User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 582 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 582

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Millenium trilogy? What's that? I haven't read Larsson's books, I haven't seen the previous movies. Probably that's why I'm able to give this movie a sound 9. I don't care if this is a good adaptation of Larsson's book. What I can say is that I was simply captivated by this movie for 2,5 hours. The plot is good, makes you wonder, fear, doubt, and shock all the time. The gloomy atmosphere of a Northern Swedish town with a lingering mystery that surrounds the Vangners' possession is overwhelming and well presented. Trent Reznor's music is just great in stressing the hideous danger that creeps literally out of everything: iMacs, forests, photographs, neat Swedish homes etc. The acting of Craig is good (and just that), while the critic appraisals for Mara's performance are justified -- she is truly mesmerizing as Lisbeth Salander, and her acting, in which she speaks more with her eyes than actually words, is fantastic. The director of photography and the editing team did also a great job: fast-changing scenes truly capture all the necessary elements, gestures, and moments. What are you waiting for? Go watch it! Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    This movie exceeds my expectations of my all-time favorite book. When seeing it, I was worried that it would be a rehashed clone of the Swedish hit movie, but, to my delight, I was wrong. Once the opening credits started, I knew I was in for the ride of my life. This movie, led by supreme acting by Mara Rooney, is artistic and moody. It is deeply disturbing, and does not shy away from its dark subject matter. The only complaint I can say is that for a movie set in Sweden, the accents are from all over the world. Daniel Craig never drops his British accent, and even Stellan Skarsgard lacks a Swedish accent. Only Mara Rooney embraces the role completely, and takes the movie from a good movie and ensures it to be a mind-blowing movie. Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Undoubtedly, the best motion picture of the year. Besides the great screenplay and perfect music it has magnificent view in every moment. Outstanding performance of Rooney Mara made this film. It is more than thriller, more than drama. It is the whole life in the one film.
  4. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    De la part de David Fincher, réalisateur de Se7en, j'en attendais beaucoup de ce remake américain et seconde adaptation de l'oeuvre de Stieg Larsson, à commencer par un travail soigné au niveau de l'atmosphère. L'envie de voir un véritable chef-d'oeuvre qui s'est confirmée dès le (sublime) générique de début, ce dernier nous mettant immédiatement dans l'ambiance. D'accord, il n'y a pas trop de prises de risques, du fait que l'ensemble reste fidèle à l'esprit du livre. Mais ce remake se montre bien plus imposant que son prédécesseur suédo-danois. Il faut dire que le casting est de qualité, au point qu'on laisse de côté les acteurs originaux (Rooney Mara remplaçant sans mal la pourtant excellente Noomi Rapace); que l'ambiance du film est au-delà de mes espérances car étant prenante, dérangeante et palpitante (grâce aux effets sonores et à la BO); que le scénario est légèrement différent (question détails); et que l'on ne s'ennuit pas une seule seconde pendant 2h38. Bref, une réussite! Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    out of DETECTIVE movies...sherlock holmes, tinker and Dragon tattoo..this one is the best by far...will keep you guessing and the chilly baltic sea locales will keep you extra chilled.
  6. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Funny... as opposed to most people who've seen Girl with the D..T..., I felt it was trite and somewhat stupid. A Silence of the Lambs knock-off. The "out of country" feel calculated to pander to an insular American audience' sense that "they been somewhere else." In other words, if you juice up the beautiful Swedish landscapes with a lot of violence and sadism -- it's a SALE! Lord knows, those Hollywood marketeers know their sheis. Really! Nazis... why didn't they just make them Nazis AND zombies?! And the secret room... wooooooo! I'm sure they got a lot of that in Sweden. The parts of the movie that had any relationship to reality, no one would believe. And of course, the quintessential evil male -- what modern movie would be complete without him? And of course, to pander (there's that word again) to the innate (and base I might add) human tendency towards self-righteous violence -- we must first:
    1. Add unbidden violence on undeserving victim
    2. Next, ensure unbidden violence emanates from stereotyped group
    3. Unleash righteous wrath of "victim" - whom incidentally does things just as bad or worse than original crime - but makes _you_ feel GOOD! ("because he deserved it).
    Thus, you, the public are made worse than an animal, because you know there's always someone to hate who is worse than you.
    And what's with the tattoos anyway? So passe.
    Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Hell yeah this is the type of movie that I like to watch on Christmas. I have never read the book but saw the Swedish version of the film. This was hands down my second favorite movie last year. Rooney, Rooney! See was flat out great. I hope she wins the Oscar for all the stuff she had to learn and for powerhouse performance that made me scared of her. Can't wait for the next two.
  8. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    This movie was amazing it was a great, dark, mysterious film. David fincher knows his stuff. When the trailer came out I knew immediately I was going to see it even though I knew nothing about it. It pulled off its longness really well to, you didnt feel like it was dragging on forever. I don't know why this hasn't been getting as much love as other movies, It was freakin awesome! Go watch it! It's pretty close to a perfect movie! Expand
  9. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    I'm one of those snobs who feels like the original Swedish version was a little better. The first half of this version felt rushed while the latter half seemed extended--drawn out for every minute it was worth. I did think the casting was superb and was glad they didn't water down the sensitive parts for the American audience. All in all a solid effort.
  10. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    The question is, would you rather watch an excellent David Fincher film or have the world's most passionate feminist scream in your face and then punch you in the stomach? You can have both here without the physical pain of course, but you better have something soft and warm to hug by the time the credits appear.
  11. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    Woefully miscast, Daniel Craig is way too cool and confident for the character part and is one of the main negatives. The other is that the movie attempts to differentiate itself from the original mainly with a faster pace .. which is the general reason US movies suck when compared to European counterparts.
  12. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    Stylish, Intense and interesting. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is an excellent film made by very talented film makers. Although there were a few things that were missing from the original, I found this version more enjoyable and entertaining and many important aspects of the film were explored deeper. The central character of Lisbeth is a fleshed out more and I felt I got to know the character better. The pay off to the intense scenes are also more rewarding. Perhaps the movie went 15minutes too long but it didn't worry me too much as I enjoyed the character so much. Be prepared for some intense graphic scenes but there is a point to it all. Recommended. Expand
  13. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an incredible movie. Having seen the original Swedish version of the movie I was able to compare them both. Both takes on Lisbeth Salander are amazing and each actress brings something a little different to the role that's one of the most difficult characters to play in any movie in a while. The U.S. version of the film is more stylish and clean than the original - the opening credits play like a James Bond opener complete with a cover of a Led Zeppelin song by the always awesome Karen O. In addition, Fincher adds an extra 20 minutes to the movie after the big climax that work perfectly to extend on Lisbeth as a character. While this also works as a more elaborate ending wind-down than the original, I agree with the critic that said that neither movie is superior to the other as they compliment each other very well and ultimately make for an even more solid understanding and likability of the story and characters. That being said, you don't have to have seen the original to enjoy this movie. It's still hard not to get wrapped up in the mysterious case until the very end and find compassion for Lisbeth as the movie unfolds. But while there are so many good things about the movie just make sure you know what you're getting yourself into by seeing it - there are multiple scenes that are difficult to watch but are equally as necessary to the story... maybe not the dismembered cat, though. But once you get passed the darker scenes what you're left with is an incredible story and film with gifted actors and actresses portraying characters who, regardless of appearance, prove to be incredibly human. Rooney Mara's take on Lisbeth is easily the standout of the film as she brings a needed vulnerability to the role but commands your attention every time she's on screen - I couldn't take my eyes off her. Anyway, what I'm trying to say is that it'll be very hard to find any complaints with David Fincher's take on 'The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo'. It's easily worth seeing again and I can't wait for the much-needed sequels in the, hopefully, near future. Expand
  14. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Absolutely awesome! Everything about it is just great. Fincher did an outstanding job. I have read all three books and seen the original foreign films and I gotta say Fincher's version is the best. I don't see any reason to hate on this movie just because it was made after the original, if you like the original better that's great, watch it over and over again. As for me, I'll be watching Fincher's version over and over again simply because I enjoyed it alot more. It looked better, it was acted better and the music was freaking fantastic! Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross are geniuses, I think the music may have been my favourite part of the movie. Although it did make a few changes to the story that I'm not entirely happy about, this movie did the book justice and was awesome from beginning to end! Expand
  15. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    After seeing the film, I was left with the impression that you only truly get to understand and enjoy this film if you have read the book before hand. I got the feeling that if I hadn't read the book, I would be left confused and unable to appreciate everything that happened. Having said that, I was intrigued to see how the story would be condensed into a film, and enjoyed this interpretation immensely. The cast are very good, and Rooney Mara was brilliant as Lisbeth Salander. Would recommend highly! Expand
  16. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Return of the Jed.. Fincher. I loved the swedish trilogy, and my favourite books are Stieg Larsson's creations. Noomi Rapace was the perfect Lisbeth for me, and I didn't like Rooney Mara before.. But.. It's a great movie! Mara is brilliant, and Craig is better Mikael Blomkvist than (my favourite swedish actor) Michael Nyqvist. Fincher is back!
  17. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Excellent drama and suspense in this film all the way through. There were some unnecessary scenes that were a little over the top for my taste but overall a very enjoyable film.
  18. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    This is a great movie, highly recommend all to watch it. I saw both this version and the Swedish version, The English version was WAY superior. I cannot wait to read the book.
  19. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This is a good movie . This one is available at http://tinyurl.com/MovieStreamingOnline
    in English, in HQ quality FREE . Plays like youtube .


    This movie is availabe for free in HD at:

    http://tinyurl.com/MovieStreamingOnline


    recommended.
  20. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Solid movie, and unexpectedly excellent acting from Mara - absolutely great in the role and very brave / honest / touching in the way she did it. To me, the first 2/3 of the movie worked much better than the last act, both in terms of plot and pacing.
  21. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Slick... Stylish... Smart... Sexy... Scary... Not for the faint of heart or the prude. I like a good mystery especially one that keeps you guessing but it should have come with cliff notes because it was too hard to follow. Secondly, It really would have been a better film if it were shorter. The climax was suppressed because they tacked-on an extra storyline to the last twenty minutes. Finally, "Q" would approve of all the "gratuitous sex and violence", (or in this case "sexual violence"). Unless you are a hardened masochist you WILL be shocked and offended. I had better not see anyone taking their minor children into this one. All that said... I thought it was a pretty great adult film. Expand
  22. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I was skeptical going into the theatre about how great this film would actually be and almost expecting to be let down, especially considering how much I enjoyed the Swedish version. Noomi Rapace was, in my opinion, the quintessential Lisbeth Salander, and I thought there was no way Rooney Mara could compete. I was, however, quite pleasantly surprised--she actually pulled it off! Though perhaps her portrayal of a more vulnerable--and dare I say likeable--L.S. may not be very true to the book, I did find myself caring more about her, and I think that this less abrasive depiction will be more appealing to people who have not read the series and therefore know very little about her past. My biggest complaints were actually quite small and therefore don't subtract from my rating, them being that it did run on a bit long after the climax, and that the more, shall we say 'disturbing' scenes, although still quite upsetting, were toned down a bit too much for my liking and were not as potent as they were both in the book and the Swedish film version. All in all, it was incredibly entertaining and I recommend anyone to see it! Expand
  23. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Fincher at his best. This movie is electrifying from the very start. There is an edge to it that is sustained throughout. Reznor sets the tone with a tremendous score, and the acting is superb.
  24. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    I am quite frankly gobsmacked at the reviews this film has received. This film was my joint favourite of the year, tying with drive. Me and my girlfriend have read the books within the past year, and sat down to watch the extended version of the Swedish film the night before. To both of us, the difference was like night and day. The pacing in the Swedish version was plodding, and Lisbeth felt far too friendly (as did Henrik Vanger). And despite it being an extended version, so much great stuff from the books was omitted.

    David Fincher did exactly what I wanted; he upped the pace to the point where lines nearly overlap, cramming in tons of content in a shorter space of time. Not only that, Lisbeth was almost perfect, feeling as spiky, cold and unapproachable as she should do (although I personally would give her an internal monologue if I directed the film). Gladly the film followed suit and reflected her personality, meaning that as opposed to the Swedish film, she felt more like the main character she should be.

    My only complaint would be of choosing Daniel Craig as Blomkvist. I personally felt he was quite fatherly and warm, until he was obsessed in his work. Daniel felt a little cold throughout, and exuded a little more confidence than I would've expected. That said, seeing him as Bond does not help my case.

    Anyway, thoroughly enjoyed it; the music, cinematography, pacing, acting and plotline were exactly what I was looking for. Better than the Swedish film if you're looking for a more spiky, frightening, fast-paced take on TGWTDT.
    Expand
  25. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Outstanding movie. The details of the plot were somewhat modified from the book yet in no way did that diminish the story. Best movie I have seen in quite some time.
  26. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    The best movie I've seen all year. Mara Rooney deserved top billing! Struck me as much as Saving Private Ryan: fascinating to watch, parts of it were shocking, and I spent a long time thinking about it afterward.
  27. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is yet another masterful addition to the David Fincher canon. His movies are distinctly unique among modern Hollywood. On one hand, they are highly commercial, slick action pictures; on the other, he imbues his films with layers and layers of intriguing, dark and perverse subtext. All his films are just dense with juicy details and character idiosyncracies. I thought that this film trumped the swedish version because it revealed deeper shades of the characters and their lives (much is unspoken but evident in character behaviour) as well as the overall aesthetic atmosphere, which to me were synonomous with the most intriguing aspects of the book. I thought in terms of plot development and detail, the swedish tv series and subsequent movies had a lot more literate exposition and they included more detail from the plot of the novel, but imho I agree with Fincher and Zaillian's perspective of dialing down extra plot detail in order to have a clear expose of the main themes of the book. Fincher does not shy away from the grim horrors of male domination, in fact the elements of sexual abuse in this film are evoked so clearly, graphically and painfully that it has the capacity to disturb on a profound conscious level. Fincher knows very well that the real plot of these stories deals with rape and sexual torture in our society. Overall the film's aesthetic quality is unsurpassed, Fincher remains one of the few modern hollywood auteurs. His keen eye for visual precision and atmosphere as well as the suberb music of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross make for a thoroughly mesmerizing adaptation. I believe added viewings of this film are necassary (Like all of Fincher, and great films in general). Expand
  28. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    The girl who plays her has sexy pics at http://xxxfever.info username wildnout14 I have to say she is very stunning and a great actor too.................................
  29. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This film is great I wish I didn't see the Swedish version cause I hated knowing what was gonna happen but I have to believe for the people who didn't see it it was amazing..
  30. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Great movie! Full of action, drama, and suspense. Another amazing movie by David Fincher! This movie was just a joy to watch the entire time. Can't wait for the next installment!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 22, 2011
    70
    Has much to recommend it - high-end craftsmanship, a singular heroine, a labyrinthine mystery, an intriguing milieu - yet lacks a vital spark.
  2. 70
    David Fincher's American remake of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo adds nothing to the previous adaptation, but it's certainly the more evocative piece of filmmaking.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 22, 2011
    63
    From him (Fincher), we get – what? – a faithful adaptation that brings the dazzle but shortchanges on the daring.