Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: March 9, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 233 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
151
Mixed:
33
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
It is not as exciting as I wanted it to be and it is not as scary as I would expected it to be. For the scary/horror genre, it is an average film.....
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
BrandonBOct 5, 2009
I guess the movie it self wasnt all that bad....but boy was i let down after hearing of all the "great reviews" this film was given. one review said this was "On Par with Jaws" You kidding me!!!!! I was expecting tense scary moments butI guess the movie it self wasnt all that bad....but boy was i let down after hearing of all the "great reviews" this film was given. one review said this was "On Par with Jaws" You kidding me!!!!! I was expecting tense scary moments but instead all i found my self doing when the monster appeared was casually say "o i wonder if the thing is going to take someone...." in the end if you want an okay monster movie to watch go out and rent it. Jaws i felt terrified to swim in the ocean for awhile The Host... well I think ill still brave tubing down rivers without any fear. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
BlancoA.Mar 16, 2007
Sadly, for the majority of the film, I was just bored. If you want to make a funy scary movie, try the Slither script, or Evil Dead, etc. This one really missed the mark.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
RobertK.Mar 11, 2007
It seems like low-budget sci-fi, except for the animatronics of the creature. A few points are really funny, but there are lots of inconsistencies, such as the creature's lair being full of bodies on one scene, then empty the next. It seems like low-budget sci-fi, except for the animatronics of the creature. A few points are really funny, but there are lots of inconsistencies, such as the creature's lair being full of bodies on one scene, then empty the next. Given that I went because M/C gave it 8.5, I was disappointed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ryancarroll88Dec 5, 2010
Billed as a horror movie, Joon-ho Bong's "The Host" is more of a farce, immersing itself in over-drama, wasting no time on suspense, and not even developing any type of setting. The acting is all over the place - take one instance when theBilled as a horror movie, Joon-ho Bong's "The Host" is more of a farce, immersing itself in over-drama, wasting no time on suspense, and not even developing any type of setting. The acting is all over the place - take one instance when the family is mourning over the loss of the little girl (the hinging factor of the movie), and all of the actors transition instantly from mourning to just plain silliness, making the entire sequence ineffective. The monster itself, as awesome as it looks, doesn't even feel like a threat most of the time, which is a result of both bad writing and bad sound editing - bad writing because the entire city doesn't seem to worry about a colossal river creature eating and stealing humans, and bad sound editing because every time an action sequence begins, the volume of the soundtrack and effects drop significantly, which really kills the intensity of those moments. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
avatar16Oct 29, 2011
Franchement, je ne sais pas quoi penser de ce film. Pour sûr, il se démarque des banals films de monstre. En effet, le réalisateur a compris le véritable sens de ce genre deFranchement, je ne sais pas quoi penser de ce film. Pour sûr, il se démarque des banals films de monstre. En effet, le réalisateur a compris le véritable sens de ce genre de long-métrage, à savoir, critiquer à travers quelque chose de divertissant pour le jeune public. Et des enjeux politiques sur la Corée du Sud par rapport à la présence des troupes américaines, il y en a! Mais le problème, c'est que The Host n'a rien d'un divertissement quelconque. De ce fait, il fait fuir les adeptes du genre (souvent des adolescents) à cause de sa mise en scène vraiment spéciale et de sa bande son inadéquate. Reste des effets numériques plutôt satisfaisants pour un tel film (11 millions de dollars de budget) et des acteurs pas si mauvais. Mais à jouer avec la mise en scène en nous faisant oublier qu'il s'agit d'un film de monstre, le réalisateur perd franchement de son public. L'ennuie ne pointe pas le bout de son nez. Juste l'étonnement... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeFeb 2, 2013
'The Host' is a bad work of terror. It's entertaining but it's depressing to see all these pictures "dramatic". The monster is very poorly made ​​computer.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
blakKSep 5, 2007
A mediocre movie. When I rented this, I was expecting a good horror flick, but it's actually more horror/comedy. There are definitely a few funny moments, but the film keeps switching from light-hearted to serious moments. After a A mediocre movie. When I rented this, I was expecting a good horror flick, but it's actually more horror/comedy. There are definitely a few funny moments, but the film keeps switching from light-hearted to serious moments. After a while, the picture just starts to drag on. Overall, the plot didn't make much sense. I can't rate this entirely as a bad film, since the comedy worked... otherwise, there's not much to see here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MartinF.Mar 11, 2007
Entertaining at times with distracting comedic slapstick interludes. The movie attempts to be more than a monster/horror formula but the distractions are too numerous and are at times boring. The monster is a silly accrobatic cross between Entertaining at times with distracting comedic slapstick interludes. The movie attempts to be more than a monster/horror formula but the distractions are too numerous and are at times boring. The monster is a silly accrobatic cross between the worm creatures of Tremors and a lizzard like dinosaur who chases down the locals ala Godzilla. Yawn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LarryKApr 14, 2007
Are movie critics and the audience who liked this movie just a bunch of elitists out of touch with mainstream audiences, or did I just not get it? Upon viewing "The Host" trailer, and with vivid memories of how silly and loveable "Kung Fu Are movie critics and the audience who liked this movie just a bunch of elitists out of touch with mainstream audiences, or did I just not get it? Upon viewing "The Host" trailer, and with vivid memories of how silly and loveable "Kung Fu Hustle" was, I became thoroughly excited about the potential for yet another clever and funny Asian movie. Then once I read the movie critics' praises for "The Host" I was certain that I was in store for a silly bagful of thrills, laughs, and scares all wrapped up in a thoroughly enjoyable Asian monster movie. Unfortunately the movie does not live up to its billing. To have compared this movie to "Jaws", as one critic did, is a total and misleading overreaction. "The Host" has a couple of thrilling moments, but it isn't thrilling. It has a few funny moments, but it isn't a funny. And it has a few scary moments, but the it just isn't scary. I'll have to admit that the movie had me on the edge of my seat, but that was only because I was anxious to leave. Perhaps it was the political satire that was so appealing to those that loved this movie. Maybe that's the answer. If you're looking for political satire, then you too may love "The Host". However, if you're expecting a truly funny, thrilling, and scary movie, I think you'll be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeAAug 20, 2007
A bit of a disappointment. I think that part of the problem was very low quality dubbing. It was probably much better in subtitles
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelL.Mar 10, 2007
Not so much. I REALLY wanted to like this movie, I haven't been genuinely scared by a horror film since "The Descent". The reviews are so positive; maybe that's why I'm disappointed. Built up too big. But, frankly, it's Not so much. I REALLY wanted to like this movie, I haven't been genuinely scared by a horror film since "The Descent". The reviews are so positive; maybe that's why I'm disappointed. Built up too big. But, frankly, it's just so-so. Great cast. Pretty dumb-dumb script. Decent FX. But nothing new. Evil government. Disfunctional, clownish family ( a little too "Three Stooges" for my taste). "Tremors" combined horror and humor far more effectively. This was "Little Miss Sunshine" meets "C.H.U.D.". And that's not a great combination--then again, that might have been more fun than "The Host". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BobHAug 25, 2007
I wanted to like it, but it's not a good movie. There was so much undeveloped potential with the plot, character development, satire, climax. The only worthwhile thing I got out of my two hours was a libertarian story, like Katrina & I wanted to like it, but it's not a good movie. There was so much undeveloped potential with the plot, character development, satire, climax. The only worthwhile thing I got out of my two hours was a libertarian story, like Katrina & New Orleans, that demonstrates that the government and its associated bureaucracy is the real monster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CalebHFeb 13, 2009
To put it simply; sickening, overrated, chilling, deathly, yet captivating at the same time. Best monster movie ever? I think not. Good monster movie. Just barely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MHDec 14, 2007
The whole movie acts as an insult to film-making. the plot itself is illogical and has stupidity written all over it. i wonder why no critic mentioned the horrible and irrational script this movie is based on. the movie only succeeds in The whole movie acts as an insult to film-making. the plot itself is illogical and has stupidity written all over it. i wonder why no critic mentioned the horrible and irrational script this movie is based on. the movie only succeeds in portraying the Korean government as a irresponsible bunch of people with no idea what so ever as to what they are up against or what they are doing to identify and solve the crisis at hand. the stereotypical portrayal of the american goverment is another thing which only worsens the experience. last but not least the acting is one of the worst i've seen in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ValHJan 29, 2008
Why do these foreign films have to get a 0 or a 10? The Host is a solid 5 or 6. The family are a sort of Korean version of the family in "Liitle Miss Sunshine". A likeable mess that you want to win in the end. The horror takes a big second Why do these foreign films have to get a 0 or a 10? The Host is a solid 5 or 6. The family are a sort of Korean version of the family in "Liitle Miss Sunshine". A likeable mess that you want to win in the end. The horror takes a big second place to the comedy. Overall it wasn't a disaster, but it was no masterpiece, either as a thriller or as a relationship piece. As I said, it was a solid 5 or 6/10. Rent it if there's nothing else calling to you at Blockbuster. I'm still trying to work out why so many professional critics pronounced it a masterpiece. It was fine, but nothing worth catching a bus in the rain for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PeterJ.Feb 25, 2008
The dialog, or lack thereof, pretty much killed this movie for me. With the review it received I was expecting much better. If they took this movie more seriously and left out the idiocy I would have given it an 8!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BroyaxJan 12, 2017
Les films coréens sont bizarres en général et en particulier celui-ci, ce "drôle" de film avec un gros monstre dedans... un "drôle" de film, car on ne sait jamais si c'est de lard ou du cochon, une caricature à l'insu de son ignorance, uneLes films coréens sont bizarres en général et en particulier celui-ci, ce "drôle" de film avec un gros monstre dedans... un "drôle" de film, car on ne sait jamais si c'est de lard ou du cochon, une caricature à l'insu de son ignorance, une franche comédie ou un drame larmoyant mélodramatique violoneux comme les Coréens savent (aussi) le faire.

Bref, on ne sait pas sur quel pied danser et c'est fort désagréable parce que du coup, on a bien l'air con. Quand le monstre bouffe des gens pour les régurgiter ensuite (!) on se dit que c'est pour rigoler (?) ; le coup de l'agent jaune (en référence sans nul doute à l'agent orange du Vietnam) est-ce du pur cynisme ou une simple pique à l'égard des Américains ? ; cette espèce de famille constituée de crétins complètement idiots qui partent à la chasse au monstre, la fleur au fusil, c'est bien pour rire, non ?...

Putain, je suis perdu. C'est comme cette fin mi-figue mi-raisin. Mais bon, en dehors de ces considérations d'interprétations, le film bénéficie d'une mise en scène très correcte malgré un budget apparemment limité (les effets spéciaux sont pauvres, pour ne pas dire minables) et malgré ses presque deux heures, on ne s'y ennuie pas ! ce qui n'est déjà pas si mal, finalement.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews