User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 282

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    A movie based on stephen Kings book the green mile does not disappoint! It makes you feel lots of different emotions at different times in the movie. Like most of stephen Kings books it is well thought out. The acting produced by Tom hanks is just amazing, this is probably one of his best films! It is exciting, and gives the watcher an insight on what really happens when someone used toA movie based on stephen Kings book the green mile does not disappoint! It makes you feel lots of different emotions at different times in the movie. Like most of stephen Kings books it is well thought out. The acting produced by Tom hanks is just amazing, this is probably one of his best films! It is exciting, and gives the watcher an insight on what really happens when someone used to get the chair. At times this movie will probably make you cry. This is a good 3 hours so you've really got to dedicate some time to watching it. Overall this is probably one of my favourite movies of all time, and you should definately watch it before you die! Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2014
    7
    The movie was great but cringe worthy for me, but had its moments. From a scary terrifying scene to a emotional scene. This is a good movie, though has some things not explained and it had me thinking and feeling. Is this world that bad? Is it worth to be in it knowing people like this exist and you can be wrongfully accused to where you can get a death penalty? The movie is a good one andThe movie was great but cringe worthy for me, but had its moments. From a scary terrifying scene to a emotional scene. This is a good movie, though has some things not explained and it had me thinking and feeling. Is this world that bad? Is it worth to be in it knowing people like this exist and you can be wrongfully accused to where you can get a death penalty? The movie is a good one and man you'll feel weird once its over. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    It hard to take your eyes off the screen while watching the Green Mile. Tom Hanks is at the peak of his career and its on display in this movie. The Green Mile will get you emotionally engaged like very few other movies will. Its hard not to cry while watching it. The late Michael Clarke Duncan is at his best in this movie. Sadly that he never got another chance to shine like he did inIt hard to take your eyes off the screen while watching the Green Mile. Tom Hanks is at the peak of his career and its on display in this movie. The Green Mile will get you emotionally engaged like very few other movies will. Its hard not to cry while watching it. The late Michael Clarke Duncan is at his best in this movie. Sadly that he never got another chance to shine like he did in this film. This one is a flat out classic. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    The Green Mile was a great movie. It didn't make my top ten (no more than ten do, so it was a hard decision), but it absolutely made my top twenty. Frank Darabont. You wouldn't think he could do a follow-up adaptation of Stephen King's media, after The Shawshank Redemption, of all things. But no, The Green Mile is just as good and better than The Shining and Stand by Me.
  5. Aug 21, 2014
    9
    This one is truly great. It may be a tad over three hours, but it feels significantly shorter. Plus, the added time allows us to spend more time with the characters, which is something I will never argue as a negative for this one. Tom Hanks, David Morse, Michael Clarke Duncan, Doug Hutchison, Barry Pepper, Sam Rockwell, Michael Jeter, and James Cromwell, make up one hell of an ensembleThis one is truly great. It may be a tad over three hours, but it feels significantly shorter. Plus, the added time allows us to spend more time with the characters, which is something I will never argue as a negative for this one. Tom Hanks, David Morse, Michael Clarke Duncan, Doug Hutchison, Barry Pepper, Sam Rockwell, Michael Jeter, and James Cromwell, make up one hell of an ensemble cast for this one and all truly knock their roles out of the park. I am typically not a huge fan of prison dramas, but the heart and compassion you feel for everyone involved in amazing and truly draws you in. The more fantastical elements are also very interesting and set against the backdrop of a very realistic situation are all the more odd, but I think they are handled very well. As a whole, this one is very intriguing, touching, and unique, which elevate it above many prison dramas. Add in the great acting and you truly have something special with The Green Mile. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    An amazing movie by Stephen King! I highly recommend it to almost everyone (don't watch it if you're getting bored too easy, because this movie is 3 hours long). 8.5/10 but i'll give a 9/10 because of the ending!
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    Seriously? Metascore of this movie is 61!!!What a disaster. Then what are these so called critics expect from a movie.It's interesting,thrilling,emotional ,well directed movie with an amazing story and screen play .
    Actors are really mind blowing.Story and screen play as what i expected from the great 'King'.The Drabaont-king gang have presented us one another gem not lesser than that of
    Seriously? Metascore of this movie is 61!!!What a disaster. Then what are these so called critics expect from a movie.It's interesting,thrilling,emotional ,well directed movie with an amazing story and screen play .
    Actors are really mind blowing.Story and screen play as what i expected from the great 'King'.The Drabaont-king gang have presented us one another gem not lesser than that of 'The Shawshank Redemption'
    got more than i wanted.
    the critics who gave thus a movie a low rating ,at the same time garnishes the 'waste of time movies' like syriana,up in the air,michael clayton with scores more than 75 .Fools.
    Expand
  8. May 18, 2014
    10
    Despite the film being 3 hours long, it's definitely worth watching. It's really interesting, and I recommend not looking into this film at all as its better that way. The soundtrack for this is brilliant as it's by Thomas Newman which got me to watch this film in the first place. The film is like an adventure, its sad, it's very dark, its a mix of a bunch of things which is what makes itDespite the film being 3 hours long, it's definitely worth watching. It's really interesting, and I recommend not looking into this film at all as its better that way. The soundtrack for this is brilliant as it's by Thomas Newman which got me to watch this film in the first place. The film is like an adventure, its sad, it's very dark, its a mix of a bunch of things which is what makes it great as well. Not to mention that all of the actors for this film were perfect for their roles as well. Expand
  9. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    Finally had a chance to see this, and as much as I enjoyed it and it deserves most of the praise it gets; I couldn't help but feel a little bit underwhelmed. Maybe the expectations were a bit high. It dragged a bit for me at the start, and going into this completely blind, the fantasy twist to this film caught me off guard a little. Make no mistake though, the acting is superb, the musicFinally had a chance to see this, and as much as I enjoyed it and it deserves most of the praise it gets; I couldn't help but feel a little bit underwhelmed. Maybe the expectations were a bit high. It dragged a bit for me at the start, and going into this completely blind, the fantasy twist to this film caught me off guard a little. Make no mistake though, the acting is superb, the music choices are pretty great and overall, it is still a very, very good film. Expand
  10. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    The Green Mile is a milestone for Darabont. Of course the high-brow critics will think this an overly long snore-fest, but the real movie watchers will realize its accurate portrayal of the passage of time and what it feels like for a death row inmate. Described as his favorite movie he's made, it combines the magic of a Disney film with more adult themes and a soaring story that moves youThe Green Mile is a milestone for Darabont. Of course the high-brow critics will think this an overly long snore-fest, but the real movie watchers will realize its accurate portrayal of the passage of time and what it feels like for a death row inmate. Described as his favorite movie he's made, it combines the magic of a Disney film with more adult themes and a soaring story that moves you and makes you judge your own life. Even the title is a metaphor as this film conveys complex themes about life, set in Louisiana in a death row cell block. Expand
  11. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    This movie will probably give you some emotional touches, although not enough for three hours. In order for it to really make an emotional impact, it should be short and swift.
  12. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This movie….I can't explain it in words but, this is the best sob movie in time. I'm not going to say its "one of the best" or "probably the best" because I know. This movie is the best. Why? When I was young, about the time you can't walk, I somehow opened the tv and saw this. I only saw a scene of it but, it was so, how to say this, close? I think. Whatever, I couldn't get that movie outThis movie….I can't explain it in words but, this is the best sob movie in time. I'm not going to say its "one of the best" or "probably the best" because I know. This movie is the best. Why? When I was young, about the time you can't walk, I somehow opened the tv and saw this. I only saw a scene of it but, it was so, how to say this, close? I think. Whatever, I couldn't get that movie out of my mind then a 9ish years later, I found the name. I saw the whole movie and now, I feel accomplished. A part of the scene in this movie is so moving that I searched and searched when it was possible to search. I came from a poor family once so I didn't have the internet or a phone or a computer, just a tv. So now, since I have a laptop, I want to say this to the world. This movie changed my life. Expand
  13. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and the behavior of the characters never seems realistic to me. The horrible system behind death row is depicted in a mitigate, sweetened way. There's no room for compassion in death penalty as shown in the film, and this film is basically offensive
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and the behavior of the characters never seems realistic to me. The horrible system behind death row is depicted in a mitigate, sweetened way. There's no room for compassion in death penalty as shown in the film, and this film is basically offensive solely for the way the characters are behaving.
    Second: nothing is believable. Clearly is a fantasy drama, but still as the stereotyped characters (bad people are bad without a reason, they are simply mad. Good people are in fact not really good, but seam dumb and ataraxic, resulting in unlovable characters). The main character is basically a scary black giant who cries all the time. Very easy way to provoke reactions in the viewer is to show him something which he's unconsciously scared off while enforcing this unconscious fear with clever direction. Incidentally this unconscious fear is based on a black stupid strong man stereotype overlapped by the boogeyman figure. I'm a caucasian european man and i find this VERY offensive.
    The whole story, in the end, is based on emotional tricks. (the *spoiler* bad death scene is traumatic and unnecessary, at least as it is shown). Giving strong emotions to people based on meaningless story or characters is a cheat.
    This film is bad. I couldn't expect this since the reviews are so high. But i found this film ruffian, manipulative and ultimately ugly.
    Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Incredible adaptation of Stephen Kings book.

    The late Michael Clarke Duncan is perfect in the role of Coffey a mentally challenged black man sentenced to death for the murder of two little girls. Tom Hanks gives a stellar performance as mild-mannered prison guard in charge of death row.

    One of the best Stephen King adaptations yet (alongside The Shawshank Redemption).
  15. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    It's incredible seeing so many low scores from critics for probably one of the three best movies ever. Its intensity and brilliance is something just amazing. There are no movies of this level nowadays. Three hours of emotions
  16. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    This movie is one of the best films on history.It never does not duplicate.To my surprise, the overall score of this masterpiece of a total of 61.I'm really sorry for the the critics of these sites
  17. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    A emotionally powerful, miraculously acted, exceptionally written, and unique drama. The direction is incredible. Darabont gives the film a vivid sense of place. You are completely absorbed when watching the Green Mile. All the actors rise to an incredible level of convincingness, and the prison feels like an actual place. The supernatural scenes also pack a punch, and some otherA emotionally powerful, miraculously acted, exceptionally written, and unique drama. The direction is incredible. Darabont gives the film a vivid sense of place. You are completely absorbed when watching the Green Mile. All the actors rise to an incredible level of convincingness, and the prison feels like an actual place. The supernatural scenes also pack a punch, and some other scenes could make a robot cry. It is pretty long, and not for people with a low tolerance for graphic violence, but it's without a doubt a great movie. Expand
  18. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    It may not be as good as "Shawshank Redemption" but it's still one moving film. Michael Clarke Duncan gives a powerful performance as John Coffey. Along with a great cast and story, it's a powerfully entertaining drama. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  19. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Awesome!!! One of the best pictures ever made. Based on a Stephen King's unputdownable novel!!! Well-acted!!! Brilliant, brilliant and brilliant!!! Watch it!!
  20. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Critics gave this movie red or yellow rank must be clinically insane for sure. This is one of the best movies I ever saw, one of the best melodrama movie. You know, I'm not young man, I dont cry when I get kicked, when I feel pain, but this movie made me cry. Not just a single tear, but I cried like a river. Just watch this, you will never forget The Green Mile.
  21. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Energetic, deep, and sad. I've never burst into tears watching any movies. It makes me upset to see bad mediocre reviews from critics. I loved this movie. It was worth the 3-hour sit through.
  22. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    not as good as i first watching it.. but still its kicking my hearth.. Michael Duncan did great! he's the real Gentle Giant, his acting are very convincing.. RIP Michael.D may God have mercy on your soul..
  23. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    this movie is a masterpiece from the start to finish.
    watching this movie nowadays makes you reminisce to the old movie style.
    the good story the fantastic performances the over top characters the fact that every scene of the movie is valuable in the overall story. i miss how movies used to be with Tom Hanks awesome performance and the fact that the movie is solid yet simple and
    this movie is a masterpiece from the start to finish.
    watching this movie nowadays makes you reminisce to the old movie style.
    the good story the fantastic performances the over top characters the fact that every scene of the movie is valuable in the overall story.
    i miss how movies used to be with Tom Hanks awesome performance and the fact that the movie is solid yet simple and joyful it's basically a 3 hours that send you away to what movies actually should be.
    Expand
  24. May 24, 2013
    9
    As with the fantastic Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile is based on a Stephen King story and directed by Frank Darabont and I can give no higher praise than to say it is just as good.

    The film centres on a stretch of death row known as The Green Mile in which a giant of a man known as John Coffey, accused of murdering two young girls, has been imprisoned. King is widely known for his
    As with the fantastic Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile is based on a Stephen King story and directed by Frank Darabont and I can give no higher praise than to say it is just as good.

    The film centres on a stretch of death row known as The Green Mile in which a giant of a man known as John Coffey, accused of murdering two young girls, has been imprisoned. King is widely known for his horror books but, while there are supernatural elements to this story, as with The Shawshank Redemption this film is all about relationships between people in difficult circumstances.

    The Green Mile may be three hours long but every minute of that is used to develop the characters and story so that by the end we really do care what happens to them. Those that dismiss Kings work as chart filler may be pleasantly surprised by what they find in this movie.
    Expand
  25. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    I don't believe in much, but I do believe that miracles exist. Weather it's all part of the grand design or just abnormalities of nature, I'll never know, none of us will. This theme is explored in the novel and film, The Green Mile. How Stephen King came up with such a poignant and heartfelt tale is beyond me, maybe it was divine intervention, but the story of the Green Mile is a uniqueI don't believe in much, but I do believe that miracles exist. Weather it's all part of the grand design or just abnormalities of nature, I'll never know, none of us will. This theme is explored in the novel and film, The Green Mile. How Stephen King came up with such a poignant and heartfelt tale is beyond me, maybe it was divine intervention, but the story of the Green Mile is a unique and moving film, the likes of which I've never seen before. The story centers around a man who is sent to death row, and once there he is able to doing seemingly impossible things. The performances in this film were Oscar worthy, building on the success of their last collaboration, The Shawshank Redemption, King and Durabont, got the biggest star in Hollywood to star in this film. The combination of a strong sentimental story along with the acting power of Tom Hanks made this film one for the ages. The supporting cast, in particular Michael Clarke Duncan and Sam Rockwell, were tremendous assets to the film and their careers were launched with the help of Hanks's experience and King's amazing words, but this film is far from perfect. As an avid Stephen King fan, I know his attention to detail has often times been his downfall and to be honest, this film is about an hour longer than it needed to be. The story, in particular the ending were so powerful, that a lot of the in between could have been left on the cutting room floor. That aside, this is a long, but fantastic film with some of the best writing and performances you could find. Like many classic films the critics love, it's a bit long, parts of it are somewhat boring, and the storyline isn't for everybody, there are plenty of people who just won't get it. I did get it and I feel the better for it. This is one of those films, love it or hate it, that everyone should see at least once. Expand
  26. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    It's a rather good movie. Tom Hanks is good but it's Michael Clarke Duncan's powerful performance that not only steals the show but also makes the movie.
  27. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    The Green Mile is a great movie with great acting but the flaw of the movie is that its far too long and it does make you lose interest a few times during the movie but its still well worth the watch.
  28. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    A true cinematic achievement from start to finish. "The Green Mile" is equally beautiful, horrific, heartbreaking and satisfying all throughout, with perfect performances and an unfathomably beautiful score.
  29. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    Very well made with a beautifully understated musical score by Thomas Newman, it underpins the action perfectly and works very well. All the performances were great; particularly Michael Clarke Duncan who fully deserved his 2000 Oscar nomination for his portrayal of John Coffey. As usual, Tom Hanks puts in a flawless performance as Paul Edgecomb (the younger version of course). The filmVery well made with a beautifully understated musical score by Thomas Newman, it underpins the action perfectly and works very well. All the performances were great; particularly Michael Clarke Duncan who fully deserved his 2000 Oscar nomination for his portrayal of John Coffey. As usual, Tom Hanks puts in a flawless performance as Paul Edgecomb (the younger version of course). The film has quite a slow pace that allows the audience to become familiar with the characters and the comings and goings on Expand
  30. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of those films that everybody has got to watch at some point in their life. It really is a stunning film, there's very little else I can say about it. But beware, you will weep like a child.
  31. Sep 23, 2012
    8
    It's actually not as perfect as some other users say here. That John Coffey was pictured as a naive and very simple minded guy was improper to me. Also they could've cut out some scenes, 3 hours are a bit too much. Anyways, this is a rememberable masterpiece and a brilliant-made movie. Must-see!
  32. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    Its a great movie with great acting but the flaw of the movie is that its far too long and it does make you lose interest a few times during the movie but its still well worth the watch.
  33. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    It makes me angry to see many low scores from critics, this is probably one of the best and most emotional movies I have ever watched.
  34. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    Based on one of Stephen King's few non-horror novels, THE GREEN MILE is a long, moving, poignant prison drama with an interesting fantasy twist. Starring Tom Hanks and Michael Clarke Duncan, it tells the story of Paul Edgecomb, a guard working at a prison where a man named John Coffey is brought into custody. Though he has been convicted of brutally murdering two girls, Paul soon enoughBased on one of Stephen King's few non-horror novels, THE GREEN MILE is a long, moving, poignant prison drama with an interesting fantasy twist. Starring Tom Hanks and Michael Clarke Duncan, it tells the story of Paul Edgecomb, a guard working at a prison where a man named John Coffey is brought into custody. Though he has been convicted of brutally murdering two girls, Paul soon enough discovers that John has a special healing power and really comes across as a kind man. Though clearly demented at some points in the plot, THE GREEN MILE was overall a great film. I plan on reading the serial novel on which it is based sometime soon, as it is sitting on my bookshelf, collecting dust and waiting patiently to be read; but as for a recommendation for anyone who hasn't seen this, see it. I can't guarantee you'll like it--there's always a movie not to like, after all--and I can't exactly guarantee you'll make it through the entire three hours and eight minutes, but it is most certainly worth a try. Rent it on Netflix, find it broken up in segments on YouTube, find it on TV, get it On Demand, buy it--whatever. Just make sure you see this film. Expand
  35. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I watched this for the third time yesterday, the thing that one critic pointed out is that this film has something extremely rare: soul. This is the most emotional movie I have ever seen, it's not just a drama movie with plot twists and unexpected tragedies; it has extremely lovable and disliked characters. Characters that we connect with, and when anything happens to them in the movie weI watched this for the third time yesterday, the thing that one critic pointed out is that this film has something extremely rare: soul. This is the most emotional movie I have ever seen, it's not just a drama movie with plot twists and unexpected tragedies; it has extremely lovable and disliked characters. Characters that we connect with, and when anything happens to them in the movie we feel like crying our guts out. It's also bound to make you take a different look on the use of the electric chair, and there are many other underlying themes and subjects with this movie. This film is a 3 hour experience that will change your mental attitude completely, highly recommended movie. 5/5 stars Expand
  36. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    brilliant movie. but sad thing is, the kind of thing that happened in this movie still goes on in this world we live in. terrible to think about. like Barry said, probably the movie that had the biggest emotional impact on me out of any movie ive ever watched in my life. i just wish i knew the criteria these "critics" use to review movies.
  37. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    Tom Hanks and Michael Clark Duncan are amazing. The script is creative and often powerful. Running at just over 3 hours long I felt there were a few scenes that could have easily been cut to aid in pacing. Overall a very good movie
  38. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Man in retirement home sees Fred Astaire in a film, has flashbacks back to 1935 when he was a prison warden.
    Fantastic film with great acting & a good adaptation of the Stephen King novel.
    Sam Rockwell is amazing as the very unhinged Billy the Kid & despite it's three hour length doesn't seem as long. Tom Hanks does tend to play himself & I still think Bachelor Party is his best film but
    Man in retirement home sees Fred Astaire in a film, has flashbacks back to 1935 when he was a prison warden.
    Fantastic film with great acting & a good adaptation of the Stephen King novel.
    Sam Rockwell is amazing as the very unhinged Billy the Kid & despite it's three hour length doesn't seem as long.
    Tom Hanks does tend to play himself & I still think Bachelor Party is his best film but with this & Catch Me If You Can being not far behind.
    Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. 65
    This jailhouse jam is quite a haul.
  2. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    75
    There's almost too much there, but the three-hour-plus film permits the kind of detailing that not only brings the storytelling to life, but sometimes persuades us we're breathing to its rhythms.
  3. Its view of spiritual healing is closer to Spielberg fantasy than religious insight. Still, its good acting and good intentions will be enough to please many viewers.