Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 14, 2005
2.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
13
Mixed:
7
Negative:
73
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
PhotonAug 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is what happens when you take a simple, yet effective concept and stuff it full of loose ends, forced romance, political correction and lame special effects. Even the concept itself is entirely lost. Where did that ominous, glowing fog go that chased people through the streets in the original? In the first film, the settlers took advantage of the fog to lure Blake and his crew into a trap on the rocks, hence their symbolic return IN the fog. In this remake, their ship was raided and set on fire. Where's "The Fog" in that? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
AutiTakahashiApr 28, 2012
The movie industry has come up with some truly brilliant villains that shook our emotions and took over our nightmares. And then there's the rest of the pack, which are so laughable youâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CraigN.Oct 14, 2005
This film was wicked! great remake to a great film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
michaelm.Oct 16, 2005
This is a horrible remake of a rather spookie and eerie film. The biggest error, too much computer generated effects. Another error, having the character of Stevie Wayne leave the lighthouse. In the original, the church and the lighthouse This is a horrible remake of a rather spookie and eerie film. The biggest error, too much computer generated effects. Another error, having the character of Stevie Wayne leave the lighthouse. In the original, the church and the lighthouse were being attacked simultaneously, heighening the suspense. This version is a great big yawn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamOct 17, 2005
It's not a terrible movie, but like Stealth, it had SOOOOO, MUCH promise, and it destroyed it. It looked like a great movie, not scary, but good action, good plot, and it was decent, but it is the most dissapointing movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MalcomM.Oct 18, 2005
Fog? What fog??? I think that the fog that steams out of my granny's hot bath is much scarier!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AMovieCriticOct 22, 2005
Ugh. And I thought The Skeleton Key was bad....The horror genre's really gone downhill in the last year. The Fog seemed like a made for TV movie rather than something that should have went on the big screen. With a cast made up of Ugh. And I thought The Skeleton Key was bad....The horror genre's really gone downhill in the last year. The Fog seemed like a made for TV movie rather than something that should have went on the big screen. With a cast made up of mostly people from TV, and with a director whose most recent works include MC Hammer music videos, clearly the producers and studio were not too confident about the quality of this script. (from the person who co-wrote The Core.) And for good reason. This movie's script is terrible. Everything from the unbelievable situations and the dialogue to the bland, no-peronality characters, to the lame PG-13 violence, to the lack of scares and poor pacing, just destroys the movie. There is a plot in here somewhere, but it's so bad that I can't even describe it to you. (It's not even revealed until the last 20 minutes of the movie anyway.) It seems to take forever for the fog to even show up, and until then, we're forced to watch these characters do nothing of interest for a long time. And when the fog does show up, we are thrown so many horror cliche's that it's a bit unbelievable. Everything from "OH NO! THE CAR'S NOT STARTING!" to the "monster coming out of the garbage disposal" and the "person on the autopsy table coming alive" is done here, making each and every scare very predictable. This movie was not screened for critics, and the word of mouth hasn't been good, so it was with ZERO expectations that I went into this movie. I expected it to be stupid, but I also expected AT LEAST something eerie that would scare me a few times over the 100 minutes of this movie's run time. But even with no expectations except for a "dumb but scary horror film" I ended up disappointed. This movie wasn't remotely scary, the pacing was terrible, and overall, the movie was just boring. Do not see this movie for any reason. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackS.Feb 12, 2006
OK. I definitely should've heeded the reviews here, because they're dead on. This was so incredibly bad, however there is some good news: I've learned to fast-forward rather quickly using the XBox 360 controller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HGOct 15, 2005
As an avid fan of Carpenter's work It is hard for me to admit the painful truth......this remake is a dreadful mistep. The original fog, although not Carpenter's best work, still maitained his trademark suspense and mystery. It was As an avid fan of Carpenter's work It is hard for me to admit the painful truth......this remake is a dreadful mistep. The original fog, although not Carpenter's best work, still maitained his trademark suspense and mystery. It was the core simplicity of the story that made the whole thing work. What lives in the fog? Why is it overtaking the town? It was what you didn't see, what you didin't know that made the whole thing scary. In this bloated remake the filmmakers apparently confused re-interpretation with "over explanation". Filling the story with more details and characters does not make the film better only more literal, hence less mysterious and drowns the viewer in information that makes it feel more like a history lesson then a journey into horror,. There were so many things that made the original eerie and to see those elements discarded for rock music, special effect gimmicks, gratuitous sex scenes and shallow attempts at screen tragedy only re-affirms that horror is an art best left to professionals. If one remembers Hallloween.....what made that film work was not what we knew but what we didn't know. Yes Mike Meyers killed his sister, yes he stared out the window for over 15 yesar plotting his return. But what was behind those eyes, what was in his mind, what was driving him and more importantly was he even human anymore? It was these unknowns, these things that implied that there was an evil in him greater than himself that made it scary. Now imagine if I explained why he killed his sister, what his plan was, why he was seeminly invincible. And not only did I tell you this but I told you this before the end of the film, in the middle of the film. This is essentially what the Fog does. Not even the brilliant eeriness of Carpenters original music is spared or respected. In its place we get pop music segways, a painfully redundant mood soundbyte that rears it's ugly head whenever it has a chance. In hopes of creating a spookiness that the scene cannont muster on its own. What's most suprising is that Carpenter and Debra Hill both produced this remake. Which means they consciously contributed to the slaughtering of their own original material. I wonder how they felt when they saw the rough cut and realized that they had a stilnker on their hands. Perhaps too much time has gone by and they feel they have lost touch with what the young audience considers scary. If so let me re-asure them that they had it right the first time and if they plan to make anymore remakes to please trust in the craftmanship and aesthetics of their prior work. I mean Carpenter pretty much single-handedly invented the modern day slasher film with Halloween. If he doesn't have the right instincts for horror....I don't know who does. In the meanwhile, spare yourself the horror of seeing this film and rent the original instead. When you see the remake on Cable in about 2 months you'll thank me for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SueX.Oct 15, 2005
I was totally freaked out, the sound was awesome and the acting was terrific. I particularly loved watching Tom Welling on the big screen. I hope he does more features.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelK.Nov 6, 2005
Just awful... none of the suspense or general creepiness of the original. The acting is fair by an attractive cast, but the material seems lost in a fog . I can imagine the script meetings...."No, we must be creative... I know, instead of Just awful... none of the suspense or general creepiness of the original. The acting is fair by an attractive cast, but the material seems lost in a fog . I can imagine the script meetings...."No, we must be creative... I know, instead of the boy finding part of the ships sign, lets make it a hairbrush! Plus, we could have the ghosts spray paint on a grave in the cemetery!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MatthewK.Oct 16, 2005
Well only one thing to say this movie was a disapointment. I had hopes that it would be scray and have a ok story line. Instead there was lots of lame scenes, only a few people died the ending sucksed and I am still scrtching my head on this Well only one thing to say this movie was a disapointment. I had hopes that it would be scray and have a ok story line. Instead there was lots of lame scenes, only a few people died the ending sucksed and I am still scrtching my head on this movie like I love scray movies but this was not scary, you rarley saw the ghost people and the ending is really bad, If you have not seen this dont waste your money wait ontil it comes out on DVD so you dont feel so bad when you go watch it. Tom Welling was sweet I did like him in the movie he was coool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
wendyOct 19, 2005
This movie got Lost In The Fog. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayFOct 21, 2005
Ever since I was a kid I was (and still am) a big fan of the Fog and my parents were also big fans. When I first saw this I wondered what a sequel to the Fog would be like and I went with the remake. I felt this movie stayed close to the Ever since I was a kid I was (and still am) a big fan of the Fog and my parents were also big fans. When I first saw this I wondered what a sequel to the Fog would be like and I went with the remake. I felt this movie stayed close to the original but it also had more content( I thought the sexual innuendo was a bit much though). Basically, alot of the stuff that was done in this film was the kind of things that Carpenter really didn't have that type of f/x to pull off in the late 70's. Also, I really don't like it when most people hate this movie simply because this movie is a remake. I just have to say that no movie, granted it be a remake or a sequel, will never ruin the reputation of the original film its based on hit or miss. Reviewers (like most of the reviewers on IMDB) compare this movie to the House of Wax remake and the only reason that film was terrible was because you have Paris Hilton being the center of attention and the rest of the cast is just built around her and that it ignored the original thriller that starred Vincent Price and turned it into some cheap Texas Chainsaw Massacre knock-off. So in conclusion I feel remakes are ment to be a different movie altogether (and with the original director's permission no doubt) and should be taken as more of a follow up to the original rather than trying to ignore its source and feel close to that but always keep the original in mind. I'll just wait for the film to be released on DVD and I may rent and/or buy it rated or unrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CJFeb 26, 2006
Extremely poor at best. The storyline was atrocious and far too predictable. I'm not surprised the cinema was empty at the time I watched it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RogB.Feb 8, 2006
Wow. Bad bad bad. The scariest thing about the whole film is that Carpenter was actually one of the producers, meaning he didn't just bear but was ACTIVELY INVOLVED IN the making of this laughable remake. The PG13 rating immediately Wow. Bad bad bad. The scariest thing about the whole film is that Carpenter was actually one of the producers, meaning he didn't just bear but was ACTIVELY INVOLVED IN the making of this laughable remake. The PG13 rating immediately takes away any chance of gore fun (don't be fooled by the "unrated" label on the DVD... that prolly just means they added an extra 30 seconds to the film somewhere) and everything else is lost right away when you realize the way this movie wants to play. Honestly the only thing this director seems to have a grasp of is filming ships docking and people being thrown through windows (which becomes so frequent that it is hillarious as the film progresses). The editing is so dizzying and sudden that you'll swear you just suffered severe whiplash, as the movie switches violently from, say, a guy getting his eye knifed to two fun lovin' teens at Starbucks. The whole resurgence of horror movies (really, really bad horror movies) at theaters has been fun at points (everything by Uwe Boll, for example) but now it's getting to the point that it's just embarassing and boring. This is really scraping the barrel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CryptkeeperlookalikeMar 31, 2006
although watching the screenwriter pat his own back in the extras was fun, I still think the best part was when I fell asleep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ClintM.Aug 8, 2006
Laughably awful. a few scares at the beginning and a hint of mediocrity ... but sadly, it can't even reach that level. TERRIBLE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BeauM.Oct 14, 2005
Okay, look, I'm actually very fair when watching a film. I analyze everything about it, and I look at all the aspects of it, before giving it its final rating. If I love it, I don't automatically put 10, and if I hate it, I Okay, look, I'm actually very fair when watching a film. I analyze everything about it, and I look at all the aspects of it, before giving it its final rating. If I love it, I don't automatically put 10, and if I hate it, I don't automatically put 0 down. Well, this is pretty damn close to 0 (the only saving grace is Selma Blair, who shockingly escapes unscathed from this unimaginably horrible film. Not only are plot lines dropped completely (a trist going on between Welling & Blair is mentioned, and then disappears as quickly as it came) and we are met with HORRIBLE performances (namely Maggie Grace, so impressive on Lost, who is just ghastly in this, no pun intended). The "scary" scenes are more laughable than anything else, the characters motives and actions are BEYOND idiotic, and the film is just... it may very well be one of the worst films I have ever seen. If I were to see someone actually recommend this, I'd be in shock. The studio didn't even put it up for reviews, what does that tell you? A horrible, horrible, horrible film. Please try to avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RandyBOct 19, 2005
I actually got taken to see this, so luckily I did not spend 10.50 on this garbage. It did however waste 2 hours of my life I can never get back, and what's more those two hours felt like four while waiting for The Fog to end. The whole I actually got taken to see this, so luckily I did not spend 10.50 on this garbage. It did however waste 2 hours of my life I can never get back, and what's more those two hours felt like four while waiting for The Fog to end. The whole time I kept thinking, okay, when are they gonna kill the black guy?(since it was soooo formulaic). Oh, and didn't Maggie Grace's character see The Evil Dead? A white girl in her underwear should NEVER go out into the woods. You are asking to be raped or get hacked to pieces and left in a dumpster somewhere. The story was bogus and the acting was terrible. I think I saw better acting on 7th Heaven....the only bright spot (and the reason I give this horrid movie a "1") was Selma Blair. This is the first movie in which I have enjoyed seeing her. Hopefully she'll choose better scripts than this in the future (or perhaps Sarah Michelle Gellar and Naomi Watts have already stolen the cultish type of roles from her already, who knows......) If you somehow get lost at a theatre near you, bring a flashlight and find your way out of The Fog and go see Corpse Bride or The Constant Gardener. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JacksonL.Oct 21, 2005
Worst movie ever! I would rather pay eight dollars to rub poop in my eyes than see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
wesleyNov 17, 2005
Lost In The Fog ran in the Breeder's Cup and lost but this movie should have been lost in the fog as it was awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ryanlopez1997Mar 24, 2012
This movie is very creepy and has some intense scenes, but the vast majority of it is talking and is very **** boring, so dont watch this piece of ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews