The House of the Devil

The House of the Devil Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sam is a pretty college sophomore, so desperate to earn some cash for a deposit on an apartment that she accepts a babysitting job even after she finds out there is no baby. Mr. and Mrs. Ulman are the older couple who lure Sam out to their creeky Victorian mansion deep in the woods, just inSam is a pretty college sophomore, so desperate to earn some cash for a deposit on an apartment that she accepts a babysitting job even after she finds out there is no baby. Mr. and Mrs. Ulman are the older couple who lure Sam out to their creeky Victorian mansion deep in the woods, just in time for a total lunar eclipse. Megan is Sam’s best friend, who gives her a ride out to the house, and reluctantly leaves her there despite suspecting that something is amiss. Victor at first seems like just a creepy guy lurking around the house, but quickly makes it clear that Sam will end this night in a bloody fight for her life. (Magnolia Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. It is a fine little old-school thriller.
  2. 83
    If nothing else, Ti West’s retro “Satan rules!” thriller The House Of The Devil gets the look and tone of early-’80s horror schlock exactly right.
  3. 80
    The buildup is undeniably effective; for most of the movie, it provides the same kind of thrills as "Paranormal Activity," if somewhat less brilliantly.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    An almost fetishistic re-creation of a horror-suspense movie from around 1978.
  5. 70
    Pumping the audience with inhale-exhale zooms and out-of-the-way close-ups, director Ti West's ratcheting of suspense in this alone-in-an-empty-house tale is proficient, if not psychologically piercing, in the best "Let's Scare Jessica to Death" fashion.
  6. Writer and director Ti West accesses all the hot buttons for fans of the genre in a manner that doesn't make fun of it (and its followers) in a "Scary Movie" way, but instead treats it with the appropriate amount of respect. (Key word: appropriate.)
  7. This is the perfect illustration of the banality of most scare movies.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. TarekM.
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Finally a correct homage to the 80's horror flicks without any stupid quotes or irony. Rock on Ti West!
  2. PaulD
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    This movie is awesome. Rarely are horror movies crafted with such obvious care and attention. It relies on pacing and quality rather than This movie is awesome. Rarely are horror movies crafted with such obvious care and attention. It relies on pacing and quality rather than in-your-face relentless violence or cliche shocks. One of the best horror movies of the decade. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    Having heard only good things about this movie from critics and fans, I had to check it out. I gotta say, it certainly didn't disappoint me!Having heard only good things about this movie from critics and fans, I had to check it out. I gotta say, it certainly didn't disappoint me! The House of the Devil is essentially an 80's movie that was released in 2009. It has all the zoom shots, freeze frames, occult themes, and blood that you'd expect from one while not succumbing to the cheap jump scares and bad CGI that's present in many of today's horror films. The movie is about a college student who takes a babysitting job during a lunar eclipse. However, instead of taking care of children, she has to take care of this mysterious old woman who never leaves her room. The dark house, her employers' odd behavior, and this strange woman upstairs adds a layer of mystery to the film, but that mystery can only go on so long until it becomes boring. The slow middle act is only a distraction for what is to come, however, and the film takes a complete 180 into its third act and becomes a bloody, scary, and intense film that kept me gripping my seat for the final 30 minutes. It's on Netflix if you're interested. Expand
  4. JT
    Dec 12, 2009
    6
    The plot for this film has been done a million times (or is it two million?). But the thing that gives it an edge is that the characters are The plot for this film has been done a million times (or is it two million?). But the thing that gives it an edge is that the characters are smart & realistic, aspects which are usually tossed aside in 99% of other horror films. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2015
    5
    Just an average horror film. Alot of build up for not alot of scare. Just my opinion!

    It would've been better if perhaps there wasn't as
    Just an average horror film. Alot of build up for not alot of scare. Just my opinion!

    It would've been better if perhaps there wasn't as much attention to detail. Like boring detail.
    Expand
  6. AndrewS.
    Nov 4, 2009
    4
    The build-up hints at something great lurking around the corner... and even pushes your wits at anticipation. And pushes it more, and more, The build-up hints at something great lurking around the corner... and even pushes your wits at anticipation. And pushes it more, and more, and even more still. The only 'scares' are ridiculously unexplainable, coming in the last 5 minutes but are too cheap and too fleeting to make up for a movie that really amounts to nothing but an homage to the look (but little else) of 80s horror. Collapse
  7. zach
    Feb 10, 2010
    0
    The last 10 minutes are just horror cliches. Once the ritual took place i predicted exactly what would happen utterlly horrible no reedeming The last 10 minutes are just horror cliches. Once the ritual took place i predicted exactly what would happen utterlly horrible no reedeming qualities what so ever. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    From Sam Raimi's "Drag Me to Hell" to more comedic efforts like "Shaun of the Dead," the past decade has seen a number of solid new entries in the horror canon. We run down the 15 best-reviewed horror movies from the past ten years.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.

Awards & Rankings