Columbia Pictures | Release Date: January 14, 2011
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 496 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
280
Mixed:
140
Negative:
76
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
FreedomFightersDec 5, 2016
Well, after keeping you waiting for quite a while, here we are at 2011. If 2011's box office totals were any indication, it's gonna be a rough year. Where to begin? Well, how about the first movie I saw in 2011, "The Green Hornet?" Where manyWell, after keeping you waiting for quite a while, here we are at 2011. If 2011's box office totals were any indication, it's gonna be a rough year. Where to begin? Well, how about the first movie I saw in 2011, "The Green Hornet?" Where many superhero films are very action-based, "The Green Hornet" serves as more of a buddy comedy that so happens to start a few superheroes. The result is a considerably entertaining film that's pretty well-acted, action-packed, funny, and wholly entertaining. It's won't scale the heights of many other superhero films, but when all is said and done, "The Green Hornet" is a pretty good, undemanding time at the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Oct 13, 2016
I know, it was pretty hard for me to imagine Seth Rogan as a superhero too, but as it turns out things aren't exactly as they appear. In this 2011 re-imaging of the series, Rogan play Britt Reid, the son of a billionaire publisher, whoI know, it was pretty hard for me to imagine Seth Rogan as a superhero too, but as it turns out things aren't exactly as they appear. In this 2011 re-imaging of the series, Rogan play Britt Reid, the son of a billionaire publisher, who (surprise surprise) is a big time party animal, with no real ambition in life. When his father passes away suddenly, Reid is given this huge empire to run and with no idea how to do it, he starts to lean on the people around him, people like Kato (Jay Chou). Reid knew Kato for years, but knew nothing of what he could create and nothing of the skills he was capable of. With Kato's help, Reid decided to take on crime in the city, only one problem, he sucks at it. This film may be the most evenly scored film I've ever reviewed, because I can honestly say my like and dislikes were exactly fifty-fifty, most notably were the cast. Seth Rogan in the right setting is brilliant and in the wrong setting is just annoying as hell, with that hardly laugh and his never taking anything seriously, it is perhaps never more abundantly apparent as it is here. Cameron Diaz also adds nothing to the cast, but name recognition and a lazy one sided performance. On the other hand, Jay Chou was fantastic as Kato, he was clever, funny, exciting, and in my opinion he made this movie, it simply isn't a superhero film with him. Then there is Christoph Waltz, the man with the mesmerizing voice who forever capture our attention in Inglorious Bastards, and has been the quintessential bad guy in everything since. The bottom line is the new Green Hornet isn't without it's problems, but the story here is better than I expected it to be, there are some stand outs among the cast, and the special effects and fight scenes were hit or miss. This is the kind of film you'll be into or you won't. Just like my list, audiences are going to be fifty-fifty on the one as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeApr 25, 2016
Am I seeing a completely different movie or is it that Metacritic doesn't have a poster for this movie? I mean the Green Hornet I am reviewing has Seth Rogen in it. Yep, that's possibly it. The Green Hornet needs to stay with the action andAm I seeing a completely different movie or is it that Metacritic doesn't have a poster for this movie? I mean the Green Hornet I am reviewing has Seth Rogen in it. Yep, that's possibly it. The Green Hornet needs to stay with the action and not the comedy. Out with the comedy, in with the action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJan 24, 2015
Wow.Seth Rogen and Jay Chou's performances are just simply amazing and the action sequences are really well made.The comedy part is well made to and the movie is a total blast.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
supermann234Dec 9, 2014
The Green Hornet is a movie which features plenty of action and has an interesting plot. This movie is nice and it would be recommended to watch it if you like action movies. Unlike most crime movies which are dark, this movie isThe Green Hornet is a movie which features plenty of action and has an interesting plot. This movie is nice and it would be recommended to watch it if you like action movies. Unlike most crime movies which are dark, this movie is bright-themed and some of the scenes were quite funny. Overall, this is a good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FranzHcriticAug 25, 2014
There was a lack of sense of the movie, a lack of direction or structure in the script. Seth Rogen was an utter dud and as much as Jay Chou was funny, he was flatter than paper. Cameron Diaz and all the other supporting cast are not worthThere was a lack of sense of the movie, a lack of direction or structure in the script. Seth Rogen was an utter dud and as much as Jay Chou was funny, he was flatter than paper. Cameron Diaz and all the other supporting cast are not worth mentioning. There are some talents I saw in there wasted on this muddled and overly-cheeky action film. When I first saw this, nothing kicked for me to be excited. Still doesn't when I rewatched it on TV. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 24, 2014
As excited as I was to see this movie, after seeing the trailer, I cannot feel but somewhat disappointed.

I'm not familiar with the original radio show this movie is based on. Could be that I would have enjoyed the film more (or less?) if
As excited as I was to see this movie, after seeing the trailer, I cannot feel but somewhat disappointed.

I'm not familiar with the original radio show this movie is based on. Could be that I would have enjoyed the film more (or less?) if I knew the original material.

While the movie was funny, I found myself more and more disliking the "hero", Britt Reid (Seth Rogen). His acting/character/humor just didn't do it for me.

Kato (Jay Chou) was the real man of action, but as much as I usually feel drawn to Oriental people, language and such, his accent here was almost unbearable at times; I had no idea what he was saying. That, however, wasn't the weakest point in the movie.

The plot takes us from Reid's party lifestyle to teenage-rebellion-from-adults, all the way to a rather sudden understanding that the father he hates wasn't such an **** after all - at least not to the rest of the world. While that seems a pretty straightforward path, the movie wasn't straightforward at anything.

Green Hornet (Reid) and his nameless side-kick (Kato) are heroes who disguise themselves as bad guys to escape the usual fate of super heroes. How exactly that logic works is a mystery to me still, but as expected, it takes them from one problem to another when a local crime lord with a name no one can spell correctly (Chudnofsky) feels his position is threatened by these clowns.

Cameron Diaz as Lenore Chase provides a flash of brief interest, which pretty soon fades away as another unnecessary plot element.

With Reid's messed up act and Kato's rather strange character, there is a lot of humor provided, but in the end, was it good enough? The plot is a bit shaky, things take too long to build up, the characters just don't get a grip to be interesting or deep enough. Not a bad movie, but with Reid's presence, it really didn't stand a chance being anything remarkable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jack101May 30, 2014
I don't get the negativity in this, the action, acting, editing, all great. People spend years and millions of dollars just to make an over an hour movie and this is what they get? Try filling their shoes for a day, at least give them heartI don't get the negativity in this, the action, acting, editing, all great. People spend years and millions of dollars just to make an over an hour movie and this is what they get? Try filling their shoes for a day, at least give them heart for working hard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThegodfathersonDec 24, 2013
More important than the story being told here, though, is how much fun the film seems to be having in telling it. Michel Gondry is best known for whimsical arthouse fare, but tasked with directing a superhero movie, he finds a way to put hisMore important than the story being told here, though, is how much fun the film seems to be having in telling it. Michel Gondry is best known for whimsical arthouse fare, but tasked with directing a superhero movie, he finds a way to put his own stamp on an established genre without dodging the blockbuster movie style Sony’s bean counters were probably hoping for. The movie’s packed with fun gadgets and crazy visual effects, some of which are so outside the box that in another film they might seem strange. Here though, most of them work brilliantly because Gondry’s movie never takes itself too seriously. When reality gets in the way of having fun with the moment, The Green Hornet is more than happy to ignore it. Gondry’s vision is a perfect fit with the comedic tone of the script, written by Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg. Their film is as much a comedy as it is an action movie, actually it’s better than that, it’s one of the all too rare modern movies which manages to be both. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysOct 8, 2013
Seth Rogen plays his usual rude, loud-mouthed, inconsiderate character, and Christopher Waltz tries playing a villain using some of his Basterds resolve in his pre-Django days. The movie doesn't completely work out, but it's diverting enough.Seth Rogen plays his usual rude, loud-mouthed, inconsiderate character, and Christopher Waltz tries playing a villain using some of his Basterds resolve in his pre-Django days. The movie doesn't completely work out, but it's diverting enough. Nothing new, just some of the old clichéd tricks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobSep 25, 2013
Solid acting, action, and some-what entertaining. What sort of kills is though is that it's in 3-D. The 3-D adds nothing to this film, If anything it takes away from it and is incredibly pointless to have.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
StevenFSep 11, 2013
Seth Rogan has proven before he has the talent to write convincingly for comedy, he tries his hand here at the superhero genre with his frequent collaborator Evan Goldberg, reviving The Green Hornet in blockbuster fashion, but too much comicSeth Rogan has proven before he has the talent to write convincingly for comedy, he tries his hand here at the superhero genre with his frequent collaborator Evan Goldberg, reviving The Green Hornet in blockbuster fashion, but too much comic tone spoils what had the potential to be a fun action flick, with gadgets galore and big set pieces, but they fall flat for having very little relevance to the weak plot and over abundance of characters with no part to play in the bigger picture.
Seth Rogen is regrettably miscast as spoilt rich heir Britt Reid, who befriends his fathers mechanic and general whiz kid in seemingly everything, Kato, the two embark on an anti-hero journey where we are subject to the over-talkative Rogen who has written the wrong tone of film, Cameron Diaz is also cast as a pretty pointless character indeed, there is very little for her to do and there is simply too much dialogue and improvisation to the point of ridiculing a popular character. Their plans are to take down the biggest villain in LA, played by Christoph Waltz, who gives an unrecognisable performance compared to his powerful role in Inglorious Basterds, not really his fault considering his very menial lines of attempts at laughs which don't follow through. The emergence of a coherent villain happens to little too late, while the film pokes fun at various superhero flicks and the devices typically used in these films, The Green Hornet should really have been doing the same back at itself. We also have the uneasy 'bromance' between Britt and Kato, Jay Cho makes some very random expressions as if his character is annoyed the entire film, perhaps he was frustrated with the egotistical Rogen in the film. They bicker endlessly and the manner in which they speak always suggests there will be a showdown, which comes at a rushed and over-zealous pace. Things happen that are glossed over and not explained the way they should be, like the hate that Britt has for his father, played in a small part by Tom Wilkinson .
There are a few moments of enjoyable fighting and some impressive gadgetry show-offs, but this reboot/revival feels bloated and batting well above its weight, with too much comedy and not enough of a coherent story and irrelevant characters which ultimately comes down to a side-step in the writing and miscast roles.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ncstatemikeSep 4, 2013
[4.2] I'm convinced that any movie with Cameron Diaz is doomed to be awful. Luckily, Seth Rogen's charm saves it from awfulness, and some mindlessly fun action. It's definitely a likable action movie, but Seth Rogen should be beyond making[4.2] I'm convinced that any movie with Cameron Diaz is doomed to be awful. Luckily, Seth Rogen's charm saves it from awfulness, and some mindlessly fun action. It's definitely a likable action movie, but Seth Rogen should be beyond making an obviously cilchéd, lazy and unimportant film. But at the same time it's clear that he's the type of actor who doesn't always agree to a movie because of a good script (even if he is the one writing it). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
The plot may feel too overused, but the leads of Seth Rogen and Jay Chou work together like a charm, giving hilarious performances as the crime fighting duo, not to mention enough arousing action scenes to satisfy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnnieWJul 25, 2013
A really fantastic film that I enjoyed immensely, and do not understand the rabid, foaming-at-the-mouth hatred for. This may be the only Rogen performance I've ever enjoyed (I don't mind him as a director, but I don't really like his acting,A really fantastic film that I enjoyed immensely, and do not understand the rabid, foaming-at-the-mouth hatred for. This may be the only Rogen performance I've ever enjoyed (I don't mind him as a director, but I don't really like his acting, as a general rule); Kato was fantastic; all of the tech/machines in the movie were great. The main villain left something to be desired, mainly because the character idea was just genuinely stupid but then again, that may have been the point.

I really, honestly do not get the flak. I see the word "pointless" used to describe this movie a lot how can you even call a movie pointless? If we can call any movie "pointless," we can call every movie pointless. No, The Green Hornet is not going to stimulate you intellectually, nor will it even be the best superhero film you see in your lifetime but it's a fun little movie that gave me a few chuckles and excited me.

Moviegoers have become such pedantic little
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KivaJun 25, 2013
This film is bad and boring. i watched it on the dvd and i didn't even enjoy it then. It had no quality and the characters were not well done and a little boring. I like Christopher Waltz being the bad guy and that's all i assumed from thatThis film is bad and boring. i watched it on the dvd and i didn't even enjoy it then. It had no quality and the characters were not well done and a little boring. I like Christopher Waltz being the bad guy and that's all i assumed from that movie. A bad movie and a great bad guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
survivorfan989May 20, 2013
I never really had an interest in this film from the moment I started watching 'til it finished. I don't mind Seth Rogen but I found him irritating as Britt, and while Jay Chou was quite funny I thought it was John Cho for the most part ItI never really had an interest in this film from the moment I started watching 'til it finished. I don't mind Seth Rogen but I found him irritating as Britt, and while Jay Chou was quite funny I thought it was John Cho for the most part It has a big focus on cars so those that love their cars will love it, but I don't like them so 20 minutes in I pretty much lost all interest and never got it back. It has some funny moments, and Cameron is hot, but I didn't really enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Movie1997Apr 12, 2013
Let me be honest, I didn't expect this movie to be somewhat close to a decent superhero movie, but surpisingly, it was still enjoyable. I mean, who would have expected Seth Rogen to play an iconic superhero. But somehow, it works. But thereLet me be honest, I didn't expect this movie to be somewhat close to a decent superhero movie, but surpisingly, it was still enjoyable. I mean, who would have expected Seth Rogen to play an iconic superhero. But somehow, it works. But there were some problems with this movie. One, some of the martial arts sequences look really cheesy. Second, the storyline is stale. I mean, the father being framed of dying from a bee sting, I just don't understand. Third, Christoph Waltzs' portrayl as Chudnofsky. He went from being a tremendous actor in "Inglorious Basterds" to this. His portrayl just did not impress me. But on the other hand, it has some good moments. The action was amazing, their was some surprisingly good humor and Jay Chou, "Kato" kicks-butt. Overall, this superhero movie has things to love and hate at the same time, but it still tends to be enjoyable. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
DunleerUKFeb 27, 2013
I wasn't expecting great things from this movie, right from the start before I even saw the film it felt like Seth Rogen was miss-cast. I like Seth Rogen, I think he is a very funny comedy actor but I couldn't see him being the super heroI wasn't expecting great things from this movie, right from the start before I even saw the film it felt like Seth Rogen was miss-cast. I like Seth Rogen, I think he is a very funny comedy actor but I couldn't see him being the super hero type, and that was basically my one lingering thought for the whole movie. The character of Britt Reid as written in this movie is deeply unlikeable, he's arrogant, he's pretty much useless and he's more comic relief than hero. As a protagonist you expect Reid to have a typical character arc, he starts off spoilt and arrogant, he undergoes a personal tragedy, he becomes the Green Hornet and learns to be a better person etc. There was none of that in this film, for the whole hour and 50 odd minutes he is just an annoying moron. The special effects used are interesting but sometimes just bizarre like multiple "devil's mirror" instances which don't make sense. Cameron Diaz didn't need to be in this film, Christoph Waltz is wasted in this film and Seth Rogen shouldn't have written this film. All in all everything about this film just felt wrong, every time I come to try and give it another chance and re-watch it, I end up turning it off before getting halfway through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusJan 15, 2013
The movie was a silly idea, to begin with. So they made the movie into an action/comedy and it does not work!
The green hornet is annoying to watch, not funny. and I just wanted the main character to die! What a bad movie!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A fairly ridiculous plot is saved by an excellent cast and stunning visuals from the one and only Michel Gondry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZudeareNov 23, 2012
When i saw the critic score i was shocked, this is a really fun music, sure it's not very original, but it's funny and i was entertained when i was watching this movie, Don't let the critics fool you, it's great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I normally love Seth Rogan and his films but this film is silly to the extreme and not very intelligent either. Still, there is enough talent in the cast and crew to prevent this film from being a total blow out. I enjoyed Cameron Diaz's roleI normally love Seth Rogan and his films but this film is silly to the extreme and not very intelligent either. Still, there is enough talent in the cast and crew to prevent this film from being a total blow out. I enjoyed Cameron Diaz's role (though I may be slightly bias having seen The Mask). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AutiTakahashiJul 23, 2012
Seth Rogen plays an overly talkative, trash-talking man-child by day, and an overly talkative, trash-talking vigilante by night. The man will not shut up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Mar 30, 2012
The Green Hornet is terrible, terrible and terrible. Seth Rogen is once again extremely annoying but the movie comes across and some childish adults acting like a bunch of 5 year olds except they have a car with guns on it. Did I mention itThe Green Hornet is terrible, terrible and terrible. Seth Rogen is once again extremely annoying but the movie comes across and some childish adults acting like a bunch of 5 year olds except they have a car with guns on it. Did I mention it was terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CooterPatooterMar 16, 2012
Easily the most horrid anal-raping of source material ever put to film. Repugnant and just plain WRONG in every conceivable way. Bears no semblance to the fantastic TV and radio shows it pretends to be based upon. Written by troglodytesEasily the most horrid anal-raping of source material ever put to film. Repugnant and just plain WRONG in every conceivable way. Bears no semblance to the fantastic TV and radio shows it pretends to be based upon. Written by troglodytes and acted by a gaggle of abrasive creeps with an end result on par with the very worst of the worst films in cinema history. Shameful, unfunny, repellent, shoddy and insincere buck-grabbing at its most egregious. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
2
MeanJoeGreenMar 9, 2012
U might not believe it, particularly f u watched this film, but seth rogan is actually capable of being funny - but he is a comic who needs (n the worst way) 2 hv good material 2 work with. This looks & plays like a TV pilot, which is beingU might not believe it, particularly f u watched this film, but seth rogan is actually capable of being funny - but he is a comic who needs (n the worst way) 2 hv good material 2 work with. This looks & plays like a TV pilot, which is being generous. It is formulaic 2 the point of absurdity. It rapidly dives n2 negative territory on humor, talent, plot, & entertainment & stays there. Unless ur a diehard seth rogan fan, don't waste ur time w this clunker. Even my "2" seems too generous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
fairandhonestFeb 14, 2012
This film is witless and devoid of personality .The characters were wooden and neither engaging nor likeable. The least likeable person was Rogan. Christophe Waltz did his best to inject some character and humour into the film ("Am I notThis film is witless and devoid of personality .The characters were wooden and neither engaging nor likeable. The least likeable person was Rogan. Christophe Waltz did his best to inject some character and humour into the film ("Am I not scary?") but "frat-boy self-indulges as pseudo super-hero to try and get girl" is about the sum of it. Kick-ass had edge and even the Green Latern had some level of nobility. This is just a dumb movie that makes no sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PahnJan 22, 2012
The day this superhero movie fad dies can't come too soon. Enough already!

Same goes for Seth Rogen. He's right up there with Jennifer Aniston as the most overexposed Hollywood stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuJan 14, 2012
Better than I thought it was going to be, part action movie, part buddy flick. Won't set the world alight but good popcorn for the brain and worth looking at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
abcgbcJan 13, 2012
The concept of the movie is good but I find it a little bit boring.. It is so sloppy,lazy and flat.. a very bland comedy action.. the script is not so funny as it should be. The cast especially the main actor did his job to portray the roleThe concept of the movie is good but I find it a little bit boring.. It is so sloppy,lazy and flat.. a very bland comedy action.. the script is not so funny as it should be. The cast especially the main actor did his job to portray the role but there is a lacking on the execution on how it will be portray. I think there is a problem with the dialogue that cast did not shine thorugh its momentum especially if there is a scene that will be a moment in the movie but it fails short. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SamMJan 11, 2012
I watched the film having never seen the tv series. I'm surprised so many people didn't like it because I thought it was hilarious, obviously intended to be a comedy more than a typical super hero film. And that's great because I enjoyed itI watched the film having never seen the tv series. I'm surprised so many people didn't like it because I thought it was hilarious, obviously intended to be a comedy more than a typical super hero film. And that's great because I enjoyed it more than I enjoy typical superhero films. Great fun! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
xdkfcJan 3, 2012
I Love this movie, i bought it cheaply with high expectations and i wasn't disappointed, the mix of slapstick, action, comedy, and martial arts make this a superb blockbuster
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BelloDec 12, 2011
Amir and Hassan who are best friends; Hassan was a servant of Amir Father who was loyal and was treated as a son of Amir Father. Hassan was brought up in Amir Father House as a child and they played together and kite on the streets of Kabul.Amir and Hassan who are best friends; Hassan was a servant of Amir Father who was loyal and was treated as a son of Amir Father. Hassan was brought up in Amir Father House as a child and they played together and kite on the streets of Kabul. Amir believes that his father blames him for the death of his mother when she was giving birth to him and also believes his father loves Hassan more than him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanDec 7, 2011
It's probably easiest to rate The Green Hornet in relation to other comedy super hero movies released over the last few years. It's not an instant classic like Kick-Ass, but at least it's more accessible and more consistent in tone thanIt's probably easiest to rate The Green Hornet in relation to other comedy super hero movies released over the last few years. It's not an instant classic like Kick-Ass, but at least it's more accessible and more consistent in tone than Super. There are some pretty good gags, and the action scenes are creative, and more importantly, fun. Seth Rogen and Jay Chou are a good double-act - Rogen is likeable as usual as the Hornet and Chou makes a surprisingly good Kato, both able to handle the stunts and able to ground the character in (an admittedly odd) reality. Christoph Wlatz also impresses, and is starting to rack up quite an impressive list of entertaining villains. However, the film runs out of steam a little in the middle section, some sequences are a little muddy and advance the plot very little, and the wrap-up at the end is a bit sloppy. Plus Cameron Diaz appears to simply be in the film to fill out the girl-quota, and while it's nice to see Edward James-Olmos in films again, his character adds little to proceedings. So it's flawed, but Michel Gondry's Green Hornet is, for the most-part a pleasantly crazy diversion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellDec 2, 2011
The Green Hornet has a perfect mix of comedy and action, with some cool moments in between. There are some twists I did not expect and everything simply made sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
zizzoTNov 27, 2011
Over the top. Ridiculous. And too long. Though that's what made this movie fun. Dumb fun. I love dumb fun, just like I loved Seth Rogen and Kato. If you're looking for just a fun time at the movies, see "The Green Hornet."
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BrandonBonaseraNov 6, 2011
THE GREEN HORNET is an entertaining adaptation, that is funny and enjoyable. The only problems I had with this film is Seth Rogen and his annoying character and the film's predictability.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DaN_HouSeR_82Oct 28, 2011
Never heard reviews for this movie, but it came on a movie channel 1 night and I watched it. I really liked this movie! Funny, interesting, it was really entertaining! And that's what it is, entertainment. People looking for anything moreNever heard reviews for this movie, but it came on a movie channel 1 night and I watched it. I really liked this movie! Funny, interesting, it was really entertaining! And that's what it is, entertainment. People looking for anything more will keep crying about it, but who cares. Buying this on Bluray. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spielbrick90Oct 19, 2011
The green hornet is an action packed film that wowed me when I was watching it and not many films can do that to me. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and in parts it was very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"The Green Hornet" has so many (green) cliches, even the smartest of the smartest audiences wouldn't understand this piece of crap.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
j30Sep 20, 2011
No purpose or direction, The Green Hornet fails nearly fails on nearly all levels.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
avatar16Aug 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un film de super-héros ultra-classique qui ne vaut que pour son humour, ses acteurs (à part Cameron Diaz, totalement absente) et sa mise en scène efficace. Sinon, question scénario, c'est carrément bidon... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
The Green Hornet is a very good film. It has alot of funny moments in the film, the action scenes are just enjoyable to watch and the story is told very well. My only problem with this film is that some scenes can be boring and forgetable inThe Green Hornet is a very good film. It has alot of funny moments in the film, the action scenes are just enjoyable to watch and the story is told very well. My only problem with this film is that some scenes can be boring and forgetable in the film. I would give this film a high matinee Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DobbyJul 22, 2011
I thought this movie was extremely disappointing with a very poor storyline. Seth Rogan had zero charisma in this show. Jay Chou was the only redeeming factor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AlnORTIZJul 10, 2011
When I saw this film back in January, I didn't know what to expect. But this film was actually pretty entertaining! I watched the TV show with Bruce Lee in it and this has almost nothing to do with the show. Seth Rogen is funny as always andWhen I saw this film back in January, I didn't know what to expect. But this film was actually pretty entertaining! I watched the TV show with Bruce Lee in it and this has almost nothing to do with the show. Seth Rogen is funny as always and newcomer Jay Chou is badass as Kato! So, the performances are great, but so are the visuals and action! The story is not good or bad, but a lukewarm one. Overall, check this one out and it is available now on DVD and Blu-Ray! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
LevelsAndGearJul 7, 2011
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Considering the cast, and the potential - There was very little actual humor (a couple chuckles) and the action sequences were uninteresting. They could have done much more with this, and obviouslyOne of the worst movies I've ever seen. Considering the cast, and the potential - There was very little actual humor (a couple chuckles) and the action sequences were uninteresting. They could have done much more with this, and obviously wanted to set up a franchise, but after watching this mind numbing snoozefest, I would have no interest in seeing a sequel. The acting felt completely forced, especially from Cameron Diaz and Seth Rogan. Run and hide from the Green Hornet... movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
kgbelliveau91Jul 4, 2011
After the sudden death of newspaper editor and owner James Reid, his only son Britt is thrown into the cooperate world without any clue of how to run a business. When Britt meets Kato, a disgruntled and mysterious employee of his father theyAfter the sudden death of newspaper editor and owner James Reid, his only son Britt is thrown into the cooperate world without any clue of how to run a business. When Britt meets Kato, a disgruntled and mysterious employee of his father they form an odd friendship which results in Britt becoming a masked vigilante in the city of L.A known simply as the Green Hornet. With Britt now running around the city causing havoc for gangs and drug dealers, he draws the attention of the ruthless Chudnofsky, a meth dealer. The Green Hornet is a film written by comedian Seth Rogen, and right off the bat that is the biggest downfall the film has. Rogen is very talented comedian, but this film should have never been a comedy. This film could have easily been better had it taken itself seriously at times. Rogen could have thrown in some very good themes had it been a drama. There were some serious scenes, but most of them either awkward because they did not fit with the overall mood or they eventually turned into a joke. Had Rogen taken the time to sit down not as a comedian but as a writer, he may have been able to produce a good script, because the final product which he produced seemed like it was written by a 10 year old.

Now with that being said Rogen does not even do a good job of acting out his own written material. We have seen this type of performances from Rogen many times, but this time it was just too tedious and overwhelming. The material which he performed for his character was terrible to begin with, so no matter how Rogen tried to present it for acting purposes it would have been dull and boring. Which brings up the rest of the actors, Jay Chou was expressionless as Kato and Cameron Diaz did not fit the role of Lenore, she was too upbeat and cheery the entire time for me to buy into it. There was one lone bright spot for the acting and pretty much the entire film and that was Christoph Waltz as Chudnofsky. He played the villain the way he should have been played, cold and ruthless. Waltz was brilliant; his character was insane right from the badass opening scene (featuring a very clever and downright awesome cameo from James Franco) up until the final battle scene between The Green Hornet and himself. The Green Hornet is far from an enjoyable flick, it was boring and drawn out. Rogen was certainly not the person who should have been in control of this adaptation. It should have been handled by someone who was willing to add more seriousness and take out many of the unnecessary stupid lines. For the first time really in his career thus far it seems Rogens usual over the top delivery and his crude humour did not serve him well. People have caught on to this being a regular muse for Rogen, and would like to see him try and take things seriously for once. It was obvious that Rogen was trying to bring a new spin to the superhero genre, which features many dramatic adaptations of famous heroes, but it sticking with the drama proves to be a more efficient and audience friendly way of making a superhero/vigilante flick. As far as films from 2011 go or even to clarify that even further, as far as superhero films from 2011 go there will be much better. In fact Green Hornet may be at the bottom of the all time list of Superhero films to grace the big screen. This is certainly far from one of the best films of 2011. Even if you are a huge fan of Rogen this film simply does not work. Watch it for a few laughs maybe and too see a badass Christoph Waltz, but other than that, do not expect to be wowed by this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviemonsterJul 3, 2011
There is a lot of ways to describe this film, there really are. But, what is so great about this film is that it is so good, it's indescribable. So . . . See it. End of story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Chrislake94Jul 1, 2011
Personally I don't see how anyone "liked or loved" this Movie. The Plot seemed too rushed. The Character development was terrible mainly at the start where Britt and Kato " Lets start to be superheroes." This is when they are drunk, PeoplePersonally I don't see how anyone "liked or loved" this Movie. The Plot seemed too rushed. The Character development was terrible mainly at the start where Britt and Kato " Lets start to be superheroes." This is when they are drunk, People say a lot of things when they are drunk and forget about it the day after. I know this is a comedy but honestly the Jokes fell flat. Seth Rogen Character was not funny and Cameron Diaz seemed useless in this film, she should of served a more predominant role in the whole film. The Plot failed because it was like it was missing a lot of scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jdrandall38Jun 23, 2011
From what the critics said of this movie, i wasn't expecting much from Green Hornet. But surprisingly, there were some funny moments in the movie. Its a different type of comedy than we are all used to. Either you like it or you don't.From what the critics said of this movie, i wasn't expecting much from Green Hornet. But surprisingly, there were some funny moments in the movie. Its a different type of comedy than we are all used to. Either you like it or you don't. Obviously the Critics hate this comedy. Don't let the Critics sway you from watching it, they almost did for me. Green Hornet is CERTAINLY WORTH WATCHING! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Alexander_NJun 17, 2011
This film was reasonably entertaining as it offered a fairly good cast portraying some very colourful characters. Judging from previous reviews, I was expecting close to an awful film but was proven otherwise. Although not anything special,This film was reasonably entertaining as it offered a fairly good cast portraying some very colourful characters. Judging from previous reviews, I was expecting close to an awful film but was proven otherwise. Although not anything special, it is overall a stylish and humorous action flick, which is worth seeing if you are particularly a Seth Rogen fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
randomdudeJun 7, 2011
I feel bad rating this, as I couldn't watch more than 45 minutes... even those where painful. This flik blew clunks so hard I nearly had an azz-aneurysm.

Truly awful production, Seth should cry in a corner and the bad-ass Asian dude is just
I feel bad rating this, as I couldn't watch more than 45 minutes... even those where painful. This flik blew clunks so hard I nearly had an azz-aneurysm.

Truly awful production, Seth should cry in a corner and the bad-ass Asian dude is just plain lost here...

Nothing to see, nothing good at least.... spend your $ somewhere else, this movie sucks.

Oh yeah, it's 3d, wow... a crappy flik in 3d, is sooo much better than a crappy flik in 2d. OH WAIT, a crappy flik is a crappy flik--WHO KNEW?!?!

Sad really, as they had such prod quality--no idea what morons create this steaming pile of.... refuse, but they should be drummed out of the business. No doubt, they will get a mettle and be promoted. it's the dumb-ass-american-way, isn't it?
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMay 30, 2011
A surprisingly hilarious movie, I found myself laughing throughout the entire thing, it's definitely not your typical super hero movie, while it's not perfect it's still highly enjoyable for fans of super hero movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ScottyLovinsMay 22, 2011
This movie could have been and should have been so much better. It's like they just didn't think things through enough. I was very disappointed. Maybe they will do better next time!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JohnnyTwoCentsMay 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stupendously moronic and infantile. Kato action scenes and the Walz character were the only single good thing about this movie and the little rant Franco does at the beginning other wise the movie stoops as low as only a Seth Rogen script can go. Like watching 2 kids in a schoolyard donnybrook. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
boxenford92May 14, 2011
Terrific entertainment at the movies. Soooo much fun with this film. I was worried about Seth Rogen playing a superhero but he actually did a pretty good job. Im really looking forward to a sequel
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
hugoboyMay 12, 2011
this movie is an absolute rubbish and i must commend all critics that scored it low. This movie is just like going on a fishing trip but forgot 'ur fishing hook and ended up fishing without a hook. Now isn't that silly? Well that's just howthis movie is an absolute rubbish and i must commend all critics that scored it low. This movie is just like going on a fishing trip but forgot 'ur fishing hook and ended up fishing without a hook. Now isn't that silly? Well that's just how stupid this movie is,with a useless storyline,and action scenes that focus on destruction of public properties rather than actual combat, big thumbs down must be given to all concern in producing this lifeless movie including seth rogen Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
jrmintMay 8, 2011
I love Seth Rogan, so you should definitely watch this is you do as well. He delivers in his charming and witty banter, as the other characters were alright.
I know nothing about the original Green Hornet comics so I can't really judge on
I love Seth Rogan, so you should definitely watch this is you do as well. He delivers in his charming and witty banter, as the other characters were alright.
I know nothing about the original Green Hornet comics so I can't really judge on whether it stayed true to that, however, I don't know if I would watch a second or third installment. It was mediocre entertainment, and found that half way through I was on the fence about whether or not I needed to finish in order to be satisfied.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Libra85May 3, 2011
Action comedies are a dime a dozen and the great ones find a solid balance while the poorer ones don't shine on either side. I found the comedy of this movie was hilarious. A few scenes left me guffawing minutes after they were done. TheAction comedies are a dime a dozen and the great ones find a solid balance while the poorer ones don't shine on either side. I found the comedy of this movie was hilarious. A few scenes left me guffawing minutes after they were done. The action on the other hand was good but forgettable. It didn't bring anything new or exciting but still held my attention.This is a good entertaining movie that won't suck two hours out your life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bbjshawMay 3, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. If you are a fan of either action, comedy, or both, you will definitely have a blast watching this thrill ride. It is highly recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
back2schoolbooMay 1, 2011
There is no reason for the negative reviews for this movie. People don't understand what this movie has tried to do. When you watch, you need to realize that it is intentionally corny and quirky. The negative reviewers don't get the movie'sThere is no reason for the negative reviews for this movie. People don't understand what this movie has tried to do. When you watch, you need to realize that it is intentionally corny and quirky. The negative reviewers don't get the movie's sense of humor. It's one of the most well made action comedies of all time. It provides thorough enjoyment from start to finish. Fans of comedies will enjoy, as well as fans of action films. It's definitely worth your time, and you'll want to see repeat viewings. I highly congratulate what the film makers of this movie have done. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
ComasiApr 30, 2011
I saw this movie after I saw the trailer and I liked it. It's not very funny like Seth Rogen's last movies (Pineapple Express) but it's still enjoyable. It had good action and Kato made the movie better. I just think they should of changedI saw this movie after I saw the trailer and I liked it. It's not very funny like Seth Rogen's last movies (Pineapple Express) but it's still enjoyable. It had good action and Kato made the movie better. I just think they should of changed Britt Reid's character. Seth Rogen could've proved people wrong and be a bad-ass but no, he had to make Britt an idiot and an **** I understand he was inexperienced but it could've worked out like Tony Stark in Iron Man. Not original but it's good storytelling. The end at The Daily Sentinel was enjoyable with Britt FINALLY kicking-ass. The very end could of been better. Anyways I still think the movie was enjoyable to watch. It's not the best movie but it had good action, Kato was awesome and it was entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
d4rksh1n3sApr 30, 2011
Really stupid and really fun. It's also among the cooler-looking movies so far this year. You have to have a sense of humor that includes dumb jokes, which might be why the critics didn't like it, but if you fall in that category, see it. AndReally stupid and really fun. It's also among the cooler-looking movies so far this year. You have to have a sense of humor that includes dumb jokes, which might be why the critics didn't like it, but if you fall in that category, see it. And if you like special effects, definitely see it, but in 2D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
edawebdesignApr 16, 2011
Thanks SR for completely ruining any chance of me enjoying this movie. The dialogue was childish, terrible, and grating on the ears. Very few movies make me want to leave, but this one did so on multiple occasions. Only cool parts of thisThanks SR for completely ruining any chance of me enjoying this movie. The dialogue was childish, terrible, and grating on the ears. Very few movies make me want to leave, but this one did so on multiple occasions. Only cool parts of this movie were the CG fight scenes, when I did not have to listen so SR's winy voice. Do yourself a favor and just watch the CG parts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
mau1133Apr 11, 2011
ok, i liked it , the movie was great and funny, i had a good time and i laughed a lot , way funnier than i thought., it was well worth it. the 3d part was , well not nessesary, and i didnt see that much help with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spicedApr 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a common complaint with it is that the main character, Britt Reid, is unrelateble,
a rather ridiculous complaint because, well, he's not meant to be.
just because someone is a main character does not mean they have to be like able.
(that idea being especially strong in comedy, Iron Man had similar themes, and it was not a notable complaint) in fact one of the major themes in the film is growing up and coming of age.
for instance,
in the beginning he is juvenile and misogynistic. a child.
later he is rebellious and angry, hating his raising and his father. a teenager by the end he is confident, he no longer despises his his father, even if he doesn't agree with him on every aspect of his upbringing, he is aware that his father was not purely evil, and actually wished to help. an adult.
really I am baffled by the critics apparent vehement dislike of the film
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
acescarterApr 5, 2011
Absolutely dreadful watch. Honestly, this doesn't even deserve the current score of 39 and I really want those minutes of my life back. This makes a mockery of the original character, the casting doesn't fit one bit and they really shouldn'tAbsolutely dreadful watch. Honestly, this doesn't even deserve the current score of 39 and I really want those minutes of my life back. This makes a mockery of the original character, the casting doesn't fit one bit and they really shouldn't have bothered making this a comedy -- the jokes were a bore. Quite the disappointment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
jalmeida5777Apr 1, 2011
Don't kid yourself -- while Seth Rogen's acting is similar in style to his previous work (e.g. "Zack and Miri ..." and "Get Him to the Greek") and the interplay between Britt and Kato is fun -- the real stars of this film are the cars andDon't kid yourself -- while Seth Rogen's acting is similar in style to his previous work (e.g. "Zack and Miri ..." and "Get Him to the Greek") and the interplay between Britt and Kato is fun -- the real stars of this film are the cars and gadgets... but they definitely shined! One of the best pure-action comedic romps in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
helpsosMar 27, 2011
boring.
i hate the stupid fat spoilt brat.
his acting was so fake and his character is just despicable, just pisses me off to see him.
i dont see whats so good about this movie
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Mar 22, 2011
On 22 January 2011, We went to pick up my Aunt in Springfield in order to take her to the movies. She went with the others to see "The King's Speech" while my brother and I went to see this(in case you understand, we haven't read the comicOn 22 January 2011, We went to pick up my Aunt in Springfield in order to take her to the movies. She went with the others to see "The King's Speech" while my brother and I went to see this(in case you understand, we haven't read the comic books that had The Green Hornet) to make sure whether its good or not. it turned out good. so, what's my opinion? um, how about this: The storyline lasted a little bit longer for a 119 minute film, but for an Action/Comedy movie, everything else is good. Seth Rogen and the rest of the cast are great, The Comedy is hilarious, The action scenes are very cool, and the visuals are very astounding.

Sorry Critics, but looks like I'm going against you. This movie is visually entertaining especially for kids and adults.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
GrygusMar 19, 2011
Great special effects cannot carry a movie. The main character is completely unlikeable and I was utterly unable to relate to his self-indulgent attempts at comedy. Kato is a much better character; while still unrelatable he's at leastGreat special effects cannot carry a movie. The main character is completely unlikeable and I was utterly unable to relate to his self-indulgent attempts at comedy. Kato is a much better character; while still unrelatable he's at least someone who seems trustworthy; I wouldn't want this Green Hornet protecting my iPhone, let alone an entire city. The movie isn't without entertainment value but it could have been truly good if the Green Hornet was even a little more interested in crime-fighting than self-indulgence. It's perhaps worth a rental if you just want to eat some popcorn and watch stuff blow up, but if you plan to have your brain engaged, choose something else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KendylKlownfishMar 5, 2011
The Green Hornet has attractively glossy action sequences, but the film's use of comic relief does no favors for the superhero-comedy genre or Rogen's widely noticeable typecasting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
KipnoskyMar 3, 2011
The main character was plain irritating throughout. What little action there was has been done countless times already. Just couldn't wait for the movie to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
OnearFeb 28, 2011
Based on a comic book series and television show, this film tries to bring a more lighthearted approach to the superhero boom the film industry had experienced in recent years. Since I wasn't around when the Magna Carta was signed, I have noBased on a comic book series and television show, this film tries to bring a more lighthearted approach to the superhero boom the film industry had experienced in recent years. Since I wasn't around when the Magna Carta was signed, I have no previous experience with this franchise before this film. The producers try to aggregate the world of the original with a contemporary feel, and the result is a horrendous piece of work. To keep a comedic tone, they cast Seth Rogen as the Green Hornet, whose ability to play the hero is comparable to achievement of the rest of the movie. Never at any point did it feel comfortable watching him. He brings the crude humor people know him for, which is ill timed and conceived throughout the film. The highlight of the rest of the cast was the cameo of James Franco, whose 2 minutes in the film was the best scene. Very little of the actions of the characters made sense and the flow of the story was extremely choppy. Hence, it just never feels natural. The one positive I can give it was the awesome car the Green Hornet had, "Black Beauty", which more a testament that they had good taste even back in the 40's. If the creator's of the franchise would be appalled by this rendition. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
MrRiggsFeb 26, 2011
I was one that DIDNT have high expectations for this movie, its not that its terrible but its just been done before and guess found it entertaining, it had a decent amount of action, cool gadgets, cool cars and chase scene, explosions n such.I was one that DIDNT have high expectations for this movie, its not that its terrible but its just been done before and guess found it entertaining, it had a decent amount of action, cool gadgets, cool cars and chase scene, explosions n such. Worth a watch but another movie thats easily forgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JonnyFendiFeb 22, 2011
Do you know the instrumental song FLIGHT OF THE BUMBLEBEE played by the pianist Maksim Mrvica a couple years ago? The song quietly appeared in some movies, from KILL BILL: VOL. 1 (2003) to THE KARATE KID (2010), but the most recognized whenDo you know the instrumental song FLIGHT OF THE BUMBLEBEE played by the pianist Maksim Mrvica a couple years ago? The song quietly appeared in some movies, from KILL BILL: VOL. 1 (2003) to THE KARATE KID (2010), but the most recognized when it was used by THE GREEN HORNET for its title theme since the first time the series was aired in 1930s as Radio Program. The movie directed by former Video Music Director, Michel Gondry, his most recognized work is ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND (2004), but I do not know why he turned into Comedy Director since BE KIND REWIND (2008) which is funny but standard. But the real person who is really in charged in thiz newest remake is the comedian Seth Rogen. In his vision, he tries to present a good action and hilarious moment all at once. The Green Hornet is Britt Reid, the newspaper tycoon. He was accompanied by his loyal sidekick Kato (Jay Chou). The Green Hornet is declared as an outlaw, in order to gain the trust and access to the underground criminal activities, by means of their true motive which is fighting crimes. You can see during the entire film, Britt Reid did nothing special for his fighting crime efforts. All things did by Kato himself, from Kungfu expert, gadget creator, driver and even a coffee maker for Reid. The good thing is we still can find ourself laughing by seeing their chemistry. For me, Kato figure is the savior of thiz movie, Jay Chou is definitely a scene stealer. On the other hand, I still could not figure out, why the top star like Cameron Diaz is involved in thiz film? She is truly unnecessary. The fun part for me is by seeing Christoph Waltz repeats his role (after INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS (2009)) as a cruel but funny bad guy at the same time as Chudnofsky who is prefer to be called Blood-nofsky later. There are two things that you might not notice in thiz movie. In the opening scene, Chudnofsky meets one **** mobster played by James Franco (once again, most of you certainly do not think he was James Franco, was not it?, after his famous roles in SPIDER-MAN (2002) and 127 HOURS (2010)). But what makes it most enjoyable is the cleverly funny dialogue delivered by both of them. And the second interes-thing is: do you realize there was Edward Furlong in thiz movie? (he was young John Connor in TERMINATOR 2: JUDGEMENT DAY (1991)) in thiz movie? Furlong is one of Chudnofsky crews who called Tupper. If you are expecting thiz movie to be a mature Superheroes movie like THE DARK KNIGHT (2008) or even IRON MAN (2008), you will be disappointed. There are too much cheesy scenes and you know there are also too much unreal situations, like when Bloodnofsky wants The Green Hornet to be killed, instead searching all over the town for reasonable Green Hornet figures, they end up killing all men that wear green outfit, is that ridiculous? The only way to enjoy thiz movie is do not expect it as Action movies, but expect it as a Comedy, then you will have a fun ride. And one more thing, no matter how bad and childish thiz movie has been, but when it comes to Great Car like Black Beauty and other cool gadgets, any one could be blurred with the real quality of the film. All boys will love it! Let me summarize it for you, it was a cartoonic pleasure. Lets roll, Kato!

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
g3rt1Feb 18, 2011
Well is not an extraordinary film, but i can say that is funny and watchable. I have some laughs with this comedy.... ok as i said is not excellent..... but is one of those films you can watch in afternoon and have a lot of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RoiSerranoFeb 14, 2011
With all of the production and the feedback that the movie is good, it made a disappointment. Movie was entertaining but mostly dull. Completely pointless.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
cdk222Feb 14, 2011
Very funny movie. Wasn't quite as good as I was expecting seeing as the last movie those two wrote was superbad but what can you do. I feel bad for the critics having to sit through all of these movies that they hate seeing as they seem toVery funny movie. Wasn't quite as good as I was expecting seeing as the last movie those two wrote was superbad but what can you do. I feel bad for the critics having to sit through all of these movies that they hate seeing as they seem to hate most of them. If they just went in looking for a good time I feel like they'd enjoy themselves more Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Feb 14, 2011
"Based of the TV series .... The Green Hornet turns out to be a funny , wacky , over the top .. slapstick wild thrill ride. With Seth Rogen leading the way as the iconic mass crusader. It slips at times but makes up for it and is sure to"Based of the TV series .... The Green Hornet turns out to be a funny , wacky , over the top .. slapstick wild thrill ride. With Seth Rogen leading the way as the iconic mass crusader. It slips at times but makes up for it and is sure to satisfy moviegoers" .. B Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RebunFeb 14, 2011
Brit, The main character is the reason for the low review. He is a bumbling fool, annoying as hell, an arrogant and unlikable character not in-character but to the audience himself. He's the kind of moron that turns up to a party thinking heBrit, The main character is the reason for the low review. He is a bumbling fool, annoying as hell, an arrogant and unlikable character not in-character but to the audience himself. He's the kind of moron that turns up to a party thinking he owns the place, puts other people down, throws insults at people and everyone wishes that he'd just go the **** away. I know that his character was designed to be like this and there have been characters such as this before (which were done so much better) but the performance in this film was utterly vulgar. The dialogue between Brit and Kato before there fight was obscene and pathetic - never so much in my life have i ever wanted the main character in a movie beat to a pulp. And yet he still won that fight. Brit was semi-likeable to start, but as the film progressed he became an eyesore. There were some redeeming qualities and characters in the film though. Kato's performance was pretty good - and Chebowski the villian was superb. I really had to stop and think why cameron diaz was in it though - her character, save one scene, was completely pointless and a waste of time. I dont know much about the previous green hornet radioshows/movies, but from what ive read it sounds like the performance he got in this film was very insultive to the series and to the Green hornet himself. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
2
scubasteveFeb 13, 2011
Awful movie!! Seth Rogen is so arrogant and a complete dusche. I am never going to watch another Seth Rogen again! Very few funny scenes and a complete waste of time and money.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
dumbuldoreFeb 11, 2011
The Green Hornet really disappointed me. I thought it was going to be like the radio show I listened to when I was a kid. They got the name but then they just played with it. This movie is not worth your time or money.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
GarethCriticFeb 10, 2011
I liked this movie, despite the fact it hasn't been very well received by the critics of the world. There mightn't be much to it, it's basically about two hours of violence and driving a car but it's good entertainment. Anyone that goes to aI liked this movie, despite the fact it hasn't been very well received by the critics of the world. There mightn't be much to it, it's basically about two hours of violence and driving a car but it's good entertainment. Anyone that goes to a movie like thi and expects it to have an amazing storyline are complete idiots, it's a superhero movie where no one actually has a super power. What did you expect? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrSteerFeb 6, 2011
Having read all the mixed reviews about this I thought I'd give it a shot.
The plot line is inoffensive and has some comedy elements in it that were pretty funny, but I found the pace to be a little off, spending too much time on trivial
Having read all the mixed reviews about this I thought I'd give it a shot.
The plot line is inoffensive and has some comedy elements in it that were pretty funny, but I found the pace to be a little off, spending too much time on trivial things which made them feel laboured yet rushing through some of the better sections, it's also a little self indulgent, as though he'd adapted the character to allow him to play deadpan the way he likes to, his relationship to Kato is subtly funny in places.
Essentially, it's just alright.

Cinema: Nah
DVD Rental: Yeah why not
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KnowTheTruthFeb 6, 2011
I went into this movie with low expectations, with my local newspaper giving it a D+ rating. Those were surpassed by the end of the film. While The Green Hornet doesn't have any particular genre for it to fit into (and doesn't master any ofI went into this movie with low expectations, with my local newspaper giving it a D+ rating. Those were surpassed by the end of the film. While The Green Hornet doesn't have any particular genre for it to fit into (and doesn't master any of the ones advertised very well), it must be understood that this is not the world's worst movie, and I am once again astounded at how the critics praise Cameron's Sanctum but can't seem to like any other kind of movie. The 3D was interesting, but didn't add a whole lot to the movie, and could have been used to more potential. The small amount of extra perspective it did add to the action sequences, however, were made a little more exciting. The comedy was great in some parts, but obviously the critics can't take a joke. If you want a good movie to see with a buddy on a rainy day, here it is. This won't win any Oscars, but please, it is not as bad as the critics make it out to be. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
scrieciuFeb 5, 2011
Really impressive movie, especially for January. I don't understand all the negative comments about the movie, because I really enjoyed it. It's a super hero comedy movie with a good script. How boring it would be if the characters say '' YouReally impressive movie, especially for January. I don't understand all the negative comments about the movie, because I really enjoyed it. It's a super hero comedy movie with a good script. How boring it would be if the characters say '' You must defeat the bad guys and bring them to justice " ? Instead, Seth Rogen wrote a modern script, witch is awesome. There was some bad-ass action, well most of them were from Kato. Anyway, I loved it and you mite be as surprised as me when you will see it. Don't judge the movie from the trailer, you must see '' The Green Hornet '' for yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JonnyTheGreatJan 31, 2011
this movie is largely underrated. I suspect that some critics rated it poorly because they are racist towards Asians--- whenever they see an Asian starring the hero (lead role) they diss on it. They want to preserve the geeky asexualthis movie is largely underrated. I suspect that some critics rated it poorly because they are racist towards Asians--- whenever they see an Asian starring the hero (lead role) they diss on it. They want to preserve the geeky asexual stereotypes of Asian actors in Hollywood. The fact is that this is a Jay Chou movie, not Seth Rogen's.The fact is that the dialogues are funny(way better than Pineapple Express) and the actions are fun to watch. Movies are supposed to be entertaining and I sure was entertained by The Green Hornet. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
hollowayJan 31, 2011
Too dull to be an action film, and too lacking in humour to be a comedy, The Green Hornet's surprisingly high body-count and moral bankruptcy mean this isn't even one for the kids. It gets one mark for its one laugh, and another for the JamesToo dull to be an action film, and too lacking in humour to be a comedy, The Green Hornet's surprisingly high body-count and moral bankruptcy mean this isn't even one for the kids. It gets one mark for its one laugh, and another for the James Franco cameo. A waste of an adaptation. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
MrFugiReviewsJan 26, 2011
"The Green Hornet" is a remake or adaptation of the 1966 TV Series and it is much different. Britt Reid (Seth Rogan), following the death of his father, teams up with his father's assistant, Kato (Jay Chou) to become crime fighters. The film"The Green Hornet" is a remake or adaptation of the 1966 TV Series and it is much different. Britt Reid (Seth Rogan), following the death of his father, teams up with his father's assistant, Kato (Jay Chou) to become crime fighters. The film also features Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds) and Cameron Diaz (Shrek, Waht Happens in Vegas). The film is pretty much pointless but very entertaining, I'll admit. It sort of reminded me of "Kick-Ass", where kids decided to become superheroes. Only this one got a PG-13 rating and it might've bin better if it were R like "Kick-Ass" , which I liked, making it a more entertaining film. Overall, this film is not very good. [PG-13] 5/10 Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
sChandiJan 25, 2011
The only annoying part of the movie was wearing the bulky 3D glasses, I think the movie would have been just as entertaining and funny without the 3D. Critics do not know what they are talking about. A movie is supposed to follow the "Hero'sThe only annoying part of the movie was wearing the bulky 3D glasses, I think the movie would have been just as entertaining and funny without the 3D. Critics do not know what they are talking about. A movie is supposed to follow the "Hero's Journey" and this my friends follows the classic example of a Hero's Journey. All the way from the Call to adventure to the return, it takes a funny take with amazing acting, Seth Rogen and Jay Chou. Cameron Diaz could have done a better job. But in conclusion the movie was great, I enjoyed myself Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
AaronMJan 24, 2011
Is this an action movie? A buddy comedy? A movie focused on character development and motivations and identity? Overall, there's a little bit of each of the above but not enough of each to make the movie redeeming or engaging. I was bored byIs this an action movie? A buddy comedy? A movie focused on character development and motivations and identity? Overall, there's a little bit of each of the above but not enough of each to make the movie redeeming or engaging. I was bored by the third act. And as with most 3D movies these days, the 3D adds nothing. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
sumsarJan 24, 2011
A good enjoyable movie with good humour, good action and most importantly a good story. I think the reason critics gave it low reviews was because they went in hoping to see a film made to the same style as the likes of iron man, the greenA good enjoyable movie with good humour, good action and most importantly a good story. I think the reason critics gave it low reviews was because they went in hoping to see a film made to the same style as the likes of iron man, the green hornet had it's own style that fitted the film perfectly. The only reason I didn't give this a 10 was because I felt the 3d didn't do anything for the movie. I'd definitely ignore the critics with this one and recommend it to everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KurukJan 24, 2011
Although visually appealing the green hornet fails to deliver even with its star actors, is quarky humor and just lack of an exciting plot won't make you go to the movies to see it but just pick it up at a local redbox. A 5 out 10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
soregashiJan 24, 2011
I was expecting The Green Hornet to be funny, fast and interesting as Kick Ass for example, but it wasn't. The first thing that made me want to fall asleep was the characters. The main character is total looser and doesn't have most of theI was expecting The Green Hornet to be funny, fast and interesting as Kick Ass for example, but it wasn't. The first thing that made me want to fall asleep was the characters. The main character is total looser and doesn't have most of the characteristics of a main character. He relied on his sidekick for everything, and the sidekick wasn't a main character, because the movie is named after the dull person. Not to mention the worst role of Cameron Diaz.
The action scenes are clichéd and there is too much pointless blabbering between them. The jokes are as some 12 year old wrote them.
Only the effects deserve some positive attention, but it's IMAX, so this is expected.
I'm pretty disappointed, may be because I had really high expectations for movies of this kind after Kick Ass.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DannyboyJan 23, 2011
I think we are starting to get annoyed with Seth Rogen, he was funny in on, maybe two movies. I feel this **** film is his last get out of jail free card.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
gigicalJan 23, 2011
Once again the critics are way wrong. I just don't get it. The movie had loads of action, a decent story line and lots of humor. What more do you want. Does it deserve an oscar, hell no, but was it fun to watch.. hell yeah! The only criticismOnce again the critics are way wrong. I just don't get it. The movie had loads of action, a decent story line and lots of humor. What more do you want. Does it deserve an oscar, hell no, but was it fun to watch.. hell yeah! The only criticism would be about Christoph Waltz as the main villain didn't seem that invested in his character and therefore not very believable, but other than that me and my wife walked out of the theater wondering if the critics saw a entirely different movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MegaGamer37Jan 23, 2011
One of the best movies I've seen in a long time, with great acting and overall presentation. The movie is funny, well written, and well acted. The action scenes are very well made and funny, with humor being put into them well. I wouldOne of the best movies I've seen in a long time, with great acting and overall presentation. The movie is funny, well written, and well acted. The action scenes are very well made and funny, with humor being put into them well. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see a clever and funny movie. I'm getting this on DVD. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ESS180Jan 23, 2011
I thought the green hornet was actually pretty good. The acting is good and the action sequences were awesome!

I brought a friend of mine with me and he thought the same way he thought the movie was good. The 3-D was post converted,
I thought the green hornet was actually pretty good. The acting is good and the action sequences were awesome!

I brought a friend of mine with me and he thought the same way he thought the movie was good.

The 3-D was post converted, after the movie i was like it did not need to be in 3-D.
I thought the green hornet was pretty good
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews