Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on a true story, an Alaska State Trooper partners with a young woman who escaped the clutches of serial killer Robert Hansen to bring the murderer to justice.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 7 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 22, 2013
    63
    Cusack and Cage — who don’t have any scenes together until halfway through — do their best work in years, while erstwhile “High School Musical’’ star Hudgens shows off acting chops missing in “Spring Breakers.’’
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    This is an unambitious, old-school thriller, nothing more and nothing less.
  3. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    It’s handsomely lensed, and when Cage and Cusack finally go nose-to-nose, the fur does fly.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 26, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, writer-director Scott Walker's film is a muddled and strangely inert one, generating little of the suspense or anguish its subject requires; despite its high-profile cast.
  5. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Aug 22, 2013
    30
    Although writer-director Scott Walker seems committed to not overly exploiting his lurid subject matter, the movie is just too dreary, disjointed and generically creepy to be persuasive.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Kassel
    Aug 20, 2013
    25
    A vague and forgettable crime thriller that would have benefited from more character development or at least a grounding of the narrative in one central protagonist.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jul 18, 2013
    20
    Fans of Cage and Cusack, previously paired as unlikely allies in Con Air (1997), may be looking forward to a bit of deranged actorly combat once Hansen is cornered in the interrogation room, but it’s here that this hopeless flick comes up especially short.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    I can't understand why this film would get such bad reviews, some even put a zero rating meaning it was terrible. In my opinion it was a greatI can't understand why this film would get such bad reviews, some even put a zero rating meaning it was terrible. In my opinion it was a great movie based on a true story and between meta critic and rotten tomatoes I'll never base reviews on wether I watch a movie or not. Even the critics are so off and inconsistent. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    this is one of the better "true story" movies I have seen. Very believable and very well acted. All parts were picked well for the characters.this is one of the better "true story" movies I have seen. Very believable and very well acted. All parts were picked well for the characters. Mr. Cage in his finest role in my opinion. I don't remember these abductions/murders, but Im from CA. Excellent movie. Makes me want to contact the sgt and thank him. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent movie, very well directed. I myself could not have picked a better cast of actors or actress to do the parts in this movie. WouldExcellent movie, very well directed. I myself could not have picked a better cast of actors or actress to do the parts in this movie. Would love to see Nicolas Cage and John Cusack do future movies. Collapse
  4. Feb 8, 2015
    7
    Nicolas Cage has been more risk than reward over recent years but I'd give him props in this movie. I think he gave a pretty solidNicolas Cage has been more risk than reward over recent years but I'd give him props in this movie. I think he gave a pretty solid performance. Serial killer movies have always been films I've enjoyed. Robert Hansen is one of the most deadly American killers and I really didn't know that much about him. John Cusack was a character that wouldn't expect to see playing Hansen. He improved more and more as the film went on. I was not a fan of Vanessa Hudgen's role, she was sort of in the wrong company and they could've gone with someone else. She had two much camera time for the first hour and that is one of the major reasons I gave this movie a seven. The last half of the movie when Nick Cage took was what saved it. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2014
    6
    People who hate it, need to remember It`s a "true story," so they can only work with what happened.The bad guy is on this one is twisted, andPeople who hate it, need to remember It`s a "true story," so they can only work with what happened.The bad guy is on this one is twisted, and you can`t help, but to want him to be caught.This movie is pretty dark in every way. I think it`s worth watching, but nothing special. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    2
    There's really no excuse for this film being as bad as it is. Despite tons of on screen talent it's destroyed by poor story telling and paperThere's really no excuse for this film being as bad as it is. Despite tons of on screen talent it's destroyed by poor story telling and paper thin characters. With this subject matter and being based in reality it should be a story that grabs and never lets go. Unfortunately someone feels that shaking the camera is all it takes to hold an audience. The script is wordy to the point of dull and the concept of pacing is non existent. All in all, just a truly poorly executed film. My biggest movie let down so far this year. Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    Poorly written and acted and slow paced. If I am being brutally honest, It was just a god awful film. Not a single thing was good about it andPoorly written and acted and slow paced. If I am being brutally honest, It was just a god awful film. Not a single thing was good about it and that's really saying something because I have seen a lot of trash. Don't bother with this one. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers