Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Dec 19, 2012
    90
    The Guilt Trip surprises by avoiding the obvious. It zigs when you expect it to zag. It's perceptive and thoughtful as it swerves around potholes that easily could have broken an axle.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 18, 2012
    75
    Well, it's a masterpiece compared with 'Little Fockers,' the last movie featuring Barbra Streisand.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 12, 2012
    67
    The Guilt Trip is not about Rogen, bubbeleh. Streisand is her own once-in-a-lifetime trip, looking gawjuss with that divine voice and those killer fingernails, and the sight of the lady scarfing down four pounds of beef at a Texas steak joint is one a Streisand lover can now cross off her bucket list.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Dec 18, 2012
    50
    A timid, modestly pleasant time-passer distinguished mostly by its unexplored potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 19, 2012
    50
    It's a one-joke movie, if "Jewish mothers are annoying" is a joke. But just as a film about boredom should not actually be boring, no movie should credibly simulate the experience of being stuck in a car with Barbra Streisand for eight days.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 21, 2012
    42
    The jokes mostly fall flat and the dramatic scenes fall even flatter.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 18, 2012
    38
    Audiences deserve a resounding "mea culpa" for the embarrassing dreck, masquerading as comedy, in The Guilt Trip.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. dtp
    Jan 24, 2013
    10
    a very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't really understand the negative reviews for this movie, but then maybe all that people want are violence and sex and in your face slapstick. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real! It has heart! I felt like Joyce and Andy (Barbara and Seth Rogen) really were mother and son. Seth really is a great actor. Who knew? All I had seen was his silly crap in stupid, meaningless comedies with no storylines worth watching. I'm a responsible, smart 30-something, with a family and a career. I want to see good, real movies! This is seriously one of the best movies I've seen all year. Every mother and grown child should see this (I'd say 12 and up) - especially sons. I'll be buying the DVD for sure. It's a movie I think I'll watch at least once a year, Yes, it's that good. I was crying because I was laughing so hard, and then crying for real, back an forth probably three times. A definite "must-see". Now I'm going to see about some of Barbara's other films. I thought she was just a great singer and a liberal! Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Streisand is still looking hot. I feel awkward saying that since she is the same age as my mother. I enjoyed this simple, predictable road trip movie. It does not break any new ground, but it had very little language and a kind attitude not found in many movies made today. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    6
    The Guilt Trip is a solid movie, with some cool moments, and yes, the movie has some mistakes, but the big part of the time The Guilt Trip turns out to be fun. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    Full disclosure: on July 13, 1974 I sat down at a table in Lloyd
  6. Jul 19, 2013
    5
    It looked promising but in the end this movie falls short. The story is about a young man going on a road trip with his mother whom he finds annoying. The humor is lacking, but what keeps you mildly interested in the film is the emotional moments, but even they aren't the greatest. The movie goes through many long and dry periods before something interesting happens. When the movie does have a sweet or touching moment it makes the whole movie a little more interesting, but these moments are few and far apart. All in all The Guilt Trip ends up being about as enjoyable as a long road trip, in that there are some spectacular and great moments, but those moments are separated by long and uneventful stretches of boredom. The Guilt Trip just might not be worth your time. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Only a truly horrific actress like Barbara Streisand could suck all the funny out of Seth Rogen. This is less of a movie and more of a audio-visual beating. How did the screenwriter finish the script with any shred of self-respect? If you want to watch something that lacks any charm, wit, or humor then this is the movie for you. I'm running out of ways to say "terrible." Oh yeah, here's one more....if I had to chose between watching this movie and having my fingers cut off, I'd learn to type with my tongue. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers