The Guilt Trip

The Guilt Trip Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Dec 19, 2012
    90
    The Guilt Trip surprises by avoiding the obvious. It zigs when you expect it to zag. It's perceptive and thoughtful as it swerves around potholes that easily could have broken an axle.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 18, 2012
    75
    Well, it's a masterpiece compared with 'Little Fockers,' the last movie featuring Barbra Streisand.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 12, 2012
    67
    The Guilt Trip is not about Rogen, bubbeleh. Streisand is her own once-in-a-lifetime trip, looking gawjuss with that divine voice and those killer fingernails, and the sight of the lady scarfing down four pounds of beef at a Texas steak joint is one a Streisand lover can now cross off her bucket list.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Dec 18, 2012
    50
    A timid, modestly pleasant time-passer distinguished mostly by its unexplored potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 19, 2012
    50
    It's a one-joke movie, if "Jewish mothers are annoying" is a joke. But just as a film about boredom should not actually be boring, no movie should credibly simulate the experience of being stuck in a car with Barbra Streisand for eight days.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 21, 2012
    42
    The jokes mostly fall flat and the dramatic scenes fall even flatter.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 18, 2012
    38
    Audiences deserve a resounding "mea culpa" for the embarrassing dreck, masquerading as comedy, in The Guilt Trip.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. dtp
    Jan 24, 2013
    10
    a very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't reallya very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't really understand the negative reviews for this movie, but then maybe all that people want are violence and sex and in your face slapstick. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who lovesI was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real! It has heart! I felt like Joyce and Andy (Barbara and Seth Rogen) really were mother and son. Seth really is a great actor. Who knew? All I had seen was his silly crap in stupid, meaningless comedies with no storylines worth watching. I'm a responsible, smart 30-something, with a family and a career. I want to see good, real movies! This is seriously one of the best movies I've seen all year. Every mother and grown child should see this (I'd say 12 and up) - especially sons. I'll be buying the DVD for sure. It's a movie I think I'll watch at least once a year, Yes, it's that good. I was crying because I was laughing so hard, and then crying for real, back an forth probably three times. A definite "must-see". Now I'm going to see about some of Barbara's other films. I thought she was just a great singer and a liberal! Expand
  3. May 8, 2013
    9
    Loved this movie! However, I have a Jewish mother myself and am the single mother of an only child (a son), so there were so manyLoved this movie! However, I have a Jewish mother myself and am the single mother of an only child (a son), so there were so many similarities to our life. We watched it together and laughed our heads off (son is 21). Even if you don't relate, it is still a good, touching movie that I think anyone would enjoy. The acting is very good and the story is engaging. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    6
    The Guilt Trip is a solid movie, with some cool moments, and yes, the movie has some mistakes, but the big part of the time The Guilt TripThe Guilt Trip is a solid movie, with some cool moments, and yes, the movie has some mistakes, but the big part of the time The Guilt Trip turns out to be fun. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    Full disclosure: on July 13, 1974 I sat down at a table in Lloyd
  6. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "The Guilt Trip" 10 Scale Rating: 5.5 (Average) ...

    The Good: Streisand and Rogen made a good mother/son combo and were believable. Rogen,
    "The Guilt Trip" 10 Scale Rating: 5.5 (Average) ...

    The Good: Streisand and Rogen made a good mother/son combo and were believable. Rogen, who typically is very over the top, excelled as the straight man for a change. The story isn't a bad idea and the ending had some genuinely touching moments.

    The Bad: Extremely predictable from start to finish and not really very funny. You can pretty much tell exactly what is going to happen ten minutes into the film as it follows the formula that all films of this nature follow. Doesn't bring anything new to the genre whatsoever and is pretty vanilla.
    Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Only a truly horrific actress like Barbara Streisand could suck all the funny out of Seth Rogen. This is less of a movie and more of aOnly a truly horrific actress like Barbara Streisand could suck all the funny out of Seth Rogen. This is less of a movie and more of a audio-visual beating. How did the screenwriter finish the script with any shred of self-respect? If you want to watch something that lacks any charm, wit, or humor then this is the movie for you. I'm running out of ways to say "terrible." Oh yeah, here's one more....if I had to chose between watching this movie and having my fingers cut off, I'd learn to type with my tongue. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: October 5, 2012
    Check out new trailers for "The Lone Ranger," "A Good Day to Die Hard," "Movie 43," "The Guilt Trip," and more, and catch up on all of the week's movie news.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.