Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire begins as Katniss Everdeen returns home safe after winning the 74th Annual Hunger Games along with fellow tribute Peeta Mellark. Winning means that they must turn around and leave their family and close friends, embarking on a Victor's Tour of the districts.The Hunger Games: Catching Fire begins as Katniss Everdeen returns home safe after winning the 74th Annual Hunger Games along with fellow tribute Peeta Mellark. Winning means that they must turn around and leave their family and close friends, embarking on a Victor's Tour of the districts. Along the way Katniss senses that a rebellion is simmering, but the Capitol is still very much in control as President Snow prepares the 75th Annual Hunger Games (The Quarter Quell), a competition that could change Panem forever. [Lionsgate] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 19, 2013
    91
    The Hunger Games: Catching Fire is movie escapism made with intelligence, and that doesn't come around often enough. As I sensed this movie ending I wished it wouldn't, and when it did I wanted the next one now. Take that, Bilbo.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Nov 21, 2013
    88
    Very few people will take in this spectacle of a society amusing itself to death, of “reality games” and the vapid media hysteria that surrounds them, and not draw a parallel to our own televised bread and circuses. At its best, “Catching Fire” is a blockbuster that bites the culture that made it.
  3. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Nov 19, 2013
    83
    Lawrence steps up. And her character's fierce independence provides a welcome alternative to certain vampire-fixated young-adult heroines who define themselves entirely through the attention of much-much-older men.
  4. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Nov 19, 2013
    79
    Steady-handed action is enough to elevate this film above its predecessor.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Nov 19, 2013
    75
    Catching Fire has the bonus of a genuinely charismatic performer at its center. Jennifer Lawrence, now an Oscar winner thanks to "Silver Linings Playbook," emotes like crazy throughout "Catching Fire," but you never catch her acting.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Insofar as Catching Fire does ignite, the match to the flame is Jennifer Lawrence, who gives Katniss layers she lacks even in the books’ fairly rich characterization.
  7. 50
    Deep thoughts about re-directing cynically manipulated celebrity, lump in the throat moments at people rising up against their oppressors, a couple of memorable deaths and attempts at sacrifice play as flat when there’s nothing around them to serve as contrast.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 256
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I really liked The Hunger Games, it was truly different, original and overall very entertaining and touching. Catching fire is a really bigI really liked The Hunger Games, it was truly different, original and overall very entertaining and touching. Catching fire is a really big improvement on the first Hunger Games, no shaky cameras first of all. Not always that we get good sequels, this middle installment of a great upcoming trilogy is fun, although gripping and violent, entertaining for everyone looking for a good time. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    A wonderful thrill ride of a sequel that vastly improves the first film in every way! As a reader of the book, I'm proud to say I reallyA wonderful thrill ride of a sequel that vastly improves the first film in every way! As a reader of the book, I'm proud to say I really enjoyed this. Bring on Mockingjay Part 1! Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    I loved the first Hunger Games film, but I realized after watching it a second time it was merely a nice setup for something potentiallyI loved the first Hunger Games film, but I realized after watching it a second time it was merely a nice setup for something potentially greater. Catching Fire is excellent entertainment but it's the deeper plot and societal references that will grab you and keep you long after the action has faded. I didn't read any of the books, and as much as I'd like to after seeing the first two movies I almost want to hold off to maximize the impact of the movies. Maybe a "10" isn't a balanced score, but I am hard pressed to think of a movie in recent memory that had me so wired and on the edge of my seat. Jennifer Lawrence is fantastic and the cast surrounding her all turn in great performances as well. This Hunger Games is more visceral - I didn't want it to end, ever. We'll get Mockingjay to close out the trilogy and I was thrilled to hear that it will be a two-part movie. It's just sad to think that there can only be one more complete chapter in what has quickly become the coolest franchise since Harry Potter, especially as The Hobbit has turned out to be nothing special. To Danny Strong (screenwriter) I say: do us proud - Suzanne Collins' oversight will do wonders to keep the movies faithful, but it's your transition from literary fiction to silver-screen entertainment that needs to land the most. So excited. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    Catching Fire has improved significantly upon the original Hunger Games film. Now we are presented with less shaky cam and more depth.Catching Fire has improved significantly upon the original Hunger Games film. Now we are presented with less shaky cam and more depth. However, the ending is still too deus-ex-machina-esque... Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    The Hunger Games was a brilliant movie, and this sequel doesn't fail. The movie itself is just really good, they focused a lot on both effectsThe Hunger Games was a brilliant movie, and this sequel doesn't fail. The movie itself is just really good, they focused a lot on both effects but also a good storyline, and this seems to be a perfect combo. I went to the movies with a high expectation, and the movie did not let me down. If you liked "The Hunger Games" then don't hesitate, it's worth your money. The only downside I saw, was how the movie was kind of split up, the first part was really exciting and filled with good moments, but the second half or rather last 1/3 of the movie was a bit dull compared to the rest. Don't let this stop you though, it was a very good movie and it definitely makes me want to buy it when it comes out. Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    "Catching Fire" is a stunning improvement on its predecessor, undeniably more original and mature. The film at last deals with its dystopian"Catching Fire" is a stunning improvement on its predecessor, undeniably more original and mature. The film at last deals with its dystopian premise, expressing points of view on several issues that have emerged in modern societies. Characters seem like they have grown up, and are ready to cope with the horror reality around them. I liked "Catching Fire" for not only condemning the dystopian situation but also going on to overturn it. There are principles on how things happened in Panem established in the first film, that collapse here. Every aspect of the film feels better and more fresh, and, of course, its open-ended finale leads right to "Mockingjay". Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2014
    0
    This film, like many of its kind, was made for one reason and one reason only. To make money. This film has no art, no honesty, no truth, zeroThis film, like many of its kind, was made for one reason and one reason only. To make money. This film has no art, no honesty, no truth, zero passion. This is complete trash, just like Harry Potter. Garbage for kids. Just look at the acting, the actors gave extremely uninspired performances. I hate films like this. Doesn't matter though, they made a bunch of money, and they will make more films like this forever and ever, because idiots keep going to suck it up. Whatever.. Hope you all don't choke on your trash. Expand

See all 256 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year

    Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year Image
    Published: November 19, 2013
    Get details on 18 noteworthy films due in theaters over the holiday season, including an "Anchorman" sequel plus new features from David O. Russell, Spike Jonze, Spike Lee, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, and more.