The First Time

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Oct 20, 2012
    60
    There is much to like here, a sense of nuance and nonjudgmental emotional openness, yet Kasdan's teenage miniaturism never quite blooms. The First Time is respectfully delicate, a little too polite.
  2. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 23, 2012
    50
    The First Time sets out to be the thinking kids' teen sex comedy but misses the mark by failing its characters. [18 Oct 2012]
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Oct 19, 2012
    50
    An inoffensive but bland ode to the talky high school movies of John Hughes and Cameron Crowe.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Oct 17, 2012
    50
    Feels slight and pretty ordinary by the end, with no edge or compelling insights, just a reasonable feel for teen attitudes and banter.
  5. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 17, 2012
    40
    This teen romance proves perilously short on substance, insight and novelty, unless you count its characters being afflicted with a case of "Juno" mouth.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 31, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Cute and everything but the script is very superficial and basically nothing big happens. Ok, two teens have sex after two days since they met and...? No interesting exploration about that on screen, I just felt empty. Robertson and O'Brien are great together and share some amazing scenes and this helps a lot. It just doesn't help the poorly developed story of the film. Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2014
    7
    Make a movie around this theme is a challenge, because needs don't let boring or so much explicit (depending of the public) but the cast madeMake a movie around this theme is a challenge, because needs don't let boring or so much explicit (depending of the public) but the cast made me enjoy it. They are amazing Full Review »
  3. May 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I really loved this film. It captured the very essence of "the first time" with your first love. It's not perfect; it's not really good. However, you don't give a Practice makes & you sure as hell don't mind practicing with them! I think this story was told very well & I highly recommend it. It really plastered a smile on my face. Full Review »