The Great Gatsby

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 705 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: An adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald's Long Island-set novel, where Midwesterner Nick Carraway is lured into the lavish world of his neighbor, Jay Gatsby. Soon enough, however, Carraway will see through the cracks of Gatsby's nouveau riche existence, where obsession, madness, and tragedy await.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. 88
    It’s a terrific adaptation that succeeds not only as a work of cinema but also, wonderfully, as proof of the novel’s greatness. In short, the picture rebukes the revisionists even while entertaining them.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 8, 2013
    83
    As a purely sensory experience at the movies you're hard-pressed to find anything more dazzling than the first 90 minutes of The Great Gatsby, when Luhrmann's riotous amusements make anything possible.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 9, 2013
    70
    The actors emote up a summer storm. Maguire’s otherworldly coolness suits the observer drawn into a story he might prefer only to watch. DiCaprio is persuasive as the little boy lost impersonating a tough guy, and Mulligan finds ways to express Daisy’s magnetism and weakness.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    May 6, 2013
    60
    More often, Gatsby feels like a well-rehearsed classic in which the actors say their lines ably, but with no discernible feeling behind them.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    May 9, 2013
    50
    There are so many things wrong with Luhrmann's Great Gatsby - the filmmaker's attention-deficit-disorder approach, the anachronistic convergence of hip-hop and swing, the choppy elision of Fitzgerald's plot, the jarring collision of Jazz Age cool and Millennial cluelessness. But at the crux of things, the problem is that it's impossible to care.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 9, 2013
    50
    So much effort seems to have gone into the eye-popping production design, swooping camera work and anachronistic musical score that the result is hyper-active cacophony rather than enthralling entertainment.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    May 7, 2013
    25
    I love the publicity quotes by Baz Luhrmann stating that his intention was to make an epic romantic vision that is enormous. Also: overwrought, asinine, exaggerated and boring. But in the end, about as romantic as a pet rock.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 190
  1. May 10, 2013
    10
    Saw this when it opened. Had low expectations because of movie critics who obviously grew up in the wrong era. The quality of the book isSaw this when it opened. Had low expectations because of movie critics who obviously grew up in the wrong era. The quality of the book is revived perfectly; It's a period peace, but transcends period with its subtle hints of modern music and style. Every actor was perfectly cast. It's heavy use of Art Deco (my favorite architectural style) fills the screen with beauty that reaches for the heavens, however unattainable they were and still are.
    Gatsby looks to the past not with nostalgia, but with regret of what was and what will never be.

    p.s. I am usually very anti-3d but this movies 3d really pulls you into the grandness of it all.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2013
    10
    (most of) THE CRITICS WERE WRONG. it's a long movie, and a well thought out movie. everyone involved with this movie put in a lot of hard work(most of) THE CRITICS WERE WRONG. it's a long movie, and a well thought out movie. everyone involved with this movie put in a lot of hard work and should be applauded for the result. the music worked, the 3d worked, the time travel to another era worked. it was well worth it and I'm glad i went against the poor reviews. Expand
  3. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    I finally decided to see this film, despite its low ratings. I was pleasantly surprised and can now safely say that I understand why the novelI finally decided to see this film, despite its low ratings. I was pleasantly surprised and can now safely say that I understand why the novel is such a central piece of American literature.

    As for the film, the acting is top notch, and the only thing I really disliked is the modern music. Outside of that, I thought it was a very profound story with some great messages and a fascinating central character.
    Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Beautiful, extravagent, and as over the top as one would expect, Baz Luhrmann's The Great Gatsby does a brilliant job capturing the beauty andBeautiful, extravagent, and as over the top as one would expect, Baz Luhrmann's The Great Gatsby does a brilliant job capturing the beauty and wealth possessed by Gatsby. This film is pure eye candy, yet it does have some substance beneath it and I think it did a swell job capturing the essence of the novel and telling the fateful tale of Jay Gatsby. In addition, the acting, led by Tobey Maguire, Leonardo DiCaprio, and Carey Mulligan, was great as well.

    Only negatives in this film were the beginning, which was far too hectic and scattered, as well as the soundtrack. While I am a fan of hip hop, it seemed extraordinarily out of place in this film, which is supposed to be set in the 1920's. More period appropriate music should have chosen and ultimately, the soundtrack made it seem almost clumsy. However, the sets were beyond gorgeous and with beautiful shot after shot, this should win best production and best costume design on pure beauty alone. Just wow, the eye candy of each shot admittedly won my heart.
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2013
    6
    The scenery is beautiful, but Maguire becomes annoying fast. The movie jumps around between scenes with no real transitions. Very difficult toThe scenery is beautiful, but Maguire becomes annoying fast. The movie jumps around between scenes with no real transitions. Very difficult to stay interested. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2015
    5
    Disappointing for Di Caprio as he is such a talented actor. I will begin by saying this film is very well shot and well lit, the party scenesDisappointing for Di Caprio as he is such a talented actor. I will begin by saying this film is very well shot and well lit, the party scenes were kind of interesting as well as a organised and 'modern infused' soundtrack. However, there were many negatives that I have to discuss. Daisy, was the worst kind of person, I won't spoil the ending but I must say that it ruined the entire film for me. This is so much fuss over one girl..I know the whole aspect over 'Daisy wants her daughter to be a fool because she needs a man' but it clings to it like flies to honey. The highlight of this 2 hour drive around New York with some complaining was Toby Maguire. The entire film he was a third wheel to all the **** going on and almost seemed to be the one thinking 'uh....are you serious?'. A very disappointing movie for me. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Here's my review: i am not going to see this even if it comes out on a $2 DVD sale at BigW. It reminds me of the movie Australia, overlong,Here's my review: i am not going to see this even if it comes out on a $2 DVD sale at BigW. It reminds me of the movie Australia, overlong, boring and self indulgent, it assumes its own importance will draw me in. I haven't seen Australia either. Expand

See all 190 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.