New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 7, 2007
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 355 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
182
Mixed:
76
Negative:
97
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
JakobDec 12, 2007
Bad book, bad movie. I cannot understand how people compare Golden Compass to Lord of the Rings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VeroniqueD.Dec 12, 2007
Simply NOT GOOD,BORING,Special effect are nothing to be amazed of. Don't waste your time and money. Go rent NARNIA, it is a peace of art compare to this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenG.Dec 27, 2007
As an atheist I can always go for a good anti-god, anti-religion story. But not only did I see little in here that was anti- religion, I found this also to be an often slow, sometimes incoherent, and empty story, devoid of any real sense of As an atheist I can always go for a good anti-god, anti-religion story. But not only did I see little in here that was anti- religion, I found this also to be an often slow, sometimes incoherent, and empty story, devoid of any real sense of wonder, magic, and adventure. The film touches all the bases in a very perfuntionary way, but it just feels empty, with no real spirit or story telling skill do it. It has isolated moments and scenes that are effective, but it just never flows as a coherent story or adventure. Also, it takes an awlful long time getting started. One last thing, if you are going to put Daniel Craig in your movie, could you please use him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveSDec 3, 2007
Worth seeing but a lot was cut out from the books. See it if you didn't read it or did, its good either way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LizT.Dec 3, 2007
I can't believe this is being marketed as a kids' movie. It's grim and depressing and shockingly violent (the fight between the bears in particular is sickeningly graphic). Ugh. Parents, take your kids to see Enchanted instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahP.Dec 3, 2007
Nicole was amazing and Blue Richards was a find. Best of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelK.Dec 3, 2007
The special effects were amazing. One of the best movies of the year, if not that best. The direction and writing was magnificent! Kidman for the Oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikaF.Dec 3, 2007
Loved this movie because it was not only smart and great, but it wasn't like 3 hours. Short and quick was the best way to go!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BijanN.Dec 3, 2007
Nicole Kidman's best performance in years. Oscar worthy. Really it was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkivaL.Dec 3, 2007
Fantastic. The most engaging and entertaining film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PauW.Dec 3, 2007
GC is my favorite fantasy film of all time! Kidman should win awards with this performance. And I can't wait for the Other 2! Oscars for FX.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinRobertsonDec 3, 2007
A poignant film that is fantastic. Explosive non-stop action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesicaE.Dec 3, 2007
My favorite fantasy movie ever. I loved the Potters to death, but this sits on them forever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranB.Dec 3, 2007
This movie should have no problem in breaking box office records. If there is any justice, this should be the highest grossing movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahC.Dec 3, 2007
Not as good as The Lord of the Rings, but who would think it could win 11 Oscars like Rings, but this was almost as good. So close. Okay, I loved them as much as the Rings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarcN.Dec 3, 2007
The Golden Compass was one of the most anticipated films of the year. With a budget well north of $150 million and a best seller as source material, expectations were high. Despite all of the debate about the His Dark Materials books, the The Golden Compass was one of the most anticipated films of the year. With a budget well north of $150 million and a best seller as source material, expectations were high. Despite all of the debate about the His Dark Materials books, the trailers made this film look like an awesome adventure fantasy. All I can say is ----- yawn. Yes, some of the visuals work, but most look like set pieces. The integration level for many effects is low. Despite similar budgets, LOTR blows this film out of the water on every level. Compare any battle scene in LOTR with any battle scene in The Golden Compass and you will see what I mean. I never felt that Lyra was ever truly in peril. The worst problem is the storyline. Screenwriter Chris Weitz significantly deviates from Pullman's book -- stopping very short of the dramatic conclusion of the first book in Pullman's series. I know that he was ordered to tone down the anti-Christian content of the novels, but instead of merely sanitizing the screenplay, he leaves out the climax. The scenes feel disjointed and you never get a chance to really care about any of the characters. There are a lot of transition/traveling scenes and director Chris Weitz (yes, he bears double blame for this disaster) commits the ultimate cinema sin -- he spends too much time telling and not enough time showing. Even the scenes with the alethiometer become repetitive and tiresome. Dakota Blue Richards does a creditable job as Lyra Bellaqua, but those expecting Daniel Craig (as Lord Asriel) to have much screen time will be horribly disappointed. He barely appears. Christian groups will not have to do any picketing to make this film tank. I cannot imagine anyone wanting to sit through it twice. Once was more than enough for me. Don't waste the money -- certainly not full price. If you want to see a truly magical film this holiday season, see Enchanted instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MeganP.Dec 4, 2007
Due to spot-on casting and stunning visual effects, this is one extremely satisfied fan of the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonB.Dec 6, 2007
Stunning visuals, great bears, and fascinating ideas. Marred only by the unnecessary exposition at the beginning, the watered-down dialogue, and the early ending (compared with the book).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HardyC.Dec 6, 2007
A fun time at the movies, with all the works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CaseyHDec 6, 2007
As a huge fan of the books, I was disappointed. The character development was nonexistent, the plot line was weak, and (surprise, surprise) they changed many things around that would have been better left untouched. This film should have As a huge fan of the books, I was disappointed. The character development was nonexistent, the plot line was weak, and (surprise, surprise) they changed many things around that would have been better left untouched. This film should have been made longer in order to keep in important information. I can guarantee that if you have not read the books, you will not understand most of what is happening. The filmmakers succeeded only in creating a shallow, unfeeling, empty world with meaningless characters populating it... my advice? Pick up the novels, leave the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaneDec 7, 2007
Thought it was aesthetically in keeping with the book. Beautiful at moments. Hardly "shockingly violent" -- there's no blood at any point whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Dec 7, 2007
Dumbed down beyond belief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulF.Dec 7, 2007
It's strange the twists life can take. I intended to see the movie "Awake" but the Golden Compass one was playing in its place. My friends quickly influenced me to see this one in its stead. Another surprise quickly followed. I thought It's strange the twists life can take. I intended to see the movie "Awake" but the Golden Compass one was playing in its place. My friends quickly influenced me to see this one in its stead. Another surprise quickly followed. I thought this must be some sequel to the Lion Witch and the Wardrome and spent the first 15 minutes of the movie in confusion. Once I figured this out I came to some conclusions about this movie. First, the special effects were first rate. The acting was actually decent but nothing earth shattering. The lead who played the little girl, Blue Richards, was my favorite. Nicole Kidman, another surprise, was pretty good too. But actually I really liked the animated warrior bear. I don't know how they achieved showing the emotion that they did but it was a good job worth mentioning. What else I can say but that if I were in my early teens I would have really loved this movie and maybe even given it a 9 or 10. Since then after seeing a gizzilion fantasy and Sci-Fi movies I have become a bit more discriminating or maybe just plan old jaded. It's really hard to top the Lord of the Rings trilogy. So in conclusion depending on your age and experience the Golden Compass will in the least entertain to possibly excite the imagination. The story line, acting, and special effects are all there for this potential. Some movies just have that shen or spirit and this one has at least has the glimmerings of one. ***Warning Potential Spoiler*** Be aware that this movie ends unexpectedly. The whole theater about groaned. The Golden Compass is definitely set up to be a series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinMDec 7, 2007
I believe that the director never read the book, opting instead to read the Cliff Notes while crossing off all the themes and replacing them with things like "generic friendship theme" and "generic courage theme". If you never read the I believe that the director never read the book, opting instead to read the Cliff Notes while crossing off all the themes and replacing them with things like "generic friendship theme" and "generic courage theme". If you never read the books, it's a solid movie. If you wanted a more accurate transferal from book to screen, you will be thoroughly disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gDec 7, 2007
Very enjoyable, even though there were changes from the book. Great SFX, good acting, compelling story. Favorite movie of this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Dec 7, 2007
All razzle, no dazzle. Absolutely nothing about the story builds enough interest to warrant a trilogy out of this. Special effects do not a movie make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnP.Dec 7, 2007
Phenomenal movie. A great teenage coming of age movie. Obviously parents that cannot read should not attempt to take little children to the movie (as suggested by Liz T)..... it's rated PG-13.... not G, not even PG . Whats with US Phenomenal movie. A great teenage coming of age movie. Obviously parents that cannot read should not attempt to take little children to the movie (as suggested by Liz T)..... it's rated PG-13.... not G, not even PG . Whats with US parents not getting it.... PG-13 means Parental Guidance under age 13 or in countries like the UK which use real movie ratings... such movies are rated 12 or 15 and above. So quit the bitching about movie marketing and demand that movies are rated appropriately in the US i.e. abolish the useless Pg, PG-13 and R rated system and go to the U, 12A, 15 and 18 ratings. On another note this is a perfect movie for any teenager or adult (other than those lost in a religious delirium with thoughts of the second coming as a daily obsession). Hope the following books make it into production with less of the message of enlightenment removed for fear of a Christian intifada or crusade against the movie company. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarcDDec 7, 2007
A tremendous disappointment which does not warrant the time to elaborate on it's plentiful flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyanK.Dec 7, 2007
Having seen this movie without reading the source first, I can say that the book must be a terrifically interesting read. It was obvious that the director thought so too; it seemed he tried to incorporate as many elements from the source as Having seen this movie without reading the source first, I can say that the book must be a terrifically interesting read. It was obvious that the director thought so too; it seemed he tried to incorporate as many elements from the source as possible. Unfortunately that made for a story that jumped from place to place without lingering on the interesting part, the connections between the events. The Victorian world of steeples and airships was sufficiently interesting that I wanted to be immersed in it, but this movie did not let me do so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantH.Dec 8, 2007
Terrific entertainment. Hugely enjoyable. Brilliant young lead. Astounding special effects. What more can i say. Just go and see it!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AldenL.Dec 8, 2007
Solid movie, with weak parts saved by Kidman and spectacular visuals. Story is streamlined from book, but mostly with success. Magisterium is a perfect 'alternative' to the Church; it's clear to any educated person what Solid movie, with weak parts saved by Kidman and spectacular visuals. Story is streamlined from book, but mostly with success. Magisterium is a perfect 'alternative' to the Church; it's clear to any educated person what it's referring to and drives the plot nicely. Major downfall of movie, if there is one: the ending is completely botched, and without a reason for doing so. The story is already violent and tragic, so why do away with that last pivotal scene. Who are they protecting? Either way, strong film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MannyR.Dec 8, 2007
I was completely disappointed. They left so much background information from the book out-- I don't even know where to begin. And the ending... what the heck?!?! What about Asriel (not saying more for those who haven't read the I was completely disappointed. They left so much background information from the book out-- I don't even know where to begin. And the ending... what the heck?!?! What about Asriel (not saying more for those who haven't read the book)? I feel that the movie was rushed-- 180 million bucks doesn't buy much anymore, I guess. Two shinning stars in all this: Nicole Kidman did a phenomenal job as Mrs. Coulter. I totally ate up every scene she was in. And the part of Lyra was also very well done by that adorable little girl. I was really cheering this movie on, especially with the recent backlash by Christian fundamentalists calling the movie "atheism marketing for kids." But now that I've seen it, I worry that the movie will fail, not because of the ridiculous "boycott," but because it sucked in its own right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
kalliDec 8, 2007
Read the Roger Ebert review -- he captures what my experience was of the movie. I'm really surprised it's receiving so many so-so reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TroyKDec 8, 2007
Worth seeing at the big screen, but only for the visuals. I have never read the books and had no trouble following the story, but was constantly saying "WHAT?" throughout the movie. Huge plot holes, so many things that didn't make sense Worth seeing at the big screen, but only for the visuals. I have never read the books and had no trouble following the story, but was constantly saying "WHAT?" throughout the movie. Huge plot holes, so many things that didn't make sense that I will just stop here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SimonBDec 9, 2007
Generally pretty to look at, & Sam Elliot is fabulous as Lee Scoresby, but otherwise a disastrous interpretation of Pullman's dark & complex novel. Completely unnecessary changes (including the order of major events & cutting the real Generally pretty to look at, & Sam Elliot is fabulous as Lee Scoresby, but otherwise a disastrous interpretation of Pullman's dark & complex novel. Completely unnecessary changes (including the order of major events & cutting the real ending); clunky exposition and bland dialogue; no time to get to know any of the characters or understand the plot threads. Everyone's written as either good or evil, with no complications or depth -- even Iorek's backstory is changed to place him more squarely on the "good" side. All interesting political discussion is gone here, & the action-adventure take on the story is dull without that context. Clearly dumbed-down for U.S. mainstream audiences & watered-down to make it child-friendly. Ironic, since Pullman's books succeed precisely because they refuse to deliver a simplistic or easily-packaged story. What a disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LizzieBDec 9, 2007
Terrible watered-down version of a book that deserved much more. Just awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelT.Dec 9, 2007
Meh, it was a nice movie, certainly entertaining, but it could have been better... Some plotholes and rush-rush editing.... But on the whole a nice movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaikiDec 9, 2007
A complete waste of time. No life and no soul. Read the book and, if you have done so already, read it again instead of seeing this joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GarrettH.Dec 9, 2007
What I stated after leaving the theater is. I wish we had seen no country for old men instead. This movie is nothing short of typical and utterly uninteresting. I haven't read any of the books and it's obvious to me they left out a What I stated after leaving the theater is. I wish we had seen no country for old men instead. This movie is nothing short of typical and utterly uninteresting. I haven't read any of the books and it's obvious to me they left out a LOT of material in this movie. I can handle a rushed scene here and there. But, just about everything in this movie is rushed. One minute she meets a bear the next she's utterly attached to said bear... wait didn't she just meet that bear like 3 minutes ago? If this movie wanted any chance at success it needed to be made as a trilogy or such from the start. As a stand alone movie it is very unfulfilling. The special effects are nothing spectacular these days. And the huge fight scene takes place at night so all you see is dark figured. Obviously it looked bad so they had to make it nighttime to compensate would be my guess. The story is far too in depth to be crammed into 2 hours. So the whole plot makes little sense. No way would a child keep up with this movie. I also don't think I would bring a non teenager to this movie. I think it is fairly violent and some of the scenes could be especially scary to a smaller child (insert gigantic bear roar here). If you are adults with no kids. Skip this movie and wait for DVD. If you have 12-15 YO kids who seem interested.. Meh I'd still skip it but they might get more out of it than you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
StevenL.Dec 9, 2007
For those of you who loved Pullman
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnLDec 9, 2007
A fantastic ride of adventure and excitement. Never having read the books I found the characters solid, each adding to the story, and the story exciting and engrossing. While I was a little disappointed in the ending being some what abrupt A fantastic ride of adventure and excitement. Never having read the books I found the characters solid, each adding to the story, and the story exciting and engrossing. While I was a little disappointed in the ending being some what abrupt (a nice build up for part 2 I am sure) the over all movie is one that is definitely worth watching again. For everyone trying to make a religious controversy out of this simply remember it is a movie. You don't have to watch it or even believe it. But it beats most of the drivel that Hollywood tries to push on us so enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyS.Dec 9, 2007
Good, but I was expecting much more. I would have been happier if this movie had been rated (PG). This is a PG-13 movie right? I should figured something was a miss when the movie theater was flooded with kids....but I didn't. Parents Good, but I was expecting much more. I would have been happier if this movie had been rated (PG). This is a PG-13 movie right? I should figured something was a miss when the movie theater was flooded with kids....but I didn't. Parents just drop your kids off and pick them up when its over (cause there ain't much there for you). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennyS.Dec 9, 2007
The movie was visually stunning and followed the plot of the book fairly well. However the ending was nothing like in the book and leaves me hoping that they will release a version of the DVD with the ending they filmed and had originally intended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
syzygyDec 9, 2007
The latest trend is to bank on children fantasy tales. Some score well, others, like this, flop because the story is poorly transferred to the screen by directors with poor instincts and a love for boilerplate drama. There are no standout The latest trend is to bank on children fantasy tales. Some score well, others, like this, flop because the story is poorly transferred to the screen by directors with poor instincts and a love for boilerplate drama. There are no standout performances. To watch all this acting talent go to waste is the most amazing feature, however unintended, to this long bore of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KenD.Jan 13, 2008
Another soulless, green-screen monstrosity. Wonderful source material has been eviscerated in order to film a plodding checklist of the main plot points. There is one glimpse of what could have been; at one point Mrs Coulter slaps her monkey Another soulless, green-screen monstrosity. Wonderful source material has been eviscerated in order to film a plodding checklist of the main plot points. There is one glimpse of what could have been; at one point Mrs Coulter slaps her monkey daemon and a slow track upwards uncovers a subtle bruise on her own face. This is the only point in the entire film where something is done cinematically to convey the kind of ideas that pulse through the book. Everything else is clunky dialogue or - as seen by Lyra in the alethiometer - literal images constructed from the tacky Christmas glitter that passes for Dust. To add insult to injury the Kate Bush song that plays over the end credits is completely appalling. She, like everyone else involved, should be ashamed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LuisG.Feb 27, 2008
It's hard not to feel like your being sold repetiveness after harry potter takes the crown and narnia steps down as well... compass is a good film .... visually stunning ... hope thers a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonKMay 11, 2008
I personally think Kidman was perfectly cast as Ms. Coulter. The show went by quickly and was very enjoyable. I liked that the goal was to get to the truth and how knowing it changes the situation. My wife and 10-year-old also enjoyed it a I personally think Kidman was perfectly cast as Ms. Coulter. The show went by quickly and was very enjoyable. I liked that the goal was to get to the truth and how knowing it changes the situation. My wife and 10-year-old also enjoyed it a lot. And, sound on the DVD was in 6.1 DTS, very good. The massive amounts of CGI slipped here and there and the dialogue did seem forced a bit but I really liked it and want to see more of it as well as read the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeyKMay 25, 2008
Decent. The visuals were great, across the board. The acting was solid. The message was good. The problem is, the movie watches like a detailed synopsis of the book, not a new portrayal of it. During the translation, they failed to turn the Decent. The visuals were great, across the board. The acting was solid. The message was good. The problem is, the movie watches like a detailed synopsis of the book, not a new portrayal of it. During the translation, they failed to turn the book into something cinematically functional. Overall, the movie is decent, regardless, but it certainly feels like an ad for a much better book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SamJMay 26, 2008
In case anyone doesnt know, phillip pullman (writer of THE NORTHERN LIGHTS!!!) {did they really need to change the name?} hates god, and this is evident in his books, as god dies in them!! but all of this has been cut out of the movie! i In case anyone doesnt know, phillip pullman (writer of THE NORTHERN LIGHTS!!!) {did they really need to change the name?} hates god, and this is evident in his books, as god dies in them!! but all of this has been cut out of the movie! i think the directors need to have the guts to deal with a bit of 'controversy' if theyre gonna pull off a multi-million dollar flick! Cinema is an art form, not a media and art is by no means always politically correct!!!!! i give it a 3 because some scenes in the move were in fact done quite well. but generally i didnt like it. read the books but id advise against the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DaveFDec 11, 2007
Watered-down, heavily-censored version of a dark and subtle story. Has its moments--most are eye-rolling, not heart-stopping. I was half-expecting the polar bears to whip out bottles of Coke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoryGDec 11, 2007
Absolutely outstanding in every way possible. I don't know what these other people saw...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
mikecDec 11, 2007
I will never get those hours back that the movie seemed to drag on for. I would prefer a visit to the dentist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicholasJ.Dec 12, 2007
Rated high for magical special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
smijatovJun 10, 2012
I have never read the book or was any sort of a fan before I watched the film, I it certainly did not inspire me to want to read the books. In any case, "The Golden Compass" puts up a good fight trying to be a good fantasy epic, but it doesI have never read the book or was any sort of a fan before I watched the film, I it certainly did not inspire me to want to read the books. In any case, "The Golden Compass" puts up a good fight trying to be a good fantasy epic, but it does not quite achieve that level or recognition. Some aspects of the film are very good, namely most of the technical aspects. Excellent production and costume design, along with a decent score and great visual effects provide for some of the films highlights. Unfortunately, the cinematography was totally off. It had this strange, airy quality to it, that made me feel as if I were watching a documentary or something. I cannot quite articulate it, but it definitely blocked me from being able to ever fully immerse myself into the story. It did not help how annoying the portrayal of the main character was by Dakota Blue Richards. Such an annoying kid. I've been told that she's supposed to be like that in the books too, but I just do not understand why. Who would want to read/watch such a miserable character. On the other hand, Nicole Kidman gave an amazingly appropriate, cold performance as Mrs.Coulter, which was another highlights of the film. But other than that, the film never quite tickled my interest to engage it fully, or be sad about the fact that the sequels have been cancelled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
PaxsterSep 19, 2010
How do you destroy a book franchise with universal acclaim? How do you dissapoint readers by changing the books name for the film? How do you cast bad actors for important roles? You film the golden compass. The book is brilliant but the filmHow do you destroy a book franchise with universal acclaim? How do you dissapoint readers by changing the books name for the film? How do you cast bad actors for important roles? You film the golden compass. The book is brilliant but the film is terrible. The kid playing Lyra is terrible,switching between cockney and posh! Make your mind up. The director goes as far as to mix the story up with a shocking polt change. Yes,the graphics are impressive and Ian Mckellen as Iorek is a good move but please,don't bother with the movie,just read the book (And the other 2 books in the trilogy!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JacobAug 10, 2015
The Golden Compass’ grand and epic scale and spectacular visuals don’t make up for the weak presentation. Fans of the books can rest assured that the story is left mostly intact but non-book readers will be confused. The characters areThe Golden Compass’ grand and epic scale and spectacular visuals don’t make up for the weak presentation. Fans of the books can rest assured that the story is left mostly intact but non-book readers will be confused. The characters are underdeveloped as all they do is explain what their role is and what’s going on while the story moves so quickly that various scenes and elements are not explained well. The film both over and under explains its characters and world at the same time making it hard to connect to anything in the film. When its all over The Golden Compass mostly works as an adaptation, minus a questionable decision in regards to the ending, but as a film it’s a bit of a mess that will baffle anyone unfamiliar with the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
tallanxDec 2, 2012
boring crap that makes no sense. With scenes that probably should've been there to explain things simply not existing. The whole thing feels a bit disjointed like somebody shot a movie that was supposed to be 4 hours long, but then cut likeboring crap that makes no sense. With scenes that probably should've been there to explain things simply not existing. The whole thing feels a bit disjointed like somebody shot a movie that was supposed to be 4 hours long, but then cut like half of it. Pointless scenes of Daniel Craig that has no effect on anything else etc. This is 5 years too late, but I still want my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlienSpaceBatsOct 1, 2013
As children's escapist fantasy goes, the film is not terrible, but does have an unfinished air about it. Also suffers from occupying similar ground as the Narnia, Potter and Rings films (over saturated), extra marks for bagging Kate Bush toAs children's escapist fantasy goes, the film is not terrible, but does have an unfinished air about it. Also suffers from occupying similar ground as the Narnia, Potter and Rings films (over saturated), extra marks for bagging Kate Bush to sing on the credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaJan 3, 2015
I have not read the books this story is based on, which means I am reviewing this film completely based on the story I saw on screen. Let's put it this way: I had been reading so much negative feedback about this film that I was positivelyI have not read the books this story is based on, which means I am reviewing this film completely based on the story I saw on screen. Let's put it this way: I had been reading so much negative feedback about this film that I was positively surprised after watching it. The movie looked good, sounded good, and all in all, it was pretty great! The plot, the story; actors and acting. Even Lyra, the "little girl who will change the course of the world forever" (yes, we have seen those before...) was annoyingly realistic with her immaturity. But as with every movie, there were some things that just didn't click, and therefore I won't give this four stars: as good as the plot of the movie was, it left me feeling as if everything wasn't told, explained, or shown well enough. Once again, perhaps those who have read the books know some facts in advance. To me, it was a bit frustrating at points. Confusing, even. And once again in a vast battlefield it is amazingly easy to launch a "surprise" attack on your enemies... wow. That never ceases to amaze me. ;) Also, Serafina Pekkala (and her daemon Kaisa) make me crack up every time! Finnish names in an otherwise English film? Not good. Not good at all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
csw12Mar 2, 2013
The Golden Compass is pure nonsense. The movie is a pathetic piece of trash that makes no sense because of all the meaningless jargon spewing out of everyone's mouth. A laughable film from the poor acting of the girl to the idea that kidsThe Golden Compass is pure nonsense. The movie is a pathetic piece of trash that makes no sense because of all the meaningless jargon spewing out of everyone's mouth. A laughable film from the poor acting of the girl to the idea that kids would enjoy this. The movie is nearly impossible to sit through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Aug 24, 2013
The movie itself is quite impressive. However, the story is way too bizarre and complicated for a child even an adult to follow. it tries to be the next huge movie series, but doesn't fill the excitement with good characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
WinebloodApr 13, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A terrible film. The main actress is just terrible, she's clearly just reading lines and it makes her very unlikeable. The film is too short for the contents of the book, a few big scenes are missing and the rest is rushed. Last of all the good ending of the book is omitted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FlippySuperApr 25, 2013
Besides the horrible acting,the lazy writing and the stupid plot twist, the thing that bothered me most about this movie was the ending.Im not going to spoil it but its really lazy. They literally ended it saying "We are going to make aBesides the horrible acting,the lazy writing and the stupid plot twist, the thing that bothered me most about this movie was the ending.Im not going to spoil it but its really lazy. They literally ended it saying "We are going to make a trilogy and not conclude this movie right now because we are SOOOO sure it wil be succesfull!" Well thanks God it wasn´t because this movie deserves to die in silence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Iky009Nov 29, 2016
Even with its great visual effects, an exemplary art direction, The Golden Compass is nothing more than just a medium movie, bad characters and a very weak plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SwatiFeb 11, 2013
What a pathetic adaptation. The casting was good though. The bear looked ridiculous. The fight scenes were censored and the whole narrative was turned on its head. Even the ending was changed to suit children.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CriticakJan 31, 2014
This movie was breathtaking and beautiful. It was supposed to be a trilogy but unfortunately due to the economic crisis in 2008, the sequel was eventually cancelled. Moreover, the church went against the movie for an invalid reason. Overall,This movie was breathtaking and beautiful. It was supposed to be a trilogy but unfortunately due to the economic crisis in 2008, the sequel was eventually cancelled. Moreover, the church went against the movie for an invalid reason. Overall, it was a good movie no matter what you haters claim... just go look at its Box Office rate. Us, the fans, are gloating over the haters because this movie was such a success financially. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
While it is not perfect, it is still a fun filled fantasy that boasts of grand visuals, a cool and interesting story, awesome music (Alexandre Desplat, again he is amazing) and great direction. I enjoyed this film, and oh, it is notWhile it is not perfect, it is still a fun filled fantasy that boasts of grand visuals, a cool and interesting story, awesome music (Alexandre Desplat, again he is amazing) and great direction. I enjoyed this film, and oh, it is not anit-Christ. If the novel was, this film is not. It is a pretty and interestingly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FranzHcriticAug 8, 2014
I remember the end of the movie. I remember the credits rolling. And I specifically remember saying; "That's it?" The movie is one slow ride with no resolution, continuity, or congruity. I have never read the book. But doubtless all thoseI remember the end of the movie. I remember the credits rolling. And I specifically remember saying; "That's it?" The movie is one slow ride with no resolution, continuity, or congruity. I have never read the book. But doubtless all those book critics couldn't be that off. The movie is only amazing in one aspect; the special effects. And the cinematography. The acting is dull, as is story. And all the animal-human bondage I just found to be unpleasant and incoherent. So slow and faulty it'll break down midway and you'll be stuck until the end. Unless you want to jump out. That's a pretty good decision. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
arsheeshJul 14, 2014
a very disappointing adaptation. the last time i felt dejected halfway into the movie was with tim burton's PLANET OF THE APES, before which this film feels like a total abomination. despite Dakota Blue Richards' Lyra and Nicole Kidman's Mrs.a very disappointing adaptation. the last time i felt dejected halfway into the movie was with tim burton's PLANET OF THE APES, before which this film feels like a total abomination. despite Dakota Blue Richards' Lyra and Nicole Kidman's Mrs. Coulter, and the visual effects, this film really is nothing. probably the fact that i read the book first and loved it made all the difference and in fact, i suggest you all do the same. avoid this film if you can and read the book. the book has a proper narrative with exemplary character development and plotline, all of which this film lacks. the only thing keeping this film together is the visual effects and nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CubJan 17, 2016
Not the best movie in the world, but still reasonably good. Just because the protagonist is a child doesn't mean it's some kiddie movie about going off to beat the bad guys. The story is actually a lot more complicated than that. InterestingNot the best movie in the world, but still reasonably good. Just because the protagonist is a child doesn't mean it's some kiddie movie about going off to beat the bad guys. The story is actually a lot more complicated than that. Interesting context, quite realistic, but quite a lot missed out from the book, a bit of an oversimplification. Also, it makes me cringe every time someone says something stupid in the script (not just this, almost ALL films have a few annoying lines). Other than that, it's not that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AramorthHSDec 25, 2015
Really liked the movie and bumped out that there's no sequel made, or atleast it's plans are still "on hold".
I don't quite get the bad reviews either, as everyone's just trying to compare it to "Lord Of The Rings".
It's not even meant to
Really liked the movie and bumped out that there's no sequel made, or atleast it's plans are still "on hold".
I don't quite get the bad reviews either, as everyone's just trying to compare it to "Lord Of The Rings".
It's not even meant to be anything like a 'next Lord of The Rings".
Man, wish there was a sequel :)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bdgbenFeb 14, 2016
This is a great movie based on even better books. Unfortunately, Christians only like freedom of speech when they agree with it. When they do not agree they whine like young children and demand censure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews