a bit because all his “equalizing “was done on his home turf. Also I wasn’t quite sure where the director and screenwriter were going with the character (I never saw the TV series.) At one point the Equalizer tells a story to the main villain about an orphan boy who was adopted, and he speculates that the boy ended up killing the people who were kind to him. I thought he was talking about the villain, but someone cleverer than I suggested afterwards that he could just as well have been talking about himself since he had such a talent for unadulterated, sadistic violence. If this subtlety was deliberate, then it was a better movie than I thought. But I still am not impressed. (PS: I am a Denzel Washington fan.) Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonJan 29, 2015
The Equalizer was a knockout. Washington was brilliant and Mortez was mesmerizing. The action is by far, the best I saw in 2014. Director Antione Faqua, who brought us action marvel- Olympus Has Fallen and tense thriller- Training Day, comesThe Equalizer was a knockout. Washington was brilliant and Mortez was mesmerizing. The action is by far, the best I saw in 2014. Director Antione Faqua, who brought us action marvel- Olympus Has Fallen and tense thriller- Training Day, comes with a story of a man with a violent past trying to settle down in his new job, while getting tangled with Russian mobsters along the way. The dynamic performance by Denzel Washington is what holds this movie together, along with the action. The Equalizer is a powerhouse movie, that deserves a buy on BluRay. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticJan 4, 2015
A fairly good action film that was about 20 minutes to long. Every time you see Denzel Washington on screen you forget just how awesome he is and in this film it's no different. My main issue would be some scenes just seemed thrown in thereA fairly good action film that was about 20 minutes to long. Every time you see Denzel Washington on screen you forget just how awesome he is and in this film it's no different. My main issue would be some scenes just seemed thrown in there and had very little to do with the plot. In the end Denzel is worth the recommendation. B Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
SEROJMar 12, 2016
Action movies cliches celebrate together one of the most typical action movies ever! So predictable, so boring and disgusting at times. If fighting/shooting scenes are all you're looking for... go ahead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tessara_VejganDec 14, 2014
Surprisingly good move that came out of nowhere. Story is nothing new or revolutionary. Acting is good. It was a fun watch with lots of action and carnage.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
calinutzDec 12, 2014
Great movie... Denzel W is one of my favorites so I do not miss anything he plays in.
However the script is very bad. I mean, my main problem is: DW is an ex-CIA probably contract killer or something, and while being that, he does not seem
Great movie... Denzel W is one of my favorites so I do not miss anything he plays in.
However the script is very bad. I mean, my main problem is: DW is an ex-CIA probably contract killer or something, and while being that, he does not seem to be a fan of weapons, he prefers to kill people using home appliances even if all kinds of weapons lie around. I think that originally the killings were probably made the regular way, with guns and stuff, but some producer in the last minute said: let's make it different from John Wick and other FPS movies out there, make him kill using anything but guns, and do not make any hint in the movie as for what is his reason of doing so. Also, he does not mind leaving murder weapons laying around all over the place, not caring that his prints and DNA are all-over them. Except for that and a few too prolonged scenes when DW leaves a killing zone, the movie is great. Probably most viewers wont even notice these issues and simply enjoy the movie. I rate it a 6 because of the quality of the film and of course because of Denzel Washington.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
bmaster4616Sep 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For the most part, critics have been good with their ratings this year with a few exceptions. However, this is not one of those cases. I don't get the critics sometimes. Giving ridiculous movies like Maze Runner, Lucy, etc., good reviews is mortally wrong. They gave this a 59%, barely rotten, but should be higher. It's not Antoine's best work but it surely dishes out a blood justice good time. It's bloody, violet, meaningful (whatever rotten), and shouldn't br taken too seriously. This isn't as masterpiece or Denzel's best work, but it's clearly should be fresh. If you're going into this movie thinking it's going to be nothing but a fun movie, then you're setting yourself up for a bad time. It has its smart moments, but it's basicaly the rated R version of taken, which I loved. Overall I loved this movie, not for the smart and master piece of a movie, but for the violet and action packed movie. 8.5/10 Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 26, 2014
The Equalizer is a rare breed of movie: it borrows from other films, everything from Sin City to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, yet it manages to be original enough to deserve a high rating. Unlike most generic action flicks, this one has round,The Equalizer is a rare breed of movie: it borrows from other films, everything from Sin City to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, yet it manages to be original enough to deserve a high rating. Unlike most generic action flicks, this one has round, multi-dimensional characters who you actually care about, and the script and screenplay are smart and well thought out. The movie is over-the-top and extreme, but it is very entertaining, thanks to smart action sequences and good acting. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
hadioushiJan 3, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first you'd think this movie was well thought of. But the more you watch the less you feel for the characters. In the beginning, the story is emotional with all the sad tales and you'd actually have some sympathy for the characters. But then the whole movie loses it's purpose after the protagonist (Denzel) starts killing people. Moretz is nowhere to be seen even though she's one of the main reasons this is happening. Towards the end, it was plain awful. He just heartlessly kills everyone in such brutal manner that the trouble the thugs caused didn't even compete. Just another cliche action movie Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Oct 1, 2014
Simply put, it's another worthwhile and fun addition to Denzel Washington's line of action thrillers. Surprisingly, it has really good editing to where you get to see a lot of the action and blood without it cutting away so many times likeSimply put, it's another worthwhile and fun addition to Denzel Washington's line of action thrillers. Surprisingly, it has really good editing to where you get to see a lot of the action and blood without it cutting away so many times like countless other films have been doing lately. Also, great action sequences throughout, even though some of it may not be entirely original. Overall, check it out if you like Denzel and his films, or if you simply wish to see a fun film. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
AGarcia732Dec 31, 2014
The Equalizer is "revenge-porn", but not much else. Maybe "The Equalizer" just isn't my cup of tea, but I'm surprised it got as many favorable reviews as it did. The movie felt kind of aimless, pointless, and unmeaningful IMO (just asThe Equalizer is "revenge-porn", but not much else. Maybe "The Equalizer" just isn't my cup of tea, but I'm surprised it got as many favorable reviews as it did. The movie felt kind of aimless, pointless, and unmeaningful IMO (just as Robert's life was portrayed in the film). Robert McCall is just a widowed man living through the motions, not doing much except visiting diners at 2 AM, reading all the books on a list of 100 classic "must-read" novels, chatting politely with strangers, helping people out, and keeping his apartment very clean. Robert (and the movie) have no sense of clear direction or purpose. And suddenly comes the one (actually, multiple people/events) destined to send him back into his old ways, and one thing leads to another. Besides exacting brutal justice on helpless goons with his "very particular set of skills" and simultaneously leaving lots of very obvious loose ends that are just BOUND to catch up with him, (enforcer & problem-solver/Russian villain) Teddy also impulsively kills for no reason! (He murders a Irish mob boss, which SHOULD start a gang war, but doesn't.)

There are quite a bit of reckless actions done throughout this movie, and most of them hard to ignore. Besides the aforementioned logical fallacies, its hard to believe that of all the times Robert McCall witnessed injustice in his life (since having faked his own death as a former black ops commando), one random act of violence perpetrated against a stranger makes him go back to his former ways. NOTHING before that ever even slightly tempted him to exact violent and brutal justice? If he could so easily do good (as he takes down baddies and cripples a criminal empire with ease), why hadn't he done it before?

The film has action and gore, yet even that fails to be entertaining--as Denzel/Robert is far too badass to ever even feel threatened. He seems super-human, which makes it hard for you to connect/relate to him. Victims in the movie don't have enough development to have the audience sympathize with them. As the action is not suspenseful, the plot hard to believe, and the characters underdeveloped/only used to advance the plot, The Equalizer doesn't have much going for it. It's too long and mundane. It doesn't even bring much new material to the table, similarly to Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit. Both do little to establish themselves as different from the many movies out there. The Equalizer is too reminiscent of other vigilante/action films (TAKEN!), and it even reminds me of Home Alone (mostly during the finale)! Denzel's acting style is the only saving grace of the movie.

Remember the Titans, Man on Fire, and 2 Guns were better Denzel Washington films, and Olympus Has Fallen was a more satisfying product from director Antoine Fuqua. I don't hate "The Equalizer", but it was a "flimsy pretext" stretched to last two hours and filled with meaningless violence (mostly used to establish the film as grisly and dark). It's a "rejected Taken plotline" repurposed to give Sony an unnecessary action movie franchise. This should remain a stand-alone film. It honestly doesn't warrant a sequel. I hate to say this, but "The Equalizer" feels like a "regurgitated cash-grab".

I have reviewed 36 other movies, including the 2014 films: The Interview, Exodus: Gods and Kings, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1, Dracula Untold, The Maze Runner, The Expendables 3, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Giver, Sharknado 2, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Transformers: Age of Extinction, Edge of Tomorrow, X-Men Days of Future Past, Godzilla, Blended, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, Divergent, Transcendence, Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, The Lego Movie, and more.

I review TV shows, such as: The Flash, Arrow (Season 3), Gotham, The Last Ship, Sleepy Hollow, Marvel's Agents of SHIELD (Season 1 and 2), The 100, I Wanna Marry Harry, Crisis, Gang Related, and more. I also have reviewed the mobile Android games: Minecraft Pocket Edition, Clash of Clans, and Five Night's at Freddy's.

(P.S, some of the quotes are from other online text sources.)
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
skip260Oct 18, 2014
This is a very cliche movie. The typical "I gave that life up years ago" action lone-wolf film. At least it puts a nice catch to it. And since this has to be 50 characters long I'm just typing this random stuff.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
0
GarfoodleSep 26, 2014
It's like the expendables,but but really bad. Dont watch this movie,because,you know,it's really bad. Also,it's braindead up the arse and back. I mean,really?
8 of 25 users found this helpful817
All this user's reviews
9
SeanGamerDaysSep 27, 2014
ARE U F---ING KIDDING ME? This movie was awesome! Does it look like "The Expandables 3"? Please, that is the most total crap that people saying.... Is this movie was so look like an-old fashoin schooled movie, where it's a total crap? God,ARE U F---ING KIDDING ME? This movie was awesome! Does it look like "The Expandables 3"? Please, that is the most total crap that people saying.... Is this movie was so look like an-old fashoin schooled movie, where it's a total crap? God, WTF is wrong with u all? U know, this is the most good movie that I've just watched. But, man the soundtrack was really bad! (But not in the near-ending scene & credits). The Cast; Washington, Moretz, Harbour, and some others...... were an excellent performance.... Oh who Am I kidding, buy the goddamn tickets! Go! Watched, damnit! Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
7
Filmwatcher123Sep 28, 2014
The Bad: This movie, much like its reviews, is very clustered and unsure of its intention and goal, starting and finishing stories with no real conclusion to anything. On the action side we have long periods between each action scene makingThe Bad: This movie, much like its reviews, is very clustered and unsure of its intention and goal, starting and finishing stories with no real conclusion to anything. On the action side we have long periods between each action scene making it a put off for those who were hoping for a straight action flick. Those were the bad things about this movie. The Good: The first thing to mention is Denzel Washington's ability to make nearly all of his characters relate-able and likable, even when playing a murderous killer who violently dispatches his enemies. Which brings me to my next good point, although the action is few and far between, the parts we did get to see were brilliant. Avoiding a straight shootout whenever possible and going or more creative fight scenes made this movie a more watchable experience for all audiences, making you crave the action that little bit more. Another point i would like to mention is that the villain played by Marton Csokas was very creepy and intense, making him an enjoyable villain to watch, although a bit more character development for him would have been nice, they do start some, but it never really goes anywhere. All in all i give this movie a 7 as it was enjoyable to watch, with great action scenes and acting, but the story itself was not all that linear or clear, it just seemed to be about a guy who helps people because he can, but never explains why he does or should, and a villain who kills for the same reason. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
7
jcfilms17Oct 5, 2014
Denzel is back, with the same director of films such as Training Day, and Olympus Has Fallen. This film is about a quiet man who meets a young prostitute who is dictated by the russian mafia, and through this he becomes very upset of whatDenzel is back, with the same director of films such as Training Day, and Olympus Has Fallen. This film is about a quiet man who meets a young prostitute who is dictated by the russian mafia, and through this he becomes very upset of what they are doing to her/treating her and he decides to fix this. This movie has some gory scenes here and there, but turns out to be a pretty good action movie overall... 6.5/10 Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
Starkiller1976Sep 28, 2014
I have to say this film is the biggest pile of crap I've ever seen, with or without Denzel Washington , and he did good films, and Chloë Grace Moretz another crappy role.
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
5
HaithamBDec 13, 2014
The Equalizer is shriveled in plot; where it is mundane and salvaged. Denzel Washington is the 10 of this movie, and is desperately trying to deliver fun action, he succeeds always.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
Jordan20Sep 26, 2014
Chloe Moretz did so many remakes movies i lost count, maybe we see Liam Neeson in The Equalizer 2, and Denzel Washington in A Walk Among the Tombstones 2
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
2
Seth19Sep 29, 2014
The Equalizer is a decent film, nothing amazing , Training Day, American Gangster, Man on Fire, Malcolm X, The Hurricane. Remember the Titans, Best Denzel Washington Movies
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
Bane23Sep 26, 2014
You do realise they chose to do these movies right? I think they're at that age when they just don't give a damn what they make, as long as it keeps the cash flowing. Just look at the expendables!
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
0
Lena18Oct 6, 2014
This movie is really dumb , Denzel Washington he is looking at his enemies the same as the Terminator, and Chloë Grace Moretz copied Jodie Foster in the bar scene in Taxi Driver (1976) , and i hate the slow action scene.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
8
AnalyticCriticSep 26, 2014
The Equalizer starring Denzel Washington is actually a very good film.

Let's start by talking about the villain of the film. Teddy played by Martin Csokas is not just your average Russian gangster, he is really something you don't see
The Equalizer starring Denzel Washington is actually a very good film.

Let's start by talking about the villain of the film. Teddy played by Martin Csokas is not just your average Russian gangster, he is really something you don't see often. Just watching Teddy and McCall's (Denzel Washington) back and forth is a treat in itself. He is smart, intimidating, unforgiving, and reminiscent of a Bond villain. He is really one of the best antagonist's that I have seen in a long time. Denzel Washington does an excellent job playing the hero McCall, who is an ex intelligence officer who becomes personally un-retired. The character has more depth to him than one would think in a type of movies like this. There is really not much else I can say about this, the character was very interesting along with a great performance by Denzel Washington.

The plot of this movie is not very surprising. Most things are predictable and you see them coming from a mile away. What makes it so amazing though is how they pull off all these scenes. They do it in a way that while you know what will happen you are still intrigued and invested into the film. Along with the other great stuff in the movie is the soundtrack. I was caught totally off guard; expecting something average. It was really noticeable here and added the whip cream to every scene.

The pacing at certain parts and the run time are my only issues with this film.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
NotoriousFraudSep 27, 2014
Based on the 80's television show, the Antoine Fuqua (Training Day) directed adaptation "The Equalizer" has solid action and a story that has been told many times but it's told very competently and the acting is top notch. It's one ofBased on the 80's television show, the Antoine Fuqua (Training Day) directed adaptation "The Equalizer" has solid action and a story that has been told many times but it's told very competently and the acting is top notch. It's one of Denzel's most physically active roles and his charisma goes off the charts as he takes down baddies in many violent ways. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
PeteStaivSep 28, 2014
The Equalizer is a fun movie! The plot is simple but well realized, the ending is predictable but satisfying! Fantastic acting from Denzel and others! Probably the best movie in September 2014
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Brainstorm123Jun 1, 2015
Denzel can etch another mark into his decorated career with The Equalizer; which is the best film and best thriller of 2014. I think that, while it takes a while to take off, when it gets going the story is very compelling, and draws you in.Denzel can etch another mark into his decorated career with The Equalizer; which is the best film and best thriller of 2014. I think that, while it takes a while to take off, when it gets going the story is very compelling, and draws you in. The action sequences are very well thought out, and amazing to watch. The best being the hardware store scene. Not to mention that the soundtrack is superb. Denzel offers a memorable take on the classic in the English series, with a stellar performance. He even packs in some intelligent humour. Overall, this is an action film that will have you hooked until the end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JPManningSep 28, 2014
Okay, to start with you have to be a Denzel Washington fan. I am. If you have any kind of blood lust, it will be satisfied by this movie. Plenty of gore, but worth the trip.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Oct 6, 2014
Nice to see Denzel Washington and Antoine Fuqua working together again as Training Day was one of my personal favorites. Not exactly the best performance Denzel has ever had but solid nonetheless. This is about the closest he has been toNice to see Denzel Washington and Antoine Fuqua working together again as Training Day was one of my personal favorites. Not exactly the best performance Denzel has ever had but solid nonetheless. This is about the closest he has been to playing a super hero. Washington has never been more badass. The Equalizer is a movie that really keep your heart racing and it is entertainment at its best. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
Critic-CriticSep 27, 2014
Now this was a GREAT RIDE. No disrespect to what Stallone is doing over on "The Expendables", but this was much more interesting. I loved what Denzel brought to the screen and he DELIVERS great action sequences here. Chloe did such a greatNow this was a GREAT RIDE. No disrespect to what Stallone is doing over on "The Expendables", but this was much more interesting. I loved what Denzel brought to the screen and he DELIVERS great action sequences here. Chloe did such a great job developing her character and drawing you into why Denzel's character would connect with her the way he did. Martin as the villain was phenomenal, he was smart and he definitely pulled no punches. I would like to say that this film is very well constructed. It's not for the audience member that just wants to see stuff blow up for no reason, it's smart, dark, and hits all the right notes. Well done Denzel, you never fail. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
9
charmanestarrDec 18, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am compelled to write a review about this movie because it struck me near the end that this had a message in it, an important philosophical one. It may appear as a standard action movie to some. Big star role, violence, guns, and explosions may be all this appears. If one pays attention and tries to look closer you will see that the message in the movie may be the same message that the book "Invisible Man" by Ralph Ellison was trying to portray. I say this not only because of how the movie was directed, the plot, etc, but I say this also because near the end of the film, the main character (Denzel) was shown with this book. It was zoomed in on to get clear full screen view of the title and author, this of course is of no mistake.
I looked up the book and it appears to be one of great importance, a classic (1953), has a great message, and has received great awards. My final conclusion for the film is that the director was likely inspired by the "Invisible Man" and wanted to tell an interesting story portraying a similar message in a radically different way. From this perspective I believe this movie could be marked down as a future classic with a convincing message that is wonderfully directed. Denzel always does fine work, but this one is really up there. The director also deserves much praise and recognition.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Chancezx9Sep 27, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought the movie was great! The character Denzel plays has a good heart...like me!! I thought the movie had a real good storyline. Most of Denzel's movies are really good...just like this one. I wanted to see this movie ever since I saw the trailer. It was better than I thought it was going to be. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
metalic-surfaceOct 4, 2014
don't trust imdb prepaid rates

in short terms - poor story about ex-superman and one-man-army now from CIA (of course). main character doesn't have any problems in his life.

p.s: Marton Csokas looks like a Hitler :D
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
lordmoo_23Sep 28, 2014
Let me begin this review by saying that I've never seen the Equalizer tv show, so this review will be based on how I thought of the movie alone. This isn't the first time director Antoine Fuqua and actor Denzel Washington have workedLet me begin this review by saying that I've never seen the Equalizer tv show, so this review will be based on how I thought of the movie alone. This isn't the first time director Antoine Fuqua and actor Denzel Washington have worked together. Training Day was a film that produced a Best Actor for Denzel, so I was particularly excited for the two reuniting in an action film. However, this ain't your average action film. Fuqua really knows how to direct compelling action with an artistic framework. He's not like other directors who feel the need to unnecessarily shake the camera to hide the atrocious fight choreography and create cheap adrenaline, he actually uses the action to tell the character's story. You learn more about Washington's character through his fighting than you do through his dialogue. The film also had a strong antagonist, played by Marton Csokas, who had as much screen presence as the protagonist himself, which most action films lack, however, like I said before, this ain't your average action film. All that and a riveting action sequence that takes place in a hardware store should be enough to get your blood pumping for days on end. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
kingpinnzSep 26, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best R rated action movie in a LONG ass time period (or full stop as we say in NZ). I'm assuming that the haters don't like action movies..? If so then don't watch action movies!

This movie has it all (as an action movie), that nice slow pace intro, the older retired from (spoiler alert?) "service" guy, that ass kicking first reveal or his skill scene etc. Add the really good cinematography, good soundtrack, not over bearing score and Denzel's charm and you get what this is...a near perfect Action Movie.
Oh and the Villain is a Kiwi too....so that's bonus points lol
I never give perfect 10 rating...but I am tempted with this movie and I may have if the last 10 minutes or so weren't slightly off.
Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
chris6878Sep 27, 2014
IF you like watching denzel act like denzel and kick ass, then go watch this movie. If you dont, then go watch this movie. Movie was excellent. Good popcorn flick. Great action, some cliche's but who cars.......The equalizer aka black panther.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
7
RockMetalDudeSep 28, 2014
As generic and 'done-oh-do-many-times-before' as the plot/storyline/premise is - among other minor flaws - , The Equalizer still delivers the goods of a solid and badass Action Thriller. Antoine Fuqua proves that he still has the knack forAs generic and 'done-oh-do-many-times-before' as the plot/storyline/premise is - among other minor flaws - , The Equalizer still delivers the goods of a solid and badass Action Thriller. Antoine Fuqua proves that he still has the knack for making great movies. Denzel Washington and Marton Csokas are nothing short of amazing, delivering some brilliant dialogues and performances that definitely try to break the mold of typical characters in likewise movies. The cinematography is (mostly) beautiful, mixing gorgeous views of Boston with moments of solemn slow pace as well as moments that actually push you to hold your breath and expect the unexpected on several occasions.

As said before, the movie is far from perfect. The pace does tend to be too slow (going as far cas reminding people of the great but often slow "Drive"), the camera work becomes sporadic during action scenes, the only Boston accent in the movie is profoundly horrendous (this may be nitpicking, but as a former Bostonian, that one "attempt" threw me off), and the bad guys, while portrayed amazingly, are nonetheless your typical mafia members who want to spread chaos when things do not go their way. Finally, the story is not the most original, and may in fact be reminiscent of other slightly better movies.

But overall, The Equalizer is a great watch and a good time. I look forward to the announced sequel.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
2
sambullusSep 29, 2014
generic shoot em up, which would be straight to dvd without its famous lead actor. The acting is good, but the script, direction and tone are poor. The action scenes are badly edited which, given that the movie has no reason to exist exceptgeneric shoot em up, which would be straight to dvd without its famous lead actor. The acting is good, but the script, direction and tone are poor. The action scenes are badly edited which, given that the movie has no reason to exist except for action, makes the entire thing pointless. Most annoyingly Denzel is a typical modern Hollywood "hero"- an unstoppable killing machine. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
8
PuellaestiOct 2, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What did many of these negative reviewers think a movie with the “Equalizer” title would present? Of course, it would be about a totally indestructible hero settling scores - or rather - overwhelming an enemy preying on the helpless. Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, Jack Bower and the growing number of popular American assassins in print film and TV don’t go down easily, always rise and heal miraculously; Densel’s character is in character. It seems to me, we viewers who choose this fare put rationality on hold in order to enjoy the plot and especially the climax. Personally, I was glad the villain was international and not just the local pimp. I did think Densel’s character spent a bit too much time just thinking (implying, …feeling sorry for himself); however, the “down time” has to be used for something and sensitive assassins pay a price becoming friendly. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
jackiet1412Oct 8, 2014
Why is everyone saying this movie is a cliche??! I am not saying this isn't one. I am asking why is everyone surprised that it is? The movie plot (Like many other action movies) is about one tough guy fighting the wrong and helping the right.Why is everyone saying this movie is a cliche??! I am not saying this isn't one. I am asking why is everyone surprised that it is? The movie plot (Like many other action movies) is about one tough guy fighting the wrong and helping the right. So when I watched this movie, I wasn't going for the "great" movie script. I was going for bad ass action, explosions, and super cool killing scenes. Don't go to this movie if you are excepting it to be different from the hundreds of other action. Because the equalizer is exactly like all the other action movie, where the bad guy dies and good guys win. This movie isn't suppose to be original, it's suppose to be kick ass and look cool. And it has delivered that purpose. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
8
KermitLaphroaigOct 10, 2014
An excellent thriller in the retired-spy-becomes-vigilante genre, AKA Taken. Based on the 1980s TV show with the same theme, except in the TV show the spy is a stuck up old British guy and in the movie it's an old black guy who works at HomeAn excellent thriller in the retired-spy-becomes-vigilante genre, AKA Taken. Based on the 1980s TV show with the same theme, except in the TV show the spy is a stuck up old British guy and in the movie it's an old black guy who works at Home Depot and hangs out with bums. That is sort of the most unbelievable part of the movie, that this dumpy old bald fart that looks like somebody's dad, could be so agile with Spiderman reflexes.

If you suspend your disbelief that far, the movie is actually really entertaining because its got that Max Paine, bullet time, stop action effect. The hero is sort of this invincible Flash. Also, the bad guys are a bunch of low life Russian mobster illegal alien pimps, the kind of villain you love to see getting whacked. Luckily, there are goodly supply of them to be terminated. The head villain is an ex-Spetsnatz contract killer psychopath who looks and talks like Kevin Spacey and is oddly named "Teddy". Basically it's the return of Kaiser Soze.

The most annoying thing about the film is all the time spent on "character buildup" in which the Equalizer does community service trying to help his loser buddies at Home Depot. Super spy donates charity time to pathetic wannabe security guard. Its just incredibly stupid United Way stuff that just has you taking bathroom breaks until the killing starts again.

Another oddity of the film is director Fuqua's obsessive cinematography. You always know you are in trouble when the director starts taking control of the camera. There are more shots of Denzel Washington's eyeball than you will ever want to see in your lifetime. You will also get electron microscope closeups of other obscure parts of his anatomy such as his septum, his thenar, etc. In retrospect the overkill on the art shots is not too bad, but it definitely makes the film more "interesting" at a certain level.

Part of the fun of the movie is The Equalizer getting stuck in situations no ordinary person could possibly survive, so you are like, "I wonder how he is getting out of this one" and he always has these cool MacGiver solutions to the situation.

Overall, a pretty entertaining film.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
7
BryoOct 10, 2014
It sure entertains you and the character is pretty badass, even if at some point the question "why the **** would he do that?" struggle to find an answer
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
ldivaOct 12, 2014
This is a great movie with a good message. Denzel was awesome what a city hero. One of the most amazing movies i have ever seen. This is a must see hands down!
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
ApolscDec 13, 2014
"Man on fire, expendable edition" if you wanted more of those fun scenes where Denzel humillated corrupted mexican polititians or thugs well this movie is just about that. It barely has a story, Denzel is a one man army ready to destroy the"Man on fire, expendable edition" if you wanted more of those fun scenes where Denzel humillated corrupted mexican polititians or thugs well this movie is just about that. It barely has a story, Denzel is a one man army ready to destroy the whole Russian crime organization. Really bad and excesively long. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
JohnMasterLNov 3, 2014
Un Remake pasable, cargado de escenas de acción muy violentas, unas actuaciones muy buenas, Denzel logra crear a un héroe y a la vez un monstruo, Chloe Grace Moretz como siempre linda y a pesar de que su papel es pequeño, su actuación es muyUn Remake pasable, cargado de escenas de acción muy violentas, unas actuaciones muy buenas, Denzel logra crear a un héroe y a la vez un monstruo, Chloe Grace Moretz como siempre linda y a pesar de que su papel es pequeño, su actuación es muy buena, algunos momentos son a veces innecesarios y la película se siente muy rápida (no hubiera estado nada mal que la trama se contara un poco mas lento)
Probablemente uno de los mejores films de acción de este año, amantes del genero la disfrutaran mucho y los que no, también la disfrutaran; es entretenida, divertida, con unas escenas de acción muy bien realizadas y las actuaciones son muy buenas, pero algunos momentos son innecesarios y quedan muchos huecos en la historia que no terminan por aclararse.
8/10
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
FantasyCritic71Nov 17, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An amazing movie with great and creative action scenes and also an epic soundtrack but before I can give this movie a 10/10 I need to see more of it I feel like this movie wasn't enough to tell us just who this Equalizer is I feel like I need to know more about him all questions haven't been answered yet and because of that the score has been lowered to an 8. This is also because(SPOILER ALERT) I feel like this was all about that 1 girl that Bob was trying to save and that it wasn't about The Equalizer or him trying to equally save everyone like the movie title suggests or hints to. They tried to show that he was Indeed an "equalizer" but it wasn't enough for me the theme of the movie should have been explored more. However if they make a 2nd Movie where the theme of Equalizer is demonstrated and explored in a better fashion the score goes up to a 10 or 9.75 to be critical. Other than that the movie is amazing if you don't like gore and extreme violence this movie is not for you. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
02summitNov 22, 2014
This is a remake of Man on Fire without the fire. Weak at best Another regurgitated cash grab. A good movie to watch at home on a Monday night when its too cold to go outside, the football game is a replay, all the painting is done, theThis is a remake of Man on Fire without the fire. Weak at best Another regurgitated cash grab. A good movie to watch at home on a Monday night when its too cold to go outside, the football game is a replay, all the painting is done, the dishes are washed,........ Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Movi3R3vi3werMar 10, 2015
I kind of loved this movie. No really, I did! This is one of the most enjoyable action thrillers I’ve seen all of last year and it featured Denzel Washington in his top form and showcasing that he is capable of playing these type of actionI kind of loved this movie. No really, I did! This is one of the most enjoyable action thrillers I’ve seen all of last year and it featured Denzel Washington in his top form and showcasing that he is capable of playing these type of action roles, which he really should do more of. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
Rango007ahDec 15, 2014
this movie was normal is good to see for one time but the soundtracks was amazing also denzel was using the cold weapons for kiling the enemy that was the only diffrent of this movie
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
WheelzFourReelzDec 28, 2014
This movie doesn't bring anything new to the table, but The Equalizer is a very fun and brutal time at the theater with some great performance and some awesome action scenes. Just expect to cringe every once in a while.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
royphishoohMar 1, 2015
Reasonably entertaining action film with a competent performance from Denzel Washington. I feel I must comment about the astonishingly bad performance by Marton Csokas as the principal villain. Not since David Harewood in Homeland have weReasonably entertaining action film with a competent performance from Denzel Washington. I feel I must comment about the astonishingly bad performance by Marton Csokas as the principal villain. Not since David Harewood in Homeland have we seen such truly appalling acting. Marton Csokas is suffering from ANTS - Absolutely No Talent Syndrome. I fear Mr Csokas will soon be working at the home supply store we saw featured in the movie, though I doubt he would be effective there either. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99Mar 10, 2015
Robert McCall: "Progress. Not Perfection".

The story is about a former black ops commander has settled down in Boston - having faked his own death in order to enjoy a normal life. But when a young girl gets herself in trouble, his need for
Robert McCall: "Progress. Not Perfection".

The story is about a former black ops commander has settled down in Boston - having faked his own death in order to enjoy a normal life. But when a young girl gets herself in trouble, his need for justice brings him out of retirement - even if it means going up against a group of dangerous Russian gangsters.

I always like Denzel Washington in every movie that he was in. He always brings that cocky, smart-ass, know it all kind of person; and The Equalizer is nothing different. Denzel in this movie is a pure bad-ass that will end your life if he had to, just like Liam Neeson from Taken. The villain in this movie is pretty much the same villain that I've seen in every other Russian gangsters mob movies out there. The movie towards they end dragged a little bit for me.

But overall I still think this movie was entertaining film with a lot of cool stuff with Denzel. It's not a perfect movie, but the film knows what it is and it goes for it.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
GentM2015Jun 17, 2015
The Equalizer is stylish and fun.The action is amazing,and so is the acting.Overall has a good message and has Danzel Washington kicking ass.What more could you ask for ?
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
BarbudezJul 20, 2015
"Robert McCall (Denzel Washington) es un ex-agente de alguna agencia chachi molona gubernamental que nunca sabemos cual es, que está retirado viviendo una vida normal trabajando en un Ikea, hasta que a una chotera buscona una joven prostituta"Robert McCall (Denzel Washington) es un ex-agente de alguna agencia chachi molona gubernamental que nunca sabemos cual es, que está retirado viviendo una vida normal trabajando en un Ikea, hasta que a una chotera buscona una joven prostituta (Chlöe Moretz), con la que habló con ella menos de 5 minutos, le pega una paliza su chulo, este señor va, se los carga y se mete en un lío con la mafia rusa"

Esto es The Equalizer, la nueva película de Antoine Fuqua (Training Day) y Denzel Washington, donde nos presenta un truño direct to DVD, digno del danés adicto a las luces de neón o de cualquier película con Steven Seagal o Dolph Lundgrend en la portada. The Equalizer durante toda la película intenta emular a Drive en todos los aspectos (salvo en las lucecitas de neón de lo cojones), es decir, una historia copiada de un film donde sólo lo encontrarías en el videoclub de la esquina o puesta en la cartelera de algún cine de verano de Torremolinos, un protagonista plano y sin desarrollo, con pocas lineas de dialogo y que en su tercer acto... contiene mucha violencia, para intentar destacar de los demás ñordos de su mismo calibre... que casualidad, parece que estoy haciendo una reseña de Drive

Denzel Washington, que es un buen actor no lo olvidemos, hace un personaje indigno para su talento, Robert Mc Call tiene un desarrollo nulo, escaso, vacio y simplón, simplemente es verle matando a malosos y soltando frases gilipollescas dignas de un manual de autoayuda.

Debo destacar que la ultima parte del film, Denzel se convierte en un slasher, matando a malosos de maneras dignas de Viernes 13, donde ya dejas de tomartela en serio y solo te descojonas hasta que se te desencaja la mandibula. El reparto, Moretz solo sale...¡¡¡ 5 minutos!!! y cameos de caducados como Bill Pulman. El único que mas o menos actúa bien es el villano (que es el tío que hizo de Celeborn en El Señor de los Anillos), al principio borda un papel incomodo, cruel hasta desagradable (la escena de los irlandeses te deja mal cuerpo), pero con el paso del film, ese villano se convierte en un villano genérico de pelis de Steven Seagal.

En conclusión, un film de sobremesa, vacio, hueco, genérico sin nada destacable mas que violencia gratuita y actores de relativa calidad, para que salga a cines y no donde se merece, directa a Antena 3.

The Equalizer, Próximamente en tu autobús de La Sepulvenada más cercano.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MadMaxFuryRoadDec 7, 2015
Good solid Denzel film. The action scene in the trailer with timer is probably the best part of the entire film. I'm really excited for the sequel. However, I must say I was so excited for the film that when I left the packed theater, I wasGood solid Denzel film. The action scene in the trailer with timer is probably the best part of the entire film. I'm really excited for the sequel. However, I must say I was so excited for the film that when I left the packed theater, I was slightly disappointed. The villains were kind of weak and I wish the film had a better villain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
DANIELW45Jun 7, 2015
The equalizer is a good action revenge film. Denzel does a chilling interpretation of the cold and calculating protagonist of the film. Sadly, the plot to the film is a bit lose on the ground which lets the film down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PeterAlexanderJun 14, 2015
Dark, gritty, outrageous and at times powerful, The Equalizer is certainly a film worth watching. Denzel Washington and Chloe Grace Moretz star in what is a sadly realistic portrayal of the American underworld, particularly focusing on theDark, gritty, outrageous and at times powerful, The Equalizer is certainly a film worth watching. Denzel Washington and Chloe Grace Moretz star in what is a sadly realistic portrayal of the American underworld, particularly focusing on the issue of sex trafficking. The film is at times painful and disturbing to watch, however, it is necessary in presenting an accurate representation of such aspects. Denzel plays his role extremely powerfully, adding to the tense drama with moments of subtle comedic humour and outrageously unnecessary acts of violence. With the addition of well developed antagonists, the film questions our sense of morals expertly. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DevilmathSep 27, 2015
What differentiates a trashy, loudly violent action film from an entertaining, genuine guilty pleasure? If there’s a line, The Equalizer walks on it like an acrobat on a tightrope. Antoine Fuqua’s most recent work establishes itself as aWhat differentiates a trashy, loudly violent action film from an entertaining, genuine guilty pleasure? If there’s a line, The Equalizer walks on it like an acrobat on a tightrope. Antoine Fuqua’s most recent work establishes itself as a crowd-pleaser, leaving spectators in awe, but every fluctuation between nonsense and coherency creates uneasiness and raises eyebrows. One might think: I hope this guy knows what he’s doing. Fuqua’s previous feature, Olympus Has Fallen (2013), felt like that too: an action packed thriller, forgoing all plot consistency, continuity and common sense for the sake of staging uncontrollable mayhem inside the White House. Since his deservedly acclaimed Training Day (2001), the American director has seemingly found it difficult to keep up with expectations. He has, nonetheless, always had good eye for action scenes, managing to build remarkable and gripping sequences. Much like some of his past works (King Arthur and Brooklyn’s Finest to name but a few), The Equalizer suffers the pains of lacklustre direction. The tasteless use of alarm clock shots to set temporal continuity, or the abundance of dull and redundant digressions, are only a couple of examples. Nevertheless, the film also offers great action, riveting exchanges, and a likeable, cathartic anti-hero.

Denzel Washington is Robert McCall, our anti-hero, the guy we’d all want in our neighbourhood watch. He tries to lead a normal life, but his past is quite ambiguous, as two minor characters conveniently point out at the very beginning of the film. We’re never quite sure what he used to do for a living, but we soon find out that he’s good at killing people. To compensate for his brute instincts, Robert has developed a form of OCD that forces him to put everything right. He obsessively checks the time, follows a strict routine, aligns surfaces, equalizes things. Self control, though, only lasts until a ruthless syndicate attacks his friend Teri, forcing him to put his skills back to use. Everyone on Robert’s path to justice (better called revenge) then becomes cannon fodder, in a bloody chase between him and the pitiless mobsters.

If you go see The Equalizer because you like the idea of good ol’ Denzel decimating the bad guys, you will be served, but don’t expect much more than that. There’s little substance beyond the already-held idea of righting all wrongs. There’s very little passion (let alone depth) in the canonical moral messages, clumsily delivered in the banal form of literary quotes. Chloe Grace Moretz and Marton Csokas do a decent job of playing Teri and Russian hired gun Teddy, but Washington outshines both, carrying the whole film on his shoulders with the usual talent. His character comes from an old TV series of the ‘80s, although die-hard fans claim that similarities end there. Washington’s Robert McCall is a half avenger half psychotic hitman, mixing Taken’s Liam Neeson and Unbreakable’s Bruce Willis. He has no real dramatic depth, but we still like him because we like to see the bad guys get beaten up. Whereas Training Day is all about discovering Washington’s Detective Alonzo Harris, appreciating his dark personality by observing his evolving attitude and actions, The Equalizer settles Robert’s background with two lines of dialogue. While Det. Harris is an Oscar-worthy protagonist with a powerful connection with the audience, Robert remains a tool, merely exploited to fuel the action on screen. If you’re planning to watch The Equalizer, prepare for a factitious thriller with unusual dark comedy shades. You’ll spend hours wondering if you liked it or not, before accepting that, in spite of everything, you actually enjoyed it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
S1r-R34lMar 19, 2017
This is a nice reenvisioning of the Robert McCall character to bring him up to date. Denzel Washington does a good job of portraying this man of mystery and secrets. Always happy to help his work colleagues and the downtrodden... and a coldThis is a nice reenvisioning of the Robert McCall character to bring him up to date. Denzel Washington does a good job of portraying this man of mystery and secrets. Always happy to help his work colleagues and the downtrodden... and a cold calculating exterminator. The direction is sharp, the acting strong, and even though there are some holes in the story it's still entertaining. Hopefully, more will be revealed about McCall in future films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
easilyatchaJul 24, 2017
as always, denzel is great. saves this mess of a film. its boring but ****
i hate that it actually conveys a renegade on revenge without a thinking or logic underneith

66%
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews