User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 78
  2. Negative: 24 out of 78

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers. I Love The Grudge..... But The Grudge 2 Didnt Seem To Spark Me As Much...
    My Score Went Down Alot Because Sarah Michelle Gellar Dies In The Movie.... I Loved Karen Davis!!!
    Collapse
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    4
    Just a cheap copy of what this is all based on, nothing new, no new secrets revealed, they didn't even took the work to imagine or invent some new secrets and revealed mysteries about anything.
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    5
    If you generally like your horror films to contain a semblance of normality then I would suggest to find another movie. Honestly, the plot is somewhat of a mess and you will often be left scratching your head in utter confusion. I will admit The Grudge 2 has some frightful "gotcha" moments but even the scare factor isn't as creepy when compared to the original 2004 film. A good flick toIf you generally like your horror films to contain a semblance of normality then I would suggest to find another movie. Honestly, the plot is somewhat of a mess and you will often be left scratching your head in utter confusion. I will admit The Grudge 2 has some frightful "gotcha" moments but even the scare factor isn't as creepy when compared to the original 2004 film. A good flick to rent on a dark and stormy night but sadly nothing else. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    creepier and more vicious than it's sleepwalking predecessor, i actually found myself enjoying this, whereas the first felt like i was completely detached from the experience.
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    2
    Terrible. When I was watching the movie, I literally was counting when the jump-scare was going to pop out. Three... two... one... indeed, it did.
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    there is a lot more happening in this film than the first, most of these new happenings are interesting, and some quite creepy, something the first grudge only achieved when it actually got off it's ass and tried, i will admit, it is a rather hard act to follow, but following it isn't entirely necessary for the better aspects to make it through to you - samarathenymph xoxo
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    well, at least it's one hell of an improvement over the first film, though it is, to put it nicely, incoherent as all f**k, but it doesn't take too much away from the scares, which are more effective by far.
  8. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    almost anything that isn't the first film is fine by me, not only does this top the first ones mediocre ambition, but it does so well, it actually could have been a standalone film.
  9. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    So much scarier and more entertaining than the first one. Takashi Shimizu is one of my favorite horror directors. After The Grudge 3, I really hope there will be a Grudge 4.
  10. Sep 30, 2013
    7
    The grudge 2 might not be as good as the first movie but it is way scarier then the first one. if you liked the grudge then you will probably like the grudge 2!!!!!!!!!!
  11. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    This film is extremely creepy and scary. It is also extremely dark and horrifying. This is an extremely good horror movie that you will enjoy. Like most horror films, it has a bad ending. I really wish that in the future, most horror movies will have better/good endings.
  12. Dec 25, 2014
    3
    This was boring as hell, and the scares were so god damn repetitive. How many times does the movie feel it needs to show Kayako's hands coming from behind someone's head before killing them? We already saw that in the first one, and it was a lot more effective there. It had a good score and some great eye candy, and there were a couple times I did jump. However, this was just anThis was boring as hell, and the scares were so god damn repetitive. How many times does the movie feel it needs to show Kayako's hands coming from behind someone's head before killing them? We already saw that in the first one, and it was a lot more effective there. It had a good score and some great eye candy, and there were a couple times I did jump. However, this was just an unnecessary and tedious sequel made for the sole purpose of showing more ways that Kayako can kill people. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. 20
    The same problems that plagued the original are on display here. Most notably, the lack of any coherent plot. Lots of creepy kids jump out at us, but these scenes are never satisfactorily meshed into the story itself.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    40
    Story is incidental here, as auds merely anticipate the scares.
  3. 38
    The film pulls off a couple of "gotchas!", but the subtle creepiness of its predecessors is gone, replaced by a sense of numbing predictability.