Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: March 10, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 178 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
98
Mixed:
40
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
HorrorCoffeeApr 9, 2012
If you compare this to the original Hills Have Eyes there are some differences but I have to say I enjoyed it. It really wasn't a Horror movie but it was pretty good. Usually remakes sucks pretty bad but this wasn't a BAD remake.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
MattApr 20, 2006
Tedious, predictable and not an ounce of originality. Maybe obvious comments for a remake, but the fact that it was helmed by Alexandre (High Tension) Aja raised my expectations considerably. What a shame he quite obviously caved into Tedious, predictable and not an ounce of originality. Maybe obvious comments for a remake, but the fact that it was helmed by Alexandre (High Tension) Aja raised my expectations considerably. What a shame he quite obviously caved into film-company expectations and just chucked out a standard mall horror. If I see another film that has a 'reveal all' from a wall covered in newspaper clippings, I will throw myself under a train, I swear. Occasionally bloody, but the completely one-dimensional characterisation and extremely dodgy political message are what really shock. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
khutchNov 14, 2013
It's nothing groundbreaking, never think of leaving your comfort zone, everything is shown here you've probably seen in another place, but who cares? It's fun.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
Equally amusing and scary "The Hills have eyes" creates enough suspense and horror to give of the feeling of being in a really bad situation. And I mean REALLY bad. I liked the film, and thought it deserved a decent rating.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
GamingGuyJul 12, 2014
The movie was good. It wasn't the same as Wes Craven's film. But Aja really did a good job. The acting was decent which is why I rated this a 6. There was some parts I personally thought was fake especially Brenda's rape scene and one cryingThe movie was good. It wasn't the same as Wes Craven's film. But Aja really did a good job. The acting was decent which is why I rated this a 6. There was some parts I personally thought was fake especially Brenda's rape scene and one crying scene. As for Bobby, he really was great. I believed that all his parts were well acted. and believable. Especially at the scene seeing his father getting burned alive. **** kill those **** Nice!! The make-up was outstanding especially for Lizard and Ruby. But the only thing that was disappointing to me was that in the 1977 version, Ruby was a normal human being. Then the re-make showed her as all deformed which I thought was stupid. Other than that, Lizard was badass!! But damn, that make-up was just done well. I mean, it was done very well!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
charlieW24Oct 2, 2012
'The Hills Have Eyes' begins with a fresh, strong and horrifying start, but as the film hits the last third it feels like everything you've seen before and with a bit of cheesiness in there. As mentioned the start is strong acting and truly'The Hills Have Eyes' begins with a fresh, strong and horrifying start, but as the film hits the last third it feels like everything you've seen before and with a bit of cheesiness in there. As mentioned the start is strong acting and truly horrifying for a horror film, but blood and needless gore replace where there could have been more dramatic humanity and thrills. Worth a watch for its start, but a bit disappointing towards the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
The Hills Have Eyes is lacking only in delivery. It needs a twist, a catch, something to captivate the audience and leave them satisfied at the end. Instead, it just ends.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
EricY.Mar 11, 2006
This movie was very interesting. I enjoyed the suspense and the freaks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
cybrswtAug 1, 2006
This was an ok horror remake, I liked the story line better in the original but the graphics was much better in the remake ( story line almost follows the original but not as good ).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HalB.Mar 12, 2006
A better-than-average movie for this genre -- the atmospherics of the New Mexico desert are creepy and effective. [Spoiler omitted.] But I agree with the EW reviewer who points out that the "monsters" themselves are victims; at least there A better-than-average movie for this genre -- the atmospherics of the New Mexico desert are creepy and effective. [Spoiler omitted.] But I agree with the EW reviewer who points out that the "monsters" themselves are victims; at least there is one sympathetic "monster" in this over-the-top tale of mutant revenge. The killings are gut-wrenching to the extreme. Definitely not a "date movie"! Very similar to "Wolf Creek"... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayD.May 15, 2006
It is very simple why this movie is a 5. The first half of this movie *mos def* delivers! However, the second half of this movie is "Rambo on crack" and is quite retarded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AnthonyL.Jun 20, 2006
Shock horror indeed. The concept is ok, the kills are ruthless and horrifying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RD.Aug 23, 2006
Very Scary at times. The violnce is very gruesome and morbid. Yet Lizard and Pluto are very menacing and cold-blooded in their performances. At times, the black humor rocks. But the movie essentially is TIMEPASS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnMar 16, 2006
The acting in the lead roles was better than in the original, but the role of the villains was ruined by the lame backstory and the lack of characterization given to them. It's a gory thrill, even if it disappointed me, and I would The acting in the lead roles was better than in the original, but the role of the villains was ruined by the lame backstory and the lack of characterization given to them. It's a gory thrill, even if it disappointed me, and I would easily recommend it over any other horror movie remake in the past few years, except for maybe "Willard" and "Dawn of the Dead." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Creepy fun in the beginning, but then becomes overkill towards the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmurabiM.Aug 16, 2006
"The Hills Have Eyes" enjoys of pride and suffers of prejudice. This is a good remake from the Wes Craven original: enjoyable, interesting and creepy; the new version has some interesting points of view, including the poltical one. The new "The Hills Have Eyes" enjoys of pride and suffers of prejudice. This is a good remake from the Wes Craven original: enjoyable, interesting and creepy; the new version has some interesting points of view, including the poltical one. The new version had some creepy feeling and an aura of terror and tenderness that seems at first glance paradoxical. Unfortunately, the movie has the prejudice of critics and devotic fans of the original: it looks terribly innecessary. If the studios, filmmakers and talent involved in these remakes of 70s horror films put their creativity on some original ideas, we could have movies more appealling and interestng, and not the same but with a different (renewed but boring) taste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SEROJJan 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A movie with very few scary and a lot disgusting scenes! There were so many unnecessary scenes! Like the one where a zombie steals mom's body and eats it! That's not scary, that's disgusting! The rape scene as well! I think if we ignore some of the negatives, this is actually a good horror movie but with very few scary scenes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
WJSJun 19, 2015
Although I saw the original 'The Hills Have Eyes", I don't really remember all that much about it. I wish I could say the same about this slow moving, extremely violent and bloody remake which just isn't that great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ninosanAug 20, 2016
Wow this was a gore fest, in a good way of course.
It doesn't shy away from showing you some disturbing violence, and makes you face the horrors that are the murders and the murderers themselves.
The bad decisions made by some characters
Wow this was a gore fest, in a good way of course.
It doesn't shy away from showing you some disturbing violence, and makes you face the horrors that are the murders and the murderers themselves.
The bad decisions made by some characters made it painful to watch at some parts but besides that, this is by far one of the best slasher movies I've ever seen.
Watch it if you like a whole lot of blood, and don't shy away from some top notch brutality.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews