Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 986 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire begins as Katniss Everdeen returns home safe after winning the 74th Annual Hunger Games along with fellow tribute Peeta Mellark. Winning means that they must turn around and leave their family and close friends, embarking on a Victor's Tour of the districts. Along the way Katniss senses that a rebellion is simmering, but the Capitol is still very much in control as President Snow prepares the 75th Annual Hunger Games (The Quarter Quell), a competition that could change Panem forever. [Lionsgate] Expand
  • Director: Francis Lawrence
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Thriller
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 146 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 19, 2013
    91
    The Hunger Games: Catching Fire is movie escapism made with intelligence, and that doesn't come around often enough. As I sensed this movie ending I wished it wouldn't, and when it did I wanted the next one now. Take that, Bilbo.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Nov 21, 2013
    88
    Very few people will take in this spectacle of a society amusing itself to death, of “reality games” and the vapid media hysteria that surrounds them, and not draw a parallel to our own televised bread and circuses. At its best, “Catching Fire” is a blockbuster that bites the culture that made it.
  3. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Nov 19, 2013
    83
    Lawrence steps up. And her character's fierce independence provides a welcome alternative to certain vampire-fixated young-adult heroines who define themselves entirely through the attention of much-much-older men.
  4. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Nov 19, 2013
    79
    Steady-handed action is enough to elevate this film above its predecessor.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Nov 19, 2013
    75
    Catching Fire has the bonus of a genuinely charismatic performer at its center. Jennifer Lawrence, now an Oscar winner thanks to "Silver Linings Playbook," emotes like crazy throughout "Catching Fire," but you never catch her acting.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Insofar as Catching Fire does ignite, the match to the flame is Jennifer Lawrence, who gives Katniss layers she lacks even in the books’ fairly rich characterization.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Nov 19, 2013
    50
    Deep thoughts about re-directing cynically manipulated celebrity, lump in the throat moments at people rising up against their oppressors, a couple of memorable deaths and attempts at sacrifice play as flat when there’s nothing around them to serve as contrast.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 236
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    A must watch !, this movie is well done. This time there's no sharky cameras, that's an improvement. It's start only at the middle of the movie, but personally its a 2h30 film that passed so fast ! Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    It's just like the book, far better than the previous movie filled with drama and action! A must have and must see! It's easy to follow, emotional and brilliant! Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I really liked The Hunger Games, it was truly different, original and overall very entertaining and touching. Catching fire is a really big improvement on the first Hunger Games, no shaky cameras first of all. Not always that we get good sequels, this middle installment of a great upcoming trilogy is fun, although gripping and violent, entertaining for everyone looking for a good time. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When the first movie came out, I knew they would overhype them, and I didn't come out of the movie impressed, but neither was I disappointed. For this movie, I expected it to be about the same or less, as the 2nd book was my least favorite of the two.

    Boy, was I wrong!

    Things aren't well in the world of Katniss. She just wants to live, and that's about it. As a result, she never thinks about the significance of the actions that she makes. As a result, she now finds herself as the face of rebellion, and President Snow is none too happy. She must now act for the Capital or watch everyone she loves die because of her actions in the first movie.

    The movie does a magnificent job of showing how oblivious Katniss was to the problem's she created. Jennifer Lawrence did an excellent job showing how aloof Katniss wanted to be in this whole affair as she slips into insanity. As Katniss comes to realize how shallow and pathetic is, she begins to realize how important Peeta is just like the books. The other character's in the cast developed appropriately, showing how Katniss' actions have changed their lives and shows the cruelty of the Capital and it's extravagances much better than the first movie.

    The weakest part of the 2nd book, the Victory Tour wasn't rushed over, and that came to be a good thing. It allowed them to really emphasis the fact that her train ride is never ending, and that she will always suffer for her actions.

    Surprisingly, the movie was quite funny as well. Caesar's infectious laugh had me going every time, and the nonchalance of the Capital culture to their own cruelty in their gaudy culture was emphasized more than the first, which made the situation of Katniss and her loved ones more significant.

    The arena was very well done, and really helped give life to some things that I couldn't do with the arena she was left in. The movie did a better job, in my opinion, of grasping the tension in the arena that the book did.

    All in all, an excellent movie and better than the first.
    Expand
  5. LTR
    Nov 23, 2013
    8
    This is a great movie in the Hunger Games series. The story is great, the characters are great and the hunger games itself is way more enjoyable and creative. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    Catching Fire takes what was wrong with the first film, and learns from it. This is the first true Hunger Games adaptation that captures the chaos of the games in full effect. Catching Fire's film direction and devotion to staying true in story, makes me wish the first film was redone in this manner. Jennifer Lawrence and cast improve on their performances, and I am pleased to inform everyone that the camera-shake monster isn't in Catching Fire. Thank freaking God! Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2014
    0
    How is this piece of crap rated 8? The plot makes no sense, the acting is average. The movie itself is an idiotic boring cruel story. Are people really so stupid to enjoy this? It makes me sad... Expand

See all 236 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year

    Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year Image
    Published: November 19, 2013
    Get details on 18 noteworthy films due in theaters over the holiday season, including an "Anchorman" sequel plus new features from David O. Russell, Spike Jonze, Spike Lee, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, and more.