The Guilt Trip

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 69
  2. Negative: 6 out of 69
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real! It has heart! I felt like Joyce and Andy (Barbara and Seth Rogen) really were mother and son. Seth really is a great actor. Who knew? All I had seenI was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real! It has heart! I felt like Joyce and Andy (Barbara and Seth Rogen) really were mother and son. Seth really is a great actor. Who knew? All I had seen was his silly crap in stupid, meaningless comedies with no storylines worth watching. I'm a responsible, smart 30-something, with a family and a career. I want to see good, real movies! This is seriously one of the best movies I've seen all year. Every mother and grown child should see this (I'd say 12 and up) - especially sons. I'll be buying the DVD for sure. It's a movie I think I'll watch at least once a year, Yes, it's that good. I was crying because I was laughing so hard, and then crying for real, back an forth probably three times. A definite "must-see". Now I'm going to see about some of Barbara's other films. I thought she was just a great singer and a liberal! Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    The Guilt Trip is a great movie! Streisand and Rogen have great chemistry and are totally believable as mother and son. This is a movie that will stay with after you've left the theater. It's thoughtful, warm and funny. It's more than a comedy it's a movie about parent-child relationships and transformations. I highly recommend seeing this movie. Americas "Funny Girl" still has it!
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this movie!! Barbra is fantastic and has some touching scenes and her comedic timing is spot on. Great movie to see around this time of year!!
  4. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is wonderful! It only came out 5 days ago, and i've seen it twice. So glad Babs is back on screen! She and Seth Rogen are the new comedy team of the decade! So warm and so real! Seth doesnt' have to resort to his usual over the top humor, and Streisand sort of classes him up! She's so good I cried about 4 times and THIS IS A COMEDY!!! A mother son movie that is so good for theThis movie is wonderful! It only came out 5 days ago, and i've seen it twice. So glad Babs is back on screen! She and Seth Rogen are the new comedy team of the decade! So warm and so real! Seth doesnt' have to resort to his usual over the top humor, and Streisand sort of classes him up! She's so good I cried about 4 times and THIS IS A COMEDY!!! A mother son movie that is so good for the holiday season....Welcome Back Barbra!!! Some amazing dramatic scenes too where Streisand acts her head off simply by movie a facial muscle or an eyelid....class in motion Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I love,love this movie.it us not only funny,no it is touching.a must see for mother and sons.Barbra and Seth really have a good chemistry .But it is Barbra who makes this movie special,she is just a divine actress and i cant let my eyes from her face,so much to say,without words,heavenly
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie! The chemistry between the two stars in so real. This movie reminds me of "The Family Stone" in tone. Barbra is wonderful. So great to have a funny, touching movie out for the holidays!
  7. dtp
    Jan 24, 2013
    10
    a very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't really understand the negative reviews for this movie, but then maybe all that people want are violence and sex and in your face slapstick.
  8. May 8, 2013
    9
    Loved this movie! However, I have a Jewish mother myself and am the single mother of an only child (a son), so there were so many similarities to our life. We watched it together and laughed our heads off (son is 21). Even if you don't relate, it is still a good, touching movie that I think anyone would enjoy. The acting is very good and the story is engaging.
  9. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    A movies doesn't always have to be deep & expensive to be enjoyed,this is how i see the guilt trip as peaceful,simple,funny & entertaining movie.i believe that this movie will be remembered in 10 years as classic.
  10. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I don't understand what the critic-s' problems are. The movie is cute and funny. Every movie doesn't have to be Academy Award winning material. Can't we allow ourselves to enjoy something simply because it's fun? This movie was a fun road trip, probably for an audience consisting of parents who have shared similar rides. The movie was actually touching.
  11. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Streisand is still looking hot. I feel awkward saying that since she is the same age as my mother. I enjoyed this simple, predictable road trip movie. It does not break any new ground, but it had very little language and a kind attitude not found in many movies made today.
  12. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I went to see a preview of "The Guilt Trip" and thought it was a terrific movie -- warm, funny and heartfelt. The performances by Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen were so realistic and truthful that I completely bought them as mother and son. Reading some of the critic reviews, however, I wondered if I had been off in my assessment. So I went back on opening day to see the movie again.I went to see a preview of "The Guilt Trip" and thought it was a terrific movie -- warm, funny and heartfelt. The performances by Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen were so realistic and truthful that I completely bought them as mother and son. Reading some of the critic reviews, however, I wondered if I had been off in my assessment. So I went back on opening day to see the movie again. Well, I stand by my initial response. I would recommend "The Guilt Trip" to my friends, family and anyone reading this site. It's rare that a movie comes around that's this touching and memorable. These days comedies are broad and over the top, with bizarre situations and characters whom you'd never want to spend a minute with, let alone 2 hours. Well, "The Guilt Trip" is not that kind of comedy. In fact, it's as much a drama about how a mother and son reconnect and help each other get out of the ruts they've been living in. Barbra Streisand was especially appealing as Joyce Brewster, a mother who was not unlike my own. Did my mom drive me nuts at times? Yep. But she was also right more often than not and I found many moments in "The Guilt Trip" that reminded me of our relationship. Streisand is not a wacky Focker mom in this film. This is a charming, subtle performance that's rich with detail. I urge you all to give "The Guilt Trip" your attention. Expand
  13. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    The Guilt Trip is a wonderful movie. It is heartfelt, funny, warm, and a lot of people can relate to it. Barbra Streisand is a treat to watch on the screen, and has great chemistry with Seth Rogen as her son. The audience I saw it with laughed heartily and seemed to enjoy it. I highly recommend this movie. Take your mom!
  14. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    I'll be honest, I went into this movie with very low expectations. My thoughts on the matter changed very quickly. This movie has an incredible feeling of sincerity, and feels about as real as a movie can get. Seth Rogen and Barbara Streisand were phenomenal, and genuinely funny throughout the whole movie. A heartwarming finale really rounded off one of my favorite movies of the year in aI'll be honest, I went into this movie with very low expectations. My thoughts on the matter changed very quickly. This movie has an incredible feeling of sincerity, and feels about as real as a movie can get. Seth Rogen and Barbara Streisand were phenomenal, and genuinely funny throughout the whole movie. A heartwarming finale really rounded off one of my favorite movies of the year in a year of really bad movies. 9.5/10 Expand
  15. May 3, 2013
    8
    This was a very good movie. Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand are great together in the respective roles of son and mother. The humor is great if you can relate to it and the plot develops well. While there isn't much excitement or anything like that, the dialogue is delivered flawlessly and the acting is superb. I understand that not everyone will enjoy this film but if you have a parent,This was a very good movie. Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand are great together in the respective roles of son and mother. The humor is great if you can relate to it and the plot develops well. While there isn't much excitement or anything like that, the dialogue is delivered flawlessly and the acting is superb. I understand that not everyone will enjoy this film but if you have a parent, especially a mother who you are close with then I think you'll appreciate the nuances of the movie. Expand
  16. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Wonderful film. Streisand is adorable and the heart of the movie. Her star power is not diminished. The chemistry between Barbra and Seth is great and it left me wanting Guilt Trip 2 . Streisand looks fantastic for a 70 year old woman! Go see it
  17. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    I never thought I would give a positive review to this movie. It is not terribly interesting idea for the movie at a first glimpse, but a lot of it I found very biographical. It is more of drama than comedy. It seems like the script meant to be funny, but it wasn't (especially the first half). Overall the movie has some charm and warmness. I enjoy Barbra Streisand acting. To my amusement,I never thought I would give a positive review to this movie. It is not terribly interesting idea for the movie at a first glimpse, but a lot of it I found very biographical. It is more of drama than comedy. It seems like the script meant to be funny, but it wasn't (especially the first half). Overall the movie has some charm and warmness. I enjoy Barbra Streisand acting. To my amusement, entire a fight scene in motel was such a close citation of my mom I got to call her! :) This movie put me in a good touchy mood about the routine and my family. Expand
  18. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    This movie was worth watching just to see Barbra back in a leading comedy role again. Make no mistake, she carries this movie. The Seth Rogan character is a little annoying the first 2/3 of the film because he treats his mother so mean. Barbra gives the "Jewish Mother" character just enough believability without becoming a complete caricature. There is no big hilarious moment or scene, butThis movie was worth watching just to see Barbra back in a leading comedy role again. Make no mistake, she carries this movie. The Seth Rogan character is a little annoying the first 2/3 of the film because he treats his mother so mean. Barbra gives the "Jewish Mother" character just enough believability without becoming a complete caricature. There is no big hilarious moment or scene, but a lot of little laughs throughout. Good chemistry between the two leads. Not great but worth seeing if you are a fan of Barbra Streisand. Expand
  19. May 19, 2013
    7
    Barbra Streisand has made it very clear in the past decade or so that she doesn’t need to work in Hollywood unless she wants to, and this elite paradigm insists that there’s something to The Guilt Trip, believe it or not. The movie was advertised as a Hangover-style comedy for the “Memories” crowd, but even if Anne Fletcher’s film defaults to comedy cliché more often than it should, oneBarbra Streisand has made it very clear in the past decade or so that she doesn’t need to work in Hollywood unless she wants to, and this elite paradigm insists that there’s something to The Guilt Trip, believe it or not. The movie was advertised as a Hangover-style comedy for the “Memories” crowd, but even if Anne Fletcher’s film defaults to comedy cliché more often than it should, one can’t deny that there’s a legitimate, endearing beating heart underneath the veneer of the movie. Babs’ on-screen partnership with Seth Rogen is what sells the movie (unsurprisingly). Rogen may not be Hollywood’s most reliable comic leading man, but when the guy shares the screen with Streisand who’s still got her acting chops, by the way he frequently rises to the occasion. And when the two of them find themselves in awkward and trying scenarios (this happens often in The Guilt Trip), there’s a legitimate verve and excitement to the chemistry at hand. The Guilt Trip is a slight film, almost a paper-thin one, but it’s short, to-the-point, and surprisingly watchable. There are no extreme fireworks or examples of embarrassment nudity to shock its audience: the movie quietly and preciously unfolds with steady cuteness. It’s not the best comedy to hit screens in 2012, but I’d wager big money that you’ll watch the thing and say that it’s way better than you thought it would be. Expand
  20. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    This is a sweet and endearing comedy, though not a blockbuster or a roll in the aisle it is perfect for anyone who wants to laugh and be entertained. Barbara Streisand steals the show delivering a great performance with memorable and emotional dialogue. Seth Rogen plays the role of the nerdy, somewhat socially awkward son who cares about his mother deeply, but fails to express it in aThis is a sweet and endearing comedy, though not a blockbuster or a roll in the aisle it is perfect for anyone who wants to laugh and be entertained. Barbara Streisand steals the show delivering a great performance with memorable and emotional dialogue. Seth Rogen plays the role of the nerdy, somewhat socially awkward son who cares about his mother deeply, but fails to express it in a meaningful way. It delivers laughs and a few sentimental moments without taking itself seriously or being too sappy. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Braund
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    Crazy, Stupid, Love writer Dan Fogelman can't rebottle lightning with a humdrum comedy that doesn't play to its stars strengths.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    Bickering turns to bonding over the course of a predictable affair that only comes to life during a Texan steak-eating contest that has Babs ingest a mountain of meat.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Dec 23, 2012
    42
    Overall, there is a fundamental lack of excitement or energy; it's a 95-minute movie that feels twice as long as "The Hobbit."