Open Road Films (II) | Release Date: January 27, 2012
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 418 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
279
Mixed:
94
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
iplayandwatchMar 19, 2016
I Have to stop reviewing these outrageously awful movies. I don't know where to start.
1. fake cartoony cgi wolves
2. wolves don't behave that way. these wolves are the raptors from chronicles of Riddick... 3. dumb story dumb characters
I Have to stop reviewing these outrageously awful movies. I don't know where to start.
1. fake cartoony cgi wolves
2. wolves don't behave that way. these wolves are the raptors from chronicles of Riddick...
3. dumb story dumb characters dumb ending
. **** it I cant go on... I hope you believe that this movie sucks. otherwise you'll be subjecting yourselves to it as I did.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ImastormtrooperNov 21, 2013
Definitely not for young children. I saw this movie and I freaked out myself. I barely got to have my eyes open. A plane crashes in the middle of Alaska right in the middle of the gray wolf's hunting zone.one by one someone got eaten.Definitely not for young children. I saw this movie and I freaked out myself. I barely got to have my eyes open. A plane crashes in the middle of Alaska right in the middle of the gray wolf's hunting zone.one by one someone got eaten. honestly i did not understand this movie because instead of going to get out of the hunting zone they walked farther into it which is more dangerous. you never know when the wolves will come so its one of those all of the sudden someone is dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
mustard_tigerJul 16, 2012
Horrible movie with no understanding of how wolves act, how planes crash, how people act, how humans live in sub zero temperatures and possibly the worst sound in the history of recorded sound. There isn't one redeeming quality to thisHorrible movie with no understanding of how wolves act, how planes crash, how people act, how humans live in sub zero temperatures and possibly the worst sound in the history of recorded sound. There isn't one redeeming quality to this unless maybe if it was on a screen and provided you with light in a dark room. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
AurelTristenJul 8, 2012
Without a doubt the worst movie I've seen this year. In this scify epic, Liam Nesson takes on a planet infested with ultra-smart superwolves while contemplating the philosophical meaning of death. The wolves demonstrate their ability toWithout a doubt the worst movie I've seen this year. In this scify epic, Liam Nesson takes on a planet infested with ultra-smart superwolves while contemplating the philosophical meaning of death. The wolves demonstrate their ability to ambush in flawless battle-line formations, make an incredible ammount of noise in the woods, repell down clifs and viciously seek human blood with historically uncharacteristic flair. A 12 year old child with acceas to Animal Planet could point out the shockingly unrealistic portrayal of wolves here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MullerHowthJun 17, 2012
Awful! A Hollywood studio obviously stamped Neeson's name on this one to guarantee covering it's costs. Glad it was a red box! Unrealistic from start to finish. What a waste of money and resources. No knife edge survival of the fittestAwful! A Hollywood studio obviously stamped Neeson's name on this one to guarantee covering it's costs. Glad it was a red box! Unrealistic from start to finish. What a waste of money and resources. No knife edge survival of the fittest drama, just lots of very uninspiring metaphors and cliche melancholy. Come on Liam your better than this. Who are these film critics giving The Grey a 6.6 anyway??? Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
davidlJun 13, 2012
I saw Jon Stewart interview Liam Neeson for this film, and he wisely avoided talking about this terrible film. The wolves are evil cartoons, any 14 year old would know their behavior is completely unrealistic. The dialogue is written at aI saw Jon Stewart interview Liam Neeson for this film, and he wisely avoided talking about this terrible film. The wolves are evil cartoons, any 14 year old would know their behavior is completely unrealistic. The dialogue is written at a grade 5 level (who could possibly write such drivel?). I kept waiting for the story I had hoped for, a Jack London yarn of Alaska in winter, or a Farley Mowatt fable of men lost in the barren lands. Instead I was served a film that seems to have had no script, no plot, and no plan, and a complete disregard for the characters and the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheReaperJun 9, 2012
Congratulations for creating a film which demonised an animal that is already been persecuted. Pricks...

Wolves are reclusive animals which do not attack humans
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JimsharonMay 17, 2012
Repetitive and disappointing. Predictable. Cliche'd horror-like-B-movie death of characters picked off one by one by pore CGI wolves. To boot, and most unsatisfying, it was concluded with fade-to-black anticlimactic and severely prematureRepetitive and disappointing. Predictable. Cliche'd horror-like-B-movie death of characters picked off one by one by pore CGI wolves. To boot, and most unsatisfying, it was concluded with fade-to-black anticlimactic and severely premature ending. Not worth your time..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GonejackalMay 7, 2012
A rather depressing movie. More of a rant at God than anything else in my opinion. I think the message that it was trying to deliver shot itself in its foot. It portrayed a group of men, thrown into a terrible and life threatening situation,A rather depressing movie. More of a rant at God than anything else in my opinion. I think the message that it was trying to deliver shot itself in its foot. It portrayed a group of men, thrown into a terrible and life threatening situation, with the odds stacked against them (throw a couple of super, mutated wolves into the mix ^^). Each one of these seven plain crash survivors die horrific and brutal deaths...nature was truly unforgiving to them. The suffering these characters endured can well be related to what people experience everyday, but can be dealt with differently, and this I think is where the movie fails miserably. Liam Neeson's character comes to the conclusion that because God doesn't help him in his horrible situation, therefore God doesn't exist and life, suffering, and ultimate death is all meaningless. From humanities limited and finite understanding, this is a reasonable evaluation and mindset BUT on the other hand, very juvenile and naive as humanity does not have all the answers. In light of the latter point, selling God short as portrayed in this movie was ignorant and cheap shot in the philosophical ring. What is suffering in a finite period of time, compared to ETERNAL joy and happiness? It is but a mere flicker in time. The two cannot be compared, especially over a divine plan. Perhaps Liam Neeson's character should have pulled the trigger in the beginning. It would have saved me from watching the most depressing movie ever made. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
norbertosicaApr 29, 2012
Boring, tedious, slow, long, inconsistent, gray, and again boring, tedious, slow, long, inconsistent and gray. From Taken, Liam Neeson lost his way in his career
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroApr 13, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible. How can any filmmaker present this to an audience ? I knew after 15 seconds that this would be a sucker, the initial fight in the bar was so badly acted, you knew it could get only worse. I know nothing about wolves, but I know that wolves ALWAYS attack in packs, so the initial scene where he kills a lone wolf is absolutely ridiculous. The entire plane crash was completely out of this world: how could he just walk away without even a scratch ? In addition, do producers never learn that reflective moments should be used extremely sparse, if at all ? Because they put you asleep... Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
wheelzrMar 11, 2012
I don't care that the wolves were unbelievable, but I can see how people might have wanted something more authentic given the "grounded in reality" feel from the beginning. I take issue with the time devoted to showing Nesson's poetic, selfI don't care that the wolves were unbelievable, but I can see how people might have wanted something more authentic given the "grounded in reality" feel from the beginning. I take issue with the time devoted to showing Nesson's poetic, self loathing suicidal inner monologues. I swear there's 20 minutes of the same shot of -him in bed, then starring at the damn suicide note, then starring at a wolf- about 4 times in the movie. The ending is letdown, I'm sure the people making the movie thought it was epic, but he's fighting against wolves, not the English Army. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
AlaMovieNutMar 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thought any Liam Neeson film would be a good action movie! Very depressing, They all should have been frozen to death with the light clothing they wore in the very cold climate! If you decide to go and watch all hunted and eaten by giant wolves, be sure you stay to see the secret scene after all the credits roll off the screen. Seems there could be a sequel after all, since maybe one of them actually survived the ordeal! It there is a sequel, I will certainly wait for it to hit the dollar movie or the dollar Redbox rental for fear it would be as sorry a movie as this one was! ......... You would think they would be required to provide free popcorn and drinks for all who sit through this movie so you might come close to getting your money's worth! Sorry Liam! I've seen you in some good movies but this is certainly not one of them! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
ajaxanonMar 6, 2012
I will give this movie a 2/10 because I'm sure if I think hard enough I could bring to mind worse movies. There simply were no redeeming qualities to this movie. Inconceivable plot where one almost feels that the writer just gave up and wentI will give this movie a 2/10 because I'm sure if I think hard enough I could bring to mind worse movies. There simply were no redeeming qualities to this movie. Inconceivable plot where one almost feels that the writer just gave up and went to another scene. This movie was a money making scheme. Built around a decent trailer, the whole plot was a mishmash of nonsense. Anybody who thought this was a good movie is either a philistine or they can suspend their disbelief far beyond anything I'm capable of. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
jcalbertaMar 5, 2012
A depressing essay about a man's Dark (grey) Night of Soul - from which he never emerges. Riddled with mind numbing inconsistencies:
1. Wolves don't attack people - they run away. 2. Though injured and trekking through the snowy
A depressing essay about a man's Dark (grey) Night of Soul - from which he never emerges. Riddled with mind numbing inconsistencies:
1. Wolves don't attack people - they run away. 2. Though injured and trekking through the snowy wilderness (while being attacked by wolves) none of them fashion themselves a staff or walking stick - which would aid their hike while affording some protection. Hello ???
3. Our hero falls into a frigid creek and swept along. Yet when he gets out he doesn't freeze to death (???) and doesn't attempt to light a fire - then discards some of his clothing - including his mitts and touque - and treks off into the bush. I can suspend my disbelief only so much. I won't watch this again.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
oohlFeb 21, 2012
Thank God my advance screening tickets were free.. this was SUCH a stinker. Those animatronic wolves with eyelights blinking on in the darkness, slathering and snarling in anticipation of human flesh but never hanging around to eat it, andThank God my advance screening tickets were free.. this was SUCH a stinker. Those animatronic wolves with eyelights blinking on in the darkness, slathering and snarling in anticipation of human flesh but never hanging around to eat it, and the dumb victim humans wandering off from the crash site to who-knows-where, yet with a ready supply of dry timber to burn at every pause. I would love to hear what a wolf behaviorist has to say about this film. Except for perhaps the crash sequence, probably the most unrealistic and sappiest psychological script I've experienced in a long, long time. Collapse
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
bushkillFeb 18, 2012
This movie had absolutely no redeeming qualities. I would say the fact that the movie ended would have risen my rating to a 1. However the ending was so terrible that a point had to be negated. I debated farting in the theater and walkingThis movie had absolutely no redeeming qualities. I would say the fact that the movie ended would have risen my rating to a 1. However the ending was so terrible that a point had to be negated. I debated farting in the theater and walking out, but stuck through to the end only to endure the utter disappointment. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
3
MorriBeyFeb 14, 2012
When the wolves had a 'personal vendetta' against the survivors i knew this was going to be one of those movies. They should have suspended all belief and make them vampire wolves.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
JectosFeb 13, 2012
Very boring in addition to a poorly written script were the characters make a series of incredibly stupid decisions. The atheistic underpinnings only served to further detract from the film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
nanasaysFeb 5, 2012
Absolutely no credibility...in a movie that was supposed to be realistic. Everyone in the theater left stunned at the abrupt end, but happy it was over. I can't even light my fireplace, yet these arctic plane-wreck victims had ever-ready tikiAbsolutely no credibility...in a movie that was supposed to be realistic. Everyone in the theater left stunned at the abrupt end, but happy it was over. I can't even light my fireplace, yet these arctic plane-wreck victims had ever-ready tiki torches and found perfectly cut wood for "spears" at their disposal. One jumped over a river ravine into a tree on the opposite bank to string a line for the rest to shimmy across. They're in a blizzard, and then the sun's out an all of them are fine. Liam 's drenched in a river and soon after appears dry, let alone not frozen! And, why would they ever leave the plane to walk the vast wilderness of Alaska like needles in a huge haystack. Hunker down boys, build a little hut so those wolves don't get you, pile up the bodies and eat them if need be. Seems more prudent. Remember you had all that jet fuel so easily accessible (another ridiculous moment) at the crash site to help heat, eat and keep those wolves at bay. After all, the wolves were EVERYWHERE in the end. A lot ventured, nothing gained... on the screen and for viewers. PLEASE...just ridiculous in every respect!â Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
moviemavinFeb 1, 2012
Dark and depressing movie with no redemptive value. Focuses on suicide and hopelessness with no answers forthcoming. I have no idea why they made this movie. The folks in the audience where I saw the movie couldn't wait to leave when theDark and depressing movie with no redemptive value. Focuses on suicide and hopelessness with no answers forthcoming. I have no idea why they made this movie. The folks in the audience where I saw the movie couldn't wait to leave when the movie ended. I never saw an audience clear out so quickly. This movie makes you want to relate to the wolves rather then the trespassing humans who argue and stumble to their grisly deaths. Only good aspect is the nice scenery... Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
Geritol961Jan 30, 2012
Extremely disappointed with this movie. Very few times do I feel the urge to write a review. There were a lot of inconsistencies with the plot. Jumping into a tree? COME ON! A lot of build up in this movie to a weak ending. I was deceivedExtremely disappointed with this movie. Very few times do I feel the urge to write a review. There were a lot of inconsistencies with the plot. Jumping into a tree? COME ON! A lot of build up in this movie to a weak ending. I was deceived into thinking this was "Taken" with wolves. I didn't relate with any of the characters in the movie and was glad as the wolves picked them off one by one. Also I find it hard to believe that a band of rednecks couldn't find any weapons or defend themselves. Even Sarah Palin kills wolves. A movie like this does not make me shed a tear about wolf conservation. A classic survival film with a satisfying ending would be, " The Edge". Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin survive and KILL A GRIZZLY! Come on Neeson! The Grey made me want to chokeslam a wolf, but then I thought about how humans bred the wolf to make the chihuahua breed and that made me smile. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
2
averagejoeJan 28, 2012
The Grey was absolutely not entertaining. Someone owes me two hours of my life back....because this movie sucked. The only good part was when the guys jumped off the cliff into the trees. As I'm writing this I feel as though there'sThe Grey was absolutely not entertaining. Someone owes me two hours of my life back....because this movie sucked. The only good part was when the guys jumped off the cliff into the trees. As I'm writing this I feel as though there's something missing.....oh, yea....a good movie....because this just wasn't it. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
3
stroudyJan 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily one of the most depressing films I have seen for a long time .Neeson does what Neeson does best-stoic and heroic - and the Wolves do what they do best .Cinematography is good(not difficult given the landscape).Wolves 1 Neeson 0. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
3
wilson2020Jan 27, 2012
This movie started out seeming like it could actually take you somewhere. That instantly turned out to not be true. This movie had absolutely not story line or plot, it was just people running away from unrealistic wolves with no real goal inThis movie started out seeming like it could actually take you somewhere. That instantly turned out to not be true. This movie had absolutely not story line or plot, it was just people running away from unrealistic wolves with no real goal in mind besides to keep running. The script for this movie could easy be fit on three pages. Other issues was there was no getting to know characters and the movie had no build but with a terrible ending. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews