Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Jun 12, 2014
    70
    Though the dialogue is pretty basic and the narrative dots don't always quite connect, The Human Race, in its own gutsy, grindhouse-movie way, manages style, vision and tension.
  2. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jun 27, 2014
    60
    Compensating for its less than convincing special effects with some intriguing plot twists and bracingly nihilistic situations, The Human Race is a reasonably compelling low-budget genre item.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Jun 17, 2014
    40
    Real suspense and shocks are MIA in a movie that’s eventful but lacks the atmospherics needed to be scary.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Jun 12, 2014
    40
    One test for movies like this is whether they bemoan the inevitable gore or revel in it; The Human Race too often falls into the latter, amplifying and focusing on the bloodshed.
  5. 38
    It’s not art. But The Human Race does manage to take a worn out formula and nonsense story and finds a few novel touches, a little humor and hints of pathos in between the exploding heads.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Klimek
    Jun 10, 2014
    10
    On your mark, get set, go find something else to watch! Because The Human Race, a dreary, smeary, low-low-budget but even lower-inspiration horror flick from British writer-director Paul Hough, is likely to leave viewers rueing the craven, disappointing species into which they were, through no fault of their own, born.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jun 17, 2014
    0
    This is a laughably bad movie, but an amazing drinking game waiting to happen.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    Last night I felt bore .Then I decided to watch movies . This movie was not in my watched list .Then I decided to watch it. This movie gaveLast night I felt bore .Then I decided to watch movies . This movie was not in my watched list .Then I decided to watch it. This movie gave me heavy enjoyment. :) Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    2
    extremely low budget flick. i guess it's okay in that regard....but still....kind of a waste of time to watch. i think the positive reviewsextremely low budget flick. i guess it's okay in that regard....but still....kind of a waste of time to watch. i think the positive reviews came from people who made the film. not sure though. anyways.

    it's. just. not. very. good.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    Very gripping. You don't know who will win but it will keep you watching until the end. Good acting by a bunch of people I have never seenVery gripping. You don't know who will win but it will keep you watching until the end. Good acting by a bunch of people I have never seen before. I hope there is a sequel. Full Review »