Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When Sophie and Jason decide to adopt a stray cat, their perspective on life changes radically, literally altering the course of time and space and testing their faith in each other and themselves. (Roadside Attractions)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 3, 2011
    91
    As she did in her striking 2005 debut, "Me and You and Everyone We Know," July creates a fluid cinematic universe.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 3, 2011
    88
    On the surface, this film is an enchanting meditation. At its core is the hard steel of individuality.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Oct 31, 2011
    80
    July's second film, while not quite as perfectly realised as her debut, nimbly avoids the 'sophomore slump', providing the curious with another window into her highly idiosyncratic world.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 31, 2011
    70
    The movie, which Miranda July wrote and directed, is pretty sharp, not to say acidic, on the silliness of good intentions, but she also takes care to slant the best lines toward the subject of time, and its terrible crawl.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Aug 19, 2011
    63
    July is a provocative and honorably independent filmmaker, but given the meager rewards of investing our time, The Future wasn't worth the wait.
  6. 60
    This could be the premise of a zany comedy, but the mood of The Future is, from the outset, defeatist - annoyingly defeatist, to be frank.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jul 24, 2011
    38
    Of all the vaguely philosophical, calculatedly left-of-center dialogue that peppers Miranda July's The Future, no line is more telling than the writer/director/star's late-film declaration, in the guise of her character Sophie, that "I'm saying okay to nothing."

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I love Miranda July and her work (after falling in love with You and Me and Everyone We Know), and was nervous going into her second film with such high expectations. About three quarters of the way through the film I was delightfully enchanted by the film's quirkiness and turns of plot, but I figured I knew where it was going. And then the movie took a marvelous unexpected leap, and it took my breath away. If you are expecting a film that will give you the story line, this is not the one. But if you want an unconventional look at a generation of adults coming of age in an unconventional way, this is definitely for you. And while I love Miranda July, Hamish Linklater really steals this film. At that moment I was talking about, he takes the film to a whole new level. It was beautiful. Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    Was this as good as her first? No. It would have been almost impossible to be better than her debut, which was one of the best movies of the last decade. This is a spectacular film though, and the writing is superb. I thought it was so intriguing, and beautiful, and I really appreciated the bits of surrealism that were there. This is like a cinematic/visual poem, (which is also what her debut was), so I understand its not being for everyone. I found it pretty remarkable though. Miranda July is very possibly my favorite modern filmmaker. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    A breathtaking and unbelievably innovating movie, truly some of the most creative and original storylines of modern cinema. Very philosophical, it will make you drop all of your ideas to the floor and rise them back up to the roof. All of this around an adorable love story that will make yourself question what love truly is. Inspires deep reflection and very mind blowing, a movie that will leave you thinking for days. Alongside with a very detailed artistic production, a story to remember. Collapse
  4. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    This is one unusual film. I stayed with it, was a little tossed about, lost my sense of time, and was a little confused. It's made up of documentary, reality, fantasy, science fiction, performance art. I very much was enthralled by Ms July and Mr Linklater and had to see where they were going. I had much distaste for Mr Warshofsky's character but perhaps i was supposed to. At first I thought I might just fast forward just to see what happens. But the characters moved me. I'm not sure how I really feel only watching it once, but I think it's worth a screening so it receives my lowest recommended rating B-, a 6 here. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2012
    5
    maybe i had really high expectations for it, but i kind of felt let down. i think the only character that i actually liked was the cat, and all the other jerk characters screwed that up too. it could have been a lot worse, and really i thought the first 20-30 minutes were great, but from there it was a slippery slope down. Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2012
    3
    I liked 'You and Me' (prior film) pretty well, the kids were likable. This film starts out great and quietly warm and quirky and then derails into a sad, sad tale of adult characters who are doing nothing much except act badly in the face of a made-up deadline. The original idea started out quite funny, how could this thing have gone so wrong and needlessly humorless? This writer has obviously found quite a sympathetic audience since the user ratings here are high for a film that mainstream viewers will almost certainly abandon before it's finished. I am usually a fan of slow, quirky, indie films, but there has to be someone in there to like! I'll give it a 3 for an original opening premise and I like the actors, but otherwise, there is no there there. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    0
    I spent the whole of this film waiting for this dopey couple to adopt the cat. I felt upset and angry when the cat was euthanised. I strongly feel that the whole issue of cats in shelters in America (and lets face it its a huge issue) was completely trivialised. I mean what was the point? Why would a director focus so much on the wait that this cat had? The same wait that thousands of cats have every day. Quite frankly I was sickened by this film. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers