User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 622 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 622
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Anyone that is complaining about how this is a remake of a movie that came out last year, the original film of the same name actually came out in 2009. Also, it is a remake, but it's a remake by one of greatest directors in our time, David "F*ckin" Fincher. Deal with it, not every American saw the original film, so give the remake a break everyone. Next, Daniel Craig is a marvelous actorAnyone that is complaining about how this is a remake of a movie that came out last year, the original film of the same name actually came out in 2009. Also, it is a remake, but it's a remake by one of greatest directors in our time, David "F*ckin" Fincher. Deal with it, not every American saw the original film, so give the remake a break everyone. Next, Daniel Craig is a marvelous actor throughout the film, next with Rooney Mara, who was also in the film "The Social Network." The film looks beautiful, Fincher's creative way of capturing the settings and the realistic emotions of the characters are superb. You can see prior films by Fincher in this film, including "Se7en" and "The Social Network." The soundtrack is also great by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, who previously created the soundtrack for "The Social Network." All in all, everyone who is "angry" about this remake should shut it and just enjoy the film as it was intended from Fincher's and Zaillian's perspective. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    David Fincher's take on The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is a bleak, gruesome, and some times hard to watch film, yet its amazing style and intriguing story keep the audience captivated. We don't want to watch, but we can't look away because Fincher doesn't hold back and because every moment Rooney Mara's Lisbeth is on screen she commands attention. She gives perhaps the best performanceDavid Fincher's take on The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is a bleak, gruesome, and some times hard to watch film, yet its amazing style and intriguing story keep the audience captivated. We don't want to watch, but we can't look away because Fincher doesn't hold back and because every moment Rooney Mara's Lisbeth is on screen she commands attention. She gives perhaps the best performance of the year and even tops Noomi Rapace's amazing portrayal of the same character in the Swedish version. It seems many critics have decided to diss this movie on the only basis that it came out so soon after the Swedish version. These critics/people are trolls and should be ignored. Remakes and alternate adaptations should be able to stand apart and be judged on their worth rather than on their predecessors. All in all Fincher's version is on par with the Swedish adaptation, though I felt the longer drawn out ending in the American film was inferior to Niels Arden Oplev's ending version. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Better than the Swedish version and stays surprisingly true to the text and does not hold back in terms of nudity and violence as North American films often do. Rooney Mara makes for an excellent Lisbeth Salander while acting under Social Network Director David Fincher once again.
  4. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    This movie is a solid 10. They made some changes from the book of the same name. It's hard to say it's better than the book but I can say it's an upgrade over the Swedish film adaptation. Rooney Mara is perfect as Lisbeth and Daniel Craig gives the best performance of his career as Mikael. David Fincher did an amazing job directing as was expected. There's chilling and intense moments asThis movie is a solid 10. They made some changes from the book of the same name. It's hard to say it's better than the book but I can say it's an upgrade over the Swedish film adaptation. Rooney Mara is perfect as Lisbeth and Daniel Craig gives the best performance of his career as Mikael. David Fincher did an amazing job directing as was expected. There's chilling and intense moments as well as endearing ones. It's all highly effective. Truly brilliant. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    It's fantastic. Go see it. The actors are great, David Fincher is a great director, and the music is great. One of the best movies of the year, and as far as I can tell the only serious contender for best picture.
  6. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    I saw this movie without seeing any of the swedish films or having read any of the books. I thought this movie was amazing. I thought everything about it was amazing. I went home and read that about half of everyone who saw it thought the original was superior, so i watched the first swedish film. THE SWEDISH FILM DOESN'T EVEN COMPARE, IT IS A PILE OF GARBAGE COMPARED TO FINCHER'SI saw this movie without seeing any of the swedish films or having read any of the books. I thought this movie was amazing. I thought everything about it was amazing. I went home and read that about half of everyone who saw it thought the original was superior, so i watched the first swedish film. THE SWEDISH FILM DOESN'T EVEN COMPARE, IT IS A PILE OF GARBAGE COMPARED TO FINCHER'S VERSION. David Fincher told the story perfectly, and then when i watched the swedish version, i was like "what is this" a story is barely present, and is told so horribly. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First I want to put a stop to all those people out there claiming this is a remake. That's like saying I'm making a Frankenstein movie today would be a remake over the bunch of others that came out before that was adapted from Mary Shelley's book. This movie is Fincher's adaptation on Stieg Larson's novel of the same name. Just like the Swedish one was there adaptation of the same book. It's a 2nd American, Fincher's, whatever you want to call it, adaptation of the book. Now that I got that out of the way I gotta say it's rare to have a movie come out as good or better then the book. Godfather for example but this "adaptation" of Stieg Larson's novel in ways is as good if not better then the book. I am a fan of the Swedish adaptation and though it followed the mystery element of the story I was disappointed at the key elements they took out from the book that were important to building depth and substance to the characters. I thought non readers of the book were a little robbed on knowing more about the unique and original character of Lisbeth Salander. David Fincher brought those elements into this movie so well that I felt after seeing it that somebody could watch the movie and get everything from the book without reading it. The story was told so beautiful keeping the character depth, the elements, and the story true to the book. Fincher even shortened long sequences in the book into brilliant short scenes that in a way was better then the book. The parts they took out were minimal things that didn't effect character building or the story one bit and even thought what they left out should've been left out of the movie when I first read it. There's even a slight twist at the end that was welcoming to me that read it differently. It was a twist that didn't effect the story and I actually enjoyed it more then how it played out in the book. The nice grey hue Fincher films it makes it look like a disturbing cold winter that I felt in the book. Throw Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross's music into the mix really put to ear the feeling and emotion taking place throughout the story. Fincher being known for his amazing and original open title sequence doesn't let us down. Opens to Karen O Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross remake of Zepplin's Immigrant song really get's you into the mood for the movie and only gets better from there. If you're looking for a great mystery with dark elements this is your movie.
    Now I just have to say Noomi Rapace is a great actor but I thought Rooney Mara was way better as Lisbeth Salander. Not saying Noomi was bad , it's just for this role Rooney fit and played her better. In fact good enough for a best actress nod. She had Lisbeth's quirks down all the way to how she held and smoked her cigarettes. She did her homework and really became Lisbeth Salander. She did a brilliant job make her a believable intelligent, tough, and at times vulnerable person. Now in the book she's a uniquely beautiful, 90lb 23 year old with tattoos piercings and a childlike face. Rooney Mara has that physical look more then Noomi Rapace did. Add that to everything else made her nothing short of amazing. Heard Natalie Portman and Keira Knightly were to get the part and it landed on Rooney. Even as brilliant as those actors are I wouldn't think they would've been Lisbeth Salander as well as Rooney. Natalie is too tan and Keira is too pretty. She has to be a beauty that is different and unique. Rooney Mara's beauty still showed after the dyed hair tattoos and piercings and unique. I fell in love with her by the end of the movie. I want to see Rooney not only in the next 2 movies from the Larsson trilogy but want to just see more of her in movies in general. I became an instant Rooney fan after she played Lisbeth so brilliantly. I hope to see Oscar nods for best actress Rooney Mara best music Trent Reznor Atticus Ross and Karen O, Best Director David Fincher, after his shaft last year for Social Network by The King's Speech. Also would love to see a Best Adapted Screenplay for David Zallian. Must go see this movie. Can't believe anyody who would hate this unless you dislike mysteries. If your looking for mindless action with non depth characters and weak plot point storylines then don't see this movie. It's a great breath of fresh air from all the holidays movies. It's a brilliant non heartearming dark murder mystery for the holidays.
    Expand
  8. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    David Fincher returns to his roots and directs a near perfect neo-noir pyschological thriller. Rooney Mara also returns from her minor role in The Social Network and proves that she is more than capable of becoming an A-list actor. If the film only focused more on Lisbeth's dark past rather than glossing over it, the film would be perfect.
  9. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I LOVED the original, Swedish version. I though "ok, this will be good, but it's still a remake." Sure, the film is a remake of the Swedish version because "American's don't read subtitles," but usually they aren't as good as the original, they certainly don't surpass it, TGWTDT did that. It's better than the already great original film.
  10. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Excellent. Engaging for the whole time. I'm thinking Brendan shouldn't go to anymore movies... just in case they might be a remake; it is obvious he didn't judge this movie on it merits. Though it is a long movie, it keep me wondering what was going to happen next, and I wasn't bored (and I don't like movies over 2 hours, just too self-indulgent by the director usually) but this oneExcellent. Engaging for the whole time. I'm thinking Brendan shouldn't go to anymore movies... just in case they might be a remake; it is obvious he didn't judge this movie on it merits. Though it is a long movie, it keep me wondering what was going to happen next, and I wasn't bored (and I don't like movies over 2 hours, just too self-indulgent by the director usually) but this one succeeds where other directors and editors lose their way. Expand
  11. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    Wonderful movie by one of the best directors of this generation. I especially enjoyed the intro. And to everyone saying how it's a remake I am pretty sure you are wrong. Yes I've seen the foreign one but I think this is simply the american interpretation of the book rather than a remake of the foreign film.
  12. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    The whole point of making the film for English audiences is so we can watch the movie with people speaking English. So what do they do? Make all the actors have a thick accent and mumble the lines so they are hard to understand. I would say I missed about 20% of the dialogue due to poor enunciation and bad recording, not to mention the irritating loud electronic soundtrack which drownsThe whole point of making the film for English audiences is so we can watch the movie with people speaking English. So what do they do? Make all the actors have a thick accent and mumble the lines so they are hard to understand. I would say I missed about 20% of the dialogue due to poor enunciation and bad recording, not to mention the irritating loud electronic soundtrack which drowns out some of the dialogue as well. There is a large cast of characters and it is important to hear what they are saying so you can keep up with the story. Still, the acting was good to great (Rooney Mara is especially noteworthy) and the story was good. I felt it was one of those never-ending movies, where you think it's over but it continues on. Overall a solid movie, but not as good as others in the genre such as Silence of the Lambs. Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was a pretty good remake and it's a bit different from the original movie, but it still holds up pretty more. The story takes place were these two people must find a missing teenage girl by the old rich guy. It's a pretty good story and it's very shocking that every scene were Fincher takes a dark chill since he did in Seven and Panic Room. The charactersThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was a pretty good remake and it's a bit different from the original movie, but it still holds up pretty more. The story takes place were these two people must find a missing teenage girl by the old rich guy. It's a pretty good story and it's very shocking that every scene were Fincher takes a dark chill since he did in Seven and Panic Room. The characters are good including Daniel Craig was a right choice to be a cool detective and Rooney Mara did a fine job as a goth girl with the styling dragon tattoo (that's what they called for the title). The girl is very mysterious, smart, dark, clever, and sometimes I really enjoy were she acts like she's involve for the situation that she needs to concentrate for the mission along with the detective. The remake is good and Fincher did very well from the original that it's similar to the three based on the series that people might sink into. Expand
  14. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fincher is an excellent filmmaker, and the movie clearly captures the excitement and dark, sinister tone of Larsson's novel, at least on one level, though the last 15-20 minutes of the movie seem rushed (and it's hard for me to believe that viewers who haven't read the book can follow all the detail) The casting is also outstanding. Lisbeth is clearly the most compelling character in the book (and movies); but although she is (and should be) a kind of cypher (in fact, the excessive psychologizing of her character in the second two books/movies detracts, I believe, from her compellingness), in this version I think she is TOO much of a cypher (due to the lack of intensity in Mara's portrayal). Also, by downplaying the background of Blomkvist's (and Larsson's) liberal, muckraking, anti-authoritarian views, it's less clear in the movie exactly why Lisbeth might be so attracted to him (though it's still a middle-aged male's fantasy that she makes love to him...twice, after being raped by her similarly middle-aged guardian). Whether the film should have been remade, or which version is better seems to me to be a moot point. I found both of them to be guilty (very guilty) pleasures. I do, however, look forward to Pedro Almodovar's gender-bending Spanish remake in which Javier Bardem plays Lisbeth,,, Expand
  15. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    As much as I adored the first, Swedish adaptation of Stieg Larsson's novel, I was intrigued, for once, by a big-budget Hollywood remake as soon as David Fincher was announced as director. A jet-black murder-mystery which analyses the darker aspects of human nature seemed the perfect project for the director of Fight Club and Zodiac to helm. In a lot of ways, Fincher doesn't disappoint.As much as I adored the first, Swedish adaptation of Stieg Larsson's novel, I was intrigued, for once, by a big-budget Hollywood remake as soon as David Fincher was announced as director. A jet-black murder-mystery which analyses the darker aspects of human nature seemed the perfect project for the director of Fight Club and Zodiac to helm. In a lot of ways, Fincher doesn't disappoint. Like all his films, it looks great, flows well and keeps you engaged throughout. Rooney Mara is quite captivating as the new Lisbeth Salander, and smartly has a different interpretation of the character from the acclaimed performance of Noomi Rapace. Stellan Skarsgard and Christopher Plummer also impress as Henrik and Martin Vanger respectively, both either equalling or improving on the performances of their Swedish film counterparts Sven-Bertil Taube and Peter Haber. The rest of the cast are decent enough, apart from one extreme disappointment - Daniel Craig. He doesn't give a particularly bad performance as such, but is completely miscast as Mikael Blomkvist. Blomkvist should be an everyman - someone you wouldn't look twice at in the street, someone who's perhaps put on the pounds in recent years as he approaches middle age. You should not cast an international sex symbol as such a character, and the notion that Daniel Craig "gained weight" for the role is laughable - he still looks too lean and Bondlike to portray a slightly-past-his-prime journalist. There are some truly stunning sequences in the film, particularly the opening titles with accompanying cover version of Led Zepplin's 'Immigrant Song', which resembles a strange hybrid of a James Bond title sequence and a Marilyn Manson video, and sets the right tone for the film. The shots of the arctic Swedish landscapes are also stunning, and credit must be given to cinematographers Jeff Cronenweth and Fredrik Backar for complete mastery of their art. Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross deliver another great soundtrack in their second collaboration with Fincher - their eerie, dark, electronica-driven music is perfect to reflect the personalities and state of mind of the numerous fractured, tortured souls we follow throughout the film. Also worth noting is a very unexpected and very clever use of Enya's Orinoco Flow in a key scene in the film - I won't spoil it for you, but suffice to say, the result is one of the funniest, yet most utterly terrifying film horror moments in recent memory.
    Unfortunately, despite all the undeniable talent on display, the result of this story getting the Hollywood treatment (something I truly hoped would be avoided) is it has been over-sentimentalised. The main body of the story is as dark, and in some cases darker than the original film, but as soon as the main plot has been wrapped up, Fincher unashamedly tags a slushy, romantic resolution onto the story. I liked the ambiguous ending of the original film - why, oh why, David, did you think it was necessary for Lisbeth to become open about her emotions? She's a deeply complex, damaged and disturbed individual who'll likely never be able to lead a normal life, yet you've completely bypassed that fact and shattered the illusion with a rather incongruous finale that wouldn't look out of place in a Richard Curtis movie. David Fincher's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is good entertainment - dark, engaging and with some great performances, but the miscasting of Daniel Craig and some fundamental misjudgements in tone do ruin the magic a little. At the end of the day, it just isn't in the same league as Niels Arden Oplev's delightfully macabre original adaptation. Perhaps in the inevitable sequels, some of these issues can be addressed and improved upon, and I look forward to more of Rooney Mara's punky reinterpretation of Lisbeth, though sadly now we're stuck with Daniel Craig's simply wrong "Bond-kvist" for another two installments.
    Expand
  16. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Alright, let's get one thing straight. David Fincher directed an ADAPTATION of the original novel by Stieg Larsson. And it's an EXCELLENT one at that.
    The film is dark, eerie, creepy, and disturbing and graphic... and that's what makes it excellent! The cinematography is gorgeous, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross once again compose another Oscar-worthy film score, and David Fincher's
    Alright, let's get one thing straight. David Fincher directed an ADAPTATION of the original novel by Stieg Larsson. And it's an EXCELLENT one at that.
    The film is dark, eerie, creepy, and disturbing and graphic... and that's what makes it excellent! The cinematography is gorgeous, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross once again compose another Oscar-worthy film score, and David Fincher's direction is exceptional. What makes it better is Rooney Mara's portrayal of Lisbeth Salander (she's a GIANT badass in the film) and its being more faithful to the novel.
    Should you see this film? Yes, you should.
    Ps. To the negative reviews saying that it drags on too long, quit your **** You couldn't be any more wrong. I saw the film and I felt the time go way too fast, I desired more when the credits began to roll, even if I know how it ends.
    Expand
  17. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    This is a very interesting and exciting movie. Plus for the voyeurs a couple of nicely graphic sex scenes. The movie moves forward from a journalist losing his job to taking on an assignment of what ever happened to a long-since-vanished member of a large Swedish family. The person who know is a family member, and family members live far apart on apparently a large wooded island. WhenThis is a very interesting and exciting movie. Plus for the voyeurs a couple of nicely graphic sex scenes. The movie moves forward from a journalist losing his job to taking on an assignment of what ever happened to a long-since-vanished member of a large Swedish family. The person who know is a family member, and family members live far apart on apparently a large wooded island. When the truth is known it is very different that I thought it would be, and in a way very satisfying. This is worthwhile. Go see. Oh yes, a note on the rape scene: As seen and heard on local TV every night be prepared for anything and everything. Expand
  18. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    I've read the books and seen the original Swedish movies - I'm a fan. This was very well made, engrossing, enjoyable and well worth the time spent. The fact that I knew the plot and had seen the prior film did not diminish the experience - it was intriguing to see what another director would do with the book, and he did a great job. Go see it - you won't be disappointed (as opposed to theI've read the books and seen the original Swedish movies - I'm a fan. This was very well made, engrossing, enjoyable and well worth the time spent. The fact that I knew the plot and had seen the prior film did not diminish the experience - it was intriguing to see what another director would do with the book, and he did a great job. Go see it - you won't be disappointed (as opposed to the Mission Impossible film, by the way, which was ridiculously bad. Just had to put that negative plug in there). Expand
  19. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Slick... Stylish... Smart... Sexy... Scary... Not for the faint of heart or the prude. I like a good mystery especially one that keeps you guessing but it should have come with cliff notes because it was too hard to follow. Secondly, It really would have been a better film if it were shorter. The climax was suppressed because they tacked-on an extra storyline to the last twenty minutes.Slick... Stylish... Smart... Sexy... Scary... Not for the faint of heart or the prude. I like a good mystery especially one that keeps you guessing but it should have come with cliff notes because it was too hard to follow. Secondly, It really would have been a better film if it were shorter. The climax was suppressed because they tacked-on an extra storyline to the last twenty minutes. Finally, "Q" would approve of all the "gratuitous sex and violence", (or in this case "sexual violence"). Unless you are a hardened masochist you WILL be shocked and offended. I had better not see anyone taking their minor children into this one. All that said... I thought it was a pretty great adult film. Expand
  20. Aug 11, 2012
    7
    Not even Fincher with admittedly inspiring casting, and an impressive list of nail biting movies such as "Seven," "Fight Club" and "Zodiac", was able to emulate the edge of the Swedish original film which in turn could not compare with the depth of the original material in the book. And although Craig, in contrast with Nyqvist in the original film, brings extra umpf with the surplus ofNot even Fincher with admittedly inspiring casting, and an impressive list of nail biting movies such as "Seven," "Fight Club" and "Zodiac", was able to emulate the edge of the Swedish original film which in turn could not compare with the depth of the original material in the book. And although Craig, in contrast with Nyqvist in the original film, brings extra umpf with the surplus of erotic charisma needed to unfold the book's main character, it is the other way around between Mara and Rapace who steals the show in the Swedish version with her unflinching raw performance of one of the most complex characters on the silver screen to date. Expand
  21. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    If you've seen the original Swedish version, there's not much new here. If you haven't, this is the American-language adaptation of Stieg Larsson's novel about a journalist (Daniel Craig) and his unusual assistant (Rooney Mara). He's hired by a wealthy old man to solve the mystery of his missing granddaughter, but discovers a series of brutal murders. Meanwhile, she's got her own problems,If you've seen the original Swedish version, there's not much new here. If you haven't, this is the American-language adaptation of Stieg Larsson's novel about a journalist (Daniel Craig) and his unusual assistant (Rooney Mara). He's hired by a wealthy old man to solve the mystery of his missing granddaughter, but discovers a series of brutal murders. Meanwhile, she's got her own problems, when she's enlisted to help him on his search. This film, which runs 2:38, unfolds with a slow anxiety, but never really manages much tension. Even the violent scenes are underplayed. Perhaps it's that cold Swedish outlook. The musical score is often pervasive and occasionally in the way. Director David Fincher has crafted a compelling, but slightly-confusing film. Expand
  22. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    Freaky. Dark. Weird. I'd never read the books, but I was curious. I haven't worked my way through the Swedish versions of the films yet, either. This one will inspire me to do that, for certain. I don't want to say I loved it, but I certainly did get captured by most of the elements of this movie. Lisbeth is a great shot in the arm for women in cinema. If you're a fan of coldFreaky. Dark. Weird. I'd never read the books, but I was curious. I haven't worked my way through the Swedish versions of the films yet, either. This one will inspire me to do that, for certain. I don't want to say I loved it, but I certainly did get captured by most of the elements of this movie. Lisbeth is a great shot in the arm for women in cinema. If you're a fan of cold weather, this movie is gonna be a treat for you. I would rate this higher, but I was left a little unsettled by it. I would say all my friends who enjoyed Silence of the Lambs will want to see this one. The world is a dark and dangerous place. You never know what you might find when you dig a little. Expand
  23. Jan 11, 2012
    7
    I don't think this is as good as the original Swedish version but it is not a bad remake. The problem for me was that once you've seen Noomi Rapace in the role of Lisbeth Salander you realize that her performance just cannot be improved upon.
    Incidentally I thought Apple products were a little bit too prominent in that movie and I say this as an Apple user myself.
  24. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    The question is, would you rather watch an excellent David Fincher film or have the world's most passionate feminist scream in your face and then punch you in the stomach? You can have both here without the physical pain of course, but you better have something soft and warm to hug by the time the credits appear.
  25. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    from Kate Winslet in "The Reader" did not see nudity as explicit and worked. Rooney Mara endorsed this film where there is also praise for the editing and sound fabulous.
  26. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I have to stay really honest here, and I must say that I haven't seen a better movie in past, well, year and a half, maybe. I'm so captivated by it, and I still think about the movie's plot and the characters, who did an amazing job, especially Rooney Mara. I haven't seen the Swedish version yet ( the original - always the best ) but this movie is quite perfect. I usually oversleep movies,I have to stay really honest here, and I must say that I haven't seen a better movie in past, well, year and a half, maybe. I'm so captivated by it, and I still think about the movie's plot and the characters, who did an amazing job, especially Rooney Mara. I haven't seen the Swedish version yet ( the original - always the best ) but this movie is quite perfect. I usually oversleep movies, but dude, was I awake. It kept my attention till the end. I highly recommend this movie. Expand
  27. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a really great thriller with good central performances. It has just the right amount of creepiness to give it that nerve-wrangling edge. It isn't quite perfect, however. It's overlong and has a far too many subplots (probably set ups for the sequel). That said, the meat of the movie is fantastic... It just needed a little bit more of the fat cut off.
  28. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    A definate must see movie even without being as good as the original Swedish movie. David Fincher has done a great job with making this movie so soon after the original and still making his "own" movie. I'm just glad that so many more people will get to see this movie and be exposed to the great story behind it, as I know so many people who don't watch foreign films. A great performanceA definate must see movie even without being as good as the original Swedish movie. David Fincher has done a great job with making this movie so soon after the original and still making his "own" movie. I'm just glad that so many more people will get to see this movie and be exposed to the great story behind it, as I know so many people who don't watch foreign films. A great performance from Rooney Mara should get an Oscar nod. Some tough scenes to watch means this is isn't for everybody, but for those who brave it will be well rewarded. Expand
  29. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Solid movie, and unexpectedly excellent acting from Mara - absolutely great in the role and very brave / honest / touching in the way she did it. To me, the first 2/3 of the movie worked much better than the last act, both in terms of plot and pacing.
  30. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    David Fincher did his lurid best. See this English adaptation with fresh look. Rooney Mara's Lisbeth Salander is different with Noomi Rapace's. And also the movie, although a drawback but it's different air. Not Fincher's best work but it also great in every level.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 22, 2011
    70
    Has much to recommend it - high-end craftsmanship, a singular heroine, a labyrinthine mystery, an intriguing milieu - yet lacks a vital spark.
  2. 70
    David Fincher's American remake of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo adds nothing to the previous adaptation, but it's certainly the more evocative piece of filmmaking.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 22, 2011
    63
    From him (Fincher), we get – what? – a faithful adaptation that brings the dazzle but shortchanges on the daring.