User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 132
  2. Negative: 16 out of 132

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2014
    4
    "The Family" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: The first half is decent as the fish out of water cliche actually works. DeNiro, Jones, D'Leo, Agron, and Pfeiffer are all game as the film is amusing and interesting early on. The Bad: Then the tone dramatically shifts to a very dark and action packed film. I don't mind genre switching when done right, but this was poorly done.
    "The Family" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: The first half is decent as the fish out of water cliche actually works. DeNiro, Jones, D'Leo, Agron, and Pfeiffer are all game as the film is amusing and interesting early on.

    The Bad: Then the tone dramatically shifts to a very dark and action packed film. I don't mind genre switching when done right, but this was poorly done. It was so jarring that it takes away from the film and causes it to lose all of it's charm.
    Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2014
    1
    This was a not a so much of a dark comedy as it was a bad joke. At my most generous I could liken it to a want to be Pulp fiction without the commitment,plot, acting, humor , and realism . Overall it was thrown together and poorly acted. Save your time
  3. May 11, 2014
    3
    This movie is not horrible, but it is certainly not very good. First off, it is not very funny and as a comedy, that is a major negative. On top of that, the plot is weird. It constantly just shifts between things that make no sense upon further examination. It is not confusing at all, but some of the things that were included (most of the things that were included) served little-to-noThis movie is not horrible, but it is certainly not very good. First off, it is not very funny and as a comedy, that is a major negative. On top of that, the plot is weird. It constantly just shifts between things that make no sense upon further examination. It is not confusing at all, but some of the things that were included (most of the things that were included) served little-to-no purpose. In addition, the ending is horrible and leaves you scratching your head, wondering why they thought it would work well. Luckily, the acting is solid and the movie itself is still relatively fun and enjoyable. It is far from being a good film, but if you need something to watch, you could certainly do far worse, but do not expect The Godfather. Expand
  4. May 3, 2014
    4
    The Family starts off as an off-kilter, dark comedy with a promising storyline and some nice views of Normandy. However, the filmmakers waste the rest of the film with violence that doesn't let up, horrible plot points, and an unfulfilling ending; the movie sinks deeper and deeper every minute. DeNiro's character is just so sadistic and unforgivingly violent with no regard for human lifeThe Family starts off as an off-kilter, dark comedy with a promising storyline and some nice views of Normandy. However, the filmmakers waste the rest of the film with violence that doesn't let up, horrible plot points, and an unfulfilling ending; the movie sinks deeper and deeper every minute. DeNiro's character is just so sadistic and unforgivingly violent with no regard for human life whatsoever. If you give him back the wrong change at the grocery store, he'll practically smash your head on the counter, and his character is anything but likable. The kids are smart and resourceful, but their talents get wasted on gunfights and unnecessary bloodshed. Michelle Pfeifer is really the only person in the movie with any shred of morals. Tommy Lee Jones just smirks and scowls as usual, not really adding anything more to his character. Though, I can say that I enjoyed the little Goodfellas in-joke for DeNiro. It was a nice touch to an otherwise brutal movie. Watch "The Family" on a Friday night if you dare, but do not pay full price for it, whatever you do. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2014
    2
    An awful film all the way through. It is never entertaining, funny, or creative. The script is so thin and weak I can't imagine why anybody would be associated with it besides cashing a check.
  6. Dec 6, 2013
    1
    This movie doesn't even deserve a score, I couldn't even get passed the first hour without losing my temper at how stupid this movie is. Firstly, having lived in France as a British student for the last 3 years, I have to say that the portrayal of France and French people is abysmal, I don't expect realism, but I at least expect respect toward the things that make France such a wonderfulThis movie doesn't even deserve a score, I couldn't even get passed the first hour without losing my temper at how stupid this movie is. Firstly, having lived in France as a British student for the last 3 years, I have to say that the portrayal of France and French people is abysmal, I don't expect realism, but I at least expect respect toward the things that make France such a wonderful place. Firstly, you'll meet maybe 1-in-10 people who even speak a TINY BIT of English, this movie blows it out of proportion, I appreciate them speaking English as the film is aimed at English speaking audiences, but it also sadly pointed out how dumb the dialogue was. Also, French food is absolutely wonderful and for the most part, isn't much different from the food available in the US and Britain, in fact, almost ALL stores sell British foods, Not at one point have I not been able to get something I've been looking for in some way or another. This movie goes out of it's way to insult French foods, I find it disgusting how they even have the audacity to do that. Next is the portrayal of French people themselves, this films portrays them as being rude, intruding and selfish, NONE of which is factual, the French, especially in the rural areas are the kindest people you will ever meet and they love having guests in their country, obviously, you will meet the odd bigot who dislikes you for being foreign, but this film knocks it out of the ball park in that regard. Now that I've covered that. Lets look at the movie itself, the acting for the most part is okay, But the kids can't act, not at one point did I find their roles believable.

    At the end of the day, all I see in this movie, is a family full of moving to a town full of bigots and watch the main character randomly kill people he dislikes and watch everyone else do insanely stupid things for absolutely no reason. Not at one point did I even smile through the small amount of this movie that I watched.

    The problem lies in the direction, this film tried to be comedy, but there is NOTHING funny about the situation, Why are films like The Iceman and Goodfellas so great? Because they are dark, brutal and serious. If this film took the correct direction, it could have been a dark and brutal gangster film, but it decided to go with the quirky comic approach to a situation only madman would find funny.

    It's a shame because De Niro's acting is superb as always, shame everything else about the movie lacks any sense or logic. Maybe one day Il give the film the benefit of the doubt and watch it with a few friends, but I honestly couldn't see the film getting any better.
    Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    While having a solid cast, Luc Beson delivered one of the worst picture in his career! Humor in it was written for 12 year old boys, plot is boring and predictable. De Niro never before played such a hollow character! This movie is waste of time
  8. Sep 30, 2013
    4
    4/10 is a fair score, because i think some people will like it and some not, but for me it was a very decent movie! Good acting, poor story and decent action brings me to this final score.
  9. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    My review is going to be very short because this movie doesn't deserve a lot of analysis. This movie was billed as a dark comedy, there is a lot of darkness via the extreme violence and not a chuckle in the whole movie. As far as I was concerned I never smiled, giggled and certainly never laughed. How can you laugh at gratuitous violence to undeserving innocent people. It was soMy review is going to be very short because this movie doesn't deserve a lot of analysis. This movie was billed as a dark comedy, there is a lot of darkness via the extreme violence and not a chuckle in the whole movie. As far as I was concerned I never smiled, giggled and certainly never laughed. How can you laugh at gratuitous violence to undeserving innocent people. It was so predictable that it held no surprises whatsoever. Don't waste your money. After 10 minutes I wanted to ask for a refund, but my friend had fallen asleep and I did not want to wake him up and tell him we were leaving. So I sat through the whole stinking thing. Basically this movie was not funny at all. Unless you were a ten-year old. And the movie is way too violent for a 10 year old. The theater was fairly crowded but the people were not laughing. This film is pure pornography. Not sexual pornography but violence pornography. If I'm going to watch pornography it's going to have babes with big boobs and guys with big well you know!
    Basically A Diarrhea of Violence
    Expand
  10. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Everyone in this movie is unnecessarily violent. I'm not even going all Jim Carrey preachy here but the main characters beat up innocent civilians for no good reason at least a dozen times with tennis rackets and baseball bats. And when the mafia style shootout starts, it's over in 10 minutes. Every scene just was paced poorly and overall this was a hugely wasted opportunity, especiallyEveryone in this movie is unnecessarily violent. I'm not even going all Jim Carrey preachy here but the main characters beat up innocent civilians for no good reason at least a dozen times with tennis rackets and baseball bats. And when the mafia style shootout starts, it's over in 10 minutes. Every scene just was paced poorly and overall this was a hugely wasted opportunity, especially considering the cast. Expand
  11. Sep 14, 2013
    4
    De Niro and Pfeiffer may give it their all, but "The Family" ultimately succumbs to the burden of its own ridiculousness and fairly unlikable characters.
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Nov 21, 2013
    40
    Though it’s good to see Michelle Pfeiffer married to the mob again, she alone can’t redeem a lumbering farce that takes an unpleasantly sadistic glee in violence, murder and intimidation.
  2. Reviewed by: Catherine Shoard
    Nov 21, 2013
    20
    Robert De Niro does further damage to a reputation much battered by "The Big Wedding."
  3. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Nov 19, 2013
    40
    Another to airbrush out of the De Niro back catalogue.