The Hangover

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 827 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 827
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2011
    5
    I wanted to like it, I really did.
  2. MarkL
    Jun 30, 2009
    5
    Funny with a hint of character progression, but the bro atmosphere, random events, and physical comedy, while executed well, become repetitive and boring halfway through.
  3. TomP
    Jan 10, 2010
    4
    The movie contains a lack of humor rarely found in well reviewed comedies.
  4. RyanM.
    Jan 31, 2010
    4
    Stereotypical and obvious laughs. Overrated with few laugh out loud moments. Unmemorable and predictable.
  5. EliJ.
    Jan 3, 2010
    4
    I thought this movie was bad but not horrible, Zac Galifianakis was funny as usual but everything else was..well horrible. The dentist guy's wife was the queen of bitches for some reason. I mean did they make her the seed of Hitler to draw away from the horrible plot and actors? That must be it, kind of the opposite of comic relief. Well anyway the Chinese guy made me want to throw I thought this movie was bad but not horrible, Zac Galifianakis was funny as usual but everything else was..well horrible. The dentist guy's wife was the queen of bitches for some reason. I mean did they make her the seed of Hitler to draw away from the horrible plot and actors? That must be it, kind of the opposite of comic relief. Well anyway the Chinese guy made me want to throw the remote at the screen, when he jumped out of the car and beat them up was just plain awful. I love crude humor and physical comedy as much as the next guy but taking a movie that has that kind of Big Libowski feeling to it and adding a stupid scene like that just made me want to puke. The guy pulling his own tooth out was absolutely terrible, the fact that they stole a cop car and it wasn't recovered before the next morning was completely unbelievable. Oh yeah its impossible to count cards on a multi-deck table too. After that scene i knew for sure that this movie is bent on amusing stupid teenagers and college frat boys. I laughed at Galifianikis quite a few times so he was basically the only reason i didn't give this movie a big fat zero. Thumbs down be watchable. Expand
  6. Cecil
    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    Other than Zach Galifianakis, this one had no redeeming qualities. I don't see how anyone but boys 13 to 18 could relate to this.
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    4
    After the movie, I felt drowsy.
  8. May 27, 2011
    4
    Yeah in parts it was funny but by the time I watched it all my friends had told me it was amazing and the hype was just that hype. The film was predictable and if I watched it more than once I would probably give up after about 20 minutes because I would realise how bad it was the first time round.
  9. TylerK
    Jun 10, 2009
    6
    Relying on cheap gag scenes and rarely on witty clever dialogue it gets old real quick and part of you keeps waiting for something hilarious to ensue.
  10. pg
    Jun 10, 2009
    5
    Not bad. not great either.... it's everything you'd expect after seeing the trailer. i was hoping for better since it got good reviews but it didn't wow me.... it was average entertainment with a couple laughs. it's basically like a 'dude, where's my car' redux.
  11. katrinr.
    Jun 21, 2009
    4
    I don't get it. I went to the movies expecting something as funny as Superbad. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and it's made for men, but it was boring, not funny and not surprising or original (the nerdy nice man going wild, the bored teacher learning the value of his family, the strange crazy dude, and the groom going missing). I don't get the phenomenon. Ok, it I don't get it. I went to the movies expecting something as funny as Superbad. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and it's made for men, but it was boring, not funny and not surprising or original (the nerdy nice man going wild, the bored teacher learning the value of his family, the strange crazy dude, and the groom going missing). I don't get the phenomenon. Ok, it probably wasn't so bad, but all the positive reviews just make me go "REALLY?". Expand
  12. TomG
    Jun 6, 2009
    5
    While funny and mostly entertaining, can't say I thought is was nearly as good as many of the others. Much of it was over the top and unbelievable. Want to see a better Vegas movie starring Heather Graham. Rent Swingers.
  13. JulieA
    Sep 19, 2009
    5
    I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The Mike Tyson cameo was just plain stupid, and could they not get a better celebrity to do a cameo? Overall, certainly some funny parts, but this movie I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The Mike Tyson cameo was just plain stupid, and could they not get a better celebrity to do a cameo? Overall, certainly some funny parts, but this movie is not all the rage that some make it out to be. Expand
  14. JenniferK.
    Dec 22, 2009
    6
    It was ok, but only a few laughs. Watch Very Bad Things....much better.
  15. JeramieC
    Jul 19, 2009
    5
    Wow, I haven't seen a movie this over hyped since...last summer! Not nearly as funny as all the bro's out there seem to think, but then again...UFC is really popular.
  16. JohnB
    Jul 7, 2009
    5
    VERY DISAPPOINTED...i came in looking forward to a good comedy after reading all these reviews and all i got were cheap one liner jokes. Laughed a couple of times, but never a laugh out loud moment...some parts were just stupid, and i feel that with the story they had they could have made this much more funnier. without zach galifinakis i would have gave this movie a 0.
  17. jimmyf
    Aug 19, 2009
    5
    This movie was obviously written for five year olds. Amusing at best. Manages to combine plain bad taste in places with weirdness in others.
  18. calebl
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    Though the film has strong performances, there are far too many gaps in the movie that just aren't funny. Zach G. makes up for the lack of comedy with a standout role.
  19. Nov 8, 2010
    5
    The Hangover was a movie that I tried really hard to like (not a good thing), but found that it just wasn't that funny or creative to me. I don't know if I had too high expectations about how it would play out, but the "jokes" seemed to be a formula of: take a basic subject/concept and add a totally unrelated twist that makes no sense other than to be just totally random, and then youThe Hangover was a movie that I tried really hard to like (not a good thing), but found that it just wasn't that funny or creative to me. I don't know if I had too high expectations about how it would play out, but the "jokes" seemed to be a formula of: take a basic subject/concept and add a totally unrelated twist that makes no sense other than to be just totally random, and then you have comedy. The weird thing to me is that I normally like weird, strange, nonsense as well, but the Hangover just seemed like the writer was trying to imitate that style, but found mediocrity instead. I'm not going to bother commenting on the story, because it really has no bearing on the overall movie. As a comedy it just needs to make you laugh, with the story coming in a distant 2nd. Not a bad comedy, as it did have its moments, but to me it was pretty stale overall. Expand
  20. Jun 11, 2011
    6
    It's not a terrible movie, but an extremely overrated one (at least in my experience). First, I considered the cast. "Wow, Zach Galifianakis! I love his standup. It'll be cool to see how Hollywood implements his strange brand of humor. Ed Helms! He's so talented. He was great on the old version of The Daily Show and The Office." After that I had about a hundred people come to meIt's not a terrible movie, but an extremely overrated one (at least in my experience). First, I considered the cast. "Wow, Zach Galifianakis! I love his standup. It'll be cool to see how Hollywood implements his strange brand of humor. Ed Helms! He's so talented. He was great on the old version of The Daily Show and The Office." After that I had about a hundred people come to me and say it was the best comedy ever made. -- So it's probably safe to say my expectations were too high. But even considering that, there's nothing mind-blowingly funny about it. Sure, there are a few moments that had me laughing pretty loudly, but most of the movie involved long stretches of the same joke played out over and over. -- (Main characters learn something strange about the night before.) (Main characters look at each other shocked and worried.) True, the things they learn are different, but the punchline is always Ed Helms looking confused. -- Bottom line, I saw it, thought it was okay, and never cared to watch it again. Expand
  21. PeterD
    Jun 9, 2009
    6
    There are a few jokes that hit hard, but most of them are predictable. The only character that changed was Ed Helms'. And the ultimate question, where is the groom?, wasn't answered by anyone they encountered. Which made them all useless to the plot and cheap laughs. But the ending is so funny it's worth seeing anyways.
  22. raye
    Jul 21, 2009
    4
    Just not that funny at all to me and i can laugh at nearly anything i expected to die laughing throughout the film with its hype i chuckled three times maybe and mike tyson should have been paid more than the lead actors imo he was about the only good part.
  23. NerijusD.
    Jul 23, 2009
    6
    A bit funny, a bit not.
  24. SteveS.
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    I see why people were so enthralled by this movie, but I guess the build up was to much for me. It had its funny parts, Zach and Ed Helms ere the highlights for me. I am not sure why Bradley Cooper has become such a staple in Hollywood. I get that he is a good looking guy, but really! He isn't funny, always seems pompous and hasn't made me laugh since Wet Hot American Summer. I see why people were so enthralled by this movie, but I guess the build up was to much for me. It had its funny parts, Zach and Ed Helms ere the highlights for me. I am not sure why Bradley Cooper has become such a staple in Hollywood. I get that he is a good looking guy, but really! He isn't funny, always seems pompous and hasn't made me laugh since Wet Hot American Summer. Lets hope more movies like Arrested Development (I can't wait) and Dialogue comedies rise in 2010! Expand
  25. RicO
    Dec 16, 2009
    6
    I loved what the makers of this film were trying to achieve, and in some places, it actually works, but in general it was a bit of a let-down and not as funny as it could have been.
  26. ceej
    Jun 22, 2009
    5
    It takes almost zero creative genius to make a movie like this. That being said, it takes very little to make people laugh. beyond a forfeiture of dignity. I'm not totally insulting this film. But even as a exaggerated-gross-out-comedy, it fell a bit short. I'd say about 20% of the film I was hoping it would get less repetitive. And the blow-job porn pix at the end? What the It takes almost zero creative genius to make a movie like this. That being said, it takes very little to make people laugh. beyond a forfeiture of dignity. I'm not totally insulting this film. But even as a exaggerated-gross-out-comedy, it fell a bit short. I'd say about 20% of the film I was hoping it would get less repetitive. And the blow-job porn pix at the end? What the hell was that? Expand
  27. ChadS
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    its ok but not great. Didn't laugh once. not even a chuckle. About the best thin i can say for it is the guy with the beard was odd in a good way. Wait for DVD.
  28. JayR.
    Jun 5, 2009
    5
    Not nearly as good as the previews make it look.
  29. ChadS.
    Jun 6, 2009
    6
    [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Peter Berg's "Very Bad Things" showed us the buzz, all too graphically, as an alcohol and coke-fueled party goes awry once Michael(Jeremy Piven) impales the stripper on a towel hook. "The Hangover" informs the 1998 black comedy in this respect: Had we only seen the aftermath, a nude dead woman sprawled across the bathroom floor, would we have given [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Peter Berg's "Very Bad Things" showed us the buzz, all too graphically, as an alcohol and coke-fueled party goes awry once Michael(Jeremy Piven) impales the stripper on a towel hook. "The Hangover" informs the 1998 black comedy in this respect: Had we only seen the aftermath, a nude dead woman sprawled across the bathroom floor, would we have given these bachelor party attendees the benefit of the doubt? They could have blamed it on the booze and drugs. But since we saw the buzz, they're guilty, regardless of their altered states. "The Hangover" uses off-screen action to stoke our imaginations. Not a bad thing. In Euripedes' play "Medea", the titular character kills her children prior to the non-action of her monologues. Dramatize the murders and the audience may become less objective about her transgressive acts. The play's success hinges on Medea remaining sympathetic. Same goes for the bachelors in "The Hangover", who get away with behaving badly since the filmmaker kept the debauchery of the bachelor party off-screen. A much darker narrative is suggested, however, by the mere presence of rohypnol(better known as "ruffies", the date rape drug), which Alan(Zach Galifianakis) mistakenly purchases instead of ecstasy. Had he known what was in his possession, the relationship between this film and "Very Bad Things" might have been a lot closer than it already is. After all, there is a reference to the Berg film, albeit an oblique one. Although "The Hangover" treats the full frontal man in the trunk as high comedy, the moviegoer shouldn't overlook that the amnesiac men probably sentenced him to die out of greed. They almost did a very bad thing indeed. He's the Kobe Tai. But they're forgiven, because we never saw the potential crime in the making. Expand
  30. Canon
    Jul 31, 2009
    6
    The Hangover was an entertaining comedy but the film has too many cheap jokes, often relying on slapstick and poor taste humour - babies masturbating, stupid Chinese voices, etc. The ending wasn't clever - I won't give it away, but it was a big anticlimax. A few quirky characters, a cameo from Mike Tyson - that's just about all I'll remember from this film.
  31. RobH.
    Aug 1, 2009
    4
    About 40 minutes into this flick I finally accepted I wasn't gonna laugh. At all. I was gonna smile. Sometimes. I saw it with three friends, They weren't laughing either. I turned to them and pulled a "WTF" face? They pulled the same face back at me. The success of this film is a complete and utter mystery to me. Any top-drawer US tv sitcom is 1000% funnier, smarter, better About 40 minutes into this flick I finally accepted I wasn't gonna laugh. At all. I was gonna smile. Sometimes. I saw it with three friends, They weren't laughing either. I turned to them and pulled a "WTF" face? They pulled the same face back at me. The success of this film is a complete and utter mystery to me. Any top-drawer US tv sitcom is 1000% funnier, smarter, better plotted, better acted.... And, in case you're wondering, the rest of the movie theatre wasn't exactly in hysterics, either. The marketing of this film has been incredibly smart. Trust me, it's average. Not a complete POS, but very, very AVERAGE. I have to admit: after minute 90 (or so) I started playing games on my phone. So maybe it got really hilarious after that. Expand
  32. SteveH
    Aug 5, 2009
    4
    Don't believe the hype. The beginning is very funny but slowly goes down familar territory. Some originals twists but not that funny.
  33. DanaM
    Jun 21, 2009
    4
    Not sure what all the adulation is about with this movie. My wife and I found this movie quite lame with a few chuckles here and there. I suppose it depends on what you find funny and what you find stupid. The scenes with Mike Tyson are worthless and a waste of time. There are far better movies out there to spend your money on. Don't waste your money here.
  34. TedE.
    Jul 31, 2009
    4
    A potentially funny movie that is marred by some real offensive racial stereotyping. This movie can essentially be summed up as "White Guys Pass Out then Meet Goofy Minorities in Vegas." But Ken Jeong's character, Mr. Chow, really tops the list of offenses. Ken, who is Korean, does such an insulting impression of what he THINKS Chinese people sound like, it practically eclipses A potentially funny movie that is marred by some real offensive racial stereotyping. This movie can essentially be summed up as "White Guys Pass Out then Meet Goofy Minorities in Vegas." But Ken Jeong's character, Mr. Chow, really tops the list of offenses. Ken, who is Korean, does such an insulting impression of what he THINKS Chinese people sound like, it practically eclipses Mickey Rooney's infamous role as a Japanese stereotype in Breakfast with Tiffany's. Expand
  35. Aug 9, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A decent movie. Had alot of humour in, no doubt about that. Characters were interesting and funny. Acting was very good. Only one part (spoiler) is when they actually find their friend, turns out he was on the roof all along. Only reason why he couldn't get down was because the door was locked from the outside. Why didn't he go yelling around on the roof for the people down below? He even threw a madrass on a tower spike of the building, yet he didn't go to the workers that went up with a crane to remove and yell for help? Why not throw things down onto the streets below to get peoples attention? That was the most retarded thing I've ever seen in a movie in a long while. What was the director thinking? Other than that really stupid thing it was a decent movie. Expand
  36. Sep 28, 2014
    5
    The Hangover is a fun caper which takes "what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas" to the next level. Still, I will admit to being slightly let down overall. Good, not great.
  37. Feb 15, 2013
    5
    A film that does not personally favor. Sometimes it makes you boring. The scored with 5 argument is good.
  38. Jan 6, 2013
    6
    It was a crazy funny adventure that you end up following closely to figure out what the hells happening. Zach Galifinakis has a breakthrough performance that will jump-start his comedy career. Funny but it gets so ridiculous that I don't care after a while.
  39. Nov 16, 2013
    6
    The Hangover is long and loose.
    The story is poor, the dialogue is good, and the pace is slow. The only real positive is that its just entertaining enough to keep going.
  40. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    Everyone was saying this was hilarious, so I watched it. I wouldn't go so far as to say the laughs are non-stop, but there are some and the cast is good enough to pull them off. Nothing too special.
  41. Apr 28, 2015
    6
    Some of the most memorable images in The Hangover come before the action even begins. The credits roll over forbidding shots of Las Vegas at dusk that suggest menace lurking just beneath the party-friendly surface. What happens there stays there, we’re frequently told, but what about the untold stories that end badly? The Hangover doesn’t really run with that idea. In fact, once itSome of the most memorable images in The Hangover come before the action even begins. The credits roll over forbidding shots of Las Vegas at dusk that suggest menace lurking just beneath the party-friendly surface. What happens there stays there, we’re frequently told, but what about the untold stories that end badly? The Hangover doesn’t really run with that idea. In fact, once it establishes its promising premise, Todd Phillips’ film doesn’t really run anywhere so much as amble. It’s an agreeably unambitious comedy that might be called a romp, if that word didn’t imply a little too much energy.

    Groom-to-be Justin Bartha sets off for Vegas, towing two of his best friends—uptight dentist Ed Helms and smooth-talking schoolteacher Bradley Cooper—and his odd future-brother-in-law, Zach Galifianakis. After a rooftop toast, the group hits the strip, then wakes up the next day unable to recall the events of the night before, adventures that left Helms missing a tooth; dropped a chicken, a tiger, and a baby in their suite; and took Bartha out of the picture entirely. In order to find their friend and return him to L.A. in time for the wedding, they set out to piece together what the hell happened.

    It’s a neat idea used as little more than a clothesline on which to hang some pretty soggy comic bits. The Taser gags that crop up when the gang gets arrested might be inevitable, but do they have to go on for what feels like half the film’s running time? Cooper is all Vince Vaughn smarm with no Vince Vaughn vulnerability; Galifianakis at least brings some welcome unpredictability to the proceedings, although that has as much to do with his reliably unnerving presence as anything he’s given to do. Helms’ henpecked rage recalls some of the male anxiety on display in Phillips’ much better Old School, but the screenplay by Jon Lucas and Scott Moore (Ghosts Of Girlfriends Past, etc.) keeps getting in the way of any spontaneity or depth. The moment the film threatens to let the cast—who barely seem like acquaintances, much less friends—play off each other too much, or attempts to turn into a comedy about anything rather than a bunch of incidents, it’s on to the next round of mild amusement. It’s a film about forgetting that seems designed to be forgotten.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. A piercingly funny, twisted "whatever-happens-in-Vegas" caper.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    90
    At once raucously free-wheeling and meticulously contrived, picture satisfies as a boys-gone-wild laff riot that also clicks as a seriocomic beat-the-clock detective story.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    70
    Phillips can't bring himself to push the material into truly outré territory, or to characterize his growth-impaired guys as degenerate creeps rather than lovable scamps.