Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 11, 2013
    100
    An outstanding lead performance by Mads Mikkelsen (who won best actor for the role at Cannes in 2012) anchors this hauntingly layered and nuanced drama of a man falsely accused of a terrible deed.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    This is filmmaking of a high order, even though the production's scale is modest and the climax is not without its facile contrivances.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jul 11, 2013
    88
    Thomas Vinterberg (“The Celebration”) directs with restraint that makes the story all the more affecting.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 15, 2013
    80
    It is forthright, powerful, composed and directed with clarity and overwhelming force, yet capable of great subtlety and nuance.
  5. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 12, 2013
    75
    This is thematically rich material; unfortunately, like a few too many dramas from the past decade, The Hunt resists expressive uses of style, opting instead for gently bobbing handheld camerawork. It's an actor-friendly approach.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jul 11, 2013
    70
    While The Hunt skillfully puts viewers through the wringer, it’s often for no higher purpose than pushing buttons and generating outrage.
  7. Reviewed by: Jon Frosch
    Jul 9, 2013
    50
    Unlike in The Celebration, the cruelty and suffering in The Hunt feel both overly schematic and intellectually muddled.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best films of 2013. Mads Mikkelsen gives an amazing performance worthy of an Oscar nomination. I can't say I'd want toThis is one of the best films of 2013. Mads Mikkelsen gives an amazing performance worthy of an Oscar nomination. I can't say I'd want to watch it again, but this film is deeply powerful. A Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    Great film with some great acting and a satisfying ending. Worth the time and won't let you down, a movie that drags you in and keeps youGreat film with some great acting and a satisfying ending. Worth the time and won't let you down, a movie that drags you in and keeps you there until the end. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    A flawless movie with excellent acting by everyone, excellent directing, excellent writing, excellent character development, strong realisticA flawless movie with excellent acting by everyone, excellent directing, excellent writing, excellent character development, strong realistic dialogue, some characters that I liked 10 out of 10 and definitely a lot of characters that I hated 10 out of 10. A flawless movie that definitely deserves to be in my top 15 movies. Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Mads Mikkelsen plays a kindergarten teacher who's wrongfully accused of inappropriate action with one of the children. This causes theMads Mikkelsen plays a kindergarten teacher who's wrongfully accused of inappropriate action with one of the children. This causes the majority of the small Swedish village to turn viciously against him. This film is stark and bleak (it is, after all Sweden). There's almost no music or manipulative filmmaking by director Thomas Vinterberg ("Celebration"). Still, it packs a powerful punch. Obviously, the subject matter adds to the gravity of the film, but Mikkelsen's subtle, sensitive portrayal lends quiet depth and powerful emotion. (subtitles) Collapse
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    One of the best movies of last year. Enjoying the acting while suffering from the plot. The performance made by Mads Mikkelsen was simply justOne of the best movies of last year. Enjoying the acting while suffering from the plot. The performance made by Mads Mikkelsen was simply just amazing. He didn't really left much impression in the 007 movie, but he sure has got my attention from now on!!!看这片痛苦并且快乐着 Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2015
    8
    The story of a quiet man, working in a school, who is falsely accused of abusing children doesn't sound like thrilling watch, but in the handsThe story of a quiet man, working in a school, who is falsely accused of abusing children doesn't sound like thrilling watch, but in the hands of Thomas Vinterberg this is an absorbing and unsettling film, with a towering performance from Mads Mikkleson at the centre. If this was a Hollywood film you can imagine how exploitative it could have been, but what we have here is a quietly devastating drama that will stay with you for a long time. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    If you want to see an actor doing his job as well as you've ever seen, you must see this movie. However, if you want to see a good film thatIf you want to see an actor doing his job as well as you've ever seen, you must see this movie. However, if you want to see a good film that amuse you for nearly a couple of hours, you'd better think twice in double-clicking in that one... For me, the worst film i have seen since i saw 'To the wonder'. 1h 40 minutes to tell you not to believe every word the children say. I think there's no need in seeing that film to acquire that knowledge. The plot is based in a lie said by a little girl that her parents hardly ever listen and everybody knew was special. My score for this film is ZERO, but, i must insist, my score for the main actor is 10, amazing, as usually. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers