Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1356 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
987
Mixed:
141
Negative:
228
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
virtualPresenceJul 18, 2016
Im truly interested into watching a quality films only. And I think I developed a sense of quality film production. This is the one. Totally satisfied with actors and the writing. The only thing which sucks is -> the film like this should beIm truly interested into watching a quality films only. And I think I developed a sense of quality film production. This is the one. Totally satisfied with actors and the writing. The only thing which sucks is -> the film like this should be longer for 1 hour more like 3.5 hours of "highly realistic film" which suck my attention for the whole film into it and when it was done I wanted more but. If you want highly relistic film and anter into film to forget eistence than action drama hurt locker is for you. A MUST TO SEE.... very cool. actors does not feel to act at all ut so real.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avamiller21May 2, 2016
An important, intense, nail-biting experience -- really quite unforgettable.

Check out the movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-278-The-Hurt-Locker-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 19, 2016
Once again, I feel disappointed with users. The Hurt Locker will make you keep on loving and loving because of its side-to-side story that just can't move anywhere from the locker.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Apr 18, 2016
One of the best war movies i seen!! Very real and very intense!! Good movie worth the watch.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-632-The-Hurt-Locker
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gloriouspotatoFeb 4, 2016
As a character study, the film does a pretty decent job at exploring the psychological impact of war. Following a three man EOD team, there's no plot in the traditional sense, but we see how the group dynamics unfold and the eventualAs a character study, the film does a pretty decent job at exploring the psychological impact of war. Following a three man EOD team, there's no plot in the traditional sense, but we see how the group dynamics unfold and the eventual revealing of all their own hurts that were previously locked away. For example, William James' addiction to danger and inability to enjoy civilian life, and Sanborn's fear of dying unloved with no family to remember him by. This helps add a layer of complexity that subverts the idea of the unfazed and glorified soldier. This isn't anything new, but I thought it was an interesting character portrayal nonetheless. The film's erratic cinematography and effective use of sound also do a good job at heightening the tension and paranoia during particular scenes.

As a realistic portrayal of war however, I say this is where things start to fall apart. I understand that there have to be some constraints in order to get the right atmosphere and drama, but the movie frames itself as one that is supposedly realistic and ends up failing this on many fronts, mainly the ridiculous military conduct of certain characters that even average moviegoers with no army experience will recognize immediately. This somewhat detracts from the authenticity and validity of whatever message the film was trying to establish.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AquaMorphJan 25, 2016
This movie was intense from beginning to end. However, it's the only film I've watched that I have loved and hated the cinametagraphy at the same time. Well placed and with fantastic directing one of the better was movies ever made. I'm veryThis movie was intense from beginning to end. However, it's the only film I've watched that I have loved and hated the cinametagraphy at the same time. Well placed and with fantastic directing one of the better was movies ever made. I'm very glad this won Best Picture. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Nov 28, 2015
I have never really enjoyed war films. I am by no means a pacifist, but to me all the stories seem to be the same, and until now, I've been uninterested. It wasn't until viewing the Academy's best picture of 2010, The Hurt Locker, that II have never really enjoyed war films. I am by no means a pacifist, but to me all the stories seem to be the same, and until now, I've been uninterested. It wasn't until viewing the Academy's best picture of 2010, The Hurt Locker, that I started to see things differently. In these films, it's not so much the story line that matters, but rather the characters that are featured in the film. The description of The Hurt Locker is just as bland as any other war picture, the story of a unit in Iraq that is responsible for disarming explosives. What makes this film so unique and made it the best film of 2010 was William James, played remarkably well by Jeremy Renner. Renner is known as an action star, so when I saw him nominated for best actor, I couldn't believe it. The truth is Renner's performance in this film was outstanding, because for once, he simply played himself. Renner may have been portraying a Sargent in Iraq, but the personality was his own. Director, Kathryn Bigelow, has become known for letting actors be themselves in developing their characters personalities, to the point where even some of the dialogue was in the spur of the moment. The Hurt Locker is a powerful film, with remarkable events and heartbreaking moments, but it's the films personality that is larger than life. I enjoyed every second of this film and it was truly the best choice the Academy could have made for best picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Regn752Oct 24, 2015
First of all, this movie is not 100% realistic. If you want that, go watch a documentary or war footage. This was still produced by Hollywood, but I guarantee it is the most realistic war movie Hollywood has produced in a long time.

This
First of all, this movie is not 100% realistic. If you want that, go watch a documentary or war footage. This was still produced by Hollywood, but I guarantee it is the most realistic war movie Hollywood has produced in a long time.

This movie is not focused on all out combat action scenes. It focuses on the very real new threat that was IED's (Improvised explosive devices). The movie centers on a small EOD squad, having lost one of their specialists, a replacement is called in and follows the squad through their routine drama and suspense of disarming bombs that can very well kill you.

An absolute much watch for military enthusiasts.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Young_NachoAug 8, 2015
Something about this movie is really interesting to me and I can't quite put my finger on exactly what it was. I think it was partly due to the style and way the film was presented, where anything could happen at any time, and how suspensefulSomething about this movie is really interesting to me and I can't quite put my finger on exactly what it was. I think it was partly due to the style and way the film was presented, where anything could happen at any time, and how suspenseful each scene was. However, there were some problems that I feel it had (excluding all the comments about how non accurate it was to what REALLY happens with EOD teams in iraq, cuz everyone seems to be commenting on that) I feel it lacked a solid meaning in the end. I understand the theme of his "war addiction" but the movie as a whole didn't seem to touch on that at all until the end. if the film makers were going for that feeling to be taken away from the movie, they didn't seem to stress it enough. Nonetheless i enjoyed it and I am a fan of war movies that aren't just about the typical war fighting and this is one of them. Props to the filmmakers for this new style. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleJun 29, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Hurt Locker isn't about war, per se. I personally am not a fan of violence and for that reason tend to shy away from these types of movies as well as knowing a lot about combat, like was happening here. But I still found myself sitting at the edge of my seat (or bed) in anticipation.

This movie's strong point was easily the suspense. A wise man once said that he'd rather have a bomb under the table and not explode, than have the whole room blow up. These bombs did blow up, but I think Bigelow certainly took a piece of advice from Alfred Hitchock here, and props to her! Without suspense, it's just another war movie. The Hurt Locker is so much more. It's about James's need – and other's (Sanborn & Eldridge's) aversion – to being out there. It contemplates our differences and puts them in an environment where these differences shine through and lives are risked, and lost, daily.

Everything that we have been shown previously goes against James's demeanor, and he almost defies the odds to still be alive. The Superman of diffusing bombs in Iraq. Yet we see how one kid has the potential to pull at his heartstrings which is something that we learn his own kid even can't do to make him stay away. Because the rush of adrenaline and the need to risk his life is the only thing he loves anymore. It's his life, simple as that.

"This box is full of stuff that almost killed me." I'll never understand the way he puts his life on the line, but I'm not William James. Movies let us get to know people we'll never meet and take us to places we'll never be. I really can't think of a better example of a movie that fully encompasses that sentiment. We're transported. We're there. We see the fear and the danger and we're enthralled by what makes Sergeant First Class William James tick, because that thing is different for all of us.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeMay 31, 2015
This is a truly powerful film.That job is pretty though and the movie shows it perfectly even if the movie is inaccurate with this job.With a very good script,an original idea,convincing characters and very good acting,The Hurt Locker is anThis is a truly powerful film.That job is pretty though and the movie shows it perfectly even if the movie is inaccurate with this job.With a very good script,an original idea,convincing characters and very good acting,The Hurt Locker is an awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CaesaroctopusMay 2, 2015
An excellent movie. Well-made and well acted, The Hurt Locker is an evocative and poignant picture of the War in Iraq and its soldiers. Jeremy Renner's character in particular is one of the most interesting characters in a war movie to date:An excellent movie. Well-made and well acted, The Hurt Locker is an evocative and poignant picture of the War in Iraq and its soldiers. Jeremy Renner's character in particular is one of the most interesting characters in a war movie to date: A Cavalier and Good-Natured Cowboy in an IED suit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonJan 23, 2015
When Sergeant James takes over a highly trained bomb disposal team stationed in Iraq, he surprises his team with his reckless and dangerous methods. As the battle continues all around them the team attempt to curb their new leader before hisWhen Sergeant James takes over a highly trained bomb disposal team stationed in Iraq, he surprises his team with his reckless and dangerous methods. As the battle continues all around them the team attempt to curb their new leader before his actions have serious consequences for everyone.

With explosives everywhere and every civilian a potential enemy The Hurt Locker brilliantly portrays the intense nature of working and living in war torn territory. The movie is about far more than just men blowing things up however and as the movie unfolds we learn about the motivations of each of the men involved giving us a fascinating insight into their world.

With brilliant performances all round The Hurt Locker is one of the best war movies ever made.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MarkT2014Jan 5, 2015
It's rare to find a realistic intelligent film. This is one of them.
Unbelievable acting in the last scene. It was truly powerful.
It shows the true color of terrorism in the Middle East, and pretty much rips apart all the conspiracy
It's rare to find a realistic intelligent film. This is one of them.
Unbelievable acting in the last scene. It was truly powerful.

It shows the true color of terrorism in the Middle East, and pretty much rips apart all the conspiracy theories and international media bias against U.S. military.

I give this film 10 with full respect.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ChazeManNov 9, 2014
Every single negative review I see on this site is due to "inaccuracy". Film is art ladies and gentleman, not reality. No matter the subject matter, any and all disbelief should be suspended when watching film. This is a classic mistake ofEvery single negative review I see on this site is due to "inaccuracy". Film is art ladies and gentleman, not reality. No matter the subject matter, any and all disbelief should be suspended when watching film. This is a classic mistake of many movie goer who expects realism. Look at elements and themes within a film, and stop tallying up real life impossibilities. This film is a masterful work of art, thematically and emotionally. There is a reason for the 94 meta score on this site, it does not lie. The film is great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwOct 10, 2014
I enjoyed Bigelow's film very much--it's a very accurate depiction of the unique problems both of the war in the Middle East and that soldiers of any war face--that fighting and surviving is all they know, to the deficit of everything else. II enjoyed Bigelow's film very much--it's a very accurate depiction of the unique problems both of the war in the Middle East and that soldiers of any war face--that fighting and surviving is all they know, to the deficit of everything else. I understand why it was shot the way that it was, though handheld, jerky movement isn't my cup of tea. This film gets a lot of hate because it beat out Avatar at the awards ceremonies. Though it's a very good film and deserving of great recognition, I don't think it's the best that Bigelow can do. I'm curious what she's going to try next. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JpJuarioJan 30, 2014
''Excellent.'' ''Brilliant!'' ''Full of Suspense and Intensity.'' '' An Absolute Knockout! The first 12 mins will mess-up your life. One of the Best Films of the decade. The Best Action film I've seen in year's. The Actors are winning. The''Excellent.'' ''Brilliant!'' ''Full of Suspense and Intensity.'' '' An Absolute Knockout! The first 12 mins will mess-up your life. One of the Best Films of the decade. The Best Action film I've seen in year's. The Actors are winning. The Film editing is brilliant. The Best Action-'Thriller ever made! Renner, Mackie and Gerahty were Terrific. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
mailinhJan 7, 2014
Usually I don't really enjoy war films, but this one is fantastic. I've never seen a movie of this genre which is as genuine and gripping as "The Hurt Locker" with stunning actors and a touching story. Kathryn Bigelow's film leaves me stoked behind.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
cmykDec 23, 2013
Though it seems its inaccuracy and marketing hooks have struck a chord with a few, I found The Hurt Locker to be an enjoyable film. Ironically, it gives you a nice break from the typical explosion-after-explosion-war-action flick despite itThough it seems its inaccuracy and marketing hooks have struck a chord with a few, I found The Hurt Locker to be an enjoyable film. Ironically, it gives you a nice break from the typical explosion-after-explosion-war-action flick despite it focusing on EOD, with a slower pace and likable characters. It holds just enough tension without crossing over into tedium, and uses it to its advantage to progress the story. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
The Hurt Locker is spectacularly suspenseful.
The movie is filled with good acting especially from Jeremy Renner and good directing. The story is exceptionally well written, and despite being a little slow, the Hurt Locker still achieves success.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 4, 2013
Personally, I don't feel that "The Hurt Locker" deserved all those Oscar awards and that it's slightly overrated but I don't deny that it's a really damn good film. It's tense, complex, violent and action-packed. The story is well planned andPersonally, I don't feel that "The Hurt Locker" deserved all those Oscar awards and that it's slightly overrated but I don't deny that it's a really damn good film. It's tense, complex, violent and action-packed. The story is well planned and written and the acting is fabulous. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jul 5, 2013
It is certainly an attention grabber the moment the movie begins, but then it seems to just be repeating the same sequences over and over until it is a little boring. Editing was great along with the script. Overpraised, but it still a goodIt is certainly an attention grabber the moment the movie begins, but then it seems to just be repeating the same sequences over and over until it is a little boring. Editing was great along with the script. Overpraised, but it still a good movie that has a lot of great qualities. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RAEDALSDIMay 19, 2013
Despite the high degree i gave to the film, but the film was a disappointment, think it's not worth to win the Oscar for best film, there are no any surprises in the film at all, and there are some stupid behaviors of the film mainDespite the high degree i gave to the film, but the film was a disappointment, think it's not worth to win the Oscar for best film, there are no any surprises in the film at all, and there are some stupid behaviors of the film main character Jeremy Renner and also the film pictures the Iraqi people are very weak and I am an Iraqi I do not deny that, but say it was exaggerated, but what I liked most in the film is the realism in the presentation of the facts, And location of the filming that is very similar to the Iraqi environment despite the fact that the film images in Jordan Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
seancriswellJan 21, 2013
A well crafted, well acted, tense war movie. The book ends of this movie are about as entertaining as a film can be. My problem with this movie comes in the middle third. There are some things at play here that took me out of the filmA well crafted, well acted, tense war movie. The book ends of this movie are about as entertaining as a film can be. My problem with this movie comes in the middle third. There are some things at play here that took me out of the film completely and seem very out of place with the rest of the movie. Overall this is a very strong film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyJan 20, 2013
This is a very good movie about the Iraq war. I like Jeremy Renner a lot. the cast is very good and the story is awesome. I like this movie a lot. Best movie of 2009
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJan 5, 2013
In a few short moments...everything will change, in this instance, for all war films to come.
The Hurt Locker clutched to this notion and never wained it's grasp through every 130+ minutes of this movie.
Within minutes of this dramatic
In a few short moments...everything will change, in this instance, for all war films to come.
The Hurt Locker clutched to this notion and never wained it's grasp through every 130+ minutes of this movie.
Within minutes of this dramatic realisation beginning, my heart is beating to the point of me believing "I could just reach over and let Guy Pearce know whats going on", my point to this is that director Kathryn Bigelow (Point break) has created this epic yet simple, unprecedented, sometimes frightening, drama/war film that shows then relatively unknown actors, portraying just more numbers on a document sent on 365 day rotation in Iraq, in particular an EOD squad, just what can happen in a regular day in war.
This film deals with the emotional barriers that soldiers face in the line of duty, the difficulties of 'routine' life but most of all, it deals with everlasting effect of what being a soldier does to not just your physical well-being, but your mind.
After an explosive opening, we see Sergeant First Class William James (Jeremy Renner), team leader of the specialised EOD unit also consisting of Sergeant Sandborn (Anthony Mackie) and Specialist Owen Eldridge (Brian Geraghty). The two soldiers see their leader as a reckless redneck due to his lack of safety and disregard for the rules when it comes to a POA on disposing bombs.
Jeremy Renner carries this film to greater heights than one could possibly have hoped for. As the film progresses we watch the team unravel and get an insight into the day to day activities, or lives of these embedded heroes, a dramatisation, yes, but one so close to the heart it could throw a juggernaut suit on you and take the dreaded steps in the searing sun.
I can't say much more because a film like this needs to be seen and not read about, a masterpiece in every aspect, beautiful, frightening, realism taken to new heights and pushing boundaries like no other, easily in contention for one of the best films in the past decade.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
Oh my God! One of the most perfect movies I've ever known. You could probably split this thing in half, and make two great works of cinema. There is so much suspense and drama packed into each and every beautifully shot scene that it almostOh my God! One of the most perfect movies I've ever known. You could probably split this thing in half, and make two great works of cinema. There is so much suspense and drama packed into each and every beautifully shot scene that it almost calls forth the sweat on your brow. I ventured further onto the edge of my seat than I knew was humanly possible. When these soldiers are attempting to diffuse mysterious explosives, it almost feels like your well-being is in the balance as well. This long, exhilarating piece is just pumping at the edges with pounds upon pounds of heart-racing, pipe-bursting tension. The Hurt Locker is slow, punishing and weighs down upon you with a pressure that you don't want to stop. Masterful cinematography, directing, acting and vision. Everything is flawlessly clear both visually and intellectually. At no point did I find myself asking about the plot or wondering why something happened. It carries the mark of a great movie which is, you come close to forgetting that it is a movie at all. It becomes real. It leaves you utterly and hopelessly captivated. This was a film made with clarity, vigilance and purpose. So damn good I can't stand it. One for the ages. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobOct 25, 2012
I personally think it's incredibly underrated by users. Hurt Locker was a well done film. It was interesting to watch, well acted, and manage to suck you in all at the same time. Definently worth watching imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ROHITBATMANOct 11, 2012
: This movie told that war is a terrible place to live and when go in so deep in the war it becomes a drug and you don
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
HalfwelshmanAug 28, 2012
The Hurt Locker is no ordinary war film. In fact, setting aside the iconography and setting of the Iraq war, it's scarcely a war film at all. Rather than making an explicit judgement about the Iraq War, the film instead shifts focus to peopleThe Hurt Locker is no ordinary war film. In fact, setting aside the iconography and setting of the Iraq war, it's scarcely a war film at all. Rather than making an explicit judgement about the Iraq War, the film instead shifts focus to people and relationships, and how a single moment can change your life forever, or suddenly end it. The best, and most thought provoking scene in the film is one of relative calm, when EOD Seargeant Will James (Jeremy Renner) is on leave from active duty, and looks simply lost while wandering down the cereal isle of an American supermarket. Renner is excellent as James, who is essentially an adrenaline junkie, an addict to thrills and near death experiences, and who is obsessed with getting his next fix. Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty also impress as James' squad-mates, a by-the-book straight man to James' impulsive maverick leader and a jittery and inexperienced young specialist respectively. Guy Pierce and Ralph Fiennes are good as always in minor but quite pivotal roles. The characters are layered and interesting, the expertly paced, sweat-inducing bomb disposal scenes smartly replace the standard running-and-gunning battles found in almost all other war films (there's only one straight gunfight, and even that is drawn-out and minimalistic) and Mark Boal's script is believable and dramatically affecting. I'm quite ashamed to admit that this is the only one of Kathryn Bigelow's films I've seen, but she's undeniably talented behind the camera, grounded and naturalistic in her style (other than using a little well-executed slow-motion for the biggest set pieces) and most pleasingly, unlike her ex-husband Mr Moneybags Cameron, she doesn't yet appear to have been consumed by her own hype. The Hurt Locker is a masterful piece of dramatic storytelling, an excellent analysis of the driving forces of humanity, and one of the cleverest examinations of the impact of war to ever grace the silver screen. It's a crime that no woman before Bigelow has won the Best Picture Academy Award, but The Hurt Locker sets a fine example as the first film to break this trend, and it didn't need in excess of $200,000,000 to do it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
dev92Aug 25, 2012
Finally a war film about the middle east that doesn't try to be too intelligent yet is seemingly aimed at intelligent people. A wonderful film which was hands down better than Avatar though I did think that other films were overlooked forFinally a war film about the middle east that doesn't try to be too intelligent yet is seemingly aimed at intelligent people. A wonderful film which was hands down better than Avatar though I did think that other films were overlooked for Best Picture. Jeremy Renner evolved in this film from supporting actor in an action film to a fantastic lead in a serious film. This was a huge turning point within his career. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Captain_KirkAug 16, 2012
I found myself liking the first half of the film a lot, but when the film hits the unnecessarily long sniper sequence, it all starts to go down hill. I never really found the 2nd half to be as compelling as the first half, and I started toI found myself liking the first half of the film a lot, but when the film hits the unnecessarily long sniper sequence, it all starts to go down hill. I never really found the 2nd half to be as compelling as the first half, and I started to care less and less with where the plot was going. In the end, The Hurt Locker is a decent, but severely over-rated movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Connor_MonteithAug 3, 2012
An intelligent movie that intrigues and excites. It is dramatic, tense and the odd bit humorous. This is one of the few films that I would actually call a masterpiece
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PennerAug 1, 2012
This is a great movie and one of the best war films I ever watched. The only thing that I didn't like was the use of the shaky camera, but it doesn't really distract from actually telling the story. Personally, I just don't like shaky cameraThis is a great movie and one of the best war films I ever watched. The only thing that I didn't like was the use of the shaky camera, but it doesn't really distract from actually telling the story. Personally, I just don't like shaky camera but most of the time it was used in this film was from the main characters' perspective (you got a glimpse of what they saw). When I actually did see the shaky camera it didn't really physically make me nauseated but it did annoyed me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Andy86Jul 4, 2012
Great movie! Unlike other war movies about recent conflicts such as Jarhead, this movie is actually entertaining, with some of the best tension filled scenes you will see. And the performance by Jeremy Renner in the lead role is fantastic. IGreat movie! Unlike other war movies about recent conflicts such as Jarhead, this movie is actually entertaining, with some of the best tension filled scenes you will see. And the performance by Jeremy Renner in the lead role is fantastic. I understand that many parts of the movie are "unrealistic", as many people have complained about, but 100% of fictional movies are unrealistic. They have spice up aspects of life to make the film entertaining. I don't believe they mean any disrespect to those in uniform. They're merely trying to make the movie entertaining for the audience. But I understand this is a sensitive subject. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuJun 12, 2012
Good to see a war movie that is not all about shootouts and gunfire but it's not the best war movie by a long shot. The acting and directing is good and it held my interest but that's about it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AwesomeReviewerMay 11, 2012
The story of â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gm101May 10, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I certainly did enjoy this movie. Characters were more likeable than I thought. However, I felt the plot involving the Beckham kid wasn't resolved, and that still bugs me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
raidetMay 8, 2012
Entirely typical wartime propaganda that actually very forcefully tries to paint the citizens of the country being attacked and exploited as the bad guys. Absolutely vile.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
owendreamerApr 2, 2012
It's a great movie very good story the only part I didn't like is when he sees bekham again after he thinks he's dead and he disses him??? WTF?? All he wants is to do is play some soccer and he disses him? Really??? I really hated that sceneIt's a great movie very good story the only part I didn't like is when he sees bekham again after he thinks he's dead and he disses him??? WTF?? All he wants is to do is play some soccer and he disses him? Really??? I really hated that scene and for that I give it an 8 but overall good movie way better than jarhead tho. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Near perfect. Acting is really good. Everyone give a really good job. Score is really good. Story is really great and is also intense. It's a great war tale of the US bomb squad. Plus some scenes in theFirst off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Near perfect. Acting is really good. Everyone give a really good job. Score is really good. Story is really great and is also intense. It's a great war tale of the US bomb squad. Plus some scenes in the movie can be so intense that'll it'll keep you guessing what'll happen. Overall, this is a amazing movie. One of the greatest war movies ever. Highly, highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Mar 25, 2012
The Hurter Locker might not be the best movie of the year but it certainly deserves more recongnition. A movie with such intense scenes and perfect editing that combines the drug of war within and on the ground.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
Typically for the US. Don't get me wrong this is a really good movie. But the whole time I had the feeling this is a "come on and join the army - it's great here" movie. Sure there is violence and war and bad times and everything but the wayTypically for the US. Don't get me wrong this is a really good movie. But the whole time I had the feeling this is a "come on and join the army - it's great here" movie. Sure there is violence and war and bad times and everything but the way it's shown to the audience is like a propaganda movie pro army - and that's what I ment by typically for the US. Hollywood can't produce movies without this sideeffect and that's a little bit annoying. It should be an anti-war movie but it's more like a pro-war movie. Beside that it's a really good movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Potter17Jan 27, 2012
I am not quite sure what exactly Kathryn Bigelow is trying to accomplish here. She makes a good work by adding tension and realism in some scenes and film itself is well-shoted, but 'The Hurt Locker' spends too much time talking about, well, nothing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxJan 19, 2012
I liked it. I thought the movie was original (which is rare these days) and well worth the watch. The acting was good, the movie was suspensful. The one flaw with it is that the climax wasnt satisfying. The entire film built up to this pointI liked it. I thought the movie was original (which is rare these days) and well worth the watch. The acting was good, the movie was suspensful. The one flaw with it is that the climax wasnt satisfying. The entire film built up to this point that just totally let me down, Even to the point where it was a bit predictable. Still, It was a good film and worth the watch.

IMO - Definently more worthy than Avatar to win the oscar for best picture.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
tonyGreenJan 6, 2012
A war movie with real complicated protagonists. Great tension, great action but great psychological intrigue too. War is a drug, and so is the movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Jedi_JettsonDec 31, 2011
7 out of 10 by users as of December 2011, really? It deserves better than that! Sure, it is no Saving Private Ryan but it has a VERY intelligent plot involving bombs and the war sequences are entertaining. Besides, the reconnaissance scenes7 out of 10 by users as of December 2011, really? It deserves better than that! Sure, it is no Saving Private Ryan but it has a VERY intelligent plot involving bombs and the war sequences are entertaining. Besides, the reconnaissance scenes are very unfolding and suspenseful which is the most thrilling part of the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DongangstarDec 31, 2011
This is a very good movie. I don't know why so many people are whining about the fact that this isn't realistic. It's a film, it's art, it's fiction, if you can't watch a movie without thinking it's ALL true, and it's all realistic, then youThis is a very good movie. I don't know why so many people are whining about the fact that this isn't realistic. It's a film, it's art, it's fiction, if you can't watch a movie without thinking it's ALL true, and it's all realistic, then you shouldn't watch any movie. Of course the protagonist takes risks which can not be the reality, but it's movie - use your imagination, this is made to entertain people, it's not a documentary, just enjoy it, don't think too much. Great acting by all actors - I believed the emotions, very well done - nice cinematography as well! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BeauDec 24, 2011
This little Kathryn Bigelow box-office failure ended up proving that it was the little engine that could. It defied the odds: it was a Summer release that was under-viewed but somehow managed enough buzz to rightfully overtake the box-officeThis little Kathryn Bigelow box-office failure ended up proving that it was the little engine that could. It defied the odds: it was a Summer release that was under-viewed but somehow managed enough buzz to rightfully overtake the box-office behemoth "Avatar" at the Academy Awards and take Best Picture. It may not be a film for the actors, but it is a film for anybody who likes to be wowed by amazing sights and amazing direction. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheTacoShackDec 6, 2011
**** awesome movie. Enough said but since there is a 150 character min I mus say random **** Blahahahahah Dick fart lolololololololllllllllllllllllllllllgfgfgf
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
BrandonBonaseraNov 18, 2011
THE HURT LOCKER is an emotional, well-directed and well-acted war film that is quite well made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kingasa2020Nov 10, 2011
The Hurt Locker is an energetic, pulverizing movie that really shows you what its like for the troops on the other side of the country, and, is supremely well acted. Go see the hurt locker while you can
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
j30Oct 7, 2011
If I had the choice between The Hurt Locker and Avatar winning Best Picture. I probably would have gone with this movie. I watched 60 minutes segment of the real bomb squads in Afghanistan and this movie was really accurate. The movie isIf I had the choice between The Hurt Locker and Avatar winning Best Picture. I probably would have gone with this movie. I watched 60 minutes segment of the real bomb squads in Afghanistan and this movie was really accurate. The movie is really intense and has electrifying performances. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
The movie's quiet tension adds realism to the movie, making it one of the true modern war films. However, the film's noticeably lethargic pace will make you bored. In the end, "The Hurt Locker" is just a decent movie that presents real lifeThe movie's quiet tension adds realism to the movie, making it one of the true modern war films. However, the film's noticeably lethargic pace will make you bored. In the end, "The Hurt Locker" is just a decent movie that presents real life situations in modern warfare; no more, no less. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
Seifer706Aug 14, 2011
I watched this movie a long time ago, and i jut recently came back to this review because this movie was featured in the "biggest gap between critics and fans article" so i thought I should look into it because this movie was just fantastic,I watched this movie a long time ago, and i jut recently came back to this review because this movie was featured in the "biggest gap between critics and fans article" so i thought I should look into it because this movie was just fantastic, and I'm really disappointed as to why this movie was on that article. First things first, this movie is not a patriotic movie; this movie is there to show the dehumanizing effects warfare can have upon a person, so I don't know why people can call this a "flag-waving" film when it clearly shows a man practically abandoning his own child to re-immerse himself in warfare. Second, a lot of people complain about the "Sniping" scene as being too boring or just plain unrealistic; this is not Call of Duty, okay... When it comes to sniping in real life, it can take hours to kill a specified target, there is no killstreaks and no quickscoping and if staying in the hot sun all day means that the enemy won't snipe at you back, then that's the best option to take to make sure you get out of there alive (the only thing that seems unrealistic is how an IED Unit has great skill when it comes to using an M107, that evades even me, but that's not reason enough for me to call the whole scene unreal). In truth, this is one of the greater military movies that I have ever seen (It defiantly stacks up mo movies like Apocalypse Now and Platoon, not saying its better, that's up to you, the viewers) and this movie didn't deserve to be in the previously mentioned article just because its not CoD-leveled action or just cause it doesn't have explosions every single microsecond. Definitely a movie worth watching (if you haven't already) if you are into the classical Vietnam-era films, you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
chicagopianoAug 12, 2011
I went into this movie expecting Black Hawk Down but I wasn't disappointed when i didn't get it, instead i really enjoyed the slow paced yet interesting story. Critics enjoyed this movie for a reason, they are professionals who have studiedI went into this movie expecting Black Hawk Down but I wasn't disappointed when i didn't get it, instead i really enjoyed the slow paced yet interesting story. Critics enjoyed this movie for a reason, they are professionals who have studied hard in the field of film, they know what they're talking about. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
cylixdemasMay 24, 2011
This is a great picture that is able to capture a tense moment on film. There will be a great deal of intensity that will place you on the end of your seat. This is the best war movie of the decade.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Cotts1988Apr 30, 2011
I did not care about watching this movie, yet having seen it I can agree that it is a great action film. The Hurt Locker creates a great amount of tension in many of its scenes, and it is a very exciting film. The acting is brilliant,I did not care about watching this movie, yet having seen it I can agree that it is a great action film. The Hurt Locker creates a great amount of tension in many of its scenes, and it is a very exciting film. The acting is brilliant, particularly that of the lead, which contributes to the story's believability. In different times it probably wouldn't have won an oscar, but ultimately whether it did or did not is irrelevant. The Hurt Locker is more than worthy of watching and very entertaining. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
RyanLopezMar 29, 2011
This is a great movie, the film captures the real emotion of being and war- People have empathy during this movie, you can feel the bullets. It is one of the best movies of the decade. It's sad if you can't handle violence but you wanted toThis is a great movie, the film captures the real emotion of being and war- People have empathy during this movie, you can feel the bullets. It is one of the best movies of the decade. It's sad if you can't handle violence but you wanted to see it. It was one of my favorites Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
lholzMar 15, 2011
Hurt Locker was very good. The acting was really fine, the plot moved along and it exceeded my expectations. There was a nice sense of humor within the continued suspense. The connection between the protagonist and the boy selling DVDsHurt Locker was very good. The acting was really fine, the plot moved along and it exceeded my expectations. There was a nice sense of humor within the continued suspense. The connection between the protagonist and the boy selling DVDs humanized the already very human story. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
SindriFeb 18, 2011
Unconventional war film - Kathryn Bigelows independent film puts all politics aside and portrays the genre of war film in a fresh and different way.

During the post-invasion period in Iraq 2004, bomb disarmer Will James Arrives at the
Unconventional war film - Kathryn Bigelows independent film puts all politics aside and portrays the genre of war film in a fresh and different way.

During the post-invasion period in Iraq 2004, bomb disarmer Will James Arrives at the American EOD unit company Bravo which is located in the midst of an explosive conflict in Baghdad as the new team leader. Seargent J.T Sanborn and specialist Owen Eldridge are not overly enthusiastic about the new leader which they are going to spend the next 38 days with, and their willingness to give him the benefit of the doubt is diminished when James early on shows himself of as a headstrong and hazardous danger seeker who fearlessly enters the line of fire to disarm bombs while they have to stand as frightened bystanders in the background. "The Hurt Locker" is directed by Kathryn Bigelow "Point Break" (1991) and "Strange Days" (1995), and is based on the observations of freelance writer Mark Boal "In the valley of Elah" (2007), who was embedded with a US bomb-squad during the Iraq war. In a minimalistic and documentaric way it describes the relationship between three soldiers and their individual ways of coping with life in a war zone where death is always breathing down their necks. With hand-held camera movements, extreme close ups, slow-motion scenes, long takes and extreme long shots, Kathryn Bigelow creates a knife-edged intensity and a grayed realism which is remarkable. Her intimate and continuous focus on the three main characters creates a compressed narrative which strengthens the viewers empathy.

"The Hurt Locker" is a film about young men who voluntarily enlist to serve in Iraq well aware that the risk of dying is immense. It asks no questions about why they choose this kind of job, but rather focuses on how they deal with life in an uncontrollable death zone and how this affects their mentality. Even though this is a war movie at first hand, it's also a pulsating action thriller, a psychological drama and a concentrated character study about three men, their rivalry and their evolving friendship. The acting is captivating, but Jeremy Renner stands out as adrenalin rush-seeker Will James in an impressive role interpretation. "The Hurt Locker" is one of the first films to recognize the bomb disarmers and to depict war as something addictive. This an unconventional war film with brilliant war scenes, skilled photography and convincing milieu depictions.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ZoeRJan 25, 2011
Certainly one of the most emotional movies I have ever watched. I was completely immersed in the characters and story line. I was left both breathless and aching for more. I was still thinking about it months later. Can any film expect moreCertainly one of the most emotional movies I have ever watched. I was completely immersed in the characters and story line. I was left both breathless and aching for more. I was still thinking about it months later. Can any film expect more than that? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Christopher_G2Jan 15, 2011
A masterpiece of cinema plain and simple. It's wonderfully crafted, perfectly paced, with incredibly tense sequences that would have made **** proud. It also deals with the effects of war on the human soul without ever being ham handed orA masterpiece of cinema plain and simple. It's wonderfully crafted, perfectly paced, with incredibly tense sequences that would have made **** proud. It also deals with the effects of war on the human soul without ever being ham handed or melodramatic. Along with Saving Private Ryan and Letters From Iwo Jima it's the finest War film I have seen of the last 20 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZMP17Jan 3, 2011
Well deserved Oscars. Jeremy Renner's performance was memorably outstanding. I watched both HL and Avatar the week before the Oscars and I found this to be more engaging and thrilling than the flashing lights and sounds of Avatar. I'm notWell deserved Oscars. Jeremy Renner's performance was memorably outstanding. I watched both HL and Avatar the week before the Oscars and I found this to be more engaging and thrilling than the flashing lights and sounds of Avatar. I'm not saying that Avatar wasn't a good movie but how many people actually saw HL before Avatar? 48 million to 2 billion box office gross (rounded down) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
riverwalkerOct 2, 2010
Direction is excellent the actors are perfect but the plot is a little weak. The director has done a perfect work also the main actor is absolutely perfect.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
eggfilletSep 3, 2010
Realistic or not this is a great film. The plot was laid out in an organized fashion, no cliche twists that make the viewer feel smart. The characters were well written and are open to interpretation. The amount of small details and variedRealistic or not this is a great film. The plot was laid out in an organized fashion, no cliche twists that make the viewer feel smart. The characters were well written and are open to interpretation. The amount of small details and varied sequence of events makes an easily film to watch multiple times.
But, don't expect an ACTION FILM. @ForrestL I could not agree more.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Easily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilaratingEasily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilarating and gripping than most high-budget blockbusters. Also, wtf with people complaining about the movie's real-life credibility? It's not like "Apocalypse Now" represented the Vietnam War as it was, it just tried to be a great movie, which it was and "The Hurt Locker" is the same. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
9
ERG1008Aug 19, 2010
New man joins bomb disposal team in Iraq, day-to-day job of diffusing bombs & avoiding crossfire, camaraderie, conflict, decisions.
Almost documentary/fly-on-the-wall style film that does a fantastic job of capturing the atmosphere, tension &
New man joins bomb disposal team in Iraq, day-to-day job of diffusing bombs & avoiding crossfire, camaraderie, conflict, decisions.
Almost documentary/fly-on-the-wall style film that does a fantastic job of capturing the atmosphere, tension & overall danger of these soldiers lives.
The acting & dialogue are very natural, great cameos, top-notch cinematography & the claustrophobia of the "bomb suit" scenes are thrilling & uncomfortable.
Excellent incidental music too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PeterAug 18, 2010
this movie is beast!!!!!!!!! all the negative reviewers suck. thats right mofos.... you suck!!!!! the best war movie that ive seen, and the greatest movie since shawshank!!!!! hell yea!!!!!
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
RansackAug 11, 2010
One of the most outstanding war movies this century. I am a surprised a woman could even direct something as good as this one. Some people should really think about it, because it is kind of true. I am sure some people jsut hate it justOne of the most outstanding war movies this century. I am a surprised a woman could even direct something as good as this one. Some people should really think about it, because it is kind of true. I am sure some people jsut hate it just because it beat Avatar in the oscars Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
7
alano.Jun 17, 2010
This got so much critical acclaim that made me see it for myself. It turns out this film was excellent in the war category. It was also Oscar-worthy, just not Best Picture-worthy.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
TexJun 2, 2010
Above-average war movie. It has its moments but quickly fizzles out in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
caseyk.May 14, 2010
It was okay, sure it's tense and good acting but doesn't show any terrifying battle scenes or sad emotionally wrenching scenes (which made other war films classics like Saving Private Ryan and Platoon), definitely didn't It was okay, sure it's tense and good acting but doesn't show any terrifying battle scenes or sad emotionally wrenching scenes (which made other war films classics like Saving Private Ryan and Platoon), definitely didn't deserve best picture, which the film Avatar should have won. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdApr 21, 2010
I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LalitaR.Apr 15, 2010
I sometimes despair for the times we live in. If this film is a bore then almost every great film made in the '70s - the golden era of cinema, is a bore. In classic '70s style, The Hurt Locker moves along at a sharp clip, never I sometimes despair for the times we live in. If this film is a bore then almost every great film made in the '70s - the golden era of cinema, is a bore. In classic '70s style, The Hurt Locker moves along at a sharp clip, never getting sentimental or overly Hollywood, never manipulating the audience's emotions this way and that. There are no big punchlines, no designer cool worked into the dialogues, no over-scripted, movingly scored dramatic flourishes like the ones in Saving Pvt. Ryan and YET when the film gets over you are hit by a wave of emotions. You care more for Renner, Mackie and Geraghty than pretty much any character you watched all year. The script throws up several unexpected moments of wry ironic wit, it gets you caught up in the tightwire mental state of the characters without any fanfare. This is a rare film that confidently expects you to think, feel and discuss it well after the experience. You're haunted by how much the human spirit is being relentlessly stretched in such a lonely, desolate war waged in an unfamiliar, alienated terrain. This desolation is imprinted in our brains thanks to the stark, white sand covered images. The Hurt Locker has a resonance that's lasted 8 months since I saw it. IMO, the finest picture of the year took home the Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeahM.Apr 15, 2010
Jeremy Renner was amazing and the movie made me anxious - I could feel the tension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaIApr 14, 2010
Wow! One of the best movies I have ever seen. The directing of the movie was spectacular. The acting was good. So realistic, and just outstanding film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankAApr 14, 2010
This movie to me shows not just an action packed kick ass war movie about heroes and such, it shows the slower more suspenseful part of war, the entire time i was so uneasy as to what could happen i just loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeMApr 13, 2010
This movie was easily the best of the year. I did a tour in Afghanistan, and for all the things that the director got wrong (lack of consequence for a variety of missteps, etc), she got the emotion and the feel right. (SPOILER ALERT) The This movie was easily the best of the year. I did a tour in Afghanistan, and for all the things that the director got wrong (lack of consequence for a variety of missteps, etc), she got the emotion and the feel right. (SPOILER ALERT) The best moment, to me: The absurdity of being a badass war hero overseas and returning home and dealing with picking out cereal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidC.Apr 12, 2010
Not a bad movie, but how can you go wrong when the main character is constantly in danger of getting blown up? I think it could have been better; there was a little too much Riggs from Lethal Weapon in that guy, but the actor did a good job. Not a bad movie, but how can you go wrong when the main character is constantly in danger of getting blown up? I think it could have been better; there was a little too much Riggs from Lethal Weapon in that guy, but the actor did a good job. I'm really tired of the shaky camera too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisK.Apr 2, 2010
It may not be very accurate but I enjoyed watching this reckless guy disable bombs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewP.Mar 30, 2010
What the Hell is everyone's problem with this movie? Are they all gay for Avatar or something? Look retards, every movie is going to have inaccuracies in the storyline, but saying stuff like "Its SO inaccurate! They actually changed the What the Hell is everyone's problem with this movie? Are they all gay for Avatar or something? Look retards, every movie is going to have inaccuracies in the storyline, but saying stuff like "Its SO inaccurate! They actually changed the name of the camp TO Camp Liberty! What the hell were they thinking?!?" is ridiculous. This movie is amazing, hands down. Retards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OwainMar 30, 2010
Possibly the best war film I've seen since 'full metal jacket', The Hurt Locker deserves every good review it gets. I'm the first to admit that I don't know anything about the accuracy of the film contents, but I Possibly the best war film I've seen since 'full metal jacket', The Hurt Locker deserves every good review it gets. I'm the first to admit that I don't know anything about the accuracy of the film contents, but I also fail to see how that should matter. If, like me, you don't care if the soldiers are carrying the right weapons or wearing the exact uniforms for 2004, then what you experience is blend of supreme nerve wrecking tension, amazing action and a really good story. If you are a stickler for historical accuracy, then maybe it's not for you, but for the 99% of people who watch a film to be entertained, the this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisMar 15, 2010
I think a lot of people don't understand what this movie is about. Hint: it's not about the action. The crux of the movie is contained in the final 30 seconds of dialogue between the main character and his son.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReganHMar 13, 2010
The quiet intensity, the lack of quick-cuts, the facets of the lead character that slowly revealed themselves throughout the movie -- it added up to riveting, engrossing movie that has stuck with me. I cannot wait to watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AmirF.Mar 12, 2010
After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the walking of James toward hell and I answered myself : " Hell it did its job " movie begins with great atmosphere giving you the feeling that you are really in that location and it triggers the feeling of compassion with characters , you feel the rising of their Adrenalins , you feel their sweats , you feel the god-damn hot air , and so on . the story takes you to its deep and dark resolution of showing what really is life in that messy city , the city of women crying for the loss of their beloveds , children still playing soccer in the street joyful and some others selling porn movies in order to earn their livings , men watching American from their balconies and wondering " What will be the future of Baghdad ? " You simply just hold your breath in some scenes , leaping to the edge of your seat , crying just for compassion , just for realizing the truth [ I didn't cry ;-) ] ... I don't wanna spoil the story for you cause the plot is available everywhere and I'm not here to repeat those plots again and just bore you , I just want that it be clarified for you that this movie is well directed , although I didn't like the performings very much , Jeremy Renner [Staff Sergeant William James ] wasn't at his peak , he could do better . the cinematography [Barry Ackroyd] is lifelike and that's what gives you the sympathy with the characters . The writer I don't know him/her but he has done a great job. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeyT.Mar 11, 2010
Oh boy, the smear campaign still ensues. Wow, if you love dying for your country go back to Iraq or Afghanistan.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NeilJ.Mar 10, 2010
This the best film I have ever seen! It portrays the true horror and tension of war without glorifying it. Compared with the so called blockbusters costing obscene amounts of money and relying too much on special effects it wins hands down.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
PeterC.Mar 9, 2010
Excellent character study in a war-movie's clothing. Suggestions that it lacks focus overlook this fact. Brilliantly shot, empathetically acted, simmering film that takes its cue from the likes of Lawrence of Arabia and The English Excellent character study in a war-movie's clothing. Suggestions that it lacks focus overlook this fact. Brilliantly shot, empathetically acted, simmering film that takes its cue from the likes of Lawrence of Arabia and The English Patient much more than Black Hawk Down or Saving Private Ryan, or any other fighting-man's war film. The critics who fails to see past its innaccuracies -- and no-doubt there are a few of those and a few exaggerations toom all in the interests of strengthening narrative or drama -- rob themselves of what it a truely moving portrait of a man, who just happens to be a bomb disposal expert working in Iraq. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TroyRMar 9, 2010
It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good Men" or "Michael Clayton" were terrible films because I did not find the technical minutiae fulfilling. It is a movie. It is fiction. If you want hyper-accurate realism, go watch a documentary or a training film. This movie isn't about the military, per se. Nor is it about Iraq or a particular war or conflict. It is about three guys--one of whom feels quite at home and has found his niche dealing in dangerous situations which, for better or for worse, create a lot of stress for his peers while he is also impressing the hell out of the bosses. Conflicts arise, and the wartime setting itself takes its toll on everyone to one extent or another. Great movie. Do not miss. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RandyTMar 9, 2010
I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and it probably didn't deserve best picture. Now, to all of the veterans giving this movie 0, can you please try to imagine what this movie would be like if it really was accurate to what is actually happening in Iraq? Sure, you guys would probably think it was great and super realistic, but then think how much everybody else would like it... Not so much. This movie was made with entertainment for the general public in mind. Only stupid people are going to watch the movie and think "Wow, that's what Iraq really is like!" since smarter people know that it's just a movie and is dramatized and exaggerated to make it more suspenseful. Yes I know, I haven't been down to Iraq so I don't know what it's like, but I can confidently say that the majority of the tasks and missions you take part in wouldn't make a very good action movie, which this film is trying to be. I hope some people understand this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MitchellkMar 9, 2010
Great Intense and Suspenseful Movie with great direction, who knew she had it in her.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DeeMar 8, 2010
One of the most gripping and psychologically rich movies ever made - a real "page-turner", if you can call a movie that - though I also strongly agree with Salon.com's comment of "The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is One of the most gripping and psychologically rich movies ever made - a real "page-turner", if you can call a movie that - though I also strongly agree with Salon.com's comment of "The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is extremely effective in places, it ultimately feels unformed and somewhat unfinished." Like the above implies, to me, it seems like the movie's only real "point" is to inform you of how soldiers in Iraqi bomb squads think and feel. After you see the movie, you remember what it FELT like, but not what actually happened. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
benjinMar 8, 2010
A Must Watch, It May Not Have Flashy Lights like Avatar But it makes up for it In every Detail that Bigelow Shows. The Sniper Scene Is one i will not forget for a Long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DimitriKMar 8, 2010
A great film but you have to be in the right mood to watch it. Not worth an Oscar by any stretch. However there should be more film like this...ones where you need at least half a functioning brain to enjoy.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
JohnMar 8, 2010
Fantastic Movie with an outstanding performance by the leading actor.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
8
icecreamFeb 13, 2010
Its somewhere in the 8 rating and b grade. Not a A movie by any stretch, I just don't get how critics even exist on a professional level. Like a professional gambler there is no such thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Feb 12, 2010
An intensely powerful film that relentlessly depicts the horrors the soldiers endure in Iraq. Well acted by everyone, very realistically filmed by director Kathryn Bigelow, it has a grittiness that adds to the tension. Completely believable, An intensely powerful film that relentlessly depicts the horrors the soldiers endure in Iraq. Well acted by everyone, very realistically filmed by director Kathryn Bigelow, it has a grittiness that adds to the tension. Completely believable, with many unforgettable scenes, the scene with the suicide bomber who gave himself up can't easily be forgotten. Disturbing, thought provoking and unforgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chrisb.Feb 12, 2010
This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a non-standard plot with lots of hidden stories hidden within the movie itself.I think that it is extremely hard to portray and show the emotion at the level that they did, this is achieved by a superb production team and an amazing crew. Outstanding movie everyone, outstanding job, best movie all year!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
BenF.Feb 8, 2010
One of the best war films in recent memory. The suspense almost kills you at times. Renner is a revelation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful