Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: March 7, 2014
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1121 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,006
Mixed:
65
Negative:
50
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
deadsparrowJun 8, 2014
The trailers presented this movie as a comedy. It is not a comedy. There are a few amusing spots but that includes Fiennes exclaiming **** . So if its not a comedy, what is it? A sort of farce with a lot of well-known actors. But a notThe trailers presented this movie as a comedy. It is not a comedy. There are a few amusing spots but that includes Fiennes exclaiming **** . So if its not a comedy, what is it? A sort of farce with a lot of well-known actors. But a not very interesting or original farce. The basic plot has been used many times before. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
drewstroyerApr 5, 2014
I went in expecting to love the movie based on the high Metacritic score and boy was I disappointed. There weren't specific things to hate but there was very little to love. I found two things positive: 1) the acting was solid, 2) theI went in expecting to love the movie based on the high Metacritic score and boy was I disappointed. There weren't specific things to hate but there was very little to love. I found two things positive: 1) the acting was solid, 2) the directing and cinematography seemed well done to me, although not my style. However, the script was so uninteresting I would have walked out had I not been with friends. The few laughs I had were small chuckles, and the humor was little more than a character getting frustrated and screaming curse-words. I had absolutely zero attachment to any of the characters or the plot. The movie wasn't much more than an adult cartoon. They may as well have been dropping anvils on each other. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
marco34laMar 30, 2014
I'm sorry this movie was grossly over-hyped. I found it to be mildly entertaining and not nearly as good as
'The royal Tananbaums.' Ididn't find it funny at all - it was trying to be slapstick at times
and screwball at others - but failed
I'm sorry this movie was grossly over-hyped. I found it to be mildly entertaining and not nearly as good as
'The royal Tananbaums.' Ididn't find it funny at all - it was trying to be slapstick at times
and screwball at others - but failed miserably. Again, it's a tepid adventure, not worth the hype or the positive reviews.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
NavyBeanApr 23, 2014
Best for the smug. The "too-loud laughter of the art-house patron" is a review that would work on this film. There's an audience for this that wants to think they're in on the joke and the rest of us rabble don't have the emotionalBest for the smug. The "too-loud laughter of the art-house patron" is a review that would work on this film. There's an audience for this that wants to think they're in on the joke and the rest of us rabble don't have the emotional intelligence to see the forest. But the joke's on them.

This is a beautiful-looking, highly-styled, clever but EMPTY film. These are Wes Anderson characters in Wes Anderson settings. The dialogue is cute, but gets old by the end ... there's no arc, no development ... just odd, quirky characters who are odd and quirky for the sake of it.

Rushmore and Moonlight Kingdom worked because the characters were great, lonely people. There are no great characters in GBH ... and the story is thin ... but it does look nice.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
3
ariel84Jun 18, 2014
well, that was an hour and a half i could've spent watching something else. i love only two anderson films (the royal tanenbaums and darjeeling limited). they were stylized, but not to the point where the actors were props. the stories ofwell, that was an hour and a half i could've spent watching something else. i love only two anderson films (the royal tanenbaums and darjeeling limited). they were stylized, but not to the point where the actors were props. the stories of both were touching. this film should've been much better. it could've revolved around the society of concierges and been delightful. too many A list actors with very little to do. the centering of virtually every shot drove me a little crazy. it was watching a series of still life tableaus. i kept thinking, "this is so hipsterish, why am i watching this?" Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
GerNJul 7, 2014
Wes Anderson again reduces skilled actors to lifeless puppets. This is not a comedy; it is an interminable mood piece, the mood being arch, artificial, contrived and soulless. Imagine a failed SNL skit extended to 1:40, in particular, whereWes Anderson again reduces skilled actors to lifeless puppets. This is not a comedy; it is an interminable mood piece, the mood being arch, artificial, contrived and soulless. Imagine a failed SNL skit extended to 1:40, in particular, where the "humor" is based on being extremely stupid, or crude or inept. Yes, it is distinctive and engrossed in its own style. You might instead consider staring at an Andy Warhol self-portrait for 1:40. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
wisertimeApr 7, 2014
Seems to appeal to the Wes Anderson Die hards. I haven't seen all his movies. Rushmore was decent, but not as great as people make it out to be. Some fans calling this his best...well if that's not an endorsement for seeing more of hisSeems to appeal to the Wes Anderson Die hards. I haven't seen all his movies. Rushmore was decent, but not as great as people make it out to be. Some fans calling this his best...well if that's not an endorsement for seeing more of his work.

I found it dull and boring (and it really takes a lot to bore me at a movie..though Gravity was boring too). There were no laughs whatsoever. Too much "style", no substance. Didn't care about the characters at all and the ones I might have, were hardly on screen. Dull, repetitive, silly, stuipid, over the top, over hyped, tired. I couldn't wait for it to end. Tries to be serious, political, funny, silly, artful, homage and fails on all accounts. Ok it looked ok, the makeup and wardrobe was very good, but that's about it. Ralph Fines was good, but not his best work. People giving this 10's are hipsters or out of their minds.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
Mary805Jun 24, 2014
I missed this movie when it was in theaters and really looked forward to watching it when it was released to On Demand, boy was I disappointed. Every good scene was shown in the commercials, it was so long and drawn out, I could not wait forI missed this movie when it was in theaters and really looked forward to watching it when it was released to On Demand, boy was I disappointed. Every good scene was shown in the commercials, it was so long and drawn out, I could not wait for it to end. I kept waiting to be pulled into a magical story and it never happened. I do not understand how anyone could rate this a 6 let alone a 10, it was horrible! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
Lynn567Apr 19, 2014
HORRIBLE!! Very disappointing show....!! Would not recommend it to anyone. Would have suggested we leave the theatre except that it would have been disruptive to others... do not waste your money!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
LowbrowCinemaMar 18, 2014
Wes Anderson has great style and wit but THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL is one more effort from Anderson that is totally satisfied with being nothing more than cute. The film looks great, quite amazing in fact, but really is this trite exerciseWes Anderson has great style and wit but THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL is one more effort from Anderson that is totally satisfied with being nothing more than cute. The film looks great, quite amazing in fact, but really is this trite exercise all that this talented filmmaker and cast can really accomplish? A little soul, na inkling of depth or insight would be nice. Ralph Fiennes totally scores though in a wonderful central role. But once he leaves the screen, I just got bored. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
NikolayGJul 3, 2014
Aside from a few laughs early on, this movie quickly became one of the dullest films I have ever seen, despite its cute visuals and overabundance of talent who signed up to play the various roles. The characters were all quite flat,Aside from a few laughs early on, this movie quickly became one of the dullest films I have ever seen, despite its cute visuals and overabundance of talent who signed up to play the various roles. The characters were all quite flat, unbelievable, and the lack of depth led to a lack of any drama. Everything just felt very pat and inconsequential. The plot felt like something they were making up as they went along. The film also feels exceedingly self conscious and aware of its own cuteness, which pushed it toward the annoying end of the "indie" spectrum. Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
0
tinroofrustedJul 21, 2014
Just an awful movie. Not funny, weirdly directed, repetitive, featuring horrible florid set design, senseless celebrity cameo appearances, and some of the most boring dialogue ever. Hard for me to say how much I hated this movie. I know I'mJust an awful movie. Not funny, weirdly directed, repetitive, featuring horrible florid set design, senseless celebrity cameo appearances, and some of the most boring dialogue ever. Hard for me to say how much I hated this movie. I know I'm in the minority, but I know I'm right too. Most people who say they like this movie probably secretly hated it. Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
0
JerfyyApr 15, 2014
This movie was a waste of time and a hit in the wallet for no reason. If you are going to watch this, go on a cheap night. I am still sitting here wondering what it is that I had just watched. The random poetry and hipster-esque movie that isThis movie was a waste of time and a hit in the wallet for no reason. If you are going to watch this, go on a cheap night. I am still sitting here wondering what it is that I had just watched. The random poetry and hipster-esque movie that is known as "The Grand Budapest Hotel" is poorly rated on this website. Do not be lulled in with a false sense of security. You have been warned. I literally made this account just to rate this movie poorly because that's how bad it was. Think Spring Breakers but hipster. Expand
5 of 20 users found this helpful515
All this user's reviews
0
lancekozAug 19, 2014
Years ago, I was impressed with the quirky, down-home feel of Rushmore, I got a few laughs out of Bottle Rocket... but every other Anderson film just gets worse. Because there are bright colors and wide-angle, symmetric compositions in almostYears ago, I was impressed with the quirky, down-home feel of Rushmore, I got a few laughs out of Bottle Rocket... but every other Anderson film just gets worse. Because there are bright colors and wide-angle, symmetric compositions in almost every shot... maybe people think this is great cinema. But the clumsy acting trying to bring superficial scripts alive just gets tiring after a while. This time, we are shown a sometimes serious, elaborate historical drama... but it's just pretext.... it isn't credible. Every shot has an arranged, forced feel that betrays realism... so you find yourself at an emotional distance from all the events that are supposed to make you feel the drama. There's a constant, snarky absurdity lingering beneath the surface... but that isn't really sufficient as a storyline. More writing, less artistic contrivance. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
gxm143Mar 27, 2014
I am not the type that needs comedies to make me laugh out loud, but this movie didn't even prompt a smile or snicker. I have never seen a greater discrepancy between critics reviews and my enjoyment of a movie. First movie in many years II am not the type that needs comedies to make me laugh out loud, but this movie didn't even prompt a smile or snicker. I have never seen a greater discrepancy between critics reviews and my enjoyment of a movie. First movie in many years I have walked out of, and my wife felt the same. Expand
6 of 26 users found this helpful620
All this user's reviews
0
wadewilliamsMay 4, 2014
If you are the kind who thinks nothing of spending $5.50 on a latte mocafretti frappe cappuccino, reads/studies Nietzsche and still thinks it's quality time spent when watching the Kardashian's , would gladly pay scalping-prices ofIf you are the kind who thinks nothing of spending $5.50 on a latte mocafretti frappe cappuccino, reads/studies Nietzsche and still thinks it's quality time spent when watching the Kardashian's , would gladly pay scalping-prices of $200/ticket for your seven yr old daughter or granddaughter to see Katy Perry, then run to see this movie. This was a listed as an R-rated comedy? Yeh, that is a laugh. bill murray...wasted owen Wilson...wasted. harvey keitel...ditto. adrien brody....How could you? I can't recall a more forgettable bunch of worthless dialogue and disjunctive goings-on. I darn near asked for money back. total waste of time. Expand
5 of 24 users found this helpful519
All this user's reviews
2
jgzegerNov 21, 2014
I hated this movie! The characters are way over the top and there isn't much of interest in the plot. Ralph Fiennes is a good actor ,but I was expecting Bill Murray to have a bigger role than his two minutes on the screen.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
dlldllJul 23, 2014
I promised I'd never see one of his dreadfully made things again. But again the reviews convinced me it would be a watchable thing for a broad viewership that I needed. Again: never again. Puerile and pretty much pathetic in that everyI promised I'd never see one of his dreadfully made things again. But again the reviews convinced me it would be a watchable thing for a broad viewership that I needed. Again: never again. Puerile and pretty much pathetic in that every decision Anderson makes is terrible and the film ends up as a series of little fun but cheap turns. Exudes mediocrity at every gesture. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
BabsJan 31, 2015
As others have said, this is visually stunning. That is my only positive comment about this movie. Stupid plot, overacting, watched it to the end only in hopes of it improving...
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
3
ziaHassanApr 27, 2015
This movie and its 8+ rating perfectly shows, how holiwood has gone down. The drama never reaches climax in a weak story. Not many touching movie. The story starts at around 30 minutes and Ralph Fienes delivers too many unbelievable dialogue.This movie and its 8+ rating perfectly shows, how holiwood has gone down. The drama never reaches climax in a weak story. Not many touching movie. The story starts at around 30 minutes and Ralph Fienes delivers too many unbelievable dialogue. None of the characters create any emotion and touches the viewer.
Too many A list artists don't make the cut.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
Angelina68Jul 5, 2015
I think that Moonrise Kingdom was a masterpiece for the way in which it secured individual and quirky fantasy to our own world.

This film achieved no such thing, lacks any self reflexivity and is a self indulgent and wooden oddity which
I think that Moonrise Kingdom was a masterpiece for the way in which it secured individual and quirky fantasy to our own world.

This film achieved no such thing, lacks any self reflexivity and is a self indulgent and wooden oddity which has drowned in its own treakly style.

I agree with a critic here that visually each frame, each mise en scene is superb and worthy of hanging on a wall but everything else which would make good cinema is missing.

The over stylized non-acting had me bored to death after 20 minutes. Having said this Fiennes was masterly in managing to create a human being however fantastical from this dull and format script.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Hemp316Sep 8, 2015
For myself,this was such A boring and dry Movie.I didn't find much to laugh at and perhaps I am not intelligent enough to get all of the little subtle jokes and references,because they must have went completely over my head.After about fortyFor myself,this was such A boring and dry Movie.I didn't find much to laugh at and perhaps I am not intelligent enough to get all of the little subtle jokes and references,because they must have went completely over my head.After about forty five minutes the Movie it was so boring that I actually started to fall asleep as one dry scene after another slowly continued and it felt as if I was watching An educational video from the 1980's in A classroom completely bored out of my mind.I know Wes Anderson has made some good Movies,but this one is by far not one of them.It's pretentious,dry as tack bread from the civil war and extremely boring without not one redeeming quality.The only reason I gave it any type of score whatsoever is that it's not the absolute worst Movie I've ever seen,but it's pretty close. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
TerrorpinMar 22, 2017
I liked moonrise kingdom, but this only got 15 minutes of my time. Think this one is definitely a 'MARMITE' film. Not for me, but can understand why it would appeal to a lot of people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews