Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1397 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,020
Mixed:
146
Negative:
231
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
KevinR.Aug 18, 2009
I don't know where to start. Anyone who gave this movie a rating of 7 or higher (10....are you kidding me!) has been duped. They must be people that only like a movie because it gets good reviews from critics that have no clue about I don't know where to start. Anyone who gave this movie a rating of 7 or higher (10....are you kidding me!) has been duped. They must be people that only like a movie because it gets good reviews from critics that have no clue about what is actually going on in Iraq (especially what an EOD team does). I was looking forward to seeing this movie because of the good reviews and was extremely disappointed. I'll start with the good. Pros: Good camera work, a realistic display of the landscape of Iraq and the explosions of IEDs. Some tension filled moments. Unfortunately, the good moments can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkSAug 18, 2009
I find it almost unbelievably ironic that someone here ("Jason B") suggested that servicemembers aren't liking this movie because it is not "propaganda". Actually, Jason, most of the nonsense that you just saw in "The Hurt Locker" isI find it almost unbelievably ironic that someone here ("Jason B") suggested that servicemembers aren't liking this movie because it is not "propaganda". Actually, Jason, most of the nonsense that you just saw in "The Hurt Locker" is EXACTLY that...the guys in this film ARE playing Rambo, and that is what we hate so much. It speaks to your complete ignorance of the reality of situation in Iraq and what we've experienced of it that you think this piece of trash film actually portrays soldiers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WesAug 20, 2009
As a service member I think some of my fellow colleagues are missing the point of the movie. Who cares how Hollywood is portraying us? We know the truth, and if civilians are dumb enough to think that's how we are then let them. I As a service member I think some of my fellow colleagues are missing the point of the movie. Who cares how Hollywood is portraying us? We know the truth, and if civilians are dumb enough to think that's how we are then let them. I thought it was a good movie and worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFAug 20, 2009
This was an absolutely amazing film. Bigelow does an outstanding job at not only developing these great characters very well, but does a masterful job at building up the tension and suspense perfectly. Also, the performances (Jeremy Renner This was an absolutely amazing film. Bigelow does an outstanding job at not only developing these great characters very well, but does a masterful job at building up the tension and suspense perfectly. Also, the performances (Jeremy Renner and Anthony Mackie in particular) are stellar. Overall, this is a great film and I hope people see this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonymousMCAug 2, 2009
The sense of Iraq as a sort of moon landscape made for some great scenes. Music matched well overall, tension in early scenes was very high, even if it was over the top ridiculous and unrealistic. Movie breaks down around the half way pointThe sense of Iraq as a sort of moon landscape made for some great scenes. Music matched well overall, tension in early scenes was very high, even if it was over the top ridiculous and unrealistic. Movie breaks down around the half way point and doesn't seem to know what it wants to be. later scenes cross the line into stupid territory. I'd say it's a missed opportunity, here you've got a big beautiful podium with all the bells and whistles and a great art style and you get stage fright. It's mediocre overall but will wear way long in the tooth for most viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamCAug 2, 2009
Outstanding and realistic warts and all realism makes this movie compelling viewing. This isn't a war movie. This is a movie about ordinary people who do an extraordinary job while facing their own problems.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaveD.Aug 23, 2009
Total bore. Walked out after 30 minutes. Watched two bomb-defusing scenes with forced tension and ridiculous mini-plots involving innocent bystanders that entered the scene simply to create tension, and then quickly exited. Seriously. I Total bore. Walked out after 30 minutes. Watched two bomb-defusing scenes with forced tension and ridiculous mini-plots involving innocent bystanders that entered the scene simply to create tension, and then quickly exited. Seriously. I can't believe this film is highly rated. The theater management allowed me to save my night by watching Soul Storage instead! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelWAug 24, 2009
An instant classic which surpasses many of the most esteemed war films from the past. The Hurt Locker is on the short list of greatest war films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
VMAug 24, 2009
I thought this movie dragged on without much of a plot. I also thought some of the things they did were implausible. I'm an Army and have been to Iraq.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceDAug 25, 2009
I don't even like war movies. But this is an amazing film. Perhaps even "perfect."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EdSAug 3, 2009
As a movie, it's hugely thrilling and entertaining, full of atmosphere, menace, and grit. But the comments of other viewers who seem to have first-hand experience indicate that the story is quite unrealistic, which is what I suspected. As a movie, it's hugely thrilling and entertaining, full of atmosphere, menace, and grit. But the comments of other viewers who seem to have first-hand experience indicate that the story is quite unrealistic, which is what I suspected. I have not served in the military, but I find it hard to believe that a three-man EOD unit in a Humvee could operate with such autonomy, with so little direction by senior officers, for example roaming around the desert and just happening upon an SAS team. I'd bet that real EOD specialists are more likely to be Bible-reading born-again Christians than binge-drinking brawlers. I'm motivated to seek out the 1970s British TV series with Anthony Andrews (of "Brideshead Revisted" fame) called "Danger: UXB," which I bet will stand up well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Aug 3, 2009
Finally, a movie about the war in Iraq that has no political slant in either direction. A war movie about war and the soldiers fighting it. On that basis - Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CarlCAug 4, 2009
I think that the reason so many of the servicepeople are upset at the lack of realism in this film is not because of the technical inaccuracies (we don't care much about that stuff), it is because it completely fails to capture what it I think that the reason so many of the servicepeople are upset at the lack of realism in this film is not because of the technical inaccuracies (we don't care much about that stuff), it is because it completely fails to capture what it is like in Iraq (or in any war). Lack of attention to detail is one thing, completely constructing reality is another. This director did the latter, and seems to have fooled a lot of people with it. Really people...this film DOESN'T show what war is like, nor what soldiers are like. Don't be fooled...please. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaleMAug 5, 2009
This was a very different kind of war film. When you come right down to it, the horrors of the war in Iraq are probably nowhere near the horrors that WWI soldiers went through, especially the WWI presented in "All Quiet on the Western This was a very different kind of war film. When you come right down to it, the horrors of the war in Iraq are probably nowhere near the horrors that WWI soldiers went through, especially the WWI presented in "All Quiet on the Western Front." However, in WWI the soldiers were by and large either drafter or duped into fighting for something they never really understood. In the Iraq War of The Hurt Locker, the soldiers are still fighting for something they don't quite understand. Many of the people they are supposedly fighting for would just as soon blow them up, and even the kids on the streets jeer at them. In Iraq, as contrasted to WWI, however, the soldiers are volunteers. What motivates them to fight and be brave? Is it possible they have become addicted to war? Sounds far-fetched but this film makes it seem pretty plausible. The soldier in this film has repeated edge-of-death experiences as would be expected since he has to defuse bombs. In his spare time, he tries to find a human face or a reason for why he is risking his life. For instance, perhaps he is really fighting for the young boy selling DVDs with whom he plays some soccer. Or perhaps, he is fighting for his buddies and comrades-in-arms. None of these quests for the meaning of war prove successful. Yet when he returns to peacetime in the states, life is even more meaningless. Only that edge-of-death, adrenaline-filled existence in war seems to have much meaning to him. Time to volunteer again! In WWI a soldier might have had a locker of mementos from home to remind him what he was fighting for. In Iraq, the soldier has a locker of mementos from all the edge-of-death experiences he has lived through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hcAug 5, 2009
Felt shell shocked coming out of this film---really intense piece but with very little big action CG crap--yet psychologically totally thrilling. This is definitely a fictionalized story, but I don't care, the acting, direction, Felt shell shocked coming out of this film---really intense piece but with very little big action CG crap--yet psychologically totally thrilling. This is definitely a fictionalized story, but I don't care, the acting, direction, writing--structure--all of it was terrific. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScotTAug 5, 2009
Terrific movie......one of the better war movies I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanitaAug 6, 2009
Great story line and acting with such a realistic feel and directing, it had an organic, documentary feel to it. Awesome all around. And funny if you had enough spine to laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaiahGAug 6, 2009
This film will keep you at the edge of your seat with adrenaline running through your veins. Through the most of the film the main character plays cat and mouse with armed explosives to save the lives of others including himself. This film This film will keep you at the edge of your seat with adrenaline running through your veins. Through the most of the film the main character plays cat and mouse with armed explosives to save the lives of others including himself. This film is probably the best film this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnQAug 6, 2009
This maybe be one of the best war movie's I have ever seen. It is equal to and in some ways better than Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket,and Platoon. I cannot remember a time when leaving a film with this feeling in my stomach. Apart This maybe be one of the best war movie's I have ever seen. It is equal to and in some ways better than Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket,and Platoon. I cannot remember a time when leaving a film with this feeling in my stomach. Apart from the brilliant suspense and action, apart being about war this film's messages is about human nature. It is most definitely a work of fiction. People who criticize it as not being realistic missed the point entirely. I have never been blown away like this by a film EVER. If you have ever experienced something (no matter what it is ie, drugs, sex, danger, nature) that completely touches you to your core, and cause you to reevaluate how you want to live your life, then you will get this movie. The moral of the story has nothing to do with war, but of the wants and needs of the human physique. This film is absolutely brilliant and if you don't think so, your not smart enough to get it and are probably a dull shallow person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffAAug 8, 2009
What a great film all around. I would be very interested to know how realistic this account is because I left the theater with a more profound respect for those who serve in our modern wars as well as a deep sadness for the world to which What a great film all around. I would be very interested to know how realistic this account is because I left the theater with a more profound respect for those who serve in our modern wars as well as a deep sadness for the world to which they return. The experience is as intense as it is educational. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamionKAug 9, 2009
First of all, to all the people who rated this movie as a zero, I've had to adjust my score up to a 10. A zero is a movie that makes no sense, has no acting, no plot and is so bad that you cannot sit through it. Rating movies as a zero First of all, to all the people who rated this movie as a zero, I've had to adjust my score up to a 10. A zero is a movie that makes no sense, has no acting, no plot and is so bad that you cannot sit through it. Rating movies as a zero is generally a testament of ignorance and blatant disregard for helping other people judge whether or not a movie is worth seeing. That being said, this movie isn't necessarily about military accuracy, which is where so many people are getting hung up. The movie is broken down into psychoanalyzing the personalities of three very different people and their perspectives. On one hand, you have the cool, rational team member, Anthony Mackie (Sergeant JT Sanborn), whose sole goal is to survive the campaign. He is sharply contrasted by Jeremy Renner (Staff Sergeant William James) whose goal, apart from the adrenaline rush, is to make a difference in the lives of the people in Iraq. Brian Geraghty (Specialist Owen Eldridge) plays the intermediary - caught in a war he has no idea why he's involved, depicted by his inability and indecision about fighting unless absolutely provoked, but willing to do the best he can. The acting and cinematography in the movie is superb. Each of the three characters brings something different to the table. I was on edge for much of the movie because the people's perspectives, emotions, and actions were volatile to the point that there was no real predictable outcome. Anyone could die at any time, anyone could turn against each other (given the group dynamics), anyone could be left behind. The art direction of each combat scene shows you only what you need to see to establish the feeling of tenseness. It's simply fantastic. There was some "irrational decision making" that occurred during the movie (such as splitting up down alley ways to hunt for possible suspects). But you have to look at those scenes as more than just their face value. The particular scene in which the three team members split up, leads to a confrontation between Specialist Owen and Sergeant James in which William was forced to admit his guilt, mostly to himself. It was perhaps the first time, in a long time, that he had stepped outside of his own shoes to see what his decisions were doing to those around him. It is much more poetic than spelling things. If I had to complain about this movie, it would be that it went on a little bit longer than necessary. But it is hard to say what some of the established mood would have been if scenes were cut short. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanSep 12, 2009
Amazing. Great to see the people who cant appreciate a brilliant film. If you want to see a brainless big budget Hollywood action movie like transformers 2 etc, no1s stopping you. Oh and Hannah F, there isnt any British army in the film, its Amazing. Great to see the people who cant appreciate a brilliant film. If you want to see a brainless big budget Hollywood action movie like transformers 2 etc, no1s stopping you. Oh and Hannah F, there isnt any British army in the film, its clearly a private company, the clues are obvious. Please think more Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricandEricSep 12, 2009
The only good thing about this movie is that it only cost two dollars for the pirated copy that we bought here in Afghanistan. We would be embarrassed if any of our money actually made it to anyone involved with making this movie. This movie The only good thing about this movie is that it only cost two dollars for the pirated copy that we bought here in Afghanistan. We would be embarrassed if any of our money actually made it to anyone involved with making this movie. This movie is horribly inaccurate, unrealistic, and down right awful. The worst part is that it is getting such great reviews because the critics have obviously never been outside except to get more popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CanaanBSep 15, 2009
Do not trust the naysayers, this movie was absolutely great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesGSep 15, 2009
Great movie, get over the lack of realism. Realistic scenarios would not have worked. The movie is about the tension and feeling of Iraq that it creates, and it does a good job. It does seem highly overrated by the critics, but I think there Great movie, get over the lack of realism. Realistic scenarios would not have worked. The movie is about the tension and feeling of Iraq that it creates, and it does a good job. It does seem highly overrated by the critics, but I think there is really their way of telling the industry "give us more Iraq films!". Also keep in mind this film was sold for only 1.5 million, it was very low budget. You have to adjust your expectations. All the ratings of zero are completely irresponsible. On no conceivable rating scale could this movie be a zero. People rating it a zero are really just saying they personally couldn't watch it given the lack of realism. That is completely different from how critics rate movies, critics do not just give their own idiosyncratic personal opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelMSep 17, 2009
Good film, not great. The camerawork really disappointed me. Some of it was spectacular, but some of it was shaky close ups that were just plain annoying. I Love artfully filmed close up shots, but I simply couldn't focus on what was Good film, not great. The camerawork really disappointed me. Some of it was spectacular, but some of it was shaky close ups that were just plain annoying. I Love artfully filmed close up shots, but I simply couldn't focus on what was being filmed or going on. Sniper scene in the desert was great. Acting was good, but nothing fabulous. Again, good movie, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesPSep 6, 2009
one of the most thrilling war movies ever made. Jeremy Renner is going to become one the new actor to look out for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidMJan 14, 2010
I'm sure there intentions are good and they might consult with soldiers that have been there. But as a medic that served in Iraq with various Special Forces Group and CIA. I'm really disappointed with how they portray how we work I'm sure there intentions are good and they might consult with soldiers that have been there. But as a medic that served in Iraq with various Special Forces Group and CIA. I'm really disappointed with how they portray how we work and what we do. Kathryn Bigelow makes it look like we run around doin whatever whenever we feel like. As Lt. Gen. Hal Moore says, Hollywood never gets it right. PLEASE calling all directors who wish to take on a war film. GET IT RIGHT! We go out there not wishing to die but willing to give our lives for our country. For those who have given their all, get it right for them. Not for drama sake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
rwJan 16, 2010
A very realistic and suspenseful film, with terrific acting (particularly from the lead actor) and well defined characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElwenilJan 16, 2010
Excellent from start to finish. A must have purchase on BluRay for the sound and visuals in HD. A story about soldiers doing a job in a war rather than another political statement that seems to always be hidden in movies like this. I'd Excellent from start to finish. A must have purchase on BluRay for the sound and visuals in HD. A story about soldiers doing a job in a war rather than another political statement that seems to always be hidden in movies like this. I'd compare The Hurt Locker to Black Hawk Down and if you liked BHD, you should like The Hurt Locker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrentSJan 17, 2010
I decided to check out this movie based on the ridiculously high score this film received on Metacritic, and when I watched it, I was shocked at how overrated this movie was. Don't get me wrong, I thought it was a decent movie, and I I decided to check out this movie based on the ridiculously high score this film received on Metacritic, and when I watched it, I was shocked at how overrated this movie was. Don't get me wrong, I thought it was a decent movie, and I enjoyed it for the most part. But it is far from one of the best War movies I've ever seen, and there wasn't even really a plot, not to mention the ending was sudden, and it sucked. Usually the critics are harsh and the average viewer can enjoy a movie for what it is. But this time, the Critics seem to really like it and the average viewers are walking away disappointed because its not nearly as good as the critics are claiming it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AleneV.Jan 17, 2010
Extraordinary. More than a war film - a profound human drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricLJan 19, 2010
Amazing. Not to be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomRJan 21, 2010
I'd never heard of it until I rented it. I had zero expectations and was blown away by this movie. This is on par with "Full Metal Jacket." Each war makes a soldier wacky in its own unique way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
peterCJan 21, 2010
Most definitely the best film of 2009. I'm reading a lot of negativity from some viewers here, as for example the ending was sudden. Thats war the there's no epic battle before you leave your duty behind and return home, so it Most definitely the best film of 2009. I'm reading a lot of negativity from some viewers here, as for example the ending was sudden. Thats war the there's no epic battle before you leave your duty behind and return home, so it being sudden in many regards went with the films depiction of the Iraq War. Also I did not see any hype behind this movie it just kinda crept in and took a lot of people by surprise with no hype whatsoever. Though on the film. If you like war films that don't follow the over the top climatic battles and heroes like Saving Private Ryan, but prefer more subtle films that show it more so for how war really is, you will enjoy this film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NicoleJ.Jan 25, 2010
Considering the reviews, I was thoroughly disappointed. It simply failed to engage me. It felt like a horrible waste of 2 hours. At this point, I can only hope the critics don't waste any more energy promoting this one during awards season.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EtienneW.Jan 27, 2010
Masterclass, truly wonderful cinema. The detractorss of this movie don't get it, and I pity them for not being able to appreciate the genius of this production. To those that see and enjoy movies as high art, I envy you the thrill you Masterclass, truly wonderful cinema. The detractorss of this movie don't get it, and I pity them for not being able to appreciate the genius of this production. To those that see and enjoy movies as high art, I envy you the thrill you are about to experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimHJan 27, 2010
I watched this as a personal double bill with Full Metal Jacket. While I would say that FMJ is flawed it also has higher dramatic points and more involvement int the end, including some gut wrenching, unforgettable sequences. Everything I watched this as a personal double bill with Full Metal Jacket. While I would say that FMJ is flawed it also has higher dramatic points and more involvement int the end, including some gut wrenching, unforgettable sequences. Everything about Hurt Locker is done well. It's flawless. But that does not ensure greatness. A few days after seeing it I remember only a little about it: mostly Brian Geraghty's scenes. He's given a juicy role and he fills it well. The rest is really merely good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DonCJan 31, 2010
If you want to watch a documentary about IED's in Baghdad in 2004 and you don't know any better, this is your movie. Quickly looses its intensity with repetitious chasing, shooting and explosions, with cardboard characters. Says If you want to watch a documentary about IED's in Baghdad in 2004 and you don't know any better, this is your movie. Quickly looses its intensity with repetitious chasing, shooting and explosions, with cardboard characters. Says nothing of any consequence other that "war is hell but gosh is the adrenaline rush addictive!" and tries to make us sympathetic toward a character who would rather be recklessly defusing bombs in Iraq instead of spending time with his wife and young child at home. Don't waste your time or money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TsarB.Feb 12, 2010
It really doesn't live up to all the hype. Not sure why the critics fell in love with this very average film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Feb 12, 2010
An intensely powerful film that relentlessly depicts the horrors the soldiers endure in Iraq. Well acted by everyone, very realistically filmed by director Kathryn Bigelow, it has a grittiness that adds to the tension. Completely believable, An intensely powerful film that relentlessly depicts the horrors the soldiers endure in Iraq. Well acted by everyone, very realistically filmed by director Kathryn Bigelow, it has a grittiness that adds to the tension. Completely believable, with many unforgettable scenes, the scene with the suicide bomber who gave himself up can't easily be forgotten. Disturbing, thought provoking and unforgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
icecreamFeb 13, 2010
Its somewhere in the 8 rating and b grade. Not a A movie by any stretch, I just don't get how critics even exist on a professional level. Like a professional gambler there is no such thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexCMar 11, 2010
For this movie to have won best picture..Im just at a lost of words. So many things are wrong with this movie. The only reason it won is because it plays on the emotions of many so close to the war. Other than that, truly blah. I mean, what For this movie to have won best picture..Im just at a lost of words. So many things are wrong with this movie. The only reason it won is because it plays on the emotions of many so close to the war. Other than that, truly blah. I mean, what idiot is gonna leave a base to go find the killer of a lil boy. Utter senselessness. And what three man team is gonna leave an area by themselves with no support or radio contact, then run down...im getting to upset..im done writing. Simply Pith!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnHMar 14, 2010
Truthfully this movie is very average.... I have no idea how this won a single Oscar. Go watch a better war movie like Saving Private Ryan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeJ.Mar 22, 2010
Wow. I, like many others, had high hopes for this film. It was on my radar way before it got the Oscar, so when it won I wasn't surprised. I rented it this weekend with my girlfriend, and settled in to enjoy what I was assuming would be Wow. I, like many others, had high hopes for this film. It was on my radar way before it got the Oscar, so when it won I wasn't surprised. I rented it this weekend with my girlfriend, and settled in to enjoy what I was assuming would be a very good film. Although I was aware of some controversy regarding the accuracy it, it didn't even occur to me that it might suck. However, within about 1 minute of turning it on I began to have my doubts, and by about the halfway mark I was seriously considering just turning it off. The first thing that struck me in a negative way about this move was the 'shaky cam'. I simply cannot stand this fad and really don't understand the popularity of it. The shaky cam effect is very distracting and annoying. It looks cheap and gimmicky on a TV show like Battlestar Galactica. In a supposedly gritty and realistic war movie like The Hurt Locker its just kind of embarrassing. The next thing that bothered me was the way that the Jeremy Renner character was behaving. On his first assignment with his team he straps on 'the suit' and drops a smoke bomb so that they can't see what he's doing? Really? Am I supposed to believe that? Also on that first assignment they show up to the scene of the bomb and they find a bunch of American soldiers cowering inside a building after they have abandoned their humvee out in the street. Really? Is that how American soldiers behave in Iraq? Although I didn't serve in Iraq, I spent 4 years in the Navy. During this time I interacted with the other branches of the military and I feel like I have a pretty good sense of the military 'vibe', i.e. how enlisted people interact with each other, how they interact with officers, etc. To me this film didn't capture that vibe at all. I have a very difficult time believing that this EOD squad was simply out on its own, tooling around the streets of Baghdad led by a total cowboy with no regard for their own safety. Reading the comments of others who served over there seems to validate my feeling about it. As far as accuracy is concerned, I have one rule when it comes to movies. I simply expect the movie to play by its own rules. For example, if the movie is about Space Marines fighting Aliens on another planet, that's fine as long as the movie can convince me that if I was there with them, then that's what it would be like. The problem with this movie is that it purports to be set in a very specific time in a very specific place, i.e. Iraq war 2004, but then does not make a good attempt at trying to portray that time and place accurately. Furthermore, since the setting is the Iraq war, which by the way is still going on, it has in my opinion a heightened responsibility to get all the little details right. If the filmmakers simply wanted to tell a McGuyver type story about a cowboy bomb squad in some fictional Middle Eastern war then fine whatever. But as soon as they tell me that this story is happening in Iraq in 2004 I have high expectations that they will portray things as they really were. Do US Army sergeants really go on ninja missions outside the wire to avenge the death of the kid who sells DVDs? Does the psychologist colonel who knows nothing about what's going on outside the wire decide all of a sudden to go on patrol with the EOD team and end up standing guard with an M16 and getting blown up by an IED? Does a guy who worked intelligence for 7 years before he got into the EOD and probably has no formal sniper training pick off a moving target at 800 meters with a head shot? Are we supposed to feel sympathy for a totally unlikeable character that constantly puts himself and his team in danger unnecessarily and would rather play war in Iraq than spend time with his wife and kid at home? Seriously, what were all the critics thinking? I have very similar feelings about the previous year's winner Slumdog Millionaire. I get the feeling there was a lot of group think going on, and that for whatever reason it made the critics feel good about themselves to rate these movies so highly and award them Best Picture. I wasn't even that crazy about Avatar but it was certainly better than Hurt Locker. And there were plenty of good movies last year that were better than either of them, case in point The Road which didn't get that great of reviews and didn't find an audience. Go figure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DavidPApr 12, 2010
Totally unrealistic portrayal of a bunch of Macgyvers that do not exist in real life. There were several incidents in the movie where the characters were threatened by Iraqis and would have shot to kill in real life, but in this fantasy, Totally unrealistic portrayal of a bunch of Macgyvers that do not exist in real life. There were several incidents in the movie where the characters were threatened by Iraqis and would have shot to kill in real life, but in this fantasy, they held their fire and let the threatening party slink away. Look at the recent real video on Reuters and you will see the other extreme really happening where a helicopter gun crew mows down unthreatening Iraqis and 2 Reuters journalists. Nobody, whether American or Iraqi, was threatened. These punks just wanted to get the adrenalin rush from murdering people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeMApr 13, 2010
This movie was easily the best of the year. I did a tour in Afghanistan, and for all the things that the director got wrong (lack of consequence for a variety of missteps, etc), she got the emotion and the feel right. (SPOILER ALERT) The This movie was easily the best of the year. I did a tour in Afghanistan, and for all the things that the director got wrong (lack of consequence for a variety of missteps, etc), she got the emotion and the feel right. (SPOILER ALERT) The best moment, to me: The absurdity of being a badass war hero overseas and returning home and dealing with picking out cereal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveCApr 14, 2010
Emotionally unmoving. The characters had little in the way of redeeming features & the episodic content was a bit contrived. Doesn't seem to push many envelopes... there were some cool moments but it felt like i'd seen it all before?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LalitaR.Apr 15, 2010
I sometimes despair for the times we live in. If this film is a bore then almost every great film made in the '70s - the golden era of cinema, is a bore. In classic '70s style, The Hurt Locker moves along at a sharp clip, never I sometimes despair for the times we live in. If this film is a bore then almost every great film made in the '70s - the golden era of cinema, is a bore. In classic '70s style, The Hurt Locker moves along at a sharp clip, never getting sentimental or overly Hollywood, never manipulating the audience's emotions this way and that. There are no big punchlines, no designer cool worked into the dialogues, no over-scripted, movingly scored dramatic flourishes like the ones in Saving Pvt. Ryan and YET when the film gets over you are hit by a wave of emotions. You care more for Renner, Mackie and Geraghty than pretty much any character you watched all year. The script throws up several unexpected moments of wry ironic wit, it gets you caught up in the tightwire mental state of the characters without any fanfare. This is a rare film that confidently expects you to think, feel and discuss it well after the experience. You're haunted by how much the human spirit is being relentlessly stretched in such a lonely, desolate war waged in an unfamiliar, alienated terrain. This desolation is imprinted in our brains thanks to the stark, white sand covered images. The Hurt Locker has a resonance that's lasted 8 months since I saw it. IMO, the finest picture of the year took home the Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AntonioR.Apr 18, 2010
This movie is just BORING. I cant believe that it has this great reviews. What's new about it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FrankM.Apr 18, 2010
Please, oh please, stop shaking the camera. I don't mind it in an action scene, but what you guys are doing to films today is making me sick. I feel like I have "Shaking Banby Syndrom". And the unnecessary zooms, UGHHHH. You're Please, oh please, stop shaking the camera. I don't mind it in an action scene, but what you guys are doing to films today is making me sick. I feel like I have "Shaking Banby Syndrom". And the unnecessary zooms, UGHHHH. You're making films to look like they are made by amateurs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveTMay 19, 2010
Mediocre guy action flick, nothing special. The only reason American professional reviewers gave this thing good reviews is to please the papers the write for so they wouldn't be labeled as "against the troops". Better acting and action Mediocre guy action flick, nothing special. The only reason American professional reviewers gave this thing good reviews is to please the papers the write for so they wouldn't be labeled as "against the troops". Better acting and action in any WWE produced flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PeterWMay 23, 2010
Don't believe the hype. This movie is millitary propaganda garbage and the producers are thugs. I downloaded this movie off the internet and it was a complete waste. Glad I didn't pay for it though! Hahahahah!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JulioG.May 31, 2010
When I watched this movie, I expected something original, mind-blowing,super special effects,great storyline even good music (which for me all oscar best picture winners must have). Plain and simple, i saw nothing of that at all, I dont When I watched this movie, I expected something original, mind-blowing,super special effects,great storyline even good music (which for me all oscar best picture winners must have). Plain and simple, i saw nothing of that at all, I dont understand why it has so many good reviews, please tell me why Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillFOct 11, 2009
By far one of the best war movies made. This movie may or may not be an accurate representation of what bomb squads in Iraq are faced with but it is a fantastic film regardless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
cjjNov 16, 2009
As an EOD tech i can tell you ther are many unrealistic things in the movie. Back when this story actually took place and the reporter was embedded with the unit EOD did run around without much security and did do most IED's without the As an EOD tech i can tell you ther are many unrealistic things in the movie. Back when this story actually took place and the reporter was embedded with the unit EOD did run around without much security and did do most IED's without the robot. The scene with the snipers took place on the demo range and EOD did regularly go without a convoy as it was accross the street from the base and security if it was there stayed up range. EOD did not have dediicated security back then. All the crap about leaving the base alone at night and breaking into the families home was crap. the smoke grenade scene was crap. the VBIED scene was crap. The brittish guys were suposed to be blackwater or something. EOD does carry a .50cal sniper rifle but not for shooting people. The blackwater guys shouldnt have been there either way. While EOD are not special forces they do have training from one of the hardest schools in the military as all branches attend the same school.It has about a 57% attrition rate the last i checked and it is 9-12 months long with 12 hour days and you cant even take notes home to study because they are classified and locked up each evening. While much of the movie is far fetched and turned hollywood, do give EOD their due because it is an incredibly difficult job that many even if willing, dont have what it takes to perform anyway. Aside from all that the acting was pretty good, but didnt deserve all the rave. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlexK.Oct 17, 2009
The movie was fairly exciting and suspenseful, but the ending left me feeling detached from the characters. Seriously, if the film is trying to be deep and thought-provoking it shouldn't fall back on cliches of heavy metal listening, The movie was fairly exciting and suspenseful, but the ending left me feeling detached from the characters. Seriously, if the film is trying to be deep and thought-provoking it shouldn't fall back on cliches of heavy metal listening, liquor swilling, and punching contests. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joebDec 17, 2009
best film of the year - bar none.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankROct 25, 2009
this was an extremely intense movie, i was on the edge of my seat through the majority. For the naive people like RW who gave this movie a 0 because it's a "fairy tale set in current event setting", congratulations you just gave the this was an extremely intense movie, i was on the edge of my seat through the majority. For the naive people like RW who gave this movie a 0 because it's a "fairy tale set in current event setting", congratulations you just gave the exact definition of what a large selection of movies are, this one just happens to deal with a current event you are tied into and you took things personally. Get over it, it's a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewMJun 27, 2009
Bigelow's POV work is incredible, sucking you into this hot, confusing, and terrifying world. Renner nails the gung-ho army ranger, who loves to stand out from his comrades but at the same time treat them like family. What I loved is Bigelow's POV work is incredible, sucking you into this hot, confusing, and terrifying world. Renner nails the gung-ho army ranger, who loves to stand out from his comrades but at the same time treat them like family. What I loved is how the soldiers are in a pointless battle that they cannot win or really change, yet they are committed and hooked to it... I am a film snob, but this is the only movie all year besides Sin Nombre that I really enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatNJun 28, 2009
Just watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdNJun 29, 2009
Easily the best war movie since Saving Private Ryan and on par with Platoon. The film is real, restrained, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat for two and half hours. In a season dominated by movies inspired by and meant to sell toys, Easily the best war movie since Saving Private Ryan and on par with Platoon. The film is real, restrained, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat for two and half hours. In a season dominated by movies inspired by and meant to sell toys, here at last is some honest-to-God filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveHJul 11, 2009
Very realistic movie with great acting. I'm not an Iraq veteren so I cannot vouch for authenticity but it seemed real. I think the movie was a bit too long and a few scenes didn't quite make it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AFJul 11, 2009
Waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Z.H-RJul 13, 2009
One of the best war films I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJul 15, 2009
A tremendous movie on the war in Iraq. It is a war we can never win as it is about two different cultures. We value life and the enemy doesn't. None of our boys want to be there but they are pawns in a game of life. Once we leave Iraq A tremendous movie on the war in Iraq. It is a war we can never win as it is about two different cultures. We value life and the enemy doesn't. None of our boys want to be there but they are pawns in a game of life. Once we leave Iraq the two religious warring factions will kill each other. Democracy will never take a foothold in the Middle East. As for our hero he has an obvious deathwish that sooner or later will be fulfilled. The acting, script, and directing is first rate. No holds barred look as to how ugly this war truly is. NO one will ever win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinaR.W.Jul 18, 2009
The best movie I've seen in years! Jeremy Renner is insanely good in this movie. As are Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty. I haven't watched the Oscars since the late 90s, but if Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal and all the actors are The best movie I've seen in years! Jeremy Renner is insanely good in this movie. As are Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty. I haven't watched the Oscars since the late 90s, but if Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal and all the actors are nominated, you bet I'll be sitting in front of my TV rooting for them all to win statues in 2010. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BradMJul 18, 2009
I really wanted to like this movie. It was very disappointing to me. The military aspects of the movie were completely unrealistic (Specialists do NOT speak like that to lieutenant colonels, no Humvee rolls by itself ever, infantry platoons I really wanted to like this movie. It was very disappointing to me. The military aspects of the movie were completely unrealistic (Specialists do NOT speak like that to lieutenant colonels, no Humvee rolls by itself ever, infantry platoons don't cower in alleys waiting for EOD to roll up, and no EOD team is trained as countersnipers...among many other things), the character interactions were very contrived, and it was...dare I say...just not interesting. I think this was a great concept which was poorly executed. It was a movie by civilians for civilians, which I guess is why so many critics love it so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudCJul 19, 2009
This is possibly the best war movie ever. You feel like you should take a shower by the time you get home. Short of doing a tour of duty in Iraq, it can't get any more realistic and harrowing than this. Is it possible to get This is possibly the best war movie ever. You feel like you should take a shower by the time you get home. Short of doing a tour of duty in Iraq, it can't get any more realistic and harrowing than this. Is it possible to get post-traumatic syndrome from a film? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottA.Jul 22, 2009
One of the best films of the year or any year. Masterful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJJul 25, 2009
This movie is a great character study and a must see. one of its most masterful strengths is how no character in the movie ever feel invincible I found myself constantly wondering if this moment was the character's last. the This movie is a great character study and a must see. one of its most masterful strengths is how no character in the movie ever feel invincible I found myself constantly wondering if this moment was the character's last. the movie's theme was not forced and instead rather subtle (even enough to make some viewers miss some of it) though very powerful. the ending is by far the most well put together i have ever seen in a war film. NOTE: In terms of accuracy and factualness though some scenes may seem fake (sniper scene) my sister who i saw it with is a psychologist who works for the VA, she told me that the characters were dead on in terms of emotions and the way the interact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewJul 29, 2009
I am still deployed and this is truly the worst war movie I have ever watched. Without even acknolwedging how far from the truth the tactics are and lack of security in every scene, EOD is falsely portrayed as some sort of special forces I am still deployed and this is truly the worst war movie I have ever watched. Without even acknolwedging how far from the truth the tactics are and lack of security in every scene, EOD is falsely portrayed as some sort of special forces unit. I have sat on many IED's and regardless of the fact that units are not allowed to travel outside of a 3 vehicle or 4 vehicle security concept, EOD is not comprised of 3 enlisted defusing bombs. The robot is always extensively used and more importantly EOD personnel are never foolish enough to handle ready to go large ordnance to diffuse it. Every time we found an IED from 155 shells to mortar rounds, they were always blown in place. The few times an IED was taken was when it was fully dismembered by a disrupting detonation. I watched a little over half of this movie before turning it off as it was too painful and ridiculous to watch. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EllaCJul 29, 2009
Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen in several years. Beautifully directed and acted. Riveting from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PJWAug 11, 2009
Amazing performances and a great story. In my opinion, the best movie of the year so far. Jeremy Renner is incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinAAug 13, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It was exciting from the get-go and never lets up. As far as it being realistic? I'm not one to ask as I've never served. For all of the comments by those who have served, it would be beneficial to I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It was exciting from the get-go and never lets up. As far as it being realistic? I'm not one to ask as I've never served. For all of the comments by those who have served, it would be beneficial to both list the blatant accuracies that you site, and to refer some movies that do portray the soldier's plight in an accurate way. In the meantime, this movie was spectacular, realistic or unrealistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JimSAug 16, 2009
Expected much more, given the reviews. It was mostly a dull and predictable film with an implausible storyline. It had a few redeeming moments, but overall, it was just another unrealistic war movie. It did not deliver as billed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenHAug 18, 2009
Not only the best movie about the Iraq War but one of the best war movies EVER! Rarely does a war movie capture the feverish intensity, conflicting morality, and brutal reality of battle and the soldier. Simply awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyCAug 21, 2009
This was not a documentary about bomb disposal. This was a film about the human reaction to the overwhelming fear and finality of war. It's about the despair that feeds in Eldrige, the denial of the Col., the emptiness of Sanborn, and This was not a documentary about bomb disposal. This was a film about the human reaction to the overwhelming fear and finality of war. It's about the despair that feeds in Eldrige, the denial of the Col., the emptiness of Sanborn, and the certainty of war that drives James. This film must be interpreted through the opening quote. War is a drug. This film is about how human beings respond to that stimulus and how and why it becomes an all-consuming entity to some and a dice game to others. This was an excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RayK.Aug 23, 2009
I was excited to see this movie for a number of reasons, not the least of which was it's critical buzz. When I walked out, I was appalled. Not by the technical inaccuracies or the unbelievably inane behavior and portrayal of the I was excited to see this movie for a number of reasons, not the least of which was it's critical buzz. When I walked out, I was appalled. Not by the technical inaccuracies or the unbelievably inane behavior and portrayal of the characters. That just makes it fiction. What offends me and what will offend anyone whose put in his time downrange is that everyone out there seems to think this is such a great movie. Every gushing review I read talks about Hurt Locker's harsh and uncompromising realism. BS! Do NOT watch this movie thinking that anything happening on screen is even remotely close to true to life. Nothing, NOTHING about this movie is close to being "real." From my perspective, GI Joe is a better movie because it doesn't pretend to be something it's not and then fail miserably at it. Katherine Bigelow might have fooled all the civilians but she's not fooling anyone else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GregQAug 27, 2009
Not much depth here. Well filmed and great acting all around, but the events in the movie don't match what really happens. Very entertaining, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HannahFAug 28, 2009
Oh dear... What a serious serious disappointment....! I genuinely feel like I have wasted 2 hours of my life... After watching what I thought was a great trailer, I went to see this and felt totally cheated by the speed, excitement & nitty Oh dear... What a serious serious disappointment....! I genuinely feel like I have wasted 2 hours of my life... After watching what I thought was a great trailer, I went to see this and felt totally cheated by the speed, excitement & nitty gritty detail it's supposed to portray. The pretentious and unimpactful slow scenes did little to inspire the imagination of what clearly is a grueling job these men have to endure. And what was with the way they portrayed the British Army to be a bunch of dithering fools? There was nothing intense about it, so many reviews comment on the thought provoking insight to the Iraqi war. The result for me was slow, unsubtle and laboured. So many scenes felt disjointed and unnecessary to me, it was like watching Big Brother! I absolutely would not recommend watching this movie, in fact I even feel that a complaint to Odeon for picking such a dull film is in order. Pants! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewRSep 21, 2009
This movie was not nearly as good as the critics seem to think it was. Not absolutely horrendous but not that great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RWSep 21, 2009
Really!?!? 10's for this garbage. This movie was so painful to actually sit through. There of course were all the stereotypes of us military people. If this movie was about a race or sexual orientation all those 10's given by the Really!?!? 10's for this garbage. This movie was so painful to actually sit through. There of course were all the stereotypes of us military people. If this movie was about a race or sexual orientation all those 10's given by the masses of clueless people would have been 0's with long rants about how insensitive and demeaning the movie was toward people it was supposed to be about. This movie is a fairy tale set in a current event setting. Characters are ridiculous stereotypes who apparently have no oversight which is sort of an inherent part of the military (for those of you who have never bothered to serve). The situations are erroneous and overly contrived. Basically this movie was an atrocity. If it fits your political stance and reinforces your beliefs great, but please don't try and pass this off as an example of what is going on in Iraq. Thanks. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
michaelwDec 23, 2009
Simply the best movie in a military setting.... Nothing quite like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrendanDDec 31, 2009
Seldom are war films and war politics able to be separated, but this is ridiculous. It's one thing to open up a dialogue about the rightness and wrongness of political and military decisions -- the great ones do that. It's a Seldom are war films and war politics able to be separated, but this is ridiculous. It's one thing to open up a dialogue about the rightness and wrongness of political and military decisions -- the great ones do that. It's a completely different thing, however, to put such a shiny gloss on it. This movie is to war movies what "Crash" was to race movies: a film that functions more as an idea than a story. It certainly wasn't boring; but then, neither was "Crash." However, I like films that probe a little deeper. If you want to see something that will make you question your beliefs on war (whichever side you fall into), check out "The Thin Red Line" or "Battlestar Galactica" and ditch this schlocky nonsense. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful
10
RansackAug 11, 2010
One of the most outstanding war movies this century. I am a surprised a woman could even direct something as good as this one. Some people should really think about it, because it is kind of true. I am sure some people jsut hate it justOne of the most outstanding war movies this century. I am a surprised a woman could even direct something as good as this one. Some people should really think about it, because it is kind of true. I am sure some people jsut hate it just because it beat Avatar in the oscars Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
PeterAug 18, 2010
this movie is beast!!!!!!!!! all the negative reviewers suck. thats right mofos.... you suck!!!!! the best war movie that ive seen, and the greatest movie since shawshank!!!!! hell yea!!!!!
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
3
wine-or-vinegarAug 16, 2010
This film is vinegar. Low budget unknown cast with cameo appearance by Guy Pearce and Ralph Fiennes who's flippant delivery summed up this film and probably his pay check.Guy Pearce gets killed before the credits finish.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Christopher_G2Jan 15, 2011
A masterpiece of cinema plain and simple. It's wonderfully crafted, perfectly paced, with incredibly tense sequences that would have made **** proud. It also deals with the effects of war on the human soul without ever being ham handed orA masterpiece of cinema plain and simple. It's wonderfully crafted, perfectly paced, with incredibly tense sequences that would have made **** proud. It also deals with the effects of war on the human soul without ever being ham handed or melodramatic. Along with Saving Private Ryan and Letters From Iwo Jima it's the finest War film I have seen of the last 20 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ERG1008Aug 19, 2010
New man joins bomb disposal team in Iraq, day-to-day job of diffusing bombs & avoiding crossfire, camaraderie, conflict, decisions.
Almost documentary/fly-on-the-wall style film that does a fantastic job of capturing the atmosphere, tension &
New man joins bomb disposal team in Iraq, day-to-day job of diffusing bombs & avoiding crossfire, camaraderie, conflict, decisions.
Almost documentary/fly-on-the-wall style film that does a fantastic job of capturing the atmosphere, tension & overall danger of these soldiers lives.
The acting & dialogue are very natural, great cameos, top-notch cinematography & the claustrophobia of the "bomb suit" scenes are thrilling & uncomfortable.
Excellent incidental music too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
opticAug 21, 2010
This movie is like a 4 day old pizza. Bland, run of the mill, and generally lucklustre. The fact that it scored the Oscar nod only confirms the suspicion that politics, rather than substance, is the name of the game when the red carpet isThis movie is like a 4 day old pizza. Bland, run of the mill, and generally lucklustre. The fact that it scored the Oscar nod only confirms the suspicion that politics, rather than substance, is the name of the game when the red carpet is concerned.
Non-existent character development, zero story arc, and cliched scripting make this a thoroughly forgettable movie.
...I'll add this to the growing list of movies that make me wanna jump behind the lens and avenge the egregious wrongdoings that have been leveled against a tired movie-going public.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Easily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilaratingEasily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilarating and gripping than most high-budget blockbusters. Also, wtf with people complaining about the movie's real-life credibility? It's not like "Apocalypse Now" represented the Vietnam War as it was, it just tried to be a great movie, which it was and "The Hurt Locker" is the same. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
9
tonyGreenJan 6, 2012
A war movie with real complicated protagonists. Great tension, great action but great psychological intrigue too. War is a drug, and so is the movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
eggfilletSep 3, 2010
Realistic or not this is a great film. The plot was laid out in an organized fashion, no cliche twists that make the viewer feel smart. The characters were well written and are open to interpretation. The amount of small details and variedRealistic or not this is a great film. The plot was laid out in an organized fashion, no cliche twists that make the viewer feel smart. The characters were well written and are open to interpretation. The amount of small details and varied sequence of events makes an easily film to watch multiple times.
But, don't expect an ACTION FILM. @ForrestL I could not agree more.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
ZMP17Jan 3, 2011
Well deserved Oscars. Jeremy Renner's performance was memorably outstanding. I watched both HL and Avatar the week before the Oscars and I found this to be more engaging and thrilling than the flashing lights and sounds of Avatar. I'm notWell deserved Oscars. Jeremy Renner's performance was memorably outstanding. I watched both HL and Avatar the week before the Oscars and I found this to be more engaging and thrilling than the flashing lights and sounds of Avatar. I'm not saying that Avatar wasn't a good movie but how many people actually saw HL before Avatar? 48 million to 2 billion box office gross (rounded down) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gm101May 10, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I certainly did enjoy this movie. Characters were more likeable than I thought. However, I felt the plot involving the Beckham kid wasn't resolved, and that still bugs me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
egovirusMar 8, 2011
That people are giving this movie a ten, and that it won an Oscar shows just how desperately out of touch Americans are. Gross inaccuracies aside, and this movie is riven with them, the fact that this director had so much going for her inThat people are giving this movie a ten, and that it won an Oscar shows just how desperately out of touch Americans are. Gross inaccuracies aside, and this movie is riven with them, the fact that this director had so much going for her in terms of the innate interest stories like this generate, and the timeliness of its release, and she blew it so completely, is very telling. It tells of incompetence, and indifference to the people she pretends to care for and about. If she really cared, then the amateur to the stark errors she makes in this movie would have been removed, and she would have gotten at least some things right. Otherwise you're just out to make a name for yourself, and f*** you for that. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
StPaul1Aug 26, 2011
One of the more over-praised movies in recent memory - really just another hyperkinetic mess from Kathryn Bigelow (one of the more over-praised directors working today). The main character is a cliche, the "loose-cannon" action hero, only inOne of the more over-praised movies in recent memory - really just another hyperkinetic mess from Kathryn Bigelow (one of the more over-praised directors working today). The main character is a cliche, the "loose-cannon" action hero, only in this case there is no explanation for his risk taking. Jeremy Renner plays the character with his typical lack of range or subtlety. The only interesting actor is Ralph Fiennes as the leader of a band of mercenaries, but he's only on screen for a few minutes. Altogether a waste of time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
riverwalkerOct 2, 2010
Direction is excellent the actors are perfect but the plot is a little weak. The director has done a perfect work also the main actor is absolutely perfect.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
RyanLopezMar 29, 2011
This is a great movie, the film captures the real emotion of being and war- People have empathy during this movie, you can feel the bullets. It is one of the best movies of the decade. It's sad if you can't handle violence but you wanted toThis is a great movie, the film captures the real emotion of being and war- People have empathy during this movie, you can feel the bullets. It is one of the best movies of the decade. It's sad if you can't handle violence but you wanted to see it. It was one of my favorites Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews